Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Walden University

  • Walden University Reviews

    Learn More

    Ranking: #59
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Walden University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of The North Central Association, www.ncahlc.org; 312-263-0456

    Write a Review

3.0
293 Reviews
5 74 
4 75 
3 22 
2 48 
1 74 
0 0 

 

Walden University Reviews:

Walden is the worst school and should be shut down

PhD Public Health - July 11, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There is no consistency among the professors which is intentional as it keeps you from finishing your degree. There is no guidance and you are left to figure everything out on your own. From the library staff, tutors, academic advisers, no body cares or gives you what you need to succeed because the goal is for you to get so in debt that you have no choice but to stay until you have no source of paying. They hide the fact that their Public Health program is not accredited which means that you cant get a federal job once you complete their PhD program. Walden is only concerned about getting your money and should be shut down.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 45 people found the following review helpful

MPH, Waste of Time

PhD Public Health - November 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MPH program is a waste of time. The school is not CEPH accredited. Since the school is not accredited cannot sit for any certification nor can you participate in any fellowships or internships. I did contact CEPH to find out what I must do to obtain accreditation. I found it I will have to repeat the first 5 courses or the core requirement from a CEPH accredited school. Employers do not view Walden's MPH program as acceptable for employment. Please prior to enrollment look at other options for online MPH programs. There are many schools that offer online programs that are CEPH accredited.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful

2014 AND STILL NO CHAIR ADVISOR OR COMMITTEE.

PhD Public Health - June 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

OKAY, TWO YEARS HAVE GONE BY. IT IS NOW 2014!!! AND STILL NO CHAIR ADVISOR OR COMMITTEE. THE INSTRUCTORS ARE NOT AT FAULT. THE PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS ARE. EMPLOYERS ARE FROWNING ON WALDEN'S MASTERS DIPLOMAS?? THE SO-CALLED PH.D PUBLIC HEALTH PROGRAM SHOULD BE CALLED THE APA PROGRAM. A REAL WASTE OF $$$

Was this review helpful?

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful

ANOTHER YEAR GONE BY-- STILLNO CHAIR PERSON!

PhD Public Health - May 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received a Master's degree--fine! Completed all required courses for the Ph.D. in Public Health program--fine!!! AND THEN I HIT THE BRICK WALL; NO CHAIR PERSON OR COMMITTEE AVAILABLE. Since 2012 to the current, NO CHAIR ADVISOR!!! ??? This is unbelievable and embarrassing.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Not a real school

PhD Public Health - November 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I left Walden University when I finally realized that I wasn’t earning a graduate degree, I was buying one. When I applied at Walden and saw how easy it was to get in, it should have been a huge red flag for me. And looking back, I guess there was something in the pit of my stomach that just didn’t feel right. It wasn’t until I started taking classes that I began to realize that this program is not focused on learning, but rather on money. You pay thousands of dollars for courses that are high school level. If you can read a book chapter or an article and summarize it in three paragraphs, and occasionally write a longer paper, you’ll get A’s. That’s fine if that’s the type of “education” you want. But if you are really looking to be challenged to develop critical thinking skills and be able to analyze information and engage in the type of discussions with peers and coursework that fosters the type of learning that should be taking place at the graduate level, you won’t find it at this school. Mediocre work is acceptable, so you don’t have to work very hard. Sure there is a lot of reading and weekly discussion post (often just a simple 200-300 word responses to basic questions about the assigned readings), but it’s not very challenging work and you won’t learn much doing it. Many of the “positive” comments mention that to succeed at Walden you need to be willing to ‘”work hard” … but that refers to being able to read a lot and summarize the information for weekly discussion posts in two classes over a 12 week period. In other words, this is “busy work” that may take some people a lot of time to do. The problem is, it is not learning. It is not the type of work that really allows you to think for yourself and engage in meaningful dialogue with the instructors and fellow students. Everyone answers the same questions and basically writes the same summaries of the information. It’s dull, boring, uninspiring work. And you pay $2500 per class to do this! I thought the introductory started like this but expected the higher level courses to be more of what you’d expect in a PhD program. But even the 5 credit “advanced” courses are the same. What finally got me to leave the school was the fact that in my last class at Walden, my teacher waited until the last week to grade 5 assignments. This included my final paper which was 21 pages long. The electronic classroom tracks when you submit assignments and when they are received, viewed, and graded by the instructor. These 5 assignments were all graded within a 2 minute time period. In other words, the teacher did not read them. So what pride can I take in getting an A in the course if my assignments weren’t even read? The content of what you write, and therefore the content of what you actually learn in the classes at Walden, does not matter. Just pay your bill and submit something that can be graded so it can appear that actual learning is taking place. It really is a shame. I am actually embarrassed that I was a student at Walden for over a year before I finally woke up and asked myself “what am I actually learning?” … I don’t want to buy a graduate degree. I want to earn one.

