American Public University

Review Averages: 8.0 out of 10 (561 reviews)
Ranking: #14

American Public University is a regionally accredited institution offering more than 100 flexible degree programs online. The school, which is affiliated with American Military University, offers traditional liberal arts courses as well as classes especially of interest to military personnel (e.g., Air Warfare, Land Warfare, and Emergency and Disaster Management).

Accreditation: RA (NCA), DETC
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA
Website

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


American Public University Reviews:

MA Psychology + I taught here
M.A. Psychology - August 31, 2016
My grades are for the institution as a whole, what I saw as a grad student and what I saw as an instructor. I really enjoyed the quality of most of the instructors in psych. One of them needed to be sacked. As others have mentioned, he didn't respond. But that was one out of seven! I pointed out to the department chair that case studies would be more appropriate vs. review papers for every class, but that's my only real quibble. APUS is the best of the online for-profits, nothing like the horrible diploma mills that are being shut down, thank goodness. So much for the grad program and its wonderful instructors, especially the sweetie who helped me so much in stats. Now, as to being an instructor: bad news. You may not know that all colleges are moving to a mostly-adjuncts and poverty-wage adjuncts at that, and APUS is no different. I worked very hard and was very responsive, labored hard over grading rubrics and got high marks for caring from the students. Your fellow students are the same mixed bag you get elsewhere. Some people (especially the military) are very conscientious, wonderful people to pour your dedication into, and fun to meet as a fellow student. Some are poorly prepared for college, period, really need remedial English classes; some will claim racism to try to get an A. I am proud of APUS for not knuckling under to any kind of "I want an A" pressure. I have high, fair standards and APUS always came down on the side of facts and evidence. This is not what I encountered in public community colleges, I must say, where you COULD manipulate to get a higher grade. So bravo, APUS, for academic standards. Another weakness that sadly is shared with more and more schools is the utter refusal to allow instructors to create exams, assignments or anything else; the curriculum was decided by someone else and we were all stuck with it. As I said, sadly becoming the state of higher education. I suspect that APUS, as any other school other than Harvard, is best in the specific-subject areas and weaker in the synthesis programs like generic humanities. Everyone I've ever talked to in psych or in the military specialties was very happy with the quality of their degree. I am, too!

Life Changing
Bachelor's of Science - Environmental Science - August 30, 2016
I am a mother and work full-time. APU enabled me to complete my Bachelor's Degree in the field I am passionate about. APU provided great support. The technology was perfect. I will for ever be greatful to APU for helping me achieve my dream. I would strongly recommend them to anyone!!

Affordable and reputable program
Homeland Security - August 11, 2016
I completed my Master of Arts in Homeland Security in August 2015. This was my second degree from American Public University System (APUS) because of the accessibility and affordability, as well as the kinds and quality of courses that are offered. The quality of education, in my experience, was as good as, and in some cases better than, what one would receive at a traditional in-state university (I graduated from Arizona State University in 2013). The courses are very interesting, the professors keep students engaged and promote an environment for students to truly delve into the course topics. The online library is an excellent resource APUS has while you are a student and you have lifetime access once you graduate. I know many people have reservations about attending online institutions because of the fact the school is online. I tell all those who have those reservations that I have been witness to a few of the programs for the School of Security and Global Studies; they are fully recognized in the military and the federal civilian side of the government. My experience with American Public University has been great overall. If you are looking at starting a degree for the first time, completing a degree started from another institution, pursuing an advanced degree, or looking at changing your field, the education you receive with American Public University is well worth the time and money you will invest. You will not regret your decision to pursuit your education with American Public University.

A highly recommended online university
Sport and Health Science - August 9, 2016
If it were not for APUS, I would not be finishing my degree. I needed to find a program that was convenient for me to fit in with a full-time job, and this meant not having to go to a brick and mortar university several times a week. APUS allows me to work from the comfort of my own home after hours. The courses I take challenge me and allow me to push myself like I never have before. As with any university, some instructors are better than others, but there have been a few that are outstanding and who strive to help students succeed. APUS also allows students to complete surveys at the end of each class to critique the instructors and the curriculum. I would highly recommend APUS to anyone who wants to complete a degree on their own terms.

Absolutely loving this school
Philosophy - August 6, 2016
I started school at APUS in October, and overall I have loved it. My life is quite busy, and it was not practical for me to attend a brick and mortar school. I did a lot of research when trying to find an online philosophy program, and APUS is significantly less expensive than any others that I could find. Not only that, but it is an accredited school, and allows me to work around my schedule. The classes have been challenging, but enjoyable, and all of my teachers (minus one) have been extremely helpful and informative. With that situation, I enjoyed the class, but the teacher was just not helpful. The classrooms are set up so that each class has a forum, which makes it feel more like a real classroom. I enjoy the ability to have discussions with other classmates. I personally have not had any problems with financial aid, but I have called the financial aid department to answer questions, and they have been very helpful. I understand that some people may not enjoy this type of school, but if you are looking for a good online college, I would highly recommend APUS.

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Becoming a Coach
Sport and Health Science - June 9, 2016
Using APUS as my institution for my degree plan was the best decision that I have ever made. I have been in the military for 25 years and with the constant deploying and missions they worked with me every step of the way. If you are looking to become a coach of any sports program they have the most up to date information that can be applied to your situation immediately. I would suggest this college to anyone that has a very busy life but still wants to progress in their education. Shade Holder

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Great Program
BS - Environmental Studies - June 3, 2016
The best online university I could find for Environmental Science. In fact, it ranked high even compared to brick and mortar universities for this program. It had all of the classes I wanted. Tuition was great and the institution is accredited. I feel that I have gotten a great start for pursuing a career in this field. I am continuing on with a Masters program in Environmental Policy and Management.

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
M.A. Humanities Meh
Humanities - May 13, 2016
Really? This program does not even compare to brick and mortar programs. Hey, did you know that there aren't any admission requirements? This means that any fool with a pulse and a checkbook can join the program. And they do. Looking for students who have a solid background in humanities and earned their place here? Not going to happen. They haven't taken GREs, or have letters of recommendation, or a decent GPA to get into this school ANYONE who wants to pay gets in. All you have to do is post in discussion forums and write a few essays over a 16 week period. The instructors are ok, but the other students don't know how to read or think about complicated issues, so good luck trying to find intellectual stimulation here. If you want your degree to be worth more than a roll of toilet paper, save yourself the time and aggravation and apply to a real, traditional school with a rigorous program.

