Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Norwich University

  • Norwich University Reviews

    Ranking: #8
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: New England Association of Schools and Colleges

4.4
97 Reviews
5 57 
4 30 
3 5 
2 5 
1 0 
0 0 

Norwich University Reviews:

Great business-oriented IA program but very challenging

Information Assurance - June 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an information security professional with 20 years military and civilian experience who needed a Master's degree to lengthen and broaden my career-path. I considered several other programs including James Madison University, Northeastern University (my Alma Mater), and Carnegie Mellon University (former employer). All great programs but Norwich fit me best with a strong business management-focused information assurance program that is tailored to someone in the senior management ranks, or someone who wants to get there. Be forewarned, however, that the amount of work can be overwhelming. Norwich is a military academy and a strong work ethic and self-discipline are expected traits. Expect to spend 20-25 hours per week on this program over six eleven week seminars. This is a case-study based course where you are conducting and writing the studies using your employer as the subject. Expect to analyze real problems. Expect to write a 2500 word paper every two weeks, a 2000 word exam every three weeks and a 12,000-15,000 word end-of-seminar paper every eleven weeks. Excellent writing skills are necessary for success. A strong support structure at home is necessary if you have a family and a full-time job. I am self-employed and my work requires 40 weeks of travel annually. Seriously, 40 weeks. This program was flexible enough to fit into and around my obviously demanding schedule. Also expect excellent support from the university staff. The professors are top-notch and are recognized leading expert in their various fields. The MSIA support staff were always available, always helpful.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MS Business Continuity

Information Assurance - June 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Norwich is a not for profit University that employs professors who are professionals in the industry of study. The work load is intense. Don't even bother if you can't write graduate level essays each and every week for 11 weeks, several exams, a 10,000 word final project, and 1000's of words in discussions, and sometimes live participation conference calls. I've got an MBA before the internet even existed, and this MS was much more work intensive.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Norwich MISA program

Information Assurance - July 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Norwich MSIA program is a fantastic program. I entered the program with a technical background and lacked the security management skills. After completing the program I have accelerated my career. Currently, I am a Security director leading an entire organization's security program. Without the Norwich program I would still be the technical expert at my old company without the potential to advance into senior management.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Cream of the MSIA Crop

Information Assurance - May 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Norwich MSIA degree is a top-notch information assurance program from a management perspective. After conducting extensive research into graduate programs providing curricula in information assurance, security engineering and network security, I concluded the Norwich program was best suited for my particular interests and career development goals. Prior to beginning this degree I had more than 27-years of federal IT experience, with 12-years supporting various government information security programs. Therefore it was a prerequisite that the school I selected be recognized by the National Security Agency (NSA) and Department of Homeland Security (DHS) as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education (CAEIAE). Norwich meets this requirement. During the evaluation period I considered graduate degree programs Capitol College (MSIA), Capella University (MSIT), Norwich University (MSIA), and Southern Methodist University (MS in Security Engineering). Of course, this is after having quickly disqualified nine (9) other programs. I found the format of the MSIA program at Norwich University to be outstanding; it was well-structured and highly-flexible for the working Information Assurance professional (much appreciated), yet extremely demanding given the amount of weekly reading assignments, discussion topic postings, written essays, exams (from the C-level perspective), and seminar term paper. To be honest, the Norwich MSIA was the only program I found to have no disqualifiers: Capitol College – their program (completed two courses) was also in-tune with my education and career development objectives. However, there were too many synchronous online lectures that interfered with my job as an systems security engineer and program manager. While the program was somewhat more technical in nature, their courses adding little to my existing technical acumen and only lightly addressed security program management. Capella University – decent course content using asynchronous delivery; however the program focused too much on IT and not enough on security. I did not feel the program would add substantially to my IA acumen. Southern Methodist University - offers a solid graduate degree in Security Engineering through an “on site” partnership with my company. Unfortunately, their program focused way too much on Systems Engineering and not enough on Systems Security Engineering - and almost nothing on the security program management I am industry certified (CISM, CISSP-ISSEP, CAP) and have served in a variety of security management, security administration, and security engineering billets over the years. However, I have always preferred leading teams of security analysts, engineers, and IA professionals in order to meet specific business goals and objections. Clearly, the Norwich MSIA will help me achieve my professional goals by developing my information assurance knowledge, skills, and abilities.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MSIA: Worth Every Penny

