Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Liberty University

  • Liberty University Reviews

    Ranking: #52
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: SACS & TRACS

3.2
180 Reviews
5 63 
4 34 
3 11 
2 33 
1 39 
0 0 

Liberty University Reviews:

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE PEOPLE

Criminal Justice - May 13, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am military, I attended Liberty University with expectation of receiving my MA in Professional Counseling after graduation. (which I intended to use to counsel veterans after they came out of the military) However, I called the University one day to enquire about some classes. The University rep informed me I was selected for verification, she then asked me to submit some documents to show proof of verification. I did. I then got a correspondent requesting the same proof be sent to them directly from the IRS. I did. I waited several weeks for a respond and when I did not get one, I called the university and was told I owe the school $6,000.00 and until I pay, I will not be allowed to continue my degree with them nor will they release my grades to another university. I tried talking to financial aid on numerous occasions, constantly checking for answers, with no success. Finally one day, I called and they said I took too long to submit the information that they requested. Therefore, I am no longer able to attend the university unless I pay the 6 grand. 3 years later I got a letter stating that Liberty University is going thru an amnesty period, from date x to x date. Requirements were to just send in your deficiency that caused the suspension and you will be pardoned. After several phone calls and the submission of my proof of the cause of my verification (as per LU). (ensuring that I stayed within the suspension date for the amnesty) I was told that it is too late to submit proof. Also, 3 years ago at the time of me waiting for a respond from the university, my husband was also attending LU, one day when he called them to ask a question, they told him that he was chosen for verification and he needed to show proof of income, he did, several weeks later, they told him that they will be needing it directly from the IRS, he did. When my husband called to follow up. Because he was trying to meet the deadline for registration, LU told him sorry, but he was too late for registration and for him to try for the next following registration. LU did the same thing to him for "FOUR" semester registrations, and will not let him register. Now six years later, they called me yesterday and stated that I was being recorded and they are trying to collect their $6000. You know what? I agree with the previous post(s) that states that we should not be silence and let LU do us like this, a class act law suit will be in order. I am talking to my attorney and we will be suing Liberty University for the hard time they have caused me being down range (overseas deployment) it was very difficult for me, and Liberty University added to that stress. LIBERTY UNIVERSITY ARE A BUNCH OF CROOKS WITH NO RESPECT TO CHRISTIANITY WHAT-SO-EVER. They know dollar signs, not GOD! For that they should be ashamed.631-334-7622

Was this review helpful?

37 of 49 people found the following review helpful

Stay away !

Criminal Justice - April 2, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The enrollment process process will say one thing, but the actual classes are far from the statements given during enrollment. The Bible is IMPOSED in all classes, to the point of being oppressive. If you do not subscribe to an Evangelical Christian "worldview," then your work will be graded with less than an unbiased review. They preach Christian "values" (whatever in the hell that may be), yet lie like the devil.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Why did I waste my Time

Criminal Justice - April 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Financial aid office at Liberty University has been the worse. I was sent in for fraud verification at Liberty University Financial aid office this was fine they requested a lot of paper work and I sent in everything they requested then the office started telling me something is wrong with your paperwork that me and another student used the same notary to notarize our paperwork accused me of signing the paperwork out of the presence of a Notary. I was thinking by this time this process is really much like harassment and they are accusing me doing stuff I wasn't doing. I was getting frustrate by now so now I started to request to speak with someone that could help me resolve this and get my aid put back on my account but no one would ever give me a number to call or they would give me the run around. When I would email the Faredflag or the Financial aid office they would say check your account and act like I was bothering them mind you I was trying to get my grant restored to pay for my classes and books. No matter what I said how I pleaded for help no one tried to help me once I completed the process well thought I completed the process sent in all they requested they sent in out a request for me to refile my taxed for 2013 I already sent them everything I had sent the Irs matter a fact it all came straight from the Irs website. I am a single mom just trying to better myself and because of this Schools Financial aid office and the Lack of people willing to communicate with you effectively to solve issues I am now looking for another school to complete classes I already took with them and I owe the school 11,0000 that I can not afford to pay because they took away my chance at a education I was six classes away from my Criminal Justice Degree. I feel Like I have been let down especially for a school that say there standards are built from God Christian School Speechless at this point.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 48 people found the following review helpful

