Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Public University

  • Ranking: #14
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: RA (NCA), DETC

4.0
582 Reviews
5 259 
4 212 
3 34 
2 40 
1 37 
0 0 

American Public University Reviews:

I loved American Public University

Masters of Arts History - April 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved studying at American Public University the teachers were great they helped me with the work, understanding the subject as well as when my work was due and what books could help me on my research paper. I recommend this school to anyone including single mothers who work this school allowed me to do the work on my own time.

Was this review helpful?

Great School!

Masters of Arts History - November 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was looking for a college to get my Master's in History from and through word of mouth from a friend found this school. It has been everything that I hoped for. The classes are rigorous and it's not just a diploma mill. All of my instructors to date have been very knowledgeable and very helpful. I have had to contact several departments within APUS and everyone I have encountered has been professional and helpful. I have 3 A's and a C. The C only because I hated the course and had no interest in it whatsoever but it was a requirement for my degree. So I only did enough to get a C in it. The books needed for a few of the classes have been very expensive and this next class I am taking requires 4 different books on one topic, which I do not understand. But overall I love APUS. I think that its a great school and worth my money.

Was this review helpful?

I really love this school

Masters of Arts History - June 3, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

American Public University System (APUS), this includes APU and AMU, is great for working adults. The classes are first rate. The professors that I have had have been excellent. I will admit to have BSed my way through undergraduate classes but I have not been able to do that in the graduate classes. Since this is my only experience with a graduate program I can't compare it to any other. I cannot imagine any other school being more challenging. I have co-workers that are taking undergraduate courses at APUS and they report that the classes are challenging there also. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who needs an online environment. As a working parent the online environment worked beautifully for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MA in Military History

Masters of Arts History - May 27, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Recently completed a Masters in Military History, Civil War concentration. AMU is a great school and a great place to learn. I have to agree with the other reviews that learning in the on-line environment requires self discipline as well as a true desire to learn. Great instructors at AMU. I had a positive experience with AMU and would highly recommend the school to anyone seeking a degree in History. On-line classes were the only way for me to be able to attend class as I work full-time and have two kids at home. The flexibility which taking on-line classes gives the student is great.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good education at a great value

Masters of Arts History - January 12, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my Master's Degree in History, with a concentration in American History, and an added Graduate Certificate in Civil War Studies. The convenience of being able to "attend" classes while travelling frequently for work was fantastic. An on-line education is not for everyone. If you are the type of person who needs constant feedback and constant direction then on-line education is not for you, as it takes a committed, self disciplined, and self motivated person for on-line education to be truly successful and effective. I had several good instructors, many great instructors, and several truly outstanding instructors. All of them were willing to work with me during the occasional challenges that life presented during my five years of part time studies. A comparable Master's at a traditional brick and mortar school would have been much more expensive and would not have offered the flexibility to continue my studies while traveling for business or to attend after moving from Maryland to Hawai'i following my retirement. All that most employers care about regarding a degree is that it is from a regionally accredited school and that the school's accreditation is recognized by the U. S. Department of Education. American Public University fits both of those criteria. I am seriously considering going for an additional Graduate Certificate in World War II Studies at APU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

End of Course Review

Masters of Arts History - January 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Every class was packed with information and had highly qualified teachers. Requirements were unified between classes and met amazing fellow students, it was always sad to say goodbye at the end.

Was this review helpful?

Outstanding Online Educational Experience

Masters of Arts History - December 27, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is difficult to find a fully accredited online M.A. program in History -- especially one that is affordable and works with you to pace your studies. Like all online experiences, you must be mature enough to bring the self-discipline and to navigate the occasional sense of isolation that remote studies can sometimes inflict, but in every way APU makes all the rest accessible and supportive. In the course of obtaining my MA in Public History from APU, I had a truly outstanding experience much of the time. I would highly recommend this institution!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Well worth it!!!