Information Assurance - April 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great program with expert faculty members and a staff that stays very involved with the students all throughout the program. I have 15 years experience in the industry and I learned a LOT from the professors and my fellow students. Every seminar was directly applicable to my work and I find that I am still constantly referencing my MSIA work when doing my job. Everything is included in the tuition so there are no hidden costs and residency week was not only educational, but a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent, Challenging Program

Information Assurance - April 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My current career field is Information Assurance, specifically an engineer in the profession with a vast technical background. I researched Norwich extensively based on quality, reputation, and the program's professor. This program is recognized as a Center for Academic Excellence by the National Security Agency, the professor's material is widely published and recognized across the industry, and the school's reputation is impeccable. In fact, alumni of other prestigious institutions recognize the reputation of Norwich: every West Point alumni I have spoken with has a very high opinion of Norwich. The real value in the MSIA program is the material it provides: concepts, principles and framework associated with Information Assurance. It is most assuredly big picture stuff, and for those who expect it to be a technical exercise in hacking will be woefully disappointed. This program is designed for the overall science of Information Assurance, to include its foundations, laws, policy making, risk analysis, and organizational concepts. It provides methodologies and strategic value vital to a Chief Information Security Officer, a strategic planner, or anyone otherwise responsible for subject matter expertise in IA. Technical skills are important to know, but they are only part of the picture when it comes to the total IA experience. I highly recommend the Norwich MSIA program for anyone who wishes to pursue IA as a profession. You will be writing (a LOT), and you will be challenged and forced to defend your research, but what you learn here will well prepare you for the real world, whether it be the boardroom, a government program, or consultancy.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Worth the price of admission

Information Assurance - June 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having graduated in 2007 I have many good things to say about the program: -They take work experience over the ability to pass a entrance exam (GMAT or GRE) which quickens the application process and ensures you have the proper knowledge to hit the ground running. -It can be completed in as little as 18 months (if you start in December). -Your writing skills will improve drastically during the first session (or at least mine did). Yes, this is not a technical degree. You won't learn how to create buffer overflows or configure a firewall, rather it deals with Information Assurance principals and learning how to protect data from more of a management level. The program is divided up into six semesters and each class is 11 weeks long. Weekly participation is mandatory along with weekly papers. At the end of each class, a final paper is required, using your company (in most situations) as a case study. You will make recommendations to your boss on how the company may improve their security, based on what you learned in the class. This can be a bear as most of my papers were in the 20-25 page range. Overall I am very happy that I decided to obtain the degree. It opened my eyes and allowed me to see more of the "big picture" in regards to security. Going into the program I was not sure about how I would like the online experience. However starting in December (when it is cold and snowy where I live) allowed me to get into a routine and figure out what needed to be done and when. That way when the weather became warmer I knew what I had to do and how many days (not many) I could get away from the computer and have fun. Plus, you didn't have to spend an hour or more commuting to class and back. When you log off, you're already home. The instructors and staff are always willing to help out with any questions/problems and you will enjoy residency week and the campus for graduation. Just hope you enjoy climbing steps. There are a LOT of them.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MSIA worthwhile!

Information Assurance - June 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am thrilled that I received my MSIA from Norwich. After receiving the degree, I went to work for a government contracting company and almost doubled my previous salary by having the MSIA. After leaving that company, I recently started work with a State agency and was able to get a high-level job and a much greater salary than I would have without the MSIA and the previous experience I gained because of it. I would highly recommend this program to anyone wanting to better their career and education.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Norwich MSIA

