Henley-Putnam University

Review Averages: 9.0 out of 10 (46 reviews)
Ranking: #5

Henley-Putnam University is focused exclusively on strategic security -- intelligence, counterterrorism, and personal protection. Henley-Putnam’s faculty members have worked for the FBI, the CIA, armed forces, and similar organizations. Online degrees are offered at the bachelor’s, master’s, and graduate levels. Certificate programs in counterterrorism, intelligence, and security are also available.

Accreditation: DETC
For-Profit: Yes
Country: USA
Website

Learn More about Henley-Putnam University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Henley-Putnam University Reviews:

Comments of HPU should be respected by everyone here whether positive or negative
Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - July 9, 2017
I just want to mention answering to May 2016 regarding Anonymous comments that shouldn't be read or taken in. Everyone here has a right to put comments that sees fit to how they were treated good or bad. So it shouldn't have to be disputed by another here that we should respect each other's comments whether they have experienced good and or bad from this university. After being expelled that something good came out of this from going to another school tells you this university couldn't handle the pressure and for fear that they would be reported knowing they can get away with what they do in this university. That's the way of the world why we have a messy world and it is not justly right for the people who gets messed over but they don't care as one of the advisors from HPU, who has a Master, which now I have a Master from another university and also am a member of an honor society, that advisor who acted out via email wickedly to rid of me and was happy to go tell this to a tutor. What kind of school is this sounds like a corrupted messy world there that doesn't show their concerns to students but only liked the selected few? The ones who spoke highly of this university, kudos to you but the ones who gets messed and haven't got the taste of that, should reconsider and be compassion for them, not downplay them the ones who had bad experience and they haven't experience it but to respect everyone's comments with dignity!

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Don't know if I'm unlucky, but...
Management of Personal Protection - April 6, 2017
I've taken 5 classes with HPU so far. While the support staff seems to be very much on it, I've ran into two major issues regarding the academics- 1) In three of the classes, I was the ONLY student (I even restarted one class at a later date, just to see if it would change). I study Security and Intel Management ... How are you supposed to develop ties within the community when you are the only one in class? I understand this is a great thing in an in-person class, as one can develop a great relationship with the professor, but it makes learning absolutely disheartening in an online environment. There is no debate, no impassioned discussion; just a once-every-two-weeks quid-pro-quo with the professor. Being absolutely frank - it is a crappy way to learn. 2) While the book selection is semi-up-to-date, the material itself in several of the courses was rather dated. Yes, some things that were true in the world 10 years ago are are still applicable today ... but, with the propagation of internet and mobile environments, some things have undergone some drastic changes.

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Henley-Putnam University - Doctorate of Strategic Security
Doctorate of Strategic Security Studies - March 6, 2017
Hello all, I have close to thirty (30) years of experience in the game, seven (7) in private sector (Fortune 500) corporate security, eight (8) in law enforcement (criminal investigations), and fourteen (14) in the intelligence community with assignments both within special operations environments (6 years) and strategic level (8 years) organizations. My Associates, Bachelors, and Masters Degrees are all from reputable "brick and mortar" Universities. Over the years, I've also had various forms of training in each of the three areas (academic pillars) that Henley-Putnam specializes in and I can attest that this is by far the best and most professional academic education I've ever seen in these areas. The instructors are professionals who have "done the job" in one form or another. What I found incredibly appealing was the fact that most of the instructors are not entirely high-level policy executives who are out of touch and several levels removed from the fight. What I found was a cadre of operational professionals who had not only the functional credentials as professionals in their field, but also the academic pedigree you would want from a university level educator. The professors selected to teach at Henley-Putnam have the best of both worlds, real world relevant experience combined with scholar level academic credentials. The education I am receiving here is well worth the money in my opinion and I believe that a degree from this university would be a tremendous "bell and whistle" for a professional in the "community" to have on his or her resume. I fully endorse Henley-Putnam University and encourage anyone interested to take a moment and give them a call, their staff is extremely helpful, receptive to prospective new students, and very user friendly. Don't buy everything you read on the internet or in the review chat rooms, much (if not all) of the (anonymous) negative postings about Henley-Putnam University are either from their competitors or students who failed out of the program ...... no surprise there. I don't work for the University and if anyone would like to verify my independence in giving this impartial honest assessment of Henley-Putnam University need only to post their contact information in response to my post and I'll be happy to reach out them. Thanks ! Joe D

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Beware of Anonymous Posts
Intelligence Management - May 2, 2016
I noted the most recent reviews are from anonymous reviewers; it appears their opinion is based on a personal issue and clearly not comprehensible. I am a current DSS student and have had nothing but a professional and demanding experience from HPU. College, especially distance learning, is not meant to be easy; HPU requires working for your degree, many times at your own pace. This takes dedication and drive. HPU is private and makes a profit but the price is not anywhere near most Doctorate/PhD programs; on top of this HPU is NOT a diploma mill. Do your research, contact alumni and current students, and most of all make your critical educational decision based on facts.

5 of 24 people found the following review helpful
Warning: Henley Putnam University is being reviewed by other sources now
Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - April 17, 2015
Just heads up pending investigation of Henley Putnam University of my last blog of Mar 23, 2015. Their school catalog contradicts what it said about Student Grievances when there are issues of this University and now they're catching on about this university. One of the instructors said there have been issues with this school between instructors but no one will step up but only say good things all the time about it. They expel you if you don't play along their game for fear they'd be found out why they have perfect ratings most areas of online which I find no one is perfect so how could this be. I started seeing red flags which started with financial and people passing me around not knowing what they were doing. If you wore my shoe and experienced all this going on's, you would see what I'm talking about. They're blinding you all. I like to see honesty from this school and know what they're doing but they blind sighted me, after all, knowing they can get away with it until they came across me and I see through things too. Is really sad!

4 of 22 people found the following review helpful
Do your thorough checking before going to Henley-Putnam University
Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - March 23, 2015
As you know Henley-Putnam only has a lot of good things said about them but students don't know what's going on behind closed doors, just seeing the outside surface who they are. I"m surprised I'll be only one who had a bad experience with them unless people are afraid to step up. This school is for profit private school, is not regionally accredited and is not Title IV (where they could have been qualified institution on military base) as most schools are. They have 800 students and is a small school. I feel that I am being treated differently from Henley Putnam University as a retired veteran. I started with them in the summer then I came back to re-enroll for Dec 2014 class through Feb 15 the first class, then back for Mar 1 through May 15 for a second class. Couple of examples of my experiences with Henley Putnam, I found out by another school regarding my financial assistance as this school didn't tell me I would have gotten full tuition assistance. Another example was the enrollment advisor is hardly there to answer her phone and you about have to catch her on emails most of the time. She said she in meetings and all but then after speaking with President of the school, she isn't, very confusing of that told to me. The first class, I was given a mentor going for her doctorate degree as my first time attending and following through this time. As I attended the first class, I was considered an honor student because given a mentor made the difference. They realized for my second class to slack off the help from my mentor only just give me the resources then I do it myself. I did my first assignment then I dropped almost 3-4 grades down. Now what does that tell you. To me is political and not playing their cards straight. Henley-Putnam said I now fall under Student Code of Conduct www.henley-putnam.edu. As I emailed trying to get financial taken care of and more classes to take as I withdrew from that class I was not doing so good in after a drastic drop of grade from first class to second class that tells me something is seriously wrong with this school. The President of the school said they are transparent, meaning they constantly monitor your calls and emails. They lectured me of how many emails and calls as I had questions of things need to be cleared as this school is not good at. The second instructor does not want to be bothered as much to help his students why it was initially a problem then the other students and I were turning to each other but that didn't help much like I thought. I was threatened maybe to be expelled but the President said he will have my report forward to the Student Review Committee if appropriate to keep me as their student even though I started out as honor student and then almost a 'D' student. How sad is that? Wouldn't that tell someone something is wrong here? This school should have been investigated more thoroughly and I'm surprised no one spoke up. I started realizing the problems from my financial assistant information not being corrected initially to being passed around to people not sure who i should be under to having to ask too many times to get answers to my questions. So I learned if you question this school too much or not say how you feel, they will get rid of you, even though they know it's true. This school is about Power and Money. If you ask them of the issue here to dispute, they will back up everything they can to win whether right or wrong. It's power and money these days, folks!

