Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Liverpool-Laureate Online Education

3.4
43 Reviews
5 10 
4 15 
3 7 
2 6 
1 5 
0 0 

 

University of Liverpool-Laureate Online Education Reviews:

Go somehwere else

Master of Business Administration - March 3, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish I had gone elsewhere, I kept giving them a chance and now i am in my 5th module and it's to late to restart elsewhere but I should have seen from the start that it was as bad as it has been. Teachers are really poor, you have almost no support, the feedback you get is very general it's almost like they have a list of items to choose from to compose the feedback on your weekly assignment. Super inflexible as well. I am starting to think that all these Online MBA schools and accreditation organizations are a scam. Really disappointed. The only positive thing I have to say about it is that it was not too expensive but apart from that nothing at all. if you want to say you have an MBA and spend as little money and effort on it then this could be the right choice, if you have any other driver for getting an MBA go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful

not good

Master of Business Administration - August 11, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I worked for UoL online / KIT / Laureate. It is a scam. Sorry ... That's the truth. Who am I ... I worked as a admissions adviser (AKA salesperson ... monthly targets, commission based pay, in the Amsterdam office) ... I am now a PhD student at a real university. UoL is a real university offering quality studies to a high standard (Russell group, etc.). However the UoL Online is essentially a franchise sold to a company called KIT (bought by Laureate Online in 2005) who solely offered, ran, and graded their own students, and paid UoL a license fee for each student. The deal was that UoL would provide "legitimate" degrees for the students that KIT pushed through their own in-house programmes for a fee. The "instructor/lecturers" are the cheapest of the cheap, often without PhD's themselves, who are just earning a pittance to supplement their own day jobs as academics elsewhere (but not at the UoL!) The quality of the studies was very low (appalling really!), the admissions standard was very low. The main criteria for admission was the ability to collect on the tuition fees (seriously!), and the ability to complete coursework in something close to English. My job as an "Admissions Adviser" was to sell the programme to prospective students, whilst not letting on I was a sales person being paid a commission. It was telesales, we underwent a week of "sales training" focusing on qualifying leads, establishing motivations, establishing and addressing objections, pitching a product, and closing the sale. Everyone got a "time limited scholarship" of 10-20% if that was required to close the sale this student intake. If we didn't hit targets we got terminated (I hit targets ... but left to do a masters programme at a real university) I even attended two courses of the MBA programme so I could understand what I was selling! Absolute garbage ... My high school teachers would have been disappointed with the standard of work considered passable! The honest truth is that almost all distance studies programmes are garbage ... no matter what the sale person tells you there is no substitute for in-class face-to-face learning. No online forum is remotely comparable. All these courses do (if you are lucky) is qualify that you have read and can quote from a textbook, not that you have understood it. UoL barely even does that. If all you want is a piece of paper for someone in the future who won't look too closely at it ... this is perfect for you! But it's an expensive piece of paper. For that price you may as we actually do the real work some where legitimate! If you want to learn something, and actually improve yourself? ... look for a "in person" course with a real university. Learn directly from people who know what they are talking about. To Summarise ... UoL is a real University ... UoL Online is a franchise selling !!!!!!!! wrapped up as quality. You are worth more than !!!!!!!!! Don't fall for the sales spiel!

Was this review helpful?

22 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Hugely rewarding - very hard work

Master of Business Administration - August 2, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My selection of the UoL came down to their very valuable accreditation standards and the fact all students are able to graduate on campus (if they wish) which after 2.5 years of hard study is hugely satisfying. They have an active alumni network, where all grads, online or on campus, are created equal. Anyone entering an online MBA with this university needs to be able to commit 20ish hours per week when in a module (each is 8 weeks long and there are 8 of them)and be very active within the online asynchronous classroom forums, if they want decent grades. I managed to complete the MBA in 2.5 years, which is the shortest time available, assuming you do not double up modules (Which I doubt would be effective in the long run, each is very exhausting). When you graduate on campus in Liverpool, you are treated exactly the same as any campus graduand and of course you have the full gowns, experience and photos available to 'live the experience!'. One other indirect benefit I had not considered of the online experience is the ability to implement learning in your professional life straight away - many of the modules require real life commercial exploration and through this you are able to take learning to solve issues relatively quickly, with support and advice from classmates and or instructors.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Worth it, but be prepared for hard work

