Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Western Governors University

3.7
361 Reviews
5 135 
4 133 
3 22 
2 25 
1 46 
0 0 

 

Western Governors University Reviews:

RN to BSN

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - August 23, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just submitted my last task 10 minutes ago. YaY!!!! The program is for people that are self-motivated but not insanely so. I work as a Director of Nursing and I've been a nurse for+20 years. I found the classes to be challenging and very informative. My mentor was very good. We communicated frequently in the beginning and a lot less as I progressed through the program. She would insist on at-the-least bi-weekly call or texts. My method to deal with the classes were to take the pretest first and use the coaching report to determine where I needed to focus my attentions. The written assignments can get a little tricky but if one reads the rubric and seeks clarification in the beginning you shouldn't have a problem. Plan out your study time and stick to it. If you do that you will have no problem.

Was this review helpful?

43 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Beware military veterans

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - August 23, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I tried to enroll into the RN to BSN program, but could not due to issues they had with my military transcripts. I was given additional credits for military training not listed on my transcripts by the nursing school in which I completed my ADN. Why I got those extra credits? I don't know, but I'm sure the college admissions and records knows. WGU refused to do the research and instead told me to do the work for them, otherwise, my enrollment process would not continue. I chose not to continue. WGU seems unfamiliar with matriculation of military training and education. A subject matter that all colleges should have expertise on. If you are a veteran and received a degree through your military branch wish to proceed with WGU, I highly recommend you wait until they evaluate your transcripts before spending a penny during the enrollment process.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Great School but...

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - May 21, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enrolled in the RN-BSN program. First, for anyone who thinks this online school is easy, you need to look for another school. The courses are challenging and you have to manage your time wisely in order to complete things in a timely manner. I have completed 30 credits in about 5 months. I only have 3 courses to go. My only complaint would be toward the end of the program, the tasks are very difficult and the support is just not there. I don't know if it's a break or something for the course mentors, but I haven't been able to touch base with any of them for my tasks, which are lengthy and a bit confusing. You also cannot depend on the text that is given. Plan on using outside, credible sources. In the beginning of my coursework, my course mentors were always available and I received prompt responses as well as prompt grading. It has not been the case with my last few classes. I have to wonder if they are not slowing things down to get me to pay for another semester or at least part of it. Although it's not a perfect school, and there will be no spoon-feeding, I am happy to have chosen WGU, as I have learned a lot and been able to work quickly, until now, through my courses, while working. I would definitely recommend this school to an individual who is self-motivated and can work independently without someone spoon-feeding You an education. You really have to work your butt off. Btw, I LOVE my student Mentor. She has been an awesome cheerleader for me. Best wishes to anyone who goes to WGU and I hope this review helps.

Was this review helpful?

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful

I have had a great experiance at WGU

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - July 28, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I only have 3 classes left! I have found course mentors to be helpful when I had questions. Like any online program, it will require self discipline.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Sorry I signed up

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - June 27, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I regret signing up. The first course was passed in 11 days. The second one has such random, unrelated material in the resources, I had to go to outside sources to get ALL my info. Nothing but pure confusion and annoyance. Very sorry I spent the money on tuition here? Will finish the semester to get paid back via tuition reimbursement and then leave...anywhere else would be better!

Was this review helpful?

24 of 50 people found the following review helpful

WGU RN to BSN

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - February 4, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BSN with WGU. I thought it was a very good program for those who are self-motivated and disciplined. I have read a lot of complaints about the mentors not answering the course assignments. Your mentor is there as a guidance, they are there to keep you on track and give information on who to ask if you have a question or a problem. Course mentors are those that one should ask if they have a question with an assignment. I never had a issue with a course mentor. I actually had a course mentor call me on a Sunday afternoon to give me assistance, I just needed a little push and assistance to finish a paper. Their information technology assistance was a big help and were available till 1am. If you are willing to do the work then WGU is a good program.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Awesome Program

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - January 27, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Currently pursuing my BSN, with just a couple more classes to finish. It has taken me almost 18 months to complete due to working full time, being a mother and being constantly sick...WGU was perfect for me, be cause I can go for a month without touching a book, and then catch up later. I like the annoying mental calls, because they keep me in check so I don't procrastinate too much. I could have completed my degree in 9 months had I not have all those impediments. My mentor is awesome and really resourceful. The course mentors, some are more helpful than others.... The price is good as well. I haven't had any issues with my assignments thus far, I think those complaining are people who are not doing good through their own faults. IT is very good and prompt at helping with any computer issues. I am not crazy about Taskstream, but I have not had any issues with it so far. Although I prefer an actual grade, I have gotten used to the passing grade of WGU. I would highly recommend if you are the type that does not procrastinate endlessly, like me. The only thing I don't like with WGU is that you can't drop a class, you have to complete all classes.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

