Liberty University

Review Averages: 6.4 out of 10 (158 reviews)

Liberty University offers Christian-centered degree programs online and on site in Virginia. High school students are welcome to earn college credit, and adult learners can pursue online associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Online learners are invited to the school’s 5,000-acre campus for intensive one-week classes and optional commencement ceremonies.

Accreditation: SACS & TRACS
Non-Profit: Yes
Country: USA

Learn More about Liberty University

Request Information »

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Liberty University Reviews:

Great Experience
Psychology - May 22, 2015
I absolutely loved this school. The teachers were very helpful, and would always respond quickly. I finished this past May 8th with a BS degree in Psychology, with an Addiction and Recovery Cognate. It was hard, but thorough. It took a lot of dedication on my part, but everyone was always right there to help me when I needed it. They were diligent in giving me all the requirements for my degree, and I had no problems with my financial end of it. My student aid was always on time. I am very pleased with all the things that I learned here at Liberty University.

It's okay...
Ed.D. in Leadership - May 21, 2015
It is an okay school. I am back in school after a long break due to one dissertation research consultant. They do not support you during the dissertation process and that is discouraging. It would be a lot better if they embedded the dissertation process throughout the program. I feel the professors do not have the time to guide you or respond to your prospectus or proposal in a timely manner. I have friends who are working on their dissertation at brick and mortar schools and have received a lot of support. If I had to do it again, I would definitely work on my doctoral studies at a traditional school. I have an EDS from the University of South Dakota -Online and it was a rewarding experience. This one just seems okay.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Great School but you have to hold yourself accountable.
MBA - April 24, 2015
While my BS was from a brick and mortar, my MBA came from Liberty University Online. If your going to go to an online college you should hold yourself accountable for your grades, homework, tests and time management skills. I saw a lot of people leave during my time there because they 'forgot' to do homework or submit their financial aid in time. LUO was great about giving me notice on the financial end and I received scholarships all semesters which was a blessing. They called me at the beginning of every quarter for academic advising and I had my own counselor who I could contact 7 days a week. I've never had a problem contacting anyone in person there, their hours are much later than a traditional school which is great when you already have a career and family. As far as grading, their programs are accredited so they are very hard on you- we had 10-12 page papers due 4 times in an 8 week class, plus the quizzes, posts and discussion boards. It is not something you do if your looking for an easy degree because they are held to the same standards as any other school. The tests are not open to the public so you can't google your answers. You have to read dozens of books and write reviews of them in short periods of time. It is a great school but not for everyone. It IS an openly Christian school so I'm not sure why the complaints about it being Christian? It's a private school so they can teach Christianity in their courses if they want to. I never felt overburdened by the infusion of Christianity and never made to feel out of place or overly criticized because I am not a Christian. Don't apply if your offended by people mentioning Christian beliefs because you won't last very long and you will waste alot of money. I would openly argue their principles in my papers- as long as I had sound argument and provided sources this was never an issue- they were very accepting of it. To anyone wishing to go to LUO I wish you good luck, it was a great education. I could never have received an MBA while working full-time and raising a 1 and 3 year old so it was a good fit for me.

Info you need to know
Multidiciplinary Studies - April 10, 2015
Although this school does teach a fairly rigorous curriculum and there are a lot of good professors there, they do not respect freedom of speech nor civil rights. I am an honor student and was pursuing this degree but when I experienced my civil rights being violated, I filed a complaint against the school. Sad to say, I was threatened by the student affairs office for doing so, which amounts to no civil rights or freedom of speech. Just warning everyone, if you want to freely express your academic and collegiate thoughts at this school and want to "earn" your degree in the process, then forget about it as they will throw you out illegally for doing what the U.S. Constitution says you have a right to do. In other words, Liberty University does not recognize Federal Supremacy laws, which is sad as they pretend to be their own state of laws, which again violates the separation of Church and State. If after reading this you decide to attend anyway, then I will pray you make it through and graduate.

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Why did I waste my Time
Criminal Justice - April 7, 2015
Financial aid office at Liberty University has been the worse. I was sent in for fraud verification at Liberty University Financial aid office this was fine they requested a lot of paper work and I sent in everything they requested then the office started telling me something is wrong with your paperwork that me and another student used the same notary to notarize our paperwork accused me of signing the paperwork out of the presence of a Notary. I was thinking by this time this process is really much like harassment and they are accusing me doing stuff I wasn't doing. I was getting frustrate by now so now I started to request to speak with someone that could help me resolve this and get my aid put back on my account but no one would ever give me a number to call or they would give me the run around. When I would email the Faredflag or the Financial aid office they would say check your account and act like I was bothering them mind you I was trying to get my grant restored to pay for my classes and books. No matter what I said how I pleaded for help no one tried to help me once I completed the process well thought I completed the process sent in all they requested they sent in out a request for me to refile my taxed for 2013 I already sent them everything I had sent the Irs matter a fact it all came straight from the Irs website. I am a single mom just trying to better myself and because of this Schools Financial aid office and the Lack of people willing to communicate with you effectively to solve issues I am now looking for another school to complete classes I already took with them and I owe the school 11,0000 that I can not afford to pay because they took away my chance at a education I was six classes away from my Criminal Justice Degree. I feel Like I have been let down especially for a school that say there standards are built from God Christian School Speechless at this point.

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Great time with Liberty - And going back!
Master of Divinity (Pastoral Studies) - March 10, 2015
I am somewhat surprised (and a bit dubious) of all the negative remarks on here about Liberty U. Primarily because my experience with LUO has been so positive, smooth, and issue free. Let me start by clarifying that many of these criticisms seem to revolve around financial aid. They may be well placed, but I have no experience using FA, so I cannot comment. However, I am wrapping up the Master of Arts in Theological Studies in a few weeks. From the first time I called for information on enrollment, to registering for classes, to each and every interaction with professors, to getting graduation all settled, I have not had a single issue with communications. Everyone has been kind, competent, and very quick to reply to emails or calls. ALL of my professors have been responsive within hours of questions. The ONLY exception was a prof. who traveled a few days for a child's wedding, but he let us all know well in advance. As to the complaints by some about the work load. At least on the grad school level, they let you know going in that there are high expectations in seminary. They expect you know how to write, think critically, and engage for or against the assigned texts. They also let you know that there is a high degree of reading and study required for each course. In fact the Intro to Seminary Studies course puts it right out there, and you even have to do an assignment to demonstrate your understanding of this and your plan for properly approaching it in a healthy way. I am amused that so many are griping about how hard the work load is. IT'S GRAD SCHOOL. It is a huge challenge. But Liberty is not just farming out degrees. At least in Seminary...you're going to work for it. And you are NOT promised an easy A for just checking in. All of my professors have been extremely helpful, and engaging. All have been easily reachable. Yes, some are more interactive than others with their comments on assignments, and notes and all. But even the ones who seem otherwise aloof, have been completely fine when needed. In my time at LUO there was one substantial downage of the Blackboard system, all the courses were extended 36 hours for students to safely manage their due dates. All the rest were scheduled and students (who pay attention to the announcements) would be aware. For those who are arguing that the courses are too laced with the Christian worldview - GO TO A SECULAR SCHOOL. Liberty makes no bones whatsoever that they are a fully Christian based school. I am proceeding on to an MDiv and had thought about changing schools, but my experience in the MA Theology program has left me so challenged and so fulfilled that I am excited about doing the MDiv right here with Liberty U.

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Defending the school
Education - February 27, 2015
This school advertises that it's a Christian school so if you are against Christianity , you should not enroll here. I saw so many complaints about it being a Christian school but they don't hide that up front so I don't know why someone would not realize that until they were already enrolled and attending classes. I enjoyed attending Liberty. It was hard, but well worth it. I was able to get a better job and make more money and I'm proud of being a Liberty graduate.

