Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

DeVry University

2.7
140 Reviews
5 22 
4 36 
3 13 
2 25 
1 44 
0 0 

 

DeVry University Reviews:

GREAT SCHOOL!

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - April 29, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please don't let the reviews stop you from attending this amazing school! I have had the best help from administrators , professors ect. Ratunda Hicks has helped me tremendously with any question I may possibly have about the overall process. As well as my professor with any concerns I may have since I have a toddler. I was afraid of how I would do WebEx with my toddler at times and he was very polite and said it would not effect anything. There is a mute button I could use anytime he's being loud and just unmute when I have a question of any comment I may have. I have never had to be on hold for more than a couple minutes and I get answers and help right away. Never had to leave a voicemail. I highly recommend this school for anyone who is stressed and not knowing what school to attend. I say give it a chance and here an administrator out about all the great opportunities to come your way. When Mrs. Ratunda Hicks called me she was able to get me completely enrolled within 3 days. She has still continued to help me out and transfer me to anyone who could possibly help me with certain questions. GREAT SOULS AND HELP!(:

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Great program if you are willing to do the work!

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - May 27, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the program very rewarding. I completed it in 2006. You have to be disciplined enough to keep up and do all your work (thank you military for teaching me that!). It can be tough if you don't keep up and do your part- but that is how it should be! They are not giving it away for free. You still have to do the work. I do recall in my classes that there were always people finding every excuse not to do their part of the group project. I think they must be the same ones who are writing the negative reviews. Bottom line is this- I learned a lot and it certainly helped me in my career. I quickly moved up in my company the year I completed the program. Having the degree behind me allowed me to negotiate better for on the next job and I have been for nearly 8 years.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Trust me stay away

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - September 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

From day one. I hold 2 associate degrees. Devry tried to strong arm me telling me if i enrolled in the degree they wanted me to take BS in Technological Management they would accept 93 credit hours. If I enrolled in the degree i chose. BS in computer science they would only accept 28 credits. WHAT THE.......... apparently my credits were evaluated by 2 different people in 2 different parts of the country, 1 for each program.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - July 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When asking for special circumstances be ready with a printer, scanner, and fax machine along with all information including your children's worth!! They do not EVER call you back to let you know they need more information, and if it is not exactly all within 2 weeks of age, it ALL has to be redone. OVER and OVER again. Side note, do not tell them that you are working your butt off or they will accuse you of using foul language! OMG! the rudeness off it all! Basically, don't ask, because they are not there to help you! They do not care, as long as they get their money about your situation, or that you are not capable of paying Kinkos extraordinary amounts of money to get everything to them instantaneously. They send you things via email, then accuse you of printing off the wrong forms. Sending back the wrong forms then means that they do not need to look at any of the information you just sent! Really?? Nice!! OH I am sure that this will be considered inappropriate language too since it is not favorable towards their behaviors. Good luck! If you are picking DeVry because you think they will help you get a job in the future, found my own. Did not have any good leads from them the whole time I was working with them trying to find one! Barbara Johnson

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

PLEASE TRUST THAT YOU NEED TO ATTEND ELSEWHERE

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - March 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended a community college for my associates degree before attending Devry. Even in a mostly government funded school you will receive more assistance should you have a problem. To no tutors after 4pm (when your working that's impossible) to not being able to talk to ANYONE in the financial aid department unless you make an appointment 2 days in advance, to my financial aid not being disbursed through the whole semester because I needed to give my w-2's as proof of income, even though I gave a copy of my tax returns and no other school EVER has made you do that to receive your financial aid. Then I was supposed to give a letter apparently stating who made what between my husband and myself instead, which no one told me about or gave me the option of doing. All those things alone would drive someone crazy but then they said I had to finish the semester or I won't get my financial aid AND I'll owe them money, so I did, a month ago, and I'm still waiting for my financial aid check as it sits in my account and they say I just have to still wait because they're current students disbursements are more important!! Well I was a current student over 3 months ago and received nothing!! Oh and the classes are a joke but the teachers were at least friendly but the material is mediocre at best. WORST school ever, I would NEVER recommended it to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Human Resources

