Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Liberty University

3.2
180 Reviews
5 63 
4 34 
3 11 
2 33 
1 39 
0 0 

 

Liberty University Reviews:

Wonderful College

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - May 7, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enjoyed receiving my education through Liberty University online. The professors were very knowledgable and very supportive. The tutors for my statistics classes were AMAZING! I feel that I've learned a lot and am excited to be pursuing my Master's degree starting in Spring.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste you money

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - November 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Don't waste your time and money.I was so disappointed with this school.I wanted so much to be a Christian Counselor.My hopes was so high. But every class was I very worried if I would pass because if the teacher does not gave you 700 points you will get a D and aid will not cover you.Some teachers was nice and helped you or me and some was rude and mean.The one's that was mean would not talk to me or help me. The tests was hard and ticky and very hard to pass. But in most class's I got B's on the tests, but the teacher would not like the very long paper they made me write and this would made me get a D.The papers they make you write is usually APA and 12 to 20 pages long.Sometimes 12 -20 articles long.It took me days or weeks to find all the research needed for the papers and I always had to have a lot of Bible scriptures in all postings and papers if I did not points was taken off and this took a lot of time, just looking it all up took a lot of time.I have read the Bible many times, all of it, but when you, I help the church and work at a job and babysit grand kids time gets short and this college took a lot of time.It seemed they wanted the Aid but really did not care if people passed or not. I was picked for "fraud Prevention" (Potential fraud) and that took a long time. I had to resend all the stuff that I had already send them to get in.My GED and ID's and other school records.That took 0ver 8 weeks and they keep delaying it until I got in trouble with my loans and higher education.I had trouble doing my jobs because the class's took so much time and research.One bad teacher gave me a "Code of Honor Violation" because she said I coped off the internet but I did not do that.Am a Minister so This really hurt.Because as a Minister I always try to good and do what is right..I was so disappointed with this school.It did not really seem like a Christian school with lots of compassion I thought I would find.I never got to finish because two teachers gave me D's in two class's when I got A and B's on the tests.Then I could not get Aid.So I had to try and find a better school after I had taken all the counseling class's and thought I would finish the school.I tried talking to these teachers and getting help but they just was rude and mean to me and getting upset that I bugged them.I worked so very hard in this school but it seems all the hard work was for nothing but stress.This school should get in trouble for how they treat people.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 60 people found the following review helpful

Horrible just Horrible do not go here

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - November 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a real bad college. In most class's teachers would tell me doing real good they would usually give me A's in the postings and B's on tests and teachers say I was passing, but in many class's I got D's in the end of the class because the teachers was mean and rude and would not help me at all.They would say They did not like my papers or something. But Never did they help me with the 12 page papers we had to write. Some of the papers was 12 to 20 pages long.Some teachers say we was copying when we was not. If we don't have a lot of the Bible in our papers and postings they take off points. It's very confusing and demanding at times.They force Christian values on us but they do not used them themselves.The tests are tricky and not always right but when I tried to till a teacher the test was wrong he got upset. All class's are graded by points and the teachers deside how many points you get.In many class's I got 689 points and needed 700 for a C.Because they took off a few points for no Bible vs.Even know they could be rude and mean to us and not act as God's people. When I went to Ohio State I was told I needed a Christian College because I would say stuff like God helps me to know what to say., but I did not see the Christian compassion I thought a Christian school was to have.I think this was the worst school I have even been to. This school almost made me have a heart attack. It was like I was holding my breath the whole class being told I was passing, working very hard, then after lots of hard work I got D's..!!! D's..!! The only thing good that came out of all the class's I took and all the money paid, (3000 per every 2 class's )at this school was the books. I liked the counseling books. Otherwise it was a waste of money and time..

Was this review helpful?

21 of 55 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Fraud Verification Process

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - July 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As an honor roll student while attending Liberty University, I did not have problems academically. However, when it came to the financial aid verification process two years into my education with Liberty, I was selected for verification after complaining about Liberty's financial aid process due to regards to refunds and how they are posted, I was given a difficult time although I turned in everything they required (and did not review) but said my identification was not mine. This did not make sense to me as I am definitely who I claim to be. Reporting them to the Dept. of Education was a waste of time. On the phone they will tell you that what Liberty is doing is wrong but it is not discrimination or anything they handle. They won't tell you who else handles such cases against this school. Basically, if you had no problems with Liberty financial aid office or asked them questions, then consider yourself blessed. However, for those of us who have had problems with them, it is real and it does affect you with your future education as they send your money back to the Dept. of Education and bill you for it (holding your official transcripts until they get it). I would like to get a class action lawsuit against them.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Ok, but not totally impressed