Was this review helpful?

62 of 81 people found the following review helpful

PhD Eoidemiology

PhD Public Health - August 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the doctoral program for public heath epidemiology tract. This school is not CEPH accredited for MPH or PhD in public health(epidemiology). Every job posting I have looked at will only interview you if you graduate from a CEPH accredited program. I have read on other blogs that people could not get jobs because no one wanted the degree from a school from a non-CEPH accredited program. I guess you could get a job i some remote area of the world or area where there are limited applicants but I am hugely concerned as I am paying huge amounts of money for this school. No don't get me wrong- I am doing well in the program but very concerned about the marketability of this program. I have twice requested to be put in contact with an alumni from this school with this degree that is gainfully employed and have gotten no response when they told me they would. What does everyone else think? The jobs I have looked at want extensive research experience from their grad school experience and you don't get that here and publishing is not an encouraged task. What does everyone else out there think? I am basically in this program because I cannot quit my job and go to a brick and mortar school full time. I am considering changing my major and going to another school with fully accredited programs in their area of expertise.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Excellent school

PhD Public Health - February 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Walden is not for the person who wants to just get a degree and move on. It is a multi-faceted experience that begins with self-motivation. It is imperative that one must have ethics to do all the work but most importantly to dedicate oneself to social justice in various areas of life. I have met some students who should not have enrolled and I have met some inspirational ones as well. Do not attend this school if you need your hands held and by all means do not attend if you cannot write APA, especially if you are in your doctorate degree. It is up to you to make this work - master the curricula, master your writing, master your calling for social justice. I was surprised all the negative reviews but I believe that it is not because the school failed them, but because they may have failed to meet the mission and vision statements. I will be starting my dissertation shortly and I have had nothing but positive responses from professors.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 22 people found the following review helpful

PhD in Public Health

PhD Public Health - September 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am finishing up my PhD in Public Health and as a person who went to a prestigious school for my undergrad, I am happy to have chosen Walden for my PhD. If you do all the reading thoroughly, and opt to do the additional/supplemental weekly readings and assignments, you will be an expert in your field before you leave. The instructors are a bit “hands off” but I am a very self-motivated person, so I actually preferred it. I took a couple courses in Public Health at my local UC Graduate School Extension before I started at Walden, and Walden used all the same materials and has the same, and if not more coursework. I am really happy with the experience but not only will I walk away with a degree, but I also feel that I have exceptional knowledge in my field. And that kind of knowledge cannot be bought.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