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - October 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DeVry University does not offer an internship program. Therefore, I was unable to get into a Human Resource field due to lack of experience. Now I have $35,000 to pay back and no real career to show for it. Most companies look for at least two years prior experience even if you are starting at beginner's level. and keep in mind being an Honer student does not cut it. Now I am back to doing a regular job at $12 per hour. Contrary to what DeVry promises $50 to $70 Grand and up! Furthermore, their staff mostly consist of DeVry Current Students who have no idea how to explain Financial Aid or anything else. I felt lost all the time. No can give you a real direct answer because they have not been trained properly. and lastly these short term classes do not give enough time for a student to actually fully learn and understand the course. Overall I give it a review of a number 3. You could be your own judge.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Frustrated Veteran

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - July 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated Summa Cum Laude at Devry. I didn't have any problems during the first part of my attendance; however, student finance became incompetent during my last semester with their processing of my Post 911 GI Bill payments. They did not report my attendance to the VA until 7 weeks into the 1st session. The VA promptly sent payment to Devry 2 weeks after receiving the attendance verification. Devry held on to the VA payment and did not post it to my student account. Devry had received payment for my tuition via my stafford loan so they were not too worried about posting the VA payment to my account since it would generate a refund to me. For 4 weeks I made several inquiries about my GI Bill payment. I was told several things such as "the VA didn't send payment" to "we aren't sure and we're looking into it". I had a feeling they were intentionally holding the money. After much persistence on my part the VA payment was posted to my account 4 weeks after Devry had received it from the VA. After graduating from Devry, I enrolled with Devry's Keller Graduate School of Management. Not surprising, Devry delayed reporting my attendance to the VA again. Upon notification, the VA promptly sent payment to Devry on July 12, 2012; but, Devry is holding on to the payment. It is July 31, 2012 and the payment has still not been applied to my account. I did not have a stafford loan so Devry is still showing that I haven't paid my tuition. Now the kicker: Devry placed a hold on my student account on 7-24-12 which keeps me from registering, requesting transcripts, etc. The hold (due to the past due balance) was placed on my account 12 days after they had already received the VA payment. I have contacted Devry's student finance department several times but I am not receiving any response other than "we are looking into it". Once again, I feel that they intentionally hold the VA payments as a way of manipulating their financial status. This practice started right around the time that Devry was reporting low attendance rates and lower profits. Crain's Chicago Business reported on July 23, 2012: "DeVry Inc. announced today that it will cut roughly 570 jobs through the next two months as it works to offset falling revenue due to lower enrollment" and "Mr. Hamburger said in the release that the company will continue to find ways to shave $50 million in expenses in fiscal 2013, which began July 1". Sorry to say, I am leaving Devry/Keller. The course schedule fits well with my personal schedule and the instructors are experts in their field which is why I chose Devry in the first place. I just can't trust that Devry has their students' best interest in mind. Finally, I don't appreciate Devry's financial aid department fudging and messing with my Veteran's benefits. I earned them and I am entitled to them.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful

UNFATHOMABLE PRACTICE

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - July 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current online student taking the Healthcare Administration program. I am in the beginning of my second session taking an algebra class. So far in the first two weeks I did great, was getting a solid A in the class, I took my first exam and only got a 60%, no big deal so I though I will just study harder next exam. NOPE. My instructor tells me I must pass every exam with an 80% in order to progress through the class although no where in there enrollment material is this bit of information passed along. It does state in their course catalog that you must pass the class with an overall 80% but no mention otherwise of exams. I am now stuck in my class because I have to re-study last weeks three chapters so I can pass a test that has questions that weren't in the homework. UNBELIEVABLE!! I had a "A" that dropped to a be in one week, what will my grade be by the time these months are over?? DeVry is a RIPOFF!!

Was this review helpful?

15 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Three Degrees

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - March 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my third degree at DeVry/Keller. My first degree (1996) was an AS in ET and I had a job(s) waiting for me after graduation with help from Devry. The second degree (BS in Technical Management), I completed on 2009 in hopes of furthering my understanding of current management practices for my current job. My third degree (MBA Information Systems), I completed end of 2011 in hopes of getting a better position with my current employer. In all programs I ended up with very good GPA's. While DeVry/Keller is an expensive school, it is also a fast paced school designed to get you moving towards your next goal. While education is great, it does not provide for actual hands-on experience you would get if you were just given the opportunity. While DeVry is not perfect by any means (none of us are), it does provide the education of the tools it sells. Unfortunately, with the economy being what it is, there is no way any education system can promise a job when completed because they don't run the companies that are hiring. Education and careers will always be what you put into them. In the end, it's up to the individual to make it happen. This country has gotten so lazy that people now want someone else to get a job for them. Nothing is certain, but Jesus.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Thank GOD I switched schools!

