Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Western Governors University

  • Ranking: #21
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Regional, NCATE and CAHIIM

3.7
361 Reviews
5 135 
4 133 
3 22 
2 25 
1 46 
0 0 

Western Governors University Reviews:

NJ Teaching -- WGU BA

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - September 17, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wasn't going to write a review until I saw a post from a NJ resident with incorrect information. I graduated from WGU in 2011 with a bachelors degree in Interdisciplinary Studies. It is a pre-K through 8th grade elementary education program, including student teaching in a school in New Jersey (or your state). It is the same student teaching that you would have to complete for a brick-and-mortar school. I was also guided to take all of the Praxis exams that were required for the state of New Jersey. Upon graduating from WGU, I was also guided through the paperwork I needed to complete to get my certification from the state of New Jersey. I am now certified K-6 in NJ because of my education at WGU. There wasn't any reciprocity or even a time delay in becoming certified. I was certified upon graduating just as I would've been from any other school. It was an amazing program for me, given my circumstances. I was recently divorced with two small children at home and needed a program that fit my schedule. I just recently enrolled in the MS program for Special Ed because of my positive experience with the undergrad program at WGU.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful

WGU prepared me to be an awesome teacher!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - December 23, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know that WGU prepared me to be an awesome teacher! My student and course mentors were there to facilitate, but I was the one in charge of my education. This is definitely a college for adults. No one is going to hold your hand. You can choose to learn as little or as much as you want. I chose to learn everything I could in the courses of study because my goal was to master the content in order to have the knowledge I needed to become a successful educator. I probably could've scraped by while learning a little, but I would not have been prepared to teach! I am now teaching 7th grade and will begin my Master's in Science Education soon....of course through WGU!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Check with your local board first!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - July 30, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have it a fair rating because the school is legit but you MUST check with your local board first for acceptance! I spoke to a rep to confirm I can continue my education here and be a licensed teacher New Jersey and they said yes. I signed up,enrolled was going to do financial aid but I decided to check with New Jersey State Board of Education to make sure that if I graduate with a degree from them that I could be a licensed teacher over here New Jersey . New Jersey does not except this at all . Although GWU had all the credentials and are qualified New Jersey does not except an out-of-state degree to be a teacher. Have to attend a college in New Jersey to be a licensed teacher . So I'm not gonna write a really negative review there is no reason for it but check with your board of education if you're pursuing an education degree or overall just check with your state first

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

I got what I wanted!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 23, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I started this degree I was working full time in a school as a para-educator and pretty busy. I was able to transfer over a few previous credits from other colleges and I got started. I put my heart and soul into the work and I was able to complete between 30-40 CU's (credits) per 6 month term. In a short 18 months I had completed my degree and I had 2 job offers. Starting this degree my primary concern was would I be able to get a job? Well my experience has been nothing but positive. I have landed a job in one of the most competitive districts in my state (I was 1 of 73 applicants for 1 job). I am currently getting ready to start my Masters with WGU.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Lost Application Fee, Strung Along for Months

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was so excited to learn about WGU's K-8 B.A. that I immediately and enthusiastically began the application process. The process was tainted from the start. My incompetent and/or overextended admissions counselor repeatedly missed appointments for the better part of six months (in one case, she actually scheduled an appointment during her vacation, leaving me waiting by the phone for hours for a call that never came). What was supposed to be an easy admissions process turned into an expensive headache. This school may be not-for-profit, but you definitely get the call center treatment. Everything about the admissions process is unprofessional. In the end, I found Indiana University's well-respected online programs. I was admitted quickly and will be completing my B.A. in the next few months. Faculty and support staff at IU have been nothing but professional and helpful. Please do yourself a favor and look into the much more reputable online programs at your state's public universities.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Right On

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - December 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I live out side of the U.S. and W.G.U. works for me. Be sure to have a good internet connection if planing to travel abroad.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Admissions Counselor VERY Unprofessional!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - September 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Had I been assigned another admissions counselor, I might be a WGU graduate today. I never made it past admissions, despite being a strong candidate for online education. My admissions counselor strung me along for four months. She ignored my email. She "forgot" to call when we scheduled appointments. Once, she called a week after a missed appointment to let me know she had gone on vacation. I found the process extremely trying and unprofessional. Finally, I cut my losses (specifically a $65 application fee). I applied to an online program through a well respected state university. I was accepted quickly and my advisor was phenomenal! The difference in professionalism was astounding. Please do not waste your time and energy on WGU when most state universities now offer high quality, rigorous (more widely respected) degrees that are identical to those earned on campus! I high recommend Indiana University's online programs.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful School.....

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - July 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is, by far, the best thing that has ever happened to me!!!! I have been a stay at home mom most of my adult life and now that my kids are growing up, I felt it was time to do something for me, so I decided to go to College. Of course, having kids that are in school, it made it difficult for me to go to a traditional brick and mortar university! I chose WGU after a friend graduated and started teaching in a local elementary school. I not only completed my degree in 3 years, including student teaching, I am now enrolled in the Masters program for Instructional Design and Technology! That is how much I believe in WGU! The mentor support has been phenomenal and each and every time I have ever had a question, the course mentor has called me back within the day! The only complaint I have ever had has been with the third party graders. It seems as though they are not all on the same page with grading. With that being said, I have always had great information given to me from the graders if a task was not passed the first time around. I do agree with most everyone on here though, if you are not motivated and willing to be a self learner, this is not the school for you! I have friends who went to the local university (a LARGE, WELL KNOWN university... they have over 200 teacher candidates every semester) that say they do not feel as they learned as much as I did! Lesson planning is long and vigorous with WGU, but when it comes to crunch time and having to TEACH that lesson, I was AMAZED how much it helped writing so many lesson plans for tasks. I would recommend ANYONE to WGU... matter of fact, I have recommended several of my own kids teachers to do their Graduate degree! I am a believer!!!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

A Graduate.