RN to MSN

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - November 20, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very unhappy with WGU- after starting the program and receiving many reassurances that there would be no problem with North Carolina Accreditation and placement for clinical hours-- I now have to start over with a new school so that I may finish my degree- nearly a year of my precious time and not to mention out of pocket money paid for tuition. I have reached out to numerous people for help in clinical placement to receive the necessary hours for graduation--no one is willing to help. They took my tuition money with no problem but now they have disappeared. All I keep hearing is that there should be 'no problem'. 90 hours of clinical work with a school that 'hides' their accreditation problems with NC is inexcusable- then to leave us out there with no follow up, guidance or placement help. ****North Carolina Nurses--stay away from WGU. You WILL NOT BE ABLE TO graduate!!*****(they will tell you that there are no problems but there are)

Was this review helpful?

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Great program for highly motivated, independent learners

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - September 14, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

With the exception of the biochem professors, the other course mentors(i.e. nursing)were not very helpful. I will say they were communicative & friendly but didn't really offer valuable advice around the subject matter. For this reason, I decided early on that I was on my own. I believe success in the program is guaranteed since you have 3 attempts to take/retake any of the objective or essay competencies. I challenged one objective score because the cut score had been changed after the test, and failed another-passing on the retake. WIth the essay compentencies, it is recommended that you submit a passing paper on the first try. (That didn't make any sense to me, so I didn't take it seriously). Consequently,I submitted a rough draft if I was unsure of the paper's comprehension. When your paper is returned outlining its deficiencies you're essentially directed how to complete the paper for a passing score. I had 39 credits to complete & did so in 9 months at the cost of ~$7K. Can't beat that!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

WGU....HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - August 5, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I obtained my ADN in 1976. I researched many, many so called "on line" RN to BSN programs prior to enrolling at WGU. I read all the pros and cons to this program and enrolled on July 1, 2014 I graduated this month. All of my courses transferred and had 40 credit hours to complete. I not only work full time, but full time nights. In spite of the 2 courses that nearly made me quit (statistics and community health), I finished a semester early. The experience was wonderful, so much so, that I am now enrolled in the RN to MSN in education at WGU.....I highly recommend this school. By the way, I am in no way a self starter. All the mentors in all departments, even the IT department are VERY helpful and nonjudgmental, but accessible. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL

Was this review helpful?

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful

not a good program

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - March 6, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

rn-bsn is more of a tech degree...very difficult to navigate thru courses....LOTS of tedious non nursing related assignments...those with courses like nutrition and stats, and liberal arts credits from traditional universities required to repeat insulting "competencies", which I assume is money related....don't see how making models out of play do and toothpicks increases my nursing knowledge or patient care....price is cheap, but computer knowledge is a must as I found the tech aspect to be the most challenging. going to search for a quick easy and cheap program...realistically, we all just want BSN after the name and as practicing nurses could care less about US History or public speaking ......

Was this review helpful?

11 of 36 people found the following review helpful

QUESTION THE ABILITY TO COMPLETE AS EARLY AS 6-8 MONTHS?

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - June 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a ASN nurse, graduated from a reputable school in 95. I have 40 credit hours to complete BSN. As a single head of household, full time worker, I find it very hard to accelerate through these classes, as some have written. If you have someone at home, to take care of all other responsibilities, maybe. But I would suspect that to accelerate that fast, you would be spending at least 20-25 or more hours a week studying, which is really alot of time. So think long and hard about how much time your lifestyle can really afford for study. I have only been able to complete the required 12 credits for each semester so far, because sometimes life gets in the way. I just think you need to be realistic with how much time you think you will need to study. I dont feel the courses are difficult, but due to the nature of all online learning, there is tons of information, and reading material to wade through to find what's needed/wanted in the exam. As, well, I have found that acceleration through a course because you have "previous experience" is also somewhat a farce. I have a life and did not want to be stressed out by returning to school at the age of 50. So, I will be forced to spend an extra 3000$ for an extra semester. As everyone says prior, its what you put into it, but I think that anyone who said they did it in less than 12-24 months is a probably a rareity.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful

BSN in one semester

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - May 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can only echo what others have written, you must be a self starter. Every day after work I would come home and do homework for 2-3 hours, and at least hours each weekend day. It is hard work, but well worth it. The mentors are a great asset, and the instructional material and what is learned is just as good as a brick and mortar school. You get out of this program exactly what you put into it. I am very happy with the quality of the education and will be applying for my MSN from WGU.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful

RN-BSN program

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - October 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can not say enough good things about WGU. I had 37 credits to do to obtain my BSN degree. I completed my degree in 8 months and I worked full time. The thought of going back to school after graduating with my ADN in 1981 was terrifying for me, but my mentor and everyone I came into contact with through WGU made it totally simple. The coat was lower than other online programs and the program is accredited by the same program that other leading colleges and universities use to accredit them. Would totally recommend this program to others .