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - February 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wanted to go back to school on-line because I have to much going on in my l life right now. I picked devry. Everyone was helpful with all the papers I needed with calling me and I never had to wait or leave a voice mail for any of the advisers. I had told a friend where I was enrolled and she said have they sent you anything via snail mail. Well no it was all through the computer faxing and e-mail and phone. She goes get out and go to the local community college. So I did before classes started. Dropped out in November it is now February. I was told by my advisory that I didnt have to do anything to drop out just to not sign into my classes in December and that was it. However my other school needed proof that I was no longer enrolled and all the papers that I filled out needed to be faxed to my other school. That didnt get done until this last week (2nd week of February). I faxed over and over and over again the same request that no one was reading and kept telling me that the paper since I was not a student there any more was insignificant. That paper that I faxed had in bold letters my new school logo and information and the request of loan information and enrollment dates from devry which everyone seemed to over look. I am still getting calls from teachers about how class is going and what assignments I need to do. My adviser was no help at all after I dropped out. She was never avalible to talk or figure out who I could talk to about drop out paperwork. She even sent me several e-mails with the wrong phone numbers of people for me to call. I went over her head and talked to her supervisor who again did the same thing she did wrong phone numbers not sending paper work not returning phone calls. What really upsets me is the fact I called once a week since I dropped out and wanted paperwork faxed sent her email after email and then I stopped the first week of February let it go for a week and emailed her back telling her what I needed to be done again and she says oh this is the first I am hearing of this. 3 months and this is the first that she is hearing of me asking her to send me paper work for my other school. IN THE END THIS SCHOOL IS A WASTE OF TIME. EVERYONE IS SO NICE AND HELPFUL IN THE BEGINNING AND THEN THEY TURN ON YOU. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DONT ENROLL!!!!

Was this review helpful?

30 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Business Mgmt.

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - January 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Going to devry ruined my life, Costs about $60,000 for bachelors program and after interest on loans paying for next 15 years I will end up [aying over $100,000, ne credibiliity in these degrees in job market, no jobs. Can not pay loans. This for profit school is a scam. Stay away go to conventional schools that may take longer but degrees have more credibility and will be much cheaper.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 42 people found the following review helpful

What a waste of my time and education

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - July 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This university is all about making profit and not concerned as much in helping the student. When we brought up some issues to the university about help we needed and why they didnt offer help to the students who work during the day and come to school at night they were dismissive as if we didn't matter. They blamed us for their mistakes and shortcomings. I couldn't believe the responses from the university. Some of the teachers i have had were good, others I couldn't understand them because of their accent and/or teaching methods.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

DeVry Academics/Jobs

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - July 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall the courses at DeVry were somewhat challenging. I graduated in June 2011 with a BS in Computer Information Systems. I wasn't always the most studious in HS,because I actually didn't care. I felt sometimes I was the smartest person in the classes, because quite frankly there are some people who don't belong in college. The teachers for the most part are very knowledgeable and courteous. DeVry is very good for people who need a flexible schedule. The people who complain about DeVry are usually the lazy students who don't do any work and just get C's and D's. HOW DO YOU GET A D OR F AT DEVRY? The technology is almost updated. I would say that DeVry misleads some people with the employment rates. They claim 92% of graduates get jobs within 6 months after graduation. The reality is what they don't tell you is that some of those people have jobs in different fields and already had jobs in their field before attending DeVry. The reality is more than likely its 50% of graduates obtain employment in their fields within 6 months after graduation.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Wow!!

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - March 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It's true what they say about for-profit schools. I am very unhappy after attending DeVry University. In the end it all comes down to the institution making profit as opposed to providing high-standard education. The instructors taught very well, however, my high school courses were a lot more beneficial to me then the classes DeVry offers. I had two friends who wanted to attend and I advised them that if they have money to waste then DeVry is the way to go!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 18 people found the following review helpful