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - June 14, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Liberty is a very popular Christian school in the area... Christian being a good point. I've met a lot of great people there. When first attending in 2013, I was very impressed. I was getting a Christian education. However, after a year of being an online student, I am experiencing many issues. I have gone to the college for guidance which has been provided by young students and graduates. I think more guidance should be provided by older experienced employees. I'm not feeling that all of my needs are being met. I also went to the writing lab which I was told to do. I didn't feel like I was being compensated there either. Tests are totally tricky and some have multiple answers. I have had some teachers to actually correct some of my "wrong" answers. Tests come from a data base. I don't think the teachers actually make the tests or check them before they are given. Support is limited with online classes. I would rather have one to one personal help and I'm not feeling that at Liberty. The teachers just email or post assignments and it is up to you to complete them. Sometimes you are unable to reach a teacher per email to ask questions in due time. The computer system has actually gone down for periods of time when it was really slow. Biblical references are needed on a lot of assignments. I mean I think this is good, use Google to search or bible sites...but I would like to learn more about the actual disorders and issues also. Some of the teachers seem to want to help. Some are excellent and I would love to hear an actual classroom lecture from them. Others are not as nice and just communicate enough to get by. Some teachers grade harder than others. The Philosophy 201 class is required for my degree and it is a major pain. Many fail it or the grade they get reduces their overall GPA. The people that assigned my classes knew better than to put that at the first semester in my degree. If so, I would've moved colleges real quick. Many say you can finish at Liberty quicker, perhaps. For an online college, it is fair. I don't know how to grade it, since I have always attended "in classroom colleges"... but I'm not too impressed. I have attended 4 other colleges in the past. None were "online". I think I would get a much better education in a class setting and I am not satisfied with my education here. I am wishing I chose a different school with "in class" lectures and more personal support.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 23 people found the following review helpful

This will be a long one, but worth reading: Know what you're getting into --- duh --- and decide for yourself.