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like others that have been successful at WGU, you must be motivated and self-disiplined. The university uses a competency model that is completely unlike traditional and other online schools. This means there are no letter grades, you either pass or you don't. I just earned my BA degree in Interdisiplinary Studies (K-8)and bottom line it was a lot of hard work. I had two terrific Student Mentors. My first mentor left WGU to earn her doctorate degree. My second mentor was with me the rest of the way. We spoke once a week and then bi-weekly to review my progress, discuss what needed to be done in the upcoming weeks, and examine any problems I might be having. If my student mentor could not find the answer, she would either direct me to the person I needed to go to or put me in touch with them. This is a school where you are going to do A LOT of writing. The graders are given a rubric to evaluate your papers, or tasks as WGU calls them, and you must meet the requirements of the rubric. READ the rubric before you begin!! This way you are clear on what is expected of you. Yes, some of the tasks are VERY challenging, but they are doable and I know for myself, I feel all the more accomplished when my tasks pass. For education majors, the material learned is relevant to today's classroom. When you get to your pre-clinicals you will be expected to observe and teach lessons in an actual classroom. The school does not place you for your pre-clinicals, so have in mind where you would like to complete them. WGU does not have a preference of schools. It can be public, private, or charter. Some schools are very welcoming, some are not. Overall, the course mentors (not teachers) are very helpful and are knowledgable in their subject matter. It's their job to help you get through the course and complete the tasks. I only had one course mentor that was incompetent in my opinion. A another student noticed the same things I did and emailed me. I did express my concerns to the appropriate WGU person and hopefully she's not there anymore. However, if you do not need help, you can complete everything on your own. Just know that some course mentors are better than others. I am overall very please with the education I received at WGU. The university has experienced explosive growth over the time I have been a student there. So, there has been a lot of growing pains. A lot of the whining I read about the university are from people that just aren't up to learning the WGU way. You have to be able to work mostly on your own and you are accountable only to yourself. If you would rather be in a classroom with other students, WGU is not the school for you.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

My Personal Experience

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been at WGU, in the Teacher's College, for a little over a year now and so far I have enjoyed my time here. The classes are relevant and provide ample learning resources to complete the task and assessments. But, if you are not self disciplined and lack motivation - I would not recommend WGU to you since that is probably the most important factor in choosing to study here. It's not usually a problem for me, I have my "off" weeks but since the program is flexible, I can easily bounce back to my work and catch up as long as I'm focused. The materials provided within a class are usually really easy to use, navigate and they are informational. I've never had an issue with this at all. The "teachers" are there when you need them and have helped me through phone calls, e-mails, or chatting. I've seen some people say that they aren't helpful, etc. But they have almost always directed me to the right direction. Of course they're not just going to tell you how to do your task because then you wouldn't learn anything. Which was a problem I had in a brick and mortar school I attended before I came to WGU - I would seek help from a professor and he/she would just end up telling me exactly where to find the answer or just flat out told me the answer instead of directing me to LEARN. Now, I will admit that the "mentors" are kind of a joke. Their job is to basically talk to you once a week or two weeks and make sure you're staying motivated and doing your course work. They are very "customer service" like. Meaning, very upbeat and outgoing. Which really isn't that horrible because once in awhile I need to be kicked in the butt to get a task done and hearing their enthusiasm brings my mood up. My biggest issue is that in the past year I have had three different mentors. They've all been really nice but I don't necessarily like the inconsistency. The online portal is very user friendly, in my opinion. I am pretty good with a computer though so that could be helpful. Overall, I would and I have recommended WGU to individuals who are motivated to learn and earn a degree. I'm usually a very strong believer in "you get what you pay for" but even though the tuition is comparably lower than other online universities, I feel that I have not compensated my education for the lower price tag. I plan on continuing my education at WGU and earning a masters degree after I have completed my bachelors.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Great University for Self-Motivated Learners

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - January 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU is a great school for the self-motivated students. I fully believe the majority of the complaints that are given above is simply for students who are not self-motivated or are unwilling to give full effort into their education. To go to WGU is a challenge. College is supposed to be isn't it? YOU are completely in the drivers seat. Your professors do not contact you, you contact them. Many classes do offer webinars with them once per week. so you can ask questions on the phone and see them on your computer. There are also community message boards for every class so you can ask other students and also read the professors response for the other students questions. As far as someone stating that the professors do not do much. WRONG. Most professors actually create 5 to 10 minute videos you can access at any time. They go into great detail about what each step of the assignment means, where to find good information outside of the learning resources, and more. They also have office hours to call. One quick email or phone call during office hours will give you a quick response. Yes, WGU grades each task or assignment on a rubric from 1 through 4 so you are not looking at holding a GPA or anything but you do know exactly what to expect. The mentors... one person said that the mentor got mad because you weren't answering his phone calls because you were annoyed??? Grow up, answer the phone, and tell them you are dropping out!! Don't be a child and hide from someone! My mentor is wonderful. They answer the many questions I have every week or guide me in the right direction to get my questions answered. I went to WGU in 2007/2008 and decided to take a break because of the birth of my second child, working full time, and moving from overseas back here to the states. I felt no pressure to stay from my mentor. She told me she was sad to lose me and she hoped to see my name again one day. Three years later I came back to the same mentor! If I miss her call she says "shoot me an email to let me know everything is fine and we will talk next week." I am never feeling bugged or pressured. And I stay on top of my education (because it is important to me) so I never get pressuring words from her telling me what to do. I get "keep up the good work and we will talk next week." The folks that are annoyed, again, are the ones who didn't take control of their education and put their all into it. WGU requires a lot of independent work. There are no weekly deadlines so its tough to get behind but if you are motivated, want a good education, at a good price, WGU is a great place with great accreditation and a tough curriculum that will teach you what you need. ALSO, let me name other colleges I went to prior to WGU... Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania, Old Dominion University, and San Diego State University. Yes, their education is prime just like the other schools I have attended.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Great school for anyone!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - September 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great fit for many different people. It allows you to work at your own pace, and for a great price. For a working adult, this seems like the smartest choice. I am able to work and go to work at the same time, and it makes my life much easier.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Best Decision I Ever Made!!!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - June 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my third term at WGU, and I could not be happier with the school. I do poorly when I am in classrooms, but excel when I go at my own pace and if its online. I have noticed that the people who have posted poor reviews have no business going to an online school and need to go back to the verbal lecture classes or were just wanted to be babysat. My mentor is amazing and when I lack, he makes sure to get me back on track and tells me exactly what I need to do next. The school is fully accredited (most of the states I want to teach in will accept my bachelors when I finish), affordable, and works around me as I work full-time. Unlike the University of Phoenix, it is non-profit, and I believe schools that are for-profit are just scams and diploma bills. If you are looking to going online and have a full time job, go this route! I love this school and I wish I had made the decision years ago to go back.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Disappointed

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I attended there was not an ECE program. I was told by my mentor that if I did my student teaching in a classroom of K-3, I would be qualified in ECE as well as ELE ED. I did. My degree reads Pre-K- 6th grade. Upon trying to qualify for a bonus at a new position HR asked for clarification of Pre-K. I was sent a letter stating that that I completed a Ele Ed B.A. but nothing in ECE. Not only did I lose a $2500.00 bonus, I am being reviewed for writing a false resume with the possibility of losing this position.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Perfect for the self motivated!!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - January 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just started my 6th term and have to say this is the best possible option for working adults. The tuition cannot be beat. I cannot take 12 units at my local university for less than $3k, but I can take as many units as a can handle for about $2900 a term. That simply cannot be beat. Couple that with the fact that its a fully accredited institution AND you can login and work on assignments ANYTIME you like within your 6 month term WITHOUT dealing with long commutes or jammed parking lots. I admit that the program may not be for everyone but I have been to 3 brick and mortar schools and have had the best success with WGU. My mentor is great, I rarely need assistance but he checks in with me every week and gives guidance on courses before I begin and also sets up calls for that particular course mentor if feedback from other students has shown the course is difficult. I recommend WGU to anyone. It has its challenges, just like any other university, but it offers exceptional value and flexibility.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Virtually no interaction is permitted among students

