Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Bellevue University

3.7
62 Reviews
5 26 
4 19 
3 4 
2 5 
1 8 
0 0 

 

Bellevue University Reviews:

Just Horrible....Community College

Master of Business Administration - December 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Honestly I come from Wayne State which was good for my minor in criminal justice but average for my business management major. Bellevue University hands out degrees. It's an honest joke. People that shouldn't be in a college are getting degrees from this place. It's honestly a community college. You don't have to show up to get all "A"s but the problem you have no direction in any of the classes. I mean all of them are just up in the air. In the MBA program you just kinda do whatever. The worst class was the MBA 610 class. I'm not very good at statistics and I was trying to teach myself everything and was doing okay but I then realized, I'm paying a lot of money to teach myself something. I would avoid this place at all cost. Other schools in the state like UNO, Wayne State, and UNK are all great schools. Then on top of that UNL and Creighton are top tier schools for certain programs. Try any one of those 5 instead. They're actually places of higher learning.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Bellevue University MBA

Master of Business Administration - June 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just graduated from Bellevue's MBA program in May 2013 and let me you that it was an excellent experience. The courses are less than $500 per/credit hour and it was worth every penny! I believe that this is one of the best deals that one can find for solid online MBA degree. Even if the classes were $700 per/credit hour I would still pay it! Overall, this was a very challenging program and I felt that I was able to apply a lot of the material to my current job. I would recommend this program to anybody as long as they are willing to put forth the effort needed to complete this program. There are definitely a few “weed out” courses that will eliminate anyone looking to breeze through their MBA studies. If you like being pushed and don’t mind a challenge, I would recommended Bellevue University for your MBA. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Unorganized

Master of Business Administration - January 29, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would never recommend this school to anyone. The classes are filled with busy work, teachers don't return emails, accounting requires the use of my business course online site that does not coincide with book & has constant issues. I do not like anything about this school anyone that says it's better than UNO has apparently never attended it. Oh and the charge for inter library loans you would think that would be in the high price they charge for tuition. Save your money

Was this review helpful?

6 of 20 people found the following review helpful

MBA is better then UNO or Creighton

Master of Business Administration - April 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you want an MBA from this school, you better have some talent. Take the classes in the recommended format, they build on one another. There are two weed out courses, if you make it past them you'll do just fine. I've seen 10-20% of the class drop during those classes. Some changed their major and others enrolled at a different university. Bellevue stresses their, "Real Learning for Real Life" slogan. The MBA professors there, not only have their doctorates but extensive backgrounds in the fields they teach. One Prof. has even been on CNN several times and they were asking her opinion. Learning from them I can say that I out shine my friends who went to Creighton and UNO for their MBA. My friends just didn't learn real life applications. I remember we had an co-owner of a multimillion dollar company speak to us. After, barraging him with so many questions he just uttered, "You know... I go to UNO and Creighton and I give the same speech. You Bellevue students get really slam me with hard questions." I got through most my classes with a "B" average and I worked very hard for those Bs. 5-10% of the class will get As. I only know of one person who managed to get all As in his classes with the exception of one. To the guy who gave this school a low rating, he's doesn't know what he's talking about. He took one class and said it was easy. Yes, the first class. MBA 505 is an intro class. Yes, it was easy. Yes, I got an A. That was my only A. Before, the MBA I had taken advanced calculus courses, physics, and stats. The math classes were hard. In the stats class I got a C+. My worst grade in history. I was .01% away from a B-. Bellevue doesn't curve grades. Bastards. Try not to take the math classes online, it will be hard. I've met students who attempted online but withdrew to take them on campus. I remember one professor starting off the class with, "Welcome, to MBA ###. I will be seeing 30% of you in this same class next semester." Be prepared to put the hours in. The 30%, didn't put the hours in. A Masters degree is nothing like a Bachelors. One Masters class is equivalent 2-3 undergrad. This degree is hard. If you make it through, you will feel accomplished and educated. This school taught me how to trade stocks. In the 2 years that I was there, I made over $5,000 trading stocks with $12,000 in capital. This school, is one of the best.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Excellent and Affordable School

Master of Business Administration - January 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current Bellevue University graduate student, closed to completion of a MBA program with concentration in Information Security Management,and I found this school excellent for helping me to achieve my educational goals. Course pograms are consistent and teaching staff is well qualified. Tuition and fees are affordable too. I honestly recommend this college to everybody for traditional or online study.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Master of Business Ad

Master of Business Administration - July 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in session with my last semester with Bellevue University’s Masters of Business Administration. The program was challenging and would be surprised to find individuals who finished it within 18 months and worked full time. The program is demanding, but rewarding. The pre-requisite prepare you for the follow on courses. The only negative I can say is the administrative problems can be frustrating. The business program has accreditation with the IACBE.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

MIlitary AVOID THIS PLACE!

