Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Nova Southeastern University

3.0
45 Reviews
5 7 
4 15 
3 7 
2 7 
1 9 
0 0 

 

Nova Southeastern University Reviews:

Not worth the money!

Education - December 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my Ed.D. and I had much of the same experience with lack of responsiveness from professors as well as my dissertation co-chair and other staff. This held me up an extra semester and cost me $2600.00. I requested an exemption from this due to being reassigned a new co-chair and that being the only reason I was not completed in the 3 year time period, but was refused after 6 months of e-mails never being returned. I believe this school is completely out for money and not looking out for their students. I only spent over $50,000.00 for the whole program, I guess it was too much to ask for an exception due to their faculty's negiligence!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

A postive experience

Education - July 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just completed the EdD program (2013), and overall was quite satisfied with the program...although it took longer to finish my dissertation (and thus it cost more in ongoing fees) than I had expected; but much of the responsibility for this was related to my own failure to adequately & regularly commit the time needed to make regular progress. Expectations were high...and I had to work hard to make it to the finish line. I had very good support and advice from my dissertation committee. They took a real interest in both me and my topic, and in the end I am quite proud of the result. Courses were challenging, and required doctoral-level thinking and writing. Looking back, I've grown personally and professionally through the process, and would recommend the school to others. Now on to paying down those student loans.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Communication

Education - May 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am working on the Ed.D program for Education Leadership. I am impressed with the professors and the coursework; however, communication is a problem. I emailed one person three times before I received a response, and that was just to tell me the name of another person to contact. My professors rarely respond to questions within 48 hours (standard protocol), which can be very frustrating.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

A Useful and In-depth Education

Education - November 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently in the Phd program in Education. It is an in-depth and rigorous program. A degree from Nova is not a walk in the park. If you want that, go somewhere else. You will definitely acquire the skills you need to progress in your designated area. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Doctor of Education -Organizational Leadership

Education - July 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at Nova Southeastern University where I am currently in the final stage of dissertation approval (Format review) was exceptional. I did the course utilizing a blended methodology of face to face and online sessions supported by WEBCT. The professors were all excellent and very supportive. Library service, technology and other online facilities were of the best quality. My Dissertation committee is the best. I received informed and timely feedback and a lot of technical and moral support. I would highly recommend this university to anyone who wants to continue his or her education and gain a fulfilling academic experience in a professional and supportive environment.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program

Education - May 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended different universities for other programs; however, I wanted to complete my masters online because of the convenience. I heard that Nova had a great Masters in English Education online program so I did it. I have nothing but praise for the school. The course work was of course heavy but I did not mind working. All the professors were helpful; some were definitely tougher than others. I liked the ones who challenged me to do well. I became acquainted with many of the students as they were taking the many of the same courses at the same time that I was in those classes and that served as a support system. I felt like all the instructors were working with me to succeed.I've just completed the program so everything is definitely fresh n my mind. If you want to positive experience then I would recommend this program. At this level, you can't expect to be "spoon- fed" and you must be willing to work hard. I believe many people did not do well because their expectations were different from what this type of work called for. Hard work with no laziness is the key; truthfully, some students do not have the "backbone" nor the ability to do this and they need to be realistic.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great experience at NSU

Education - September 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed an Ed.D in Organizational Leadership with dual cognates in Human Resource Development and Conflict Resolution in September 2007. I had a nearly flawless experience at NSU. I grew both professionally and personally. If you think studying at NSU is going to be easy, think again, the University continues to raise the bar to entrance and is seeking AACSB accreditation (not apropos to the Education program). The comments regarding the curriculum are accurate. The course work is solid and demanding as are the Professors; I had only one professor out of over twenty that I had a complaint with. Don’t wait to confer your dissertation topic with the University, write the concept paper as soon as practically possible and hire an editor. I wrote my concept paper the first semester, and had my proposal written several semesters later, I completed the program with dual minors in thirty-three months. I took as many as four courses per semester, worked full-time, and taught as an adjunct. I read Monday though Friday from 5:00pm to midnight, and wrote all day Saturday and Sunday, and I mean all day, many times, twelve hours on these days. Out of the twenty people that started the program in my cohort, 15 completed the course work; we had a couple of students fail at least one course. To date (September 2008) only three students have completed the program with dissertation. I estimate roughly half of the 15 that completed the course work will complete the dissertation in the six years allowed by the University. Like most education at this level, if you are not committed, are academically challenged, or require hand holding, a doctorate degree is NOT for you! The dissertation process is a lonely process. I strongly encourage you to begin the dissertation early in the process, once you complete the course work, it will be you, the appropriate databases, the library, and your computer. Your dissertation is going to be rejected several times; this is a right of passage. Since completing the Ed.D, I have launched my own LLC, have completed several State sanctioned Mediation Certifications, teach as an adjunct at two universities, and act as a business consultant. I am so impressed with NSU, I am considering a second terminal degree program with them. I have researched Capella, Walden, Northcentral, Argosy, University of Maryland University College and University of Phoenix. I actually completed the admission process with Capella and Northcentral. I have not pursued a degree with these two institutions to date. In the field of grounded and virtual terminal degree programs, I have to give NSU an A. No doubt, it’s expensive. If you’re searching for resume (or CV) fodder, a hobby, or a quick fix to your career challenges, this program is not for you; however, if you’ll embrace and make the process a personal journey, it’s rewarding with a number of surprising serendipities.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Nova Southeastern University in any way.