Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Empire State College, State University of New York

3.1
95 Reviews
5 21 
4 33 
3 9 
2 9 
1 23 
0 0 

 

Empire State College, State University of New York Reviews:

DO NOT GO TO THIS COLLEGE

Bachelor of Science - June 4, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would not recommend ANYONE going to Empire State College. I transferred to this school after taking most of my Gen Ed classes at Kingsborough and Brooklyn College in the hopes that I could finish my degree while working because of my particular circumstances. My experience at this school has been nothing short of a disaster. To start, I have been at this school for four years when I should have completed it in 2 years. This is due to the fact that they assigned me the wrong "mentor" who messed up my academic degree plan and had me take classes that I did not need. It was only until later did I find out that he was not knowledgable in my academic area at the time (mathematics) but because he was in the science and technology field (science), the school thought that he would have the content knowledge to advise something he didn't know anything about. Second, I had to keep taking time off in and out of school because their financial aid department doesn't know how to calculate their financial aid budget. I paid my tuition through student loans so once you send it to the school, you think that everything will be ok moving forward. Not at this place. You send it to the school and then later before the semester starts, you find out at the last moment that you have some miscellaneous outstanding balance that can impede you from taking classes. Not professional. Thirdly, at all costs, I will not recommend taking their independent and especially their online classes because professors give you WAY too much work to complete that is atypical of a normal undergraduate course. In addition, depending on the professor that you get (which is not always your choice depending on what is available), you have professors that give you absolutely no help with the work if you need help, they don't take into account that some students have to work full-time and go to school full-time, they're slow to respond or give you your grades on time which can affect your financial aid if you receive it, and, from my understanding, there is no regulatory body that oversees the online studies so you can have one professor that gives you an astronomical amount of work to do and if you can't complete it, you will ultimately fail, which I believe is what the school ultimately wants you to do. They market on their website and through ads that the college is built around the working adults' life but in my experience, to me, it doesn't seem like the school is in the best interest of its students, it only seems to me that they are more concerned with taking the money out of students' pockets and putting them through a stupendous amount of administrative hurdle than it is about getting them to graduate on time and with the least of amount of debt possible. I really had high hopes for this college when I transferred back in 2013 but after going through all the problems that I have been through, I highly recommend that you find another school to complete your studies.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Unqualified instructors with low expectations

Bachelor of Science - October 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you want a degree to hang on the wall, ESC is a good college for you. If you want to find a job with your degree, ESC is not for you.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Human Resource Management

Bachelor of Science - September 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Spent 3 years at ESC and I have to say that your experience all depends on your mentor and professors. My concentration was Human Resource Management and I had a very good experience. My mentor Margaret Anne Williams was great and helped me every step of the way. I put in effort and took my courses seriously. This online system is NOT for everyone. So don't decide based on the reviews... Reach out to the admissions office and see for yourself if this is something that you want to do. I graduated in June '12 and am a proud graduate.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Met the minimum acceptable level

Bachelor of Science - May 29, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not the smartest tool in the shed. With that said. I don't know how this college gets away with the classes being so easy. I feel that it's almost unfair to other students in other colleges and feel somewhat guilty about the grades I have received. So why did I go? Because I needed a better GPA and a degree fast! I have just started looking for a job and things do look incredibly promising. However when I do get the HR job there will be no way in hell that I would ever higher a graduate from Empire. Besides that the staff are not incredibly bad, the facilities are okay and the transferring of credits are good.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Excellent if You Are Disciplined

Bachelor of Science - March 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my third year, and thrilled. For those reviewers that say you do not receive an education at ESC, I am befuddled. You can just as easily coast at any other state school. SUNY ESC is for the mature adult learner who needs the flexibility if studying on nights and weekends. Their online course work is easy to follow and challenging at times. This is a SUNY degree. It is an accredited school. I think this is a great option if you are a working adult.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

ESC instructors that are not meant to teach.