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Accredited-Affordable-Overall, GREAT
Masters in Public Administration - May 4, 2016
I researched far and wide to find an accredited, affordable, all on-line option for my MPA. APUS fit the bill. The classes are eight weeks each and teach an incredible amount of material in that time. Students are required to READ a GREAT DEAL of material however all the material is relevant. I have not yet run across any professor's 'pet project' that doesn't really relate to the class. The curriculum is focused and I definitely feel I learn the important, core topics in each class. The required forum postings can be difficult. But I don't learn with stuff that is easy. The teachers clearly describe the requirements for a good grade and are quite consistent in applying the grading matrix. I have NEVER been surprised by a grade as I know how much work went into the paper/discussion/project. 90% of the professors respond promptly. The enrollment process was easy. I have no difficulty in getting direction and/or help when I need it from the central/admission office. I appreciate the opportunity to learn in this way. It works for me and it's affordable. I encourage you to try.

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
School Counseling Program of Study
Masters of Education, School Counseling - April 27, 2016
I was thoroughly challenged yet was very supported by all of my professors. For my Practicum and Internship the professors broke down the stigma of online learning by communicating with students frequently and making themselves available at all times of the day or night! I feel completely prepared to walk right into the School Counseling profession. Compared to others who attended other schools in the area, I feel that my experiences and learning from APU are way superior.

Read all 561 American Public University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 561 reviews...

Write a American Public University Review


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Dec. 3, 2010, 1:50 p.m.
+3 votes/
I am enrolled at APU to get me BA in Child and Family Development to become an elementary school guidance counselor. I was wary at first because, I was concerned  that I couldn't apply my online degree from APU towards my certification as a teacher in Florida. I emailed the FL DOE and expressed my concerns. They emailed me back and tols me that my BA from APU is accepted since the school is regionally accredited. I will go on to get my M.ED in guidance counseling. I have Federal Financial Aid, and have not had any prolblems with my FSA packages or recieiving FSA disbersments. The classes are challenging, but that's what I want. If i just skated bt to get my degree, what would I have learned to be able to instill in my career? NOTHING!!! APU has great, caring instructors. The undergraduate book program is an added,excellent benefit. 
Dec. 1, 2010, 2:55 a.m.
+3 votes/
UPDATE

I have completed my first course in the APU MBA program.

In retrospect, I would say that the course material itself is not exceedingly difficult - however, from my research and speaking to other students going through MBA programs at other institutions the material covered (and recommended texts and reading) are substantively similar. I would add that there is probably not a lot of information you will get out of ANY MBA program that you cannot extract from the myriad of management books available at your local B&N or Borders. My assessment is that a major advantage of a bricks and mortar B-school over an online one is the networking opportunities which exist.

However, I do feel that the compressed format of the terms was very challenging. The time committment and time management needed to complete assignments and exams on time and on target was something that I was not initially prepared for, and is something that propective students should be aware of. I should mention that I had not studied in a formal environment for nearly 10 years.

All in all, I am satisified with my learning experience with APU thus far. My opinion is that the teaching format is one of self-directed learning (with some aspects being problem based learning), which may not be suitable for all learning styles. I plan to register for my next class in the New Year.

Happy Holidays and a prosperous New Year to all.
Oct. 18, 2010, 4:24 a.m.
+3 votes/
APU is my first online college experience, so I was a wary at first - I have a degree that is the equivalent of a doctorate from an accredited US college (as assessed by a NACES member) earned at a foreign university that is ranked in the Top 100 of the THES.

To test the waters, I have only taken one class in the MBA program, and have found that the course difficulty is comparable with that of traditional bricks and mortar progams at the graduate level. What I have noticed is that while instructors challenge and offer guidance to you, ultimately as the student you only get out as much as you're willing to put in. Certainly there are some students for whom the testamur is the goal and are happy with doing just enough work to get it. On the other hand, there are others for whom the journey of learning is more imporant - people who actually want to learn will always put in greater effort, and obviously reap greater rewards.

Given the Regional Accreditation and my experience thus far, I feel confident of the learning experience APU will provide. Strangely there is more of a collegiate atmosphere at APU than at my previous university.

Please note that I do not use Financial Aid, so I am unable to comment on the quality of this department within the organization.
Oct. 15, 2010, 9:42 p.m.
0 votes/
You said "If you want to be spoon fed and coddled I suggest going to a $40K a year private school, they do that there, good luck with tuition." For your information U.S. News and World Report in conjunction with the Princeton Review has released their 2011 Top Ranking Colleges and Universities List showing that 22 of the top 25 National Universities are Private Universities (costing about 40K a year). I guess that makes you look pretty stupid!
Oct. 14, 2010, 2:58 p.m.
+3 votes/
I worked for a community college VA office on a VA work study durring my first two years of college. During that time I heard all of the same complaints about the finacial aid office and experienced many of the same financial aid issues that I have read complaints about in regards to AMU/APUS. I am enrolling at AMU and have submited my financial aid package. So far everything has gone smoothly. I am waiting on aproval and will see how it goes. If there are road blocks I can honestly say that it would not be unlike those encountered at the community college that I both attended and worked at. If I could experience financial aid issues at a college where my office was so closely connected to financial aid then I can safely say that financial aid issues are a frequent and expected part of college life. Anyone recieving federal aid must be very proactive and act well in advance of due dates, and even then be prepared for issues. They may never happen, but then again they might. I would not consider the financial aid department a reason to choose or not choose a college. The quality of instruction should be the deciding factor.
Sept. 28, 2010, 12:17 a.m.
+1 vote/
I'm not really sure why financial aid is an issue for so many people at this school. The costs are very low, quite honestly you could pay for this school being a pizza delivery driver. I am aware that everyone has their own circumstances but I doubt that so many of you really have that many problems. 

Also if you have problems with the staff or education go somewhere else. Most of you probably live in the USA, you have a right to choose to pay and work toward a secondary education at a school of your choosing. This isn't the USSR (for people who don't know, that's what Russia used to be called, again get educated). Take responsibility for your life and decisions, if your in college your a grown adult and are accountable for your own actions so either stay at APU/AMU or go or I don't know try a differend adviser.

I personally love the school. I have attended traditional state college and private college for my undergraduate degrees and honestly it's nice not having someone hold your hand the whole way. College is about growing up, opening doors, and becoming more of who you can be and not making excuses. I have a feeling the people who are complaining are people who want to be spoon fed and don't want to take responsibility. Reason being, they still appear to be students there and yet they cry.

