Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Liberty University

3.2
180 Reviews
5 63 
4 34 
3 11 
2 33 
1 39 
0 0 

 

Liberty University Reviews:

Liberty University is Awesome!

Religion - December 9, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am fairly new to Liberty University, but so far everything has been absolutely perfect! It is far better than I ever expected. I went into getting a higher education later in life and I figured it would just be a pain. To the contrary, I find it exciting with Liberty University. I have to laugh at the negative comments here. Most of them have to do with people whining that it isn't easy to get MY money! Fantastic! The harder it is for people to get unconstitutional federal financial aid out of my pocket, the better! They shouldn't attend college if they can't pay for it themselves. I pay my own way. I do get one financial bonus, being former military. Liberty University, not the federal government taking money out of other people's pockets, has an enormous discount for people who have served our country in the military. I never expected this and it came as a pleasant surprise. Maybe some of these entitled children should serve in the military and learn a little self respect and discipline before trying to be handed a diploma for free. The other thing people are whining about is that Liberty University requires Christian values. Good! Every school in America used to! There are thousands of schools that promote debauchery out there for every one Christian school out there, that these hateful people can attend. If you have a problem with Christian values, don't go to a Christian school. Whining about having to include a Bible verse with your assignments is not going to impress me. Whine all you want. The only thing that I would change about Liberty University is that I would like them to cut off all federal financial aid just like Hillsdale College has, due to the unconstitutionality of federal aid. Cut the deadbeats off. We don't need them. Now, there is nothing wrong with State financial aid, private grants, or loans. They aren't unconstitutional. The federal government has no business redistributing wealth in any form. To all of you ungrateful, whining babies: How dare you cry about not being able to reach deeper into my pockets! Shame on you! You really do need to find God.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 138 people found the following review helpful

Excellent for the Money

Religion - January 16, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I feel that some of the reviews on this site unfairly portray Liberty University. I recently completed a Greek class to fulfill a prerequisite for my Phd. My experience was excellent. The support staff was extremely friendly and responsive. The online teacher responded promptly and consistently. The class challenged me, but also helped me learn a great deal. The cost was approximately 30% less than the next best online alternative.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Biblical Studies

Religion - June 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am still an online student and this is a nightmare. I have never experienced such horrible things at this supposedly "Christian" school. They are worse than the three secular schools I attended. I am surprised, but the Bible says that a tree is know by the fruit it bears. This school is an good example of hypocrisy and is the best of example of talking the walk but not walking the walk. There is much that I can say about the good ole boys network in this school, and the lack of global knowledge and acceptance, but I will not at this point. Financial aid is a joke. They are money hungry people. I realize that this is a business as well as a Christian institution, however, we, as Christians are not to operate the way the world operates in our business. I am ashamed to be a part of this university that is suppose to be holy. I don't know if the person who started the school was the same as the ones who are in charge now, but if he was, I cannot say that he was even a Christian if he operated the way his peers do.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 45 people found the following review helpful

FINANCIAL AID

Religion - April 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THIS SCHOOL IS VERY DISAPPOINTING WHEN IT COMES TO RECIEVING FINANCIAL AID. FIRST, THEY TELL YOU THAT YOU WILL NOT RECIEVE YOUR AID UNTIL TWENTY-FIVE DAYS AFTER THE CLASS STARTS, BUT THEN WHEN THE TWENTY FIVE DAYS ARE UP AND YOU CALL TO GET A STATUS THE EXCUSE WILL BE THAT THEY HAVE NINETY THOUSAND STUDENTS THAT THEY ARE WORKING ON SO JUST TO BE PATIENT. WELL, I THOUGHT I WAS PATIENT ENOUGH TO WAIT THE TWENTY-FIVE DAYS. I WONDER IF THESE SAME PEOPLE THAT WORK IN THE ACCOUNTS DEPARTMENT PAID THEIR RENT AND CAR NOTE. THIS IS NOT FAIR, I HAVE A SON THAT HAD THREE BY-PASS SURGERIES THAT NEED HIS MEDICATION AND SEVERAL OTHER NEEDS. SO PLEASE IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING ATTENDING THIS SCHOOL MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO CARE FOR YOUR FAMILY NEEDS BECAUSE THE PROMISE I WAS MADE MORE THAN TEN TIMES BY THIS SCHOOL HAS CAUSED ME TO BE HOMELESS AND AFTER THIS SEMESTER I WILL TRANSFER OUT TO ANOTHER SCHOOL. SO THINK ABOUT IT!