FINANCIAL AID AT WALDEN

PhD Public Health - August 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Students' who are experiencing problems with financial aid (FA) is not because of some flaw within the Department of Education (DOE) as claimed; the problem is with Walden. They are holding on to the funds until the last possible moment to see if you the student will drop a course possibly making you ineligible for FA. God forbid if you are getting a refund, they act as though they are required to pay it back; especially if it’s a grad plus or private loan. Speaking to other students, they all experience the same issue especially when expecting refunds. The DOE has stated that they have not had any problems as stated and claimed by WU-- FA Dept. Most of the loan servicing depts.; i.e., Sallmae are baffled by this claim. To the student who had the problem with the student loan funding issue, you need to get on the phone because something is up. Students required to attend those repetitive residencies I am sure benefit from the refund to assist with hotel and air fare. Walden intentionally places a hold on the funds—and later fwds daily emails regarding holds on the account. If an emergency arises and you can’t attend a residency for example, or if you fall below the six credits needed, your loan will be cancelled. You will then need to pay out of pocket for the other courses. There is a payment plan but through another system. There are specific requirements, you will need to call to find out. I think that they are using the money. Or it appears very strange that funds are released after a term has ended. Or even, while attending a residency in a land far far away, suddenly the funds are disbursed. Overall, the school is a mess! And to the individuals who make comments about the Chair Advisor/Committee, thanks!!!!! I was wondering what the issue was; three advisors for over 500 students applying. I know students who have tried for up to 2 years searching for an advisor. And when you find an advisor, there is no committee. Someone needs to start a class action lawsuit, and WU needs to pay back all the loans students borrowed. Excuse the punctuation and errors as they are not as serious at the moment. What is more serious, is the fact that WU is not holding up to its standards Ps. students are being expelled for plagiarism; issues such as forgetting to credit a source is just crazy. I have seen student expelled for cutting and pasting the shell of an exam--a take home exam!!!

Was this review helpful?

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful

Good Experience--Don't Believe the Bad Reviews

PhD Public Health - July 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First, let me say that with any online degree program, you get out of it what you put into it. If you are looking to coast through a PhD or MS degree with little to no work, then this school is NOT for you! I am currently conducting my research and plan to finish my PhD within the next 6 months. During my time at Walden I have had good instructors and good support. The IRB and research office are VERY efficient and anything I submitted was usually reviewed and approved within 1 week. For the person that commented on the student population as being primarily minority and low income, well, I have to say that I am neither and that statement is totally inaccurate. I saw and met many white students that obviously had professional careers at my residencies. Sure, the student population is diverse, but many colleges are these days. The majority of students I met at my residencies and in my courses worked full-time in the field related to the degree they were pursuing, had families, and wanted to further their education. This is a good school for working professionals that want to further their education. As with any college, if you don't put forth the time and effort to study, learn the material, and submit the assignments and exams on time, you will not get a very good grade.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Misguided comments

PhD Public Health - May 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Most of these comments are misguided. Graduate education, especially at a PHD level is about independent thought. If you were hoping for hand holding, then Walden is not for you. I am in the process of completing my PHD in PUBH and I can attest to the quality of education I received. The same experience extends to many other graduates and current students. As always, people who make comments online tend to be the outliers for many reasons. I just felt obliged to provide another side to the story, which by the way I believe represents the MAJORITY of graduate students at Walden. I challenge you to try going through a brick and mortar program and then come back a few years later and comment on your experience, particularly in regards to availability of faculty and support for your studies. I can almost guarantee you that it will be worse, unless ofcourse you are willing pursue your advisors research. Eitherway, good luck to you folks and just remember, what you put in is what you get out!!! Don't forget that most students at Walden, already have successful careers, hence, they are past the facination with the superficial factors such as brand name of the school etc. They are mostly driven by a specific academic goal, which is mostly postive social change. NOT ALL WHO ENROLL ACTUALLY COMPLETE THE PHD..there is a reason for that...and you are prime example!

Was this review helpful?

