Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Grantham University

  • Ranking: #56
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council

3.0
189 Reviews
5 43 
4 56 
3 17 
2 26 
1 47 
0 0 

Grantham University Reviews:

Grantham has a team of used car salesmen as advisors

Undergraduate Business - September 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am going through the same issues with Grantham right now. . They are trying to force me to take more courses by erroneously awarding me an associates degree for which I never applied. They sent me an associates degree and then told me that in order to get a second degree only 75 percent of my credits go toward the second degree. This would make me have to take 5 more classes to get my bachelors degree. The problem is I just want my bachelors degree I never asked for an associates. If they didn't erroneously send me an associates degree I would be in my last class as planned. They are trying to say I applied for an associates degree but my degree plan has always been a bachelors degree. I too am seeking legal counsel. I would like a class action lawsuit email me at aulecal@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Grantham University

Undergraduate Business - August 5, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my bachelors of science with Grantham University and got excepted to Walden University and Charleston Southern University from my graduate program. I think most of the complaints about Grantham any other online schools is because of financial aid. I think people are going to school for the money and not to advance their careers. I had already attended college and only had 61 credit hours to complete at Grantham and over that 18 months period I didn't have any problems. Michael Donner

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Business Administration

Undergraduate Business - June 17, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The only problem that I have with Grantham University is; Their financial aid office/officers. They tend to lose everything that they submit to them. They continued to tell me that they could not get my high school diploma after several attempts. That was a lie. They never tried. I had it sent to them only minutes after they told me that they could not get it. They also kept requesting for me to complete my fafsa when I had completed it and they already had it. I hate their financial aid department. They are a big joke. As far as their courses, I love it. The classes are very informative and the work load is not as bad as I thought it would be. I have really learned a lot through Grantham.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Waste of $$

Undergraduate Business - December 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This place is a joke. They only care about taking students $$. There is no real educational value to the degree. Do yourself a favor and avoid Grantham University.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Not as flexible as they claim for student attendance.

Undergraduate Business - April 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They claim to be flexible with students in the miltary to complete assignments. I believe their motto is -'college on your terms' or something like that. It turns out that is very untrue. I have had many issues with many instructors as far as their attendance policy and weekly deadlines for handing in assignments. Some classes are very reasonable for an online school as far as the work goes but then others are overkill and leave you wondering how the heck you can possibly get all that work done plus the work for your other class plus your job and home life. It can be unfair and difficult. I have complained numerous times and have been met with a response that I can always take and incomplete. Ridiculous! Total false advertising to me. I can't transfer out either. Their credits don't transfer. So I am stuck. I wouldn't recommend this school if you have a challenging work schedule.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 19 people found the following review helpful