Bachelor of Science - October 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Online education is meant for motivated and independent students. I am a motivated and independent student, but from time to time I have questions. I am taking three online courses, and am very disappointed with all my instructors. Two instructors never replied to my emails about the assignments. The reply of the third instructor was as if she never read my emails to know what I was asking. I had a question about the intend of the article, and in just two words she responded: "Next week." Feeling that she might have mistaken my email with another student's email, I asked again what the implication of the article was. Again, in just two words she replied: "Next Tuesday." Students, be aware of the quality of the college and its faculty.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Empire State College is unprofessional

Bachelor of Science - June 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This so-called educational institution is a travesty to the academic world. The mentors were never available, the staf was consistently uninterested to attending to the needs of the students, and I was rudely ignored when I has ample questions that pertained to my degree. I would vigorously assert NOT to recommend this poor excuse for a college to anyone. Students, do extensive research when applying to online/distance learning schools. Empire State College is not conducive to higher learning.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Horrible

Bachelor of Science - April 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Its a sad excuse for education. Teach yourself and then we will have some part time instructor that doesn't care evaluate you. Oh, and btw, the instructors haven't got a clue about the expectations or how to be responsive to the students. It's literally a chance experience. Most times the instructor doesn't care and never replies and just give a grade. And others the instructor thinks he is the police and will show you who is boss. Take your pick. If I could I would do it differently. I wouldn't have gone there, but since the process of transferring is so much work, and I already have a full time job, I cannot. It's like going to a bad high school, stay away!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 27 people found the following review helpful

Is ESC For You?

Bachelor of Science - September 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you're not ready to take your own higher-education destiny into your own hands, then ESC is not for you. This school is geared toward the the highly motivated, self-sufficient and mature learner. As a student at ESC you need to be assertive and in-charge of how you're going to learn. For those of you who need your hand held, ESC is probably not for you. For those of you who have clear educational goals and are willing to work harder than you ever have, you will find ESC amazingly well-suited.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Very Worthwhile

Bachelor of Science - July 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Empire State College is worthwhile for working adults. Opposed to sitting in a classroom, half asleep and avoiding answering questions ESC requires students to put forth a good deal of effort. I attended traditional classes, online classes as well as one on one classes with a mentor. Each format required active participation as well as completion of all assignments. Even during the online classes, a question would be put up by the instructor for discussion and a good part of your grade depended upon your immediate response as well further discussion with your classmates. Papers were required throughout most classes with final paper being the longest. All written work was strictly required to follow widely accepted writing formats and had to be well researched. Discussions required research as well as references being listed. I know people who cannot write an understandable e-mail much less a decent memorandum yet have degrees from big schools. My guess is they attended classes but learned little. ESC enables learning, and empowers the students to do it the correct way.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Excellent University - Top Notch Program & Amazing Faculty!