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Seven classes left stopped by policy police
Psychology - February 19, 2015
I am an older adult student who was attending Liberty University Online toward a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology. When I chose the school it was for the personal service and help they offered. I loved the biblical classes and how Christ was woven in and out of subject matter. Some of the professors are phenomenal. I was thrilled with the first discussion board post for each new class introducing ourselves and learning how God was working in each person’s life and what their degree was going to allow them to do. However, as the school began to expand dramatically, the discussion board introduction posts became “I am a military student who does not know what I want to do so I decided to go to school”. There was the atheist and the Muslim and suddenly discussion board posts were no longer encouraging and learning experiences but antagonistic and empty. There are very few places in the world where Christians can go anymore where they can just be themselves and talk freely about their faith without the interference from the world. When I first started at Liberty, that aspect was there, but at the end when I was forcefully kicked out, it was a different school. My GPA is 3.76 and I was continuously on the Dean’s list while attending the school. My husband took on two full time jobs in order for me to concentrate on my degree so that I could finish more quickly so that he could retire. I was SEVEN classes from graduating when I took a semester off to help a prodigal daughter. I filled out the SAP (appeal form) and was still not allowed to return to school. On the appeal form it states, “In addition to this appeal form, you must submit documentation from an objective third party professional to support your appeal statement. These are examples of an objective third party professional: physician, counselor, lawyer, social worker, teacher, religious leader, and death certificate, divorce decree, etc.” Not every circumstance requires third party documentation such was ours. It was a family matter that involved no one else. Additionally, what this form requires is to violate HIPPA and privacy laws of another person if I were to provide what they wanted. I talked to various people in the categories required on the SAP appeal form and no one would help because of fear of being sued. The reason I left school was to help another person. Isn’t that what the bible teaches? I talked with the highest levels of people to try to reason with them. From the bottom up they read from the same script – policy, policy, policy – the human aspect is gone and Christ is completely absent from their policies. Months later I received a call from advising that they were letting me back in to finish. After 2 ½ hours of being transferred from one person to another to complete the process to get back in (all very helpful) I reached the end where I was told “oh, I did not realize there is a hold on your account, we cannot let you back in”. I owed $300.00 and was told I could return to school once it was paid. Wrong, I put the $300.00 on a credit card (I had been paying it off monthly prior to that) and was still told no, the hold was staying put. Financial Aid does not talk to Student Accounts and neither talk to Advising. It is like many separate parts of the same school with NO communication between them. They are policy zombies with the human Christian aspect completely absent! I have shared the appeal form with well over a dozen Christian colleges and universities and likely nearly one hundred secular schools explaining the situation. None of the schools can believe the inflexibility of Liberty University and the unreasonable policy especially as I explain the circumstance of taking a semester off while trying to find another school where I can finish my degree without starting over and doubling my student loans. With SEVEN classes left, I cannot find another school to transfer to where I do not start back at the beginning of sophomore year! What Liberty University has done to my family is financially devastate us. Having been out of the work force for a few years to finish school as an older adult and then not be able to finish has made me unemployable. Incidentally, I did have a job lined up to start once I had completed my degree but I lost that too. My husband is still working two full time jobs. I now have student loans for a degree I almost acquired and am unable to pay so I have to keep putting them on deferment. This is being “Champions for Christ”? I think not! While I was attending LUO, the books changed and Humanism and propaganda took the place of Christian learning. I did some investigating and discovered that Liberty University is a part of the American Council on Education, a United Nations Humanist, Agenda 21 organization

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Did not meet expectations
Ed.D. in Leadership - January 9, 2015
I enrolled in Liberty's online Ed.D. program fall 2014 with high expectations and really excited about pursuing my doctorate. It didn't take long for me to realize I was most definitely NOT in the right school! For doctorate level courses, I was quite taken aback by the amount of Christian propaganda embedded within the courses. It was actually kind of insulting. I mean, I was raised Catholic, but am not necessarily "super" religious BY CHOICE. You have NO OPTIONS in accepting ONLY a Christian worldview, and it very much expected that you declare and agree to it in just about every assignment. I actually waited until I received my spring syllabi for my next 2 classes before withdrawing, thinking maybe it was just a fluke that there was such an emphasis on Christianity over actual theory. But, they were worse! One of the actual assignments was to keep a prayer reflection journal and send prayers to??? I'm not even sure what they were talking about. It is creepy. The other negative was that in one course, despite receiving perfect scores on my assignments, the required quizzes screwed up my final grade. We had to take quizzes each week, including the final week, in addition to 2 additional final quizzes/tests the final week (so now, we had 3 quizzes/tests the final week) and other assignments. The quizzes were not written by the professor, and were full of errors, ambiguities, multiple correct or confusing answers, and some mistakes. There was no way to complain or fix them. In the end, my quiz points total brought my grade down to a B. After 3 degrees, I've never received such an unfair grade. When I complained via email to the professor (who seemed like a nice enough guy) he encouraged me to complain to the "higher ups" about the quizzes b/c I'm assuming he agreed w/ my concerns. Regardless, I was going to try to continue. My final concern, though, was that the amount of required courses was excessive compared to other similar types of online Ed.D. programs. I will be transferring to a different one for next fall, which requires 5 less courses and provides support for the dissertation from day 1. I WILL say that the people I dealt w/ in admissions, financial aid, and advising were always pleasant and helpful. I would say that this is a strength considering you are doing everything online (which can be a challenge when trying to connect w/ others. My advice to anyone under 40 is to take your time, save money, and attend a local university in person for your doctorate. TRUST ME, you will need the support to actually complete your dissertation and degree. Your chances of doing so online are very low. Good luck!

6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Don't waste you money
Bachelor of Science in Psychology - November 21, 2014
Don't waste your time and money.I was so disappointed with this school.I wanted so much to be a Christian Counselor.My hopes was so high. But every class was I very worried if I would pass because if the teacher does not gave you 700 points you will get a D and aid will not cover you.Some teachers was nice and helped you or me and some was rude and mean.The one's that was mean would not talk to me or help me. The tests was hard and ticky and very hard to pass. But in most class's I got B's on the tests, but the teacher would not like the very long paper they made me write and this would made me get a D.The papers they make you write is usually APA and 12 to 20 pages long.Sometimes 12 -20 articles long.It took me days or weeks to find all the research needed for the papers and I always had to have a lot of Bible scriptures in all postings and papers if I did not points was taken off and this took a lot of time, just looking it all up took a lot of time.I have read the Bible many times, all of it, but when you, I help the church and work at a job and babysit grand kids time gets short and this college took a lot of time.It seemed they wanted the Aid but really did not care if people passed or not. I was picked for "fraud Prevention" (Potential fraud) and that took a long time. I had to resend all the stuff that I had already send them to get in.My GED and ID's and other school records.That took 0ver 8 weeks and they keep delaying it until I got in trouble with my loans and higher education.I had trouble doing my jobs because the class's took so much time and research.One bad teacher gave me a "Code of Honor Violation" because she said I coped off the internet but I did not do that.Am a Minister so This really hurt.Because as a Minister I always try to good and do what is right..I was so disappointed with this school.It did not really seem like a Christian school with lots of compassion I thought I would find.I never got to finish because two teachers gave me D's in two class's when I got A and B's on the tests.Then I could not get Aid.So I had to try and find a better school after I had taken all the counseling class's and thought I would finish the school.I tried talking to these teachers and getting help but they just was rude and mean to me and getting upset that I bugged them.I worked so very hard in this school but it seems all the hard work was for nothing but stress.This school should get in trouble for how they treat people.

Read all 158 Liberty University reviews...


Programs:

Read all 158 reviews...

