Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Public University

4.0
582 Reviews
5 259 
4 212 
3 34 
2 40 
1 37 
0 0 

 

American Public University Reviews:

Great Non-Traditional route to a degree

BA in Management - February 1, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have taken 14 courses from APU and I have been impressed with a only a few courses and instructors but I have never been disappointed with any of them. Just like the 60+ credits I transferred to APU. I had some good and some average instructors and materials. I would not recommend this program as the very first college experience unless you are a disciplined individual. As an older and career experienced student, this program fits me perfectly. My company is supporting me with partial re-imbursement and I am getting better than average reviews in part to my continuing education activities. This program is not perfect and neither is life. I have personally not had any issue with the program. This program fits my schedule, my budget and my career objective. I work with college graduates of "brick and mortar" schools everyday. Some of them are good people and good employees and some of them are jerks who must have skated through college because they rely on others to do their job for them. My point is that this program is what you make it.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Real School

BA in Management - June 3, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very pleased that I chose this school. This school has the challenges of a brick and mortar school with the convenience of being online. The teachers are supportive and authentic. The school work is real. I had signed up for Ashford University and did there trial for 3 weeks. after the 3rd week I stopped because the work was too easy. If you are looking for a legitimate online school then APUS is an awesome choice. My financial aid went through smoothly even though I registered under my married name and my social Security was still under my maiden name. I am excited to continue my education with APUS.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Loved it!!!

BA in Management - December 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been taking classes with APU for a year now. This isn't my first online experience, but what sets it above the rest was that they transferred most of my credits to my degree. A previous institution used most of my credits as electives. Also, a bonus is that all books are e-books and are free. It was a bit of an adjustment to not have a physical book, but it saved money. The instructors are engaging and made the experience interesting. APU is flexible, and willing to work with military members, especially while deployed. I would recommend this school to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

Convenient, Affordable Tuition, Great Staff

BA in Management - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was waiting for almost 2 years after my associate degree before deciding to continuing with my bachelor. Within, all the University I contacted before was too expensive for me, until a good friend recommended me to attend APUS. I attended College at APUS in order to challenge myself to accomplish my dream as Entrepreneur and Business Leader, increase my stamina and get equipped for the future opportunities. I like the online classes because it is flexible,it is convenient and economic. However, it requires a lot of sacrifice, self- discipline and time management to be successful in online classes. Whatever the reasons you decide to attend College, it is important to create the synergy you need to succeed. Stay focus on your goals, pursue your dream and enjoy hard work. Good luck! Thank you APUS/AMU Joseph

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Very Good Educational Venue

BA in Management - November 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I thoroughly enjoyed attending APU for my undergraduate degree. Being that I had not previously taken an online course, I did not know what to expect. I quickly found that the key to success was my self discipline to spend adequate time completing my work and investing in my future. APU is accessible, easy to navigate, and provides a quality learning experience opportunity. Many have commented on the issue of using an online textbook. That is challenging at times when having to study, use quotes, etc. I decided up front to buy all of my books, prior to the start of each class. If funds are tight, you can buy your book, take good care of it, and sell it at the end of the class for close to your purchase price. I am currently in the APU Masters program and will finish up in a few months. I have met many of the leaders at APU and can assure you it is a quality organization that you can be proud to be associated with. Henry

Was this review helpful?

You get what you put in

BA in Management - October 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, AMU is a school for those who are self-motivated and are motivated to push themselves perhaps past the bare minimum that is required. This is my third degree - my previous two were from brick and mortar institutions. Yes, you can get by with the bare minimum, as you can with anything in life. However, I put my all into this degree, and ended up with a BA in Management with honors, a 3.98 GPA, memberships in two international honors societies (Delta Mu Delta and Sigma Beta Alpha), now rolling into a Masters in International Relations - all while working full-time and deploying for about a year and a half, as well. I would take three to four classes at a time, which took some dedication but was possible - I finished in under a year and a half coming in with about 60 transfer credits. Due to working full time, deploying, having kids and other necessities, I normally dedicated 4-8 hours on Sundays to simply doing weekly assignments. It definitely takes a significant amount of time if you want to put your all into it and you really care. You're going to get reviewers that tell you that it's a degree mill and that you barely have to do anything to pass. Those are the ones who skimp through life, and time always weeds them out. The important stuff: They are accredited. I received a raise due to receiving this degree. You can obtain a commission in the U.S. military from this degree. The U.S. government recognizes this degree for all positions that require it. For the GS system, you will receive a higher grade due to having this degree. Therefore, if anyone tells you that this degree is worthless because it's an online college, then just remind them that whoever writes your paychecks, including the U.S. government and accrediting agencies, do not agree with them. As the kiddos say, haters are always going to hate. Overall, I'm very impressed with this university. For someone who finds it wasteful to pause their lives for 4 years (and lose all that income!) in order to go to a brick-and-mortar school, AMU is perfect to fill that gap. Put yourself into it, and it'll pay you dividends for the rest of your life. Waste your time, and you're going to get nothing out of it and end up being just another whiner. Thanks for your time, and best of luck to you!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Almost finished with my BBA

