Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Public University

  • Ranking: #14
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: RA (NCA), DETC

4.0
582 Reviews
5 259 
4 212 
3 34 
2 40 
1 37 
0 0 

American Public University Reviews:

Exceptional University

Master of Arts in Political Science - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my Masters of Political Science at American Public University November of 2014. I found the school to be top notch. The instructors were responsive and involved and the learning material was appropriate and very interesting. The student discussions in weekly forum posts were engaged and enlightening. It was refreshing to be able to get the different viewpoints from the other students. I had to take a test to finish my degree, I think they have quit doing the test and do the project completion now. I found this university to be excellent. I didn't have any problems with it. The work was challenging and very interesting. I didn't have any problems with financial aid distribution and staff was receptive to questions. Overall, I recommend this university to anyone who wants a quality education with affordable tuition. I give American Public University an A+.

Was this review helpful?

This is the college you are looking for.

Master of Arts in Political Science - September 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is an amazing school!!! I have taken on-line classes before but never at such a professional, student-oriented college. If you are looking for credentialed professors that promote curiosity and give timely, insightful feedback, this is the college. The professors are people who work in the field they teach. They are NOT the old-school academics who never leave campus. These people are applying the theory and are employed in many different occupations around the world. If you get the opportunity, take courses from Dr. Dersan.

Was this review helpful?

Great affordable school!

Master of Arts in Political Science - January 1, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am starting my last program requirement for my M.A. so very confident when I say it has been a great experience! The professors have diverse backgrounds, which helps to keep the classes interesting. The coursework is challenging, but online classes have been a lifesaver with my busy schedule. Very affordable military friendly school.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent School

Master of Arts in Political Science - April 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed nine classes and have found this school to be just what I was looking for in an online school. You must apply yourself and do your research. If you do that you will get good grades and learn. Most of the instructors go out of their way to assist if you ask for help. You cannot post on forums without supported opinions or post less than required word count and expect good grades. Being able to follow instructions is a must.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Very pleased

Master of Arts in Political Science - March 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just begun working on my MA degree at APUS. The rigor is great and the professors are extremely good. This program is must better that the first MA degree that I earned in History at a traditional sticks and bricks state university. I am very impressed.

Was this review helpful?

75% Completed so far - M.A. in Political Science

Master of Arts in Political Science - January 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed 75% of the Masters of Arts in Political Science with a Public Policy concentration at APUS. The assignments have been challenging and have required in-depth research and hours of effort per week. On average (higher for weeks with research papers), I spend four to five hours reading/researching and four to five hours writing papers/essays/posts per week. Most of the professors engage in the weekly Forum discussions by asking additional questions from students discussing the topic and the best professors re-direct the discussion and provide additional reading/research material for further discussion. Yes, I had one professor that did not participate in the Forum and that was unfortunate (I notified APUS of the situation), but that has occurred only once in eight classes (I recall similar issues at my brick and mortar undergraduate university). APUS has room for improvement in two particular areas. First, professors must get stricter at enforcing the citation rules, particularly in the Forum discussions. I have seen too many posts not up to APA standards and I wished the Professor would have commented on it for everyone to see and learn from. Second, professors must get stricter at enforcing proper sentence, paragraph and paper writing. I don’t mean spelling errors – I mean writing at a professional level. It appears most professors value content over writing standards, but I personally could have benefited from having a paper sent back to me with markups for bad writing and points taken off for it. APUS’s reputation and students would greatly benefit from these two improvements. Overall, the school provides great value and the degrees are regionally accredited – so this is the real deal. However, there is room for the institution to take it to the next level.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

No regrets here.

Master of Arts in Political Science - November 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am just a few classes from completing my Master's in Transportation & Logistics Management. I have absolutely no regrets in choosing this school. A little bit of background. I received my BA from a "brick & mortar" school. APU was the first time I ever tried online classes. Before choosing them I seriously considered going to the University of Phoenix to receive my Masters in Business. However,after a lot of thought I decided to narrow down my degree and save some money. APU just seemed to fit me better as I pursued a new career. To be honest, at first I wasn't sure I was going to make it. Online classes requires a lot of discipline. I realized without this there was no way I would ever complete it. I also realized that a lot of negative complaints, with most online schools, is due to this. Student who do not have this discipline will fail, and probably blame the school for it. Online classes are not for everyone. They require a lot of reading and writing. I seriously didn't read and write this much when I was attending an actual school. Their are required assignments due each week, and if you fall behind you'll pay for it. As far as accreditation goes and how this looks to employers, I can tell you this. I have already been on two interviews with a major transportation company on the East Coast. The only way I was able to be considered for this job is because of this school. Believe me, my previous experience and degree have nothing to do with my new major. Hope this helps anyone who is deciding on this school. If you have any questions, just ask me.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Great degree!

Master of Arts in Political Science - September 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was able to complete my political science degree in just over a year. The professors were very professional and helpful; most had had real-world experience as well as concern and care for the students. I can truthfully say that a few became friends of mine, with whom I remain in contact. The degree included some interesting sidelines like UN certification in peacekeeping operations, and I was able to take a good slate of classes in the field of economics in addition to the political science/international relations courses required for the degree. Doing online education of this sort requires a person to be a self-starter, but for those who have the drive, this is a great place.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Public University in any way.