Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Northcentral University

  • Northcentral University Reviews

    Ranking: #60
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

3.0
283 Reviews
5 66 
4 69 
3 34 
2 42 
1 72 
0 0 

Northcentral University Reviews:

just wondering outloud

Psychology - September 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have one more course to complete a MA in psychology. I have been happy with most instructors and material. I think some of the books were written for BA level however. What I really want to know is if my degree is going to be worth the paper it is written on. Is it going to be accepted as proper credentials to teach?

Was this review helpful?

5 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Very Pleased

Psychology - June 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I applied and was accepted to two traditional brick and mortar universities right out of undergrad and I chose to attend NCU instead because I could do the work around my full time job and the cost was much lower than either of the other schools I considered. I am a very independent learner and have no problem completing the assignments on time and find the assignments clear and the course materials very helpful for every assignment. I have 3 classes left before I finish my master's degree in health psychology. I have been very please with my academic advisers as well. I have had three of them in the last year that I have been taking classes but each of them were very helpful and responsive. A lot of the bad reviews I have read seem to focus on the cost, unfair grades, or bad mentors. The cost is very reasonable compared to most universities, both online and traditional. It is not only normal for tuition to increase each year, but expected. This happens everywhere. I have only had one bad mentor experience, but I just kept in contact with my adviser and gave the mentor exactly what she requested in the feedback and comments. I would say that NCU requires more work than a traditional university each week because you are required to produce something every week to show your understanding of the material instead of simply showing up and having a discussion or completing three assignments over the course of a semester. I will say that the mentor is not a professor. They are there for questions regarding the assignment and to assess your knowledge of a given topic. They are not there to present the material to you each week. I would not recommend NCU to anyone who has trouble learning on their own or who is not familiar with word processing and presentations. For me, this was exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Bullshit University

Psychology - September 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended this school thinking I will be getting a my Ph.D online back in May 2012. Well my first class was great but I kept having issues with financial aid and kept getting bills and the run around.Well my second class started I could not ever get my professor to email me back pertaining to assisgnments. Well as you know I kept contacting my advisor/mentor which he was no help at all. So ended up withdrawing from that class because I was struggling and was asking for assistace from the professor but never got a response. When I finished the first course I went on and withdrew from the University overall. My experience with this university was terrible and if anyone was to ask me what do I think about attending this University I would tell them to pick another school PLEASE. Well a month later I got a $3000 bill saying that I owe them for the class I withdrew from. I never got follow ups regarding this matter and plus I wanted them to clear this bill because this was not fault. As a student I went over and beyond to prevent myself from withdrawling from the course but I could not get no assistance from my professor, the student PROVOST, and my advisor/mentor. PLEASE DO NOT APPLY TO NORTHCENTRAL UNIVERSITY ITS NOT A REAL UNIVERSITY.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Run for the hills....

Psychology - September 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

NCU is big on profit but not on engaging the student and teaching you anything. The “Mentors” are a huge joke. If, you want to pay outrageous tuition for a self -taught education this is the school for you. NCU what a joke, they give all online schools a bad name.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Good Experience

Psychology - June 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

NCU continues to be a positive experience. Yes, in 8 graduate classes I have had both great and not-so-great mentors. One was awful; that happens everywhere. I believe that is probably a common experience. Many people are complaining about the cost. Degrees are expensive. Others are dissatisfied with the lack of support. At this level, students should be independent learners with the ability to do research and write appropriately. The activities are pretty straight-forward. Online education is not for everyone. It's a known fact that online learning is difficult. If you need someone to hold your hand through the course, this program is not for you.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Going well.

Psychology - January 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I read alot of the bad reviews, yet I don't find that I have this experience. Yes the work is hard. I appreciate the different types of assignments to turn in. They are not all papers and they do relate to actual experience. I am on my 5th class and this is my half-way point. I am sad to read about the negative experiences, however mine has been positive.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Some Mentors Great Others not so much.....