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - May 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Heads up. It's a Christian University. If you don't like it, don't enroll. I do disagree with the fact that they try to force Christian values and discussion on topics that those views just don't fit, i.e, Psychology (largely scientific in nature), but since you just have to cherry-pick scripture to fit the situation without regard to biblical context and applicability, use Google search and there are plenty of resources out there to point you in the right direction. Your bible can do the rest and yes, you will need one for EVERY class. The Christian viewpoint I can deal with, it is in my background after all and the required religious-natured courses give an overview of other world faiths, of course from a standpoint of placing Christianity above the rest, but if you take it with a grain of salt or are more liberal and tolerant in your views, just keep it to yourself. It's not worth the argument. So if you can stand the "God bless" and the "In Christ" and "I pray" in the discussion forums in the absence of relevant conversations about the actual content, then you're good to go. Be smart and take the minimum requirements for the Christian worldview portion of it and leave the rest to the theologians. The course offerings aren't bad and are comparable to other secular schools, however, the instructors are uninterested in furthering discussion board conversations that would help cement content, most of which consists of reading convoluted and dry texts at a rapid rate. Of course as an online student you have to be self-motivated and able to manage your time, so the quantity isn't something anyone should complain about. I will however, complain about the fact that there is no real learning environment due to the fact that it is not encouraged by the professors. The bare minimum is accepted and as long as you include the appropriate citations and requisite scriptural references when required, the content takes a backseat. There are some topics in Psychology that are controversial in terms of viewpoint, stigma and societal concerns, etc. but that very relevant stuff is never discussed in any depth. So how much you learn is truly and entirely up to you, but in a bad way, not just what would be expected from any online course. I've taken 27 credits and passed them all without cracking a book during the term, mostly because I'm smart and I write good papers and they're open book tests. That's not to say I haven't done the learning on my own because I need it, but there was no urgency to do so stimulated by discussion or assessment or any other form of pressure from the courses, students or professors. I wish, for that reason alone, I had never transferred here. As it is, I'm so close to my BA now (yes it's a BA, not a BS)that transferring again would lose me credits that wouldn't apply at other schools, so it's pointless. Financial aid is an absolute and unmitigated nightmare. The government knows my shoe size and when I use the bathroom but I have been "randomly" selected for verification of both income and enrollment twice in a row which delays the financial aid process to the very last minute regardless of how proactive you are. I started the process for Fall 2014 in January, they have all they need from me and I was just informed today that my financial aid will not be processed until after the summer term due to the enrollment verification process. It would not matter if I was taking classes currently or not, that's just how it works. So again, it will be down to the wire, classes will or will not be available that I need (I have to plan everything out so I don't bleed into next year), and I may or may not get financial aid I qualify for if it has already been allotted to students whose paperwork is not held up by internal bureaucratic BS. Be forewarned, you cannot wait for Liberty to tell you what is needed. Do the research on your own and stay on top of turning everything you can think of in electronically and then follow up regularly by phone. Otherwise you're likely to find out the day before class when you've been registered for months that you can't attend because they're missing something it will take you three weeks to secure; by then it will be too late. Be adults, don't just sign up and assume it will be smooth sailing. You need to educate yourself about getting your education and know what's going on so you don't get screwed. My concern now is that their supposedly accredited Psychology program will do me no good anywhere but in Virginia. I have just learned that their Masters program is not CACREP certified, meaning, it's not worth the paper it's printed on. I originally chose Liberty because I could go all the way to the PhD level in my chosen field. Come to find out I can if I want to ask the military if they can station my husband in Virginia where other, more reputable universities hold sway in the job market. So there is yet another transfer in my future for my graduate education. Otherwise I'll never see licensure or be able to actually practice as a counselor in my state. Do your homework! Make sure that what you're going to school for follows your state's guidelines if there is a further certification process i.e., for nursing, teaching, counseling, etc. I did extensive research ahead of time, even going so far as to contact the licensing board in my state; everything looked good on paper, but apparently the expected accreditations either didn't come through for the Psychology end of things or Liberty never applied. As such, I could follow through with graduate level courses but may find out when I go for provisional licensure that what I have isn't good enough and be required to take yet more classes at more expense to get to where I want to go. As it stands, I will finish my Bachelors with multiple cognates in Addiction and Recovery, Military Resiliency, and Crisis Counseling because a Bachelors is the minimum for entry level positions and it's the Masters/PhD that really counts down the road. I will transfer to a local CACREP accredited brick and mortar university to finish my graduate education here in town now that I know we're here for four more years (military)and I can count on not being halfway done and having to move ... again. That's just my personal experience with Liberty. There are pros and cons and I can't yet speak to the value of a Liberty University degree in the marketplace. My son's counselor (Aspergers) does have a Liberty University degree hanging on the wall so I suppose it's not completely useless (She's an LPC) but it's a BA she followed up with an MA from Loyola or somewhere like that ... clearly she felt that the Bachelors at Liberty was okay, but decided to go to graduate school somewhere else. At the time it didn't set off any bells, but now I know why there weren't dual degrees on her wall. Forewarned is forearmed. Make your own decision, but make it with your eyes open, have a backup plan and follow through constantly. Stay on top of it and you should be okay. I would sign this but I'm still enrolled and Liberty "Universitians" (I swear some are aliens from outer space -- oh wait, God only created life on Earth) are known to be wrathful when challenged, so I'll skip the retaliation that a lack of anonymity might bring for now. I think the fact that I articulate well speaks to the commensurate level of my education, most of which I have not received here but instead at what some people call the Mickey Mouse institution of Excelsior College where I earned an AS in Liberal Arts (Human Services) with high honors, no less. It was much more engaging, much more challenging, and I actually learned things relevant to my degree field there. Unfortunately, their Psych program is also not CACREP accredited at the graduate level and Liberty had cognate specialties seminal to my future career otherwise I would have stayed there. Good luck to you all in making your decision. Just to summarize what comprised the score I submitted: I gave Liberty a terrible rating on the back of the dry, boring relevant texts, the extraneous Christian text requirements (pointless to assignments other than quizzes), the lack of instructor involvement, feedback, or encouragement, and the lack of academic support for out of state students pursuing their education online. Until three weeks ago I didn't even have a specific advisor to go to, now I only have one because I'm in the Psych program. The Blackboard (technology) part of it is also glitchy and antiquated even if you have state-of-the-art equipment like I do. I gave it good scores on "Value" because it is very competitive for me since I'm affiliated with the military; and on "institution" because my it is a beautiful and growing campus with a great community spirit of generally like-minded, if somewhat naive people deadlocked on one world view. There are worse things than believing in morality and Christianity, so I won't knock it there. There are also intensive programs on campus that everyone is eligible to participate in (if you can afford to go) that will take the place of some courses and even internship requirements. Everything else is subjective and likely depends on the individual student's experience and the particular degree they're pursuing.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Nightmarish