Masters of Arts History - December 17, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I saw some of the reviews that were negative or that there wasn't much learning going on. Students must remember that YOU decided what effort YOU will put into your learning. Whether you are in a class or online you can skim through the material or engulf yourself in it and ask the professor many questions. I found all aspects of the program to be exceptional. I worked with professors and received quick responses, the counseling department, a librarian and all were more than helpful. I would highly recommend this program, the benefit of online learning is you can fit it into your schedule avoiding the time of driving and attending classes. I took 2 classes at a time throughout the program and a now in the final thesis class....it has been quite a journey and a benefit to communicate with fellow students from all over the United States, and some stationed outside of the United States. Thank you APUS for a great experience and education.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Military History

Masters of Arts History - December 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall my program in American Military History has been outstanding. All of the professors were well versed in their respective fields (some of whom are published and well known). I prefer the distance learning format since I am partially disabled and can do all the course work from home. As such, there is more time for research and study instead of fighting traffic and parking. As others have noted, if you need to be in a classroom this school may not be the best fit. If you are self-disciplined with good time management skills, I highly recommend either AMU or APU. My only word of caution is to take 16-week classes instead of 8-week ones when possible(16-week classes are less stressful).

Was this review helpful?

Masters of Arts in American History

Masters of Arts History - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began the Master of Arts in History program in the Spring of 2008 and finished my degree in August 2014. Overall it was an outstanding program. All my instructors were excellent and two were outstanding. The program was flexible and the costs were very reasonable. I received an outstanding education and would recommend this program to anybody who is serious about studying history.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Course Content

Masters of Arts History - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In American Public University, you will find academic programs that are of the highest quality. The instructors are Ph.D. prepared from the finest academic centers worldwide. The courses are challenging, the classroom is easy to interface with and students are completely connected. The course expectations are on par with similar non-online institutions. The value is exceptional.

Was this review helpful?

Best Choice For My Career!

Masters of Arts History - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After a BA in Business , an MBA and M.Ed at brick and mortar schools, I decided to research on,ine graduate programs in American history to augment my content knowledge . I have been teaching 8th grade U.S. History since the fall of 2011. I graduated with an MA in History (with honors) in February 2012. I never imagined that an online program would be so challenging or would have professors from prestigious brick and mortar schools. I studied relevant historians as well as a great amount of primary source documents. My classmates hailed from across the U.S. Many of my former classmates and I are still in contact with each other . The online library resources were very helpful and I could access full books and peer reviewed articles from home . As I attend many Humantities Texas and Gilder Lehrmann professional development conferences, I often have had the opportunity to meet the contemporary scholars I studied in my graduate courses at APU. As I converse with other academically trained historians from brick and mortar schools, I often find that I can hold my own in almost any discussion based on my course work at APU. The professors were always very accessible and the classmate interaction was very helpful and engaging. I took the comprehensive exam option. As such, I took the prep course. I did everything the professor told me to do . I passed with distinction . The comp exam was the most challenging thing I have ever done in my academic pursuits. I now teach the Constitution at a brick and mortar university. My love for our founding documents was stoked by my APU professors. I used to find the Constitution boring until I started with APU. Now I find myself buried in research on the founding documents. I wrote so many papers that my "a" and "e" keys were worn out on my MacBook. I would recommend this program to any serious student of history.

Was this review helpful?

APU overall

Masters of Arts History - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended APU and earned my degree in Global History (Masters). It took 2 and 1/2 years to complete. I felt the course work was appropriate. It kept me busy on many weekends writing papers. Instructors were probably as good as an online university could get. Their BIOs and resumes were overall impressive. I had no problems with my VA financial aid, Never. The value was excellent. Attending a brick and mortar school might be better, but for working adults like me an online university is great. Just because my degree doesn't say UNC or Duke or Penn State or something like that does not de-value it. I worked hard for my degree and the graduation ceremony put on by the university at a resort was impressive. I was proud to graduate from here. Many of the best universities in America now offer online learning (the way of the future, I think). I did not get my degree for employment purposes. I got it to say I care about learning even at an older age(55 when I graduated), and to set an example for my children who were in college. I actually wanted to get my Masters in History from Norwich University or UNC (however the cost was ridiculous). This school gave me an incentive to go here and it was convenient also (online). Overall I am happy with this university and cherish my degree which proudly hangs on my home office wall. Thanks, Mike.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MA History - Civil War Studies

