Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Walden University

  • Walden University Reviews

    Learn More

    Ranking: #59
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Walden University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of The North Central Association, www.ncahlc.org; 312-263-0456

    Write a Review

3.0
293 Reviews
5 74 
4 75 
3 22 
2 48 
1 74 
0 0 

 

Walden University Reviews:

Good if all other options are not available

Mental Health Counseling - March 3, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my degree and I can relate with many of the good and bad reviews. I feel like I earned a real degree but that it was over priced. I live in the middle of Wyoming and have few options. There were some classes that were challenging and some that were not, I think that happens most places, same as my experience at the U of U. I feel knowledgeable and am a licensed therapist now. If there are cheaper options by all means go for it, but this has worked for me in my circumstances.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Thank you, Walden University!

Mental Health Counseling - February 20, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Walden University is an excellent choice for the any student who is willing to be disciplined to study and take her or his academic pursuits seriously. Professors at Walden are willing to guide, support, and mentor you. Walden faculty and administration will not hold your hand or coddle you. If you are not willing to study with integrity and apply yourself to every assignment, discussion post, and peer interaction, you should not apply to Walden University. The degree will be equal to the quality of time you are willing to invest in your education. Some of my classmates at Walden have been frustrating to interact because they appeared to be putting little effort into the class. I trust the grades received highlight the effort. During my time at Walden University, I have been challenged, supported, and enlightened. Unfortunately, the financial aid and billing departments are weak and are difficult to deal with. Academically, I am very pleased with the education that I am receiving at Walden University. I recommend Walden University.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Good program but some professors are heartless

Mental Health Counseling - January 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Last term I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I kept in communication with my instructors about treatment and so forth. I was told that during my surgery and treatment that I would be given extensions on my assignments but they needed completed by the end of the term. One instructor followed through, while the other instructor for my research class did not. She stated that I needed to go through disability services to get the extra time (after I was told she would). Disability services said that because it was a past illness (they surgically removed the cancer) I did not qualify. I ended up failing the research class which devastated my GPA. Now my GPA is lower than required, I’m losing my financial aid and will more than likely be expelled for not meeting academic standards for the school. I received a failing grade for having cancer and now will be expelled and lose my financial aid for the same reason.

Was this review helpful?

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Great experience

Mental Health Counseling - June 29, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am from Europe and studying at Walden University is my first online university experience. It is a very different system from the one I had in my home country. It is better! They emphasizes the importance of becoming a scholar-practitioner. It means that they don't train you to be a simple counselor...they train you to be prepared and make a real change in your community. Some professors are strict, but fair. If you are not ready to make changes and improvements they suggest...you will not go too far in the program. You need to be open-minded, creative, serious, and humble. English is only my second language but I have straight As so far. Not because I am a genius, but because I am following the rules. I admit, that the residency fees are not low, but there are other online universities (Phoenix for example) that cost a lot more than Walden. I also admit that after the first 2 semesters I did not receive a call from academic advisers who would check my achievements. However, any time I need to contact one of the departments, I got excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Walden has been great

Mental Health Counseling - March 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have loved Walden from the day I applied. I am nearing completion of my M.S in Mental Health Counseling and have a G.P.A of 3.93. Walden is for students who are willing to work hard, and for that I am glad. Do not fear residencies, they are so enjoyable! The instructors at Walden have impressive experience and knowledge (great mentors). Walden is building professionals, expect high standards.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Worst Online University Ever

Mental Health Counseling - December 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This University is very unprofessional and insensitive to students. The Professors were alright, but the admission advisors, particularly [name omitted] <---BEWARE of this witch, was very rude and expects students to do her work for her. She Never checks on how her students are doing to see if they are keeping up or feeling anxious or overwhelmed. What happens at this University is that they enroll you even before your financial aid goes through, [She] Never told me that I will not have online books, instead, she waited until after I was fully enrolled in 3 classes to tell me that my financial aid did not go through because she personally did not receive my transcripts that I had sent over many times electronically. She then expected me to go through my prior University which I had graduated from with my B.S.P degree myself. So, I was in my first semester, bookless and behind. I chose to leave the University because I stressed to her that I felt very anxious and uncomfortable with them not communicating or preparing me for all of this chaos with not being ready. I had a 4.0 at my last college that I graduated with; made the Deans List. Don't attend this University. All they care about is dollar signs rather than the will and health of their students. Also, she emailed me back not apologizing for any of her wrongdoing, but to tell me I was two days past withdrawal so I was in academic penalty to owe the institution money which they will NEVER RECEIVE. I was only here for a week and a half, not even, the most RIDICULOUS staff and school!!