Master of Business Administration - July 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been studying for the last 2 years on my MBA and it has been a life changing and enriching experience. Sure, everything is not perfect, but learning to manage these things is a normal part of life. I would definitely echo some of the comments made, for example, be prepared to work more than the specified required amount (however, sometimes your workload does go lower - it's swings and roundabouts). Moreover, ensure you are able to keep up in terms of English because this is an essential requirement. You will be engaged in weekly essays, discussions and projects for each module, so being able engage academically is key. The tutors tend to have their own take on this, but from what I see most focus on the task more than mistakes in English. As for the grading, well, that depends. I started my first modules with straight A's and A*'s, but then in subsequent modules realised that different tutors look for different things. If you are truly attentive to what is being asked and what the rubric is for marking then getting top grades is possible. I am in the last stages of my dissertation now. It has been a challenging process, but Master's degrees are meant to be that. While I might have liked a bit more from my tutor, I have realised that the person who can truly make a difference is me, so I have done extra reading and really pushed myself, not expecting someone to do it for me. In conclusion, I would highly recommend this programme, but only for the right people. If you need spoon feeding, look elsewhere. If you are driven and able to stick to dealines and push yourself that extra bit when you just do not feel like it, then this programme is for you! Lastly, definitely enrol your family in the idea of you doing this because they do need to understand you will have to say no to certain things with them.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful

A word of caution

Master of Business Administration - May 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled as an MBA student and would like to share my unfortunate experience right at the beginning of the course. The first module is 10 weeks long and rest being 8 weeks. Unfortunately for me I fell ill and required hospitalisation during the 8th week. I was made to repeat the entire module. There is no provision to retake or continue the weeks missed. I appealed to the mitigating circumstances committee and they took nearly 7 months to rule (against me) and I could not take other modules while waiting for their decision. The student support team consists of fellow students and the chap assigned to me was of no help. I have studied on campus in the US and found the faculty very understanding especially during mitigating circumstances. Be warned that there is no room to fall ill during your course. As already stated by some others, the quality of the course material is great and so is the online library. But, the posts by most of the students are very poor, yet we are forced to respond to maintain attendance. I am not always sure about how the grading is done because I have never done better or worse than a C except once when I got a B. Both mediocre or my best work (in my opinion) received Cs. The one time I received a B was work I would have deemed mediocre.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 19 people found the following review helpful

finished

Master of Business Administration - December 21, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a very challenging programme. When you study online, it is more intensive than some face to face activities because you have to be 100% able and cannot count on your classmates for notes etc. The deadlines are strict and there can be a lot of pressure. Some students are not independent enough and do not take responsibility for themselves; they expect to be able to complete everything by asking for help every 10 minutes and then appeal any unsatisfactory grades. In fact, anyone who has gone through this system shows enormous flexibility and endurance which are very useful in the real world. The distinction-level dissertations are often published in academic journals in the form of shorter articles.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Pluses and minuses

Master of Business Administration - October 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pluses: Completion of this course is very definitely a demonstration of grit, self-discipline and basic scholastic ability. Some of the instructors were first rate. Fellow students, who are from hugely diverse situations, can offer correspondingly diverse perspectives, and sometimes fascinating experiences. The material covered is, I imagine, comparable with most business schools. Minuses: The much-trumpeted "flexibility" is a mirage, and as the course progresses, vanishes. Travel, which often results in limited or no internet access, conflicts with the demands of the course and I think this conflict caused some able people to drop out. The "lectures" are in many cases perfunctory essays. Exploitation of the internet was minimal - really no more than a mail system. There was very little opportunity for free discussion with students or instructors, and much of the formal interaction revealed the stunningly thoughtless and doctrinaire attitudes of many managers. Advice on choice of modules (even basics such as content and order in which they should be taken) was sub-minimal. Finally, in the later stages, the quality of the students was generally high, with relatively good discussions and a low drop-out rate; in the early stages, this was not the case. Modules listed in the recruitment literature had vanished by the time the course had been embarked upon. As remarked elsewhere, the instructors are often from very obscure institutions. Personally, I found the course an intensely isolating experience. Conclusion. Students, with sufficient funds, time and energy (and a good command of English) can use this course to gain an academic business training. By graduation students will most certainly have demonstrated significant self-discipline and ability to handle heavy workloads and tight deadlines. In my opinion, however, the deadlines were often rather arbitrary, and interfered with the learning process. There is much room for improvement: "real" lectures, for example as used by Coursera; direct involvement and contribution to teaching on the part of the university; and tighter selection of both students and instructors could vastly improve the quality of the students' experience.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Excellent online academic program