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - December 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is real, it is accredited, and the degrees are a reputable way to attend college via distance learning. However, there are SEVERE deficiencies in the interactions that one expects in a college environment. The comments that repeatedly state "It's up to you" are drivel. Of course it's up to you. I did well in my six months at WGU. I got along well with my mentor, who was friendly enough but really didn't DO anything. The main problem with the school is that there is very little academic involvement available, either from the instructors or from fellow students. You're not permitted to talk about anything with other students regarding the assignments because of the risk that you won't do your own work. While I understand this policy, what happens is that there is nothing to talk about other than "how is the weather in Omaha today?" Entire discussion threads were removed without warning because students might be able to find useful information about assignments. At real schools I attended, we were always working together, forming study groups, helping each other with difficult problems and assignments. At WGU, that's all been banned, and furthermore, even your own professors can't give you any information about a topic that's covered in an assignment...because it could HELP you with the assignment, and that's not "doing your own work." So one is left to figure out the thing on one's own. I did read the book. I did try example problems. I still had questions, but no one was allowed to even tell me where to START looking for answers and I wasn't allowed to share my knowledge and experience with anyone else. If a university course, whether virtual or real, is not a shared quest for answers, than what IS? I roundly criticized the format in my exit interview. It's difficult enough to connect with other students at a conventional university, so at an online university, one would expect to be brought together in myriad ways to go over relevant subject matter and allow connections to be formed. Instead, just the opposite occurs. Discussions of anything relevant to the course are forbidden. Prompts are posted to message boards that are designed to get people to open up and share their opinions and ideas, but NOT about anything germane to the subject at hand. People just end up discussing their personal impressions of this or that, or discussing their life problems, but there is no rigor in these posts. I felt like I was at a support group meeting or listening to audience Q&A during the Oprah Winfrey show and not at a university. I had to return to work for financial reasons, and I told WGU that I would likely not re-enroll. The school has a responsibility to engage students with instructors and fellow students in a manner that embraces the the substance of what they are expected to learn. Instead, the university's obsession with possible plagiarism has led it to build walls in which students are kept as far away from each other and their professors as possible. Real schools encourage group interaction to discuss course assignments, and the irony of it all is that while I was taking courses in which the virtues of group learning were extolled, we were prohibited from applying that philosophy to OUR OWN learning. I strongly suggested a complete rethinking of the school's design, in which discussions were centered on assignments rather than irrelevant peripheral topics or sharing one's various troubles in life, and that students be encouraged to learn and share ideas about the subject of the courses...you know, the academics. I know it's rough to balance work, family life and school, so do it and stop bringing it up with everyone. This isn't group therapy, it's a class. We're here to discuss research in the field, current controversies and theories, along with practical, real-world situations involving the topic of study, not to be constantly offering each other emotional support because your child prefers apple juice and all you had was grape juice. Essays, short answer questions, mid-terms and finals are all ways to measure what has been learned on an individual level. End-of-unit problems should be wide-open for discussion, however, because THAT'S HOW WE LEARN and the goal is to learn and not get all psychotic because someone might pick up an idea from another student! One final note: I found WGU's excessive use of jargon to be ridiculous. Just call everything what it is instead of making up some silly new term for it. Call homework "homework," a mid-term a "mid-term" and a final exam a "final exam." WGU has all sorts of crazy terminology for these basic things. Finally, hire some teaching assistants who understand what's going on and are permitted to talk about it. My mentor couldn't do anything but listen, say "uh-huh" and talk about the weather.

Was this review helpful?

52 of 63 people found the following review helpful

You get what you put in to it

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to say that this school is not for everyone. You have to be able to pace yourself, work hard and have a good grasp on the english language. The essays can be hard and detailed. There is alot of writing. I am in my first term, but I can see how people could be frustrated if you do not have the skills to write essays, and compile your own research. I have learned alot, the only class I am struggling with is the math class, but I knew that was going to be my sticking point. I am an independant learner, and I am able to pull up my bootstraps and get in there. Some people need more actual teachers, and actual class time. I was never one of those people, I was always the one who would work their way though the entire text book in a few weeks then be bored the rest of the quarter. I would say if you are not the kind of person who can research, and work on your own then this might not work for you. If you are like me and can work hard and move though the books and actually learn the course work then this will be great for you. Enjoy, BTW I have been able to complete one third of my program in the time i've been here already, I am expected to student teach in September 2012.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

I am grateful

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was not planning on writing a review, but couldn't believe some of the reviews I've read that are so negative! With 3 children at and under the age of five, I completed 37 units in five months...I felt totally supported, but also that my learning depended on me! It has been a great personal progress experience for me and I am so grateful for the WGU experience! I can hardly wait to take a Master's program form WGU upon my preparation with a BS and a few additional classes. It has been challenging, but it has felt so worth the hard work!

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Love WGU!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started my program at WGU in April of 2008. I had a 3 year old, a 10 month old, and my husband was serving in Iraq. I didn't have a schedule that was conducive to any traditional or most distance programs. I was really nervous about the 'competency based' program and the lack of info about WGU and I was very hesitant to commit myself to something so non-traditional, but it felt like the only option. I am SO glad I made the decision I did. I've been able to work quickly and efficiently through some really big life changes (another deployment, a 1200 mile move, etc.). WGU goes year round, two 6 month terms which allows me to give myself a break when I need it, right in the middle of my studies. If I need a longer break, I can take a month off between terms (which I've taken advantage of twice) and it's a seamless transition back. WGU is fully, regionally accredited and contrary to some other (uninformed) reviews, will lead to licensure in 49 states (with the exception of only Iowa). Difficulties in certification are due to individual STATES, not the university. For example, Texas requires students who complete a degree outside of the state (not just WGU) to apply for licensure via reciprocity. North Carolina only requires completion of the degree (regardless of the state it was awarded in) and the necessary Praxis exams. You may want to check out your state specific information before you commit, but, unless you're in Iowa, you're fine. As far as how WGU works, it's nothing like most schools. You do not have "classes" or "teachers". You have communities (online message boards of fellow students) and mentors (more like tutors to help you with SPECIFIC questions or issues). Each course has a course of study. The best way to think about this is like a rubric. Do what's on the rubric and I assure you that you'll have no problem completing assignments. And here is where the competency based program works. I took several AP classes in high school and had a good liberal arts back ground. Two classes I remember specifically - a writing course and literature - I didn't even open the courses of study. I simply did the assignments, wrote the essays, and took the exams. If you have a lot of background knowledge you can breeze through. If you have none, you can follow the course of study and be more than prepared. If you have some, you can do something in between and make it work for you. This is also why, financially speaking, WGU is a good "deal". My first term I was new, busy, and exhausted. I only did 13 units (similar to credit hours; you need 12 to be full time and qualify for federal aid). At approximately $3,000 per term, that was about $230 per credit hour. That's very close to what public instate tuition would have been at UNC. Now, the next term, my husband was home, my kids were older, and I had more time and energy. I did 24 credits that term. Still $3,000, but now my per hour cost was more like $125 - half of what it would have cost even at the in-state rate, and minuscule compared to other online, private (usually for profit) schools. Next term (fall 2011) I have student teaching. Because of the way WGU works, I already have all of my liberal arts courses complete, all of my teaching courses complete, and almost 80 hours of classroom experience(this is called PCE). I just took my Praxis exams (0011 and 0012 for NC) and passed with flying colors. I took advantage of my background knowledge and worked quickly when possible. I took advantage of the courses of study and used the resources and instructions that I was given when I didn't have prior experience. When neither was enough, I took advantage of the communities and the course mentors. To show for it, I am one "internship" shy of my bachelors, feel exceedingly confident for walking into my student teaching classroom, and I will have completed my program in less than 4 years for less than I would have paid at a local university. I've done all this with the constant support of one, awesome student mentor. If I had the choice to make all over again, I'd definitely go with WGU.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