Write a Liberty University Review


Learn More about Liberty University



Learn More about Liberty University



Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Others Who Viewed This College Also Viewed

Ashford University Reviews
Rating: 67%
Norwich University Reviews
Rating: 89%
American InterContinental 
University Reviews
Rating: 66%


Old Comments

Dec. 2, 2010, 1:57 p.m.
+4 votes/
Liberty Online is great if you work well independently. You must read and comprehend what is expected of you for each class and I don't mean the surface instructions. Read EVERYTHING within the course you can find and follow the written directions to the letter. If they conflict from time to time email your prof. If you are someone who ALMOST ALWAYS seems to need more than your own comprehension to accomplish tasks you should not take online classes. The lack of face to face with your instructors will frustrate you. It does not mean there is anything wrong with you or the school. It means you don't learn well following that mode of instruction. If you have difficulty with Christianity and Biblical truth and are not seeking the Lord as a result of those difficulties you should avoid  schools that incorporate those elements into the curriculum. It is really just that simple...
Nov. 21, 2010, 11:17 p.m.
+1 vote/
Overall I've had a really good experience with LU Online in my past three courses I've taken so far towards an MBA in HR. However, has anyone else found the courses to be surprisingly easy? I usually resent it when individuals complain about courses being easy but I just have to inquire as it's making me worry whether employers will honor my degree when I finish. The textbooks are great, but I write papers the night before (sometimes the hour before) and receive very high grades. At my undergrad school (RMWC, also in Lynchburg), I would have failed out very quickly if I did that. 

The workload seems to be very light as well. In one course, we had to write a 15 page paper over the course of the term and answer four text quizzes that we were already given answers to in study guide format. I used to have to write 15-page papers weekly in undergrad. 

I will stop now as I don't like complaining; I just have to wonder. Thanks all for any replies.
Oct. 27, 2010, 9:28 p.m.
0 votes/
Liberty is a good school over all. I have attended 3 differen't universities and they all have some problems. However, be sure if you have any questions at all regarding classes or credit hours to ask someone. This is where a lot of people are misinformed, many times its an honest mistake on the universities part. Ask, ask and ask more questions if you need to, in order to be sure that all is well with your degree plan. I have had a few problems with Liberty, but no more than I had with the other universities I have attended. LU has some wonderful professors, and the classes for the most part are tough. Don't think because you are taking classes online that they are any differen't than their residential classes. You will work hard at this university in order to make good grades and pass your classes. So be prepared to work hard for your degree. Lu is very much respected in NC where I live, and I only see that respect getting bigger and better as the school grows. Hope this helps anyone who is thinking of attending LU. God bless.
Oct. 8, 2010, 9:39 p.m.
-1 vote/
Good school, but make sure you READ and UNDERSTAND EVERYTHING THEY TELL YOU!!! I have had some good experiances and some not so good. For the most part the classes were informative and I learned a lot. I am finishing my BS in psychology. Some teachers answer your emails the day you send them a question and grade your work within at least 1 week of an assignment due date. Others don't return emails within the 48 hour time limit and don't grade assignments within the 1 week deadline. Overall, things have been good, however the school does seem to mislead people at times. 
One example is that I have an associates degree and LU said they were transfering 77.2 of those credits, which seemed like a lot, seeing how other schools would only take around 60. What LU didn't tell me, is that they would not be able to apply a huge number of those credits toward my degree causing me to have to take more classes then I might have had to take somewhere else (LU requires some Biblical classes that others schools don't. These classes were great, but I could have saved time and money not taking them...I know how to have Bible studies already). I called the advisors at least 3 times to speak with them about my degree completion plan and they always told me that I was scheduled to graduate in December of 2010. I submitted my graduation package and found out that I need 6 MORE classes to graduate and that the soonest I will finish is May 2011. 
Although I have taken some good classes and I have learned alot, I feel EXTREEMLY misled. I now have to spend more time, money and energy that should have been explained to me, at least in 1 of the calls that I made.
Sept. 29, 2010, 4:37 p.m.
+2 votes/
I am halfway through my MA program in Management & Leadership with LU.  Before choosing to attend Liberty, I had developed an important criterion for selecting the right school and made my decision based on which institution answered the following questions best:

1 – Is the University a non-profit school?  This was #1 on my list.  Employers frown heavily on degree’s from For-Profit schools such as Devry, Kaplan, and AIU.  

2 – Does the school have an athletic program?       

3 – How strong is the Alumni network?   

4 – How difficult is the course work?  I wanted to be challenged.   

I will say that the amount of time professors put into each course varies.  Some professors are hands on and very involved.  Others have been almost invisible.  While I haven’t had the need for hand holding in any class, I could see where an un-involved professor could be a problem.  This is common issue for every online format/school I have researched.  

If you are concerned about the Christian integration with the course work, DON’T BE.  Some professors may ask you to include a biblical reference in your papers and you’ll encounter religious topics in the student forums but, who cares?  Unless you’re a hard-core atheist, this will not bother you in the least.  Liberty is one of the fastest growing universities in America and they will be around forever.  As the school grows, so will the value of your degree (which will already be held in good regard).  The fact that it’s a Christian University will only help the way potential employers view your perceived values and business ethics.  Use that to your advantage.  

Many Christian schools have incredible reputations such as Pepperdine, Baylor, Gonzaga, Villanova, Xavier, Notre Dame, and countless others.  Liberty is a fairly new school in comparison to those long-established institutions, but it’s catching up quickly.  I love the university and look forward to graduating.
Sept. 26, 2010, 9:48 p.m.
+1 vote/
The complainers must be kidding or are just negative people. I am within two courses of finishing my MA in Professional Counseling. I also have a few courses left for a MS in Business Project Mgt. from a Wisconsin state university school. Liberty is 10X better than the WI state school. Liberty cares. People bend over backwards. The morals and principles are impeccable. I don't have liberal agenda crammed down my throat. I am respected and I have witnessed people of other faiths treated with great respect. I had an intensive with an Israeli student there. He was treated wonderfully and made many friends. Anybody who takes a shot at Liberty shouldn't be in college.
Dec. 21, 2012, 12:49 a.m.
-1 vote/
You said you are getting an MA in professional counseling. Is the degree you are getting qualify for all the state licensing you will need to be employed professionally?
Sept. 12, 2011, 8:55 p.m.
-4 votes/
GOOD LUCK TO YOU MY FRIEND. LIBERTY LETS YOU GO SO FAR BEFORE THEY START MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR YOU TO GRADUATE. THEY SUCKER YOU IN FIRST. THEN YOU ARE TRAPPED. THE CLOSER YOU ARE TO GRADUATING, THE MORE PROBLEMS THEY WILL GIVE YOU. THEY WILL FIND A WAY TO STOP YOUR GRADUATION. YOU'LL SEE.
Sept. 9, 2010, 3:43 a.m.
0 votes/
AWESOME school.  I am getting my MBA and I have had a great experience with Liberty.  Quick answers to questions and very helpful staff.  I love this university, and I am proud to tell people that I attend Liberty.
Sept. 7, 2010, 3:03 p.m.
-1 vote/
if you do not have the Bible memorized do NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL
Aug. 26, 2010, 4:18 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been attending Liberty via their online program since Summer 2009. It is August 2010 and I have never encountered a negative experience with Liberty or any of the staff I have spoke with. I will admit there have been times when  have sent the professors an email of a more personal nature, perhaps ideas in finding jobs in my field, etc...and have not received responses. This has not alway been the case though. Some of the online professors are also teaching classes on campus so they do have actual teaching experience. I have been extremely pleased with my experience. It does force you to be a little more involved in your classes because you do not always have someone reminding you what to do or baby-sitting your assignments. The professors always provide useful feedback regarding papers and homework. There are plenty of ways to get support if you need prayer or tutoring. They even provide a writing assitance center that you can submit your papers to prior to handing them in for a grade and they will give you some great pointers. I am strongly considering Liberty for my Masters next spring.
Aug. 23, 2010, 11:57 a.m.
0 votes/
How can they call themselves Christians? shame on them!!!!
April 7, 2011, 3:48 p.m.
0 votes/
Have you ever been? This school is on fire for God. There is no doubt the majority of students here are Christians. Visit a convocation or Campus Church and it will change your mind. 
Aug. 23, 2010, 7:53 a.m.
0 votes/
Fantastic University just finishing the M.A. in theological studies. Never had one single problem with staff or financial aid.
July 29, 2010, 2:57 a.m.
0 votes/
I am a senior and I have been attending Libery University Online since March, I intially loved the school my first two classes, after that, I hated it. It is overwhelming and the instructors give you no help. On today, I withdrew from the school because I cannot allow myself totally lose my financial aid. There is no help, you are given a book, and you given test, THATS IT! After your class there is NO STUDY GUIDE, NO PRACTICE, NOTHINGGGG!!!! What a waste of money, four months of my life and my money I can NEVER GET BACK! The only benefit is the cost, very cheap!
July 18, 2010, 8:50 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been taking courses at liberty online for about two years, most of the time taking four courses a semester (two per term).  My experience has been excellent.  The questions I have regarding the admission/enrollment/degree plan were answered promptly (I called the main number and was directed to the appropriate department), and I have no complaints regarding the instruction or interaction within the class and with the instructor.  The down side sometimes the interaction with others on the discussion boards (some do not seem to want to engage the subject, only meet a requirement).  