Master of Business Administration - July 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Enrolling in an MBA online with the University of Liverpool was a wonderful experience that I recommend without hesitation. It requires hard work, commitment and perseverance to honor the many assignments that one must complete during each module, in addition to having to putting together a dissertation at the end of the program in order to be able to graduate. At the end the satisfaction is worth all the effort and energy invested.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Hard work

Master of Business Administration - June 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my seventh Module of the MBA programme. Even though it is a high quality standard but the programme is generally tough especially when one has to jingle the degree with personal and work life, it's highly challenging because at some point one of the three sufferes. Personally my relationship suffered because I did not have much time to spice up my relationship with my kids and my partner. More than 20 hours of studying and participating in class in a week is not a Child's play. I find that pricing by Laurette is to be very outrageous, most of my colleagues and friends have dropped out due to high prices particularly when using the currency from under developed countries. But from my side I definitely recomemd it to those with busy schedule workwise, because of its flexibility academically and financially .

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

NOT QUITE REWARDING

Master of Business Administration - March 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would rather say that the UoL online education with Laureate is quite interesting and yo really get to learn the stuff. I am in my fourth module and I have gained an amazing experience. But to be honest, advanced degrees with such high tuition expenses need to be matched with adequate network, opportunities and job/alumni related relationships which Laureate lacks. When you visit the UoL's career services is not available to laureate students and graduates just to the full-time UoL students. Sometime I just have to think that you get to pay such high tuition so that UoL rubber-stamps your degree. Don't get me wrong! the quality of education is superb but they need to work more on their career services!!! They really do have to in order to compensate for such a high tuition. The total costs of my studies(tuition, books plus shipping, transportation and customs, internet and miscellaneous) is almost equal to what I could have paid for a top full time MBA!!!

Was this review helpful?

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Get focussed

Master of Business Administration - December 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello, When deciding on a online school, do your research. Ask if the school as 24x7day week technical support. What accreditation does the school hold. How supportive are the school to payments. These are key facators, remember that if a school is accredited then by law and the accreditation 80% of the program will be very similar due to accreditation factors. Be aware of the hard sell schools and schools that talk about fees within 5 minutes. See if the school as an interest in you. Keep your eyes and ears open about, Liverpool University and Walden University which are 2 of the most successful online schools around. And last but least, it is a degree you are studyying which means hard bloody work, committments need to be made. Again, do your research. Liverpool as the quality at an affordable price where one caqn pay on many different payment schemes.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Mixed

Master of Business Administration - June 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Context: I have now completed the taught portion of this course. Its cost is comparable to that of many other MBAs. It has the feature, which could be an advantage, of being entirely on-line, requiring and offering no physical attendance. The University's role in the degree is hard to discern - it seems to provide library access, which is good, but no instructors, advice on choice of modules or indeed much of the normal function of an educational institution. Many of the instructors, who provide the interface between student and institution, are themselves students. Others are teachers at institutions which I would not have dreamed of attending. That said, some are very good, and quality varies markedly. Laureate's role, however, is all too clear: its concern seems exclusively with money. Support and advice have been nil. Obtaining information has been close to impossible. Discussion with academics has not been a feature of this course. "Lectures" are in some cases extremely perfunctory. The workload is high, and the dropout rate likewise. Quality of students varies hugely, as does the quality of the "discussions" - the need to deliver considered, researched. responses to doctrinaire drivel is intensely frustrating. The compulsion to adhere to a minutely defined timetable if a reasonable grade is to be obtained can be grim. Use of the online nature seems extremely unimaginative - it's reduced to little more than a fast mail system. This course is tough - a distinction should certainly be regarded as certification of tenacity. Starting again, I would have chosen a more traditional university - perhaps with a better balance between donkey-work and stimulation both intellectual and social. I would suggest that, unless you are justifiably confident of your ability to read and write rapidly and well in English, you do not undertake this course. Laureate gives the impression of selectivity, but I suspect that so long as you have a Visa card, they won't say "no".

Was this review helpful?