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Masters - Strategic Security & Personal Protection
Management of Personal Protection - October 30, 2014
As a Masters program candidate at Henley-Putnam I have had some excellent instructors who have the credentials to support this institution's accrediting. Each and everyone has been more than available for any clarifications. Not one of the faculty members hoard knowledge and share their profession enthusiastically. Anyone looking to further their education in any of the disciplines will be more than satisfied. Chris Renkema

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
DSS
Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies - June 20, 2014
As a career federal employee and former U.S. Army Officer I am VERY impressed with the faculty AND support staff. I am pursuing the Doctorate of Strategic Security. I recommend this course to anyone interested in pursuing a Doctorate in the intel or national security field. I am heading into my second set of coursework and cannot explain the value of my lass DSS coursework to my current duties.

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
I would be remiss
Management of Personal Protection - April 20, 2014
As a current student at Henley-Putnam, Masters Management of Personal Protection, I have had nothing but a great experience. I received my Bachelors from the University of Phoenix which prides themselves on online education. Henley-Putnam has clearly used some of the growing experiences from UofP and other online institutions to perfect the learning experience. However, as I read the reviews already depicting the faculty, it has been remiss in not mentioning the administrative staff. With only three (3) classes to go and my scholarship running out, the administrative staff have been working diligently in assisting me with finding alternative means of completing my Masters. The administrative staff is phenomenal and should receive equal accolades as the faculty. I look forward to completing my Masters but do not look forward to parting ways at graduation with such a staff and faculty nothing short of phenomenal.

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Doctorate in Strategic Security
Intelligence Studies - February 20, 2014
I was very hesitant to enroll initially because the school only has national accreditation through DETC. First off let me say that while they are working on regional accreditation and should have it soon, 95% of all HPU DSS students are military or federal employees. DETC accreditation is 100% accepted by the government for career advancement. The next thing to bear in mind is that you are going to quickly lose interest in your accreditation worries all together when you join a classes completely full of individuals with amazing resumes and decades of operational experience in the Strategic Security field. Your professors are either active or retired intelligence and counterterrorism officers and very engaged and responsive in the process. My first set of instructors included a PhD from Stanford and the Agent in Charge of Counterintelligence at NASA Langley Research. The next two have been equally impressive. Look across the internet at online schools and the loads of complaints written in reviews about the school staff. I challenge you to find a poor review about HPU anywhere. This school staff is really great. I really hope they get regional accreditation because I would like to teach college some day. For now however, I work for the federal government and this incredible school is equipping me with the tools needed to secure my future and continue effectively serving my nation as a subject matter expert on a vital issue.

Read all 46 Henley-Putnam University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 46 reviews...

Write a Henley-Putnam University Review


Learn More about Henley-Putnam University



Learn More about Henley-Putnam University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Sept. 10, 2010, 4:11 a.m.
+2 votes/
Emily,

The biggest difference you need to consider is the accreditation: AMU (aka APU) is regionally accredited and HPU is NOT! This could hurt you down the road should you choose Henley-Putnam over AMU. AMU's credits will transfer and their degrees will be accepted without question. HPU's will NOT. Also, the cost is way more affordable with AMU which is an added benefit. HPU is not a good choice for both their lack of regional accreditation and their overblown prices.
Sept. 28, 2010, 6:43 a.m.
+2 votes/
Well, it is easy to quantify the "hurt" if someone walks into the recruiter's office of the Chicago Police Department to inquire about becoming a police officer and the recruiter asks them if they have a degree and if so is it regionally accredited? The applicant, let's say, has an undergraduate degree from HPU. No matter how specialized their degree and major of emphasis is the recruiter will tell them "sorry we do not accept non-regionally accredited college degrees." Yes, this is just one of many examples where large police agencies have gotten wise to the nationally accredited schools and are specifically requiring regionally accredited degrees from those seeking employment within their ranks. I can think of a lot of other bad situations where HPU's lack of regional accreditation might "hurt" those who have paid thousands of dollars for a degree that will not be recognized merely because it lacks regional accreditation. Not to say that HPU is a bad school. I believe they are doing a fine job with the programs they offer. However, DETC national accreditation will never be respected or accepted on a large scale by any employer or school that really matters. This stinks, but it is sadly true.
Oct. 7, 2009, 10:50 p.m.
+1 vote/
Might as well just join the military and get paid for your intel training.  There will be no doubts as to your abilities after that.  I understand that the military has certain requirements and that not everyone can join.....but if you can, join up instead of taking an online course that doesn't have a guarantee for employment attached to it.
Oct. 8, 2010, 10:51 a.m.
+1 vote/
Main thing to keep in mind with regard to the "great accreditation debate" is that few, if any accredited degree programs are going to serve as universal, one-stop-shops for all professional ambitions.  This is especially true in the case of distance learning education where MOST students are already full-time employed and are looking to either switch career paths or promote within their current ones.  As I've posted before, HPU's degree program by itself may not be enough to get anyone hired by any particular law enforcement or intelligence agency.  But that's not to undermine its value in being recognized by either community as a legitimate and challenging program.  Indeed the degree has had MANY successful applications and will continue to do so.

As far as I've observed, the biggest challenge that HPU still faces exists in simply becoming a more "household" name in the LE and intel communities.  That will just take time.  As the university turns out more and more qualified graduates, their legitimacy will become less questioned.  Lest we soon forget, they've only really been "in the game" for a couple years now.  Compare that even to AMU which has been around much longer and has therefore established a much stronger foothold in both communities.     