Bachelor of Science - July 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Empire State College is truly one of the best colleges in New York (and from what I have heard and past experiences, possibly in the entire United States!). Anyone who has a rational understanding of what upper-level education requirements entail will realize that the learning process and workload required to earn a Bachelor or Masters degree is going to actually take some effort on their part. DO NOT expect to sit back and wait for your degree to show up in the mail. This is NOT going to be easy. You actually have to TRY and WORK to earn your diploma (imagine that!). The faculty at Empire State College is wonderful... for anyone who thinks otherwise: you need to wise up and open your mouth. Yes, the faculty has some faults and could use some work. However, this is COLLEGE. No one is going to hold your hand. You are going to have to follow-up and possibly chase down certain administrators. This is NOT kindergarten and you are NOT the only student at Empire. I have ONE faculty member that really does not belong at ESC - Frieda Mendelsohn. I took (SMT-273154) Economic Issues & Strategy with Mendelsohn. She would basically hand me an "F" and tell me I should have done it "this way". Ok, fine. My next paper would be done "this way" and she would tell me "You really have no idea what you are doing... You are completely off course. If you don't know what you are doing, ASK". THEN I would ask - and she would tell me she did not have the time to help... Plus she took 6-8 WEEKS to return papers. How was I supposed to know what I was doing wrong when I did not have any other papers returned to base my writing style, research or improvements needed? Other than Professor (does not deserve the title) Mendelsohn) - ALL of my professors have been EXTRAORDINARILY helpful. They will go out of their way to make sure all students are on the same page and understand the material for each module. I am now enrolled in the MBA program at ESC. I graduated in December (2010) and it is all thanks to Empire State College. I was always a good student but it was not until ESC that I began to actually research topics in-depth and properly understand the material. I am now a straight A student with a 3.8 GPA. I have been reading the negative reviews on this page and really cannot make sense of the comments here. One review says "I am in the Graduate program taking 2 classes. They told me I would need to study 15+ hours but I am studying 30-40".... SO? You are in a GRADUATE program. This is expected! Graduate courses are not the same as your high school economics course. The expectations are much higher and the work you need to put in is NOT going to be 15 hours... and you said "15+ PLUS"... 30-40 is included in the "+ PLUS". Empire State also says 15+ PER COURSE... Basic math tells me 15x2 = 30... Be wise and step up to the plate - an MBA program at your local brick & mortar university will require in-class time (plus commute) -- average 5-6 hours a day... give or take... x2 classes = average 10 hours (class time + commute)... then you go home and have to study - probably 10-20 hours, depending... so right there - a rough estimate brings us to 20-30 hours. Am I right, or ... am I right? I am really sickened after reading these horrible reviews. People expect an online university to be easy... It is NOT going to be easy. The work is actually HARDER than a traditional university since you are not in-class, need to basically "teach"/review the work yourself to a certain degree, and the program is set into place to ensure students are not cheating (since everything is basically "open book" - hence zero-->minimal multiple choice tests)... Lots of WRITING! But hey, it's college... No one forced you into this relationship - YOU want a degree? WORK FOR IT! :) Choose SUNY EMPIRE if you are interested in receiving an EXCELLENT EDUCATION!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Administration SUCKS!!

Bachelor of Science - January 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Once you are actually able to take classes it is challenging and engages your mind. It can be a bit much for anyone working full time with young kids, but it's still possible. My biggest issue is with the administration! They often do not know what you are talking about when you call, or you get someone who gives you one answer while another person gives you a different answer for the same question. When professors do not hold up their end on grading, the school holds you, the student, responsible instead of the professor.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Two weeks from Graduation

Bachelor of Science - April 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am just two weeks from completing my Bachelors of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies with a concentration in Manangment. I am a Chief Petty Officer in the Navy. I was attending a local community college that has a Navy partnership. When I started taking classes I took some in the classroom and a few online. When it came time for college algebra I took it online, but being out of high school for 13 years I was not able to re-teach myself so I dropped the online class and decided to take it in a class room. I was told on the first day of class that if I missed more then two classes I would automatically fail the class. I explained to the professor that I was enrolled under the Navy partnership and I would miss a class from time to time because I had to get underway. He didn't care. Some partnership. After I dropped his class I did some research on the Navy's college website and discovered SUNY Empire State. The following semester I enrolled. At the community college I was only halfway to my associate?s degree. After ESC reviewed my college transcripts and my life time learning credits from the Navy I was only 48 credits from my Bachelors Degree. I was very skeptical of this but I bit anyway, and I am very glad that I did. ESC is not only a SUNY school it is regionally accredited and their classes will transfer to any other regionally accredited college or university. I finished my Gen Ed classes and continued taking the business management classes that I put together in my degree plan. The classes I have taken here at ESC have been more challenging then I expected. I have learned more at ESC then I did sitting in classes at the community college. At the community college I had professors that lectured the class and if you paid close attention and took notes there was no way you could fail. Being enrolled in the CDL I do not have scheduled class times, no professors lecturing and no study partners to help me out. ESC takes discipline and a self motivated individual if you want to get through it. Taking two classes a semester you can expect to write about 100-200 pages of assigned course work. If you are looking to breeze by this is not the school for you. Almost all my professors have been very understandable about my job and understand that the ship often does not have internet access, or has very low bandwidth while at sea. As long as I give them a time line before I go out to sea they all have worked with my schedule, except one professor who was retired Navy...Go figure. Over all I have enjoyed my experience at ESC. If I was not looking for diversity in my education I would consider continuing on at ESC for my Masters Degree. However I am attending Penn State World Campus, which has the same accreditation as ESC, and accreditation is very important. I already have my ESC associate's degee hanging on the wall, and in 2 weeks My Bachelors degree will be right next to it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good College

