Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Western Governors University

  • Ranking: #21
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Regional, NCATE and CAHIIM

3.7
361 Reviews
5 135 
4 133 
3 22 
2 25 
1 46 
0 0 

Western Governors University Reviews:

they have no soul.

B.S. Accounting - August 3, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So i am thinking about transferring from the WGU. why is the reason you ask? well, it has to deal with them. stabbing you in the back. apparently proctors can do whatever they want and the student is in the wrong as usual. i have studied a course and was impressed about the subject but however when i took my test, guess what?! the test proctor interrupted me and paused my test for no reason at all expect his words were Please, Hold on a moment after i asked him if everything is okay. how disrespectful is that? so i filed a report with ecare and oh yeah, here comes the great part. the ecare specialist as they are called said that i needed proof and they were innocent. i was informed that a test proctor can only interrupt you if you have your webcam moved or something else, but they must have a reason to do so. so we got into a big argument and they really dont care about students except to make your life miserable as possible. they dont respect the students of tommorrow and only care about what money they can get from you. they charge you cheap because they want to suck you into their scheme and screw you over like a humpback whale. my advice is that they dont want you, but only your pockets full of money. i hate WGU so much that it makes me anger and i hope god will punish them in the afterlife. lets face it. they have no soul and spit on you whenever they get the chance to. i have read many bad reviews from the better business bureau, which is not good as well. everybody is against you and you are just trying to make your future, which they hate you for it. but anyways, my point is that they will take your money, butt rape and not care about how you pass the test. the proctors are in control and your student rights are in the trash. oh yeah and they blame you for not passing the test even though you were interrupted. save your money and go some where else. trust me i know.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 89 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO. I AM SERIOUS

B.S. Accounting - May 25, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

where do i begin? okay so, i got into the program and started to become great. but as i progress into the course under taxation I. it was fun reading about the subject, but the test questions are not in the book. so, I filed a complaint about the test questions with ecare. I have been though so much emotional trama that i hate the school, but anyways. so i have filed the complaint with ecare and it was a big huge drag on argurment about the subject. plus he disrespected my major as a whole and i cannot take it anymore. i am transferring out of there. they say the price is good, but is it worth it? to me, it is not especially when it comes to accounting. plus, the ecare person does not even know what he is talking about. i even asked him if he read the book and his answer was no. so you see my point. How can you know the test questions are correct when you have not read the book? it made me so irate that i cannot stand it. do not go there plus they say that we care about students. that is a lie. its like a mafia. you are either with them or you will be destroyed and your rights will be taken away. anyway, my point is that DO NOT GO TO WGU because they do not like logical reasoning even though they are a school. So What are they? I think that they are monsters. just saying. i hope this helps.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 68 people found the following review helpful

Serious Program

B.S. Accounting - April 18, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a serious program. As I read the reviews I understand how WGU is really a composite of competitive adult life in general. Those that excel with this institution seem to be generally hard workers and, specifically, self-motivated. Those that find the program unhelpful appear to be mired in superficial details or simply don't understand their own expectations. The Accounting program is demanding. The volume of study is impressive and the competency-based curriculum keeps you focused on the core principles of the discipline. The broad availability of materials is very good. I don't think they're set up well for Apple interactive study but you can work through it. I also think they need a few more mentors in their core displine areas. The mentors are not there to teach but to keep you focused on the end. And this ends up being a valuable application. I recommend the school. It gets better (and more difficult) every day. Do your research. And if you get accepted at the school be prepared to work hard.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Highly recommended

B.S. Accounting - August 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Bottom line for me is that this was a fantastic experience - one that has already paid financial dividends for me. I have been in the accounting field for 30 years but have never worked anywhere that a degree was needed. What I had was always enough to take me as far as a woman could go in any company I have worked. Until I managed to become employed by a government where if you had a degree, there was places to go. When a position opened up and I wasn't qualified ONLY because I didn't have the piece of paper that said I was and I didn't get it I decided to go back to school (at 48) and complete what I started. I had some courses from 30 years ago that wasn't sure would transfer or not but I knew I needed quite a bit more. I originally checked into Community College to get some of the courses I needed and was ready to sign up but decided to do just a little more checking. I checking into University of Phoenix because it was online and since I live in a smaller town I thought that would be perfect for me - no long travel or late nights on the road. Wow - the price had me re-thinking and I ruled that out based on that. Back to the Community College is wandered. Then, a lady from church, who is a former Dean of a College, heard that I was looking to going back to school and recommended WGU. I figured that was a pretty good recommendation since she had been in higher education. Then I checked into it - the price was incredible, about as much as I'd be paying at Community College but I could get so many more credits for my money! And their competancy based learning style was perfect for me. I could study at my own pace, test at my own pace and it wouldn't break the bank. I was a little skeptical at first because I wondered if employers would percieve it as not worth as much but after asking around to Controllers & Finance Officers, I was told pretty much - a bachelor's is a bachelor's, competancy based didn't seem to make a negative difference. So after much thought I took the plunge. The best decision I've ever made! I had about a year's worth of credit that carried over (several Bible classes did not) so I figured at least 2 years to complete my BS. But, since I had been in the industry for so long and have lots of life experience, with the competancy based model, I was able to complete my BS in 13 months! My student mentor was fantastic - I didn't need a lot of assistance from her but we talked regularly and each discussion got me energized to face whatever was on my plate next. The course mentors sometimes were difficult to reach but if I ever had a problem, my student mentor stepped in to help me contact them. They were quite helpful and knowledgable about their subject matter and were invaluable to me in some of the more difficult courses. I would recommend (and have) WGU to anyone but especially those that have some schooling/life experience under their belts. You do have to be somewhat self-motivating but if you are, this is an incredible option. It saved my quite a bit of money (only costing me $9000 total, which I was able to get student loans for) and has already garnered me one promotion and I am on a path to another promotion in the next couple of months. I will have re-couped my investment in a year! I am thrilled with the experience & the outcome. I highly recommend WGU.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Great value, but not for slackers