Good luck, have fun. The school is more than expected for the money. If you want to be spoon fed and coddled I suggest going to a $40K a year private school, they do that there, good luck with tuition.
Aug. 31, 2011, 5:41 p.m.
-2 votes/
I finished my BA in psychology (with honors) and am now working on my MEd in school counseling...I have loved every aspect of it (sure there are better teachers than others, but that's ANY school!). It's tough and you get out of it what you put into it but I agree TOTALLY with everyone's assessment of the financial aid dept. I'm sorry, but pizza delivery drivers probably can't afford $750 a class undergrad and $975 graduate. Especially for those of us that take a couple of classes each 8 weeks. My husband and I make a bit more than that but with kids, house, vehicles and such, student loans were a necessity. I wouldn't be going back to school if we made a decent living!! 

And the financial aid dept. has been a major headache. I've been told that they contract that dept out which is why it's sub par but you'd think they'd TRY to fix things with the amount of negative feedback that part gets. I've even TOLD them that a home loan is easier to understand than dealing with them. They have such turnover that you never talk to the same person twice and my issues have been because of things THEY did not do or did not even tell me I needed to do. They do not like to deal email (duh, it's an ONLINE school!) and for those of us who work full-time cannot sit on hold while at work for 30 minutes or more (I tried it once...not again--it's my job to answer phones at work and I can't if I'm on hold for a personal call!). It's been crazy and I have almost a year left to go and DREAD when it comes time to re-packing or re-certifying--whatever it is that always has issues no matter how well I try to cross my T's! 
Aug. 20, 2010, 10:05 p.m.
-2 votes/
APU is my second online college experience. Very similar problems with a previous university in the nearly complete lack of communication by professors. 

Because these instructors (and often their supervisors/directors) are touted as "real world" professionals doesn't automatically translate to them having a genuine calling for teaching. Keep in mind, many are currently working outside the university, which causes conflicting priorities. Plus, I'm sure having taught at a college looks good on a resume, but that means little to someone seeking real assistance by a real teacher who honestly cares about what they are doing. I suspect many of these "instructors" care little about anything beyond their own self interests in being at the college.

My main suggestion, if things get unbearable, would be to have everything documented and submit a formal complaint to the regional accreditation body. There is a formal complaint process outlined on their website. There is always a possibility of actual fraud by a college (see the recent ABC segment) and the dept. of education might be a good route to go if you feel you may have really been snookered by any online school.
Aug. 11, 2010, 5:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am in the process of applying to APU. I read all of the comments on this forum and most of the comments in the AMU forum as well. All of the comments here are the same at other online and brick and mortar schools. MIXED! So I've decided to go ahead and apply to APU as they are the only online school I found offering a BS in Exercise Science and Coaching studies completely online. 

And to everyone complaining the APU is a For Profit school, THEY ARE ALL FOR PROFIT SCHOOLS!! Both state and private colleges/uiversities ALL make large profits!
Aug. 10, 2010, 12:02 p.m.
+4 votes/
Greetings,

I have attened many online schools and did not find the right fit until APU. found the experience to be very refreshing. I haven't had any problems with financial aid and the professors are extremely helpful. I would give this school a triple thumbs up!
July 31, 2010, 5:30 p.m.
-1 vote/
YVC,

I don't blame you, it seems most of the personnel at this school are a bunch of idiots. That's the problem with For-Profit schools, they want your money and try to sugar-coat you, but in reality nothing but a bunch disoriented, disorganized idiots.
July 31, 2010, 10:13 a.m.
0 votes/
I recently had to turn in an Admissions letter to my employer because they needed proof that I am attending APU fulltime. Well I sent the paperwork that I printed out from my online campus to my employer. Several days later she called me and told me that they were not acceptable because they do not contain signed signatures therefore she did not believe that I was attending an accredited college. I emailed my avisor to find out if I could have them fax over a signed admissions letter to my employer but she said she would have to ask to see if they can do that. I started to get a little worried. I decided to contact APU directly and asked the registrar if they could fax the document over but I just kept being transferred and they acted as if they did not know what a fax was. They were actually reluctant to send it but I explained that it was extremely important for my employer to have these documents. I practically had to beg for them, I literally was in tears. Finally after a little more begging someone was able to send over the information. They were very unprofessional and now I am extremely nervous about attending this school. I am surprised that it was so difficult to attain student documents from APU and I feel that they need to improve customer service for their students. I am having some serious doubts about this university after that ordeal.
July 12, 2010, 5:24 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone here taken, or looked into, the MA in Military History?
July 9, 2010, 1:19 a.m.
0 votes/
I'm looking at doing the BA in Intelligence Studies.  I'm worried about spending money on this college and then not being able to get taken seriously when I try to apply for jobs.  I am looking to get a job with the federal government, and I have read that AMU is "cozy" (for lack of a better word) with them.
July 2, 2010, 4:49 a.m.
0 votes/
Just Enrolled ,

