Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashworth College

3.3
188 Reviews
5 48 
4 73 
3 15 
2 19 
1 33 
0 0 

 

Ashworth College Reviews:

No issues for me

AS Criminal Justice - August 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am on my second semester at Ashworth College and i have no complaints. The work is just the right balance of being challenging and all of my material has been up to date and sent on time. So far i havent had an back ordered books or issues with my payments maybe because i actually pay ontime and sometimes, before time. Sometimes i wish they would grade your written assignments in a timely manner but waiting 3 days seems to be the average. I only have 2 more classes and i will be enrolling in my 3rd semester, i am trying my best to graduate next year DEBT FREE!

Was this review helpful?

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful

Ashworth College Criminal Justice Progam.

AS Criminal Justice - June 2, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First Ashworth College is great school for a married working Adult. I graduated 2012 with Associate of Science in Criminal Justice with Honors. You have to finish each semester in a [year]. I'm working on Bachelors of Science in Criminal Justice I only have 12 courses left. You have be dedicated to doing the work putting in the time to do the research, writing the paper's. Everybody struggles I know I did. You can go to a State University, pay $34,000 a year for tuition four years $136,000 that does not include books or a #2 pencil or a piece of paper. To sit in the class room, have a Graduate student instructor say "I'm here to put the work out to you and I'm not here to spoon feed you the course work". He went on to say "Lab's are Tuesdays and Thursday's for those of you having problem's". Been their done that. Just for reference you can figure a nuances' of a course just have confidence in yourself. You should become friendly with a Liberian you will be amazed what a person with a PhD in Liberian Science knows about, loves French Pastry's. I have never contacted Ashworth College tutor's. I have a Liberian who said; I'm here to help you any time it's my pleasure that's when I started bringing French Pastry's $6.00 got me and my a best guess $30,000 dollars of her time over the years for the Math course's in College Algebra.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Not happy

AS Criminal Justice - February 4, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've completed the course. However, the contract and access had been changed without my knowledge or approval. I have an unofficial transcript as proof that I've completed the courses. Therefore the inept treatment received based on my dismay did not hinder my personal accomplishments.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Great School

AS Criminal Justice - November 17, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Ashworth College with an AAS and BS degree in Criminal Justice and is very proud. It takes hard work and determination. I will recommend Ashworth College to any one. Take a moment and think about this " Books" are included in your Tuition,. Keep up the good work Ashworth College. Roy H

Was this review helpful?

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Worked for me.not a bad program.

AS Criminal Justice - August 11, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Ashworth College in March of 2014, with an AA degree in Criminal Justice. I have been a police officer for many years and never thought I would need a degree. As a supervisor I was required to obtain a degree to remain in that position. I had no problem with Ashworth College, and would recommend it to anyone with a busy schedule.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful

no problems till last semester

AS Criminal Justice - July 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My first problem came in the form of them trying to tell me I wasn't eligible for the 4th semester free that was offered when I signed up, took 3 weeks to get that resolved. First course of semester 4 I cud not get the assignments to come up complete. I messaged and was told no that is right you are ok to submit. I submitted and failed the assignment. Spent 2 days fighting to get a second chance. Now I'm on the second course if the semester and once again my assignment is messed with and the instructor is refusing a submission and since I didn't pass that one element even though I have a b for the course, I am once again fighting them this time to get that course closed so I can move on. If you don't want to be jerked around, run, run fast and far.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

It's a great school for the busy adult

AS Criminal Justice - October 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashworth is just the right college for me. I wanted to work in law enforcement and it did the job. I wasn't looking to go into a white collar Ivy League job. I wanted to do civil service and that's what I got. Ashworth is a great school for people who are looking for blue collar jobs . If you want to be a lawyer go else where, if you want to be a fireman, a police officer, sanitation, secretary , paralegal or any other blue collar type job than this school is totally worth it. My partner went to a great school owes 30,000 dollars and is now a police officer. I went to pennfoster for a year and now currelty ashworth college. a few credits away from my degree. spent less than 5000.00 and is debt free and I do the same job for the same pay. It's all out what you want to do.

Was this review helpful?

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Update on Ashworth

AS Criminal Justice - November 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had zero problems with the school I have one more class to go till graduation and I have learned a lot. I can't see how some have issues with it. Cheap tuition, timely shipments what more can you want? They even email me when books are in the mail. I just got my Criminal Investigation book and its 530 pages. The proctoring is old school and I wish they did webcam proctoring like some schools. I will also graduate with no debt so if you are thinking about it do it!

Was this review helpful?

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful

I already Graduated in Ashwoth College BSCJ

AS Criminal Justice - September 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduate my Associate Science Criminal Justice with Honors and Bachelor Science Criminal Justice with honors as well and when I am applying my Master Science Forensic Psychology-Forensic Psychology community Settings specialization in Walden University I was totally accepted and I will start on December 5, 2011. This is not scam some college they don't accept but in Walden University and AIU University and Phoenix University they accept.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Ashworth is worth it!!