Masters of Arts History - November 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my first MA History (American) degree with AMU in May 2013 and was so impressed by what I had learned, that I decided to immediately get a second degree in Civil War studies. Living in Virginia allows me to really develop my passion of Civil War history and learn first hand what I was studying. The information that I had gleaned from my studies allowed me to take advantage of several volunteer opportunities that I would not have otherwise received. This specific degree and my thesis also has lead to my current project of a new Civil War related book that will be out by April 2015. The one professor that was a constant for my Civil War classes throughout both degrees is a tremendous blessing to those who want to learn about this specific subject. Others that have also taught one or two courses were also very knowledgeable. I would heartily recommend a degree in Civil War Studies for anyone who wishes to expand their knowledge about this subject.

Was this review helpful?

Civil War Studies

Masters of Arts History - October 29, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The AMU Masters of Military History Program was an afterthought. Having completed 18 hours (6 courses) in the Civil War Studies Certification Program, I made the decision to keep going. Why? Even though I have a BA in History and a Master of Divinity, I discovered that I really enjoy learning . . . and writing . . . and discussing history with others, many of whom are separated from me by thousands of miles and decades in life experience. I believe the Civil War to be the most important single historical event in our nation's history. Not only were the four years of conflict significant in shaping our identity, but also those events that lead to civil war and those struggles that followed for decades afterward. All of this I've learned in the courses I've taken at AMU. The format is both fun and challenging for someone approaching 70 years. The instructor's feedback is generally positive and helpful. The discussions with classmates can be stimulating. Granted, as others have mentioned, you get from these courses what you put into them . . . and I've put in a great deal of time and thought. History, as I have discovered, is a collection of many stories, some of them factual but none of them complete. Learning how to find these stories and to evaluate their truth is the real challenge that history presents. It is this knowledge that separates "historians" from those who simply read books. That's what I hope to learn in the 18 hours of classes that remain for me to finish my Masters in Military History. And, I look forward to doing it. - Dick Sammer

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experience in European History

Masters of Arts History - July 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have recently completed my Master's Degree in European History at American Public University. I had a challenging but enjoyable experience. On the whole the professors were very professional and available for guidance and feedback. There is something to be said about anyone who has the self-discipline need to pursue a Master's degree online, full-time while working a full-time job. I would highly recommend this institution to anyone wishing to better themselves while not interrupting their established lives.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Masters of Arts-American History at AMU

Masters of Arts History - May 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MA in American History with a conferral date of May 15, 2014. I found the experience of online learning to be more challenging than the brick and mortar schools. For example, there was much writing of abstracts, literature reviews, a 15-25 research paper with bibliography, essays, forums to provide interaction with students and professors, as well as many research links to read and address in every class. In other words, I was more actively engaged in the classroom via online than I was when I attended other in-resident schools. There was no 300 student auditoriums, two-hour waits for a 15 minute discussion with an advisor, and no graduate teaching assistants who could not answer questions. I found the professors with a few exceptions to be actively engaged in their students and lesson plans even though many were also teaching at other colleges. I believe AMU has an excellent program which provided me with a degree I am confident will stand up against any other college.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experiences

Masters of Arts History - May 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently at 21 credits toward a masters degree in European History and can unequivocally state that the experience has been very positive. The courses are challenging, the instructors are very knowledgeable and always willing to assist the student in achieving success. I am 50 years old and am not a tech junkie, so at first there were challenges with the on-line library and some of the financial aid forms etc.; however, I had exceptional assistance from instructors and staff whenever it was requested.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Masters of Arts, History (Public History)

Masters of Arts History - May 2, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Online courses are not for everyone but AMU/APU's Masters in Public History was excellent. It's required introductory courses and its public history core courses provide just as must as a brick and mortar school could do. Access to a real university library and the quality of instruction were also very good. The technology was great but required some training to get used to. I was concerned about getting an internship but did so without a problem and the director of the museum knew the University and had had other students from the university working for them and was quite happy to hire another AMU/APU student. This, even more than my own evaluation, is testimony to the quality of the education received.