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - May 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Where do I start. I began attending Liberty University as a transfer student from another online institution in New York after receiving my Associates Degree in Liberal Arts (Human Services) because my ultimate goal is to be come a Licensed Professional Counselor and/or an Addictions Counselor. I also have military affiliation (spouse) so adding the Military Resiliency and Crisis Counseling cognates would allow me to best serve the population in my community wherever I go, i.e., soldiers with PTSD and/or substance abuse and families dealing with all or some of the same issues. So far I am highly unimpressed with the quality of the instruction. Compared to the other school I attended this is Mickey Mouse stuff. The discussion requirements are boring, not to mention there aren't enough of them to adequately discuss the extraordinary amount of content you're expected to "learn" in such a short time frame. I am often left reading chapter after chapter after chapter of text after text after text with very little discussion or reinforcement of what we're supposedly learning. If I wanted to read books, I'd spend half as much on twice as many and sit in Barnes and Noble with a Starbucks double pump vanilla latte reading for hours and hours for pleasure. I went into this with my eyes open to the fact that it was a Christian institution; something about my upbringing that was neglected and I was willing to explore. I live in the deep south and figured that a vast majority of my future clients would likely have a deep spiritual background that I could best address if I learned something about it. All I've come away with is confusion and disappointment. It's fine to emphasize a Christian world view and all that, but not everything fits neatly into a spiritual box. Psychology is largely a scientific field, but don't tell a professor that. You are expected to force Christian worldviews on topics that are better served by being understood as purely secular in nature as they are. There should be more discussion posts and less Bible thumping for the sake of Bible thumping. Much of it is to no purpose at all. Don't disagree with someone in a discussion forum if they're espousing some nonsensical godly nonsense that has no bearing on the content whatsoever. It's un-Christian of you to disagree with someone and point out the faults in their clouds and rainbows reasoning apparently. If you want to stick your head in the sand, ignore the nastiness of life (especially in regard to drug and alcohol addiction and non-spiritually based treatment options), and generally learn to use Google to find appropriate Bible scripture that is cherry-picked with no regard for context then this is the school for you. I won't even elaborate on financial aid as others have done a really good job of summing up what a nightmare that is. Everything they've said here is true in my experience. I was selected for verification TWICE, both times at "random" HA! Apparently they were unable to find a reason to shut me down because I'm still enrolled, but it was not for lack of trying. They say I don't qualify for additional federal grants that I qualified for at the other institution with no measurable increase in household income in the intervening time and every time I have to register there is some hold for some reason or another. Currently I can't register for fall like everyone else because they are "waiting on course attendance" that can't be processed until I complete the current term. They've been saying that since December. I guess as long as you remain enrolled and are actively pursuing a degree, you can forget having your financial aid processed or being allowed to register so you can continue. Now I've found out that their so-called accreditation for the MA I was going to pursue is bogus and won't do me any good on the licensing exam for my state. Something that is directly contrary to what I was told and what I researched on their website from the beginning. I'm worried now that if I decide to get out while the getting is good that I've wasted nine credits on Bible classes that won't transfer and I may not get credit for the Psychology courses I've taken if the receiving institution considers Liberty to be the joke that everyone else seems to think it is. I can honestly say that I have actually learned NOTHING from the course content. The textbooks are expensive and extraneous. Many of them are Christian novellas that have no bearing on the subject matter except they're authored by contributors to the university who exhibit a vast and impressive array of past or present dysfunctional behaviors. Godly my a**. In addition to the ridiculous amount of books you have to purchase at ridiculous prices, there is often upwards of four to five hours of online presentation viewing required for each course, many of which are lectures on certain choice subjects by the same people/group of people who write the textbooks. I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea. I don't object to the Christian worldview angle, as I said it's useful both to me personally and for helping the demographic where I live. I do object to their convoluted and potentially fraudulent financial aid process (your refunds go on a school credit card by the way, unless you go through weeks of hoopla to have the card services people transfer it to your bank account with a significant delay attached of course); trying to force Christianity and biblical principles to fit subjects that are better addressed in a scientific or secular way (have one discussion addressing the actual material and one as a reaction to the material from a Christian viewpoint and that would be fine--but that's not how it works); and the overwhelming lack of input of any kind from professors. Add to that the fact that I was a 4.0 student and due to the computerized and erroneous grading of quizzes and the myriad IT issues delaying submission of assignments, sometimes for days, or the fact that something can just disappear after you've submitted it, I just received my first B, dropping my cumulative GPA for my entire college career from a 4.0 to a 3.83; not because I did something to deserve it, but because an assignment that counted for 90 out of 1000 points of my grade just "disappeared" from Blackboard. Mind you, I've been emailing the professor for two weeks asking where my grade was and what my resulting final grade would be for the term and never once got a response that it hadn't submitted properly or that it wasn't there to grade. Classy. I can't appeal it because technically it was already late due to some pre-approved but unforeseen personal issues that required it to be submitted past the due date. An appeal wouldn't even help at this point and may actually lower my grade even further due to the fact that there were several high-value assignments affected by the same problem, namely a house fire and subsequent move. I don't know what else to say. I guess I'm shopping for the fifth college I'm going to end up attending so that I can ensure that I can actually do what I want to do where I want to do it and LEARN something in the process. I'm extremely disappointed and sad that it's come to this. Stay away, run away, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! I'd put my name on this, but they would likely retaliate. Something I can ill afford at this juncture. I'll post in a few months and let you know how it all shakes out. If I'm no longer enrolled I'll be sure to sign any future reviews.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Very Dissappointed