The debate about national vs regional accreditation is practically moot.  Despite that, HPU is in the process of filing for regional accreditation.
July 19, 2009, 3:46 p.m.
+1 vote/
Sorry,waterheads!!  I am NOT a shill..I am a student trying to find a GOOD program  in which to invest my time and money.My experiences with "for profits" have been far from satisfactory and I get the same whiff of "cash over class" from HPU.If YOU want a nationally accredited  and minor league degree that consists of 5 week classes and old intel farts relating tired war stories,by all means be my guest!! As to foreign schools-do you REALLY think that a National accreditation even remotely comes close to (for example)a UK school with a Royal Charter to operate?! I think not... So throw your money away,sign up for your "classes" and let the war stories begin!! If ignorance is indeed bliss,you guys are creaming in your culottes...
Jan. 11, 2011, 6:43 p.m.
0 votes/
Is your college accredited? 
Sept. 2, 2011, 3:06 p.m.
0 votes/
Perhaps...but how exactly does that invalidate anything she has said?  You're making an argument.  You're just throwing stuff against a wall hoping it sticks.
Sept. 17, 2012, 10:45 p.m.
0 votes/
And now a word of caution: the US goennvmert has, in the past, recognized accrediting boards for vocational education and then revoked recognition because the board clearly was working as a rubber stamp qualifying its member schools for federal loans and other financial support without any real standards for quality of program, qualifications of faculty, or ability to maintain physical facilities.Are the accreditors for this program of a similar stripe?  Can't tell from here a few factoids make me wonder.The national academy of opticianry lists a membership of about 2000; compare that with the membership of similar program accrediting groups like the American Bar Association or the National Academy of Nursing.And the DETC is a relatively new association, who knows its track record?There are many, MANY regionally accredited universities, community colleges, and trade schools that offer online programs.  Those include many public institutions, which of course will be less expensive.  Moreover, there's research showing that many employers think a degree earned primarily or completely online is lower quality get a diploma from a fully accredited state institution and it won't look like it came from an online school.I'd proceed with caution there's no hard evidence that impeaches the program you're describing, but it's a major investment of money and time so get as much information about completion and placement rates as you can before you commit to it.
Feb. 8, 2008, 7:13 p.m.
0 votes/
From a faculty point of view, Henley-Putnam University is top notch.  The faculty are all highly specialized in their field of expertise including professonal backgrounds from the CIA, FBI, U.S. Secret Service, DIA, Special Forces.

Henley-Putnam is proud of its outstanding faculty; more than 50 seasoned professionals with over 1,300 years of cumulative field experience—more than 22 years of experience for every instructor.  Over 82% hold a masters or doctorate degree from prestigious institutions including the University of California at Berkeley, Yale, Cambridge, Stanford, and Georgetown.  Over one-third of our instructors are published in their field.

Henley-Putnam University offers bachelor and master degrees in protection management, counterterrorism and intelligence.  They are nationally accredited by the DETC, which is a recognized accreditor through the U.S. Department of Education and CHEA.
Feb. 21, 2008, 8:43 p.m.
0 votes/
Henley-Putnam is ONLY Nationally Accredited,with no plans to gain Regional Accreditation status.Bottom line- Wildly expensive,outside of the Federal Aid System, and unwilling to go regional. AVOID!
Feb. 22, 2008, 5:42 a.m.
0 votes/
DETC (national) accreditation is just as valid as any regional accreditation, and the Secretary of Education has officially recognized DETC since 1959 and by the Council for Higher Education and its predecssors since 1975.  There has been over 140 million graduates from DETC institutions since the 1890s.

The DETC meets precisely the same standards as do the regionals. They have vastly more experience and tougher, more stingent standards for distance learning than any other agency in the United States, as such, distance learning is their speciality.

DETC schools are now eligible to become a federal aid provider, so this is a null and void issue.

Again, the DETC and regional accreditors have to meet the EXACT same standards of quality to earn recognition through the US Department of Education and CHEA. In addition, the DETC accredits each and every course offered through their accredited institutions and are evaluated by subject matter experts. The regionals do not do this and only accredit the entire institution as a whole. DETC reaccredits schools every five years. The regionals do it every 10 years. The regionals have been put on notice by the US Department of Education for not focusing on student outcomes. The DETC was recognized once again by US DoE with no issues for the maximum amount of time (5 years).

You see, if you educate yourself and others about accreditation you'd be amazed of the quality differences between regional and DETC.
March 21, 2008, 7:48 a.m.
0 votes/
A little article about the problems with DETC.

http://distancelearn.about.com/od/accreditationinfo/a/DETC.htm
May 2, 2008, 8:16 a.m.
0 votes/
Dhillon,
Good comments, but I want to point out that American Military University is regionally accredited as well as DETC.  It's not quite the same as HPU.  Both great schools though!
April 22, 2008, 9:16 p.m.
0 votes/
Jamie,

If DETC were "just as valid as regional accredidation" then schools such as New Mexico State University, Penn State University, etc... would seek national accredidation. DETC is, and always will be, concidered to be a complete joke by those who really know anything about higher education. Bottom line, if a school is not regionally accredited, avoid it at all costs because the "degrees" they "award" are nothing more than worthless pieces of paper.

Regards,

Jack
April 27, 2008, 12:32 a.m.
0 votes/
Jack,

 I am not a student at the Henley Putnam nor at the American Military University. But if you are some body who is looking for an education in field of Intelligence, counter-terrorism and protection services, then quite possibly the Henley-Putnam University and the American Military University are the universities to go to. This is especially true if you are already in the industry like I am. Always pay close attention to the actual subject matter that is being taught in the university, the depth of the courses that you are planning to take and the professors teaching the courses. If you are in the military or law enforcement industry, there aren't too many legitimate choices out there. These two colleges are both recognized by the Dept. of Education and both seem to maintain a very high level of integrity in their programs. Henley Putnam University particularly seems to have some unique course that are relevant to the industries and they also have professors that are actually from various agencies such as CIA, NSA, Secret Service, FBI, etc, with rather vast years of experience. Do your own research and ask your self what are your career and your life goals? When i look at applicants that have applied for a position i will take someone that has received a real education from the professionals that has been there and done that instead of a applicants that have received an education from a bunch of "paper tigers" like you see at the regionally accredited universities you mentioned. Give me a break please, a professor who has never stepped in to the "field" is not going teach me a whole lot about "intelligence operation" and or "covert operation strategies", and worry less about the "piece of paper". A degree from a regional accredited university is useless if you can not get a job with it!  I do not see too many regional accredited universities out there right now teaching anything about intelligence and counter-terrorism and protection services. And a few that are did not impress me at all due to the fact the course contents were shallow and irrelevant and the professor did not have any "real" experience in the "field". Do the research yourself and then make a decision as to which institution will give you the best EDUCATION and the best chance to be hired my federal and private organization. 

Regards,

Dhillon
June 26, 2008, 9:08 p.m.
0 votes/
Oh Jamie!!!   You make me laugh and laugh with your capitalistically delusional spin on how you are just as good as regionals...YOU AREN'T!!!! As to the availability of Federal funding ,I was told by one of your boiler room salespeople...ER...I mean "academic counselors" that they would be more than happy to "arrange"funding through private sources only.I also find it hard to believe that any real learning can occur in such short classes.In short,I choose not to purchase a degree that is on a par with the University of Phoenix!
June 27, 2008, 7:09 p.m.
0 votes/
The Truth about DETC Accreditation

The first thing that must be addressed is what is the DETC and their history.  The Distance Education and Training Council Accrediting Commission (DETC) is considered to be the premier accrediting authority of distance learning, accrediting more than 100 institutions worldwide.  