The woman you use to work for, is she going to University of Virginia?
Oct. 21, 2012, 3:55 a.m.
0 votes/
if anyone wants ther math tests/quizzes one in APUS/AMU, drop me a mail at testtaker321(-at-)gmail-dot-com
Oct. 13, 2012, 9:05 p.m.
+2 votes/
American Public University System(APUS)afforded me time and flexibility as a full time worker and a fatrher of three to go to school for a masters degree in environmnental policy and management. I really looked for school that will accommodate my pace and pattern of learning, and payment, so APUS met the need I had. 
I could not have paid for quarters knowing that I do not have time to take much classes in a semester, but this worked and I appreciate every segment and step that I took. 
Morealso, through the majors and electives, I took some courses relating to my current position at work, they were like on-hands. I am grateful to God and thanks the school management.
Oct. 4, 2012, 12:57 a.m.
+2 votes/
I am finishin  g up my degree in management.  Attending APU has been a great experience for me.  The instructors have real life experience and bring a wealth of information to the courses.  The academics are challenging and that is a good thing because I want my degree to be worth something.  APUS is accredited and OPM accepts this degree (which is rare for a fully online program).  The financial aid office has been great and every time I have contacted them with questions they have responded within 24 hours.  The advisors are also terrific.  They have a good online library with academic resources.  The fact that the books are included in the tuition is a good value.  Some of the books are electronic and some are hardcopy.  Both have worked out fine for me.  They also have librarians and tutors and many resources available to students who need assistance.
Oct. 2, 2012, 9:46 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am a Senior in a BA in Criminal Justice with APU. Everything is a learning experience. It should be expected that all students learn as they go along. Constant intake of information and processing is part of the degree experience. Critical thinking of every instruction given in any course will enable a student to do timely assignments. It is a process that requires organization skills and good communication. Ask questions right away if there is a problem. That is expected and necessary for online students. We are a part of the whole and must do our part to be complete and see positive results. Take charge and stay on top of your responsibilities. Make the most of your education with a dedicated attitude. My experience with APU has been one of constant learning. I have grown and learned how to spend my online time wisely. You get what you put in. APU is there to help the students graduate and be successful in life. I am thankful that I can attend APU online. It is an amazing opportunity. APU is the best thing that has ever happened to my education. Thank you American Public University! I am your biggest fan!
Oct. 2, 2012, 4:50 p.m.
0 votes/
The American Public University System is great! I have attended traditional on-campus colleges and by far my experience with APUS has been the best. Even though the material is compressed for a shorter course time, I never felt overwhelmed or unprepared. I will be completing my AA in June of 2013. Following that I will continue at APUS for my BA.
Sept. 18, 2012, 3:05 p.m.
+1 vote/
I enrolled and completed my Masters in Sports Management from APU. It was a very pleasant experience and soon after graduation, I was able to obtain my first job in the sports industry. it was a great experience I would recommend it to anyone that is interested in online learning.
Sept. 11, 2012, 4:47 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been very pleased with APU.  I have used financial aid with no issues.  Most of the professors are great to work with and understand why many of us are pursuing an online degree.  We are professionals working full time and most of us full time parents.  Professors are very understanding and treat us as the professionals that we are. Great Experience, almost finished!
July 27, 2012, 4:55 p.m.
-2 votes/
I enrolled at AMU for several classes several years ago.  While the classes were convenient and the teachers great, I recently applied to graduate school at another university.  AMU (APUS) charged me $40 to mail two official transcripts to the University I applied to.  There is no reason to gouge people on transcripts.  I think it is funny that the ads say "Serving those who served" but they certainly are overcharging for a couple of pieces of paper.  NO other school I attended came even anywhere near $40 for two transcripts.  The most I paid for two official transcripts from other schools was $10.  If you go to school there and want to transfer...be careful of the costly transcripts for your time at AMU.  
July 19, 2012, 3:56 a.m.
0 votes/
Apus, is an excellent choice to continue your education. I have been attending for 1 year now and I love the classes, the course work is fairly tolerable. The professors are highly educated in their area of studies. Overall it has been an excellent online school, no drama,
no hiding information for from you. The only thing I will say, is make sure you do every assignment and you will do good. Love, Love APU!!!!!! 
April 22, 2012, 7:22 p.m.
+1 vote/
Sadly, many have experienced the downgrade of APUS.  The school was once a caring & joyous community for teachers and students.  Now it is 'big' business with teachers making way below pay schedule (except for those in the inner circle/good ole' boys club.  HR claims this is not true and provides a pay scale based on other schools - which is a joke - who is doing the survey?  Most teachers do not/have not received raises in 3 - 5 years), while top management is clearing thousands plus free stock/payouts/benefits. This alone has caused great grumblings among the faculty and is reflected in the teaching mannerisms.  Faculty feel very ignored and less valued, while work requirements are increased for less pay.  People are afraid to speak their minds because there are repercussions - those who have said anything in the past are fired eventually for inconsequential reasons.  Point - what once was is now gone, which was the value of teachers & students. 
April 21, 2012, 11 a.m.
0 votes/
I am considering APU after trying to deal with Park Univeristy,which makes absolutely no sense.  Park wants u to pay, out of pocket, a deposit if ur financial aid package covers the entire cost of tuition, they want u to take tests in person, even though you are going completely online....Now from reading these responses, it appears that for those that have some prior life experience and have attended a B&M school at some point that they like what APU doesn't do. Which is coddle you according to the reviews.  Online learning isn't for everyone. If you need more interaction, go someplace else.
April 10, 2012, 7:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Very intellegent response for someone with a masters degree. I would expect more.
April 10, 2012, 5:44 p.m.
-1 vote/
Hello, I recently graduated with an AA from Ashford University & I'm considering transferring to another school (maybe this one) to pursue a BA in English.  I've been reading reviews from different schools & there are many negative comments about the financial aid department here.  I had no problems with the financial aid department @ Ashford but I didn't feel challenged enough.  I don't know what to do.  Will any of you please give me more information on your experience in APU?  I'm breaking my head here.
March 7, 2012, 9:56 p.m.
-4 votes/
I filled out an application to enroll in a bachelor degree at this school.  I never once got a call from a rep.  I hate the reps from schools that call you a billion times but to not call once is strange.  I had no clue what I was doing when filling out the long application and I had questions but no one to answer them, the application ask for a $50 for a transfer credit evaluation but yet you never hear from them.  I am not giving $50 to any school who is equivalent to a ghost.  I do not know how people even entered this program how did you do it you never hear from anyone? I was interested in this school because of the 121 credits but I am not looking into a school that offers the same program but has 181 credits it sucks but atleast me rep stays in touch with me, and I know that I can get help when I need it.  I called the school before and ask for info on the program and they guy ask me "well what do you want to know" i want to know how you got a job there because this is crazy, good luck to all seeking help at the school your going to need it glad I moved on before I got trapped in this hot mess of a school.  
Feb. 26, 2012, 11:26 p.m.
0 votes/
My experience has been great so far. I graduated from Troy University with my B.S in criminal justice. AMU's M.A  program in CJ has provided me with challenging coursework. I have had no problems with interaction of faculty or administration. 
Sept. 30, 2011, 4:56 p.m.
+1 vote/
Very good school. Glad I did it. Have attended both this college and a regular college. Work load is the same as is the curriculum. Very glad I did it. 
June 3, 2011, 2:33 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have had nothing but an absolute blast at the University. I've had only one instructor that I didn't like and it had nothing to do with competency. The one thing I did notice was that there was no pressure to enroll, no calls and that was appealing to me. I had looked at other schools and the bugged me relentlessly. I am an online student who love it. The classroom is not something I enjoy. At APUS its simple. Instructor gives you the assignment, gives you the due date and happy hunting. There are a lot of students who cannot handle that environment and work independently, I love it. Anyone who criticizes anything in this world, does so because they are unsuccessful at it. I'm a philosophy major. 
April 21, 2011, 12:26 p.m.
+2 votes/
I am in the process of finishing my masters program from APU.  It has taken me about six years to complete and while it has been very challenging, it also has been very rewarding. I would definitely recommend APU to others.  Be ready to work for your grade though, but this is how it should be!
April 15, 2011, 10:17 p.m.
+2 votes/
I am in the Air Force and am 99 credits into the Intel Studies degree, NOTHING BUT GREAT things to say about this school. This review site is a terrible depiction of this school. Every one of my intel professors have impressive resumes and are very educated and experienced. Great school, much better than this website.
April 11, 2011, 12:17 a.m.
+2 votes/
APU/AMU is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, North Central Association. Same as many state universities in that area. Also nationally accredited by the DETC. DoD will pay for it. Perfectly legit. And also very affordable. Many prestigious professors and deans (one is an astronaut). This is the school for me.
March 15, 2011, 2:09 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm looking to enroll in the BA Program for CJ. Any thoughts? Good school, bad school? Good choice, bad choice?