Was this review helpful?

23 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding Seminary Program

Religion - March 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Liberty University (LU) and Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary (LBTS) provide outstanding educational opportunities from an evangelical Christian perspective, using a Bible-centric approach that prepares one to serve Jesus Christ and his Church in all areas of life, be that in professional or lay ministry, or in secular positions. I'm honestly shocked by the negative comments posted by others, because my experience over the past three years has been extremely good. With all due respect to others' comments, LU and LBTS are *not* diploma mills. I've worked hard during my graduate program at LBTS, and feel well-prepared to both continue my career, and step it up a notch, based on the solid education I've received from the school, all while working as a mid-level professional with a huge number of family and professional work-related responsibilities. I've consistently received top-notch, professional support from employees in various offices, who have consistently gone above-and-beyond in making sure that I was always aware of issues that affected me, including items such as registration, financial aid, Veterans Administration issues, payments and refunds, and so forth. Anytime I've had a question or submitted a trouble ticket through the Help Desk (for a technical issue), I've received prompt and respectful responses, usually within 24 hours, and often, within minutes to hours. Policies associated with registration and tuition are clearly outlined, and misunderstandings are usually on the part of the student. Those, like me, who take 8-week classes have to understand that professors are required to cover the same amount of information as is taught in the 16-week classes. As such, the courses have a much faster pace, and what seems like a huge amount of reading and study, but that's to be expected in an accelerated class; this option is not for the feint of heart or for students who are not fully-dedicated to their educational pursuits--it's always the student's responsibility to keep up. During times when significant life events have interfered with my courses, I've found my professors more than willing to work with me, an even extend an occasional deadline to help me work around issues that would have otherwise caused me to completely drop a course and retake it later, and my results have always been favorable. No school will be perfect, and there's always room for continual improvement in any program, but it's unrealistic to assume that any institution can meet everyone's expectations (especially while serving over 10,000 residential and more than 70,000 online students). LU and LBTS have consistently done an excellent job across-the-board, and successfully met all of my expectations, particularly in their focus on sticking to the truths of the Bible, choice of relevant curriculum, support from outstanding faculty members and employees, and attention to detail. So strong is my recommendation for LU and LBTS that my own children are also about to begin their LU experience. God bless...

Was this review helpful?

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Liberty is perfectly fine

Religion - February 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've only done 12 graduate units at Liberty, but its been fine. I'm in the Master's of Religion program. The tuition is very reasonable. The instructors have been available by e-mail and I got some very lengthy reviews of my papers from a couple of them. I'm a woman as were half of my classmates. I have not experienced any kind of discrimination because of my gender. My GPA is very good, in fact. I also didn't experience any kind of backlash for disagreeing with the textbooks or whatever. In fact, the professors seemed to appreciate thoughtful, well-supported pushback. The programs seems to be what you make of it. You do have to be able to manage your time because there's a lot of stuff to do in 8 weeks between massive amounts of reading and writing. I don't get financial aid, so I can't comment on that. Overall, I've had good experiences with Liberty and I would recommend it to others especially other working adults.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Phenominal Experience