Since 1926, the DETC has evolved as a highly respected public non-profit organization dedicated to accrediting and improving distance learning institutions.  Since 1890, more than 135 million students have enrolled in DETC institutions.  

DETC accredits some of the largest known institutions in the world including the military distance learning institutions operated by the Air Force, Army and Marine Corps.  Since World War II, millions of veterans have studies with DETC institutions earning degrees and job enhancing skills.  

Over 4 million students are enrolled in DETC institutions, and over 500 fields of study are offered, ranging from accounting to yacht design. DETC institutions offer instruction at the Kindergarten through the Professional Doctoral Degree level (e.g., Doctor of Business Administration and the Doctor of Education.)

DETC has enjoyed the official recognition of the U.S. Department of Education since 1959, and since 1975, DETC has been recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation or its predecessor organizations.  This means that institutions like Henley-Putnam meet the same standards as applied by the regional accreditors, but DETC, given its specialty and vast experience in distance learning, and being the only recognized accreditor that focuses solely on distance learning, applies more rigors standards for distance learning.  As a matter of fact, many regional accreditors that started to develop online courses went to the DETC for guidance and utilized their standards.

With its 80-plus years of history and its highly refined and federally recognized accreditation program, DETC offers distance learning institutions the most current, relevant and practical services for the 21st Century.
June 27, 2008, 7:25 p.m.
0 votes/
Regarding "Q Public's" ridiculous comments;

First off, the way you're coming across is so far in left field that your comments alone dictate your inept thought process.

There are many DETC institutions that are either already approved for federal funding and/or are in the process of getting federal funding.  Achiveing the status of being a Title IV school is a long process.  In addition, many schools, including tradtional ones, offer several options for financing including private loans.

I wouldn't venture to comment on any classes at Henley-Putnam unless you've been lucky enough to be a student.  The student reviews have been very positive and there are many valid reason behind those comments.
July 13, 2008, 11:47 a.m.
0 votes/
Jamie has been exposed in the CSU blog as a shill who shamelessly promotes the universities that employ him.  He works for Henley Putnam and guess who has been here to push it... Jamie the shill of course!
July 17, 2008, 1:47 a.m.
0 votes/
You can ignore John Q., he is in every forum on this website, he hates for profit online schools, he will switch names.
July 24, 2008, 12:40 a.m.
0 votes/
I've been debating enrolling with HP. The admissions coordinators definitely hound you to enroll, but then all of the universities I've spoken to do that. The price seems a bit steep though.  
I'm not sure what all the fuss is over accreditation. If you plan on completing your degree with the same university you started at, it isn't an issue. 
I think John Q. is just a spammer that works for some "regional" university and is out to discredit any and all online schools. Yep, you John Q., are a shill because you spam the other review sites as well.
Sept. 1, 2008, 4:38 p.m.
0 votes/
John hits another message board. People beware of this rambling think he knows it all idiot.
Sept. 23, 2008, 12:23 a.m.
0 votes/
Can anyone tell me, if this school is worth going to as far as there acredidation goes? If I recive a Master degree from them, will I get turned down by Federal agencies such as thr FBI CIA etc, just wondering?
Sept. 25, 2008, 8:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Henley-Putnam accreditation is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and CHEA, which means federal agencies will accept your degree.
Oct. 3, 2008, 4:23 p.m.
0 votes/
Henley-Putnam University has a newly coveted professional doctorate degree program in Strategic Security (DSS).  This is a historical milestone for the university as it is the only accredited doctorate degree program of its kind and no other university in the world offers such a program.  The university website will soon be updated with the details of the DSS.
Oct. 10, 2008, 1:23 a.m.
0 votes/
enough with the stone-throwing!  Get back to the real deal.
Oct. 20, 2008, 11:17 p.m.
0 votes/
Mark,
Yes the CIA will consider the degree as valid. I don't know about any of the other agencies though. If you contact their recruitment department they will send you a link to a website on accredited schools. If the school you are considering is listed, they'll accept the degree.
Nov. 8, 2008, 10:58 p.m.
0 votes/
here are two great sites that explain about natinal and regional accreditation.

1.  www.military-advanced-education.com/article.cfm?DocID=2040

2.distancelearn.about.com/od/accreditationinfo/a/DETC_Interview.htm

bottom line is there is no real difference other than the style of learning format.
Nov. 15, 2008, 6:33 a.m.
0 votes/
Interesting topics all. But I have a question regarding courses at Henley-Putnam.

I am totally interested in the enrollment of the Masters Degree in Intelligence Management and the Doctorate Program. After reading the description, I realized that the Strategic Security Doctorates Degree covers only a few fields of Intelligence Management, Terrorism and Counterterrorism Studies, and Protection Management. 

My question is: Does the Doctoral Strategic Security Degree allow you to take the same courses that are required in the Intelligence Management curriculum, or do you just follow the required curriculum for the Doctorates Degree? 

From what I see, the Doctorate Program does not offer most of the INT courses like the Masters Degree does. 
Thanks!
Nov. 19, 2008, 1:40 a.m.
0 votes/
"Henley-Putnam accreditation is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and CHEA, which means federal agencies will accept your degree."

This is not true! Be carefull, this school is not regionally acredited and will not be recognized by the FBI, ATF, NCIS, etc. This is not a "is regional better than national" argument. According to these agencies,they will not accept a degree that is not regionally accredited. I was thinking of getting a Masters here, but have chosen not to due to the lack of RA. Go to the FBI website if you doubt me.
Nov. 19, 2008, 10:33 a.m.
0 votes/
John W,

Have you contacted these agencies directly to inquire about their views on HPU? Or are you just making that assumption based on the wording of their websites (which may not have specifically mentioned DETC)? 

Either way, I have to disagree with your point.  In April 2008, HPU entered an official agreement with the FBI to actually incorporate the agency's existing employees into its student and faculty bodies (you can run a google search for the press release).  In addition, HPU has academic partnerships with the Center for Counterintelligence/Strategic Security Studies, and CTC International; both staffed by members of CIA, FBI, DOJ, etc.
HPU's current faculty include active and retired members of the CIA, FBI, DIA, etc who will not only provide you with a respectable education, but will also help you with job placement, particularly in the federal community.
From the standpoint of a student in the Master's program, I can tell you the degree is top notch.  Very challenging and very rewarding.  And certainly not regarded as worthless by the federal agencies.

Lastly, you mentioned you were looking at the Master's program in order to seek employment with a federal agency.  Last time I checked, the minimum requirement for this was a Bachelor's degree (generally in any field, depending on what you're applying for). Is your BA not regionally accredited? 

All in all, I would just ask that you verify your facts before posting alarming messages...and then provide a more evidence-based argument when you do (something more than just "look at their website").  These agencies' human resource departments are extremely robust and in most cases, their websites are far from complete when it comes to describing the hiring criteria.  If I'm wrong, I'll admit it...but since learning about HPU, I've never heard the accusation that their degree is not federally accepted.
Nov. 19, 2008, 1:55 p.m.
0 votes/
Daniel F.

Yes, I have not only talked with recruiters, I have taken and passed the phase one exam of the FBI. I could not do that unless I had a regionally accredited degree. Regardless of how great you think the DETC is, it is not a qualifier for federal employment.