Was this review helpful?

Good Experience

Masters of Arts History - April 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a good experience earning my MA in History. I was happy with the instructors and the feedback they gave me. The were knowledgeable in the field and thorough in feedback and instruction. I felt like the books we used were excellent resources and have continued to read them even though I have completed my studies. They changed/updated technology part way through which was mostly just annoying. Overall I was very happy with my experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional Learning Platform

Masters of Arts History - February 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having earned a MA in Public Policy at another institution, I was a bit concerned with the level of education that APUS could provide. After having completed my first few courses, I am highly encouraged by the coursework and the professors. All of my professors, to date, genuinely seem to care about my learning experience and success. It is certainly not a "free ride" as the coursework requires much effort from the student and forces the student to take his or her learning experience to new and higher levels. I would place the education that I have received here at APUS on the same, if not higher, level to any I have received at traditional universities.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Effective boiler plate education depends on learner

Masters of Arts History - December 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

APUS (AMU)offers easy acceptance, easy registration and cheap boiler plate education. Content materials are sadly out of date and while the instructor was highly credentialed the instructor was totally disengaged from class. To reflect what others have said here - this is cheap boiler plate education where the learner makes of it what they will. Probably the worst aspect of the class for me that would be the easiest to improve was the lack of meaningful discussion. With all assignments due midnight Sunday and few students if any posting before Saturday evening meaningful discussion is almost entirely absent from class. That was the most disappointing aspect of the experience. Learning via the exchange of ideas is great, but you will not get that here. It is possible to learn despite the difficulties however and it is cheap.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Awesome!

Masters of Arts History - December 30, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've taken three courses so far and I will agree with what many are saying, you get what you put into it. As a motivated student, I can say that the experience so far has been amazing. The professors have been topnotch and their credentials are superior, to say the least. The coursework has been interesting for me and absolutely appropriate. Whenever I have had a question, the professor has gotten back to me the same day. All in all an outstanding program for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

APU is the right choice!

Masters of Arts History - November 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

APU is a great for working professionals. The course work is challenging but professors work very well with to get the most out if the classes. I wish I had started apu sooner.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Do It!

Masters of Arts History - October 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are thinking of going back to school, but think you don't have the time, money, etc, just DO IT! When you do, APU is the way to go. I am a full-time high school teacher that was worried about my time and budget, but APU fit perfectly. It is completely accredited, fully supportive, and all-around exceptional. The cost of classes was significantly cheaper than any other universities I was able to find and being completely on-line, I did not have to deal with driving to and from a campus. If you are looking to go back to school, but are past the traditional campus style and want to save time and money, this is the way to go. I cannot recommend APU enough.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU MA History

Masters of Arts History - August 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU classes can be challenging, and expectations can be high. Some instructors are easier to work with than others but overall the quality of the teaching staff is very high. They all teach at B&M schools and are experts with extensive subject knowledge. This is by no means an easier route to post graduate qualification, neither is the quality any less than at a traditional B&M school. I am half way through my masters and will value it highly when it is complete.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

very happy with my education

Masters of Arts History - July 29, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my BA in history from APUS after a long break from college. They were very easy to work with and the financial aid process went very smoothly. I was able to transfer almost all of my credits from my previous school. I chose APUS because they had a history program when no other on-line school did. I was pleasantly surprised and could not have been happier with the whole process. I am now almost finished with my MA in ancient history, and would highly recommend this school to anyone looking to extend their education for any reason.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Masters of Arts in Military History