DETC Accreditation

Undergraduate Business - October 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As far as I am concerned, Grantham University is a great school and a wonderful value. Not everyone can afford to go to Harvard or Yale! Also I just wanted to throw my 2 cents in on this issue about DETC Accreditaion. The HETA agreement has resulted in over 200 regionally accredited colleges and universities that will accept DETC accredited institutions' credits for transfer and their bachelors degrees as a basis for enrolling for masters degree programs. If any of these institutions will not accept Grantham's credits, then it would be strictly because they do not believe Grantham's Academics are up to par in spite of their DETC accreditation. HETA removes the national vs. regional barriers of credit and degree transfer, but the schools are free to reject credits for other reasons. I graduated from a DETC accredited college and I am eligible for Master's degree programs at so many Regionally Accredited schools that I'm having a hard time deciding. I sent transcripts to Capella, St. Leo, and University of Northern Alabama (all regionally accredited schools) and have been accepted for all three. Now I just have to pick one. The only reason I'm not mentioning my school by name is because I don't want to drag it's name into this rip-off discussion. I'm not rebutting the assertion that Grantham's Credits are "worthless," but I definitely have to point out that DETC accredited institution's degrees are not worthless as a whole. All U.S. federal government jobs are open to DETC accredited degreeholders and all Florida state jobs are open to degree holders from institutions accredited by nationaly accredited (like DETC) institutions. From what I can tell this is true of most other states as well. I am sorry that Louisiana requires a regionally accredited degree for state jobs. If that is true, then they are out of step with the rest of the country, but then that is generally true of anything in Louisiana because of the French legal/political/social traditions there. My best friend lived ouside of New Orleans for 3 years, 20 years ago, and he claims it was like living in another country. I guess I'd better add that when I said "all" federal and Florida state jobs above, that excludes some professions like medicine, law, and engineering that have to have seperate accreditation from a professional association. Almost all professional associations, will only accredit regionally accredited institutions. So in closing, I don't think you necessarily made a mistake going to a DETC accredited school, the mistake may have just been in choosing Grantham. I grant you that you could have gone to any regionlly accredited school and had much less problem transferring though. If you go to a DETC accredited school you have to have a plan for your future education and make sure that the DETC accredited school fits into the plan. Here is a list of the regionally accredited schools that will accept DETC credits for transfer and will also accept the bachelors degrees toward post-graduate degrees (the list is growing). These colleges and universities can be proud to have demonstrated that they are forward-thinking, progressive institutions. Adelphi University (Garden City, NY) Arcadia University (Glenside, PA) Bloomfield College (Bloomfield, NJ) Bucks County Community College (Newtown, PA) California University of Pennsylvania (California, PA) Capitol College (Laurel, MD) Cayuga Community College (Auburn, NY) Central Pennsylvania College (Summerdale, PA) College of Notre Dame of Maryland (Baltimore, MD) College of Southern Maryland (La Plata, MD) Columbia Union College (Takoma Park, MD) Cumberland County College (Vineland, NJ) Delaware State University (Dover, DE) Dowling College (Oakdale, NY) Edinboro University of Pennsylvania (Edinboro, PA) Felician College (Lodi, NJ) Harrisburg Area Community College (Harrisburg, PA) Hilbert College (Hamburg, NY) Keystone College (La Plume, PA) Lackawanna College (Scranton, PA) Lincoln University (Lincoln University, PA) Marywood University (Scranton, PA) Medaille College (Buffalo, NY) Mohawk Valley Community College (Utica, NY) Mount Saint Mary College (Newburgh, NY) Neumann College (Aston, PA) Pennsylvania Highlands Community College (Johnstown, PA) Saint Peter's College (Jersey City, NJ) Salem Community College (Carneys Point, NJ) Seton Hill University (Greensburg, PA) Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania (Slippery Rock , PA) Sullivan County Community College (Loch Sheldrake, NY) Thiel College (Greenville, PA) Trocaire College (Buffalo, NY) Universidad Adventista de las Antillas (Mayaguez, PR) University of the Virgin Islands (St. Thomas, VI) West Chester University (West Chester, PA) American Indian College of the Assemblies of God (Phoenix, AZ) Appalachian Bible College (Bradley, WV) Argosy University (Chicago, IL) Arkansas Tech University (Russellville, AR) Ashland University (Ashland, OH) Bay Mills Community College (Brimley, MI) Bellevue University (Bellevue, NE) Bellin College of Nursing (Green Bay, WI) Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) College of Lake County (Grayslake, IL) College of Saint Benedict (Saint Joseph, MN) College of Saint Benedict / Saint Johns University (Collegeville, MN) College of the Southwest (Hobbs, NM) Cornerstone University (Grand Rapids, MI) Cuyahoga Community College (Cleveland, OH) Deaconess College of Nursing (St. Louis, MO) DICKINSON STATE UNIVERSITY (DICKINSON, ND) Divine Word College (Epworth, IA) Drake University (Des Moines, IA) Everest College - Phoenix (Phoenix, AZ) Faith Baptist Bible College and Theological Seminary (Ankeny, IA) Franklin College (Franklin, IN) Franklin University (Columbus, OH) Friends University (Wichita, KS) Grace University (Omaha, NE) Grand Rapids Community College (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Great Lakes Christian College (Lansing, MI) Harry S Truman College (Chicago, IL) Herzing College (Madison, WI) Indiana University East (Richmond, IN) Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (Indianapolis, IN) Ivy