It's up to you!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - September 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read a lot of reviews, and many of the negative reviews seem to be based on their lack of understanding on how the program works. It's based on how your work ethic and understanding of material is. There are course mentors for every class. Your "Mentor" is like a guidance counselor, not your instructor. The "course mentors" are like tutors. They answer your questions if you don't understand an assignment. I have had to ask for clarification on more than one occasion. They respond to emails and phone calls, and have online "study groups" where the course mentor does course reviews as students approach test time. I was concerned about whehter or not the school was credible, and it is. Some were concerned that it would not be recognized and it is. If you want to be recruited by a big company to go to a big school. The coaching reports are helpful in streamlining what areas of study need more focus. Part of the challenge for me in college (brick and mortar) the first time was that we could only go through the material as fast as the slowest person in class would allow, and it drove me crazy. I had to go to class twice a week for weeks. I just wanted to plow through the work and the assignments, and now I can. This isn't about last resort, it is about lifestyle. If you need a classroom, then go to one. For online, flexible, go your pace, no politics within a university, no fighting for parking or paying to park, and avoiding idiot professors that spend more time spouting their own beliefs instead of actually teaching, then try WGU. Everyone is different and it has been amazing for me, and for others I know.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

finishing my BSN/MSN

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - August 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After practicing as an RN for 11 years, WGU is improving my quality of care. I've noticed some poor reviews are not nursing students, perhaps that is the issue. I have been thrilled at how quickly I am progressing in my program. Because I commit XXXtra time to my school, I will complete what is typically done in 3 years in only 2. This will save me $$$. For others progressing slowly, you get what you give. This is self-directed learning!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Bad Communication

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - July 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have not been attending WGU very long, but have found it so hard to understand the classes. I am not a lazy person and am a go getter, but the courses of studies are very hard to follow and some of the places that you need to go for the classes don't help you with the understanding of how they want the assingment done. They just give you definitions of the words used in the assignment. I have had the opportunity of working with four very helpful people at WGU. They were the only nice thing about my experience at WGU. I have asked to be dis enrolled from my classes over two weeks ago and my mentor just contacts me to let her know what I want to do. It was self explanatory to me and it should have been to her. DIS ENROLL ME! Please check into a school more thoroughly and do not attend if the money for schooling is cheap. This will not help you in your studies.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

BP

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - June 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU requires you to put your head down and force yourself to keep moving forward. You are your own teacher and must motivate yourself to move, even when frustrated, or you'll never get through it. If you can do this then you will do well at WGU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not for everyone

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is not for everyone. I attended for a year and a half in the BA in Interdisciplinary Studies (k-8) program and paid an awful lot of money for the type of education that was provided. I learned what I learned on my own, "teaching" by a professional teacher was pretty much non-existent (MENTORS ARE NOT TEACHERS!). The help I received was from fellow students that many times were just as confused as I was. This is a great program for someone that is already in the educational field but NOT for anyone that is NEW to Elementary Education. Overall I would not recommend this program. Conventional schooling provides a far better educational experience as far as I'm concerned. This was a waste of time for me. Be careful before you waste your money and precious time.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Money first, student last

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Started the program in 2006, withdrew in 2010. Three mentors, numerous graders and no progress in the last year. Promises made by the mentors were false, causing me to lose time and money. Grading was objective, only passing when you got the right grader. Graders strung the program out, wondering if they are compensated by making the program longer that what is needed. Save your money and avoid this ripoff!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

No good for 5 states

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - February 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Iowa and 4 other states that do not have reciprocity you should check with your state board of education. Iowa DOES NOT accept degrees from WGU as of right now. I asked them and they new of WGU and a few other schools that did competence based credits. Meaning if you get a degree from WGU currently you can NOT teach in the state of IOWA. However they are currently working on a program on how to evaluate these degrees and what to do with them. It sounded like they have had enough of these degrees that attempted to get certified that they are now working on a process on how to evaluate theses degrees and what needs to be done with them. Found out it will be August '10 before anything is vetted on this subject. Meaning, what a graduate will need to do to get his certificate once he has gotten an online degree from a school like WGU. As for me, I will wait until then to see what they will require, and anyone in these states should find out too. Would love to hear from anyone in Iowa that has gone through this, and what they have heard etc. Thanks

Was this review helpful?

WGU is for real!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - December 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending WGU and I cannot honestly believe some of what I am seeing! I wonder how many of these people who are so down on WGU are either lazy, or bombed out and have a attitude. Our state fully accepts the BA IDS degree form WGU. My wife, who went to a "brick and mortar" university and has her teaching degree, said from what she has seen of my WGU tasks and coursework she thinks I'll be better prepared for Praxis II and teaching in general. She was impressed. WGU is somewhat self paced and I have never had mentor problems, slow responses or long waits on tasks to be graded. I honestly do not know where some of these people are coming from.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Education of a LifeTime

