Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Southern New Hampshire University

2.9
61 Reviews
5 14 
4 17 
3 4 
2 9 
1 17 
0 0 

 

Southern New Hampshire University Reviews:

Don't bother

Business Administration - October 19, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Absolute worst experience I have ever had, a total waste of time. I started in 2017 and by 2019 have not touched a single core class. They keep piling on "lower-level" classes that have nothing to do with my chosen course. They care only about money, driving you into classes and ensuring you waste your time and resources. I have a 3.833 GPA and it means nothing, not one class can be used in my field of choice. I spent 10,000 dollars to walk away angry, with nothing and not even close to my degree. Most schools are 4 years, at this rate, I would be 5 years and wasted more money and time. Avoid Southern New Hampshire Univerity and save your self-time, money and frustration!!!!!! There are much better schools out there that care about your bottom line, not theirs.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Money maker hiding behind accreditation requirements

Business Administration - May 4, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Every school has its pros and cons. However, when I started with SNHU, the degree evaluation/course requirements were fair. Recently, according to their "department heads and program directors", accreditation standards changed and required SNHU to change the course requirements for degrees. I switched degree programs and was hit with a new set of requirements for the GenEd section of the program. I was going to switch back to my original program and was told that the new degree course requirements would still apply. I submitted a request to remain on my original catalog year and it was denied, twice. Now, instead of having one course left to complete in the GenEd section, I have five (5) new added course requirements. On the HR concentration and business core end, I lost 5 important courses because they are now requiring more GenEd courses. This is not an accreditation requirement, it is simply a way for the school to make more money knowing students in certain programs will want to take more of their degree related classes, resulting in the student to purchase extra courses. Because of this, I HIGHLY caution anyone who is thinking about attending SNHU. After receiving no help from the advisers, registrar, department heads and program directors, I decided it would be best to leave the school and search for a different one. The other schools I spoke with do not have such a change in their GenEd requirements. Hmmm. This could be a reason why their retention rate is only hovering around 50%. Do your due diligence before enrolling.

Was this review helpful?

65 of 72 people found the following review helpful

Horrible Treatment

Business Administration - August 3, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you plan to attend SNHU and need financial aid, make sure you pay very close attention to your FAFSA account. Especially if you have an annual income that makes it so you don’t qualify for the Pell Grant. You’ll be looking for changes or adjustments made by SNHU’s Financial Aid Department. The adjustments are made so you will be eligible for these grants. I know this, because they did it to me causing my FAFSA to get red flagged and my Pell Grant pulled. So now I owe SNHU over $1500 and can’t continue my education until I pay them back. The entire staff and advisors were very helpful. Then, just like that…..the attitude amongst the entire university changed. No support, no bubbly voice on the other end of the phone, no one wanting to guide me or help me. Except to tell me I need to talk to someone in financial aid about a payment plan so I can get this debt paid. Basically saying “pay us the money you owe and don’t call us again until you do”. Which brings me to the point I wanted to make to begin with. Until all of this happened I never noticed the “Change History” on my FAFSA. Yes, with every time you or in my case, the financial aid department, make a change or correct something on your FAFSA, it is logged. You can view this by signing into www.fafsa.ed.gov then click the link at the bottom that says, “View Correction History to view corrections made to your FAFSA”. This link shows all the corrections made, by whoever (you or the school) and the date they were made. I was completely unaware of the corrections the university made, yet I’m the one paying for it. When I first filed for a FSA ID, the only money I had to claim was that from the pension plan I cashed out. I wasn’t working or receiving a paycheck and this is what I kept telling the financial aid department. Evidently this was too confusing for them because I kept getting emails and phone calls as to where this money came from and why wasn’t I filing taxes. So, I filed taxes to appease them but by doing so, put me in a different financial bracket which meant the grant money I qualified to receive was less. I guess they would have none of that, so someone in the financial aid department went in and changed the information on my FAFSA so that I would fall into the financial bracket qualifying me for more grant money. Confused yet? I had to jump through the same hoops and supply the same information to them for the 2016-2017 school year and with the 2017-2018 school year. Accept this time the Government flagged my account and pulled the Pell Grant money. In order for me to continue my education, this money has to be paid back to SNHU (they offered me a plan of $83 a month for 18 months). I can’t even go to another college because they won’t release my transcripts until this money is paid. Do you think if I had $1500 just laying around, I would need financial aid to begin with? Here’s the best part (not really), I’ve attended school for over a year and the proof I have is not the Associates Degree like I should, no, it's the $14,000 of debt I’ve accumulated. Oh, it gets better! Because I’m no longer enrolled in school, beginning in December of this year I have to start making payments on this $14,000 debt. All because the school made changes to my FAFSA so they could get more money, that I have to pay back……………..it’s a vicious circle with no end. So, if you choose SNHU, make sure and cross your “T’s” and dot your “I’s” and keep a close eye on your FAFSA for changes being made by someone other than you.