BA in Management - September 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They did not have a section specifically for business administration bachelor degrees, so I had to post this here. I am almost through with my BBA program and I would have to say that I am satisfied with APU. Not all, but many of my professors have held doctorate degrees. My accounting and law and ethics professors were both practicing attorneys. Trust me, there is no lack of faculty experience at APU. Most of my professors had experience at major brick and mortar universities before they started at APU. This should be made very clear: online education (any school, not just APU) is NOT for everyone. I am the type of person that rarely asks questions. I have the internet, I can find the answer. When I have had very specific questions, though, my professors have been prompt and insightful with their responses. If you do not consider yourself above average in the resourcefulness department, and this is not a bad thing, you may want to seriously consider attending a campus somewhere. You are required to interact with peers at APU and you can really develop a sense of belonging. I been in several classes with the same people and kind of developed a friendship with them over time. Besides being regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, the school of business is also accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP). This is an optional secondary accreditation. I recommend APU for self-sufficient people. On a side note, I will likely look elsewhere for graduate school. I only say this because I would prefer to attend a grad school that is AACSB accredited (very few schools are). One thing I forgot to mention: their financial aid department is terrible. All employees are super nice but they are just incompetent. Everything ran fine my first 3 or 4 semesters but then I started having issues. One time they forgot my Pell completely and it took them nearly two months to fix it. Another time they gave me no loans and that took two months to fix as well. Everything I stated in the above paragraph holds true, but just know in advance that, although you will get your money at some point, you may have to wait a long, long time for your funds.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program! Would recommend to anyone!

BA in Management - September 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just finished my Bachelors Degree with APUS. I would recommend this school to anyone that has a desire to obtain their degree and has a need to work outside of the school setting. All class materials (i.e. books and manuals)for undergrad classes are provided online and they have a vast library to work from for class work. The teachers are great. Out of all of my classes, I would say there was only one professor I found to be teaching a history class when all she focused on was what would be covered in an English class. Other than that, I enjoyed learning from all of my other professors and students in my class. I even had a professor change in one class half way through and it was a very smooth and pleasant transition. I did alot of research prior to making the choice to enroll in APUS and they provided exactly what I needed and for a decent price. The financial aid department is very knowledgable and more than willing to help with any question or issue I ever had. I have and will continue to spread the word about how great my experience was here!

Was this review helpful?

Not for those who want a degree handed to them

BA in Management - July 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you do not want to study, write papers, or be held accountable for classroom participation, this is NOT the school for you. The university expects you to do the work. Imagine that. My professors have been great, the content challenging and my experience overall fantastic. Financial aid has been very easy to navigate. Glad I found APUS!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good Price for Working Adults

BA in Management - July 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm working to complete my BA in Business Management, and while searching for the school that would provide what I needed and not cost a fortune, and also being accredited, I found APU. One aspect that I like about it, is that the books are included with the tuition, because books can be more expensive than what one might pay for a credit hour. The teachers are helpful and have the knowledge to back up what they say as well. I've read some of the comments on this site, and some I agree with and others I disagree on. As with any college, you have to work at earning your degree because they aren't handed to you. This is true with APU because it is online and you have to motivate yourself to complete the tasks. I'm finishing my degree while also working fulltime, and I've been able to complete my homework without too much hassle. So, for those that are looking for an online college that is reasonably priced, and are able to work a computer and the internet, APU is the best for you. Good luck on making the decision!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