Was this review helpful?

25 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Like everything else you get what you put in...

Mental Health Counseling - November 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm more than half way through the mental health counseling program. The program is what I expected, not too hard but a lot of work, you get what you put into the program. I first looked for an accredited online a few months after I obtained my Bachelors degree. I was drawn to Walden because of the accreditation firstly. As well as how "pushy" the representative was, in a good way, she was able to answer all my questions about Walden, accreditation, and the online process. Not sure I agree with people who saw they just want money or see dollar signs. That's their job, to make money as was the university that you would have previously attended. Like all other land based or online colleges you will get professors who care and who don't. If you actually read the background information they provide they have decent qualifications and experience. You have to put in the work though. I don't see how students expect things to be handed to them, your education is YOUR responsibility, no one else's. it's up to you to reach out to professors and students and follow your own interest. This also applies to contacting the appropriate offices to get what you need. I had to request for time off due to the death of my father and like expected one teacher was helpfully and understanding and the other was horrible beyond belief. But that's to be expected I was In too much a state to look into more of a leave of absence. Which I didn't know was even an option. I would have taken it, so yes Walden can be heartless but is an establishment not your friend.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Satisfied

Mental Health Counseling - September 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with Walden has been great from the beginning. I agree with a previous review. You have to be motivated. You have to put in work. My instructors, financial aid, and advising have been timely and responsive. I feel challenged most of the time. Every school is not a good fit for everyone so i really don't get the bad reviews. Move on and be happy. I am involved socially with Walden students I have met at both residencies and we have been a tremendous support to one another. There is social media for Walden students by degree program and are very informative and supportive. I am able to apply what I have learned at Walden in everyday life. All of this trumps the high price tag

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

My time at Walden University

Mental Health Counseling - July 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

On September 9, 2009, I enrolled into Walden University’s Master in Mental Health Counseling program. Now, three years later, 22 core courses, a GPA of 3.34, and $80,000.00, I have been expelled from the university, to never re-apply. I would like to add, I was enrolled in the third week of my very last core course, and preparing for my internship. The university has added “Turnitin” as a tool to check for plagiarism, to the course requirement. But, it appears to me, that not all the professors have the same level of knowledge and understanding of the tool. I have been given different information by different professors. Or, when I inquired, I was unable to assist me with knowledge about the tool. I am absolutely shocked at being expelled for the reason that was given to me. Plagiarism. Yes, I was accused of plagiarizing a final paper. I disagree with the school’s findings. But, who am I? I attempted to argue my case, but fell on death ear. Even though I have three years invested, $80,000.00 in cost and have successfully completed all the core courses except one, Walden University did not consider me worth their time to teach me what I was doing wrong. Is this the type of institution of higher learning you would enjoy learning from? I would like to point out, as a 61 year old, I have a BS degree in Psychology, Sociology and a minor in Education, a MS degree in Guidance, Counseling and Human Services, have been working as a Mental Health Counselor at San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center in San Francisco, California for the past 10 years, and was previously the Director of Mental Health at a 1,600 inmate prison. I said all that to say, Walden University is not my first professional encounter and I do bring experience and a wealth of knowledge to the table. I think I deserve more than what Walden University think I deserve. “Turnitin” is not rocket science, therefore, I am capable of learning whatever is necessary. But, evidently Walden University thought otherwise. I wonder how and why they arrived at that decision? I think Walden University is attracted to dollar signs and less interested in educating. This has been the worst decision I have made in my entire life. An unfortunately, I will not live long enough to repay all the money I have borrowed to attend Walden University. Please, seriously think about your decision to attend a heartless institution as Walden University. Good luck. Thank you, James Kenneth Terry

Was this review helpful?

83 of 94 people found the following review helpful

Research is important

Mental Health Counseling - May 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am presently enrolled in the MS in Mental Health Counseling. I am nearing the end of my degree and is about to finish my practicum. I was informed fully about the expectations. The residencies that are required was a great opportunity for me to ask questions about concerns that I had and it was also encouraged. I read a lot of the reveiws and saw some that I totally disaggreed with. For the MSMCH APA format is required and stressed. So if you do not have good scholarly writting then Walden is not for you. If you cannot take the time to turn in assignments then Walden is not for you. If you do not take the time to read what is expected of you in the class discussions then Walden is not for you. I read a lot about how Walden charges too much. Well take the time to do research and you will find out that Walden has superior education for a lower cost. I have had very good experiences. I had an awful instructor like we would have at a traditional school and I voiced my opinion and it was taken care of. I am a type 1 diabetic and had episodes with my illness and I had instructors that were very understanding and had an instructor who explained the value of me signing up in the disability department. Receiving a good education is important to most of us but we have to work at it. Nothing worth having comes easy. Another thing is the fact that we are in different time zones. If you need to contact Walden do you factor that in? I have had a wonderful experience. When I was interviewing for my practicum and internship, my site supervisor was very impressed about the process and requirements and shared with me that it was more outlined and more professional than other well known traditional schools. I said all that to simply say, DO YOUR RESEARCH....Walden offers a lot.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Good, Bad, and Ugly