Was this review helpful?

84 of 89 people found the following review helpful

Don't Waste The Money or Time

Business Administration - April 12, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I tried to complete a course in Business and the teachers ignored my emails. My academic advisor was no help and they were useless and now I have to pay the full price because they are useless. SNHU is not a great school and if you want to waste money and time, please attend. If not don't. I also felt like I learned nothing when I was there anyway.

Was this review helpful?

37 of 61 people found the following review helpful

Great School for those willing to put in the work

Business Administration - April 6, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from the B.A. program at the end of 2016 after attending online classes over the past two and a half years. I enjoyed the classes, the flexibility, and the support from the school. I am surprised by some of the poor reviews, take them with a grain of salt. People are far more reactionary when angry. Some of these were probably written directly after a negative experience, while still heated, but I digress. Here are my honest observations from my time with SNHU: The majority of the staff were very attentive and responded to concerns in under 24 hours as promised. If you want a professor with more experience, sign up for classes early, don't wait till last minute and and get a TBD professor. I did have two professors over my time that I was disappointed with. I escalated that to my adviser, and had my concerns dealt with in a satisfactory manor, bu that only happened twice. On that topic, my adviser was extremely helpful. Always quick to respond when help was needed with anything from registration to financial aide. He helped to clarify my path and what classes to take, and led me to the correct people when he did not have the answer. The financial aide department was equally as helpful in explaining how my loans would work, and helped me craft a letter to pare down the amount disbursed over and above what I needed to help me avoid building more debt than was absolutely needed. I was able to transfer the maximum number of prerequisite classes from my community college courses, which was also a great help. Classes did build in difficulty, and the deeper I went the more time I needed to spend in the online class room. There were weekly discussion boards that encouraged interaction with fellow classmates, as well as weekly assignments and reading, just like you would see in a "normal" classroom. Again, SNHU requires you to be fully engaged, from signing up for classes early, to ordering books on time, to participating in discussions and handing in papers by the deadlines. If you are willing to truly participate and are not expecting a cake walk degree mill, SNHU is a great choice.

Was this review helpful?

47 of 52 people found the following review helpful

I've gotten raises and promotions thanks to my degree!

Business Administration - September 26, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the material covered to be relevant and presented in a manner that made a lot of sense. The classes are well organized and my adviser was attentive and quick to respond to questions/concerns. As with any school your education is only worth what you put into it. Those that say the degree is useless may want to get a job else where. I've gotten hired by one of the big four consulting firms on Wall Street and promoted at that firm. I then took a job offer from another large consulting firm at a higher level position. I was making around $40,000 before I finished my degree, and now I'm at $90k about two years later. Side note: How do you get duped/tricked into coming to a school? You have to read and sign a ton of paperwork for both school administrative reasons and for financial aid. These folks that feel they got tricked are probably the same people that fall for the Nigerian prince scams...

Was this review helpful?

44 of 56 people found the following review helpful

Southern New Hampshire University

Business Administration - April 8, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the worst school possible in almost all aspects. DO NOT ATTEND. The teachers are very little help, the classes are a joke and the degree means nothing. Waste of money and time. Nice people but prepare to be surrounded by idiots who think its cool not to do classwork. I wish I transferred earlier and now it is too late for me. CLASSES ARE A FUCKING JOKE.

Was this review helpful?

31 of 58 people found the following review helpful

Horrible Treatment

Business Administration - June 17, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a situation where my instructor had some discriminating behavior and I shared it with my academic advisor and she was not helpful at all. Actually, she tried to down-play it and make it seem as if I was taking it wrong. My academic advisor and her immediate lead tried to convince me that there was no Dean of Students for the online students and there was basically no one I could talk to. I was informed of this third party on the outside that would look into the matter and that everything had to filled out on paper. As much as I have paid this school in tuition, I should have been able to speak to someone and not blown off being informed about some form. Oh yeah, by the way the academic counselor saw the email the instructor sent to me. The situation was not handled right and I will no longer attend a school that allow such behavior as this.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Non-profit? Don't kid yourself.