B.S. Accounting - March 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As everyone else has said WGU is not for slackers or procrastinators. I let it go for a couple of weeks and had to double my efforts to get back on schedule. This is not easy, and it's not a diploma mill. I have some accounting experience, so it has helped me complete the degree faster and with more ease. There are a lot of materials and they have a mentor for the course, but no actual teacher or lectures. One thing I have suggested is that they develop chapter key points for each chapter in the modules because in a class like CGC1, there are over 35 chapters and only one 71 question exam covering all of those chapters. The books are all online, but they are included in tuition. If you are a go-getter, do it yourself type, you can't beat the value. If you need someone to break things down into small bits for you, go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

stealthtt385

B.S. Accounting - November 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are determined and good at working on your own this is the place for you. I've never asked for help, so I don't know how well that aspect of the school is. Objective assessments are pretty easy to pass. Performance assessments are harder but fair. I recommend this school for anyone that does not need a teacher to hold their hand.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

My Experience at WGU

B.S. Accounting - July 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is very much based on self learning. You are told this from the beginning. There are mentors to help but they are mentors not teachers. I had a rough start with WGU with processing all my papers on time but since then my experience has been pretty good. I do from time to time have an issue with TaskSteam (paper grading system). The graders do not actually read the paper, looking for key words only. My mentor is great, she realized very early on that calling me every week was not helping anyone and was able to change me to once a month calls, just to have them on file. The school is accepted for most jobs, I wouldn't try becoming a CEO of Forbes with a WGU degree but works for pretty much the rest of us. Most issue that people are having with WGU seem to be lack of reading on their part.WGU states many things that people have issues with things like this is SELF LEARNING, mentors are not teachers, and other polices.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Good School

B.S. Accounting - July 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First, I am enrolled currently and have 1 term left at WGU. It is very challenging, but this is to be expected. Whenever I have run into a hang up the mentors are there to help me out. My mentor has been great, he keeps tabs on my progress and we meet every 2 weeks. Studying on your own time and your own pace has been very rewarding. I have gone to Junior Colleges and the quality and value doesn't compare, WGU is so much better. You can take all assessments at home too which is awesome!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Pros and Cons

B.S. Accounting - October 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wasn't going to write a review of WGU . But, after reading some of the crap, I felt I needed to. FIRST OFF... I am a student at WGU, not a paid employee. Secondly, I will be starting my final term for my bachelor's degree next month. I plan on heading straight into the MBA program afterwards. I have had 3 mentors since I enrolled with WGU. My first mentor, had a baby and went on maternity leave. While she was on leave, I had an interim mentor. When she came back she decided she wanted to stay at home, so she quit. Since then I have had the same mentor. They have ALL been wonderful. My current mentor goes on and on about how much he loves his job. He doesn't complain about being overworked and underpaid. He wants me to consider working for them once I complete my MBA. The courses can be difficult. But, in business, if your boss wants you to research something for him, i.e. Japanese marketing strategies, he isn't going to spell it all out for you. You will have to use your brain and find relevant sources of information. WGU gives you a rubric of what they expect. This is more than your boss will give you. You have to learn the material on your own. If you aren't the type of person that learns well this way, this isn't the program for you. There are course mentors available to guide you in the right direction. They are all friendly and very helpful. I have had some issues with a couple of tasks and they have been more than willing to help. They have protocol that has to be followed as well, though. They can't help you with performance assessments until you have had them sent back for revisions. This is to ensure you try. I hated this policy in one class, I was completely lost on the task, but I understood the policy was in place. And guess what, once I really started working through the assignment, I passed it, without help from the mentor. It's tough, but it should be! It's college. It isn't supposed to be easy. Another thing, you don't have to leave home to take assessments. One reviewer was complaining about that and it simply isn't true. They send you a web cam to take the objective assessments from home. I live in a very rural area and they had no problem sending me a camera for free. From what I understand, they do all assessments this way now and you are sent a camera from the very beginning. This is a great way for people with ambition and drive to get get a degree. It isn't easy, but it shouldn't be.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Mentor doesn't care, just a cheerleader for school

B.S. Accounting - July 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Any concern that I have had about studying at WGU has been discredited by my so-called mentor. Any problem that I have mentioned has been ignored. I have also been called crazy by this mentor. It sounds like the mentor is reading from a script with rebuttals. The remarks are the typical remarks that are supposedly posted here by students who are very satisfied with WGU. The rebuttals to my concerns have been: WGU is the greatest value, you have to work hard just like anything else in life, I can't do the work for you, I have students who finish in 6 months with 9 kids, if they can do it you can do it. I don't recall ever asking anybody for a handout and I don't appreciate that my stated facts about my own experience at WGU have been poo-pooed. I have never been to an organization that treats their customers so poorly.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Western Governors University in any way.