Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Everest University Online

  • Everest University Online Reviews

    Learn More

    Ranking: #83
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: (ACICS) http://www.everest.edu/accreditation/campus/everest_university_online

    Write a Review

2.3
44 Reviews
5 8 
4 6 
3 3 
2 9 
1 18 
0 0 

 

Everest University Online Reviews:

Awful

PARALEGAL - July 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school offers little support, is extremely overpriced, and has poor curriculum. Not to mention their financial aid service is TERRIBLE! I had the hardest time dealing with them, and they kept screwing everything up. Their customer service is awful as well. Every time I call, someone has an attitude, and that's after waiting at least 20 minutes on hold. I would leave if I could. The teachers are okay, but the way they set up their online learning process is not very user friendly. I wish I had chose another online school. I rarely write these things, so you know its bad if I bother. Do not go here.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

They Can't Do Everything For You

PARALEGAL - May 2, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I read some of the earlier statements on here, and I have not had any trouble with Everest University. Everest University has introduced me to a plethora of legal information and they consistently contact me to see whether or not they can provide me with anything! The coursework is challenging at times, but I wouldn't expect any less once I am employed and begin to receive a decent paycheck. Everest University plants seeds of success; however, as I read some of these reviews, it sounds as if some people expect Everest to go out and get the job for them once they graduate. Haven't they done enough? It's not all rainbows and sunbeams with Everest. At the beginning of my Spring term, the entire site was down...but I managed to get my work in on time. As a mature student, you have to persevere. You can't go through life expecting God-like miracles everywhere you go...you are going to have to work, and if you want it bad enough, you will succeed.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Misleading I want to warn students currently enrolled.

PARALEGAL - May 21, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After reading the above comments, I feel the so- called good comments were misleading. One student praised the school for her only graduating the 5th grade and still she received a 4.0. I was enrolled in everest for one semester due to my ignorence( I can acknowledge my mistakes) I was looking to find a school that focused on a specific career training in a specialized niche so I thought everest would be ideal for me. Also, my mobility caused me to need a online school. In one semester I gained a 4.0 easily without effort. Their circiculum is rediculously low rated! The sad part was that during my on-line courses, I was the only one out of my group who could produce decent work. Who would want to brag about a. 4.0 when the course load was insulting how easy it was. Also, one comment gave Everest a high rating due to the school having the students complete internships and they thought that perk was a plus!Most a.a.s programs have a mandatory requirement to complete a internship.I'm wondering if she was manipulating by everest intake that she would receive on the job training and that was special or (aka a internship is required for some aas paralegal degrees) I'm warning future students to please don't waste your money in a school who's circiculum is at a middle school level and their recuiiters manipulating you on internships that are required for a certain degree not a job placement plus,most internships are required to complete aas degrees. I'm giving this response by reading a few prior comments.I have many more reasons not to support for profit private schools. In my case I was lucky, my local college accepted my 4 classes from everest for half credit( my case was rare , trust me)and I still owed a 6 grand loan from the class after the pell grant was deducted.still harsh, however, I wanted to warn other Nieve students or potential students who are debating enrolling. Stick to a traditiional community college. The short cuts private schools promise are a joke and don't pay off. They just put you in more debt,without a job and likely with non transferable credits. Your future is brighter than that and don't fall into giving money to already deceptive hands!!!!( do your research on many reputable sites) don't let the annoyance of placement testing, pre req requirements, classs load or fear let private school's aka everest, Kaplain, Phoenix and so,so,so,so,s. so called representives talk to in to their lies!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Awful school

PARALEGAL - April 13, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Everest is the most unorganized school I've attended. Please do not waste your time nor money attending this school. If at all possible, do try to attend a local college. It's really hard trying to leave this school as well. Please do not apply for this school. It is a total waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Want to speak with your Financial Aid Rep? Good Luck!

PARALEGAL - December 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended a 4 year University and after losing my job in August of 2011 I decided to enroll online. Because I was unemployed I needed to max out my student loans to receive a student stipend (remainder of student loan not used each semester). I depended on this money to help with rent, internet and phone expenses as I am a mother of 2 and unemployment doesn't cut it. After the 3rd week of school they are supposed to begin cutting checks. WHAT A JOKE!! Each semester is 12 weeks long and you are lucky if you get your check by the 12th week of the term. Multiple calls to financial aid get you multiple answers. Even though I get notification from my lender and the government that my money has been sent to Everest they tell me it hasn't been released. Want to talk to your financial aid advisor??? Good luck, those people don't even have voicemail. Once they said they could expedite my check and get it in the mail in 2 days....one month later I finally received my check. Don't waste your time with Everest, go to Phoenix or Kaplan or any other online college. Corinthian Colleges was a client at a former job and so I thought I'd give them a shot, I've obtained my Associates and am working towards my Bachelor's but I only stick around because you can't transfer out. I'm disgusted with Student Finance, Student Services and Career Services. I'm STILL unemployed and Career Services has ZERO resources. Their solution?? Sign up with staffing/temp services. DISGUSTING SCHOOL.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