Best Learning Experience

Criminal Justice - June 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Liberty University Online since Summer 2013. I have had great success in all my classes taken. The instructors are a blessing. I have had no problem with financial aid or any other department. My only regret is not doing this sooner! The best part is that the Bible is involved in every course. This is the best way to learn!!!

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Be wary

Criminal Justice - April 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed a couple degrees at Liberty and the only reason I go back is because it's incredibly cheap. They give veterans a 50% tuition discount and waive the $175 "technology fee". But I will say that Liberty tries really hard to be all things to all people. What I mean is that on one side they want to be known as a Baptist institution. The Seminary changed their name several years ago from Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary, to Liberty Theological Seminary, and two years later changed it back again. They realized that having "baptist" in the name limited their audience. But then realized that most people already know they are baptist, so that just made Baptists upset. At the same time, I've had professors who were Roman Catholic (in other areas). They do NOT publicize this, but they do hire them as instructors. This leads to an inconsistent theology, and the professors will tell you where they disagree (if they are even in the course) with the pre-canned notes. It can be hit and miss with instructors. Some are great, others are a major waste of time and money. Remember, they operate of off volume. Tuition low, numbers high. This means you can get some real morons in the courses with you because they will accept nearly ANYONE into the online program. Even people who are not prepared. They take the money and devalue MY degree by watering it down with idiots. I wish I'd realized this before hand, but at least you have the option. They also aren't forthcoming with regard to safety statistics if you are on campus. Go here and check out the category for murder (Yes there was a murder on campus) http://www.liberty.edu/media/1370/2010%20SAFETY%20&%20Security%20Brochure.pdf but then go the the next year's here http://www.liberty.edu/media/1370/2011_SAFETY__Security_Brochure_%282%29.pdf and OOPS conveniently left off. Sure I'd like to hide a murder on campus too... but it makes me wary and wonder what else they aren't being truthful about!

Was this review helpful?

27 of 39 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experience!

Criminal Justice - February 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Liberty University online for nearly a year now, and I absolutely love it! Liberty offers a variety of online courses, so there is never any worry that classes will fill too quickly. Furthermore, I have changed my majors so many times, that I am always bugging the advising department, registrar's office, etc. Every single employee that I have ever interacted with is wonderful! They are helpful and always know the answers to my questions. To everyone who is writing negative reviews, grow up and face the facts: online education is NOT easy. You have to work for your grade and take extra steps. Furthermore, quit complaining about it being a Christian school; it clearly states that in the school's mission, website, etc. Nobody forces you to go there or to follow those beliefs. Liberty is merely teaching from a Christian perspective. I highly recommend this institution to anyone who works full-time (like me) and needs flexibility in regards to their education.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

GREAT SCHOOL!!!!

Criminal Justice - September 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Absolutely no complaints here. I am entering my last year at Liberty Univresity and have nothing negative to say about it. They inject Christian values into every class. The instruction is top notch and everyone has always been very helpful when I run into something I need help with, including financial aid, registration and class room intruction.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Best out there for online degree