Tech State College-Central Indiana (Indianapolis, IN) Jackson Community College (Jackson, MI) Kankakee Community College (Kankakee, IL) Kansas City Art Institute (Kansas City, MO) Kansas Wesleyan University (Salina, KS) Lake Region State College (Devils Lake, ND) Lake Superior State University (Sault Ste. Marie, MI) Laramie County Community College (Cheyenne, WY) Lexington College (Chicago, IL) Lincoln Christian College and Seminary (Lincoln, IL) Lindenwood University (St. Charles, MO) McKendree College (Lebanon, IL) Mesalands Community College (Tucumcari, NM) Midstate College (Peoria, IL) Millikin University (Decatur, IL) Mohave Community College (Kingman, AZ) Morningside College (Sioux City, IA) Morton College (Cicero, IL) National Park Community College (Hot Springs National Park, AR) New Mexico State University (Las Cruces, NM) North Arkansas College (Harrison, AR) Northcentral University (Prescott, AZ) Northeast Iowa Community College (Calmar, IA) Northwood University (Midland , MI) Ouachita Baptist University (Arkadelphia, AR) Regis University (Denver, CO) Rio Salado College (Tempe, AZ) Saint Johns University (Collegeville, MN) Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College (Saint Mary of the Woods, IN) Saint Paul College (St. Paul, MN) San Juan College (Farmington, NM) Southwest Baptist University (Bolivar, MO) Southwest Missouri State Univeristy (Springfield, MO) Southwestern Michigan College (Dowagiac, MI) Southwestern Oklahoma State University (Weatherford, OK) St. Louis Community College (St. Louis, MO) Tabor College (Hillsboro, KS) The University of South Dakota (Vermillion, SD) University of Arkansas at Monticello (Monticello, AR) University of Minnesota Duluth (Duluth, MN) University of Northern Iowa (Cedar Falls, IA) University of Phoenix (Phoenix, AZ) University of Rio Grande (Rio Grande, OH) University of Southern Indiana (Evansville, IN) University of Wyoming (Laramie, WY) Upper Iowa University -- Extended University (Fayette, IA) Urbana University (Urbana, OH) Vincennes University (Vincennes, IN) Viterbo University (La Crosse, WI) Waldorf College (Forest City, IA) Walsh College (Troy, MI) West Suburban College of Nursing (Oak Park, IL) Winona State University (Winona, MN) Colby-Sawyer College (New London, NH) College of the Atlantic (Bar Harbor, ME) Daniel Webster College (Nashua, NH) Dean College (Franklin, MA) Eastern Maine Community College (Bangor, ME) ICHM Cesar Ritz (Suffield, CT) Johnson & Wales University (Providence, RI) Kennebec Valley Community College (Fairfield, ME) Landmark College (Putney, VT) Middlesex Community College (Middletown, CT) Plymouth State University (Plymouth, NH) Quinnipiac University (Hamden, CT) Regis College (Weston, MA) Southern Vermont College (Bennington, VT) Southern Vermont college (Bennington, VT) University of Maine at Farmington (Farmington, ME) Urban College of Boston (Boston, MA) Concordia University (Portland, OR) Fort Belknap College (Harlem, MT) George Fox University (Newberg, OR) Heritage University (Toppenish, WA) Olympic College (Bremerton, WA) The University of Montana (Missoula, MT) Truckee Meadows Community College (Reno, NV) Utah State University (Logan, UT) Western Governors University (Salt Lake City, UT) Wright State University (Dayton, OH) Agnes Scott College (Decatur, GA) American Intercontinental University (Los Angeles, CA) Asbury Theological Seminary (Wilmore, KY) Barry University (Miami Shores, FL) Brevard College (Brevard, NC) Bryan College (Dayton, TN) Cabarrus College of Health Sciences (Concord, NC) Carolinas College of Health Sciences (Charlotte, NC) Central Florida Community College (Ocala, FL) Clear Creek Baptist Bible College (Pineville , KY) College of the Mainland (Texas City, TX) Community College of the Air Force (Maxwell AFB, AL) Delta State University (Cleveland, MS) East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, TN) Elon University (Elon, NC) Florida Christian College (Kissimmee, FL) Florida National College (Hialeah, FL) Haywood Community College (Clyde, NC) Hiwassee College (Madisonvile, TN) Lamar University (Beaumont, TX) Lee College (Baytown, TX) Life University (Marietta, GA) Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, TN) Magnolia Bible College (Kosciusko, MS) Marymount University (Arlington, VA) Miami Dade College (Miami, FL) Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College (Perkinston, MS) Motlow State Community College (Lynchburg, TN) New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary (New Orleans, LA) North Harris Montgomery Community College District Northeast Texas Community College (Mt. Pleasant, TX) Parker College of Chiropractic (Dallas, TX) Pellissippi State Technical Community College (Knoxville, TN) Pensacola Junior College (Pensacola, FL) Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA) Saint Leo University (Saint Leo, FL) South College (Knoxville, TN) Southwest Georgia Technical College (Thomasville, GA) St. Andrews Presbyterian College (Laurinburg, NC) Sul Ross State University (Alpine, TX) Sullivan University (Louisville, KY) Technical College of the Lowcountry (Beaufort, SC) Thomas University (Thomasville, GA) Troy University (Troy, AL) Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond, VA) Virginia Highlands Community College (Abingdon, VA) Walters State Community College (Morristown, TN) Warner Southern College (Warner Southern College, FL) Wayland Baptist University (Plainview , TX) Wilkes Community College (Wilkesboro, NC) City College of San Francisco (San Francisco, CA) Feather River College (Quincy, CA) Lake Tahoe Community College (South Lake Tahoe , CA) San Diego City College (San Diego, CA) Santa Barbara City College (Santa Barbara, CA) California State University - Bakersfield (Bakersfield, CA) California State University, Dominguez Hills (Carson, CA) Hope International University School of Professional Studies Pacific Christian College of Hope International University Touro University International (Cypress, CA) University of Guam (Mangilao, GU) University of Judaism (Los Angeles, CA)