DeVry Profits Soar From Unethical Business Practices

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - January 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Schools like DeVry only exist to make money, Not to educate, and each one is infamous for putting out uneducated and unprepared students. DeVry, ITT, etc. are glorified diploma mills who are helping to ruin the value of a college education by flooding the job market with meaningless degrees. Every employer I've talked about this with regards these schools as a joke and some even see a "degree" from one of these as an instant disqualifier. Everyone I've talked to who has attended one of these schools has said the education was very easy and that they weren't getting much out of it. The student is tricked into thinking that going to DeVry will put them on a stable career track when in reality they end up exactly where they were before, lacking any serious credentials but with the additional burden of tens of thousands of dollars in debt to these fraudulent institutions. These schools are out to make a fortune on the backs of desperate young men and women, some of whom are parents and most of whom are poor. I might have a different opinion on regulation if these colleges were worth the cost and actually gave a quality education. But since that isn't the case, regulate the hell out of them Brick and mortar traditional non profit schools are the best choices where the primary concern is education not the for profit con job DeVry thrives on. DeVry is a Business institution so don’t fall for the hype from their savoir-faire employees. Their primary interest is profit not quality education. If you want a quality education, please do yourself a favor & look elsewhere. Enrolled at DeVry but DeVry failed to provide the quality education it promised. Incompetent financial staff made several mistakes by not updating student payments and files always giving lame excuses and misleading information. There was a lack of qualified instructors to teach their courses which made it impossible to continue my education at DeVry. The main reason consumers remove their complaints from companies like DeVry is because they are threatened with lawsuits among other threats. Most businesses like DeVry know the unlikelihood of students taking legal actions against their well-paid aggressive lawyers. DeVry is known to hire people simply to review any negative comments & complaints against them on the Internet. These people are paid employees of DeVry to defend the reputation of their company regardless of the amount of legitimate complaints against them. Ever wonder why DeVry expands their business to areas where they know they’ll get the most tuition paid for through government grants. The company has expanded their operations in poorer Latin American markets like Brazil & are looking to expand more abroad in developing countries like China & India. There remains a lack of government regulations with businesses like DeVry failing to protect the consumers who are misled by false promises in providing a superior university education. DeVry’s executives are well-aware how easy it is to get rich taking advantage of students who won’t have the resources necessary to hire a lawyer protecting their student rights when they are ripped off. AND RIP OFF IS WHAT DEVRY IS. Don’t be fooled by their ads or recruiting personnel. These are well-trained individuals working only for DeVry’s best interests and they make big money for every enrolled student who signs a contract. Do the research and be aware that most of the encouraging comments posted for DeVry are made by paid employees and not actual students. Students rarely have time from their studies to post complaints if they weren’t legit and if DeVry provided them an upright education. Brick and mortar traditional non profit schools are the best choice where the primary concern is education not the for profit con job DeVry thrives on. DeVry is a business institution so don’t fall for the hype from their savoir-faire employees. Their associates are well-paid to mislead consumers to sign their contract. Hook, line and sinker is what they say. DeVry’s primary interest is profit and not quality education. If you want a quality education, look elsewhere. If for-profit schools were delivering a worthwhile education then why are they suing the U.S. government to stop the new rules & regulations which would be imposed upon them July 1, 2011. What are they afraid of? The rules are part of a larger package of new regulations being imposed on for-profit schools, accused of churning out poorly educated students with large debts. One rule challenged by the suit would stop deceptive advertising by schools, another bars recruiters from being paid based on how many students they enroll and a third requires states to authorize post-secondary schools for their students to be eligible for federal loans. The lawsuit did not challenge the yet-to-be-finalized and most controversial of the reforms -- the "gainful employment" rule. That rule would require schools to show that students are paying back federal loans or can do so. Students at schools that fall short would be barred from receiving federal loans, which would cripple most For-profit schools like DeVry. Our economy cannot sustain any more failures in government regulation & corporate mismanagement.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful

No Excuses!!! Tough Up!

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - October 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Basically, going to college no matter where you go is really depending on you. I went to DeVry and graduated with my BA in Business Administration. Two months after graduation, I was hired as a Recruiting Manager for a local job search organization. I graduated top 3 of my class. It is really the person that drives not the school that they came from. Have good people supporting you (in my case all the Devry staff) and you will succeed. Those college students who are lazy, careless, and complains (excuses) will find it the hard way.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Great Education- very hard though

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - August 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BS in Technical Management (Operations mgmt) in 2008. It took 2 years, and I was able to transfer a good number of classes I completed from a 2 year school. This school is NOT for anyone who needs their hand held, or wants to give the teacher an apple to get a good grade. It's very hard work, 8 weeks to finish a normal semester. I already had an AAS from a very good school, and the teachers @ DeVry were very knowledgable and had great work histories. Their support staff was pleasant. I know this may contrary to previous reviews, but I can't but think that some of the other reviews were "kids" hoping that online courses would be a piece of cake. Make no mistake, this is a real college, with real teachers, teaching tough courses. You get out of it, what you put in it. Yes it is very expensive, but for some, me included, it was the only real way I could go back and get my degree. (Magna Cum Laude 3.8 gpa, class 2008)

Was this review helpful?

