Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Public University

  • Ranking: #14
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: RA (NCA), DETC

4.0
582 Reviews
5 259 
4 212 
3 34 
2 40 
1 37 
0 0 

American Public University Reviews:

Absolutely no complaints

AA General Studies/History - October 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with AMU has always been very pleasant. The staff is incredibly helpful. The instructors are readily available and are willing to help in any way needed. I will be graduating soon and the advising staff described a clear picture for how the process of graduating and continuing my education works. I would highly recommend AMU to anyone! I have taken courses all over the place and AMU is the school I will stick with until I am done with my education.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Good balance

AA General Studies/History - February 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The highlight of this degree program is the versatility and balance between the subjects. You have a lot of choices that may suit many that are interested in different areas. This degree program is ideal for people that do not know what they would like to specialize in. This program allows the exploration of many areas of study. This approach to studies results in a clearer view of your strenghts and weaknesses, as well as what are your true life passions. Best wishes to all! Jose

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

SSG_US_ARMY

AA General Studies/History - January 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is a very military friendly school. I have completed 6 classes with them and from the beginning I noticed they were very user friendly. When on any kind of orders the instructors will work with you to ensure your assignments are graded, even if you turn them in late. All it takes is communication with the instructor and he/she will do all she can to help. Another helpful advantage they have are extensions; if you fall behind to the point you might not make end date, you may request a 30 day extension (some qualifying factors are taken into consideration). I have used an extension twice. AMU is here for the soldier, free books, TA covers costs… take advantage.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

AA General Studies

AA General Studies/History - November 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was my first experience in online learning. I am in the military and did have some doubt after reading some reviews and talking to some people. Once I decided AMU was the school I was going to attend, it was simply about communicating with the right people who have had experience in getting the paperwork side of things done. Understand that anything that has to depend on the government and their work ethic in helping us is going to be slow. In the end things ended being about patience and proper planning. The institution gives more than enough contact information to find the info you need and status updates. Here is the kicker.. it is your education, if you are not proactive in getting things rolling or following up, then don’t complain about delays or something not being done in a timely fashion. Instructors are going to vary in quality, which is why they send you the surveys, FILL THEM OUT! I like AMU so far and at this point I have already registered for another class with them. Military people, ASK FOR HELP, they pay those college office civilians for that reason… your command education officer should be there for you, and if they are not, don’t blast the school.. get off your butt and get into action. Done.. IM OUT!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Courses leading to an associate's degree in accounting

AA General Studies/History - July 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am pleasantly surprised, and happy, that I seem to be earning a good education both in my accounting and business classes, and in the general education courses I need to earn my associate's degree in accounting. My general courses, such as English 101, Foundations of Online Learning, Geography, International Relations, College Algebra, were demanding and difficult for me, but very rewarding. The instructors were truly outstanding! They were very good in their fields, communicative, and responsive to my questions and needs. Both of my teachers for my two accounting classes were excellent, supportive, and very knowledgeable and able in their fields. I had never taken accounting classes before, and I was really scraping for awhile to get a handle on the facts and processes of accounting. The teachers were instrumental in my overcoming the obstacles I faced. My microeconomics teacher, which class I just completed, was very competent and helpful as well. My Business 101 class was excellent as well. The general format for all my classes has been the same, pretty much. One can download the e-book to your computer so that you don't have to go the website each time for reading the chapters and doing the homework. But for the algebra homework, I did have to go to the website. The structure for the quizzes and the tests was pretty much identical for all the classes that had quizzes and tests. The entire format for attending classes and handing in the homework and tests is well designed and not difficult to learn how to navigate. One wish I have is that the school implement a format for live e-lectures by the instructors which us students can attend either in real time or afterwards. But, the instructors did give us links to videotaped lectures by other professors that we could click on and listen to, and learn from. So that is a very good option, but still, it would be nice if we could actually see our instructors from time to time, even if on a video tape.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Dedication

AA General Studies/History - May 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Where to start, AMU has been a really school to attend. The naysayers try and say its a mill.... then why isnit that the federal government touts them! I have atteneded Purdue, IU and sdsu... this schools level 300 and up work requires dedication.... seriously your not just gonna get an A without working yourtailoff .... the lower level classes are simply refreshers from ur glory days..l gain skills and knowledgel I'm about to grad from here and I am very happy, plus my buddy just graduated witha criminal justice degree from here and was accepted into LSU law school..ll so a little prrof that its legit and the accredidation is good! If u live in cali transfercourses are reallygood at ASU or CSU, SDSU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Convenient for Active Duty Military

AA General Studies/History - May 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is very convenient for active duty military personnel. Courses start monthly. All of the courses for general studies are 8 weeks long except for the science and math courses. This accelerated time courses apply to either overseas or stateside students. Instructors are very lenient when it comes to being TAD/TDY during the course because they will work with you as long as you provide them official orders. While being on active duty, it is best to use tuition assistance to complete an associate’s degree during the four years military contract. Of course, an associate’s degree in general studies is the easiest to complete. You can then transfer to a university with an associate’s degree as a junior using your Post 9/11 GI Bill when you get out. Also, keep in mind that some colleges or universities do not accept online courses or degrees.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU has been a great learning experience

AA General Studies/History - April 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU has been a great learning experience. I attended Central Texas College before AMU and would by far chose AMU. It is a great school from the classroom to the advisors. They are always willing to work with you and answer any questions you have in a timely manner. Professors that I have had in most classes will go to great length to help you understand something if you are having trouble.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

General Studies - Military Leadership; Do unto others...

