Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

California Coast University

  • California Coast University Reviews

    Ranking: #15
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: DETC

4.0
63 Reviews
5 30 
4 19 
3 7 
2 2 
1 5 
0 0 

California Coast University Reviews:

Great business program

MBA - March 8, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great business program and a reputable school. I recommend it to anyone. However, I would stay away from the Psychology dept and Education. They don't qualify you for the state licenses.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great School

MBA - December 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from CCU in 2011 with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology. My experience with this university was very positive. All their courses were very challenging. After I graduated, I decided to continue my studies and I started looking into some RA schools. All of the RA online schools that I looked into accepted my degree from CCU.I just had to choose which one I wanted to attend. After a lot of thought, I decided to enroll again into CCU. It works perfect for me. I start my MBA in Human Resource Management in January and I am very excited. I am very confident that I made the right choice. As a graduate from CCU and now a student again, I highly recommend this school to anyone that wishes to obtain an accredited and legit degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

My CCU Experience was gratifying

MBA - September 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a Phoenix and I am a CCU graduate with an MBA in Healthcare Management. As a full time working adult with a family and home to maintain, CCU was a carefully researched and thought out decision for me. I completed my BS from the University of Phoenix and contemplated returning for my MBA until I discovered this "gem" called California Coast University in Santa Ana California. The entire matriculation process was seamless and handled with courtesy and respect from the registrar to the CCU Alumni lending library. I concur with those posts that independent study is challenging and the most rewarding experience I've had to date. I used Chapter 33 VA GI Bill benefits to attain my BS, MBA, and most of my MA in Organizational Leadership from CCU. The bottom line is that you get the most bang for the buck from CCU. My wife is completing her BS early next year as well, and I have recommended CCU to people at the office who will be students in the near future! Thanks again, CCU for making education attainable and affordable for working adults.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

California Coast delivers

MBA - December 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MBA in 1999. I worked very hard and the grading was very tough but fair. I was challenged by the comments given to me by the raters. All colleges, whether regional or national are really no better than the other. What truly makes the difference is the couse content and the student's efforts. If the materials, texts, and syllabi are sound, so is the educational experience. The resulting outcomes measured from the combination of this measurement is what truly signifies if any college has done a service or not. In my humble opinion, California Coast Delivered. It isn't a cake walk and believe me, there are plenty of regionally a credited universities that are allot less comprehensive. In summary, this institution has earned it's right to confer degrees and I was a controller for a world wide company and ran the US financial operations. When it came time to interview candidates, only your ability and experience was all that mattered.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

If you are bith self diciplined and motivated, this is a great program at a low cost.

MBA - October 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a graduate of California Coast University's MBA program, I can contest that it was a very positive and rewarding experience to continue my education with CCU and I have only found it to be a positive experience. From correspondence with faculty, coursework curriculum and use of the various resources provided to me, I personally received a quality education that not only met my needs but exceeded my expectations. For anyone choosing to consider continuing their education through a online University format, one must have a desire to succeed, be self motivated and well disciplined in order to not only complete your program of study, but also to get the most benefits from the coursework and curriculum. I would strongly recommend to consider California Coast University.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

MA IN ORGANIZATIONAL LEADERSHIP

MBA - September 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a wonderful program that I am glad I enrolled in. I received my Bachelors from another DETC college (Ashworth College) and I have found that DETC degrees are just as credible as the any regional college. My experience with California Coast has been great, I am getting ready for my thesis now and I would like to say THANK YOU CALIFORNIA COAST UNIVERSITY.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Excellent MBA Program!

MBA - August 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Finished the MBA program back in 2009 and I have to tell you that it was challenging & taught me plenty despite the self-learning approach. It's really how much time & effort you put into the program that truly determines your success & value of the program given the self-paced & self-learning approach. For those who can handle distance learning, their programs are well-designed and in the end helped me land a decent job afterwards!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

An MBA Is What You Make It

MBA - May 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As with all education, what you get out of any graduate program is what you put into it. CCU gives you incredible flexibility to work on the program in your own time without the pressure of deadlines. This has been perfect for my professional career. I have tried other programs that were too rigid and made it difficult to stay on track if something came up. I put a lot of work and effort into this degree and have been proud to have it on my resume.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Pretty good

MBA - December 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pretty good program. You get out of it what you put in to it. The design forces you to do some research and learn it that way. The credits seem to be transferrable to many RA colleges.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great School and Program!