Thanks...
March 16, 2011, 9:05 p.m.
-2 votes/
Look into Tiffin University.  They have been around since 1888 and are regionally accred.  They specialize in two areas business and criminal justice.  

Just a thought :-)
March 12, 2011, 11:28 p.m.
+2 votes/
I am attending my second course in MA program International Studies at APU, and so far I can only say all the best. I am not into financial aid, so I can't say about that department, but everything else has been good so far. As for the quality of classes, they are demanding, I would say more than in brick-and-mortar schools, since sometimes you need a living word (rather for small things), and there is no reading from the book, but you are provided with a lot of material, which you need to analyze, and to produce some papers, assignments, discussions every week, with tight deadlines. So, there is no escape and bluffing, I think it is a good program and way of learning. Professors are welcoming, but that still depends on a person, they anyway respond promptly to your email. So far I am satisfied.
Feb. 8, 2011, 5:27 a.m.
-5 votes/
This school really is a joke. I they weren't accredited then I would be convinced that they weren't legit. They financial aid sucks and so does their employees. No one ever knows what they are talking about.
Feb. 2, 2011, 8:27 p.m.
+2 votes/
Cannot speak for financial aid, but, I graduated from American Public University and it was a great experience.  The instructors are extremely helpful with free text books for undergrad programs.  Their Homeland Security program is second to none with instructors who have been in the field.  Requires a great amount of discipline and time management skills.  
Jan. 25, 2011, 5:53 p.m.
+1 vote/
My advice to people is,
if you are not paying with financial aid this is a great school for you.
If you are using finanacial aid and this may be your first time attending college this is not the right experience for you. This was my first time attending college, the financial aid experience was horrible. For the most part they stayed in contact with me but is unoragnized one person told me one thing and the other person told me another. my finanicial aid package has been rejected three times due to their mistakes. Now it is time for my student refund to come. I started school on december 6th, here it is jan 25Th and i have yet to recieve my refund nor will it be sent anytime soon because they 'claim' they are tracking my funds... how do you track funds that were sent to you on the 5th of january is unknown to me. They seem kind of shady when it comes to money but other than the financial aid the programs seems good and very interactive. like i said before wouldnt recommend this to anyone with financial aid
Jan. 12, 2011, 4:27 a.m.
-2 votes/
This sounds like an ad for the school. After reading nothing good about the school, I am a little suspicious of who wrote it. 
Jan. 3, 2011, 5:11 a.m.
+2 votes/
I start at APU tomorrow in a Master's program for IT. I'm surprised at all the people that had problems with the financial aid dept. They kept in close contact with emails every step of the way - and if I had a question, I just called in and spoke to a financial aid counselor and they answered my questions. To those worried about an online degree being accepted, I wouldn't worry about that. If the college/university has regional accredidation, and APU does, then credit is accepted at just about any regionally accredited university. All major brick and mortar colleges/universities cary the same regional accredidation that APU has. Of course the class has to match content to be accepted, but that's true for any college. I've been to state universities(Texas A&M), a community college, and a private university, but I finished my Bachelor's degree at the University of Phoenix. It was challenging and every bit as hard as any other university that I attended. Maybe harder, and I learned a lot. I currently work in the field of my degree. I also see some concerns about APU being a for-profit organization, but I wouldn't worry about that either. If anything, they are more accountable to student option. They have motivation to stay comptetive academically and financially. What motivates a state university to stay competive? State funding. So what's the difference - both are financially motivated - just one pays taxes, the other does not. I chose to go to APU over Univ of Phoenix because the tuition in less. Competition in action. I expect with APU rising in popularity, UoPhx will have to think about adjusting there tuition to remain competitive.
Dec. 21, 2010, 11:30 p.m.
-1 vote/
Has any worked on a Space Studies degree here? My concern is it wouldn't translate into a job after I graduated. Any ideas?
July 2, 2010, 12:42 a.m.
+1 vote/
I just enrolled in APU on the 21st of June. A woman I used to work for got her BA in Middle Eastern Studies with a minor in terrorism and terrorism studies and she is moving to VA to complete her masters in law. I've gotten everything finished and I've even been able to get in touch with a lot of people at the school via e-mail to make sure that everything was going well with my admissions and financial aid. They have been very helpful and I've never had such a good experience with the whole process over the past week and a half. They also have a syllabus department that I was able to contact and get the previous classes and book materials so I could prepare for the classes ahead of time. My major is BA in Homeland Security with a minor in Middle Eastern Studies and Certificates in Terrorism Studies and Weapons of Mass Destruction. They have such a variety of WMD/Counter Terrorism/DOD classes that I can use them as electives and have a broad area of concentration into hopefully Homeland Defense. If there is anyone out there that has this type of degree and got a job with the Feds, I could love to hear from you to see how this worked for you before I go too far into it. Thanks!!!
July 3, 2010, 1:16 p.m.
+1 vote/
I'm in the History MA program at AMU and I'm very happy with it.  Honestly, the courses are more challenging than some of the grad courses I have taken at a major brick and mortar state school.  Because there are no lectures you are required to made intelligent, researched posts to the class message board multiple times each week.  You can't float by by attending lecture and then cramming for an exam.  You are forced to do assigned readings in their entirety and engage in class discussion each week.  Also, being online, it benefits a bit from the veil of anonymity that the internet offers.  Students are more willing to speak up in "class" and post their opinion on topics without fear of embarrassment and staring eyes like in a physical classroom.

In the History program I've found that you work harder and are engaged in meaningful discussion more often than at a comparable brick and mortar class.  