I usually order the text books on the online bookstore, they arrive within a week - have had no issues at all here.  The price at the bookstore, however, is (most of the time) not always the best deal - although not too much higher than other sellers.  Amazon usually has the required text books at a less expensive cost.

The library has been another great resource.  For research projects, I have requested materials which have arrived in a timely manner (but you do have to plan ahead as they are library books, and you'll have to pay postage for returning the books).

I have attended college on campus, but online has proved to be more of a benefit (not only because I currently cannot attend on campus, but I find I learn more in the less structured environment - experience of course will differ depending on the individual).

I am a undergraduate, should start the masters program soon.  I hope for the same experience.
July 7, 2010, 3:03 p.m.
0 votes/
Liberty has the worst online service ever !!!! Don't get me wrong.....the programs at Liberty are good....but their system is ALWAYS down. Blackboard never works. You have to pray that it is working when there is a assignment due. If they got their system working.......it wouldn't be a bad school!
Nov. 6, 2012, 11:11 p.m.
0 votes/
They won't stop calling. They call everyday. I've asked multiple times to be taken off of their call list and multiple times they have promised they would, yet still they continue to call. DON'T give them your phone number!!!!!!
Oct. 10, 2012, 12:20 a.m.
0 votes/
Wanted to complete my MBA in HRM but the FA is a nightmare.  Have been trying to get into the program for a year.  Still can't start till spring.  So I am going to Amberton University instead.  If you don't have a lot of time to babysit FA and Admissions then I would go somewhere else.
Sept. 6, 2012, 7:28 p.m.
+2 votes/
THEY WONT STOP CALLING!!!!!!!!!!!
May 24, 2012, 6:35 p.m.
-5 votes/
Save your money and go to a real school.
Feb. 11, 2012, 1:23 a.m.
-1 vote/
Sorry for your pain. I know what it is to be a hated as a female minister. It means to suffer like Jesus which means we will reign with HIM!
Feb. 27, 2012, 7:09 p.m.
+2 votes/
I am a female minister. I do not believe being discriminated  against means "suffer like Jesus" but you are  entitled to your opinion. I went to a church which did not ordain females. Years later the pastor said " I was afraid of what people would say if I ordained women". Sad but that same church has not grown in nearly 50 years, do not want you to bring your bible to service, but will take in a male without really knowing him. Plus the leaders help to support legalized gambling. No wonder the world looks at the church suspiciously. 
Jan. 29, 2012, 5:21 p.m.
+2 votes/
The last reply had no signature, which all of them previously had, and this person was so rude in the way they responded to me, and basically all their replies to my emails for help said, if you need help call us. I feel lost, I have even told several departments that, I received my Letter of Acceptance, financial aid acceptance, and I was accepted to the degree (online) I wanted to get accepted into, but as time went on, and the lack of help got less and less. "I was hoping my comments about me getting accepted might encourage them to realize I am a real person who wants to go to Liberty, but is obviously needing more assistance." Some areas I know I need help in and feel intimidated by is BlackBoard, their online learning platform, which I have expressed this to many of the departments and supervisors, but I have never had an employee say they will help me or show me how to get through the rest of the process and learn BlackBoard. I think a big problem for new students is that the people who assist you with the admissions process and once you are accepted are supposed to help you with the rest of the process is that they are students who are working some of their tuition off by working in these areas, but they are not helpful and really do not seem to care.  I am not even sure if they have a supervisor looking over their shoulder to see if they are giving good assistance to new students.  I would love to find someone who would show some sincere help to me.  I need to know the way the online program works, how purchasing the books works, what you do if you can't take enough credits to be able to accept the financial aid you were awarded, etc.  Getting that acceptance letter was so exciting to me, but once I kept reaching dead-ends in trying to obtain help with the online format and the steps that need to get completed to fully understand the online format are just not there.  It has been so disappointing to me and I have no idea who else to turn to. I THINK ALMOST EVERY DEPARTMENT KNOWS ME BY NOW, BUT NOT ONE HAS TRIED TO CALL AND HELP ME.  INITIALLY THEY CALLED AND CALLED MY PHONE NUMBER UNTIL one of the student/workers makes a notation in your computer account that must say he has been contacted, because there has even been a situation when I have been told please do not respond to this email anymore, you need to call us. I have called so many times, even the FAFSA supervisor told me that I see nothing wrong with your FAFSA application and your SAR and I have no idea why they are asking you to call us.  I see no issues or discrepancies with your application and other information submitted to FAFSA.
Jan. 29, 2012, 5:21 p.m.
+2 votes/
The last reply had no signature, which all of them previously had, and this person was so rude in the way they responded to me, and basically all their replies to my emails for help said, if you need help call us. I feel lost, I have even told several departments that, I received my Letter of Acceptance, financial aid acceptance, and I was accepted to the degree (online) I wanted to get accepted into, but as time went on, and the lack of help got less and less. "I was hoping my comments about me getting accepted might encourage them to realize I am a real person who wants to go to Liberty, but is obviously needing more assistance." Some areas I know I need help in and feel intimidated by is BlackBoard, their online learning platform, which I have expressed this to many of the departments and supervisors, but I have never had an employee say they will help me or show me how to get through the rest of the process and learn BlackBoard. I think a big problem for new students is that the people who assist you with the admissions process and once you are accepted are supposed to help you with the rest of the process is that they are students who are working some of their tuition off by working in these areas, but they are not helpful and really do not seem to care.  I am not even sure if they have a supervisor looking over their shoulder to see if they are giving good assistance to new students.  I would love to find someone who would show some sincere help to me.  I need to know the way the online program works, how purchasing the books works, what you do if you can't take enough credits to be able to accept the financial aid you were awarded, etc.  Getting that acceptance letter was so exciting to me, but once I kept reaching dead-ends in trying to obtain help with the online format and the steps that need to get completed to fully understand the online format are just not there.  It has been so disappointing to me and I have no idea who else to turn to. I THINK ALMOST EVERY DEPARTMENT KNOWS ME BY NOW, BUT NOT ONE HAS TRIED TO CALL AND HELP ME.  INITIALLY THEY CALLED AND CALLED MY PHONE NUMBER UNTIL one of the student/workers makes a notation in your computer account that must say he has been contacted, because there has even been a situation when I have been told please do not respond to this email anymore, you need to call us. I have called so many times, even the FAFSA supervisor told me that I see nothing wrong with your FAFSA application and your SAR and I have no idea why they are asking you to call us.  I see no issues or discrepancies with your application and other information submitted to FAFSA.
Jan. 29, 2012, 5:44 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am not sure what happened but it will not accept the first paragraph in my comment.  It says it cannot accept inappropriate words (which I will not put here or it will not accept this explanation).  So I apologize, I even tried to put the first short paragraph here on this comment, but it is still taking a word as inappropriate, but I can't figure out which word it is thinking is inappropriate.  Blessings!