MBA - November 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just began the MBA program and so far the experience has been great. I have never had to wait more than a few hours for answers to emailed questions; test grades have been done in a day or 2 at the most and everyone at the school is extremely responsive. The coursework is thorough - you have to read the entire book and write 4 essays for each course. I've learned a lot so far and because it is self-paced, I will earn my MBA in under a year! Great program - I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great for Working Adults

MBA - April 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have already attained my MS in Clinical Psy. from CCU and am starting my MBA/Human Resource Management. I have had no bad experiences with the university, and I have learned a lot. With any degree you get what you put into it. I graduated with my BS as a 22 year old baseball playing party boy. I have joined the military and have used my government benefits to attain these two graduate degrees. They are recognized by the Department of Education and will increase my salaried compensation ten fold. If you are a working adult that wants to attain higher education, get to CCU. Great school!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Excellent School for the Professional

MBA - November 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended both traditional and distance learning universities over the years. California Coast rates very high in their content and methods over many of the so called top universities and definitely better than any community college I attended. I agree other on here that say you get what you put into it. This is true with all schools. Dollar for dollar I would gladly match my M.B.A. degree from California Coast against anyones. I trained professionals with degrees from the regionally accredited UC and Cal State systems who didn't learn half what I learned at California Coast. California Coast University is an undiscovered gem with quality programs for the working professional. The materials were well-designed by professional educators with the right stuff. Although they have DETC accreditation, California Coast should apply for regional accreditation as I am sure they would obtain it easily.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MS - Psychology

MBA - September 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Customer Service is lacking and their policies are ridiculous. Definitely not worth the money for a non RA degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

A++++

MBA - June 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CCU has great student support, great customer service, and represented a great value. My degree is accredited and my credits were easy to transfer. But most importantly, I learned a lot! This degree has made me a more effective professional.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not a good education

MBA - June 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The testing at this school is a joke. The tests are all open book and untimed. They are straight out of the unit guide so you can look it up & write it down no problem. You don't really learn anything. The degree isn't AACSB and none of my credits could transfer so I was stuck finishing it. I don't even think I was in contact with real professors. I would get my tests graded and on the essay portion would get no feedback and straight As. If I had a serious question about the work you could forget about getting a timely answer. All they cared about was taking my credit card and sending me As. This is just a piece of paper, not an education.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 14 people found the following review helpful

highly recommended

MBA - May 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MBA program @ CalCoast U is contemporary and relevent. Faculty and staff are great to work with and are highly professional. Total experience was enjoyable. High marks all around. Affordable and self-paced. Nationally Accredited and recognized by the DOD & VA for military personnel and G I veteran's benefits. CCU was a perfect fit for me. Larry B., USMC Vet., Texas, USA.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

CCU Experience

MBA - March 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a graduate of CCU, I found the learning materials to be well-structured, up-to-date, and relevant. Their student services staffs are exceptionally excellent and always very helpful and responsive. I have attended both online and campus schools and frankly I must say I've learned more from online courses, period. Sitt,

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding Distance Education

MBA - October 14, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with CCU and found both the curriculum and the staff to be outstanding. If a distance learning degree that is recognized by the CHEA and US Dept of Education through DETC accreditation will meet your needs, I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

CCU a Great education

MBA - October 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very Good experience at CCU they exceeded my expectations on education and I used utilize it everyday.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

MBA

MBA - January 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MBA Program at CCU is outstanding. I have taken graduate level courses at several other schools, at both Regionally Accredited and Nationally Accredited institutions, and I can honestly report that CCU is at least on par with the RA coursework, and far superior to the NA coursework that I’ve taken. The average MBA coursework consists of a Study Guide and Textbook(s). The Study Guide is provided by the school and is included with tuition (no extra charge). These Guides are organized in such a way that you receive a complete syllabus for each course along with instructional materials, which guide students chapter by chapter through the corresponding textbook. Each Study Guide contains an overview and summary of each textbook chapter, along with a listing of important keywords with definitions and self-tests on key points. Each of those items is referenced back to the specific learning objectives for the chapter, which allow the student to easily understand concepts or theories presented in that particular chapter. Study Guides contain 4 "Unit Test" equally spaced throughout the instructional materials, a brief writing assignment and the Final Examination. Textbooks can be rented from the school or purchased elsewhere. The administrators, faculty, instructors and staff are made up of some very fine people, and they are all only an e-mail or phone call away. And they are always happy to hear from perspective, current, and former students. What truly sets CCU apart from most other universities is their unabated commitment to the individual student and to student services in general. I can't say enough about how much this school has done for me, and the many other students I met through CCU. But please don’t take my word for it, call them for yourself and you will soon experience what separates CCU from the rest. Curt

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with California Coast University in any way.