I haven't dealt with the support staff much so I can't comment, but I have dealt with advisors and financial aid counselors at a well respected major public research university and DID encounter some of those problems.  I don't think that  problems a few other posters mentioned are symptomatic of AMU/APU but rather of University advising in general.  When I have had to deal with the support staff they've been timely and informative.
July 3, 2010, 8:36 p.m.
0 votes/
Matt,

What do you plan on doing with your MA in History once you get it?
June 28, 2010, 6:05 p.m.
0 votes/
You know when u pay for school with financial aid and loans do the funds after ur classes are paid for go to u or back to ur lender. I usually use this money for any classes I might fail, something like my safety money. Can anyone explain to process to me?
June 15, 2010, 2:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Justin,

How were you able to get in touch with the gentleman who got accepted by Yale on the forums?

Anyone on this forum, I want to hear from you who have gone to brick-n-mortars school
June 10, 2010, 10:44 p.m.
0 votes/
Thanks Justing for the Information.

I've tried to log in on the APU/AMU forums and no luck. I'd like to get in touch with the gentleman who got accepted to Yale. 

This helps alot.
June 7, 2010, 1:28 a.m.
+1 vote/
Hector, 

I spoke with a few schools (Southern Mississippi, UAB, Alabama, etc) and they didn't have an issue with an APU degree. Also, look at the forums on APU/AMU website (I believe non-students have access, not sure). Many of the APU/AMU graduates are in graduate programs at brick & mortar campuses and give advice/feedback to those currently enrolled in APU/AMU. There was a gentleman who even got accepted to Yale, and had a APU degree. I am sure he had plenty of other credentials, but the degree won't hold you back.
June 5, 2010, 5:41 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have nothing but good things to say about American Public University. The admissions process was streamlined, the courses are actually available and not closed, the instructors are highly qualified, the advisors are ALWAYS available, the Financial Aid process is worry free, and the courses themselves are thought provoking. 

I really like the book program that has sent me every book I need at least a few days before the class begins. The instructors give great feedback and you soon forget that you are in an online school. Believe me, there is no lack of challenging work in these courses (I am a history major) and I have spend more time reading, researching and refining my writing techniques here at this school than any other combined. I love this school and will absolutely go into the Masters in Political Science program this December. I am a working father, Paramedic and husband and I HIGHLY recommend this school.
June 1, 2010, 5:54 a.m.
0 votes/
Justin,

Could you please give me on some of the "brick-n-mortar" schools that  you got in touch with who said they have no problem with a degree from a AMU/APU online school?

I really want to make sure before enrolling to the school. Because i plan on getting my master's degree from an traditional on-campus, and law schools.
May 31, 2010, 7:33 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am surprised at some of the negative feedback, but there will always be stereotypes when it comes to online education. Quite honestly, I had the same concerns most people have when I decided to finish school online, the biggest being if people will take my degree seriously. Before enrolling, I spoke with actual students of several online schools, emailed many staff members, and also spoke with "brick & mortar" graduate programs to see the validity of various degrees. It's shocking that most people do not do this much research! Come on, you're spending thousands of dollars, you need to make sure you're receiving a quality education. APU/AMU was the ONLY school that received excellent feedback, and students with degrees had no problems getting great jobs, or getting into graduate school. I find that difficulty and challenges of each course depends on the class. Several classes I have had were very difficult, and a few were extremely easy. Most fall in the middle, so you have to put in work, but as long as you stay on top of it, you have no problem making a B or better. Just like any college, and with fewer distractions, and more flexibility. I would hope anyone reading this simply doesn't take my review and use it as a source. Do some research, and I bet APU/AMU will be the school for you.
May 27, 2010, 5:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Hector,

   I was offered positions at both campus and on-line educational institutions; of course, for both, many now offer both modalities, so is there really a difference any more? 

   I can tell you this, no one ever asked if I went to school on-line or sat in a classroom. They simply examined the transcript which does not denote such.
May 27, 2010, 1:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone taken Sociology courses from APU?
May 23, 2010, 12:43 a.m.
0 votes/
I am thinking of enrolling in the International Relations program for my BA. Have anyone had any experiences with this program at APU/AMU? and how was it?

Thanks
May 22, 2010, 12:22 a.m.
0 votes/
Michael H., 

 When applying to the other institution, did they see your online degree as a "con" or debunked for not earning at an traditional school at first? 

The school that hired you, was it a traditional school? or online college?
May 19, 2010, 12:42 p.m.
+1 vote/
I recently graduated from APU with a MA degree in criminal justice. It took about three years. The classes were small, the professors were challenging, just as any solid school. APU will not hold your hand and push you through. Do the work, work hard and you will get your degree. Put forth unacceptable work and you will fail; simple concept. 
   Some have said that not having a recognized name places a shadow of doubt. Well, ask yourself if every school in the nation is well known. Of course not! The most important fact to ascertain when seeking a collegiate institution is that the school is properly accredited by one of the seven major agencies within the U.S. Department of Education. APU is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.
     I was hired as an adjunct instructor with another institution within six weeks of graduation; that speaks for itself. I would highly recommend APU.
May 12, 2010, 8:46 p.m.
0 votes/
Thoughts on the MA in Homeland Security?
May 10, 2010, 2:53 p.m.
0 votes/
The comments on this post are somewhat good however to all the people that are having a bad time or experance in geting aid fot the school should realy be preactive with their lives to get what they need out of life.Let know fool you......A regional accredited degree is all you need to keep going to the next level.
May 7, 2010, 3:16 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm considering enrolling in the BS IT program. Can anybody share their experience: consistent classes, instructors, course materials(do you need any software?
...
May 3, 2010, 4:35 a.m.
0 votes/
I'd like to know if alumni undergraduate students have gone on to pursue graduate degree at traditional on-campus universities? I'am still concerned with the legitimacy of having an undergraduate from an unheard of in the civilian world, online university would my chances of getting admitted to traditional on-campus school? By the way, i'm looking at their BA in history.