Dec. 17, 2011, 9:22 p.m.
+2 votes/
I just need to say that Liberty University Online has been wonderful for me. The classes are not as bad as most are making it out to be. I took 4 classes in 8 weeks and managed to keep a 4.0. It's difficult and entails a lot of work, but the professors are VERY generous in allowing extensions for students with such a heavy work load. I have never had a problem with financial aid either. I also think it's unfair to say they'll fail you purposely if you're a woman in seminary. Although it may not be agreed with, Liberty has morals. I'm not saying it's completely impossible, I just think people have a hard time taking responsibility for themselves sometimes. I would advise ya'll to call and talk to them for yourselves, pray on it and do the Will of God. If He's leading you in the direction of Liberty University, don't take these people's words for it.. He won't let you down! Be Blessed!
Nov. 9, 2011, 8:27 p.m.
0 votes/
AGREED that this place is HORRIBLE and all they want to do is still your money! Do not think this is how Christians are because it's not! The fact that I got taken advantage of by a Christian school baffles me! They took my money and admitted to using tricky words that do not state clearly what their intentions are.  DO NOT go to this place!!! You will never see your money and you DO NOT get a good education
July 30, 2011, 3:27 p.m.
-1 vote/
I have to say that the call center try very hard to verify who you're and to ensure that you're on track. I will start classes online in the fall and I am looking forward to that. I encounter some small issues during financial checking, but other than that I am ready. Seems like a good school.
May 3, 2011, 11:10 p.m.
+1 vote/
I began classes at Liberty University Online in Spring of 2009 and have no regrets.  I chose Liberty for 2 reasons: price and online technology.  Both are still true today.  I like the school, bottom line.  While nothing is perfect, Liberty has suited my needs completely.  Financial Aid has never been a problem and have always been helpful.  I definitely would recommend this school to anyone who asked.
April 28, 2011, 10:06 p.m.
+2 votes/
I graduated in December with the Management Information Systems degree and haven't had any problems except some financial aid difficulties that were eventually worked out.
April 19, 2011, 2:45 a.m.
0 votes/
I am interested in Liberty University for a Master's in some type of religious study, I have not decided yet. Can students who finished with their Liberty degree online let me know how job searching went after completion? I understand the accreditation is good but I did not see posts about the job search after wards and that's what I need to know! Thank you.
April 13, 2011, 2:50 a.m.
0 votes/
I AM THINKING TO ATTEND THIS UNIVERSITY, WHAT YOU ALL THINK ABOUT THE MASTERS IN MANAGEMENT AND LEADERSHIP ONLINE. 
Sept. 12, 2011, 8:50 p.m.
-3 votes/
DONT DO IT. SAVE YOURSELF THE HEARTACHE! THEY MAKE THE CLASSES ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO PASS. THEY PACK A WHOLE SEMESTER'S WORTH OF WORK INTO 8 WEEK CLASSES. YOU DON'T HAVE ANY CHOICES. ONCE YOU GET SUCKERED IN, THE FARTHER YOU GO, THE HARDER IT IS TO LEAVE THAT UNIVERSITY. THEY ALSO HOLD YOUR REFUND. THEY WILL PUT YOU THROUGH HELL TO GET IT. THEY ARE DIRTY AND CROOKED. THEY HIDE BEHIND RELIGION TO GET RICH OFF POOR STUDENTS, MISUSING THE FINANCIAL AID SYSTEM. DON'T DO IT. THINK TWICE...NO...THINK 100 TIMES AND DO NOT DO IT!!!
March 16, 2011, 5:16 p.m.
+1 vote/
So far, I am not impressed.  I haven't even been accepted to this institution yet because they can't seem to get their acts together and READ MY FILE.  I have been calle dmultiple times by them for no reason, then I get emails stating they need things that I have already verified multiple times they have on record.  What's most interesting is the fact that I was fully able to communicate with these people via email BEFORE i got a student i.d. number.  The moment I applied for admissions, somehow all of my mail is being returned as undeliverable "sender blocked as spam."  I think once they get you in, they think they can dismiss you and treat you like grabrage, thinking you are dumb enough to pursue their college.  If you can't even enroll without difficulty, I would say that's a red flag to not pursue a school.  Also, the only question I was asked when I received a slew of phone calls while I was at work were to ask me how i plan to pay for my education.  When I told them i had applied for a student loan, the entire tone changed and it was as if I am being looked down on.  I do not know many people who can pay cash for an entire degree program, nor can any admissions clerk I can think of.  I don't appreciate how I've been treated thus far and it's something I am considering before making a decision, which is disappointing.  I was not counting on having this difficulty.
Jan. 25, 2011, 11:07 p.m.
+2 votes/
Liberty University should not hold accreditation.  I was accepted in their Masters program and I must admit the work was not challenging at all. In addition, I earned all 89% but yet never received any feedback.  This school is not accredited by AACSB and may never apply for their accreditation. If you live in Virginia please go to a reputable university not Liberty. You have been warned.
Best Regards,
Penn State 2012
Sept. 12, 2011, 8:52 p.m.
0 votes/
DONT DO IT!! LIBERTY IS A FREAKING SCAM! THEY ARE ALSO VERY RACIST! THEIR CLASSES WILL NOT TRANSFER TO ANY OTHER COLLEGE AND THEY HOLD YOUR REFUNDS. THEY WILL DO ANYTHING TO ADD BOGUS FEES TO YOUR ACCOUNT. DONT DO IT! THEY NEED TO BE EXPOSED FOR THE CROOKS THEY ARE!
Jan. 18, 2011, 7:08 p.m.
+1 vote/
I completed the Bachelor of Science Multidisciplinary Studies with concentration in Business and Religion in 2008.  This is Liberty's version of a Liberal Arts or Interdisciplinary Studies Degree.  I think they wanted to stay away from the word "liberal" so they called it this.  Same thing though.  You pick 2 cognates or concentrations in which 1 must be 30 credits and the other 15 credits.  The rest of your degree is the usual general education and such.  

Liberty is generous in their transfer credit policy.  They are also military friendly, so if you have military experience be sure and have that evelauated for credit as well.  On top of that, active military, veterans, and spouses are afforded some great benefits such as reduced tuition, book vouchersk, and fee waivers.  Be sure to check into this as well.

When I attended there were significant video lectures to supplement what you did not receive in class.  For example, one course I took had 25 video lessons in the form of 15 DVDs.  However, since that time they have reverted to putting those video lectures online.  The video lectures are an added bonus, I think.  I enjoyed being able to have it lectured to me after studying it and after particpating in discussion boards.  

Overall the programs are worth the time, effort, and money.  They offer a wide variety of programs and all come with Christian values and worldviews implemented into them.  LU boasts enrollment of over 30,000 undergraduate students.  About 20,000 of those are online/distance students.  You are not alone!

The only disappointments I had were the lack of feeling a part of the university.  A lack of interaction with other students other than the required discussion boards.  It is hard to feel a part of a university when you have never gone there.  There are some programs they have that require residencies of 1-2 weeks.  Some schools require this the week of graduation, which I think would have made the experience more real if LU offered that.  Another disappointment I had was lack of instructor and syllabus interaction.  For example, the syllabus in one of my classes provided the grading scale.  The instructor had his own in mind and of course when I thought I had an "A", I actually had a "B" in the instructor's mind and scale.  The instructors don't write their own courses.  They follow what is given to them and sometimes, as in this case, they do not read what was presented to them.  