Was this review helpful?

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Excellent, if you are not looking to transfer

Undergraduate Business - April 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To all of you that are complaining about the credits not transferring: that is your fault, for having not done YOUR research prior to enrollment. If you just blindly signed into this, then you have no one to blame but yourself (or your base college office rep, as they are to help you with that if you are in the military). True, they do switch up student advisors entirely too often, but that is my only complaint. I signed up with this school for 2 reasons - the cost is extremely cheap (relatively speaking) and the military recognizes it for going officer. I knew going into it that no one else would accept the credits, but Im not looking for a masters degree...I only want whats required to go officer. To date, I have completed my associates, and I only have 2 classes remaing for my bachelors....putting in officer's package in 2 months! I would highly recommend this school to anyone in the military, seeking out their bachelors. The teachers are all more than willing to work with us, as they understand we have extremely unusual schedules and time can be very limited with training and deployments.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Business BS

Undergraduate Business - November 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I like my business courses at Grantham. The instructors have been very good to work with each term. The flexibility Grantham offers is what I need. I truly believe you will get out of the degree (or each class) what you put in the class. The support I have received has always been great.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Undergraduate Business - March 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have two degrees from Grantham. Associates in Business Administration and Bachelors in Multidiciplinary Studies. I am currently enrolled in the Masters program. I have taken brick and motor classes, Grantham gives a different experience than other traditional colleges, but it is a good value. I would rather pay $250 per credit hr than $641 per credit hr and all books and materials were included. I even received a free laptop from them. If you are using TA or GI bill this is perfect. I have no debt at all. I have had my issues with the school, but its what you take from your experience that is the true value. Things I did not enjoy were the changing of Student progress reps, Book shipments and some of the instructors not grading in timely fashion. These are things that can hinder you at any institution. I feel that it was all worth it. Regionally acredited colleges and nationally acredited colleges have one difference, Regional schools are Non Profit. This is what you are paying for. UOP use to be for profit and no one would accept their credits either. Now that they are Non Profit, they are treated like the best school ever. This is just an excuse to charge more for the same education. As long as you have official Transcripts from and accredited College, you will get a good job.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Little Support

Undergraduate Business - March 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was attending University of Grantham when I was granted a special waiver to retire versus forced to PCS to another base in a few months. Due to all the planning to retire (outprocessing, job & house hunting, finding a suitable stateside college for my kid, etc.) I asked permission from my Student Progress Pepresentative for an "exception to policy" with additional 15 days to finish my final course. A dean from another department contacted me and said he saw no reason to approve my request. He stated that he knew full well that retiring from overseas took alot of time, he in fact, did the same thing recently, but I knew my plans ahead of time and had enough time to complete my courses (the other course taken during the semester was finished). When I looked up this Dean's name, found out that he didn't even retire from uniformed service overseas, was a high ranking civil service employee from the education section of the U.S. Air Force. I had all A's, except one "B", now with a "F". I keep getting contacted by Grantham University offering to "help me" to re-enroll to finish my degree, Fat Chance...

