Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grand Canyon University

  • Grand Canyon University Reviews

    Learn More

    Ranking: #70
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA-HLC), The Higher Learning Commission.

    Write a Review

2.9
273 Reviews
5 68 
4 55 
3 25 
2 48 
1 77 
0 0 

 

Grand Canyon University Reviews:

Horrible experience but at least the degree is accredited

Master of Education in Special Education - May 21, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It's difficult to be too hard on GCU when their degrees are accredited and do actually help you get a job. That being said it was a very poorly run program from start to finish. I did a 100% online masters degree in special education that terminated in full licensure for my state. That is the only saving grace of the whole program. Licensure. But the degree is NOT respected by anyone in education at all. I know from experience just how looked down on GCU degrees are. I'm just grateful when I tell people I have my masters....very few ever ask from where. I think the biggest pain point with this degree was the complete and total lack of help or guidance with my practicum and student teaching. You finish your degree TOTALLY unprepared to teach at all. In my opinion, I shouldn't even have my degree with the lack of planning and help that was given to me. You had to go out into your local neighborhood and find schools that would let you do your practicum assignments. Which can be hard in special ed to ask total strangers to let you come in and work with their kids. All I had was a form for them to sign saying I had completed the tasks. They never talked to anyone at GCU, and if you couldn't find a school that let you do a particular practicum, GCU would just change it anyway to make it work. I live in Utah and teaching schools in Utah require hundreds and hundreds of hours of practicum and student teaching. When teachers I worked with found out how little I had done it was a running joke. Nobody could believe I could have got my license with as little as GCU has you do. And the worst part was that GCU doesn't communicate with any practicum schools and even with your student teaching school.....they barely communicate. My student teaching school was floored at how little communication there was. All I had were sheets for them to sign each week. My school even asked me what type of things I was supposed to be doing and who they could call. I had no idea. I was just told that the school would take me on as a student teacher. When I showed up nobody really knew what to do with me. As my student teaching progressed, the school got more and more frustrated and it was really uncomfortable. They were realizing before I did that GCU's teaching program was very poorly run. With GCU online you really have to do everything yourself. At the end of the day though, I did get a Masters in two years and became fully licensed to teach in Utah. For as crappy as their program is, for as much as I cringe when someone asks where I went to school, I'm a teacher.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Good so far

Master of Education in Special Education - June 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled at GCU for special education and have two classes left before student teaching. The counselors vary when it comes to returning emails or answering questions. I noticed I was paid more attention to during the first few months. Now help comes and goes. The teachers also vary just like on a regular campus. Some are GREAT and go out of their way to answer questions. Others are often MIA. I've asked and seen other students post questions just to wait a few 3+ days for an answer. Every week we need participation, two DQ's, weekly journal, and a 1250 + paper, so returning questions needs to be done in a timely fashion. The question to instructor forum will often get you no where if you have a professor who is not "present". BUT like I said, I've had excellent professors that reach out, so it varies. Technical issues are not uncommon (right now I cannot access the forum due to tech difficulties), but you can live chat with tech support for smaller issues. They are very helpful and patient. The tech people for Taskstream and the library are also great. Small tech issues are not a huge deal, but I've had one paper not fully submit and although tech support contacted the professor (So did I four times) I ended up with a zero. Contacted my counselor and got in return "The grades have closed. You got an A for the class. Good Job" Hello? that was not the issue. I went from a 97-98 to 93 but I guess that does not matter. The work we do is challenging and absolutely relevant to my field of study and I enjoy gaining the knowledge through material etc. So far, it has been expensive (as expected from colleges in general) but I've received help ironing it all out (so far). I am too invested to go elsewhere, but I don't think I would anyway. I like this school overall and would recommend it to others (So far). I will leave another review after I finish the program if my opinion changes. To others also attending - stay strong!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

run run run

Master of Education in Special Education - June 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending this University for a couple years now. I would not tell anyone to come hear. The teachers do not help. Actually their is not one person that cares about your future. They are not willing to hep you at all. The classwork has nothing to do with your study. They keep raising the cost. When you tell them you are going to dropout of their university and do not enroll you into any more classes they do. You should run do not even look at this University. When grading they mark you wrong when you know it is right. The ones in the office will call you for a few classes then you can not get a hold of them when you need help.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 30 people found the following review helpful

GCU Master's of Ed in Special Ed

Master of Education in Special Education - February 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The classes were informative and thought provoking. In the online program we "met"people from all over the country and found that special education is different all across the country. The lessons were more of a jumping board where the student was responsible for their own learning; there was no spoon feeding of the curriculum. This program has proven to be more valuable than most of the required additional courses in my state for the educational diagnostician certification. After having been in charge of my own learning it was difficult to go back to the traditional classroom. I also found that thatas a result of my studies at GCU, I was more knowledgeable on many students who had taken all of their courses at that university. If you plan to have an A, plan to work hard. Know that in the long run, you will be responsible for your own learning which will make all of the difference. As a result of studies completed at GCU, I have stood out in my more recent classes; two professors have approached me regarding the pursuit of a PhD.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Graduate Online Master's & Continuing Ed Classes Fan!

Master of Education in Special Education - December 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found that my educational experience prepared me well for my position in SpEd. As with any educational experience, I like most of my instructors and classmates and disliked a few. Pretty good representation on the "outside world"!, I have also found out that my ability to understand and use technology surpasses my colleagues.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Master of Education in Special Education - April 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at Grand Canyon was very good. I can't really find to much to complain about. There is no perfect school no matter where you attend. The professors are good some are better than others. They get back to you in a timely matter, however, some have a hard time. I would suggest this school to my friends and I have. I had a blast when I graduated from there last summer with my Master's.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Great education!!!

Master of Education in Special Education - February 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved this program and this school. The learning support was outstanding and the professors were incredibly responsive. I got my bachelors at Psu, where you were nothing but a number. Having experienced a huge university with no supports first, I was expecting the same thing from gcu, which was not the case. If you are pursuing an online degree, I very much recommend gcu over your manufactured schools like university of Phoenix. Gcu is a great place that provides an excellent learning experience.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Horrible Customer Service...dont expect to get any questions answered

Master of Education in Special Education - December 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They will rip you out of any money they can get. They will only call you when they want something, never returning your calls or emails. You get at least 3 different responses when speaking with your counselors/advisors, which change by the month because they cant keep employees. They overcharge you for anything they can find. Be VERY aware if you are considering this "university". Christian in the name does not mean anything to them! Horrible people to deal with! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

Was this review helpful?

22 of 43 people found the following review helpful

M.Ed. SpEd- emphasis in Severe Disabilities

Master of Education in Special Education - August 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was a great and useful program. The courses were intensive and required a HUGE amount of production related to areas of real world applicaton. The plus of this program is the that the large weekly production requirements result in a comprehensive end product at the end of each course referred to as a "Teacher Toolbox". I find these useful in my career as a Severe Disabilities Special Education Teacher over the past 6 years. Another plus is that the Teacher Toolboxes from all of the courses can be compiled to create the final keystone project for the 2 year program. The library, online instructor support, technology, and overall program were excellent. Did it cost a lot- yes. Was there a lot of work required- yes. Did I learn a ton of useful skills for my profession- you bet!

Was this review helpful?

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grand Canyon University in any way.