Bachelor of Science - March 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I strongly recommend this college for self motivated students stay away if you need constant hand holding.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

A Good Option

Bachelor of Science - January 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 1 class to go for my BS degree. ESC is primarily viewed as an "online" degree institution. The truth is that it depends on what degree program you follow. I took classes at University of Buffalo as well as some online courses and one-on-one classes with a professor. All were great with one exception with an online course. The instructor was horrible and I could have "taught" the class myself. Other than that it was very good and a great fit for anyone who needs the flexibility.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Military Student

Bachelor of Science - August 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was going to a local community college here in Jacksonville Florida, and was having problems with them working with my military schedule. I was looking on the Navy's college website and found Empire State College. I completed the semester and began ESC in the spring semester. ESC assigned me a mentor how has been really good at answering questions. It seems as time goes on I need my mentor less and less. I would not say that ESC is an easy college, it seems that online degrees are harder then attending class, and take much more disipline to complete. Over all I am very happy with my experince. As a military member the College has done a great job at working with me and my work schedule. I am very happy I chose this school.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

BS in Science Math & Technology: Computer Science

Bachelor of Science - May 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm about to complete my BS in SMT with a concentration in Computer Science. I have 2 classes left that I will be taking this summer. In the past, i've attented both (in class) Community and Private University along with Phoenix Online U. Empire State College ranks up there with a great State & Private University. The coursework was rigorous, and the classes were intensive. I would recommend this school to anyone who would like to continue their Bachelors online. Phoenix U was really a waste of time and money. ESC is a real accredited college that will stand against any 4 year university when applying for ANY graduate program. Some advice: Learn to manage your time, Create a separate space/time @ home to study & write, be prepared to write (at minimum) 5 page reports bi-weekly along with FIVE 1 page response posts in the discussion areas and one 15 page research paper per class, be ready to be involved, take classes that you think you'll enjoy, and take the time to learn the material.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

The "Write" Stuff

Bachelor of Science - April 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

With three years of college, an Associate's degree, and substantial working experience as a graphic designer under my belt, ESC provided me with an opportunity to finally get my "paper" from a reputable school without going for broke. I graduated in 2004 after three semesters of study with a BS in the Arts and a concentration in Visual Arts. The Center for Distance Learning requires students to meet the same General Education requirements as SUNY on-campus students so I felt that I left the school with a strong liberal arts background that included two semesters of a foreign language. As an "alternative" institution, ESC also requires that students take two classes in Education Planning and research their own degree program--this is an excellent process that really encourages you think about what you want from your education. As with any school, the quality of instruction varied from excellent to slightly below average in terms of delivery ( out of ten instructors, I was only unhappy with two). I would highly recommend Ann Wentworth who teaches Women's and Family History in America, and Sylvain Nagler--both excel at creating an online classroom community. My advisor was helpful, responsive, and genuinely interested in helping me complete my program, including hooking me up with an art instructor for two independent studies. Overall, every instructor was accessible and returned papers and projects in a timely manner. Feedback was excellent. For Spanish I and II, I had a telephone tutorial once a week and a monthly "live" class. Support staff was never anything but supportive and I rarely had a problem with technology. Course readings and materials were interesting and enjoyable. As ESC is not known as a "selective" college in terms of their admissions standards, students with high academic standards might find themselves frustrated and disappointed by the level of discussion and communication that occurs in some of the online classes. As the CDL is also a writing-based program and papers will form the basis for your final evealuation, if you don't think you will enjoy writing paper after paper, this is probably not the school for you. However, the emphasis on oral and written communication practically guarantees that every student leave a much better writer.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Empire State College, State University of New York in any way.