Religion - December 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Liberty University is a phenomenal online institution. I have read several negative reviews on this blog, and generally speaking, these types of negative comments are mediocre in nature. It is not my intention to insult anyone with differing opinions; however, there is more to a university than its financial-aid department. Additionally, most universities are slow with their financial-aid process. This is due to new federal regulations/laws, not the school’s own policies. I was randomly selected for the verification process, and I will admit that I was initially upset. It took approximately two months for Liberty University to process all of my information. Also, I took into consideration that the federal government selected me for the verification process, not Liberty University. In fact, everyone whom I spoke with at Liberty’s financial-aid department was extremely friendly toward me. I might have dropped my courses for the semester, had it not been for their degree of professionalism, as well as their encouragement through the whole ordeal. Their dedication was nothing less than extraordinary. Additionally, the financial-aid I received covered the full cost of my tuition. Also, their tuition rates are quite comparable to other accredited institutions, if not less expensive than what most universities charge for tuition. Since I have started attending my classes, I have had nothing but wonderful experiences. The curriculum has been challenging, and it has broadened my view of scripture, as I am a religion major. My professors reply to my e-mails promptly, if I have any questions for them pertaining to assignments. Also, Liberty University has regional accreditation, which means their degrees are accepted by all higher level educational institutions (if one chooses to transfer to another university), per federal law. This means that I have the potential to be accepted into any other university, to obtain a graduate or doctorate degree, as long as I possess a bachelor’s degree from Liberty; credits are also transferable. So yes, Liberty University degrees are recognized as valid degrees. I do not understand why people complain about Liberty’s Christian based curriculum. Liberty University is a Christian University. Therefore, their curriculum is going to be based on their Christian beliefs. If you disagree with their curriculum, you should not attend a Christian institution. As far as their theological view is concerned, I believe they teach sound doctrine. I could not be happier with the application of their theological methodology. One of the greatest things about Liberty University, outside of the above mentioned qualities, is that they offer trimesters. This means I can accrue credits at an expedient rate. I should be able to obtain my bachelor’s degree in under three years. This is not feasible at most universities, based upon their traditional semesters. Based on everything I have mentioned, I would rate Liberty University as a top-notch university. As for others with bad experiences at this particular institution, I have to question why they attended Liberty in the first place, if they felt it was such a bad institution. Personally, I could not see myself attending a better university for my bachelor’s degree.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

LUO has been great

Religion - July 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have not had any of the experiences that those who have posted bad reviews have had. From the beginning LUO has bent over backward to make sure I had everything I needed. They are very military friendly offering huge discounts to the military and their families. I have not always agreed with some things the administration does, but the professors and staff have been wonderful. I am in my second year and plan to take my masters there as well.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Seminary

Religion - June 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a female seminary student and I was treated with disrespect and given failing grades. Do not go to this school if you are female. I got out as soon as I could without dropping classes. I will never have anything to do with any association that is baptist. I do not believe what they did to me and how they treated me was Christ like.I would never have anything to do with a baptist church now or anyone associated with it. I had a positive attitude toward baptists until I enrolled in seminary at Liberty. I am sure they will never make it right or ask my forgiveness, but I would warn you to stay away from the churches and men in the church if they condone the mistreatment of women just because they were born female. Do not attend Liberty if you are a woman, they are extremely prejudice against women.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 63 people found the following review helpful

Good School

Religion - February 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I read the other reviews on this website and must say that they are not very accurate or fair. I only have a handful of classes left at Liberty to get a Bachelor's in Religion and I think very highly of this school. They don't just hand out A's, but they're fair in their grading. The reviewer who said they hate women must have done poorly. The only thing that comes close women related topics comes from 1 Timothy chapter 2. This is not a view that Liberty came up with themselves, but what the Bible says. The financial aid department is not top of the line, but they will work with you if you call them before a small problem becomes a big problem. I had an issue and they took care of it after a few days of me calling. The quality of the classes is very high. All of the classes are structured in a certain way and each student knows what is expected of them for each week of the class. The teachers are hit or miss. Some of them are great and some of them should not be teaching at all. I had one teacher who marked me down for passive voice when the sentence was active. I fully explained to the teacher how she was wrong, but she refused to admit it or change my grade. I gave her a very, very negative review (there were other issues with her too) and still got an A on my final paper. Overall, this school is a great school and I recommend it for anyone. I've learned a great deal about the Bible and will probably get my master's degree from Liberty too.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful

I personally recommend it.