Masters of Arts History - May 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Professors all held PhDs and instructed at Brick and Mortar universities also. The courses were well designed with good interaction and through the writing of numerous papers and the sharing of ideas with students gained new insights.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Online Choice

Masters of Arts History - February 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about attending an online Masters program, but APU has vanquished those fears. The independent learning module so prevalent in the MA History courses allows me to, in a sense, create my own course of study. As a full-time student holding a full-time job while still attempting to have a family life, I was worried I would have to drop to part-time status, but the flexibility of online has allowed me to still "have it all." I have been challenged in my courses, but the support provided by the staff and faculty has been quite encouraging. I am two-thirds through my program, and have enjoyed every moment of it.

Was this review helpful?

A.P.U is for You!

Masters of Arts History - February 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I highly recommend APU. I am working on my MA in History, however with one full-time and one part-time job regular graduate school was not an option for me. Through APU, I am receiving a quality education that fits in my hectic schedule. Time management is the key to APU, though the deadlines are spaced out and you are given time to complete the course work students must take inititative. The APU community is also very helpful through the campus lounge and forum. The classes are as rigorous as graduate level classes should be, and the instructors are very helpful.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good for my situation

Masters of Arts History - February 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose to attend an online university, because my location, odd work hours and frequent work related travel made attending a traditional school nearly impossible. I chose AMU, because they had a lot more history programs available and a better reputation than most large online schools. I like the classes that I have taken, but I will say they are what you make of them. If you do all your assigned readings and engage your instructors in discussions, you can become a subject matter expert. Some people do skate by doing the bare minimum and learn very little. Sadly those who do the bare minimum seem to be giving the rest of us a bad reputation. I hope my Graduate Degree from AMU will be taken seriously, but I won't know until I enter the job market with it.

Was this review helpful?

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Masters of Arts History - January 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I highly recommend APU. I really wanted to obtain a MA in History, but with a full-time job and four children, attending a brick and mortar school was not an option for me. Through APU, I am receiving a quality education that fits in my hectoc schedule. The classes are as rigorous as graduate level classes should be, and the instructors are very helpful. I have never had a problem with the Financial Aid department. I am two classes away from graduation, and am so glad I chose APU!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

As a Veteran, this was excellent

Masters of Arts History - January 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Most of the instructors are brilliant; most are very engaged with the courses they teach. Only one course used a text that was, IMHO, inadequate (Kitto's The Greeks is way out of date!), and the course in Rome had a recommended book that turned out to be disappointing -- the required text was so much better! All but one instructor posted grades in a timely manner. All provided detailed feedback.

Was this review helpful?

Great Experience

Masters of Arts History - January 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MA in History in Spring 2012. Throughout the entire process I encountered very few problems. Sometimes the school website would crash, and it usually happened on the weekend because that is when assignments are due. If you do your work ahead of time, there should be no problems. The school accepted several of my credits from law school and saved me a bunch of money. I encountered a few times where I could not reach my professors through email in a timely manner. I had other professors who provided several methods of contact and were easily reachable. I had a medical issue during one semester and all of my professors were understanding and helpful. I found the content of the courses to be challenging and imformative. I'm considering pursuing an MBA with APU very soon.

Was this review helpful?

High Quality Education, Low Quality Financial Aid Dept.

Masters of Arts History - December 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The American Public University System has its strength in its diversity of students and professors. Students are located all over the United States and many other nations and the instructors hold very impressive credentials. I was very pleased with the quality of the education. On the down side their Financial Aid Dept. was unbelievably disorganized and difficult to work with. However, they did seem to improve over the course of my education there, but there were times when I came very close to quitting because aid was often extremely late - sometimes 7 to 10 weeks into a 16 week semester. No doubt that this affected my final grade as much less time was devoted to study, having to earn extra money to keep things together.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience Thus Far