No Problems

PARALEGAL - May 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have almost completed my Associate Degree at Everest and am happy to say that I am pleased with the whole experience. I have put alot of time into my studies and I feel as if it has paid off. I graduated from HS 31 years ago ad was rather worried about the whole college experience, however, I have maintained a 4.0 GPA while taking extra courses every term and feel as if I have obtained the knowledge needed to begin my career.I researched the ABA accredited programs before enrolling and they ARE included as an accredited program, therefore, I am quite confident that the program is suitable. However, the education that you recieve is only as good as the effort and commitment that the student puts into it. Online education is not for everyone and without commitment and discipline it is worthless. This is the fault of the student and not the college. I have experienced, through many class discussions,students that do not put forth any effort and who cannot spell nor speak properly as well as post responses that are not even closely related to the topic. Do not blame the college, the program or the instructors, blame the lazy and uneducated students. My professors have been very helpful and thorough as well as all of my instructors in any of the law related classes I have taken are Attorneys, which in my opinion qualifies them to teach what is needed. If a graduate does not do well in the job market, maybe he/she did not put enough effort into his/her education. I myself am very pleased with Everest and plan on continuing into the Bachelors program with them. I feel as if I would do well in a law office today, even though I am 8 classes away from graduation.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful

About my graduation is it lagit?

PARALEGAL - April 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm still listed online at Everest University an I have to say their lack in tutoring isn't so great. They provide it but only as written assingments. What my experience is I'm concern about my grades an their is no help. You have to go back and fourth between the professors and tutering to get anything right. I'm concern mainly when I graduate will I be hired to the right person and will my certificate be lagit. After this review I might not be albe to say anything else.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Everest

PARALEGAL - February 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I enrolled I asked a lot of questions, I also did my own research, I shopped around and compared other schools. Some of my classmates did not and they feel they're being ripped off - they're not. They just didn't listen to what they were being told. It is a private institution, it will cost you more money than a community college. If you want to transfer credits - it is at the discretion of the receiving school. Do your research and ask questions next time.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Don't Waste Your Time

PARALEGAL - August 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DO NOT waste your time, effort, or money! I started here in May of 2011 and since then have had nothing but problems out of everyone there. When I started my finicial aid was suppose to be taken care of, I was to owe no out of pocket money what-so-ever. 3 weeks into the course, I was contacted and another estimate was drawn up. From what they told me I was to actually recieve a check from them, from a loan on my schooling. Its the end of August and I still have not seen that check. I called "literally" everyday for 6 weeks to ask about this situation. I had to get my Uncle who is a lawyer to call and get a person on the phone. They said that something went wrong with my finicial aid and that they would fix it and get in touch with me in two weeks. It's been two weeks and again I haven't heard a thing. I recieved an e-mail earlier about them switching my finicial advisor, this will be the 3rd time. So pretty much if you have a problem, they pass you off on people until you get fed up and let it go. I plan on withdrawing as soon as I post this review. Also the teachers have no remorse what-so-ever, I lost my mother at the end of June, when I asked for an extention on work, I was told I couldn't get one and I would have to FIND the time to get it in or recieve a zero.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Everest University Helped me go to Univeristy of Oklahoma

PARALEGAL - August 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to Everest Univeristy Online or Corinthian Colleges adn have my Associates. I applied to the University of Oklahoma where I was admitted so I can earn by Bachelors. Here is how many credits transfer. TRANSCRIPT TOTALS (UNDERGRADUATE) -Top- Attempt Hours Passed Hours Earned Hours GPA Hours Quality Points GPA Total Transfer: 64.064 64.064 64.064 64.064 190.85 2.98 Overall: 64.064 So I am halfway done to earn my Bachelors from the University of Oklahoma home of the Sooners. One good football team. This regional accredited school has a good law program which I plan to pursue later in the future. It is possible for everyone out there to have credits transfer from a national accredited school to a regional school. I am happy also because of tuition with OU.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Unhappy Student at Everest University

PARALEGAL - October 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am wonder if it is a voilation to a Federal Law not to disclose to students that Everest University credit hours can't be carried over to any other institution. I spent 30,000 to obtain a 2 years degree at Everest University, I do not like them at all, but if I want to obtain a 4 years degree I must borrow money and spend time all over again and my all ready spent 30,000 + the 28 months I attended Everest will be worth nothing. Is this fair to consumers? I was mad at Everest University because they are a very disorganize school, I can never find the right help there, when I found out that my money has been spent for nothing I got madder. How can I defend myself from this, I feel I have been ripped off!, there have to be a law in place where learning institution should make people aware of facts like this, specially when there is so much money borrowed involved. Is this a violation to the Fair Credit Act?

Was this review helpful?

20 of 26 people found the following review helpful

UNHAPPY STUDENT

PARALEGAL - April 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

i HATE TO SPEAK BAD OF SOMEONE OR SOMETHING BUT THIS IS SERIOUS THIS UNIVERSITY IS NOT FOR ME I WANT MORE FROM MY UNIVERSITY. THEY ARE NOT A BAR ACREDITED SCHOOL, THEY HAVE NO INTERSHIP AND THIS IS HEARSAY....5 OUT OF 10 STUDENTS THAT ARE HIRED BY A COMPANY, THE COMPANY HAS REPORTED THAT THE STUDENTS ARE NOT AWARE OF WHAT THEY HAVE TO DO. THE SCHOOL IS TAKING MY MONEY AND MY DEGREE WILL BE WORTHLESS IF I STAY. ( NOT ) I WILL BE SEARCHING SOON I PLAN TO NOT ATTEND THIS SEMESTER.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Everest University Online in any way.