Information Assurance - June 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished the MSIA course work in November '07. Completed the week long residency capstone last week. This was an important piece in solidifying my relationship with Norwich. Residency week is truely an experience in and of itself. The Norwich MSIA program has been an exceptional experience. As a health care IT professional, it is important to maintain infosec knowledge and skills to be able implement and sustain a sound information security program to protect the privacy of patient and employee records. The Norwich MSIA program provided solid resources and instructors to help me with this endeavor. Working a flexible schedule, the online aspect of the Norwich MSIA program allowed me to coordinate studies and assignments and still make submission deadlines on time, even while traveling. The instructors were amazing. As experienced and well known professionals in the field of IA, I couldn't ask for more. Some of my instructors included Dr. Peter Stephenson, Sanford Sherizen, Rebecca Herold, and Padgett Peterson. Certainly some well known experts in the field. All interacted with my cohort and provided excellent feedback throughout each seminar. Any skepticism I had early on was removed through a little research on NU. Of course, living close by, I was very familiar with the university. As a very prestigious institute, well known throughout the world, and an NSA center of academic excellence in IA, it just made sense for me. The case study approach allowed a smooth implementation of much needed security programs at my organization. The program and support staff were always responsive, helpful, and understanding throughout. I would highly recommend this program.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

You can't do much better than this

Information Assurance - June 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was already a sitting CSO/CISO of a financial services firm when I sisgned up for this program; unlike other, I took this program for long-term personal development versus professional development. That being said, I was extremely impressed with the course content, format, material, and foci. Everything taught during the course was both relevant to the practicalities of daily CSO life and provided practical perspectives on major security issues facing us today. If you wish to understand what it means to be a CISO and prepare for it in advance -- you NEED to go through this program

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MSIA

Information Assurance - June 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As the very first class in the very first cohort (class 1 of '04) and now an Adjunct professor for this very course, I can say without question that there is no finer program. The information gleaned from the MSIA premitted me to identify areas of concern within the Department of Energy, which caused across the Department changes to ensure our information. Having taught at other colleges I can also say that they all pale in comparison to Norwich. The instruction was then and continues to be now some of the most challenging of any institute of higher learning I have ever been associated with. Ask the University what their rate of success is with students who take the CISSP after completing the program. I Dare You!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Is ok

Information Assurance - June 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My feelings are mixed about the program. Understand this is not a technically challenging program. Academically speaking it is a little more challenging but falls short of a typical graduate level degree in terms of any rigorous academics. The instructors did not adhere to the same writing standards or in some cases were not critical enough. Overall the program is just ok but could use some improvement. It is a well balanced introduction to information assurance issues at best.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Norwich University MSIA Program

Information Assurance - March 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is because of Norwich University that I am a Chief Information Security Officer for a bank. The program prepares you from a business perspective, which is where security belongs. In addition, the course work is very challenging. Expect to be challenged. I can't say enough about the program, the quality of the teachers and the institution's rich heritage.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Norwich MSIA

Information Assurance - March 25, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the MSIA program at Norwich in June of 2007. When choosing a program I had several criteria that were important to me. They were that the program be a NSA Center of Excellence, that the program be flexible enough to fit my schedule of working full time and raising a family, and that each student be graded individually (no group assignments/grades). I looked at many different Universities and Colleges. I interviewed many different people and spoke with the heads of each program. I was very impressed with Dr Michel Kabay and the vision he had for Norwich’s program. This vision coupled with well respected and knowledgeable facility such as Peter Stephenson, Gary Bridges, and Michael Miora sealed it for me. While I was accepted at several institutions I chose Norwich. While there are many laudable aspects of Norwich’s program, the one that was most valuable to me was the cohort system. This system combines the best aspects of working in groups while grading people as individuals. The members of my cohort became very close friends. We challenged and pushed each other through the program. This isn’t an easy program. While I entered the program with a decent amount of experience and industry certifications, I still found myself working 15 to 20 hours a week on the material. The course work challenged me to consider multiple points of view and operate outside my comfort zone. I learned so much and in the process not only did I become more knowledgeable in my chosen field but I became a better person. If you are seriously considering a graduate degree in Information Assurance I would strongly urge you to explore the opportunities at Norwich University.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Career Move for IA Professionals

Information Assurance - February 27, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Norwich University Master of Science in Information Assurance (MSIA) is an outstanding IA advanced degree program. My big selling point on the university itself was that Norwich was a well established "brick and mortar" school first, then added an Internet degree program. They already had a well established and respected reputation and, knowing that reputation was on the line, created an outstanding online degree program. Contrast this with "no name" start-up universities that have no real campus or tradition. The degree program is designed to teach students with an IT background a wide range of IA principles. Those that are looking for a technical program - this one is not for you (though I believe Norwich has added a technical track elective seminar) - this is for those that want to manage the technical people, which is what most advanced degrees are all about. A technical background is helpful, though. This program was a great value for my money and the graduation week really brought it all together and makes you feel more of a part of something special - unlike the no-name Internet-based programs that simply mail you your diploma. I highly recommend Norwich to anyone who wants to advance their IA career and broaden their IA knowledge!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MSIA - Norwich