Now, you mention that you have an agreement to incorperate existing employees into HPU, thats great, Im sure they will bring a lot to the table, but it still doesn't change the fact that school does not have regional acccreditation and therefore, will not be seen as legit by the federal government or the military for those interested in becoming commisioned officers. Having instructors with regionally accredited degrees does not make the school regionally accredited.

"All in all"...i would recomend you be truthfull with those asking questions on this board before they decide to spend money on a degree thay can't use.And, ask all your high speed teachers from the CIA, DIA, FBI etc if any of their degrees are nationally accredited only. I understand that you are most likely a recruiter for the school, but i know I would be upset if I got a degree here and was denied employment due to accreditation.
 

 
Also, I did not say I was looking to get a Masters for Federal employment, Im just looking to get a Masters.
Nov. 19, 2008, 3:47 p.m.
0 votes/
From the FBI website:

"To become an FBI Special Agent you must be a U.S. citizen or a citizen of the Northern Mariana Islands. You must be at least 23 years of age, but younger than 37 upon your appointment as a Special Agent. You must possess a four-year degree from a college or university accredited by one of the regional or national institutional associations recognized by the United States Secretary of Education."

Get your facts straight; as you can see they accept a bachelor's degree from a regional or NATIONAL institutional association.  DETC is a national accreditor recognized by US DoE and CHEA.
Nov. 19, 2008, 4:01 p.m.
0 votes/
I stand corrected. When I took the exam, degrees had to be regionally accredited. My apologies.
Nov. 22, 2008, 11:41 p.m.
0 votes/
The Masters program at Henley-Putnam is expensive. Tuition Assistance wouldn't be enough to cover the cost and  I do not want to take out a loan. I was also told by my Army education couselor that I would have to pay up front the costs  and would be re-imbursed later, and am wondering if there is any truth to this... What would be a good financial funding plan to help pay for a Degree at Henley-Putnam? ...as compared to American Military University who tuition costs and fees seem to be lower(I would like to attend HPU if not AMU).
Dec. 3, 2008, 3:59 p.m.
0 votes/
If you are eligible for the GI Bill, this is what your Army Education counselor is talking about. Depending on your eligibility, the GI Bill will pay full cost for the Master courses at HPU.
Dec. 5, 2008, 8:12 p.m.
0 votes/
How much does Henley-Putnam University cost?

All classes are 4.5 units. Current tuition for the Bachelors program is $264 per unit; therefore each bachelors level course is $1,188.00. Current tuition for the Masters program is $337 per unit; therefore each masters level course is $1,516.50. Current tuition for the doctorate degree program is $375 per unit; therefore each doctorate level course is $1,687.50. (This does not include course books which can run approximately $50-$150 per class). However, the University will provide a laptop computer and protective case after your have started your fifth course.

The nice thing is that you are provided with a laptop after your fifth course which is included in the tuition.  

Can I use financial aid with these courses?  

Henley-Putnam University does not provide financial aid but does offer a monthly payment plan and our programs are eligible for benefits from the Department of Veterans Affairs.  Please contact the Admissions office directly at 888-852-8746 ext.1 to discuss these options.

So, you can see that you can get onto a monthly payment plan for their programs as well as benefits from the Department of Veteran Affairs if eligible.
Dec. 8, 2008, 5:21 a.m.
0 votes/
If HPU is accredited it should offer financial aid.
Dec. 11, 2008, 5:31 a.m.
0 votes/
Oach! HPU looks a little expensive for a DETC school.  Those are the kinds of prices you pay at RA schools.
Dec. 17, 2008, 2:30 a.m.
0 votes/
This is a bunch of retired law enforcement types telling war stories online--not a real education and certainly not anything that will get you respect in law enforcement, security, counter-terrorism, etc.  IF anything, it is more of an online trade school-better off attending a police academy at a junior college.
Dec. 17, 2008, 3:26 a.m.
0 votes/
I agree with Renee-HPU is not a good choice for someone that really wants a career in this area.  This is just a way for a bunch of people that have been in law enforcement in some fashion or had some connection with it to try to cash in on the current world situation by pretending to be a real school and hoodwinking people  into thinking this degree means anything.
Dec. 19, 2008, 5:26 a.m.
0 votes/
Your comments are baseless and completely invalid.
Dec. 19, 2008, 5:38 p.m.
0 votes/
From a faculty point of view, Henley-Putnam University is top notch. The faculty are all highly specialized in their field of expertise including professonal backgrounds from the CIA, FBI, U.S. Secret Service, DIA, Special Forces.

Henley-Putnam is proud of its outstanding faculty; more than 50 seasoned professionals with over 1,300 years of cumulative field experience—more than 22 years of experience for every instructor. Over 82% hold a masters or doctorate degree from prestigious institutions including the University of California at Berkeley, Yale, Cambridge, Stanford, and Georgetown. Over one-third of our instructors are published in their field.

Henley-Putnam University offers bachelor and master degrees in protection management, counterterrorism and intelligence. They are nationally accredited by the DETC, which is a recognized accreditor through the U.S. Department of Education and CHEA.
Dec. 21, 2008, 11:23 a.m.
0 votes/
Ok, who was the "anonymous" reviewer that posted this garbage? 

"Sorry folks, but even though its a great looking we site, this place is a scam-the degree is worthless and unfortunately, my dealings  with the University has shown that members of theirs staff are unprofessional and frankly, just not too births.  Save your time and money and go to a real school.  Telling an employer you went to this place has all of the impart of gong to a diploma mill.  ."

---First of all, what 'dealings' with the University do you speak of?  Did you take classes?  Graduate??

Secondly, based upon the grammatical exhibition of your post, I would say that you probably had a hard time getting a job because you can't spell nor can you properly formulate a sentence.  I'm guessing this probably had something to do with the "dealings" you described as well.  I'm sorry...you simply can't have a Master's degree with the writing ability of a 3rd grader.  The ability to coherently dictate your thoughts in English is sort of a requirement. 

Thanks for dragging the school's rating down with your crap.  It wasn't like the rest of us weren't proud of our university's top-ranking status on this site....
Dec. 24, 2008, 2:41 p.m.
0 votes/
Daniel  F.

The post you responded to was well written!  Yet, your response was not, which may reveal a little something about your credibility.  Since I hold four regionally accredited academic degrees, including graduate degrees, I will assume that you will consider me an expert.  

Jim
Dec. 25, 2008, 10:57 a.m.
0 votes/
"Ok, who was the "anonymous" reviewer that posted this garbage?"

Uh, one of your students obviously.  If HPU is accepting tards like that and they are passing them then it is a useless school to say the least.
Dec. 28, 2008, 3:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Jim S.

While I would not challenge your expertise based upon your said credentials, I simply can not understand how you would consider the anonymous post to be well-written.  I mean, to begin with, the guy (or girl) spelled the word, "sorry" as "srrry."  And this somehow lends to MY lack of credibility??