39 of 54 people found the following review helpful

Rip Off Big Time

PhD Public Health - April 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending Walden's purported PhD Public Health program and I have to tell you, it's a major joke on the students. The professor, who also earned his doctoral degree from Walden, does not disseminate any useful information, and forget about lectures as there are none, not even PowerPoint presentations. He makes very casual comments in response to the students' posts and never offers anything substantial. He grades the assignments but it is clear that he does not read them as he offers no feedback. His only focus is that we use APA formatting. There is absolutely no way that anyone will learn anything about public health in this type of setting. And while Walden boasts about having instructors who are experienced, what's the point if the intructors are not sharing that experience or expertise in the classroom. I am a 12 year public health veteran and could definitely teach or should I say manage the activity in the classroom as there is absolutely no teaching. It claims that it is a student centered environment wherein students teach each other. The problem with that argument is students are not qualified and nor should they be expected to teach their fellow doctoral classmates. Many of them are simply paraphrasing information for the sake of answering a question. A significant number do not have a background in public health. Anyone claiming to learn from this setup is actually lying or is too ignorant to realize that she/he is being exploited. You will learn more from reading books and scientific articles than this university. They also exploit their students by requiring them to attend 4 so-called residences out of state and usually in large metropolitan cities like Atlanta. The students have to pay an additional registration fee, plus housing and transportation all for the sake of hanging out with their faculty and fellow students. In addition, the guest speaker is never someone in the public health field. This year Eric Michael Dyson will speak. While I have his books, he has no experience in my area, hence, why would I pay money to hear him speak, and how is this experience considered a residency. During a residency, the student usually works at an external organization in h/his area of study; these are not residences, rather social gatherings that fill Walden's pockets. Therefore, if you merely want a worthless degree, and expensive one, this is the place for you. If you want to truly learn about public health, I strongly advise you to attend a traditional public health program at a state university. I realize that sitting in a classroom is so yesterday and an inconvenience but you will learn a lot more and establish real relationships with your faculty and public health community. This will be my first and last course at Walden.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

PhD in public health

PhD Public Health - January 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, my experience at Walden has been good. The only thing I don't like is that not every staff is knowlegeable and consistent in answering our questions. For example, I have asked different enrollment and academic advisors regarding the PhD in Public Health accreditation and when we can start our dessertation. My enrollment advisor told me she didn't know about public health program accreditation, and my academic advisor told me it is not accredited. So then I emailed the program coordinator, who told me that the PhD program in Public Health is not accredited by CEPH because the lack of CEPH accreditation on this program will not adversly affect students in the long run, since a PhD degree is an academic degree and not a professional degree. MPH degree, on the other hand, is important to be accredited. Other than some staff not knowing answers to our questions, I liking my courses thus far; things are flexible at Walden and enables me to complete my assignment whenever I want throughout the week. There is a lot of reading and writing in the PhD in public health program so I take note on this; at least one assignment a week per course. At the end of the day, I am learning a lot from my courses at Walden so I am satisfied.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

I have had a great experience at Walden

PhD Public Health - April 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had a great experience at Walden. This is my second year at Walden and I am in the PHD in Public Health/Epidemiology program. So far I have had excellent support, the teachers that I have had have responded to questions in a timely manner. Academic advising and financial aide have been outstanding in their response to my problems/issues. Walden is not just a diploma mill the materials are rigorous and you actually have to work for your grade which is contradictory to the popular assumption that online degrees are easy to get. If you can work independently you can excel at Walden. I would not have had the opportunity to pursue my PHD were it not for Walden. I am not able to attend a traditional "brick and mortar school" because it simply is not feasible for me as I work full time and am a single mother. Walden has been a Godsend for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Walden University Doctoral Program

PhD Public Health - April 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student in the Education Specialist program at Walden University. I thought I was making progress and doing well. But when I began my final class, problems begin to plague me. I have no idea if or when I will finish. They added a new clause which lets future students know you could be in the program indefinetly: Neither the provisions of this guide, nor the acceptance of students to the University through the admission, enrollment, and registration processes, constitutes a contract or an offer of a contract. The College of Education reserves the right to change any provision, offering, requirement, or fee at any time within the student’s enrollment period. Regular updates are made to this guide; students are encouraged to routinely check the Ed.D. Web page for new or supplemental information. Students should contact their academic advisors, faculty advisors/mentors, or instructors for clarification of specific academic program requirements. The instructors and faculty have been known to be unethical and rude if you point out their mistakes. Their tone can be unprofessional as they urge you to stop complaining and get back to the process. However, you will come to many stops because what is satisfactory for one member of your committee may have to be changed to satisfy another. You are caught is a cycle and won't finish until they say so despite the quality of your work. I think Walden is trying to improve their reputation as a "paper mill" but the work is not rigorous or hard, it is getting someone to agree that you have met the requirements of the rubric that is difficult. If you are considering an online university and Walden is your choice right now, I would not recommend it for the above reasons. I am an anonymous reviewer because Walden has punished some students by making them redo completed requirements that they already passed as a punishment for what they see as complaining and being resistent to the process. It is the worst educational experience I have ever had. Say no to Walden.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Don't believe poor reviews