Information Assurance - February 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Separate yourself from the crowd -- get a degree from a University that will mean something. Not that others won’t but there sure seem to be some diploma mills out there. I have been approached (more than once) by someone saying, "You're a Norwich graduate?" It's a good feeling -- the school is thought of highly within the military (I don't know about the civilian side). Anyway, the cost is high, the quality is high, and the time you'll have to put in is about 10-20 hrs per week. I loved the graduation! Except they need AC on campus in the dorm and in the graduation hall -- it was sweltering and I was told this wasn't the first time a heat wave hit at the wrong time in Vermont. I learned a lot and the staff was EXCELLENT. The teachers were good but each had their own style so you would have to readjust from term-to-term-to-term. It was hard getting used to each teacher’s likes, dislikes, and points of emphasis. There is a LOT of writing. Don't worry if you are a poor writer because by the end of the program, if you put in the work and get your papers in early, you will not be a poor writer any longer. They REALLY work with you on your writing. The work is not too tough...there is just a lot of it. Lots of reading and writing and analyzing. I just think it is a perfect Master's degree. Try to prepare for the CISSP at the same time you are doing your school work. Easy for me to say (I didn't/couldn't) but I wish I had. With the MSIA coursework and one of the CISSP self-study books, you should be ready for the CISSP by course end (or so I'm told). I am preparing for the exam now and the MSIA sure gives you a big leg-up. Anyway, I have ZERO regrets about going to Norwich to attain a Master of Science in Information Assurance. The degree and school actually mean something. Remember the old adage; you get out what you put in...time, money, and reputation. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding INFOSEC graudate education

Information Assurance - August 26, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Norwich University Masters of Science in Information Assurance (MSIA) program is an excellent graduate degree program. The program itself has been awarded the National Security Agency's coverted Center of Excellence status as a provider of quality Information Assurance (Information System Security) education. It is an 18 month program that has both online as well as a Residency component. The curriculum is designed to map somewhat to the CISSP requirements however many found that this was not enough to allow them to pass the exam solely on the school's training. However, any student of this program will be able to claim: 1. graduation from a recognized brick-and-mortar university with an established historical background, 2. a very good understanding of modern (but not current) information system security methodologies (some areas were lacking), 3. an EXTREMELY supportive faculty and staff from the Dean on down to the Program Director to most of the adjuncts, 4. the greatest benefit is the very strong bonds a student develops with their fellow students who come a a wide variety of fields within the industry. I cannot stress enough the quality of the education and more importantly the attention you will receive from the faculty and staff. Although there are program changes in materials and structuring on the horizon, almost everyone in my graudating class felt that this decision was the right one. Despite what you may balk at (many felt the cost of the program being the biggest problem), consider the amount of seat-time in regular attendance brick-and-mortar university, the speed the program moves you through and the quality of the education you are getting. There are strict demands; it is a regimented military university where honor and respect is demanded if not expected so standards and conduct is expected as well as inspected.

Was this review helpful?

Very High Quality

Information Assurance - August 25, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Norwich School of Graduate Study staff in general is incredible. Topics are primarily management in nature, if your looking for a HIGHLY technical security program you will probably be disappointed. The intent is to train cyber-security managers and teach people to think deductively. Emphasis is on writing and thoughtful expression. If you do not want to venture out of the server room, you should probably consider another program. They will not let you slide by. They do not tolerate plagerism, more than one student in my cohort was expelled when caught using other's work as their own. One criticism, more than one or two exam questions during the program prove to be wrong. Students end up challenging incorrect exam questions on every exam; however, they will likely not grant your challenge and you can still pass with honors in spite of this. Program should do a much better job of doing quality assurance on the tests since some of these wrong questions are blatently wrong and contradict the assigned study materials. Once completed, you are considered a fully equal graduate with any other Norwich grad, whether civilian undergrad or Corps of Cadets. Excellent alumni. Legitmate IA program, worth the $30,000+

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Norwich University in any way.