Masters of Arts History - September 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, I have had a experience pursuing my grad degree with APUS. Experiences vary by class and professor, just like any other university, but I feel a very strong sense of loyalty to the school and the program based on my overall participation and I am about halfway through to my Master's in History.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

MA in Ancient History

Masters of Arts History - July 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This university has top-notch experts in the field, and they require lots of reading and writing. A history student at the MA level should be required to take all subsequent oaths in life on the Turabian manual, as that becomes the student's best friend. Financial aid has been ok, but they do need to have a bit better support when problems arise. Also, a student is on his own... he better find his OWN impetus for the classes, because there is little contact with the school from the administration. The professors make it one of the best values for the money, but the credit hour is expensive. The student body is diverse and also very professional, making the MA degree that much harder and better. If one shoots for the honors societies, it makes the experience that much more rewarding as well...

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Dept is HORRIBLE!!!

Masters of Arts History - November 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The APU Financial Aid Dept is a joke. I had a refund check that they say they sent to me and it had been cashed. I never received any refund check and I've been fighting with them for three weeks trying to get a copy of the check and so has the Sheriff's Dept so they can conduct an investigation into who cashed this check. Everytime I call or email them, I get the same old answer "we emailed the copy to you with the check copy attached." What a JOKE!! I can't seem to get any answers no matter who I contact. I wouldn't recommend anyone to enroll in this college. This has been the worst experience in my life with dealing with the financial aid dept.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Stay Far Away!!!!

Masters of Arts History - November 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay far away from this "university." Financial aid department lacks caring, talent, and the ability to figure out small problems without sending you to several different people (who also know nothing). I was to obtain a second graduate degree, and they abruptly stopped me after my first semester. No, I am not a bad student: 3.85 undergrad; 3.79 post-grad work; 3.95 in APU. Why did they take me out? I dropped several classes four years ago, in lieu of a better program that I thought would bring me gainful employment faster than the APU program (it didn't...thanks to the economy). I used no financial aid at the time to take classes at APU (four years ago, now I need it). Guess what? Academic warning, and they allowed me to begin my program with the assurances that my loans were all safe and done for the entire year. Sallie Mae told me my loans were sent to the school already for the entire year.... Where is the money? Obviously not in my pocket. I am out 100 dollars for books since I was notifed of this three days before my second semester was to begin on 1 November 2010. Stay away from the for-profit universities. No, it wasn't the professors, in my case they were great....it's the adminstration and the fact that APU is now being investigated for financial aid fraud. Look for an article in PR Insider called "American Public Education, Inc. Former Employee Investigation" dated October 27, 2010. Investigation on behalf of former employees of American Public Education, Inc. (NASDAQ:APEI), American Military University or American Public University concerning potential ERISA breach of fiduciary duty –

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Department is horrible!

Masters of Arts History - November 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Financial Aid Department is pathetic and do not know what they are doing. The answers to questions are numerous, different, and ridiculous (Sallie Mae is quite upset with them, as I heard on the phone from a few higher-up agents). Advising is completely clueless and unhelpful. Apparently, "violations of Title IV" allow the university to take the student aid money (for the interest I'm sure) while they make the decision to allow you to stay in the university. No, I'm not talking about failing; how about simple withdrawals and drops when one wasn't using financial aid at the time? Yes, what you do years ago will affect you with this "university." Luckily, I already obtained my Master's somewhere else and I just wanted to add to my employment opportunities. I'm about to sue this school for their illegal financial aid practices and false statements. Run far away.....all the for-profit schools are expensive, but at least they have knowledgeable agents for financial aid. Save yourself the stress....look past this school...

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Loved APU

Masters of Arts History - June 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very fond of APU. Throughout my courses, I had some classes that were challenging and some that were not. Just like any other university. I am very happy with the education I received at APU. Most of the professors were very pleasant and answered my questions quickly. It was obvious that the books selected for the courses were chosen not only because they were the best for that course of study, but also to keep the costs down for the students.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Public University in any way.