An adult student

BA in Management - June 4, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read several other reviews on this site and I agree with those that say you get out what you put in. As a returning student from a brick and mortar institution, it was a change from what I was used to but I adapted and have found the experience to do course work on my own time was very uplifting. I do not work in a classroom, I work in the real world and that is how I have approached this institution and my personal goals. I do not recommend this program for someone just out of high school. In my opinion, you need to have some life experience and true inner desire to get your work done and done right. I have been impressed not only with my own output but with the challenges of my professors. This school is not for everyone, no school is. This school is for me and it may be for you.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

BA in Management

BA in Management - May 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is an online institution - not a traditional classroom environment. If people go into the experience "eyes wide open" on that fact, the satisfaction level is high. The level of support from the instructors has been great. Not as quick as raising your hand in class, since it is being handled through email, but that's to be expected. The text books are usually electronic versions - cheaper & easier to access online; however, clearly not the same for someone used to reading & highlighting in their physical text book. The value is fantastic - the quality in relation to the cost of education is extremely good. Like any learning institution, some teachers are incredible, some are great, some are good and some are marginal; however, the majority of them are very good. The VA benefits process worked flawlessly and the counselors and other support staff have been fantastic to work with. Overall, I definitely recommend AMU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Nothing But Busy Work

BA in Management - April 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm so fed up with this school, but I've gotten so many credits now that any attempt to move to another institution would make it all a waste. Do you really think a real school would take any of these clown classes as real transfer credit? No. Clown classes....full of busy work disquised as academic learning. I may not have learned a stinking thing to make me a better manager, but if I ever get a job where my boss wants an academic citation, he's in for a treat! Too bad though, because no industry other than academics, gives a rats ... about proper citations. I've written most of my dozens and dozens of papers with information I pulled straight out of my rear, but as long as I found a couple good citations and wrote them correctly, I've managed to keep my 3.97 GPA. A real joke AMU. No instructor helps design the courses, and when you challenge the material the instructor just blames the "course development team" and lets me know there is nothing they can do. Just keep leading the lemmings off the cliff. It really is a "monkey see, monkey do" institution. You will get a handy piece of degree paper upon completion, but you will still be as dumb as when you started. When I'm the hiring official and I see "AMU" on the resume as their degree: File 13. For the record, I am already a manager with a Federal agency after serving two enlistments. I have a successfull career and am well familiar of what it takes to be a manger in the industry. I can confidently say that this program does not offer you any tools to do the job, other than the piece of paper you need to get past the electronic resume screening machine used by the Fed. gov.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful

No problems thus far

BA in Management - January 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started attending AMU in July 2012 and have seven more classes before I complete my degree. I am well pleased thus far. The instructors are helpful, the textbooks are a bit outdated. I am using the GI Bill and have not had any problems.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Retail Mgmt & Financial aid

BA in Management - January 1, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just started attending this University in September 2013. All my teachers have been more than wonderful. They actually interact with the class and are always there if I have a question. The only problem I have had is with the financial aid dept. I changed my degree plan in August 2013 and this put a hold on my financial aid because there was a glitch in the system. Usually the financial aid refund should be sent out 30-45 days after the semester starts. It is now January 1st and I have not received my refund. The hold has finally been lifted so hopefully I will receive my refund soon since this has been an on-going process. I was just really disappointed because I needed the extra money...I mean it would have been nice. I hope this coming semester I will receive my refund in the time frame the university gives.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Choice

BA in Management - December 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been quite pleased and happy with my time at APUS. The quality of education and the materials provided are equal to or superior to traditional schools. Financial Aide is automated and if you have what is required you are accepted and are able to enroll fairly quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Amu horribly experience

BA in Management - November 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The finance office at AMU is joke. I had so many problems trying to use pell grants. The books that I used for my last class were awful. I nomally don't mind books but this course material was bad. My instructor for this class was so bad that I have disenrolled in this university and enrolled into another. Fellow Amn don't waste your time with this university, go with someone else. Unless you like never getting a straight answer when you do finallly get to speak to a representive after waiting 20 mins. I will warn all of my troops about this university. The classes are a joke very simple material.

Was this review helpful?

Financial Aid Woes

BA in Management - November 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Instructor to pupil communication is very much lacking. As well as accountability with the failing financial aid system. I have completed my first semester, and have not received the financial aid that I applied for over 12 weeks ago. Because I have not received the aid, and the lack of communication I received from the instructors, financial aid, and any person in the school besides other students, I give the overall experience a 1 at best. The use of technology, and access to books and materials are great at this school. But the other items are lacking. I would not recommend this school to any one whom has access to their local community college. I will not return to this school.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU Online has good and bad but overall well worth it!