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - April 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First back in Oct 2011 a rude guy told be i had to wait until January 2012 because the first half of the semester was almost over or pay out of my pocket. I was ready to attend college and started the process with another college. After being accepted by the other college liberty calls and slam dunks me fall 2011 even chose my 2 classes. Things went pretty smooth until summer 2012 the school tuition refunds got wiped out of the computer, then I had a very nasty life coaching professor who made me jump through hoops because I was under doctors care had to get student sdvocacy involved. Then they started holding refunds 28 days, then spring 2013 I had to email every assignment to my professors because blackboard was loosing my assignments then one professor ask "do you know how to use the blackboard?" then i recieved a reward from the school they are now saying was a mistake and I owe it back. Financial aid and student services are rude and nasty!!This is the college I always wanted to attend, but I have taken my last class from liberty. God bless those who was treated with respect and integrity, I wasn't and refuse to continue with this humiliation.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Great expereince-But ask questions and you will be fine..

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - April 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read several of the complaints regarding LU. I will say, initially I had some difficulty with financial aid, however, if you ask the right questions and have a conversation with the F/A depeartment, they are happy to help you throught the process. Furthermore, if you are doing your homework on the school you plan to attend then you should know if it is a secular school or a Christian school. LU is clearly a Christian school and if you are not a Christian you may have issues with the majority of the classes, because everything is taught from a Christian World View perspective, which I enjoy greatly. I would not recommend arguing with your Prof's about the legitiamcy of the Christian faith. As far as the class structure for the On-Line format goes, I've read serveral complaints here that I do not agree with. I am almost a Senior at LUO and as long as you have some discipline and time management abilities you can get the work done. I work full time (45 hours per week), and volunteer with collateral assignments through my employer as well as through my church... and I have never been late on an assignement. I beleive ANY On-Line formatted school is going to require the student to manage thier time wisely, LU is no different. I am also a Veteran and work in the Emergency Services field, LU gladly offered several scholarships to me, which have helped me a great deal. I have had nothing but a great experience with LU... My recommendation is- whenever you spend the kind of money you are going to spend on anything- your education especially- shop around, do your homework.... You would'nt buy a car or a home without researching it first would you???

Was this review helpful?

20 of 25 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT ATTEND!!!

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - March 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went there for two months ...everything was fine...then I am told that I have to fill out a form....I do that and then an error pops up...takes them 6 days to fix it then I get flagged for identity theft.....thats where I started researching and found some reviews here and just messaged them and told them they are not getting a dime of my aid to send it back to lender (and i will make sure it goes back). Save yourself the pain of going there and being denied aid eventually because they do not want you to have a refund check (at least that is how I am thinking of it ) find another scool like peru or fort hays!!

Was this review helpful?