12 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Not worth thhe time or money

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - July 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started with DeVry and graduated with a degree in Business Management. I was turned on by the ease of learning on my time, 24/7, whenever and wherever and I bought into the hype about DeVry and their regional accreditation, that emplyers would embrace me when I graduated. The truth was something else. The courses were so, so. Teachers okay, about on par with my high school teachers, maybe not even that good. The real shock was when I asked career services for help. Prior to enrollment I was told that DeVry had over a 92% job placement success ratio. However, in the real world it is much less. Finding work was difficult and the only jobs I was offered were low paying entry level positions in most cases not even in my selected field. My real concern about DeVry is the outlandish claims they make about job placement and high incomes when you graduate. I was told that I could expect to earn $1.4 million more with my degree than with just a high school diploma. I know people with only a GED who earning the same as me, some more based on tenure. Also here is an interesting article that appeared on the internet telling the truth about colleges and the high income propaganda. http://finance.yahoo.com/college-education/article/109946/college-big-investment-paltry-return?mod=edu-continuing_education Education is certaintly a value. How unfortunate that schools like DeVry are exploiting this field, making wild claims and taking advantage of people like myself who have the drive, desire, ambition and fortitude to make something of ourselves. Shame on you DeVry!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Devry works out...if you do!

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - May 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Devry for four courses now. I am getting my Bachelors in Finance. Yes, Devry is a tad expensive...compared to community colleges!!! So far my professors, with actual doctorates, have shown extra-ordinary expertise in their fields. Devry hires part-time instructors...mostly. They "currently" work in their career fields, or operate their own consulting firms or commercial companies. You get real world knowledge at Devry. This school is for-profit. If you choose to be a lacky, they will not treat you like one, but you will not succeed. They're not going to force success down your throat. Student services, registration, and administration are kind, outgoing, and helpful. They will bust their butt for you, because most Devry campuses are small. There are 93 of them. Staff knows your name, your not going to get that a huge university, unless you're an athlete. Devry is great for working adults. Some courses are online, and some may be partially in class for lectures. I do both. Classes are challenging. If they are not challenging enough for you...great...transfer to Harvard or MIT when you can. It all depends what you are trying to achieve with your degree. Devry is quick to place students on academic probation, but will help you by every means to graduate. They expect a C or better on all coursework. Classes are like 10-30 students. It's good because the professor can focus on individual needs. They actually care, will answer any questions for you, and give you their phone numbers and personal email addresses. You are not just a number in big lecture hall, large campus, or in dorms. School is not distracting with sports and prepy organizations to keep your mind detoured from studies. Devry is business at it's best. If you are about learning, and are ready to buckle down and do what your professors ask of you, then you are on the right track with Devry. They will take your tuition, like any school, but it's up to you to make your education worthwhile. Basically, if you work hard to acheive your goals, have a strong sense of self, and are motivated to get where you want to be in life, your choice of educational institution is not "too" relevant. Name brand helps, reputation does play a role, but in the end you are the "major factor". Perhaps, some of you cannot sell yourselves in the real world. Relying on that piece of paper as your only credential or value in the workforce is the wrong way to go. If you don't got it, you just don't got it! Make sure you have strong interview skills, and lucrative supporting creditionals along with your degree, before trying to enter the workforce.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 16 people found the following review helpful