BA in Management - November 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my 4th semester with AMU and I have had both good and bad experiences so far. The biggest problem I have is specific to certain instructors. It's very difficult to "choose" a good instructor and sometimes there's no choice at all and you take whomever is available. The biggest difference between online and in school learning is that if I get a "bad" instructor, I can't just drop the class and sign up under another instructor teaching the same subject. I will complain to the university about this inconvenience because some times there is just personality clashes or other reasons an instructor doesn't work.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Finishing last of 20+ classes for HRM degree

BA in Management - October 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been taking course with AMU off and on since 2007 and the experience has ALWAYS been perfect! I was looking for an alternative to night classes and/or sit-down classrooms. When I initially registered, I was an active duty AF First Sergeant and I was afraid that a regimented classroom schedule would not be flexible enough for my career. I imagined being in the middle of a class or a test when something crazy would happen in the unit that would require my presence. AMU gave me the flexibility I needed to improve myself and still meet the needs of my people. I also loved the fact that no matter where I was, as long as I had some form of Internet access, I could attend classes. If I were on the moon and had the Net, I could go to class! No worries about changing schools when I moved from one duty station to the next or worrying about missing classes in the transition. In short, it was a perfect choice for me! Doing all of the reading assignments and turning in papers by the deadlines was not an issue either. I'm pretty bad at procrastinating, but had zero issues with meeting the timelines. There were a few personal life-events that interrupted some timelines, but the professors were always willing to accept late assignments when I let them know beforehand. I had to extend two classes 30 days beyond the normal completion date and both times, the professors were eager to help me out. I knew that online classes were the key for getting me back into school, but I wasn't sure how the actual "classroom" experience would go. As it turns out, I think I actually prefer the cyber classrooms to the brick & mortar versions. When I first started, AMU mailed out textbooks for the classes and I often wished there was an electronic version instead. Eventually, AMU went to the electronic versions and I found myself missing the textbooks! I actually purchased the Stats book out of my own pocket. There are some classes that lend themselves to electronic study materials and some still need the old analog version on paper. I will admit that the electronic stuff seems to be more up-to-date and I love having the links to explore a subject in greater detail, if I desire. Still, I would love to have an option to also receive a hardcopy of a textbook. But, the used bookstores can usually take care of that at a reasonable price. One of the first things that struck me about AMU was the overwhelming amount of knowledge each professor seemed to have in their particular field of study. I suppose that makes sense, but it was new to me. Most military instructors are from differing career fields and the teaching gig is a temporary one, so the knowledge is usually pretty good, but not nearly as deep as what the professors have. I often found the online forums conversations to be mesmerizing and oftentimes, my initial opinion was swayed or defined by the posts from the professors. In short, I really felt a "spirit" of knowledge touching me. I don't know another way to describe it, other than I could actually "feel it" in my bones. It makes you smile and think, "Okay, maybe there is something to this college deal after all. It's more than a piece of paper hanging on the wall that says you are smart." The only time I ever "hated" on AMU was when they wouldn't accept my 10-year old Algebra CLEP. It was mostly because I wasn't an Algebra fan and I didn't want to take the class. As it turns out, AMU was wiser than me; I NEEDED to retake the class. I struggled hard for a couple of weeks and then the light came on. I now understand Algebra better than I have at any point in my life. Some people have a fear of heights, flying or public speaking. My fear was Algebra. In taking the class, with an OUTSTANDING professor, a perfect textbook and the MathZone website, I dominated and ended up with a 96% final grade. Needless to say, I no longer fear Algebra. One of the biggest bonuses from taking classes at AMU is the confidence that I gained after conquering the material. I was late in getting back to school, (in my 40s) and was unsure if I could still "do it." Six years later (deployments, TDYs, court-martial witness, retirement, etc), with a 3.95 GPA, I feel like I can do anything. AMU gave me that confidence. Note to those who dislike the so-called "non value added" classes that are part of your degree program: I balked at having to spend $750 on a history class, but didn't feel like studying for the CLEP, so I took AMU's "History of the American Indian" course and thought it was the most fascinating class in my entire program. I was sharing the stories from the textbook with anyone who would listen. There is soooo much more that is simply not taught in high school. I learned so much that I wondered how I could have been so clueless in the past. I was stationed in South Dakota for a number of years and knew that the Great Sioux Nation was fighting to regain possession of the Black Hills territory. In the class, I learned how the Black Hills reservation began, the terms of the Ft Laramie Treaty and not just "why" it was broken, but also "how" and by whom. And not in a single paragraph or single page, but entire chapters were designated to tell the story as it built, developed, unraveled and ended up as we know it today. Some parts were shocking. Some parts of our history were nauseating and seemed to go against the foundation of our Nation. Like I said, probably THE most fascinating college course I have ever taken. Note to fellow "Old Guys" who are afraid to go back to school: Go. It is so worth it. I think I had a much greater appreciation for school as an older adult. I tried harder than I would have a 20-something and I look for the larger life lessons to be taken from the text. With so many years of life experiences under my belt, the things I learned seemed to resonate more than if I were the "normal" college-aged student. We've lived many of the concepts that the "kids" are just learning. I know I related to the material quicker than the younger folks. The bonus is that you learn a lot from them as well. I've never used Twitter, Facebook or any of the social media sites. I just learned to "text" a few years ago. I understand the hip lingo much better and I think it gave me a better idea of the "pulse" of the younger members in my unit. Go. It's not the academic nightmare you are making it out to be. In fact, you may find that your life and career experiences give you an edge. Plus, you're not as "distracted" as the younger folks. Hopefully, you're past the "youth mating rituals" and nights of heavy drinking. You've got a steady income and home life. You just have to make sure you've got your homework done before football comes on or before those trips to Home Depot! Ha! Bottom Line: AMU has been a wonderful experience for me and I don't know that I would have completed my degree (coming up November 2013) if not for the flexibility that AMU offers. I have experienced only EXCELLENCE from AMU since starting in 2007. I heartily recommend them to anyone, from the casual class-taker to the hard-core student.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