AS Criminal Justice - August 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled in Ashworth since 2005, and I took some time off in between. I am now on my last semester in CJ and I am nothing but impressed with the school and materials. They arrive as soon as I complete a book and I get an email that another is on the way. I currently work as a fed police officer and AU is accepted by the federal govt. I have learned a great deal and am a better cop thanks to ashworth. If you are considering AU, do it!

Was this review helpful?

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Ashworth Criminal Justice Graduate of 2009 my experience

AS Criminal Justice - March 31, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my B.A from Ashworth University years ago. I studied Criminal Justice Administration. I was recruited to the Columbus Police Department after finishing my studies.. Stayed there for two years, and now currently working as a DEA agent. The tuition was cheap, and I paid it all off in less than half a year. I did learn alot, it was not too hard, but it was challenging at times. I used to be a 3.7 gpa student in high school. I had friends who went to state university's, and some of there are still paying for their college tuition. Overall, with Ashworh I received the education I needed, it was extremely affordable, and most of all I now Have a career that I love. I also have a friend, whom I recommended to go to ashworth, he received his Associates degree in criminal justice, and was quickly hired as a police officer after graduating the academy. Again my experience and opinion is based on the Criminal Justice Program I completed, for other majors maybe Ashworth would not be the best choice. thats my two cents worth

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Ashworth is a great program

AS Criminal Justice - February 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I obtained my Associate of Science in Criminal Justice from Ashworth. Overall I had a great experience with them. In fact since I have obtained an Associates Degree I have applied to four regionally accredited colleges that have accepted my credits. I recently decided to major in business for my Bachelors Degree. I began this quest at the University of Phoenix, who would accept their credits. I loved their program but it had so many time constraints for the assignments. I was unable to continue with them because I am a Police Officer with a rotating schedule, and I am also a Youth Pastor so my time is limited. I then transfered to Kaplin University who accepted my whole Associates Degree from Ashworth. Kaplan has a great program also but their are also some time constraints involved. So at this time I am about to start back at Ashworth, because of it is self paced, and it is a quality program that I can learn in without time restraints. Their tution is also much cheaper, and they have a no interest payment plan, this is great because I won't have a large amount of debt when I finish school. Let's say that I am going back home so to speak. Their credits are now more widely accepted by regionally accredited schools. However I would check with potential colleges about their acceptance of Ashworth credits. Each university has the right to except or not except credit whether the college is regionally accredited or nationally accredited. Lastly I would check with potential employers about their acceptance as well. Certain bodies of various certifications will only take regionally accredited degrees. So just do your homework before you make a decision.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

I am embarrassed by my AS-CJ degree from Ashworth

AS Criminal Justice - March 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in the Criminal Justice course, and it took me a little over a year to complete, from 2006 to 2007. Some of the course work was so simple, I could complete the course work in about a week, when it was designed to take a month. I completed the College Math course in about six hours total. The materials - The text books are dated. It was 2007 when I was doing the Criminal Investigation course and the text book was from 1998. Support - 30 minutes on the phone, on hold. Waiting to talk to someone that didn't want to talk to you or give you a high pressure sales pitch. What, do they work in a boiler room? It's like talking to a collections department at a credit card company "How about making a down payment of $500??" - Actual Employee quote. They lost my assignments I submitted, I had to submit it three times. Value - It's about on par with most community colleges. Use of Technologies is very good. Too bad, their own staff doesn't know how to use it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

GREAT

AS Criminal Justice - February 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have taken the career diploma in Locksmithing, and working on AS in Criminal Justice. I have had a wonderful experience so far. Books are always early, payments are low, and when you actually do get them on the phone, they have always been helpful. Would recommend to someone who does not need motivation at all to follow through with a task.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great School

AS Criminal Justice - February 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was the best decision of my life I mean the best. The tuition was affordable and what you get in return cost 5x more. Since graduated I entered The Army with a pay raise and was offered a job as an officer. Now I'm enrolled in RA accredited college I transfered my credits no problem. The only thing is that they valued them at 75 percent but other than that I have had no problem

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Second Semester - AS Criminal Justice

AS Criminal Justice - April 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Good program for the cost

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Lots of Improvements

AS Criminal Justice - January 3, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Since Ashworth College became Ashworth University there are several changes that have been made which are continuing to improve the Ashworth experience. There is no longer a need to wait endlessly for the semester exams, since you can now access them online. They can e-mail your proctor the exam or they can e-mail your proctor an access code so you can take your exam online. I called them and told them that I was ready for my exam and within 48 hours it was e-mailed to my proctor. Ashworth University is a great value and there are several colleges and universities that accept Ashworth credits. It is a GREAT value for the money! Have you seen how much certain other online colleges cost?

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good for what you get!

AS Criminal Justice - August 22, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, I had a good experience with this school. The only improvement that the school needs is in student services. I completed the AS in Criminal Justice in two years with them. The books and study guides that I received were for the most part current. I would recommend this school. For the cost and the quality that you get it's worth it. However, I still read about issues with student services.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashworth College in any way.