Business Administration - March 11, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

SNHU claims to be non-profit, and technically it may be, but the COCE is run just like UoP and garbage for-profits. Grades are given away. No work is expected. The level of instruction is pitiful. The academic standards keep going down and down and down because all SNHU cares about is keeping butts in seats so the financial aid will keep flowing.

Was this review helpful?

37 of 82 people found the following review helpful

Decent

Business Administration - October 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently graduated from SNHU. Is it the best school? No. I would recommend it to all my peers though. I really liked the school, the teachers, the course work and the curriculum. Now that I’ve graduated, I’ve learned that you get out what you put into it. If you read all coursework and do the weekly assignments, you will get a solid education. I really don’t have any complaints about the school. The staff was pretty good, the teachers were very helpful and I don’t feel the courses were too easy. I definitely feel like I’ve earned my degree unlike diploma mills. I can honestly say that I’m proud that I chose SNHU and have a degree from the school.

Was this review helpful?

55 of 66 people found the following review helpful

SNHU a great experience thus far

Business Administration - September 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Southern New Hampshire University has been an outstanding experience so far. I have had great instructors and a very knowledgeable advisor. The financial aid office has been easy to deal with and I have not yet encountered anyone that did not understand or speak English clearly! In general, whenever I have left a voicemail or sent an email, I have gotten a response very quickly with a thorough explanation. I tried University of Phoenix and did not last a full semester because my teachers were neither interested nor knowledgeable. To the people that are looking for an online college and complain that all SNHU wants is money, I would try looking again and it is not any schools responsibility (online or otherwise) to drag you through! Be an informed consumer and ASK QUESTIONS!!

Was this review helpful?

36 of 45 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Business Administration - March 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was very surprised to see the negative reviews. I attended online classes at a couple of traditional University's and by far find this to be the best experience I've had. What first attracted me to SNHU was the shorter time of completion and price. I was surprised at how many times my advisor contacted me before the start of classes. I never talked to my advisor at any of the other schools, I'm not even sure if I had one. My advisors at SNHU, answered all my questions and are readily available. The second thing I found is the course work was actually providing me with information I can use. Those other schools had one management class, no HR and no organizational behavior classes. I have to 7 of those to graduate. I've taken 7 classes and have 6 more to go. While working full time, I only have one year left. In a traditional school that would take a minimum of a year an a half or up to, three years. I think one bad apple shouldn't reflect your option of a whole university. It's about the education your getting.

Was this review helpful?

41 of 52 people found the following review helpful

So-So School

Business Administration - July 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is not great, nor is it awful. The coursework is generally painfully easy. I've had some great professors, and some awful professors whom were obviously not well versed it the English language (SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN AT AN ONLINE INSTITUTION BASED IN A COUNTRY WHERE THE NATIONAL LANGUAGE IS ENGLISH). The class format is nice- mostly short essays and discussion board pots with out the pointless multiple choice tests. My biggest complaint is the grading- it's way too lenient. While school has never been a struggle for me, I should not be getting a 4.0 when only dedicating 4 hours a week to studies (while taking 2 classes a term). SNHU appears to be expanding its online program too quickly while not paying attention to the cardinal rule of maintaining a respectable reputation as an online school-academic quality at all costs.

Was this review helpful?

39 of 58 people found the following review helpful

Great staff and challenging coursework

Business Administration - August 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 19 classes left towards my BS in Business and IT,I can tell you that the staff at SNHU is awesome, they use skype,email and phone very effectively to advise you and communicate with you. They help you pick your courses based what you need to graduate and based on what interests you. The coursework is very challenging and interesting, the teachers are most of the time easily reachable by email. Ask for Amy or Bladimir to advise as they are the best advisers there! The only thing I found is that the books are not always available online so if you are international you might have to dig online for ebooks or pick a dif course.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Great School!!!

Business Administration - August 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have six classes left at SNHU to finish my B.S. in Business. I chose Southern New Hampshire becuase it was a traditional school with a great online program. I had previously taken classes online through a local junior college, so I felt comfortable with the format. Be prepared...these classes are challenging, they make you earn your grade! The other thing I liked about SNHU is that they allow you to take your math courses online. The cost is reasonable and the support is amazing. The classes are only 8 weeks long, you get a lot done in a short amount of time. Check it out, I'm sure those of you who check out SNHU, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful?

40 of 58 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Southern New Hampshire University in any way.