all lies

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - December 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I Graduated from DeLie .. err.. DeVry with a 3.9 Magna Cum Laude Majored in BSTM with my concentration in NCM (network communication management). I went to the school in Fremont CA, missed no days, and I know nothing about networking, routing, voip, switching. etc.. I still don't have a job, obviously from lack of skill, because I have the credentials. Devry made a lot of promises to me about what I would be learning, it was all lies.. and now I have a 60 thousand dollar loan to pay back. I have made some mistakes in life, we all have, but hands down, the biggest mistake of my entire life was going to devry. I lost my time, my money, my drive to strive for knowledge in computer networking. all gone, due to devry. Now I am forced to go back to school, to really learn what I should have already been taught. I went there to learn skills in networking, but all they did was bog me down with core classes that I already took in another college, I transferred to devry after I got my AA degree, with a 4.0 (and was nominated for valedictorian by the way). but for devry, that wasn't good enough, I had to RETAKE all my math classes, down to basic algebra for some reason, some excuse about the class code number of my math class was lower then devrys, so it wouldn't qualify. my statistic class got disbanded due to the teacher was nuts, no really, I'm not kidding, I complained and had the school send in another teacher to "sit in" on his lectures and the next day the class was disbanded and we got a new teacher, I have pictures. In another class, data basing, we (the whole class, 15-20 of us students) got to sit outside the class, on the floor, for 2 hours, because the class was locked and then to find out why, it was because there was no teacher scheduled to teach the class, so they just made the IT manager of the school teach it, that was a joke, she didn't know the material or have a lesson plan, how could she, she's not a teacher and that's not her job in the first place. I can go on and on, about drug use in the parking lot, and the ongoing failures of the school. but it just makes me more and more depressed. just don't find out the hard way like I did, the only good devry has done for me, is to motivate me to get my master degree, because I'm too ashamed to admit being a devry student and if anyone ask me where I graduated from I want to say some other school.. p.s. as a final insult, when I got my degree, it said I graduated cum laude. that class that was disbanded, because I was a whistleblower they gave me a C and that killed my GPA. Leo Storm, Fremont CA.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Expensive, but good school

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - December 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Devry is expensive. I finished an associate degree in community college before starting with devry. This will save you lots of money. I was impressed when I found out some of the teachers are doctors. I have learned much from this school. The pace is fast so you should not miss a class or you will easily fall behind. The material is challenging and appropriate. You can take a mixture of on-campus classes and online classes. Whichever works for your schedule. Now you just gotta stick with it until you graduate. You will have a bachelors degree from a regionally accredited university with very good employment statistics. The computers are outdated at my campus. Unimpressive.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Decent school

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - October 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The found the curriculum to be somewhat challenging and definitely relevant to the field I wanted to enter. The 8-week sessions seemed a bit short to actually absorb all of the material, but I felt that I learned a lot anyway. The instructors were great - I travelled to an actual campus for a lecture once a week and enjoyed the instruction a lot. My favorite instructor was Donna Rekau - very engaging and charismatic. While I found the professors great and the curriculum acceptable, the same cannot be said for financial aid and advising. Financial aid had trouble receiving my documents, which I have sent numerous time. My academic advisor did not return my calls. Fortunately, I was close to a campus and obtained assistance in person. Career services was pretty good as well. The counselor I was assigned to did a great job on my resume.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

A great learning experience

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - May 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in my second session at DeVry Online. While it takes a lot of determination and self-motivation, I have found my classes to be very challenging. So far, both classes have used E-books, which I find to be easy to use. The online library is also great. There were a couple of weeks during my last session, while they were upgrading their internet programs, that not all websites were accessable, but once the updates were completed, it is much easier with the new system. Both of my professors have been great. They responded to any question or problem I had promptly. I plan to continue at DeVry until I complete my progam and earn my bachelor degree.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

A great learning experience

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - May 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in my second session at DeVry Online. While it takes a lot of determination and self-motivation, I have found my classes to be very challenging. So far, both classes have used E-books, which I find to be easy to use. The online library is also great. There were a couple of weeks during my last session, while they were upgrading their internet programs, that not all websites were accessable, but once the updates were completed, it is much easier with the new system. Both of my professors have been great. They responded to any question or problem I had promptly. I plan to continue at DeVry until I complete my progam and earn my bachelor degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Online courses the same offered at local college

Business Administration (Concentration in Technical Management) - March 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended DeVry when it was a Bell and Howell division (DeVry Institute of technology). I completed my Electronics AS degree in 1986. My degree received the same recognition (if not a higher recognition) than public college and universities with the same degree. I worked for a government position for four years (University of California) that primarily drafted DeVry University students. DeVry was the highest recognized technical trade school in the market today. I am 1 class away from completing my bachelor's in Technical Management. DeVry University's on-line experience was outstanding in my opinion. It is not for the faint of heart. You have to put fourth the effort to accomplish your goals. It's all about time management to complete the different tasks at hand. I recommend the on-line course for continuing your education. My daughter is attending the local junior college and taking algebra. She was completing her work on "My Mathlab" and I noticed she was doing the exact same assignments as I was at DeVry University (no difference; except in price ;) I am signed up for the Keller MBA (In Networking and Communications) to start in July, 2009.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with DeVry University in any way.