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I’d no intention of writing a review today. But when I came across some of the reviews here, I decided to reply. If your motivating question is "How quickly can I pass with as little effort as possible?", do WGU, its students & yourself a favor … MOVE ON! WGU is not for you. Or, frankly, for any reviewer talking about color books, too easy tests , bouncing from mentor to mentor looking for one who will tell them the answers, or who don't bother to read instructions (on financial aid pages or elsewhere). To reviewers who complain materials are confusing.... WELL, DUH! The materials ARE often confusing! Expect it! That happens to me each time I’m unfamiliar with content...and need to learn it. If it's clear at 1st glance, chances are there are experiences in my background that made it so. That’s what a competency based model is all about. Don't waste another minute. Pass it! Move on! WGU lets you handcraft your program to fit your goals. Use their course of study as a base, and build from there. My focus has been international and virtual education. Because I am in charge of how and where I use my time at WGU, I was able to pack up my program and take it to a real-time second grade class in China, while still studying virtually in the states. Go ahead ... Name ANY other online teachers college that insists you have tons of supervised in-school experiences before walking into your student teaching classroom ...AND supports you in finding that opportunity! What other university gives you weekly personal mentor support when you need it AND leaves you to study undisturbed for a month when you don't? Having gotten to the 'almost completed' point three other times ... and having to start over because brick & mortars can't accommodate family moves ... I've sufficient experience to make a comparison of WGU, brick & mortars and other online universities. For example, I've human development courses from 4 colleges (non-transfer policies at all). WGU's course is more academically rigorous than that at the state university, more unbiased than the expensive private university, and totally lacking in any of the irrelevant busy work demanded by a highly rated online university. WGU's course did seem a bit hodge-podge at first glance, but it didn't take long to see it was because they were pulling the most relevant materials from multiple learning sources. I reiterate here what other reviewers have already said. If you are a self-motivated learner who is busy working a full time job, raising a family and still want to attend full time... or if you are a full time student who is willing to work hard to accelerate through a 4 year degree in as little as a year ... WGU is for you. Otherwise... choose elsewhere. No Teachers -10 because WGU teaches you to teach yourself.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Complete waste of time!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - October 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled in the interdisciplinary K-8 program for a year now. I too have endured mentor changes, course changes and no support from the community leaders/mentors. The tasks are tedious and inconsistent. MOst of which have to be submitted and resubmitted several times before they are passed. They take forever to grade. The course work does not match up with the text information. I too have found that the information that was in my coursework was not the same information I was tested on. I am planning on withdrawing from this program and finding a more traditional program. I would NOT recommend this program to anyone. It is a colossal waste of time and money!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

The Best School for Me

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - August 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can never understand why people are so spiteful on these review boards. If you messed up with a program, don't roast it and turn away newcomers! I know the first time I attended college it didn't work out, but it was MY fault, not theirs. Now that I went with WGU in spite of the reviews I am so happy with my experience. Have I been ticked off at times? Yes, but no more hassels with any other school. I would never been able to finish my degree at a traditional college, but I am more than halfway through and extreemely satisfied. You HAVE to work and you will have deadlines. And for teachers in texas and all states: If you go to school in one state (Utah for WGU) you also have to CERTIFY in the state you want to teach in. It's the same for people who go to college out of state and then move back home. It is standard operating procedure.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

WGU IS WONDERFUL!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - July 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

On June 15, 2009, someone calling themselves anonymous said to not trust WGU because Texas does not recognize the degree. I am currently a 3rd year student at WGU and I am from Texas. Texas DOES recognize the degree. I am sorry that you received incorrect information. The only thing that Texas does not recognize is the teacher certification. Once you complete the WGU program and have taken the Utah state exams, you will have a bachelor's degree and a teacher certification, but the teacher certification will be for the State of Utah. You will have to file for what they call reciprocity in Texas. You can obtain a temporary teacher certification for the State of Texas when you complete the program. Then you are required to take the Texas state exams within a year to be certified in Texas. So, yes Texas does recognize the degree from WGU, just an extra step has to be taken for the teacher certification process. Hope this clears things up. I am COMPLETELY happy with my experience at WGU and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

HORRIBLE

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THIS UNIVERSITY IS NOT A REPUTABLE OR ONE OF INTEGRITY! This university does like to work with students. They are in a constant state of change and will change policies and classes mid stream. The professors will not offer and advice or encouragment and will instruct you to refer to your mentor for answers. Beware of scholarships offered, they will not give you a scholarship in full, however, they will give you an allotement and then take the money away, because of policies that are not stated up front. Professors do not read any work submitted to thier online bulletinboard and a computer reads works and generates reports that will wrongly accuse you of plagerism, because something was quoted correctly. This university does not follow thru on any thing and addresses concerns or questions once to passify, then it is put into a drawer and forgotten until the student addresses it, then many excuses will be made and again passification will be attempted. This school was an awful experience and I would NEVER reccommend this to anyone seeking a reputable university.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great Value & Support

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU is a wonderful school but fact check before you believe everything written below. All evaluators and mentors have BAs and most have MAs. Previous reviews that stated to the contrary are completely false. Also note that this is a non profit university so people who are insinuating WGU is stringing students along for money are a bit paranoid. Unlike Phoenix or Capella, their bottom line is fulfilling their mission to provide equal access to education for all. But do note that while this school is competency based, it doesn't translate into direct credit for your experience- you still need to demonstrate competency by passing assessments. They are currently doing a complete overhaul of their transfer policies for the BA programs to make them more friendly to students with previous academic experience and re structuring the assessments to reduce repetition with tasks in Task Stream. Your mentor is your best support system and can provide motivation and direction, but your education is still your responsibility and if you tend to procrastinate and not do well without strict deadlines, think about this choice carefully. WGU is also providing content mentors to assist with specific content over the phone and online so there is more academic support for students who need it. They are also the only online school to offer teacher certification in all 50 states in an NCATE accredited program. Do your homework before committing, but WGU is the way to go for busy adults who are COMMITTED to getting a degree and can manage their own learning.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

VERY SATISFIED

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I AM CURRENTLY IN MY FIRST TERM AT WGU. I HAVE TO SAY I WAS VERY NERVOUS GOING INTO THIS VENTURE BECAUSE OF THE STUDENT LOANS ETC. I COULD NOT BE HAPPIER WITH HOW THINGS ARE GOING. YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE A STAY AT HOME ANYTHING TO GO HERE. I WORK A 40 HOUR WEEK AND GO OUT ON THE WEEKENDS WITH FRIENDS AND STILL HAVE TIME TO DO SCHOOL WORK. ITS CALLED MAKING IT WORK PEOPLE. READ WHAT YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO, COMPLETE THE ASSIGNMENTS YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO IN TASKSTREAM, WHICH IS WHAT ALL THE COLLEGES I KNOW OF USE, AND TAKE THE PROCTORED TESTS. THATS IT. EVERYTHING IS LINED UP FOR YOU WEEK BY WEEK IN THE GUIDED LEARNING TOOLS AND IF YOU WANT TO GO THROUGH IT FASTER, FIT IT 2 WEEKS IN 1. MY MENTOR GWEN IS THE BEST. SHES LIKE A FRIEND. SHES NOT STUFFY AND RUDE LIKE MOST COUNCLERS AT OTHER SCHOOLS. I LOOK FORWARD TO OUR CALLS EVERY WEEK. AS FOR ESSAYS AND SUCH MY GOD WHAT SCHOOL DOESN'T HAVE YOU WRITE PAPERS. UMMMM HELLO THATS A PART OF SCHOOL. GET OVER IT. AND IF YOU FOLLOW THE RUBRIC YOU'LL PASS. STAY ON POINT DON'T RAMBLE ON TO FILL SPACE AND ITS THAT EASY. SOME ONE ALSO WROTE ON HERE ABOUT HAVING TO PAY BACK MONEY BORROWED TO GO TO SCHOOL. ARE YOU KIDDING? ITS CALLED A LOAN. FIGURE IT OUT.