21 of 35 people found the following review helpful

BS Psychology Degree

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - March 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BS in psychology in 2012 and I can recommend LU without reservation to prospective students. As a lifelong learner, I have taken online classes through six different schools (community college, private institution and state universities) and I can say without hesitation that Liberty has their act together. I wish that other schools could learn from LU's online program. It was efficient and effective in that work required was necessary and relevant. The program was energetic as all my classes were filled with other students who invested in the classrooms. Discussion Boards were energetic and timely. I did not have to wait until the day of the assignment to respond to other DB posts (which is what I'm dealing with in my current MAT online classes at Brandman). The work was not excessive in busy work but relevant to the subject. You could work a full time job and still complete this program without losing your mind. I never had to complete a wiki or a blog - just discussion board, research papers and a couple of observations. I never had issues with financial aid and in fact, I graduated with much LESS debt than my friend who completed a BS in psychology from Phoenix. Overall, Liberty University's online program is one of the better online programs I have attended.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Military friendly

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - December 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Some of these reviews are just way off, I have attended two other brick and mortar schools before Liberty and have found the experience to be very pleasant. I am a vet and had NO issue using GI benefits, as a matter of fact it was much easier here that in a state school I went to. They sent me the documents I needed, I filled them out and DONE. Not to mention that they waive fees and reduce tuition for military. They even reduce the tuition to meet the amount paid by military tuition assistance, so you aren't out of pocket ANY money. In addition, military are given book vouchers that covers texts. The classes are well designed, my professors are more than qualified, all of my professors had master's or PhD's in my field of study. They responded quickly to questions and are helpful. This university is fully accredited and is NOT a "diploma mill", as one of the lesser knowledgeable reviewers noted. Don't believe me? Check their credentials yourself, you will have no further questions about that. I have had no issues transferring credits to my masters program at a state university. Tuition is reasonable, keep in mind it is a non-profit PRIVATE university. Compare them to other PRIVATE universities and you will find they are competitive. If you don't want a Christian education, go elsewhere...they are a Christian school and everything is taught to academic standards as well as Christian standards. That means that you may learn from a secular text and then have to relate it to a Christian worldview.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid advisors are nasty

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - September 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please trust the reviews before signing with LUO,they are not fair with dealing with students money however they wash students brain by telling they are the largest in the world untrue they are certainly not a Christ centered university once a person is a student they scares you and teachers can even treaten to fail you, master manipulator they have total control over your money and can take away all your financial right if one is not careful shame shame shame lUO I would never recomend Liberty university to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 45 people found the following review helpful

Student

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - February 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Because of the flexibility offered by the online program, I was able to complete my 4 year degree in 3 years. I was more than a little hesitant to get my education online, but can now say that I learned as much or more than I did in a classroom setting. The course materials were excellent and I almost always received detailed feedback from my professors on assignments. Liberty is well worth the money and I would highly recommend the program.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful

ONE CLASS AND IM DONE!!!

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - January 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student with LU for 3 years and I have never encountered a problem. I have seen so many bad reviews about the Financial Aid, Advisors, Professors, etc. but I have yet to have a problem with any of that. Liberty staff has always been very nice to me and always worked with me to resolve problems. I have never had a problem receiving my aid or enrolling in classes. They are always very helpful to me. I have had maybe two professors that were unconcerned about students but I did my work and persevered through it. Maybe people should take the time to actually follow procedure and they will have a better experience. I graduate in May and will continue my education here and I would gladly recommend the school to anyone. The coursework for my major (Psychology) is tough but can be done. I have nothing but good things to say about this school. I could go on and on but I will end this by saying that they are a wonderful school!!

Was this review helpful?

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Liberty University Online rocks!

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - December 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm saddened to read the remarks of a few that have had less than pleasant experiences with Liberty University Online. I seems alot of the negativity is born in the student's expectation. I have had only excellent support from the staff, and feel like the content of the various classes is right on target; great educational experience!! My suggestion to those readers that may be sitting on the fence would be to try a couple of classes...then judge for yourself. Blessings ! current LUOnline student

Was this review helpful?

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Bachelor of Science in Psychology

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - October 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Anyone who is thinking about a BS in Psychology, pump your brakes!!!! It is not worth it. I have been to many on campus schools and never had problems with getting my financial aid money. When you attempt to contact them you get so many lies about why its not disbursed but through FAFSA you know they have received it for you to attend! When you finally get something after your grades are notated its not even a tenth of what you qualified for. ALSO IF YOU ARE A TRUE FOLLOWER OF CHRIST THE INITIAL CLASSES THEY RECOMMEND ARE BLASPHEMING TO GOD! Bad bad bad school!!!!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 28 people found the following review helpful

I would rather lay down in traffic

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - August 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Financial aide is an absolute nightmare. I would rather deal with Freddy Krugar. It is unorganized. Ignorance is prevalent. Some of the representatives are rude beyond belief. I would drop out if it wasn't for the fact I only have one semester left. My daughter is transfering out as fast as she can. I have had some really good professors, but I have also had some apathetic, uninvolved ones. What shocks me the most is Liberty University's slogan is "Training Champions for Christ for more than 30 years", and the content of the courses (in many classrooms) is far from Biblical values.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful

AMAZING SCHOOL!!!!! LOVE IT!