Master of Business Administration - October 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed a degree and a half at this school before I could not take the administrative problems this school brought on me. After finishing my bachelors degree with them, as active duty military, I enrolled in their flouted MBA program. The program itself, while not challenging, was at least interesting. But that was not the issue. This school says that they work with military all the time, that they support the military... Then why can't they figure out the simple process of processing GI Bill payments? Why do I receive bills from the school when they KNOW my payments come directly from the Veterans Administration? This would not have been a big issue except every semester they would put a hold on my account, right around week 10 of a 12 week semester. This meant: No sending transcripts out and NO REGISTERING FOR CLASSES. This happened EVERY semester. When I called to request that this be changed, they said that there was nothing they could do about their computer system. They knew the VA would be making their payment within a few days, but they could make no exception for a veteran who had already spent tens of thousands of dollars at their college. Since disenrolling at Bellevue University, I have continued to receive letters saying I owe them money. I have been out of class now for about 8 weeks and I get a letter from the school every couple of days. Funny thing is, they sure can send bills and letters but they never return my phone calls when I try to find out what it is I'm being billed for. On top of this, I've been trying to apply to other schools to complete my degree and they won't send my transcripts out because I "owe" them money. Wow, Bellevue University. I recommend ALL stay away from this school. It's overpriced to begin with. But to my fellow active duty, reserve, guard, and veterans: Take your well earned money elsewhere. This will only cause you pain and suffering in the end.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 19 people found the following review helpful

GREAT SCHOOL!

Master of Business Administration - September 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending Bellevue University. It was one of the best decisions that I have made. The online format is awesome. Don't think that just because it's online, it's easy. Most of the courses so far have been very challenging. The support is great as well. It's really worth the money. I will most likely obtain my Ph.D from Bellevue as well because I'm leaning toward Human Capital Management although I wish they offered a DBA program. For me the deciding factor was Bellevue’s accreditation, the fact that they have a brick and mortar school and the affordability.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great MBA Program

Master of Business Administration - June 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school, graduated from Bellevue's online MBA program last August. The course work was quite demanding, most courses required a proctored comprehensive final in addition to weekly online quizzes, individual and group projects, and weekly homework assignments to be posted and discussed. A lot of work but a lot of learning! Most of the instructors (10 out of 12) were fulltime faculty and held Phd’s from schools like University of Nebraska at Lincoln, Texas A&M, and Purdue. Overall a great experience, I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great MPA program. Excellent value solid education

Master of Business Administration - April 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The best decision I ever made was enrolling in the Bellevue University Master of Public Administration(MPA)program. I am currently enrolled in the MPA program at Bellevue University and will be graduating this summer. I can tell you that Bellevue university program is more rigorous than other big regional universities that is the opinion of a friend who has the same degree from a different university. The teachers are great the assignments though tough but are stimulating, I can proudly say with confidence that I learned something. I enjoyed the experience, I wish they offered a PhD program so I can still continue with this great institution.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The MBA program is rewarding, and worth the $$

Master of Business Administration - February 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in the last semester for this program, therefore I can provide you with some objective information. 1. The classes can be challenging. If you want to learn how/why an MBA degree is important (and necessary), this program provides a good overview. 2. It is true that the program can be completed in 18 months, two classes per semester- 12 week semesters. However, the classes are NOT "watered down". Make sure that you can handle the work-load before taking two classes at a time. 3. You WILL have homework, tests, group projects, individual projects, and lots of reading. Expect to have at least 10 hours of homework per week, and at least 3 hours of class interaction, for each class. In most cases, you will need to post/interact more than three days per week. 4. You WILL need to brush up on your math/accounting skills. This is a "constant" theme for most of the classes. Don't worry, they can provide you with some refresher classes to get your skills up to speed. 5. You WILL need to write a lot of papers. These are not the "typical" term papers, etc. from the undergrad degree. You will have to use the MLA/APA format with lots, and lots, of references. Again, don't worry- Bellevue has a world-class reference library (on-line) that makes writing and researching a relatively simple process. I was aprehensive before taking on-line classes, but am happy that I gave Bellevue a chance. I have learned a tremendous amount of information that will help my future business career. Keep in mind that on-line classes are NOT easy. They actually require more time than physical class programs. However, I feel that I have learned more than I would have by sitting in a classroom, and driving to class, etc. Whatever you decide, make sure that you do your homework before selecting an on-line school. Too many choices could turn into a difficult task. I have found that Bellevue has "perfected" the on-line format because they have been doing these type of programs for a while. I am not saying that they have been perfect (we have had some technical glitches from time to time), but they have performed over 99% of the time. The website is rarely down, and I have always been able to get technical help when necessary. Good luck, and I wish you well with your education!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experience

Master of Business Administration - October 15, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began my MBA program in March of 2007 and will complete my degree in August of 2008. This institution is excellent! The teachers are highly motivated, the materials are challenging and the advisors are extremely helpful. I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Bellevue University.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

Remember: An online university accredited by a regional or national association has met the highest education standards.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Bellevue University in any way.