Was this review helpful?

Good so far

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm in my 1st month of my term, and I'm already through about 4 classes that would have taken me a semester to get through in a traditional college. That's why I rate it at a 10 for value. For $3000 over 6 months, you can accelerate at your own pace, move the program as quickly as you have time to devote to it, and get your degree super fast. It's not easy - let's put that up front. But I'm no super-whiz and as long as you devote the time to it, you will get through it quickly. This program, as with all online schools is not for people who aren't self-motivated. You've got to be your own disciplinarian. Don't expect your mentor to hand hold you. In fact, I've found so far that I've got to lay down the law with my mentor right up front about how I want things done and push them to sign me up for more courses. If you're clear and honest with your enrollment counselor when you sign up and then just push your mentor through your program, this is a tremendous value.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent College for Hard Working Individuals!!!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU is an excellent school for people who have the time to devote to their education. I completed my BA in Interdisciplinary Studies in a little over a year, I did transfer in several credits but this was still way ahead of time. I am very proud to say that I graduated from WGU. My community is very accepting and I have jad job offers at three different schools. I am currently teaching Pre-K and loving it with the very degree that I earned from WGU. I am a busy mother of two little boys, one of whom is Autistic and I am happily married. I lead a very busy life, but I was determined to complete my degree and I did! Thanks WGU for allowing me to fulfill my dream. All of the negative responses are typical responses from any college. I also attended regular universities, and I feel MORE confident in WGU. I passed all of my Praxis tests with flying colors the first time I took them which is more than I can say for a lot of my coworkers who attended traditional universities. I am currently enrolled in a Masters degree in Special Education from WGU and look forward to completing it to fulfill even more of my dreams. I hope they continue to add degrees and branch out to offer EDS degrees! Thanks WGU!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Perfect for me!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started going to WGU in February and so far it has been amazing. I was a little scared at first but the Education Without Boundaries course really helped me understand the process. It is a simple class but will help you out in the long run. My mentor, Jamie, is excellent. She calls me every Friday at exactly 2:00 and checks up on how I did for the week and asks if I have any questions. You can also move this to a call every 2 weeks if you feel very comfortable but it keeps me on track if I hear from her every week. Its your choice. I am 19 years old and this was a much more affordable way for me to get my degree. It will be about half as much as a traditional college. This type of online education will work best with well motivated students who can stay on track and not have people tell them what to do. If you need a teacher telling you what work to do everyday then this school is not for you. My enrollment counselor, Anabelle, was also very helpful to me. Sometimes the counselors are hard to get in touch with but if you leave a message then they will get back with you the first chance they get. I would recommend this school to anyone looking to further their education. Depending on how much you know and how fast you are willing to move through your classes you can get done earlier. I have been there for 2 months and already have almost 6 out of 12 credits. I am going to take my test for the class I am taking now in 3 days. Another thing that I liked about this school was that they dont have the traditional breaks. Your terms are for 6 months but you can take up to a 5 month long break after that if you want to. If you need a week or two off for a trip or something then you just call your mentor so that they will know you are not going to be doing aby work for those days. Simple as that. I can not say enough great things about this college! But if you are an easy learner, self motivated, and dont NEED people around to tell you what to do then this school is wonderful for you!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

K-8 Interdiscipline Works for me

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read several previous reviews and thought I should write me own. I too am teaching in the private sector and am working on completing the K-8 interdiscipline so I can get my state certification. My mentor has been very supportive and has guided me every step of the way. I feel very confident that WGU is preparing me to receive my certification. The school does state that courses are non transferable to other universities. I like the aspect of being able to continue to teach and take courses.

Was this review helpful?

There is something wrong with you!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 4 friends who have received diploma's from WGU and were hired after student teaching. They listed the school and the employer had no problem with where they went to school. I myself will finish in one more term and already have two schools who want me. You have to work hard for your degree and the employers are realizing it. Jan

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Why WGU Is For Me

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So many people are talking about how they learn nothing and don't feel it will help them teach their students later. I took a different approach. I've been teaching in the private sector while trying to earn my degree. After all, the best learning comes from actual experience (something you won't get from a traditional college class either). The argument for and against WGU comes down to people who want a lecture and those, like me, who detest lectures. Some of us chose WGU so that we can get the certifications and move on. I really don't need some professor telling me how to teach. I've taught. I have letters of recommendations from parents of students, credentialed co-teachers, and school board members that back up my work. WGU is only being used so that I can be certified and recognized by "the system". Really, it's a matter of conformity. If I could get the credential based on current and past teaching experience, there would be no need for WGU. I need WGU so I can continue to teach and work on the "paper work" part of teaching at the same time.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

The problem is not WGU

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - February 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in my third term with WGU. My mentor is fabulous. For all those with bad mentors, may I say I feel for you. I would not be able to make it without mine. I do, however, feel the issue is not with WGU or its staff but with taskstream and its graders. All of my problems are with the rubrics and graders. Indeed, the term "all" is appropriate because I have had at least one issue with practically every task. The issues have ranged from serious to simply annoying. My only criticism with WGU would be to consider seriously their involvement with taskstream. I agree the tasks are not easy and are most definately not spoonfed to you, however, they are often graded randomly, subjectively, and many times inaccurately. My experience with WGU has been on a scale of 1 to 10 a strong 9, but taskstream gets a whoping 1!!!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Disappointed - Poor Curriculum