Mental Health Counseling - February 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At age 50 I began to realize that travling to campus were young students look at you as a senior or someone who will decided to obtain a educaton late in life. Walden University is the best thing that happened to an accredicted online university. It's Master in Mental Health is very well structured even though expensive but its worth the money. Many of the intructors are great and flexiable even though you have good and bad but, overall I am greatfull to Walden University for opening doors of employment opportunity. It's supportive services are great and strict when it comes to the financial need. Most of the students are 90% white which is not good and intimating looking at an Hispanic point of view.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Beware and do research on all online programs first.

Mental Health Counseling - September 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am incredibly dissapointed with Walden University. In my first week alone I had three courses with one instructor who had highly punitive values. In the discussion board, she chastized students making it very embarrassing for everyone. I was also notified that the cost of the residencies had increased to a phenominal rate. This was not the rate I was quoted before I was admitted. I chose to drop out of the program, but when I contacted my admissions advisor twice to find out the procedure, I never received a response. I would not recommend this school. It is not student friendly.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Walden's unfairness

Mental Health Counseling - August 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I cannot say anything against the instructors at Walden, however I can say that for a university that is as highly rated as Walden and teaches psychology this school is heartless to the students. My husband became terminally ill forcing me to withdraw from classes. He passed away two months later. I did return to classes but unfortunately had to take a leave of absence during the summer because I have a 4 year old and no child care. I was dropped from Walden, most universities would have had me show proof to the dean and excused my absence, not Walden

Was this review helpful?

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful

1st Semester M.S., Mental Health Counseling, Forensic Counseling

Mental Health Counseling - March 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my 1st semester of M.S., Mental Health Counseling, Forensic Counseling with Walden University. I must say, I was very doubtful to say the least in obtaining a Master's degree online, specifically regarding my area of expertise. As of right now, I am sooooo thrilled that I chose Walden U. There is a Student Support Group on Facebook, started by other students, that offers great advice, work arounds, and support. My instructor is phenomenal and the course work required is right inline with preparation for a Clinical Practice and even sets the tone for Ph.D. If you are second guessing yourself about Walden U., please rethink the process. Sure, there is not a perfect school, even the traditional brick and mortar, but the quality of education that I am receiving is surpassing my expectations, which are usually held in very high regard. I already have made some connections for possible internships and am looking forward to completing my first residency in the next few months. Come aboard with an open mind, focused, and ready to achieve your goals and you will not fail!!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Rising Tuition / Fees

Mental Health Counseling - March 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Attending the on-line program for one year. After the first quarter the credit hours for the graduate classes increased from 3 credits to 5 credits, therefore, a higher cost per class. Then - a tuition increase the following quarter to further increase the bill. Then - each quarter since the start the 'technology fee' increased from $20/class to $40/class and now is $60/class. Then add in the high cost of Text Books, required DVD's and required Study Guides/Workbooks each quarter and it comes to roughly $2,200 to $2.600 per class. Multiply this by the 18-20 courses needed to attain a degree and you are looking at $45,000 - $52,000. Student Loans or out of pocket costs ? Walden University has taken all the enjoyment out of higher education with their avarice, unethical, practice all in the name of PROFIT. They need to rewrite their Mission Statement to state the true message; HYPOCRISY & GREED Beware before admission ! - research other options before you agree to take on this ever increasing debt.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

VERY DIFFERENT LEARNING EXPERIENCE

Mental Health Counseling - February 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was honestly thinking of transferring to a traditional bricks and mortar school until returned recently from my first Residency (two are required for this program) I finally was able to put a name with a face to students who I have only interacted with via the online classroom. In addition, I met some very intelligent members of faculty and was impressed by almost all of them. (joking aside, there were a few that I did not enjoy the experience of coming it contact with), but that goes with the territory and of course with any college, regardless of the format. Walden has really impressed me and the first residency afforded me new friendships and networking opportunities that I hope will last a lifetime. Think outside of the traditional classroom and think about Walden. You will not regret your decision. One caveat, the course work is not easy or trivial, and it actually will require you to work very diligently and force you to rethink your abilities.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Excellent program!