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - May 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Going to Liberty University was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I absolutely LOVE this school. I attended another Christian University for 3 years before and it could not even come close to comparing to LU. The staff are very supportive. I have gained life long mentors, and supporters because of going to LU. The staff truly want their students to succeed. The price for your education is OUTSTANDING! Especially if you are in the military. They show they appreciate military members. The only 2 recomendations I would make is students should be assigned to personal advisors instead of a team of advisors (can make things confusing) and there are some professors that do not respond quickly. Other than that I would recommend this University to anyone! LOVE IT LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Angry new student( be angry but sin not)

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - March 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a new accepted online student at liberty university. I haven't even started classes yet and I have had sooooo many problems with the financial aide department, along with their hole enrollment of new students period. This school system is absolutely horrible. Number one if your selected for verification you bet to start getting your information turned in to the school at leat 4 to 5 months in advace. I was selected for verification and I started the process and January 2011 it is now march 2, 2011 and their telling me i still might not be able to start on time on march 21 take the deadline for financial check-in is march 14,2011 and if your late checking in even if its there fault the charge you a 125 dollar late fee. I had to fax this school my paper work repeatedly a least two times each, because the way their system is set up the loose faxes like crazy which holds you up in the process. I even talk to the supervisior this school has no remorse and takes no credibility for their mistakes. Everytime you call this school you get a different person each time who repeats the exact same thing that you've heard from the very beginning. Your not assigned to just one person working on your enrollment status, your assigned to the hole call center so whomever you get thats just who you get. This schools process is terrible and their excuse is well we have so many students enrolling. Well so does phoenix university I went to that school and I had one person assisting me the whole time throughout my process unto I started my first day of school. I thought this university was working out of a spirit of excellence been a christian school and all but their not. Their not compassionate I spoke to a girl today in financial aide 3/2/11 who got an aittude with me and hung up in my face which provoked me to write this review with all the ups and down that I've been through with this school you would think they would be more concerned but I guess not I just another student on the row. I sent an email for financial aide to call me for the processing department they sent me an email saying that it would be one to two days, not business days well that was last friday and I still haven't received a phone call yet!And yes they are open on saturdays. Just pray about this school before you start the process yes everybody makes mistake and i understand the verification process takes about a month in itself but i would have been through with verification if that hadn't of kept losing my faxes.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid here is a NIGHTMARE

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - February 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had so much trouble with Financial Aid at Liberty University this year 2010-2011. I am so frustrated that I would drop out but they would charge me for the classes I am in and I would end up not being able to get my transcripts. I was given a Pell grant in the Fall along with loans that covered my tuition fully but then in the Spring they charged me back $1388.00 with no warning what-so-ever and told me that I was in the verification process. I wasn't even able to get a book voucher for my books. Anyway 4 MONTHS LATER AM STILL IN VERIFICATIONS with no end in sight. I call and I email and NO ONE WILL HELP ME!!! I have a couple of friends that this happened to as well and through no fault of their own they were dropped from spring classes. Do not attend this school if you depend on your financial aid because everything will go smoothly for a while and then the bottom will drop out from under you and when it does you will not get any help from Liberty. They have grown to big too fast to give the personal attention students need. BUYER BEWARE!

Was this review helpful?

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Horrific

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - August 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The teachers dont respond to questions, the financial aid dept is a mess, advisors are not at all helpful...I could go on and on. I am finishing my degree (and will graduate) from Liberty, and do think the coursework was helpful, but I would never ever send someone to this school. I suggest a college where the professors actually respond to requests for information and the adviors actually advise!!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Awesome University

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - April 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently taking my 10th class with Liberty University Online. This is probably one of the best universities for military to attend because they give so many benefits to the men and women in uniform. I recommend Liberty University to everyone I meet because I believe I get a real world class education there. They actually read the course critiques you do after the courses and change the course format and materials if enough people make recommendations. I've been in the Marines for about eight years now, and I bounced around to several different colleges. I have to say that without a doubt Liberty is #1. It is more challenging than the other places I've attended, and it's better than actually attending a brick and mortar institution. The professors at Liberty actually care. I actually learn things at Liberty, whereas at the last college I went to, I felt I was repeating stuff I learned in my first two years of high school. Check Liberty out, it is worth your time.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Terriffic!