BA in Management - Great Experience!

BA in Management - August 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As others have stated in their reviews, online school is not for everyone. If you require constant interaction in order to learn and retain material, then distance learning is not for you. If you are a disciplined self starter, then you will do well at APU. Having attended other online programs and traditional universities, I would place the quality of education in line with the other schools. My professors have included practicing attorneys, a major in the pentagon, and multiple professors who teach in traditional universities. Like many things in life, if you put forth the effort and do the work, you will do well. If you do not, then you will struggle. Because technology plays a major role, APU does a great job with their learning management system. I have found the financial aid office to be adequate and my advisers follow up usually within a matter of hours. The elitism that exists in many traditional universities seems to be absent from APU. My wife also transferred to APU. I work for a fortune 100 company and as I discuss the quality of my education with those who have attended traditional universities, they are impressed. If an online education fits your life, the APU is a great institution to partner with in accomplishing your goals.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

APU is a bad online school.

BA in Management - July 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a new student here. I wanted a great online education and was told that APU was one of the great ones. I WOULD never in a million YEARS say ANYTHING good about this school. I will tell people not to just walk away, BUT run away. The support staff team are stupid and totally lacking in support and information. More important than that, they do not care. They will tell you what you want to hear. Or better yet, just hang up on you. The school thought going to a new system for the FSA package was a wonderful idea. LIKE HELL it was. EVEN if your school is all paid for,they think you should wait for weeks on end while THEY fix THEIR problem. Promises and lame excuses are all I have heard from these people. When you go to call to ask a simple question or to try and get someone who knows what is going on, well it is a NIGHTMARE! I have even been blamed as a student that this MESS is my FAULT! When people want to go back to school to better themselves, they need help to pay for it and extra money to live on. I am pretty DAMN sure everyone who works at that school GOT money to pay their bills last month. They do not care about you. They have never cared about you as a student. I have told everyone I KNOW and will tell a hell of a lot more people that this is one school YOU should NEVER go to. APU you have made your bed, hope you can sleep at night in it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Impressive High Quality Institution

BA in Management - July 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my Bachelors degree in February in Sports and Health Sciences. ....As an active duty spouse and mother of two young toddlers, APU made it possible and easier for me to complete my degree. Prior to APU, I attended 4 other colleges/universities (physical and online) in 4 different states and APU topped them all! I was a bit apprehensive on what to expect from an entirely online degree program, but was quickly and continually impressed at the quality and level academics, the level of professionalism and interaction between professors and students in the virtual classrooms, as well as the high level of support and help prvided accademic counselors, staff, etc. I loved the virtual classroom design and the treal classroom feel where I was not just an "invisible" student. The quality of education I received from actual professionals in their field exceeded the affordable price! I highly recommend APU/AMU!