Aside from alluding to the notion that the post was a grammatical disaster, I was simply challenging the fact-based premise upon which it was written.  He said the instructors were unprofessional....well, I ask; how so?  What contrasting experiences would this person have to offer that would suggest the instructors were less professional than those at another institution?  He also purported that the university's credibility is comparable to a diploma mill.  What about the curriculum would lead one to believe this?  Certainly the US Dept of Education, CHEA and partnering federal agencies do not share this belief.  
All I'm asking for are facts that support opinions.  Personally, my experiences with HPU have been very positive and informative.  I specifically highlighted the reason of 'thorough feedback' in my official review.  Would it be too much to ask of a student who has apparently had a very negative experience to provide factual details so that the rest of us could evaluate the experience and make our own determinations?
Jan. 8, 2009, 2:58 p.m.
0 votes/
IM A KENYAN WHO HAVE INTERESTIN THE MILLITARY,COUNTER TERRRORISM.I WOULD BE GLAD IF YOU INVITED ME TO ENROL.

MY DETAILS
NAME JAMES GATEBU KINGI
ADDRESS  35218 00200 NAIROBI KENYA
EMAIL gatebu@hotmail.com
TEL 0726123431

I WULD BE VERY GLAD TO JOIN

YOURS FAITHFULLY
JAMES
Jan. 11, 2009, 2:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello,

I would like to ask some current students who take the courses online how do you get the books and materiel's (e.g. are they sent to you via postage overnight?)  Also, if there is a delay in receiving the books (e.g. 7-10 days) then when does your start date begin since there is a delay in receiving the materiel's.  How does Devry handle this or how does it work?

All comments are welcomed!

Thanks
Jan. 12, 2009, 5:34 a.m.
0 votes/
Last post,

HPU has their own online bookstore where you can order your textbooks prior to starting each quarter.  Or you can get the books on Amazon, etc since you will receive the ISBN #'s in your enrollment packet.  You should receive your enrollment packet at least a couple weeks (ideally more) before the class start date on the 1st of the month.  

When you order the books, the site will ask you what type of shipping you prefer.  Overnight is available, though it tends to be somewhat costly.  From my experience, shipping has been very efficient.  I've been in Iraq for the last 6 classes and have received my books well before my start dates every time.  

Lastly, as part of your tuition HPU will provide you with a $200 voucher to cover the cost of books for your first 4 classes (2 quarters).  It's not a lot, but it's something at least to get started with.  Had I known better when I first started, I would have ordered more of my books on Amazon and used the voucher for ones I couldn't get anywhere else.  That would have made the $200 last a little longer since I ended up paying full retail price for books I could've purchased used for about 10 bucks or less.  

Let me know if you have any questions.  navydaniel2@yahoo.com

-dan
Jan. 12, 2009, 5:39 a.m.
0 votes/
Oh, and in response to your question about the books arriving late, I would just confer with your instructor on that issue.  That happened to me one semester at Excelsior College; I ordered my books late and didn't receive them until 3 weeks into the semester.  I let the instructors know right away and they assured me that if there were time constraint issues, I could just apply for an extension at the end of the semester and it would be no problem.  

Hope this helps!
Jan. 15, 2009, 1:18 a.m.
0 votes/
Daniel,

Thanks for your quick response. Your information was very helpful.

CJ
Jan. 15, 2009, 4:27 a.m.
0 votes/
So, what will be the total cost of a Master's Degree?  Are we talking over $20K?  $40K?

And do you have placement statistics for recent graduating classes, including hiring agencies, starting salaries, job titles when starting, and signing bonus (if any)?

Thanks, and if this is listed somewhere and I missed it, I apologize.  I'm just trying to do my homework before beginning an online degree.
Jan. 20, 2009, 11:05 a.m.
0 votes/
The Master's program (in Intelligence Management at least--would have to confirm the others) consists of 18 classes, 4.5 quarter units each, at a current tuition rate of $349 per unit.  Total = $28,269.  

As far as placement stats go, I don't really know.  You could try contacting the admissions staff at 1-888-852-8746 ext. 1.  My admissions counselor was Elsa Soto.  She might be able to point you in the right direction, however HPU maintains on their website that they are not a job placement organization.  Their staff are well diversified in the intel/law enforcement communities and in my experience, are able to lend their advice and assistance to helping you get hired.  However, it is not officially recognized as part of the program and therefore may not be quantified by any precise metrics.
Jan. 24, 2009, 8:19 a.m.
0 votes/
Here we go again with anonymous slams on HPU that are not supported by any sort of fact-base.  My friend, a mere bit of searching through the posts in this very column will reveal some discussion that specifically addresses your concerns.  A quick visit to the FBI's website for one, will also confirm that the 3-letter agencies will accept degrees that are either regionally AND/OR nationally accredited (as is HPU).  

Again, I'm not suggesting that every review should be positive.  Certainly, a good mix of perspectives is healthy for a peer-review forum.  But frankly, this site is going to lose all credibility if people keep making anonymous, knee-jerk lambastings without even explaining their reasons.  

If you think that Henley-Putnam is a waste of time and won't serve your career intentions well, please tell us why.  What experiences have you personally had that would support this idea?

-Daniel
Jan. 24, 2009, 9:13 a.m.
0 votes/
For the record, here are some excerpts directly from the 3-letter-agencies' career websites:

FBI: "You must possess a four-year degree from a college or university accredited by one of the regional or national institutional associations recognized by the United States Secretary of Education."

CIA: "...a standard requirement for overseas officers, intelligence analysts, and other non-clerical positions is a college degree, preferably an advanced degree." 
"Minimum requirements for Core Collector positions include a bachelor's degree and a strong academic record..."  

DEA: "The Most Competitive candidates possess a bachelor's or master's degree, along with a Grade Point Average (GPA) of 2.95 or higher."

ATF: "Possess one of the following: At a minimum, possess a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university"

DIA: (no mention of degree requirements)

US Marshals: "Have a bachelor's degree, or three years of qualifying experience, or an equivalent combination of education and experience"

Air Force OSI: "If you meet the specialized criminal investigative experience requirements, you do not require a bachelor's degree to qualify; however, successful candidates possess a degree."

NCIS: "You must have an accredited baccalaureate degree." 

Secret Service: "(1) Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university"


This is just to name a few.  Is there anything I might be missing from the excerpts above that would suggest that DETC (aka: 'national') accreditation is automatically disqualifying?   Meanwhile, HPU maintains an exclusive partnership with the FBI and has published many peer-reviewed articles that have been recognized by the DOHS.  They are the only university to currently offer a PhD in Strategic Security---or anything intelligence and/or security related.
Feb. 2, 2009, 5:24 p.m.
0 votes/
Okay, after reading all this I'm thoroughly confused. Does the government accept these degrees, do they not? Is there financial aid, is there not? Someone give straight answers please! Preferably a peson who has a degree form this school and a job within one of these agencies (NSA, FBI, CIA ect.)
Feb. 3, 2009, 12:26 a.m.
0 votes/
My Senior Director received her PhD from HP and she works in the intelligence contracting fieled for one of the big 3 intelligence contractors as do I and she has a hefty six figure salary and benefits package (as do I without the PhD, but I do have a MBA from a DETC school). As well, this same company is reimbursing me for the PhD work I am doing at HP as long as I pass the classes. We work hand in hand with all DoD and 3 letter agencies and graduates of HP I work with are constantly training not only civilians but all agencies personnel in the actionable intelligence field we are in daily here in Iraq. So, HP is worth your time if you can accomplish the task and are in the intelligence field. If you have a personal hang up over lack of regional accreditation just go to another school and leave those of us making 6 figures or have such the potential in the current economy (thank God) alone to provide pursue what has been shown to work for us and countless others in the Federal and civilian intelligence field.
Feb. 3, 2009, 4:25 p.m.
0 votes/
Great post, Phox! 