AA General Studies/History - March 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So this is actually for all of you students that have ever had a bad experience with the school: My name is Mr. Winn and have been attending AMU for the past 6 years off and on. I attended Texas A&M Univ prior to my military career and have been taking courses with AMU for personal development and fun (and also using TA - tuition assistance, well I was at least). Some things to note in any aspect of school/careers: there will always be people in society that don't do their jobs well, that doesn't mean they are not trying. There will always be someone, if not many, that disagree with something you stand for or are trying to make a point with. That's the beauty of free speech and having a brain. This being said it is an individual duty to reach self goals. There may be people that try to slow you down, don't let it discourage you. There is always a solution to general questions and situations, and it is our responsibility as moral people to develop it. With many of you reading this at an early stage in your student life, do yourself a favor and set some long term goals. This is complicated sometimes, but doesn't have to be: 5 year, 10 year, and 20 year. Short and sweet. If there is ever anything I can do for my fellow students, or brothers in arms, please feel free to email me and let me help you. I have contacts at the school, in most of the 3 letter agencies, and around the globe. I will give you 100% of my resources to adapt and overcome any situation you are facing. allstarwinn at yahoo dot com Best of luck to all in all that you do. Also let me know if you ever need any air support! TAMU '04 Aggies AMU '?? Eagles

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

AA in History

AA General Studies/History - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had all good experiences in this school. I have completed nine classes so far. A couple of my teachers weren't as good as the others, but they have all been at least decent. I find the forums bolster good feelings between students,and I have always felt part of a class, and supported by my fellow students. This school is NOT a degree mill, to the foolish person who stated that. It is totally legitimate, and properly regionally credited. It is the American Military, for crying out loud.Hello. Some people will always be complainers, the rest of us like this school a lot. No complaints here. Why is it all the naysayers post anonymously??

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good School

AA General Studies/History - January 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took one course from APU to supplement my degrees from elsewhere. I enjoyed the course. I didn't enjoy all the online posting but I found the coursework to be as good as any from the public and private universities I previously attended. I think American Public University really tries to act like a public university with low cost and decent quality. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Decent Experience and a valuable option!

AA General Studies/History - September 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my General Studies AA at American Public University back in November of 2011 and I'm really glad that I choose this school. Ultimately my main reason for attending was to acquire and use my AA as a transfer vessel to a traditional 4 year college. Once it came time to move on, I was very pleased that all my credits that applied to my new program transferred. Both schools I applied to (FSU & Flagler College) actually accepted all classes from APU that could be applied to my new program. I had quite a few credit hours from 4 different colleges when I submitted my application to APU and about 90 percent of them transferred. This was way above my expectation. Overall the application and credit transfer process was very smooth. As a veteran, it really felt like APU expedited my G.I. Bill paperwork so that I always received my benefits on time. The classes were challenging enough and I felt that I was taking great information and experiences away from each. The instructors really seemed to care about educating their students and I didn't feel like they any of them were trying to funnel students to the next class. One other good point is that APU has a pretty nice electronic library. I am very satisfied with my decision to complete my General Studies AA at APU as it helped me take away everything I wanted from it.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Nothing but good things to say

AA General Studies/History - March 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've never had a problem at APU. Financial Aid went great, teachers were good, and administration was always timely with responses. The teachers are very understanding and flexible and I highly recommend this school for people with families, demanding jobs, etc. Great experience. I don't understand all the complaints. You want to complain about bad administration, go to UIC in chicago. THAT's bad administration.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Dept. is a JOKE

AA General Studies/History - March 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been going to American Public University for 3 semesters now, and every semester they have messed up student aid. To be specific, last semester the award was somehow lost in the system and delayed for almost 3 months. This semester it's pretty much the same story. The award for this semester was lost and later changed - all without my knowledge. When I called about it being late, I was told that it was cancelled - I was given no reason why. Will need to be re-awarded. All of this while I am in the seventh week of the program. Extremely unprofessional and I suspect this is the norm. Am now waiting for an explanation.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

APU Review

AA General Studies/History - March 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had no problems with anything at APU. The staff kept calling me. I am learning things. I don't understand why these people have written bad reviews. Everything they had problems with I did not. I will admit though that getting used to the online classroom was difficult at first but after some time I got the hang of it. Maybe some people are not geared to online learning, which is understandable. There are people who can teach themselves and there are people who would prefer someone to hold their hand.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Awful School

AA General Studies/History - January 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This "university" is truly awful. I've attended APUS for the past 1-1/2 years, and can say the only thing it has going for it is cost. APUS is $250 a credit hour, which I am paying for using financial aid. I agree with everyone's comments about their financial aid department - they haven't a clue what they're doing. I've had only one GOOD instructor, the rest were all over the map, but all bad in some way. Some instructors barely respond and don't grade your assignments for weeks, while others assign 10x more homework than others and are not at all helpful when you try getting feedback from them. This week I'm wrapping up my last two classes at APUS and transferring to Western Governor's. Not sure if it will be great, but I KNOW it will be better!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Humanities

AA General Studies/History - November 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Students do NOT have admissions requirements: no SATS, writing samples as are required by a traditional brick and mortar university. Just another degree mill, unfortunately. We sit in classrooms filled with morons who can't even write a decent sentence or read. A BIG waste of time, unless you want to work in a govt job. I now understand the irony of "military intelligence."

Was this review helpful?

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Nothing but problems

AA General Studies/History - August 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am had nothing but problems with their financial aid department. They turned down my federal aid because I would not sign a promissary note with Sallie Mae. Yet I got federal aid thru the State of Alaska and they turned that down. It is Sallie Mae or nothing I was told. I will not ever go with Salli Mae. My advisor was useless and would not even answer my questions. I will finish the school year then I am out of there.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Public University in any way.