Was this review helpful?

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your time

Undergraduate Business - November 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is closer to a Diploma Mill than a Regionally Acc college. At 750 per course is not a good deal! you can get that same price from other regionally acc colleges...UOP, Excelsior, GWU, Penn State online, Central Texas..etc...etc..and these schools are well known. Don't be fooled by those Grantham Recruiters on base! Get a real degree.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

WORTHLESS DEGREE

Undergraduate Business - September 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham Unv. degrees are a rip-off. Most Base Education OfficerS do not recommend the Unv. because their credits don't transfer over to 99% of other universities. Also only 10% of Grantham University Employees have degrees and I only think that is the people in the Military Department which is about 10-20 people out of about 500-1000 employess. It basically is a sales type college only wanting to sell you a worthless degree that no one will except. You can't get a teacher's Lic., A transfer to a State University in any State College or Community College, a Nurse Lic or LVN Lic, a Phsy Lic and various other Licenses. So why waste your time there....YOU ARE BETTER OFF PRINTING A DEGREE FROM YOUR PRINTER AT YOUR HOUSE WITH A FAKE COLLEGE NAME..................

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Accreditation?

Undergraduate Business - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Regionally means colleges and university are part of that region's accreditation, there are six regions of accrediting bodies. Nationally means any college or university from any region can apply for nationally accreditation, which is one body. The Department of Education does not state one is better than the other. The difference is regionally accreditation is more expensive, don't like to accept other school's credits if they are nationally accredited. The reason why is because regionally accreditation has higher fees to be part of so that is why most of those colleges are expensive and make you pay for books to help build up the cost. Your Military credits (SMARTS or AARTS) are nationally accredited by ACE American Council of Education. This is why those schools that are regionally accredited don't except much of your military credits. The bottom line here is these regionally accredited schools want to be on base and recruit to up their enrollments but are they really there for the service member? You have to decide which route is a better fit for your self. I have two regionally accredited degrees: A. S.and a B.S. (criminal justice) Both cost me money out of my pocket, 9 out of my 70 military credits went towards my A.S. And zero for my B.S. Both degrees charged me for books and neither of them guaranteed me a job in the criminal justice world. I have a M. Ed from a nationally accredited University and I am currently working in the Higher Education Field. You make the decision. This is the top clue if a university is a good fit for military personnel: If a university can't tell you how many credits up front they will take into one of their programs they might not be likely to take any of your military credits if so very few. Thank you, CWO4 USMC (Ret) M.Ed

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Accreditation?

Undergraduate Business - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Accreditation? Regionally means colleges and university are part of that region's accreditation, there are six regions of accrediting bodies. Nationally means any college or university from any region can apply for nationally accreditation, which is one body. The Department of Education does not state one is better than the other. The difference is regionally accreditation is more expensive, don't like to accept other school's credits if they are nationally accredited. The reason why is because regionally accreditation has higher fees to be part of so that is why most of those colleges are expensive and make you pay for books to help build up the cost. Your Military credits (SMARTS or AARTS) are nationally accredited by ACE American Council of Education. This is why those schools that are regionally accredited don't except much of your military credits. The bottom line here is these regionally accredited schools want to be on base and recruit to up their enrollments but are they really there for the service member? You have to decide which route is a better fit for your self. I have two regionally accredited degrees: A. S.and a B.S. (criminal justice) Both cost me money out of my pocket, 9 out of my 70 military credits went towards my A.S. And zero for my B.S. Both degrees charged me for books and neither of them guaranteed me a job in the criminal justice world. I have a M. Ed from a nationally accredited University and I am currently working in the Higher Education Field. You make the decision. This is the top clue if a university is a good fit for military personnel: If a university can't tell you how many credits up front they will take into one of their programs they might not be likely to take any of your military credits if so very few. Thank you,

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

I Hate Grantham

Undergraduate Business - April 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Grantham for three courses back in 2007. Needless to say I had to withdrawal from all of them and pay back military TA $2250.00. Thanks Grantham!!! I got all A's on my easy, open book, multiple choice, moranic tests. When it came to the proctored final exams, I didn't have the time or sources to get them down within my time line. No one could help me or extend my due time, at all. There were no exceptions and regardless of my excellent, perfect grades, the classes counted as a fail because I didn't finish a exam the was only a minimal percentage of the total grade. Heck, I would take a B, I guess. Rip off, waste of time school. Cost me alot of hard earned cash and time. I don't recommend nationally accredited schools anyway, unless you're employed solid, and you just need a piece of paper...for wiping.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Current student