Criminal Justice - July 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is great if you need a degree to advance your career. Christian principles are integrated into all of the classes. I am a junior and will be completing my BA in Paralegal Studies next year. I do reccomend taking your basic classes and possibly some electives at a community college before transferring to save some cash. Many community colleges are offering classes online. The classes run about $900 each and then you have a to buy a few books for each class. THey order the books through MBS direct which are completely over priced. For 5 classes this semester, my books were going to cost over $800. I looked for them on Amazon in used but acceptable condition and got everything I needed for $200. There is a lot of reading and writing involved, but you will get faster and better as your courses progress. Another thing i do like is that each semester has 2 8 weeks terms. So I will complete 3 classes in 8 weeks and the next 8 weeks I will complete 2. It gives you a greater sense of accomplishment. Also, they make applying, registering for classes, and financial aid questions very easy when using their chat live feature on their home page. They are so eager to get you enrolled. I submitted my application and 30 minutes later a man called to talk to me and tell me what my next steps were. This is the way to go if you want that degree but cannot or dont want to be a traditional on campus daytime student.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Awesome!

Criminal Justice - July 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my bachelor's degree with Liberty. I started with 51 transfer credits and just finished my 121th (yeah I know there's an extra credit). I am also a military spouse so Liberty has been amazing with making my schooling affordable due to the Pell Grant as well. All of my classes have taught me quite a bit. Yes, there are religion courses. It is a Christian university. Would I recommend Liberty to someone, absolutely.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Stay away from LUO

Criminal Justice - May 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am attending LUO and wished I had never even considered it. Why? The other posts in which describe all of the terrible issues there are SPOT ON in every aspect,i.e., faculty members are rude and not knowledgeable, every time you confront them with lying to you they pass the buck, professors will not even consider a quiz was miss-graded by a software program, takes almost two weeks to hear from a professor, financial holds money beyond federal law limits, etc. LOU should be shut down. Think more than twice about this school. Oh, I have a 4.0 so don't think I can't handle an online environment!!!

Was this review helpful?

27 of 42 people found the following review helpful

It has been a nightmare!

Criminal Justice - October 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My son has been an on-line student of Liberty University for two years. He needs 20 credits to graduate but the financial aid and its supervisors have been nothing but joke! Semester after semester myself, my husband and my son have spoken with the financial aid reps and their supervisors in order to register for classes. Each rep and supervisor gives us different erroneous information. It is unbelievable! This has caused delay and so far our son has lost 3 semesters due to misinformation. When you request for supervisors, you must wait for 3 days to get a call. You normally have to keep calling because they don't call you back. You have to repeat the process. My husband had to write a letter to the president of the school but it never got answered. The school has become too big and is no longer people oriented. When calling and get placed on hold, there is a message that announced Liberty as being trainers of champions for Christ. This is a joke! They cannot even get their paper work correct. Loans get delayed or lost. This is a shame for a Christian University. Their testimony is very poor. They are very incompetent.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 37 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful Experience.

Criminal Justice - August 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I researched many different institutions and never received as much help from the University from the enrollment counselor to the financial aid department, to the teachers that you deal with every day. The 8 week format works great as you can focus on fewer classes for a shorter period of time. I recommend Liberty to anybody who asks.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Frustration, just frustration

Criminal Justice - November 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am writing this review for my wife. She was attending Dallas Baptist University and loved it but tuition became higher that her financial aid. Enter Liberty, which gave a great discount since I am a veteran. The price is outstanding but the quality is terrible. Often one is forced into 8 week sessions with description stating don't take another class with this one as it is so rigorous. That means six hours a semester. The professors have on more than one occasion misrepresented a differing Theological view. It is one thing to say I don't agree, it is another to outright misrepresent the other side, which they do. The professors rarely get back with you and have poor instructions. Also, as a rule them don't explain why one gets the grade that they do. She has been going to LU for two years now and every time she calls to speak with an adviser, it is a different person who does not know the answer. It is safe say that she has no adviser and must figure it out on her own. As for contacting the loans companies about financial aid and her continuing to be registered, the department seems to have amnesia and tell the loan companies the she is not in school even after finishing one 8 week session and starting another. This has caused a lot of problems with her credit but we have worked it out. If we were in the position to go to another school we would but as of now it is best to stay with them but given another chance, no way would she go to LU.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 22 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Liberty University in any way.