Was this review helpful?

Online Degree Review

BA in Management - June 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have only attended APUS for a short period of time, but my experience has been wonderful. Every professor I have had has been very knowledgeable, understanding, and eager to help. They are so involved with their students and want to see you pass. These professors do not set you up for failure. I absolutely love how I do not have to purchase text books because they are provided to me using Ebooks. To me that's awesome because it saves money and it's green. The university is very helpful with any questions you may have and always respond promptly. I am very satisfied with my choice!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Quite Satisfied

BA in Management - May 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My husband (Captain) and I have been using this University since 2000. Our kids also use this University. For online learning, you cannot beat the value of this campus. Financial Aid has only been available for the last several years, so it is just now being perfected. Actual books were sent free (we received them), the it is the "students" who wanted to go ebook. Most people have tablets and therefore can download the ebook. If not, I have found that most books can be found used on Amazon.com for $20 or less for those who prefer hard copies (like me). Most classes are using the most current edition of text books, but some classes teach positions that still use old technology which requires old text books. If not, then the student can always research what is new and submit it to the school to look into. The teachers do teach in the form of posting lecture notes and classroom "lessons" available in the classroom. They cannot help it if the students do not learn the Sakai classroom as they are given the lecture appointment to do so before starting classes. Not all teachers are the greatest, but I think you will find that is the case with any school. They ARE almost all current or prior service military members and I appreciate that they can relate to the demands of the military (or family member) student.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

APU/AMU wise choices

BA in Management - May 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am finishing my first year at APU and I am loving it. I am a parent of 4 kids working 50-60 hours a week. APU is great at fitting my schedule. The course work and reading materials are very helpful a teaching and helping me retain the information. APU fits my budget and not many universities allow my work to transfer as credits. APU was a no brainer decision and is accredited as most other campuses.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

What you make of it...

BA in Management - April 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like most things in life, it's what you make of it. There's been classes where I've simply "gone through the motions" and came out with an "A" then there's other classes I learned a great deal taking by doing all of the assignments. Don't expect very much interaction with your instructors, recently finished a class where the professor never once sent a message to me personally and everything else was cut & pasted.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

BA Security Management

BA in Management - March 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

APUS / AMU is without a doubt one of the better distance learning institutions. Do not be discouraged by the negative reviews. Online learning is not for everyone. It requires a self-starter that is willing to put forth the effort. If you are competent enough to figure out your own finances and make adjustments when necessary (i.e. purchase the text book on your own if you do not like the provided e-book), then you will do well in this school. I have attended 4 other institutions and have 7 weeks left until I complete my bachelors. I can honestly say this is a great institution – but ultimately it is no different than anything else in life – it will return only what you put in to it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU Degree programs are a great fit for anyone

BA in Management - March 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school was an excellent choice for me 4 years ago when I started working towards my B.A. in Management. The flexibility of the schedule made it so easy to stay on track and tae the classes I wanted to at certain times. I retired from the Air Force and the education I received while active duty carried over to my AMU experience. I never would have imagined at this point in my life I would have a CCAF degree and Associates and Bachelor’s degree, but AMU made it possible.

Was this review helpful?

So far so good

BA in Management - February 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am surprised at the negative reviews. At first I had some issues with my Financial Aid, but after a few emails it got straightened out. But I have issues like that with all schools, that process just sucks all the way around. Aside from that, I have really like it. I get to interact with students from around the country and the world when my classes get mixed with the military folks. I have had great teachers and I love that we are not just using texts but other resources as well.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

APU is a great online college

BA in Management - January 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am attending American public university for a degree in management with a concentration in retail and I am senior with less than half a year left to go, right now I am 21 and I started when I was 18. I first decided to go to an online school because I was going to be working in retail during my entire academic journey, so I had to be able to study and complete work around my job. APU is a great college for this because they allow you to finish work any time before the common Thu or Sun due dates which allow me to study and complete work on my off days which are highly random because of a retail environment. APU is a college with a good education at a good price. All textbook fees are included in the tuition which is a flat 250$ per credit and $50 technology fee for each course. APU is able to absorb the textbook costs into tuition, because a large majority of their textbooks have been put onto their online library database. The majority of my online textbooks have been easy to access and navigate, I have only had trouble viewing a couple textbooks, but once I contacted the instructors they help me resolve this issue quickly. If you work at Wal-Mart you get an additional %15 off all tuition fees through their scholarship partnership and as a result a large majority of my classmates are Wal-Mart employees. I have paid for all of my tuition with cash straight from my bank account, so I have no idea how good the financial department is at managing student loans, government aid, or anything like that. If you want a school that offers a good education with flexible studying hours and straightforward tuition costs ($800 per 3 credit course) you should consider APU.