Undergraduate Business - March 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am wrapping up my last year for my B.S. I have been in business for a long time and I haven't needed a degree until recently. I have attended 2 big name universities and I can honestly say that the work at Grantham is as challenging as I have seen. My low-down: I have one instructor that I can't stand so far, but that is normal. The support is typically the same day. I don't like the late hours researching for papers, but again, normal. I will say that you have to be a bit of a self starter. There really isn't anyway directly accessible to hold your hand. I suppose this is where the phrase "adult learner" may play a part. I probably wouldn't go here if I were thinking of switching schools as there seems to be issues with xfers. This is a good means of gaining a legitimate degree to get the box checked for the employer. As an employer I will tell you that experience is what the employer really wants, but I have to be able to check the box for "Degreed" to move on. Anyway, that's my .02.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Grantham is a solid school

Undergraduate Business - February 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham has earned a A+ rating with the BBB, if there were any real issues with the school, why not file a complaint with the BBB, there are a lot of people that are using this sight to post derrogatory info against the school because they refused to do proper research prior to enrolling, I agree granthum is no better or no worse than any other online school. As far as i am concerned they are a solid school to earn an online degree. I am currently working on my Bachelors degree with 4 more classes left, I have been taking classes over a year with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Grantham is Alright by me

Undergraduate Business - February 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm writing this review in reference to Grantham University... As a working adult with a wife, 2 kids, foreclosed home and high level IT engineering job. I found Grantham to be an excellent program. In comparison to schools that are neighbors to my home (Strayer, both online, in-class and video-Instructor led and George Mason- More traditional some online) the cost of Grantham and the flexible plans out weigh some of the closers schools. I would like to note that some of Grantham's advanced courses (physics, trig, calculus) are not something that anyone should take online (Unless, you have clear concepts of advance mathematics). However, Grantham instructor assistance is very poor and I've been attending the school since 03 but have been on hiatus since 06. Beyond the instructor assistance I love how they tailor the course. Again if you good, you can complete a course in a month (I have done that from some of my IT classes that I've been using for the past 8 years) clearly increasing the ability to graduate earlier. If given multiple choices Grantham would be one of my top picks to include, Troy, Florida-Northwestern or Strayer University. Strayer is good but $1200 per class plus an additional 15 extra course on top of what you may have already completed is non-sense. Clearly they are seeking to acquire $30K from anyone in attendance.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Grantham and what they have to offer

Undergraduate Business - June 14, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed the requirements for my Associates in Business Administration and am a semester away from my Bachelors. The University is what it is and does not pretend to pull any punches. It's a school that is online centric for folks like me, military. It does concern me that there is no regional accredidation. Maybe I am being a bit naive but it seems like you should be able to sell yourself along with a degree. Having the discipline to complete a degree, resident or distant, while having a full-time job takes a lot of commitment. I have a hard time understanding why so many people complain. If you don't like it then go somewhere else. I think there is a real "I want my cake and eat it too" mentality. Grantham is not going to be able to compete with Top Tier brick and mortar schools. The best thing they can do is stick to what they do and not waiver. They don't need to justify anything to anybody. They are a DETC school and they are always looking for ways to improve, that's it! They are also a business the needs to make a profit. After reading some of the things people have to say it makes me wonder. Customer service gripes do need to be addressed but stop whining about the academics. Move on if you don't like. For what it's worth, I say thanks to Grantham. I fuss about the proctored exams but I get over it. People just want to complete the classes and do as little work as possible. I would just ask people to put everything in perspective and have more confidence in yourself and your ability to sell yourself and degree. It's going to be okay, anytime you can educate yourself you should take advantage. For a guy who was a C student in High School and will be retiring from the Army soon I am very grateful to Grantham and I'll frame my diploma right next to my wife's. She has an undergrad from Berkeley and a Masters from the Savannah College of Art and Design. She is very proud of me and everyone who graduated or is going to Grantham should be proud of themselves!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding

Undergraduate Business - April 3, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very Good School. Works well with working class individuals.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good School

Undergraduate Business - January 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Good school, enjoyed the classes and was a great fit for my military career

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your time or your G.I. Bill

Undergraduate Business - November 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

These credits are non- transferable and very expensive. The customer service is second rate at best. Read other reveiws at WWW.RIPOFFREPORT.COM

Was this review helpful?