Psychology - May 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my 4th class at NCU. The mentors I had prior to this class were fabulous. Although one was a little too critical, they provided feedback above and beyond what I expected. The feedback was insightful, thought provoking, and very helpful. Unfortunately, like anything else, some do no respond in a timely manner and when they do their feedback is entirely format-based. Hopefully, there will be more positive experiences in store. I must add that the tremendous increase in tuition was stunning. They should have been easier on current students.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Stay Away

Psychology - April 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Since Rockbridge bought the school a couple of years ago, the school has been in a steady decline. Policies were being implemented constantly, with no warning, and no grandfathering. Tuition went way up, and support for students went way down. The program is fine until you begin the dissertation process, where it becomes a nightmare. There is NO support, NO proper feedback, NO proper mentoring. The professors play the "resubmit" game endlessly, causing students to continue paying for additional courses, often taking over a year without allowing progress. If you look at the dissertations that were approved, there is huge inconsistency in quality. Many students have invested all their time and money, only to be told "time's up, you lose". Meanwhile there has been no guidance or communication from so-called mentors. It is strictly for-profit, and its not the students who profit.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Mixed, and Getting Worse

Psychology - April 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I LOVED this school when I started the PhD program. I used to be its biggest ambassador- I told everyone about how great it was. I'd done brick/mortar grad programs for several years, but left after my children were born and needed something more flexible. NCU's PhD program seemed to be just the ticket. And for quite awhile, it was. My classes were overall rather good. Mentors varied, but so do instructors anywhere. Mostly they were thought-provoking, responsive, and I learned from the assignments. I had a 3.7 gpa, which was roughly the same as my gpa in the B&M APA psych PhD program I had been in. Then, about a year ago, things changed *radically*. Administration changed. The "guaranteed tuition" I'd had since paying in full at the beginning? GONE. No one in finance or administration would reply to my emails asking why they weren't honoring their agreement. The dissertation process is simply awful. I'd heard complaints, but I thought I was pretty good at working with committees, so it would be ok. WRONG. Turnaround times? A joke! I've waited *weeks* for replies the handbook promises would take days. No accountability, either, not from the Dean, registrar, or review board. I'm strongly considering calling in third parties to address grievances. Students in the discussion rooms and chat groups are also experiencing the same. It's sad- I brought two people into the school as learners, but from here on I am going to recommend against, rather than for, enrollment at NCU.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Course content good and challenging; administration and Dean TERRIBLE

Psychology - April 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The materials and curriculm are challenging, and in-line with many brick and mortar institutions. The administration and money grabbing are problematic,however. In my case, I completed half of the PhD level courses and took a leave lasting only a few months consequent to the death of my mother, and another family member. I was then informed that I would have to commence the new program due to my absence and that I was required to complete introductory graduate writing level courses. What the hell? I've completed half of the NCU courses with a 3.7 GPA and I require writing courses? My advice is to stay away.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

RUN BABY RUN

Psychology - February 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is terrible! It is a lot of busy work and no real content. As soon as I signed up, tuition increased by $300. Although it is suppose to be a flexible schedule, it is really too much to complete before the time is up. They simply throw the workbook at you and you have to try to do it on your own.Financial aid is a mess as they force you to sign up for the next class before you are ready just to receive your financial aid. Run Baby Run!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Get your education elsewhere

Psychology - February 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very difficult to get in contact with advisors. Not much accountability between advisors and accounting. Too much finger pointing. In general just not very focused on problem solving. The classes don't seem to mesh with traditional schools, and several mandatory non-essential classes that no other school would give transfer credit for. I have had a few good instructors, but most of them treat class like a paper mill. All we do is write papers, and typically with no other students in a virtual class, it is a very lonely, boring way to get an education. Please review all your options before making a commitment here. I wish I had not been in such a rush!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

So far so good

Psychology - February 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am working on my PhD and am about to begin my 4th course. Having achieved my first two degrees in traditional universities, I was not sure what to expect. So far I am quite satisfied. The pace is quick, the work load is moderately heavy, and is everything I expected from a grad level course. I read some of the previous reviews and I was surprised at some of them. If the student is not disciplined or needs to be coddled and hand-held, then this is not the school for you... but then a traditional school will not hold your hand either... If you are in a graduate course, they expect you to act accordingly.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Too Far to Quit but Disappointed