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - March 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I lacked one year finishing my BS degree. I'm married, I work and have children, so when I looked around at available alternatives I decided to go with a distance learning program. Liberty University fit the bill perfectly and it has been a great experience. Communication was excellent. The online systems work well. Help, feedback, and general care and concern were first rate. You are not just a number at Liberty. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great University

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - March 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended two schools before transferring here and I must say I have really enjoyed Liberty thus far. I can understand the negative reviews from those who don't really agree with the incorporation of a Christian Worldview. I will say that this is a Christian school and when selecting schools to attend, Liberty clearly states that it is a Christian school and it does not apologize or try to hide this fact. My major is Psychology. I'm currently in the undergraduate program and I can attest that some of the work in these classes is a bit much. However, I was extremely happy to pass a biology class at this school. While working a full time job, and taking three to five tests a week, I can't believe some are complaining about not getting a real education. This is a real College. A lot of quality books have been written by Professors at this school. Some of the Deans and Professors have given lectures at Harvard and Yale. Yes, Professors from Liberty giving lectures at Harvard and Yale. Why it is that Christians are thought to be less educated then the secular world? I know this is an undue bias but it will continue unfortunately not only from the world but from Christians as well. If a person would like to receive a very thorough education from a very credible school, I recommend Liberty. A lot of the online courses do require you to read a lot, and there is a great deal of homework. It is a very respectful environment and you will be required to read scriptures from the Bible or take a Bible survey class but then again even people who are not Christians may find it useful to learn where some famous quotes from history come from. Many are used in society. I’m sorry so many have had a negative experience. The person who had the complaint about wanting a Professional Counseling degree vs. a Christian counseling degree, I believe that is a valid point. The rest, sounds like you picked the wrong school that does not sit well with your worldview.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Major in Professional Counseling

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - February 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have taken several classes now and feel that Liberty University is excellent! It is not a breeze and you have to do the work - but what college is easy? I have good instructors and they give good feedback, good classmates, the technology is great and all of the staff have been wonderful to me. I would highly recommend this college for your masters degree. I did not attend Liberty for my bachelors.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

BS from LU

Bachelor of Science in Psychology - July 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed my BS in psychology from Liberty University. The curriculum was tough, but good (in most classes). It is NOT an easy program. The most progressive class (in the new 8-week format) was biology. The book was online (e-book). There was plenty of interaction with others, and plenty of help, if needed. Unfortunately, that support was lacking many of the required courses in my degree plan. The worst classes to take online were the math classes. There was NO support for these classes. The coursework was NOT formatted for an online platform, the required textbooks were NOT helpful for the content, and there was NO discussion board element equation in the grade. The online math classes are NOT progressive, NOT geared for the 8-week formatting and NOT pleasant to get through. I recommend ALL students take their math classes at ANY other institution, and have the credits transferred in! However, on the other side, I got to take classes with Elmer Towns as the lecturer. He was incredibly organized, incredibly easy to understand and a joy to learn from. I absorbed so much from his classes. My recommendation to anyone attending (or going to attend) LU, take Towns' Gospel of John course. It's not a requirement, but should be. (NOTE: You can check out Towns' website, where MANY of his books are there as eBooks, and can be read online, free. It's at ELMER TOWNS DOT COM). POSITIVES: (1) The online formatting (2) Accreditation (3) The Incredible Biblical Studies Courses/Resources and Professors (4) All students get access to the online academic library, including subscriptions to peer and scientific review articles. This is a MUST for the social sciences. NEGATIVES: (1) A few BAD Professors, with Poor ability to teach. (2) The "Advisers" in the psychology department are often unprofessional, curt, uninformative and unhelpful! I was GREATLY disappointed with each one of them (in my time at LU). (3) The financial aid department are horrible! I couldn't believe the unprofessional attitude I received from financial aid, during my time there. It was bar none, the worst experience I had with this university. I cannot express how awful they were to deal with. (4) The discrimination the University holds against online students. Resident students get so many advantages that online students do NOT (including tutoring, counseling, professor interaction, scholarships, access to the LU campus and community, plus resident students get the advantage of being local enough to walk their commencement, where online students often cannot afford the airfare to Lynchburg for commencement ceremonies, etc.). CONCLUSION: I cannot personally recommend Liberty's Online University. My suggestion would be if you were local, to attend Liberty in person. However, if you're not local to Lynchburg, I would suggest ANY legitimate alternative to Liberty's online program.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Liberty University in any way.