Other than that, it is a good school, with the right mission in mind, and a genuine desire to train and educate future leaders!    
June 23, 2010, 6:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Reviewing Liberty's website and having an opportunity to speak with admissions representatives made Liberty seem like a great place to finish my undergraduate degree. With a christian foundation, I wouldn't have guessed things would be the way they are in some areas. I don't think the whole school or all programs have major issues but I think complaints will grow if they don't straighten up.  I think their support is almost non-existent sometimes. Maybe it's different for on-campus students because they're right there and can get to an office and speak with someone face to face but waiting a week or two for a call back or email is just unprofessional. I don't know who decided on the policies of their FA offices but that is an awfully long process and I've been to both on campus and online schools before and never had such slow movement with FA like that. There are other students going through the same thing, some are hanging on hoping it changes while others are ready to go.
June 16, 2010, 10:14 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm in my third semester at Liberty.  I have completed 4 online classes and two intensives (on campus classes).  To the person who said they couldn't work and complete their program, perhaps they need to re prioritize.  I have a full time job and young children and still manage to complete my course work with a 4.0GPA.  The classes are rigorous and the assignments are demanding, but are doable if you are committed to your education.  I will finish my EdS by next spring and intend to enroll in EDD after that.  I have met several people during my intensives who are in EDD and they are pleased with the process and the support.  I have never had a problem with getting a response to an e-mail, although it might not be in 20 minutes after sending it...what do you  people expect, that someone just sits there and waits on your emails?  I have never had a problem getting someone on the phone, and can usually get someone on live chat within a reasonable amount of time.
June 2, 2010, 10:22 p.m.
+1 vote/
Liberty University seems to have some good qualities and some not so good ones. I'm a new student there and one thing that makes me not want to attend is lack of support/response when needing help. If you need to reach someone, you can call the departments directly but still be prepared to wait for an hour on hold. You'll be caller 55 or 63 etc. It's sad that so many students are calling at once and no one is there to handle their inquiries in a timely fashion, it's ridiculous. No one has that long to sit on the phone and wait...and if you're wondering "why don't you just email"? Well that's because you'll usually wait even longer for a response or it won't be sufficient enough to help you with your concerns...seriously weighing my options on this one.
May 23, 2010, 2:55 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am a student at LU and after reading some of the bad reviews of the school, I have to ask what Liberty are you all talking about because I have never had anything that would turn me away happen.  My enrollment process was easy and everything LU promised they delivered.  All my paperwork was handled properly and whenever I call my advisor, they are more than willing to help with any problems I have.  They have never taken any money from me other than the 50 for the app fee and the finance dept always worked with me to clear up any problems before they became problems.  The on line experience has been good for me and if you actually take the time to check out their accreditation, you will see that they are in fact highly accredited by SACS...LU is a Christian college so yes you do have to adhere to their rules and regulations but that is so at any university.  I have had nothing but good experience with this school and would recommend it to anyone who like to get a good quality education.

That being said, there are a very small number of teachers that are bad at getting back to students in a timely fashion, and sometimes you may feel that you are learning this without guidance but the teachers numbers and emails are provided and I have called a couple and got help directly.

Overall this school is a very good institution and does offer a good education.  There are some mishaps and yes some problems BUT what school, traditional or otherwise, doesn't go through this.  I did my research, contacted the school, investigated their credentials and then made my decision.  Before reading BAD reviews and deciding that LU is bad just look up the info for yourselves.

**Side note**
Some ppl said that they could not reach anyone at LU, my advice would be to go to the liberty.edu page and go directly to the department you want to know about and get numbers from there.  I have had a great experience with LU and wouldn't change it for the world!!
May 10, 2010, 10:28 a.m.
-1 vote/
The school is nice but the some of the students are narrow minded know-it-all's! I wouldn't ever go to a school like this cause I would have to deal with stereotypes from a lot of the students.
March 23, 2010, 2:11 a.m.
0 votes/
finance is bull!!!!!!!! Im in the military and TA takes time. They keep on dropping my classes. So if you are in the military dont go to lu. You will waste your time and money. If you are in the military call your eso or talk to Jag.
Jan. 28, 2010, 9:29 a.m.
0 votes/
So, is there anyone out there who has tried lu online from outside the U.S? I'm from Ghana, and i'm wondering if i won't run into any problems later on( i'm considering their post-grad progs. Once i start, will i be able to finish it without ever having to step in the U.S?
Jan. 2, 2010, 2:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone completed the Ed.D. program at Liberty?  I am considering this program and want to know real opinions about your satisfaction with the program and especially the dissertation process.
Dec. 23, 2009, 7:41 p.m.
0 votes/
I just dropped a course from liberty and will proceed to withdraw. If I have a question, I will contact a university or college as I have in the past. They should stop their hard selling telemarketing tactics and calling people at work daily three times a day. I've been accepted at another university and have proceeded to enroll in a course.
Dec. 22, 2009, 9:22 p.m.
0 votes/
Although I am paying by the week until financial check-in, they are calling me a few times a day to get me hitched so that I enroll in a payment plan. If they continue to call, I may withdraw and apply elsewhere. This pestering is turning me off.
Dec. 18, 2009, 11:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Although Liberty University is accredited their online program shouldn't be. They allow you to use your book to complete tests.
 The test taking is not not monitered by a proctor. They make up for the fact that the test are open book by flooding the online students with material and work. 
If you have a job do not attempt Liberty's program they do not want you to complete it. I did all of the work I could and had one major issue their software! I would submit test and the computer system would say error contact administrator.
 If you ask to retake the test they give you a small amount of time to retake it. If you can't retake it because you are working or doing something they will send you an email not call you. Saying that since it has been so long you cannot retake the test. 
Liberty is a scam they do not want to give degrees to 30 thousand online students because that would look ridiculous. Don't waste your money at Liberty. It is possible to receive a degree from Liberty but you will not receive the grades that you deserve even if you work hard. The fact that they let you complete tests open book makes you feel like you cheated. They are impersonal and want you to withdraw without giving you anything in return.
Dec. 16, 2009, 9:56 p.m.
0 votes/
JD,

I believe what Kip means is that there are a few requirements that you will need in the acceptance process: transcripts, an application and your financial aid.  Some students may be selected to verify their financial documents (I have had this happen a few times) but that is to verify your info to the government.  However if you call and talk to an agent over the phone you can get through the process smoothly.

For the MIS, I personally have not taken any courses in this program but from working at Liberty I understand the gist of the program.  The courses can be seen from Liberty's website and you can also call in to ask for more help: 1-800-424-9595.
Dec. 16, 2009, 9:52 p.m.
+1 vote/
Will T,

I know I have been answering a lot of questions but I actually am in the MDIV program at Liberty as well as work here.  I do enjoy the courses I am taking.  With Seminary there is a lot of reading and writing at times but the professors provide you with "course guides" which tell you which assignment is due each week.  When I don't procrastinate, I will try to get some of the assignments prior to them being due, especially the bigger papers.
If you have any other questions feel free to email me at djcronrath@liberty.edu
Dec. 16, 2009, 9:50 p.m.
-1 vote/
Kendra,

You would be able to apply as a non-degree seeking student to Liberty and then take up to 12 credits without entering a degree.  Liberty is regionally accredited through SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) Liberty also has the highest tier in that accreditation level 6. Due to this accreditation you should have no problem with transferring your class from Liberty to your current school.

Just check with your school's requirment to make sure they would let you take those specific classes elsewhere.  Some schools may require you to take courses specificially through their school.


Additionally if you have any other questions feel free to email me back at djcronrath@liberty.edu I have been a student with Liberty both online and residential for 6 years and currently work for Liberty University Online
Dec. 15, 2009, 9:07 p.m.
-1 vote/
Hey Krista,

It is true that jobs will not accept some online degrees but that is because there are many degrees which are from degree mills, non-accredited colleges or places that will give degrees if you give them money.

Liberty actually has the highest accreditation- regionalyl accredited through SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools)  Liberty also has the highest tier in that accreditation level 6.  
Additionally, Liberty is based from a brick and mortar campus which means that it is a legitimate college.  

Really a degree from Liberty is no different from any regionally accredited college.