Psychology - December 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall the program has not been horrible, but a recent experience with a horribly underqualified teacher has honestly left me frustrated with the program. She provided very little feedback except to give invalid APA edits that neither matched the method she desired nor any other writing standard currently published. Additionally, the new policy changes that have been implemented as a result of their going public are disappointing at best. The school has lost sight of their students in their lust for more money. I must say that my first year was beautiful, with attentive professors and a strong educational program. Yet, I have seen a drastic downfall in their standards even in the last 3 months. And military... stay away! They are no longer the best school for you...they've added too much to their fees and they refuse to work the schedule to accomodate deployments and other issues. Individual teachers help to quell the problems to an extent, but the majority are nearly nonexistent in the mentorship and help as of the last year. I'm only 2 classes from completion and as such am too invested to quit. But if you have a choice.. go elsewhere. Or at least wait a few years and let them figure things out, because the school has lost itself in the race for money.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

beware

Psychology - December 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started NCU because it was the only online PhD program in Psychology that I could afford. It is a big deal as a working mom to start school after 10 years of being out of school. My family went through many changes to make it possible for me. A month into the first class, they tuition went up $600 PER CLASS!!!!!!!! Are you kidding! I can no longer afford the program and I am left to drop-out. Also, it is nearly impossible to get a hold of anyone at the university once you have actually started your classes. And the financial aid department is more than rude.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Don't wast your money and time

Psychology - November 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I entered NCU with the idea of having a mentor to help. I made the first class with an A and plenty of support from the mentor. Second class resulted in an F, with the mentor making it a point to fail me. My end grade was a 71, a 73 is required to pass. I sent the last assiagnment in, with a note, stating "if there is anything else I can do to pass this class let me know and I will do". The mentor never responded back. I appealed the grade because the mentor who graded did not follow the NCU grading rubric. The chair denied my appeal saying "Mr. Cole did not incorporate feedback from the mentor". I had one assaignment that I re-did and the mentor lowered my grade after stating "the paper was more focused". Please save your money, stay away!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

So far, so good!

Psychology - August 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am completing my third graduate-level Psychology course through NCU and I am very pleased. Having attended other graduate schools - traditional and distance - NCU is exceeding my expectations! The course assignments are interesting and challenging ... and the 1:1 feedback is great. I greatly appreciate the flexible timelines and the not needing to "post-a-response" to other learners (as in many others schools). Being a college-level instructor of 11 years, I am impressed with the educational process.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Disappointing

Psychology - August 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently quit NCU. After several mentors who didn't know APA from XYZ I was ready to start the research classes when the $2400 dissertation fee was thrown in on the next class. Never mind that you don't have anyone to ask questions of concerning the dissertation, just pay the money and hope you get through. Spoke via email with several students farther along than me that stated they would have quit as well except they had too much money invested. My academic advisor, my 3rd one in 2 years, was as helpful as she could be. I feel sorry for her having to be the point person in trying to answer for the school. NCU has made it very clear that money is their number one priority. Being the only completely online Phd program gives them a captured audience with plenty to continue to enroll as others leave. Good luck to those that remain.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Not what it seems

Psychology - June 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is all about the money. Very poor screening of faculty and committee members. Once you've spent a very large sum of money they drop the $2400 disseration charge on you 5 classes prior to being able to any research, ask queations, etc. Constant retake of classes due to faculty and dissertation committee blunders or apathy. You spend an awful lot of money for little in return. For those of you that had too much invested to quit, best of luck.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

8

Psychology - May 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do not understand all the negative reviews. I have taken classes at this level at other schools and Northcentral is expecting more from their students. It shouldn't be easy people....if it were, everyone would get one.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Northcentral University

Psychology - December 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Completing your dissertation is no picnic-anywhere! Perhaps more so at a distance learning program as you have to provide everything yourself! Concept, apparatus, subjects, proposal to IRB etc. It took me two years after completing my course requirements with numerous submissions and revisions. Yet it is an unique opportunity to focus your interests and pursue them. NCU will afford you as much support as possible but you must suffer the process. Earning your Ph.D. is a difficult and demanding undertaking not recommended for those who are satisfied with getting through their courses. If you decide to go the NCU distance learner route be prepared to surmount many hurdles but it will enhance your self-efficacy more than anything else I can think of. All the best.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

No Bad Reviews

Psychology - June 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Unfortunately, very few accurate reviews reflecting objective experience are ever posted here. I doubt that this one will make it, either. Thus, I will make it brief. No one completing the Phy PhD program within the last 6 months of 2008 will give a faverable assessment of this school, namely because no one will be allowed to graduate. All dissertations are being withheld. I wish this truth could make it to those with interest. Getting through the NCU courses isn't that difficult. Getting through the dissertation process is impossible. Don't sign up, it's a scam