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - January 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My recommendation: do your homework and ask to see the online content, course structure, and grading process before you sign up at WGU. I am a hard-working student with prior Big-10 university and community college experience. I just finished my first semester (BA - Math Teaching) and have decided to leave based on the poor course content and structure. I do not feel confident that this school would properly prepare me to teach. IMPORTANT TO KNOW: The courses are not designed by or taught by WGU instructors. Instead, the course content is all over the board - it's a hodge-podge of content from different learning sites and excerpts from textbooks. The grading is completely unreliable and inconsistent - there are a pool of graders that randomly grade your papers and assignments. Some pass your work with perfect scores, while others will reject the exact same work multiple times. Unlike traditional grading, where you get a number score and an actual grade, with WGU you will not pass a course until all of your assignments are completed. In my experience, it seemed that their "competency-based" process translated to "100% passing." I am so disappointed that WGU did not work out. I was really was looking forward to getting my degree at WGU because it was the only math teaching program I found that would allow me to earn my degree while continuing to work full time. I will now pursue a different degree at another institution that offers better course content and an actual instructor with a reliable grading process. My only positive experience at WGU: my mentor was really great! I would have given her a 10, except the generic support category on this survey seems to encompass more than advisement. Warning - beware of the financial aid office - it's a complete disaster! I dealt with several people who promised to fix their error and none of them did, even after escalating it to a supervisor.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Western Governers University was a joke!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - January 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took WGU courses online and it was the most confusing, frustrating time of my entire college experience. The graders were looing for things that had no relevence to the rubric and when they did not pass your submissions you were given vague reasons as to why making it very difficult to make changes and try to pass it. The easier courses actually had an assignment that said copy this, in your own words and submit it. I actually felt like I left that course learning nothing at all. I am retaking that course at a good college because otherwise I'd feel like I would not be prepared to teach that to my future students. When I told my new guidance counselor about the course she agreed that I should retake it. The other students were more helpful than the graders, mentors or teachers. The mentor I had was completely useless, she changed my courses around every few weeks. I was told to study for a science course and 1 week before I was planning to take the test she decided to change my courses and I now needed to read 2 novels, 2 playwrights, write papers and study for the Literary test which she set for the date of the science test I was studying for. Now I am paying for school loans for courses that I passed at WGU that my current college doesn't accept. I would not recommend this "school" to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

WGU is a great college...

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have always had the desire to go to college, but during my senior year of high school I got pregnant. I wanted to stay at home with my baby and be a full time mommy and wife instead of being a part time college student and having a part time job. With WGU I am able to work at my own pace which is convenient because I do my work at night when my daughter is asleep. I was able to test out of subjects that I already knew! Of course I had to complete the work for it- like 7 tasks and then was able to refer for my test. (Which I did when I was half way finished with the tasks so I wouldn't lose time!) Anyways, at the rate I am going I will have this degree in 3 years instead of 4! I am so proud and excited that I will be a college graduate while I was a full time mommy and wife. I have a nice mentor who helps me with any problems that should arrise- very seldom do any. I would highly recommend WGU to anyone seeking a college degree! WGU is harder for some people because it is a college that you have to stay devoted and focused on because there aren't any classroom settings or teachers so it is easier to stray away from the importance of your work.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Awesome Program

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - September 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I Graduated from WGU and would recommend it to anyone who is diciplined enogh to take the incentive to do their class work on their own. I could not have finished my degree any other way because of time and family commitments.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great for people who want to learn

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - May 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my third year here at WGU it is a great school for people who are willing to learn and work independently. I have had a few difficulties but none I didn't have with brick and mortar school I attended. I had no problem transferring credits from the other school. My mentor is very good she has always answered my questions promptly and so has every other department in WGU. The tasks are not busy work they are designed to teach you and at least these tasks require you use your brain not just regurgitate useless facts. If you’re looking for an easy school then WGU is not for you. The mentors won’t hold your hand and give you the answers they will help you be successful but it is up to you to do the work and study hard. I will say sometimes communication is not the best and mentors and the school could do a better job of letting you know important information.

Was this review helpful?

Bachelor of Arts, Science (Bio endorsement)

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - April 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a lot of credits from a community college. I was planning on using the credits toward a degree in education. The college changed the required credits and only about 30 would transfer. It would have taken me another three years to finish. Then I found WGU and was very skeptical. I decided to talk to the school and I found that I could use what I knew to help me. I didn't have to sit through classes and drive downtown to hear a bunch of information I already knew. I am now done with my degree (after 1 1/2 years). Every time I doubted WGUs legitimacy or practices I was reaffirmed. I passed the Praxis II Science exam with a 195/200 (about the 99th percentile). Also, all the "Busy work" really pays off if you learn from it. When I was interviewed by my principal I was asked about things I did "busy work" on. For example, you are required to write a lengthy essay on formative assessment and summative assessment. Also you are required to write a paper on scaffolding. I was able to talk about these topics with ease the first time I talked to my principal. Altogether, you get out of the school what you put into it. The busy work is for a reason, and everything else they require you to learn is worth learning. The people whining about the problems with the school are those that couldn't hack it. This school is not for anybody. It is for those willing to do the work. The school has policies to quickly get rid of students that are unable to do well. These are the students complaining. They do not have any policies though that will hold a person back.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

For Independant, Self Disciplined Learners

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending WGU since September. I have experience attending both brick and mortar schools and other online programs, and I found that WGU compares well. It is different than brick and mortar schools because you have to be an independant learner with self discipline. A professor will not feed you the information and constantly keep you on task. You must do a lot of this yourself. Your mentor will keep in touch with you on a regular basis by phone, though, to check your progress and this helps. The tasks are not necessarily difficult, but many of them did make me think about the subject and that's the important thing. Transferring in was easy and with the exception of a critical thinking and a science course, I had already completed all of my non teaching related requirements. My mentor calls me regularly and responds to my e-mail in a timely manner, and if she doesn't know the answer she always directs me to the person that does. WGU also provides a lot of answers to common questions through their online students handbook, etc. The learning materials are varied and provide a good range of views. They seem to try to avoid the bias that exists in many traditional courses due to professors who only present views that match their own. Videos that show students and teachers interacting are extremely helpful to me, as well be in person observations in classrooms which WGU provides as well before student teaching. I have already learned a lot, including very practical information such as a teachers legal rights in the classroom. I don't know about other people's experiences but the graders have been very consistent with me and the rubrics are a lifesaver in terms of knowing ahead of time what is required and how the assignment will be graded. I was never given a rubric at my brick and mortar universities. I also enjoy not being subject to a professor's odd requirements. At a previous university I once got an F on an essay for not having enough sentences in my paragraphs! At WGU I revise if the comments make sense and if they don't I explain my position and it is usually respected or the reasoning of the comments clarified. As to cost, it's hard for me to beat WGU. At my brick and mortar university I had to commute an hour each way and the cost of gas is astronomical, not to mention the fact that the commute cost me valuable time and slowed down my progress. At WGU I'm getting through school faster because I can work ahead and I'm able to combine the last few requirements for my BA with the requirements for my teaching credential. I am also available to apply for and interview for education related jobs other than teaching while I finish my credential because I don't have to work around an inflexible schedule.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Stay away from WGU!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay away from WGU. It is a waste of time and money. I am in my second year and want out. The college changes policies very often. The papers are busy work. It takes almost a week to get them back. They are graded by people who grade them the way they want. Forget the rubic. I do have a nice mentor. The graders go through taskstream. They are jokes. No one ever sees their creditials. I am passing the work at WGU. This is a very bad college. They would not take my previous credits from my college. I have received emails from others who have had the same problems. I was told that I could test out of subject that I have know for years. This is not accurate. Acculation is almost impossible. Please, run away from this college. Get your degree from a college that you can be proud of. I can say that I am very ashamed of this college.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The mentors are horrible