As far as the expense, yes online schools will be more than community colleges and some are very expensive.  However, Liberty is among the bottom third in the nation for affordable online schools.

There is both Financial aid and payment plans that you can take advantage of.  

Any other questions feel free to email me back at djcronrath@liberty.edu I have been a student with Liberty both online and residentially for 6 years and currently work for Liberty University Online
Dec. 7, 2009, 2:43 p.m.
-2 votes/
Rose,

There are different options for financial aid.  At the Bachelors level there are student loans and grants available.  To find your eligibility for this you will need to fill out the FAFSA.  This is a Free Application for Federal Student Aid.  You will need your tax information from the past year.  There are some Grants which is free money from the government based on need.  These typically not offered at the Masters for most degrees and is not offered at all at the PhD.  

Additionally Liberty helps support those in the military, their spouses and those in emergency response.  If you have any other questions feel free to look at the Tuition and Financing Website on Liberty's Website luonline.com

Additionally if you have any other questions feel free to email me back at djcronrath@liberty.edu I have been a student with Liberty both online and residential for 6 years and currently work for Liberty University Online
Dec. 7, 2009, 2:27 p.m.
-1 vote/
Tina,

It really depends at what level you are taking classes.  For the online classes I took in Undergrad at Liberty there were not too many papers due.  Sometimes you might have a quiz, discussion board or paper due.  Mainly there are weekly assignments to help measure your learning and test you on the class notes/lectures/readings.  For seminary at Liberty, the online classes typically have a lot more papers and I am in one currently that requires a paper a week.  Such is life in grad school.

Any other questions feel free to email me back at djcronrath@liberty.edu I have been a student with Liberty both online and residentially for 6 years and currently work for Liberty University Online
Dec. 7, 2009, 2:24 p.m.
-1 vote/
Marcus,

I am a student at Liberty and work for the online division.  We will not discriminate against you but Liberty does not agree with that lifestyle.  This being said, I do not believe the issue will come up in any of the classes unless it is the Contemporary Issues class.  We hold to a Evangelical worldview and so that class will be taught from that perspective.  
For you coming from a different view, it really is up to you how you chose to take courses.  If you don't mind being taught from a different perspective then Liberty could be a right fit for you.  

Any other questions feel free to email me back at djcronrath@liberty.edu  I have been a student with Liberty both online and residentially for 6 years and currently work for Liberty University Online
Dec. 7, 2009, 2:18 p.m.
-1 vote/
Kev,

I saw that you asked about the Associates in Criminal Justice for Mass.  I do not live in Mass but the degrees at Liberty are regionally accredited through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.  You can ask in your area (maybe at a police station, jail, etc.) what can one do with a regionally accredited Associates.  The regional accreditation is the highest accreditation recognized by the department of education.  Ultimately it depends on what the job needs, this degree will be just as good as an AA from a college in Mass

Any other questions feel free to email me back at djcronrath@liberty.edu I have been a student with liberty for 6 years and now work for the University
Nov. 30, 2009, 6:44 a.m.
-1 vote/
Kip, What do you mean by enrollment is tough? Getting accepted? I'm looking to apply soon but does anyone know about their MIS Bachelors program?
Nov. 22, 2009, 3:38 a.m.
0 votes/
I noticed only one post from an MDiv student.  I already have a graduate degree in religion but would like to earn an MDiv.  Can anyone give any insight as a student?
Nov. 7, 2009, 1:38 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a first semester student at Liberty U and it has been a great experience. Enrollment is tough but once you get past the financail aid and admissions process it's all good. Liberty U has the best program for online students!

Kip Burt
kipburt@gmail.com----if u need some advice.
Nov. 6, 2009, 12:03 a.m.
0 votes/
Hey! I am currently a student and I am getting close to finishing up my Associates degree in Human Services. I have thought about taking one of my required classes from Liberty online, but I didn't know if it would transfer back into the college that I am currently attending. I also have thought about taking a couple of extra classes at LU. Does anyone know if this is possible without staying with LU to get a degree? Thanks!
Oct. 27, 2009, 2:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Hey,

I'm looking into Liberty University but i've seen a lot of bad reviews-not a real education, many jobs won't accept the accredidation, expensive, etc.

Is any of this true? And also, are there payment plans or do you have to pay the whole fee at one time, or...? 

Thanks!
Sept. 29, 2009, 6:52 a.m.
0 votes/
Does anyone have any experience with Liberty's online Doctorate in education programs??? If so what is your opinion??

Thanks
Aug. 21, 2009, 12:13 p.m.
0 votes/
I am totally satisfied, and enthusiastic about my experience with LU!  I recently finished my Bachelor of Science in Religion, and am now almost half way through LU's MBA program.  I decided on LU for my masters because I was so impressed by the things that I learned from them in my undergraduate program.

If you are considering LU, be prepared to be challenged -not only by the faculty, but also by fellows students.  Most every class requires community discussions about what are often contemporary moral problems in society.  This really prepares you to understand perceptional differences across cultures and backgrounds.  Even more, the faculty remains objective in these discussions allowing the students to express their subjective opinions.  For this reason, if you are not a Christian, you can still be confident in your views without fear of your grades being affected for expressing them in discussions.  (Note however, I personally am a Christian.)

You can also expect from most every class to be required to write at least one research paper.  LU really makes the most of developing your writing skills.  The majority of you class grade may depend on a 10-20 page paper.  This really is a good thing because employers today demand good writing skills in order to succeed in the workplace.

It is my opinion that you cannot go wrong with LU.  You will be glad that you took their path.
Aug. 17, 2009, 2:40 a.m.
0 votes/
Here's a hint for dealing with the financial aid: don't call the Liberty Online 800/888 numbers. If you call the local number for Liberty, you will be transferred almost immediately to people who actually give you straight information, remove holds, and get things done--things that the 800/888 financial aid operators were unable help me with for more than two months. 

My academic experience was wonderful, and I feel well-prepared for work, although the academic skills of about half my classmates seemed inappropriately low for a graduate program. Some teachers seem to be extremely liberal in grading, too, but most classes have a B or C average, which is normal for graduate work.
Aug. 12, 2009, 2:58 a.m.
0 votes/
Nice University... I like the coursed but the Hold Times are very long and the financial aid process is a true mess!!
July 29, 2009, 4:38 p.m.
0 votes/
Can any body tell me what kind of financial aid Liberty offers to an undergrad and what kind of financial aid Liberty offers to a PHD student.  Also if one has  three years of credits from a north carolina state school, will the credits transfer if you are seeking to enroll in a bachlors program?
July 24, 2009, 7:26 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm starting my fifth online class in the Liberty online MBA program. If you work during the day be prepared to devote your evenings and weekends to your studies. Make sure you have solid access to the internet because you will spend a great deal of your time writing papers and citing sources. I found a piece of software that helps tremendously with this www.perrla.com 

I highly recommend this university.
Be prepared to get serious.
 
Good Luck!
July 21, 2009, 9:12 a.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone taken a class where you had to complete papers weekly?
July 10, 2009, 11:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Marcus,

In my humble opinion, you should be able to attend any school you desire. I don't think there is a sign that says "No gays allowed." Your preference of partners should not be discussed in class at all. I think it is completely personal and should not be displayed in your online class. That way any who has a problem with gays will not discriminate against you. I am not a student at Liberty. I am not gay, but I just wanted to give you some encouragement to pursue you goals.
July 5, 2009, 7 p.m.
0 votes/
I'm set to begin the counseling program in the fall. One concern is that I'm gay. I know the school leans on the conservative side, but will that hinder my ability to graduate with the degree? Do I have to be fully closeted in order to graduate from this school (I can be discreet)? Any honest answers out there? Thanks.
June 18, 2009, 3:06 a.m.
0 votes/
I am a third of my way through my MDiv. In a nutshell, LU is organized, the rigor is evident, and the instructors answer my emails.  Very pleased.
May 4, 2009, 9:52 p.m.
0 votes/
After just over 4 years I will be graduating in 5 days with a Bachelor of Science in Business Management with a CMIS minor! Liberty has been an amazing experience for me and I cannot say enough good things about it. One thing I highly recommend is take at least 1 class on campus as an intensive. I took my speech class there and while it was insanely tough, a full semester in 1 week, it was such an awesome thing for me. It gave me a huge connection to the school. 