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

BEWARE! No one Gets Passed Dissertation

Psychology - June 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If I had been writing this review about a month ago, I would have reiterated all the positive, sunshine comments I see posted. Unfortunately, NCU has really CHANGED. I finally arrived at my first dissertation class. I've been enrolled for over a month, just waiting for approval. The process was straightforward, at first: the dissertation was approved by all committee members. The disastrous shuffling around of staff, however, caused my dissertation to sit for about 20 days before it was assigned to a Reviewer. After getting relatively quick approval from all committee members, my Reviewer, basically told me, in no uncertain terms, to start my dissertation over. I will have to create 7 new instruments do pilot tests and change all my hypotheses and add several more. In general terms she has made it impossible to get my dissertation approved. Her recommendations would take years to complete. I heard from my committee Chair that the NCU Reviewers are now stopping approval on all dissertations. My Concept Paper was approved. It supposedly had comments as to how I was supposed to make changes; however, I did not receive the paper due to technical "gliches" in the system (or at least that is what I was told). I'm wondering if anyone else is having difficulties getting their dissertation approved. I believe with the entire shake up at NCU, they will not be approving many dissertations in the future. They will, however, take your encourage you and guide you down the rosy path until they get all your money. I'm hoping to get a class action law suit started. Yes, if you have already graduated or have yet to get to your research classes, you probably think the world of NCU. But I'd like to see someone who has graduated within the last week to give a positive review. DO NOT ENROLL, it will take five years, but you will definitely be sorry!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Licensure

Psychology - March 31, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did a practicum through NCU to full a requirement for state certification in Substance Abuse Counseling. I'm considering doctoral work. Has anyone successfully licensed with a degree from NCU?

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Mixed Review

Psychology - March 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

An audit of all processes and programs related to the Ph.D. program in Psychology will show: (1) Weaknesses in the mentors backgrounds, knowledge, experience, and teaching capabilities. (2) Direct incompatibility regarding stated course requirements at NCU, the course fundamentals, core learning goals, and what is acceptable as a standard in the academic arena. The course outlines need to be updated and consistent. I have two graduate degrees, one of which is from a top ivy league school. What is required for course completion should match course description. In most cases it does not. (3) Mentor communication is very limited, even when it is requested or solicited. (4) Stay away from the major discussion areas as they contain so much erroneous (and silly) information. (5) The course work is not rigorous (very simple) and most points are lost or gained on APA style mistakes. APA style is important but quality content ranks higher in the real world. More challenges need to be incorporated. Most courses can be finished in six weeks, if feedback is timely(6) Clinical courses need more solid and up to date clinical training such as neuropsychology. This is what I have found so far. I hope this review is helpful and productive.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Answering concerns

Psychology - December 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would like to respond to concerns about "mentors" and their quality as instructors. In any college/university you will have good and bad instructors. It is the responsibility of the adult student to be an independent learner. This applies if you are sitting in a brick and mortar building....or taking classes by distance. In previous work at traditional schools, I have had classes that I felt were not as beneficial as others. I expect that to be the case at any school. Overall, I have been very satisfied with NCU. I should add that I work at a brick and mortar school. I believe NCU stacks up in every way.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great School. Excellent program

Psychology - February 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I researched a variety of online programs before deciding on NCU. I've been working in the field for almost 20 years and have a very busy schedule. This program challenged me to continue to expand my knowledge on my schedule (evenings/weekends) without the extra travel time spent travelling to a bricks and mortar instutution. The amount of work required initially shocked me but then again this is a masters program at an accredited university. Please don't waste your time on schools that are not regionally accredited or have been accredited by some bogus accrediting body. Do your homework. I have almost completed the program and the quality and variety of courses has been excellent. Some mentors have been better than others but I have had much worse, more disinterested professors, at 'normal' universities. I have been able to comprehensively study a particular specialty while completing several related courses and I have great confidence in the breadth and depth of knowledge I have about the subject. Great value education at a reasonable expense! I'd do it all again and wouldn't change a thing.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Northcentral University in any way.