Mental Health Counseling - January 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my third semester with Walden in the Master's of Science Counseling program. Before choosing Walden I conducted research on the school and read other Walden students' reviews and decided to take a chance on it. I will abmit, I was a little worried, because it is an online program and I wanted to make sure that I was going to prepare me to take on a new career in the counseling profession. As it turns out, the professionals are VERY professional, knowledgable and friendly. I have only great things to say about this school. If you are thinking that this program is going to be easy, you might want to re-consider. The professors hold high standards (which should be expected in a graduate program), they expect you to produce quality material, whether for weekly discussions or weekly papers or final projects in APA style format. You are required to attend and participate in two residencies over the duration of the program which are very intense; especually the last residency which you will engage in 10 hours of group counseling sessions. The professors are very supportive and helpful in enhancing your skills to help you complete the residencies and master skills that will make you an effective future counselor. I have yet to have one instructor I did not feel cared about my success. In addition, the program is very focused on making sure you understand your state's requirements toward attaining licensure before you complete the program. I would argue that about this program is about 70% online. The other 30% would consist of residency and internship practicum hours that you must complete prior to graduation. Keep in mind, this program is CACREP accreddited, which means that this program is internationally recognized and will take dedication, the degree will be just be handed to you, you have to actually work for it. If I could give you advice it would be being very familar with APA style format, be self-motivated, computer savy, dedicated, and possess good time management abilities and you will succeed. As of 2009, was able to introduce a new Chapter to Sigma Chi Iota Honors Society, which means that if you possess a 3.5 or higher after your first residency or third semester you would be invited by the Director of the program's Chapter to become a member of the program's Chapter and join the Sigma Chi Iota. This school genuinely cares about their students and their success. Don't think that because it is "online" that you will not recieve a quality education. It is an EXCELLENT program! This is coming from a student who recieved an undergraduate degree from a traditional university (UNLV) and I have been very impressed!!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

I find it to be pretty decent for an online school

Mental Health Counseling - December 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student in the 5th quarter of this program and my honest opinion is that this is a pretty decent school. I enrolled in the school after I graduated from a top University, University of Michigan(Ann Arbor). I liked the idea that I would have a chance to earn money as well as pursue my graduate degree. What first intrigued me was the support and information that I received from the enrollment advisor as well as the academic advisor. I can also vouch for the support of the administrative staff and faculty. During my first residency the very first day I had an emergency situation which required me to go to the hospital. I spoke with staff about my situation and they were there for me. They sat with me comforted me and even called a cab for me to go to the hospital. I know what you may be thinking at this point "wow that's not alot that's the least" and I agree. But do to policy and conflict dual-relationship contact they couldn't ride with me to the hospital. So I was alone in Texas(I'm from Michigan) at the hospital. As I layed in the hospital bed I had a knock on my door. To my surprise there were 3 faculty members at my door. One was my current professor, one a facilitator of the residency and the other administrative staff. It blew my mind that they came (they found a loop hole in the policy they couldn't ride with me but they could come separately). They stayed the entire night until 4am! Never would I have had this type of support from any faculty at the University of Michigan. Along with this I receive valuable feedback from my professors in a timely manner. I now know that I cannot slack in this program and expect the professor to give out A's because I have received C's in the past. The residency reassured me about enrolling in the program because of the opportunity to actually meet my professors and advisors. Like others I do believe that the program is quite expensive as well as the books needed. But mind you I attended the most expensive public school and experienced the same costs for books. The only difference is then I had scholarships and grants to cover the majority of the expenses. There are some bad reviews here but I have also heard bad reviews for UofM. But yet it's still a good school. I look forward to completing this program and hopefully things get even better.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Current Student

Mental Health Counseling - August 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my 6th term at Walden University and have participated in one of the academic residencies that are required for graduation. I have found this learning enviroment one that encourages free expression of different points of view and facilitates a solid discussion of the weekly topics. I have had the opportunity to interact with some of the professors during residency and have found them to be both professional and knowledgable but approachable as well. I encourage anyone interested to request information about the school and this program. Also I am in no way affiliated with the university other than as a student and my review is based only upon my own personal experience. This learning enviroment is like any other you get out what you put in and going this route with the assumption that it will be easier because its online is only setting yourself up for failure.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Walden University in any way.