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Review from a Grad

Master of Business Administration - July 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I initially started an online MBA through the University of Phoenix but chose to transfer to the Liverpool/Laureate program after completion of my 4th course. My rationale for the decision to transfer was twofold. 1. In each of the courses taken at U of Phoenix I received an A+ for my work. While I appreciated the high grades I was not sure that they were an actual reflection of my work and therefore were not credible in my eyes. 2. The program I was taking at U of Phoenx did not require the completion of a thesis. At the start this seemed like a positive to me, however as time went by I realized that this just made the degree substandard. After I transferred to the University of Liverpool I quickly learned that the University of Liverpool and Laureate Online are two quite different entities. I found any dealings I had directly with the University to be top notch. They were responsive, welcoming, supportive and possessed excellent facilities. I actually visited Liverpool on two occasions. Both times I was treated as a normal member of the institution. I found that the instructors were good overall, although I must admit that some were definitely better and more involved than others. The marking was very difficult and I found that the amount of effort required to get a grade above a simple satisfactory was very high. The dissertation component was a great experience for me. The support and input I received from my dissertation advisor was outstanding. On the downside the amount of work I had to invest on a weekly basis to obtain an adequate mark was very arduous. There were a number of times that I thought about packing it in. The main thing that kept me going was the amount of money which I had invested. While this program is not the most expensive out there, it is still quite pricey. especially when compared to U of Phoenix for instance. One experience which was exceptional was attending the graduation ceremony in Liverpool. The management school treated the grads really well and going through the hectic rigamarole of getting your gown and pictures taken with a few hundred other grads was quite an experience and topping it off with a pint at the Philarmonic Club in your cap and gown prior to the ceremony (and after for that matter) was something not to be missed. In retrospect, I would probably have chosen to take my degree at a bricks and mortar university closer to home. However, I did find that my personal experience of attending the online program at U of Liverpool was overall quite a positive one, particularly when juxtaposed against my experience at U of Phoenix.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful

The quality depends on the instructor

Master of Business Administration - April 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As the program is in general of outstanding quality, the instructors' quality varies concerning what can be quantitavely measured, i.e. length and detail of feedback, as well as time of arrival of feedback. While a nukmber of instructors manage to submit their weekly feedback before another deadline has to be met, many of the instructors seem to take their job too relaxed. In many cases weekly feedback seems standardized, hence lacking individual comments and hence the educational aspect of improving a student's performance. The arrival of weekly feedback after half the following week was over, has unfortunately been the case with many of the instructors. The MBA program is excellent if students lessen their expectations of actually receiving personal or even personalized feedback in general. As stated above, many instructors are excellent also in this regard, but this is the first institution where I have studied, where this educationally important aspect has only been suffieciently fulfilled.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

MBA Program Review

Master of Business Administration - December 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently studying in the MBA online program for the University of Liverpool. I already have approximately 10 years of work experience and I must say that the MBA program successfully incorporates theory with practicality. Every course is a eye opener, teaching the principles of economics and leadership. The program is very demanding and should not be taken lightly due to the online nature. The demands are the same as on campus and the work load is significant (20 hours per week minimum) and should be carefully considered before beginning. A definite recommendation to anyone looking to develop themselves, academic knowledge and career.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Very tough and complex

Master of Business Administration - October 15, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm student in the UoL this program very tough and expensive. To finish this program you need to work like machine you need to forget that you are human being the volume of the weekly duties and the participations are very exhausted I admit that graduate from this program is a supernatural especially if it is working and married with children I think that program managers believe that complex will bring good reputation

Was this review helpful?

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Very high quality university

Master of Business Administration - September 30, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my MBA from Liverpool and have to say that I was really impressed with the course set up, the instructors and how flexible the university is when it comes to taking a module. I have over 15 years experience as a Finance Director working for a large multinational (qualified ACMA) and I would not hesitate to recommend this online MBA program.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

MBA

Master of Business Administration - August 8, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The modules consist of nine units and they are no different then any modules you might expect from other schools. You make use of a current textbook and do some value-added research from many other sources to compliment your work. Thus the module system works as well as any other program offered today. The interaction with classmates/instructor is what makes this program so successful. Don't believe the Website when they claim that 15 hours a week is required of your time! The high-lite for me was the chance to write a major paper, this alone was worth taking the program as it is challenging and presented for review. A great deal of work but in the end it has proven to be well received.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Liverpool-Laureate Online Education in any way.