PhD Public Health - December 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am quite surprised that people call Walden a "diploma mill" and must argue that Walden has provided a challenging program, among very competitive students and professionals. It is absolutely false that Walden professors hand-out A's and allow students to plagiarize. I am in my 2nd year of the PhD Public Health program, and maintain a 3.8 GPA. This has been earned by spending ~20 hours a week in each class, on challenging assignments that interface with current professional, research, and scholarly issues. Walden upholds very high standards, and students will never be allowed to plagiarize. The professors all use software to detect plagiarism, and will reprimand, reduce grades, and even place students on academic suspension for this behavior. It makes me wonder if the people who posted such poor reviews about Walden, were scathed by trying to get a diploma-mill degree, while plagiarizing, and not dedicating themselves to an intense, comprehensive program. I guess I would write a poor review too, if I had these expectations, but was unable to simply be handed a college degree. The Walden support has been very good. I have attended brick-and-mortar institutions for 14 years, and find that Walden even surpasses the support experiences I have had from other colleges. I have used Walden's technical writing, financial aid, residency, academic advising support, and have been pleased by it all. My professors have all had 15-20 years experience in our field, have been highly interactive, and have provided good instruction. I criticised on-line degree programs for years, and still believe that an on-line program is what you make of it, and you must be a self-motivated, dedicated, and astute scholar-practitioner to interface with superiors, colleagues, and peers in this academic setting. With that said, I have always used great discretion while evaluating other's personal comments and reviews of on-line institutions-consider the source!

Was this review helpful?

Walden sucks; no ceph accreditation

PhD Public Health - September 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They are very misleading. They are not CePH accredited so the degree is worthless.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

PhD Public Health Walden University Beware!

PhD Public Health - April 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am presently attending Walden University, PhD Public Health, and I have to say that I am deeply disappointed. I am presently working on my dissertation and this has been a horrible experience and huge mistake (financially) on my part. First, for PhD Public Health students the lack of faculty available to fill the mandatory dissertation committee (3 faculty) is a problem that must be changed ASAP if Walden wishes to continue with this program. It appears to me that Walden has set public health PhD student's up for failure because most students find themselves without a full committee and cannot finish the dissertation process. The enrollment advisor and the academic advisors never say at the start that the student is responsible for finding their dissertation committee and if the student cannot then oh well, too bad you are without a PhD and without several thousands of dollars, but hey thanks for the money while you were here. In the PhD Public Health program there are not enough "approved" faculty to take on the number of students who must have dissertation committees in order to complete the PhD requirements. I have never heard of a "real" University not providing the appropriate faculty in order for the students to meet dissertation criteria so that one might complete the requirements to graduate. If I had known from the start what the final stage (dissertation) was in details, I would not have wasted my time and money at Walden. Walden University is private and corporate owned, thus a business. However, I am going to write a letter to the Better Business Bureau and The Higher Learning Commission, North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), www.ncahlc.org. regarding poor business practice and lack of providing students with the BASIC necessities (like faculty) in order to complete the degree. To me I feel I have been lied to, set up for failure, and about 60 thousand dollars stolen from me because the university knew they did not have enough faculty for the PhD Public Health students to complete the dissertation according to their own policies and mandatory dissertation committee. I received my bachelors and masters from a traditional university and I am in the process of transfering back to the traditional university setting in hopes that I finish my PhD. I have maintained a 3.7 GPA during my doctoral studies at Walden and I am really angry to see all that money and time count for absolutely nothing.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Walden University in any way.