Grantham University

Undergraduate Business - August 24, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended regional and nationally accredited schools...public non profit, private for profit, online for profit etc... I have worked in all of these sectors as well and have even worked for a non profit turned for profit with an online component. I currently run a brokerage that sells schools of all of the above. I have two degrees...of which I finished while working full time, with a family. It was not always the best experience but that did not prevent me from finishing. One is not necessarily better then the other but the common theme I keep heaing is that somebody did you wrong. Do your homework when looking for a school... enroll and work hard to finish your degree. The longer you complain about this and that, the longer you will go without a degree. The school industry is a business and you need to remember that. If you don't like the service then don't spend your money there. But it is a business, a highly regulated one at that...moreso then any other so if you really have a bonified isssue then I recommend you take it up with the regulatory bodies that oversee their operation. If a school is not in compliance, they will cease to exist. Have a pleasant weekend!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Dont believe the hype

Undergraduate Business - July 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The books and technology were average. Nothing special, just standard text books. The technology was decent, but I had some problems submitting course work. The teachers would not receive the information 100% of the time and I had to re-send it. The teachers were below average in my opinion. It sometimes took days or even weeks for me to receive any answers to my questions. I would say at least 50% of the time, I would receive a generic answer that had little to do with my question. I received very little support from the school. When it was time to re-enroll, I had no problem getting in touch with them. They would call several times a week and leave messages. When I had a problem with submitting my tests, I could not get an answer for over a week. I also could not keep the same progress advisor for more than a semester at a time. I gave "value" a poor grade because I am having problems finding other school that will accept my degree so I can get my Masters now. I'm also having a hard time finding an employer that will accept a National Accredited degree. All in all, I'm not happy with my experience. If I were to do it all again, I would have went with another school.

Was this review helpful?

Grantham bad news

Undergraduate Business - June 23, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham is just about the most disturbing thing I have suffered in my educational quest. They offered much and delivered little, i actually started looking around when a professor from grantham disclosed to me that the school was useless. She did this as she started moving on in the world. I found one accredited school that would take Grantham credit but only after I wrote "learning papers" detailing knowledge gaines from each class and passing testing. The Grantham experience was so bad my educational officer has stopped all tuition assistance and GI bill approvals for GU in the state of Oregon.

Was this review helpful?

Grantham May 07

Undergraduate Business - May 24, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I too have had problems with Grantham. I do rate them very high though. Before the hurricane, they were awesome. It has taken a long time for them to get back up to speed since their move to Kansas City. I believe that they are moving in the right direction with all of the changes online. Hopefully they will receive regional accreditation soon. If they keep doing what they are doing, it won’t be long

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Complain the RIGHT way

Undergraduate Business - April 12, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've read a LOT of complaints about Grantham, but nobody seems to be doing anything about it. I'm having problems with them too. Here's who I'm complaining to: DETC: Complaints: If you have a complaint about a DETC-accredited institution, please contact Adriene Crossland, Assistant to the Director of Accreditation. 202-234-5100 Ext. 105 Also, give these folks a try: North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (NCA CASI) Arizona State University PO Box 871008 Tempe, AZ 85287-1008 SERVICEMEMBERS & VETERANS HAVE ANOTHER AVENUE: Servicemembers Opportunity Colleges (SOC) Ms. Joyce Larson SOCNAV Project Director larsonj@aascu.org 800-368-5622 202-667-0079 FAX 202-667-0622 Servicemembers Opportunity Colleges 1307 New York Avenue, NW Fifth Floor Washington, DC 20005-4701 Grantham won't care what someone says about them through bulletin boards, but they will care once complaints are processed through "official" channels. If everyone who has had a problem with Grantham complain the RIGHT way, they would either change their ways or have their DETC accreditation revoked. Once that happens, they won't be eligible for military money. Peter Davidson