Though, I didn't realize some of the PhD students had already graduated...I was under the impression the program just recently kicked off.  Maybe was thinking of something else. 

To 'possible new student': Your question is somewhat difficult to answer at this point because  1) HPU just recently (in 2007) converted to a fully accredited university---thus, the alumni community is still fairly small.  I would imagine that at least a decent amount of them are currently working in government intelligence and/or law enforcement, as Phox pointed out examples of.

But then there's the big "Part 2" which basically encompasses the "which came first, chicken or egg" concept.  HPU is a school that is naturally attractive to those of us currently working in government intel/LE.  Personally, as a military intel analyst of 7 years with a T/S clearance, HP's degree will likely serve my future career needs/desires well because I will be coupling it with my on-the-job experience when I go to apply for jobs.  

When you think about it, it's not really that much different from let's say, the military's aviation members who get degrees in avionics.  Does it mean that a civilian who gets an avionics degree from Embry-Riddle per se will NOT get hired by Boeing or Lockheed, etc?  Of course not.  But certainly having the experience and then adding a specialized degree in your career field makes you a highly competitive applicant.  (Also helps *big time* in terms of networking!)

I'm not saying that the military is the only way to break into the intel business, nor am I suggesting that HP's degree won't be valuable on an application to a non-intel civilian.  My point is mainly that most of the 3-letter agencies are very selective and, like all other private companies, will save money where they can (ie: hiring someone who already has a clearance in order to save thousands of $$).  Will they accept the degree? Yes, because it is accredited.  But will they hire someone simply because they have HP's degree?  I believe that's yet to be determined. 

Hope this helps.  Feel free to email me with any questions.  navydaniel2@yahoo.com
Feb. 19, 2009, 6:56 p.m.
0 votes/
The argument between regional, national, or DETC is very moot.  If the Sec. Education recognizes it as a valid institution than it is acceptible.  Think of people who obtain degrees from other countries.  Plenty of doctors, lawyers, etc, have degrees from schools that have different standards, etc.  If an organization chooses bias over which accrediation your degree comes from I'm sure they would be looking at a bias lawsuit.

But, in the end, an online university only bolsters its position if it is regionally, nationally, and DETC certified, as the case with AMU.
March 20, 2009, 6:21 p.m.
0 votes/
To Phox:

How in the world did your "senior director" already receive his/her doctorate from Henley when, per the Henley-Putnam website, the first class of doctorate students was just accepted Jan, 2009. This would imply that you "Senior director" finished her doctorate in roughly two months. This information comes directly from a news release from their website - its on the home page under "university news" front and center lol. The title is called "
Henley-Putnam University Welcomes the First Class of Doctoral Students in the Field of Strategic Security."

The school looks like a good program, but keep the BS to yourself - your making the university look terrible.
March 26, 2009, 1:10 p.m.
0 votes/
To all:

This is coming from a current student at H-P. Not only do you have the guarantee that the USG covers this university but you have the opportunity to learn from individuals just retiring out of their agencies to teach you. Myself being military and working for the Department of State as well, fresh retirees are the forefront to fresh information to the educational variety of each degree plan. I myself, have learned also through experience that you can actually complete your classes early and move on to a fresh set of classes the first of the next month; instead of waiting to start a month of two later. The choice is yours no matter what, but if you intend to work federally or with the military upon completion of your schooling, then actually look into the benefits instead of looking at the what-if's.
April 21, 2009, 10:01 p.m.
0 votes/
All – I am a current HPU student, full time CI guy, and a first time caller to this show… Can I just say; the argument about the national or regional accreditation status of this school is nauseating.  
If I may, I would like to throw in my two cents with regard to what has been said already.  Really, it boils down to how you want to go to school (in my opinion).  If you are already in the IC or industry, but do not necessarily have the degree that says you are educated (maybe you got a basket weaving degree and that was enough at the time to get in, or the standard CJ, Business, or xyz), then HPU is a good fit (where I am currently).  I will say this as well.  I work in a DoD agency and have had the pleasure of working with all sorts of characters in combat zones and in areas that were friendly or not so friendly with every three letter agency I can think of.  If you can show you are relevant to the real world and ongoing conflicts or collections efforts (or security etc for any LE agency for that matter), then you are relevant (regardless of the accreditation of your degree, which I think has been covered well).  The IC and the industry (security, protection, and counterterrorism) is what it is.  An institution that offers a specialized education in those areas is refreshing, certainly in the context of the shallow pool you have to swim in when you are looking for the types of degrees offered by HPU (go ahead try it… unless you are among the smaller group that has been through the halls of the JMIC/NDIC ?, it is slim picking).   
And finally to agree with several other posters... take a class at HPU, then provide feedback.  Do not sit from your lofty RA pedestal (I have cast stare’s at those lower than me at only nationally accredited schools unfortunately), then cast your judgment or doubt.  I feel very privileged having been given the opportunity to be taught by folks who obviously know what they are doing.  The work I have completed thus far has validated knowledge of either general information or tradecraft and operations knowledge, most of which had been obtained over years of collections, investigations, and operations spanning the coast lines and plenty from overseas as well.  Do not ignorantly tromp around in a message board trying to tarnish an institution that offers an incredible opportunity for those who take it... ~S
May 28, 2009, 3:12 a.m.
0 votes/
For anyone who has questions about this place I'd be more than willing to answer them.  I've attended 4 different state, local, and online universities and I would vouch for this one above all of the rest.  I earned my B.S. in Intelligence Management from Henley-Putnam and it was a very rigorous couple of years.  For anyone that has doubts, the accreditation is more than acceptable for Yale's graduate school (who wrote me confirming the validity of DETC and HPU in particular).  It has earned me a seat in interviews with agencies that I'm not allowed to name and I sit on an Air Force Officer Board next week.  If it is good enough for the above organizations then I could care less about the nay-sayers.  If you're interested in quality education and you have the means, then this is top notch.  I'll not defend the price for anything worth having will be hard to get. 