Was this review helpful?

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Great for working adults

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - June 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Makes me sad to see that some people did not value the education at WGU. The new position I took at the hospital I work at required a BSN. WGU was far cheaper than the other courses that required time I did not have to spare. Finished my course in 10 months and found much value in the education I recieved. Mentors are there to motivate you and guide you through your journey, my first two were incredible and encouraging. My third mentor not so much but we are adults and don't need our hands held at all times. This is a perfect program for responsible working adults.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful

I highly recommend IF you're self-motivated

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - February 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the RN-BSN program through WGU. You really need to be self-motivated and an independent learner to thrive here, but if you have those traits, it's a great program! My student mentor was wonderful - very supportive and extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I finished my BSN in December, and have decided to return this summer to complete the MSN program.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Competence is the key

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - January 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can only speak for my experience, but I have seen enough to say with some certainty that this school is not for everyone. Those with prior experience in their field will have the best experiences. For example, someone entering an IT major with no background or prior certifications may be doomed for failure as I know some of the certifications are hard (I have some Microsoft certs myself but did not stay in the field). I can't imagine a pre-licensure nursing student doing well either. In forum posts I've read, the teaching degrees appear to be quite comprehensive, more so than traditional schools. For me, 30 years as a diploma nurse certainly makes getting a BSN much easier for me. I keep reading how there are no professors. No, not in the traditional sense, but every course has mentors who have doctorates in their field. As with every school, some instructors are better and more engaged than others. I've had both good and bad so far. And every single course has had live and recorded webinars, question and answer sessions and one on one teaching in virtual classrooms if need be. They are never too busy to help. I've never found this in a traditional school. Nor have I found schools that assign you a mentor that calls once a week! Perfect? Of course not! But if you are motivated, disciplined and can work independently, you will succeed! The key is competence.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

WGU is a great way to earn BSN

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - October 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been an RN for 18 years and needed to earn my BSN for career advancement. My goal was to do it as quickly as possible and as cheaply as possible. I will have completed 34 CU's (equivalent to credit hours) in 7 months. I have worked, worked, and worked to complete at this pace. However, it has been from the comfort of my own home and around my busy schedule. I have enjoyed working at my own pace and have learned much more than I anticipated. It is self-paced and requires independent learning so if you require a lot of input from teachers, this is not your school. Also, transferring credits may be a problem. And, one must consider that the highest GPA you can have is 3.0 - it's pass or fail so it won't work for everyone. Have had no problems at all with the graders. Depending upon your needs this is a great school. It's been perfect for me!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

WGU RN to BSN is an outstanding program!!!

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - June 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the RN to BSN program at WGU. I have only one more paper to do and I am finished. It has only taken me 6 months to complete the RN to BSN program. The mentors and scool faculty are the greatest. I have gotten any of my questions answered within an hour of asking the question. I highly recommend this program!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Loved the program!

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - April 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my RN to BSN in 4 months while working full time. It was tough, and I spent every waking moment driven to succeed. I appreciated the feedback from taskstream, and toward the end, was passing every paper on the first attempt. My mentor was terrific, and I cannot thank her enough for the continued motivation. Thank you, WGU! See you in a couple of months for my MSN! By the way, I just accepted a MUCH higher paying job!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Not a Fan

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - March 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The mentor I have now gets angry if you ask her questions about the assignments, and seems to not even be aware of what the course of study instructions are saying. It is frustrating because when you have questions, good luck finding someone to answer them. For instance, two days ago I called my mentor, no response, then I called my course mentor, no response. Then I called the two other course mentors, no response. I tried my course mentor again, no response. The ruberics are vague, and misleading.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful

RN to BSN

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - November 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This has been a great program! It has been extremely relevent to issues that I see and deal with on a daily basis as a hospital RN. It is self paced which is great for my rotating shifts. It has also been $10,000 cheaper than three other BSN programs in my area all which required in class time that I could not commit to. I have referred five friends in two months because of how great this university is. But be advised if you are a procrastinator and not self disciplined this program is not for you.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful

For those motivated self directed students

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - June 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed 13 classes and subsequently my RN to BSN program at WGU. This is not a cake walk that is for sure. There is a lot of work to be completed. The model is very independent. You need to take charge of your education. I was able to complete all the requirements in 8 months. Way faster than could do anywhere else and the cost is way reasonable. If you need structure, deadlines, and handholding.... WGU is not for you.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Stick to tradition schools.

B.S. Nursing (RN to BSN) - April 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled in the program for three months. I am not on my third mentor. The assignments are vague and sometimes confusing. It has been very difficult to get answers to questions as my mentors have not known the answers themselves and obviously are not familiar with the courses. There are course facilitators who also do not know the course work. It is very painful to try and get any answers and information from anyone. Think twice and look into programs elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Western Governors University in any way.