I need responses from alumni, or soon-to-be graduates from the online institution.
April 29, 2010, 3:12 a.m.
0 votes/
I am considering APU in pursuit of a Masters in Legal Studies. Has anyone had any experience with this program?
April 25, 2010, 7:48 a.m.
0 votes/
Hey Air Force 702, 

 If you dislike so much the school, take those negative responses elsewhere. This schools is not like UOP, alumni from AMU have gone to study at brick and mortar schools for there graduate studies. And, if you think its a waste of time, why don't you enroll in the school and take one class to see if your words are true.
April 24, 2010, 3:34 a.m.
-1 vote/
This is a school for below average intelligent person who just wants a diploma to hang on the wall or work for Federal.  This university won't get you a job in the corporate world.  It is the same as University of Phoenix, but Phoenix demands writing.
April 14, 2010, 12:47 a.m.
+1 vote/
Lynne,
You are correct that AMU does not require the GRE or Letters of Recommendation. AMU is an online school and they do not require standard admission requirements. For me I was happy to have that as my GPA was average. However, I have found that AMU's courses and classes are very difficult at the graduate level and compare to traditional classes. In fact, some have said that online learning is more difficult and I would agree. I am doing very well as a graduate student and have no complaints about AMU, its classes or its professors. If you prefer learning online vs. traditional, then you will like AMU.
April 13, 2010, 9:18 p.m.
0 votes/
Thanks Michael. Also, I'm very concerned that APU does not require the GRE, nor do they require letters of recommendation. Just want to make sure I'm making a solid investment.
April 13, 2010, 7:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Lynne,
AMU does offer Federal Student Aid as that is what I use to pay for my education as well. You can study for your degree and be fully funded through Financial Aid as a Graduate Student. Good luck.
April 13, 2010, 6:34 p.m.
0 votes/
Just checking out APU for their MA in CJ program.
Does APU qualify for Federal Financial Aid?
April 12, 2010, 7:09 p.m.
+2 votes/
Yvette,
I am in the Master's program in Military History and the classes are very challenging. They are not read back to you from a book and the professors do make you think and work hard on interpreting the subject material. You have to analyze the material and write many papers showing that you have a mastery of the material. I do not know about the MBA program, but my experiences in the Master's program at AMU has been everything I would expect from a B&M college. Overall, you cannot go wrong with a degree from AMU.
April 5, 2010, 1:22 p.m.
+1 vote/
Is anyone currently enrolled in the MBA program with a concentration in accounting?  If so, what are your thoughts of the program?  I am looking for a challenge where I will actually learn, not a class where I will receive good grades that I did not actually earn.  I have had that experience at another degree mill school and it was a waste of my time and money.  I have a degree, but the material was not explained or taught.  The professor basically sat there and read the book back to the class.  His answers to questions were vague.  Please tell me APU is not the same way.  Thanks
April 4, 2010, 7:02 p.m.
0 votes/
I have a B.S. and an M.S. in business administration from brick & mortors. I just completed my first class in the M.A., Political Science major at APU and this class was quite demanding. Demanding as any class from my brick & mortor M.S. I must have spent 20 hrs/week on the class and it was challenging and a great learning experience. APU is regionally accredited by the same accrediting group that accredits Harvard Univ. and it's standards for course work are quite high. If it's a "degree mill", I'm certainly not getting my times worth. APU is hardly that and it has a tremendous faculty. I've found the response rate from admin. and faculty staff to be very responsive and helpful also.
March 26, 2010, 9:33 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am considering enrolling at APU.  I just want to point out that this is DEFINITELY a FOR-PROFIT school.  Their #1 goal is to increase profits to satisfy their shareholders.  It is simply a business.  The CEO and Director of the company (I mean, school), Wallace Boston, made $1,229,940.00 in 2008. See the numbers for yourself at Forbes.com. Other employees of the company make enormous wads of cash too. Look up stock symbol APEI and take a look at the executives list.  Most of their salaries are reported.  Not too shabby for being in an economy that resembles the Great Depression!   Regardless, the school is regionally accredited and I need to finish my degree.  So I may have to go here because the price isn't too bad.  I only hope the courses are challenging and the instructors are good.
Feb. 2, 2010, 6:39 p.m.
0 votes/
Thinking about going anyone have any experience with the Bachelor program? I am excited but, want to be cautious.

Thanks
Jan. 29, 2010, 12:56 a.m.
0 votes/
I am considering transferring from University of Phoenix to APU.  I will be entering the BS in Psychology program.  I have had absolutely no problems with Phoenix, and have a 4.0.  It is just that their psych program does not follow the guidelines set by APA for undergraduate studies.  Also, all study material for classes is online only.  I wondered if anyone else had experience with the psych program at APU that they would share with me.
Nov. 5, 2009, 5:51 p.m.
0 votes/
Looking at the MS in Sports Management.  Anyone with actual information regarding this school?
Oct. 29, 2009, 1:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone heard anything about the International Relations MA program? I am 9 credits away from my BS and looking for a good program. I'm military, so AMU would probably be a flexible option.
Oct. 6, 2009, 5:43 a.m.
0 votes/
I am interested in the space studies program (BS) at APU  does anyone have feed back on this department.
 thanks online distance learning is the future 4 sure. and getting better
Oct. 5, 2009, 8:02 p.m.
0 votes/
I will say this - the professors I had (Dawkins, Pizzini, Lodge, Douglas)were OUTSTANDING. They were excellent. It is unfortunate the rest of this university does not meet this level of professionalism. If you can tolerate the inconsistent information, being transfered for 6+ hours (and I do mean 6 total in the same day, roughly 2 on an average day), lack-of-contact-until-the-last-minute from the financial aid / financial and student services departments, contact you will HAVE TO HAVE with the college, and can manage to get my instructors then you should be ok.
Oct. 5, 2009, 7:52 p.m.
-1 vote/
I recently dropped all courses with AMU (today, in fact) based on the experiences I have had with AMU's financial aid / financial services department. I contacted this school many times two weeks prior to my course starting to ensure everything was in place, my course schedule and the amount of aid I was to receive were good, if there was any action I needed to take, my books would ship on time, and no money was due. On each occasion, I was told I was good to go. This past Friday, all he** breaks loose, there are all sorts of problems with the award letter not getting to....wherever. This being my second semester, and having had the same problems in my first, I bolted. I hope to have a better experience with another college or university. I am sure the military wants to make sure I am utilizing TA in the best manner possible.
Aug. 28, 2009, 10 p.m.
0 votes/
I was thinking of transferring from AIU to APU online and how is their Leadership Degree program...anyone?
June 19, 2009, 9:58 p.m.
0 votes/
There is an optional  graduation program in may.
June 11, 2009, 8:33 p.m.
0 votes/
This is my first online school and I was wondering once you graduate and meet your requirements for your BS degree how do you walk or do you walk when receiving your degree?
May 27, 2009, 4:27 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am currently a student at APU and love it. I think the staff (Professors and advisers) is world class. I searched for an online degree program for over a year and was pleased with the prompt response of advisers and other staff. The accreditation is legit and they have a great reputation with other schools (UGA, University Of Cincinnati and others) that I am interested in attended for my MPA. I wasn't crazy about the transfer policy with credit from my J.C. but then again I was not a great student when I was 19. Great classes that can be challenging but Professor are great. I am paying out of pocket so I have not experienced financial aid. Regional Accreditation is Regional Accreditation period. My Mother works in admissions for Georgia Southern University and said they would accept my degree for APU, as would other Regionally Accredited school.
April 29, 2009, 11:04 p.m.
0 votes/
Can anyone tell me if they have gotten a degree in the aeropscace engineering bachelors program that they offer.  Were you able to get a job after and how did it prepare you?
April 5, 2009, 3:08 p.m.
0 votes/
Wow, I think that if PM had questions about having to use Sallie Mae then they should have called the school! The financial aid process at this school was one of the easiest I have had to go thru. Univ of Phoenix was A FINANCIAL AID NIGHTMARE...The financial aid reps at AMU were very helpful. I don't know why you thought you had to chose Sallie Mae, if you would have actually looked at the financial aid webiste, they had about 12 different lenders to choose from, only one of them was Sallie Mae. I asked one of their reps about their list of lenders and the reason they are on there is because you can sign an MPN with them online (yes, for the federal Stafford loans). They are an ONLINE SCHOOL, so it makes it easy for students all over the world to select a lender.  You know, most of the time when you get assistance like a state grant or state loans to attend school, it is an incentive put out there by your state to attend schools within that state (duh). My fiancee wanted to use a lender that was not on their list (Discover student loans). He called, they told him to send in a paper MPN and they set it up. Easy. Pick up a phone next time, the financial aid office number is posted on the website.
March 22, 2009, 5:01 p.m.
0 votes/
The review regarding the "CS" degree in web development is a great review and all of the university EXCEPT for the fact that it does not offer a Bachelors (or masters for that matter) in Computer Science. It DOES offer the following sort-of-not-really related degrees:

# Information Systems Security
# Information Technology
# Information Technology Management

I looked at the curriculum for all these degrees and they barely scratch the surface of a normal CS program. AT BEST, you might, at stretch, be able to call this a Computer Information Systems degree..maybe. But is not a a CS degree so I am not sure how you claim to be a candidate in a degree program that is non-existent. In addition, I chated with the University through its "Live Chat" feature and they confirmed they do not offer a BS in Computer Science...no pun intended.
Feb. 23, 2009, 2:30 a.m.
0 votes/
I am about half done with my MA in DIsaster Mgmt. I have only used an advisor once and had no problem. The faculty have been incredibly professional, helpful, and accomodating to my work schedule. The university is accredited and the academic program has been rigorous but managable.
Feb. 6, 2009, 3:15 a.m.
0 votes/
I actaally had a wonderful experience at American Military University. Though the advisors were not the best I had worked with while I attended AMU and other universities, the faculty was wonderful. They returned emails, calls -- even on weekends. That said, I think it will be a big mistake for APUS/AMU to insist on Sallie Mae while students may have access to Fed loans (Nwankama).
Jan. 23, 2009, 6:39 p.m.
0 votes/
As long as the institution is accredited, then your degree is legit and should be viewed that way from employers
Jan. 4, 2009, 6:49 p.m.
-1 vote/
I personally have had a great experience with APU.  I have been taking classes for over a year and have yet to run into any problems.  The professors I have dealt with have been professional and courteous.  My only concern is how a degree from a online university will be viewed by professionals in my chosen field.
Dec. 30, 2008, 3:38 p.m.
0 votes/
PM,

I have experienced the same problem with APU's advisors.  At the start I requested another one who would actually call me back and was knowledgable.  I have yet to get have that happen.
Dec. 30, 2008, 3:34 p.m.
0 votes/
Transferring to APU was the biggest mistake I made.  With less than 30 credits to graduation this institution has managed to mess up my graduation timeframe.

The staff, or lack of, are unprofessional, arrogant, rude and of no help at all.  I have yet to have anyone return a phone call, they prefer to email you back at their convenience, Whenever!!! I have attended other online schools that were just the opposite.  I would highly recommend anyone interested in online learning to look elsewhere.  There are quality institutions out there; APU is just not one of them.
Dec. 22, 2008, 9:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Confused. Is the Alaska Student Loan program Federal Financial Aid?  Looking at the site, it appears to be a state program that will also consolidate other student loans.  Most student loan companies will do that.  What other student aid were you getting?
Oct. 17, 2008, 3:07 a.m.
-1 vote/
Why would someone supposedly going to school at the University of Alaska be looking on this webpage about AMU/APU? Just curious is all.
How is APU/AMU looked at by employers or by schools when applying for a masters or PhD program?
Sept. 3, 2008, 12:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Let me tell you a little about the Alaska Student Loan program. Is is great. But it does not have anything to do with SM. The State of Alaska is your lender. We have money from oil revenues that helped to start the program. I feel very lucky to live in Alaska. It is the only program of its kind in the whole USA. So let me repeat, it does not go thru SM. I would run if it did. Go to ACPE Alaska to find out more before you tell PM it must be a personal problem. Sounds like you were a little offended. 
Dan at Univerisity of Alaska Fairbanks. It rocks!
Sept. 3, 2008, 12:17 a.m.
0 votes/
I too have had problems with their financial aid dept.
To the person who is attacking PM, grow up. That is why this forum is here. I am sure there are many students who had a wonderful experience with APU, but I was not one them. I transfered to Bellevue and I am having a great time.
Jan. 11, 2012, 3:23 p.m.
-1 vote/
Terribly  run & a rip off!
Sept. 3, 2008, 12:15 a.m.
-1 vote/
Why the peronal attack? I am just letting others know of the problems I have had with APU. You do not know me, jerk!
I have used financial aid before. This is not my 1st degree. I have never had a problem with financial aid before. I have a masters idiot what do you have??
Sept. 2, 2008, 1:13 p.m.
+1 vote/
Sounds like a personal problem - maybe you should research financial aid because it seems as if you don't understand how it works. Financial aid is processed through Sallie Mae but you can select any lender you wish.
Aug. 28, 2008, 11:42 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am had nothing but problems with their financial aid department. They turned down my federal aid because I would not sign a promissory note with Sallie Mae. Yet I got federal aid thru the State of Alaska and they turned that down. It is Sallie Mae or nothing I was told. I will not ever go with Sallie Mae. My advisor was useless and would not even answer my questions. I will finish the school year then I am out of there.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Public University in any way.