Religion - December 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending this university since Spring 2010. I recently got a Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies. I have attended several colleges over the years and had exhausted my financial aid. I was only 5 classes away from a Bachelor's in Religion. Thankfully, the wonderful people in the call center worked with me and found a degree I had already met the requirements for. I am now enrolled in the Seminary program. My classes haven't started yet, but I am really looking forward to it. As a Bible Student in the Undergrad program I never experienced any difficulty with being a woman. I am not anticipating any issues as a Master's level student as I had to go through a rather lengthy acceptance process since I did not have the appropriate Bachelors degree for the particular program I applied for. When you are in the process of applying for this school, they can call to the point of harassment, it is frustrating. However, it is all automated (not the people, you will always talk to actual people, it's just an automated system that sends the calls) If you allow yourself to remain calm and pleasant, you will find that every single one of the people who call have excellent customer service skills. I have dealt with some who were less pleasant than others, but none were rude or less than helpful. Depending on when you call, you may end up waiting on hold for quite a while. Many of the individuals you deal with on the phone are students and may not have the exact information you need. Keep trying, you will find someone who does know and who will give you the right information. Do not expect each and every person on the phone to have all the correct information about every single program, it's simply not possible. Don't attend an online college if you have difficulty with technology. I am pretty computer savvy and have never had any problems with any online courses (and I have taken them through four different colleges) Liberty makes it very easy to do, but it is very important to be aware of what is going on, keep up on your weekly assignments and don't let yourself get behind. I have a sister who also attends Liberty and has been on academic probation because she wasn't on top of getting her assignments turned in on time. You will find that some of the professors are excellent and extremely helpful, but others are less so. This is true at every school I have ever gone to. (five!) At times here at Liberty, I have found that the teacher of the course isn't 100% aware of changes that may have been made in the syllabus. However, every time I have pointed it out, they have quickly and very graciously made any changes necessary to what they were requiring. The key is to be on top of your assignments so you aren't trying to contact them within a day or two of the assignment being due. If you are keeping up with your assignments and any research requirements, you should be able to contact them a week or two in advance. Also, if you are a procrastinator (and I am a big one) you can have a bit of a problem in the last few hours before an assignment is due (Sunday Night at midnight most often) the servers can be pretty bogged down making it impossible to submit an assignment on time, usually when this happens (midterms and finals weeks) they will extend the due date by a couple of days. Getting work done early helps a ton with this problem, I usually sort of fool myself by making an earlier due date that I must abide by. It helps a lot with not getting things turned in late. I haven't attended the week long intensives yet, but my husband has and found them to be fairly helpful in his program (Christian Counseling) Mine will all be in worship and I am both excited and intimidated by the very idea! Overall, if you need the structure of an in class on campus class, do not attend Liberty U. If you are pretty computer savvy and stuck at home because you have a job or children and cannot get to a campus, Liberty U is the school for you. They have a very good accredited program with dedicated staff. I haven't had any issues with Financial Aid, but I tend to be very particular about keeping an eye on my financial aid account through Assist. At times, I check it daily even when nothing looks wrong. Whenever I have noticed a problem, I have called them and until the problem is fixed, I call and call until I find someone who fixes it. I think my husband may have had to go through the verification process and I don't remember it being too much of a problem, but this is because my husband is very very careful to always get every single document and piece of paper asked for as quickly as possible.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Seminary

Religion - November 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am attending Liberty Seminary online. Be warned, they hate female seminary students. They don't believe women should preach which goes against everything Jesus stood for. They have no female seminary professors. They will smile in your face and give fairly decent grades until after you do your Professor's review. Then they will give you a D or F on your final research paper. Turabian style is required for all papers submitted. The dumb professors do not even know proper Turabian format. Some will say use ten point, some twelve point. Some say three lines or more are indented when it is five lines or more. They give way too many dvds to watch for an eight week class. Only two professors were worthy to be called professors. The rest hate and I mean Hate women being in their classes and show it by their complete lack of respect and by their terrible grading. I submitted all my papers to the writing workshop and made all the corrections before submitting the papers to the Professors. They would still try and give low scores. This place is a joke. I guess the old saying is true that evil knows where to place their demons. They are the Seminary professors at Liberty University. Financial aid will keep your additional refund if you drop a D term class. I guess students can starve to death as long as those greedy ignorant woman hating beasts get their pay. GOD will surely judge them a thousand more times as harshly as they have treated all the females in Seminary. The sooner the better. The books you are required to buy are written by idiots who hate women as well.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 50 people found the following review helpful

Dishonest financial aid department stole my pell grant

Religion - September 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Curriculum is okay -- only did one semester with these creeps so I'm not the best to ask about curriculum. But, I can tell ya about financial aid! I was awarded a pell grant and loans (subsidized and unsubsidized). They took the money from the government and held the pell grant, refusing to release my funds to me and stopped communicating with me altogether. They wouldn't email me and asked me to call. So I called and they said to keep checking my online account ("Asist"). They are liars, thieves and scandalous people. Don't waste your time and go elsewhere!

Was this review helpful?

27 of 41 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Liberty University in any way.