I have also talked to many students that are on campus that chose to take an online class and every one of them has consistently said that the online classes tend to be tougher. Add that to the fact that the degree is the same as one given on campus and I say Liberty is the way to go!
April 27, 2009, 9:59 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been a student of Liberty Online for 4 months now and I have no complaints. I highly recommend this school to anyone considering an online college education. So far, it has been a great experience
April 12, 2009, 11:17 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anybody here gained a Associated Degree in CRJ that live in Massachusetts and used the degree at all in the field?
March 27, 2009, 2:49 a.m.
0 votes/
I would highly reccomend this school for the Christian and the non Christian as well. I am currently pursuing my Associates in Criminal Justice and I have found the curriculum to be Christian based. I love the fact that they teach from this standpoint and they teach other world standpoints actually better than some of the professors who teach their points of view. This school really does challenge the mind for both worlds.
March 17, 2009, 12:47 a.m.
0 votes/
liberty is accredited by fully accredited by SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) it doesn't get better than that.
March 15, 2009, 6:42 a.m.
0 votes/
I no there is a big stigma about online universities in general, but feel like this would be a better way for me.  I have homeschooled the last two years of high school and found it a much better learning enviornment.  I was wondering if Liberty's accreditation was a good one? Like one that is recognized and isnt looked over in the job field.  Can you recieve grants towards tuition and stuff?
Email me your comments and suggestions...PLEASE. actual_rlty@yahoo.com
Feb. 9, 2009, 3:07 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been looking for an online program to obtain credits and become a CPA.  I found the MS in Accounting at Liberty University and am planning on attending there.  I was amazed at all the advantages the school offers:  Ranked top three online school, extremely affordable in comparison to similar schools and the courses are straight to the point! (No BS to take more money from you!)  I live in AZ and was very excited about attending Grand Canyon University (MBA w/ concentration in Accounting) UNTIL I found out their eMBA's tuition of $44,000 - so much for an affordable school!  I would appreciate any comments on your experience at Liberty.
Jan. 29, 2009, 9:51 p.m.
0 votes/
Is Liberty University an acceptable school for a non-Christian? I have no problem taking the required religion courses. I was just concerned about "fitting in"
Jan. 18, 2009, 8:54 p.m.
0 votes/
I didn;t expect much from an online degree program, but Liberty really changed my mind.  The courses are very challenging and the service is excellent.  I am very, very satisfied with the program and educational value.
Jan. 1, 2009, 5:08 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been enrolled with Liberty U's distance education program for almost 2 years now in persuit of my Bachelors in business. I earned my Associate's from Troy U's distance ed program and left as quickly as possible! My wife and I visited the campus in Dec of 2006 and was very impressed. It has been a great experience except for a couple of courses. I've had a couple of professors that were unorganized and provided little communication. Other than that, it has been a great experience. Their online library is terrific and their support staff has always been helpful. The schools is very dedicated to its military students and provides $100 towards books for each class. I plan on graduating in Dec 09 and I'm currently leaning towards enrolling in their graduate school.
Nov. 15, 2008, 2:59 a.m.
0 votes/
Liberty gives free education if you work there full time. You will probably make 8.00 an hour but you will get a free degree. Trust Me I work with a bunch of bums that just work on there degree and don't actually work.
Nov. 12, 2008, 7:27 p.m.
0 votes/
I completed my M.A in Human Services at Liberty and the experience has been great. I'm interested in purusing the ED.D, does anyone have any experiences (good or bad) to share?
Oct. 13, 2008, 4:17 a.m.
0 votes/
Chris, there are posting and assignment deadlines, but you can do everything according to your own schedule.
Oct. 4, 2008, 11:31 p.m.
0 votes/
I have enrolled for a bachelors degree in religion online at LU. Can anyone tell me the format of the classes? Do i have to log on at a specific time each day and are the classes on certain days of the week?
Sept. 25, 2008, 3:30 p.m.
0 votes/
I enrolled in the MRE (Masters of Religious Education) online in August. I have nothing to say but positive things. My mind has been stretched and challenged. I love the experience that I am receiving there. It is an intense program but I am learning so much. 
   I was a little apprehensive about starting because of the reputation that Liberty holds with some people. I must say that I have had nothing but a TRUTH experience when it comes to Evangelism and Theology. 
   I am glad this program is online. It makes it possible for hardworking adults to get the education they want and deserve. 

M
Sept. 10, 2008, 11:01 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am enrolled in Liberty University, Distance learning. I'm only in my first semester, criminal justice. The enrollment process was trying , but I'm glad I done it. So far, it has been great, the staff has been very nice and are quick to respond to emails and even on the phone. My proffessor is great. He answers our questions via email very promptly. He is very encouraging and stays on top of our assignments. At first it was hard to understand how to access it all online, but once I got the hang of it, it's fine. And being able to respond to other students in the discussion board is great. I also love the Christianity. So far, I love it. It is not easy and you do have to do the work, but I really feel like this degree will be worth it. I love Liberty, i wish I could go on campus.
Sept. 12, 2011, 9:02 p.m.
-4 votes/
Becky, SAVE YOURSELF!! Get out while you can! They will sucker you in deeper and deeper and make it almost impossible to graduate. then you will be left with a bad gpa and loans to pay. they also hold all your refunds. it's like pulling teeth to get them.
July 9, 2008, 4:23 a.m.
0 votes/
I have a two questions on the MA in Human Services and grad work in general.

First, does Liberty have a good online library for researching and downloading (or at least reading full text) journal articles?  If not, what resources do they provide, if any, to assist the distance student in research?

Second, I have been reading the course guides, and have a specific question on HSER 511 Group Dynamics, if anyone can help, maybe you Ben, (and yes I know the professor is the person to ask for a real answer, but I am not enrolled at this time).  Is the small group you organize and lead something you have to do face to face in your community (what if no one shows up for it?), or is it an online interactive group within the classroom?  This would affect when I enroll and the order I plan to take the course.  

Thanks!
May 19, 2008, 3:48 a.m.
0 votes/
They call you every day asking you to register...
May 2, 2008, 5:30 a.m.
0 votes/
Angela,
  I work at the school, in addition to trying to finish up my Masters in Human Services.  We do in fact accept all EdS credits from accredited schools, in the same fashion that an AA will roll into a BS, etc.  Feel free to contact me at bplarkins@liberty.edu to find out more regarding the program!
April 24, 2008, 10:47 p.m.
0 votes/
Did anybody get an EDD at Liberty? I have an EdS in instructional technology, and I am considering pursuing an EDD at either Liberty or NorthCentral. I have already been accepted by NCU, but they have only transferred 12 out of 27 EdS credit hours. Liberty claims to accept all EdS credits,as long as the school is accredited. Did anybody manage to transfer all of the EdS credits towards an EdD at Liberty?
Feb. 26, 2008, 2:48 p.m.
-2 votes/
Liberty University has been a great educational experience. I have completed a BS in Business Management and am finalizing a Masters in Management. I can not say any bad comments, I've loved the interaction, I've gotten great feedback, and I've had great interactions with other students in the group projects.

Liberty's DLP program offers 8 week semesters, allowing you place all your focus on 2 to 3 classes over 8 weeks instead of 4 to 6 classes over 16 weeks.
Dec. 28, 2007, 3:43 a.m.
-2 votes/
I love this university! The staff are great and very helpful.  I am currently working on my Master's in Counseling and found the program to be the best!

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Liberty University in any way.