Please feel free to write me at: three_days_complete@yahoo.com if you have any questions.
July 30, 2009, 10:14 p.m.
0 votes/
Folks,
I had many of the same concerns over accreditation. It is tough to decide where to spend your money and we all want to get the most out of our dollars. We also want to ensure that we aren't being scammed by a diploma mill. At the bottom of this messege is a link to the US Department of Education Database of Accredited Post Secondary Institutions and Programs. Type in the name of the school you are considering and you will know if it is recognized or not. A diploma from any of the schools recognized by the website will also be recognized by the various agencies. Now, you may be wondering how I know this. I simply e-mailed the respective agencies and asked if a degree from an online school would be considered for employment. The recruiters responded by sending me the link. 
(Due to spam restrictions of this site, I am unable to include the h.t.t.p././ with the link)

ope.ed.gov/accreditation
Aug. 7, 2009, 4:38 a.m.
0 votes/
Yes, HPU's degrees are accepted for Federal employment.  I am speaking first hand.  GS-0132-14 here... so do not listen to all the incorrect comments.  The programs offered are intense and the you will not find a better set of qualified instructors for this area of study.
The staff is excellent and the support you will receive is top notch.  I have absolutely no complaints about HPU.
Sept. 3, 2009, 9:27 p.m.
0 votes/
IF YOU GET A DEGREE FROM THEM AND WANT TO EVER TRANSFER TO A STATE UNV. IT WILL NOT TRANSFER IN. NATIONALLY ACCREDIDATED IS NOT WITH IN STANDARDS OF HIGHER EDUCATION. THEY DON'T WANT TO GO REG. BECAUSE THEY DON'T WANT TO FACE THE CHALLENGES OF DOE INSPECTIONS.
Sept. 10, 2009, 11:02 p.m.
0 votes/
You should look at Virginia Commonwealth University for a bachelors or a masters degree in Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness.  I graduated from there this past May and work for a Federal agency and have already been granted a clearance.  

tube these (you) (tube)

com/watch?v=0_6IfWVjn1Q

com/watch?v=YzNyycgMedg
Oct. 5, 2009, 10:28 p.m.
0 votes/
I know there are several students who were successful in transferring to regional schools although your best option is to call the school(s) that you'd be interested in transferring to and asking them if they would accept you as a transfer student.
Oct. 27, 2009, 4:26 a.m.
0 votes/
or do both--and get the best of the both worlds!
Jan. 28, 2010, 9:39 p.m.
0 votes/
I have two nationally accredited DETC degrees: an AS in Criminal Justice and a BS in Psychology. These degrees are from two different DETC N/A schools I attended on-line and by correspondence. I have worked in private security for 12 years in physical security management, central station management and as a guard captain. My degrees have always been good at padding my resume, but all of the jobs I have received in the security sector are due to my hands on experience with very little, if anything, having to do with my DETC degrees. I reside in South Carolina, and this state has actual mandates that forbid the acknowledgement or use of non-regionally accredited degrees for employment purposes. This means that you cannot be accepted for employment as a police officer, sheriff's deputy or State SLED agent where I reside. So, a Henley Putnam degree would NOT benefit me in any offical law enforcement capacity where I live! With what they charge per course, HPU really needs to earn regional accreditation. This will help them out and the students that innocently go into their programs without all of the facts. Who cares if they give you a free laptop computer? I can buy a really nice one with a warranty for around $600 to $900. Lastly, I earned my DETC degrees before I knew anything about the importance of accreditation. It was very ignorant on my part to not do my research and spend the amount of money I did on degrees that are worthless.
March 29, 2010, 3:21 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello all, this post is for anyone who has doubts about this University.  I was an active Special Forces enlisted operator for ten years.  I completed a B.S. in Terrorism and Counterterrorism from this school which allowed me to become an Officer in the military.  Upon seperation from the military, I was then able to use this same degree(along with specialized job skills) to pursue a job with another highly skilled agency that requires at minimum a B.S.  I was offered multiple jobs from multiple agencies that included the DOE, DOJ, CIA and FBI and private companies.  I selected one that was best for me.  None of them had any questions about my degree during the hiring process.  So why are people on here bashing this school?  Clearly none of you have any experience with this school, the faculty there, or the benefit of this specialized degree.  I have used the knowledge this school has provided me to get to where I am today along with an active duty military career.  Is it expensive, yes.  If you are active duty, your Tuition Assistance will cover everything and if you are proactive and give a damn about grades, you can obtain scholarships for books which will help out as well.  If you have a G.I. Bill, the staff there (Stacy) will ensure you are set up properly in every aspect.  If the VA is slow sometimes, guess what, it happens, but it will not be HPU that is at fault in that area.  Also, if you want a degree in these specialized areas based on your current career path, then go for it, if not, don't.  Only you know your situation and how this degree could help you pursue your life long goals.
May 2, 2010, 2:24 a.m.
0 votes/
Congrats Johnny Spuke on your degree! I too think it is unfair for people to criticize this school for what it is. I have not attended HPU, but I do know from others that the programs are educational and provide real world knowledge for those who graduate. What sucks is their accreditation. While this degree has worked for you, the degrees they offer will not work for everybody because of their lack of regional accreditation. I live on the East Coast in a state that does not allow individuals to become law enforcement officers without either a two year degree plus military or a four year degree from a "regionally" accredited college. HPU is gonna have to get this accreditation in order for ALL its students to succeed and not just a few like yourself. Again congrats on your career advancement and I hope your HPU degree continues to work for you and your success.
June 4, 2010, 12:40 a.m.
0 votes/
If you ever plan to teach at a regionally accredited university, your HPU degree will not be accepted as part of your credentials. We will all retire someday and teaching is a way to still contribute to our professionals and make some extra (good) cash, so it is worth considering. Spend your money and time carefully. We will see how long it takes them to get regional accreditation, it is a grueling process, especially for online universities.
June 9, 2010, 3:27 a.m.
0 votes/
However, it can also be stated that if you plan to teach at Harvard, don't go to a state school.  And if you plan to attend schools such as the Naval Post-Graduate School in Monterey, CA, don't get a distance-learning degree period, because it won't be recognized as an "in-class" curriculum and literally won't count.  It's all relative in the big picture.  There are plenty of opportunities for HPU alumni to teach and be professionally involved in Academia...namely at HPU or any of the other distance learning colleges for example.  Again, accreditation--whether national or regional--has almost no correlation to the overall value of the degree.  Is HPU considered the most 'prestigious' school in America?  Of course not.  Will it get you a job teaching at Harvard?? Highly unlikely. But is the education going to be recognized by those in the intelligence, security and military communities as top notch?  I would argue that there is no doubt it will.
Aug. 19, 2010, 6:12 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi, I'm a sophomore at a community college and am looking to transfer my credits to either AMU or Henley-Putnam.  I would like to do the Intelligence Studies program.  The only difference between the two schools that I've been able to find is that Henley-Putnam is a lot more expensive.  Is it because it's supposed to be a better school?  What advantages does HP have over AMU?  Plese fill me in because I am trying to get as much info about both schools as possible.  Thanks!
Sept. 28, 2010, 2:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Wow!  It's too bad that Chicago PD is so narrow minded and ignorant to think that regional accreditation is the only recognized accreditor.  Although a hassle, I would contact DETC and with their assistance challenge Chicago PD's policy. The state of Texas use to do this until they were challenged legally by the DETC for their ignorant behavior and DETC won by a landslide where they now accept DETC schools.  This is a perfect example of how one state was so ridiculous in their approach and their argument had no standing to only accept regional schools, so challenging one police department shouldn't be too much of a problem.  It honestly comes down to educating these people about national accreditation.  DETC is accepted nationwide although there are sporadic incidents like yours that come up and when they're challenged appropriately it's usually quickly reversed.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Henley-Putnam University in any way.