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't believe what mess I've gotten myself in by signing up with this school. My mentor is absolutley insane. She placed me in the wrong program, failed to review my transcripts and then fails to make phone calls. My only suggestion for anyone taking WGU classes would be to ask alot of questions to a lot of people. You are bound to get more than one answer. Just stick to your guns and fight for what you need. I NEED certification so that I can move and make more money so I am sticking with the program but I'm actually thinking about dropping this program. I feel like my time is being wasted. The "graders" don't know what they are talking about half the time. Apparently they skim through the work and often ask for things that are already contained in the paper, task, whatever. BEWARE!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I am pleased with my experience

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - January 25, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled at WGU since January 2005. I am finishing up my last assignment currently and will then be certified to teach elementary school level. My experience with WGU has been exceptional. I will say that there are many changes with the school at this point, but the reason for these changes are due to the growth the university is experiencing. The program is also not for someone who needs a professor standing over them telling them what to do and when. I have had no problems scheduling exams in my three years with the university nor have I ever waited two weeks for a response from anyone at the university. I will say that I have had a few mentors and my last one was not very helpful. As a WGU student, I often find it necessary to call my mentor for advice and she is available to help me immediately either through online messenger, email or phone. I feel that as an adult student I am able to be successful in this independent learning environment and finding a great mentor was the best thing for aiding my success. I have and will recommend this school to anyone who is an independent learner looking to accelerate through their program. I have enjoyed my time with this school.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Awesome school if you're motivated

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - January 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU is the wave of the future in education. My mentor guides my progress and answers any questions I have. I love that the books are entirely optional! (They tell you books are mandatory, but if you're smart and a good internet searcher, you can get away without them.) WGU is very affordable and their cost structure encourages acceleration because it saves you money! I came in in Sept. with my AA, and I will graduate with my state credential in only 15 mos. (including student teaching).

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

You get what you pay for

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started out at WGU and I am already on my third mentor. The coursework is not the problem, the problem with the school is the lack of communication. If you have the time to spend making 5 phone calls to get one answer to an email you sent or a voicemail you left over two weeks ago, then by all means this school is for you. If WGU would properly train their staff on how you answer phone calls and emails in a 24 hour period, the school might be worth the money. But then again, I guess that is why the tuition is so cheap, you have to scream your head off to get an answer to one question, which takes about two minutes to answer but sucks about two weeks out of your time with the phone calls and emails you have to get just to get a response. WGU should take some tips from the business world and learn how to respond in a professional and timely fashion to phone calls and emails. If WGU could fix this aspect, then I would have no hesitation in recommending the school to a future educator.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

WGU is Great for the right person

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU is geared for adult students that are organized and can motivate themselves. When entering a program at WGU the student must understand that this is not a "normal" university. There are no classes, it is self paced and the student must be able to use research skills. I have attended WGU for a year and a half. In that time I have had to deal with many changes at the university because they are still in a period of growth. The main concept is great and it's a good value for the money because you can take more classes in a term if you have the time and strength and you don't pay any more for your term than you would already have paid for. There is a lot of writing assignments and I have also found that having the books has been of minimal help, but so far I have been able to pass assessments without a lot of problems that other students seem to have. There are message boards set up for each "assessment" and I find that they are more of gripe sessions than actual helpful information unless you direct your own questions to the facilitators who are actually part of the mentor program. If you are interested in the education program that WGU offers, be sure to read the stipulations carefully and truly assess yourself before you sign on to do the program. The required EWB program that you initially take as an introduction course is very valuable as you will get a sample of how things work and if you are able to work within that environment. At that point you are able to opt out of the program if it isn't for you. WGU is different than Phoenix University and Rio Salado as online "courses". These two schools have structured online classes ... WGU does not have classes, but classes like these are available to take for some assessments that are included in your tuition. WGU is not an easy alternative to college, its just a different way of going about it and you have to be disciplined to keep up with it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great for adults!!

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - November 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU has been a true gift!! I have had previous college experience, with my Associates out of the way, and part of my bachelors at a brick and mortar state university. I always felt like sitting in the class room was a waste of time and wished to just "do the assignments and to take the tests". Once I found WGU, I couldn't be happier! It is different from even other online courses. First of all, there are no message board requirements each week, no collaborative assignments with other students. You have the entire term to finish your assignments and take the tests. Or you may elect to finish them in a matter of weeks, and take additional courses at no additional charge!!! This is truely a school for working adults, or parents who are pressed for time. If you like getting a list of tasks (assignments), completing them, and taking a test, then this is the school for you. Many classes have books that are "recomended", yet after a quick browse through the message boards one may find that there is no need to even spend money on books for many classes. CDs and computer programs and some books are sent to you free of charge for some classes. Granted, there are no "teachers", but there are learning communities and message boards for every class with at least 2-4 leaders, who answer questions, if they arent already answered by fellow students who are very eager to help. These message boards are very detailed and questions are just as if in a real class room. If you arent sure that your doing something right, they will give examples, just as a real professor would. For those that need a bit of encouragement, there is a required relationship with a mentor, whom you will schedule phone conversations with on a regular basis. In the beginning it is at least once a week, then slows to once a month unless you need them more. You are always allowed to call when you want, or email. I have also found that other students are really helpful as well. Many of us have exchanged instant messenger names so that we can talk in real time about life, assingments or even have complaint sessions. Word of warning though, it is very very easy to put off doing assigments until the end of the term and getting caught up in stress to get them turned in with time for grading!!! so...PROCRASTINATORS BEWARE! The cost is only a few hundred more than what I was paying at Fayetteville State University!!! Much cheaper than other online schools that I checked out first. Now that I have sounded like a full fledged comercial, I will leave y'all to finish my essay in RUA1.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not Very Good

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - June 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

WGU assigns a mentor to each student. I have had 4 mentors in 2 1/2 years because they left WGU. There is no support for the courses. The courses are composed of 6 to 10 extensive essays you are required to write. The instructions are very vague and there is no support. The text books for the course usually have very little to do with the actual work you are required to complete. The exams are not based on the text books and the competencies that the exams are based on can be up to 4-5 pages of material. You basically teach yourself and write tons and tons of essays. You need to be very good at finding your own material to complete the research and you must be willing to write about 100 or more essays depending on the degree you are working on.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Not very good

B.A. Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) - March 12, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The way this school is set up is that it is a series of test. There are no teachers and classes that you learn from. You teach yourself. I found this format to be hard. They suggest books for you to read and such but there is no assignments and no instructor telling you what you need.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Western Governors University in any way.