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

College is a Business period

Undergraduate Business - April 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When a College, any College only accepts 25 Semester Hours of Transferable Credit yet you have over 200 Semester Hours of Accredited Military Courses on your Smart Transcripts/ACE Guide Manual you realize that College is nothing more than a business. Colleges don't accept transfer credits because there is no money in it. Every enlisted man or women working in the military today should be given no less than a 4 year college degree for a tour of duty in a combat zone. GI Bill/VA has never worked as designed and to think we have veterans coming back from the war who are now working at McDonald's and trying to go to college so they can compete...And who are they competing with?...The son or daughter who smoked dope all day and went to school at Chico State and who's Mommy and Daddy paid tuition....If you can get a degree at Grantham and it gets you a job that requires a degree, then for gods sake go get it...It's all BS anyway get it?

Was this review helpful?

Drop in Quaility of Service

Undergraduate Business - April 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't believe I bought into them. What they offer has gone downhill since the move to KC. Save yourself from the hassle and put you money into a better school.

Was this review helpful?

Not too happy

Undergraduate Business - March 12, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm not that happy of a camper right now. I graduated from Grantham about 6 months ago. I'm still in the military but looking to get my Masters before I get out in a few years. I can not find a University that will accept this degree as a pre-requisite for their program. I'm not happy at all.

Was this review helpful?

You can do better than Grantham

Undergraduate Business - March 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is DETC-accredited, which qualifies for military purposes. However, if you are planning to transfer to a regionally accredited school to continue or finish your education, check in advance, since the LARGE MAJORITY will not take your credits. My estimate is about 10-15% will accept them in some form, and none of them are really top-tier schools. The learning process is take multiple choice, open book exams, then hope a professor actually contacts you. So some of the problems are that the texts aren't very good. They aren't standard college texts, they are something that looks to be generated by Grantham themselves, more softbound, looseleaf collections of stuff than real texts. The 2nd problem is that there is absolutely no instructor interaction. Send in your multiple choice assignment into the virtual inbox and that is it. 3rd, I was in an Intro to Business class where student emails were unanswered for 2+ months. Other students were contacting other professors for help with their questions. 4th, it's expensive and I don't know why anyone would attend this school when there are cheaper, more accepted institutiobns out there with a better learning platform.

Was this review helpful?

Worthless degree / worthless school

Undergraduate Business - February 8, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a complete waste of my time. I learned nothing except how to read a text book, open a booklet and take an open book test. I thought I was going to be challenged, but I was wrong. I'm dropping out as soon as I complete this last class. Maybe, just maybe, I can transfer my credits to another school, although I have had no luck finding one that will take Grantham credits.

Was this review helpful?

Stay away from Grantham

Undergraduate Business - February 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have tried for the past two months to get simple grade reports. This place is horrible....worst experience has happened in the last 8 months. Prior to this, things ran so smooth. Now, I find out most credits do not transfer and most employees will not except this degree. This place should be called a diploma mill and should be expose as a fake. Thank god I have not finished my bachelors and can have transferred to a new university and TA is still available for me. Don't waste your time at this school and don't waste your money. I gave this place numerous times to correct the situation and today I stil do not have a grade report and the TA office is all over me. Trust me, you don't want the hassle of explaining this to your chain of command!

Was this review helpful?

RUN FROM GRANTHAM LIKE THE PLAGUE

Undergraduate Business - January 23, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grantham took my Military Tuition Assistance and Mongomery G.I. Bill Money and I can't even transfer my credits to a reputable school. I have wasted so much time with this joke of a school. These people are focused on calling me only to make me reenroll in the next set of courses. Advisors change like they change there underwear. I can't believe this....This school should be brought to light immediately..I say expose to Dateline or 20/20. Please Don't ENROLL or reenroll with this school.

Was this review helpful?

Since moving to Kansas

Undergraduate Business - January 8, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Have learned a great deal!

Was this review helpful?

Grantham is a waste of $$$

Undergraduate Business - December 20, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Materials - Not even real texts, some Grantham generated junk. Open book multiple choice exams. Teachers - Slow or non-existent response. Helpful when you get ahold of them, but their are 80-some students in my section. Support - Non-existent except for cashing my check. Value - It's not regionally accredited and still expensive. Credits will not generally transfer, but they'll put a good spin on that. Use of Technology - I could take open book multiple choice exams without the Web with alot less hassle. Booooooooooooo!

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Grantham University in any way.