Was this review helpful?

APU BA in Business Administration

BA in Management - July 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just started my first two courses at APU and I am pleasantly surprised. All of my books are electronic PDF files which makes it very easy and convenient to read my assignments on the go with my laptop. The faculty so far has been great, many of the professors are top tier teaching full time at good brick and mortar schools. One think I am not a fan of is that the business program is not AACSB accredited. This is not a huge issue but it would be nice if it was. It looks like I will be able to use my BA to obtain an MBA from great business schools such as Northeastern (Boston), and UMass. I am very pleased with the quality and value of this school. Also, I have had no issues at all with my financial aide process and transfer credit evaluation. Those steps are very easy if you know how to read and follow directions.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Take Responsibility for your Education

BA in Management - January 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

(AMU) I find it interesting in the reviews here, as they are quite the opposite from every experience I have had with this university. At this time, I have completed 18 undergraduate courses with them and can comment intelligently about various encounters. For those using federal financial aid, the process is all fairly automated – get it right the first time when apply and stop blaming AMU for your lack of oversight and ill preparedness. Additionally, the comment which said the university is making their family pay prior to receiving financial aid is completely false – once your package is in, AMU actually fronts the registration in anticipation of receiving federal funding. Tuition assistance is the same, there is about a two-day turn around for class-registration. As far as the instructors…there are some extremely qualified and who are attentive, and there are others that are not – this is typical with every university, even traditional ones. This university is not for those who need their hand held – attending AMU requires a great amount of initiative and time management. Furthermore, this university requires a significant amount of writing. I have taken courses at UMUC and Embry Riddle and they by far have nowhere near the amount of workload that AMU requires. I hope this provides a little insight into my degree program. Lastly, I have put in for three of the top 12 MBA programs (traditional) and none of them have questioned my degree from AMU.

Was this review helpful?

47 of 51 people found the following review helpful

AMU may be for you

BA in Management - July 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my management BA with AMU. It has been a positive experience overall. I already had my CCAF degree as well as completed the NCO Academy and the SNCO Academy distance course. AMU gave credit for the vast majority of my previous classes and military training, as well as allowed me to CLEP several general courses. The book scholarship program is awesome, making AMU more competitive than other online schools. I found the degree program and electronic campus easy to navigate and use. There are no automatic enrolments, making it possible to plan your education around family and work commitments. I think AMU is best at enabling non-traditional students to convert their real world experience into college credit. What this means is if you are someone who has worked as a manager, squad leader, crew chief or superintendant and received corporate, military or civil service training and haven’t received college credit, you can take the comparable AMU/APUS course and receive credit. What AMU is not best at, IMO, is teaching directly. This is a failing of most online schools. Several instructors tried to create interaction and teach through lectures, but given the limitations of the medium, we were more or less learning by reading and answering posts. One instructor did create YouTube lectures, (IT naturally) which I thought was a nice touch for those students who learn best by lecture. I would not recommend AMU/APUS for someone who requires a lot of hand holding and/or does not learn well by reading on their own. I would also not recommend AMU to someone who has not attended a brick and mortar school or at least taken some regular classes. But if you are someone trying to convert your work/military experience into college credit, AMU may be the school for you.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

No regreats!

BA in Management - February 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has been fabulous and it works for me. I have been attending APU for a year and I have no regrets what so ever. The course are fast paced and I have learned so much. More than I ever thought I would. For those of you who think these classes are easy, they are not and you get what you pay for. When I have to get a hold of my advisor, they are always prompt in returning my call. Out of all the instructors I have had there is only one that I would say I wasn't thrilled with but we don't always see eye to eye with everyone we meet. I even signed up for another class with her. So she couldn't have been that bad. With regards to financial aid, each student's experience is different. Some have no problems and there are some that experience lots of problems. If they are diligent and proactive in resolving the issues when they are contacted there should be no reason why a student should not get into classes on time.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Public University in any way.