Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

It's worth the work if it's accredited in your state.

B.A. Psychology - June 22, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I agree with the person who said it is up to you. I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed and I'm pulling an 3.85 GPA. I'm almost finished with the bachelors program. The financial department is a train wreck and it definitely is a business. The recruiters are kind of misleading, so save all your emails or phone conversations. It costs a little more than other private schools, but has very minimal math requirements and you don't have to take the GRE to get in. These are the reasons I chose Ashford. Their support has been pretty good in my case, which is cool because I have a learning disability. The five week semesters keep you on the run, but generally speaking, the content is not extremely difficult. If you struggle with math and are OK with taking tons of humanities, this is a great school for you, albeit a lot of work and self-discipline. I'm pretty happy overall.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Ahsford is a good school

B.A. Psychology - June 4, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have nearly completed my BA in psychology with Ashford and as a military student I will graduate debt free with the help of Pell Grant. I have three classes left and I am considering a MA of Psychology with Ashford. I will say that online course are challenging because it is much easier for professors to express expectations verbally than with a few paragraphs online. Some professors at Ashford will express their expectations by docking your grade on an assignment and telling you what you should have done as if you should have already known. Most professors that I have worked with are fare and offer valuable feedback though. I will say the one negative I find in Ashford is the accelerated 5 week courses. Many courses will have two discussions, a quiz, and an assignment (some have two assignments) that are due each week whilst also requiring the student to read two or three chapters in the text book, and recommended articles or watch recommended videos. On top of this the student is required to do research for papers. This is might be okay for someone working part-time. I work full time, have three kids, and a Air Force Reserve commitment making it difficult to read all that is required and complete all of the work, whilst absorbing all of the information. I feel like if the classes were longer and less congested I could get more out of each class. Despite that I have a 3.95 GPA on a 4.0 scale and feel like I have a much better understanding of psychology.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

liars

B.A. Psychology - October 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ok, where do I begin. Number one, most of there BA programs require specific certifications (which they do not offer), therefore even if you do graduate from this school, you may not be able to get a job in your field anyway! Secondly, they are not respected at all! Good luck getting a job with a degree from Ashford! But ok, lets be fair any human being with even a smidge of intelligence knows that the classes are so pathetically easy and your not in any way learning anything of use. So you cant be too surprised to find out your education is going to be criticized and your degree unwelcomed! The only real job you can get with a degree from Ashford is a teaching position, at Ashford! lmao. If thats not bad enough, the staff is horrible. This school is a business for sure, they dont care about you, and if you thought they did, you got played! They make a nice ass commission on every student thats enrolled and stays enrolled at least past the third week so they can charge you! You will be lied to from the start about pretty much everything! They rarely take credits from other schools even though they claim they do and will. I wonder why that is? Well lets see, for every credit they let you transfer in, they lose money. Again people, they dont care about you its a business! And lets not forget that Ashford claims to be accredited. They dont have the same accreditation as other schools. In fact, they lost even the most basic accreditation and had to do a total revamp to get it back (not that they are any better now, just had to "look" better). They will lie and say you didnt complete courses you did, or change your grade suddenly if you drop out or transfer schools! They couldnt keep my stipends because I knew enough to sign that permission away from them, no ashford promise here! Theres no real learning going on, people plagiarize constantly without any repercussions, and my favorite thing is how there is a class action lawsuit against this school with millions of people already signed up to sue them. If you want an actual education you can be proud of, at a price thats reasonable, from a respected school, try Kaplan University! they are one of the only online schools that have actual teaching going on. Yes actual teaching where you communicate in real-time with your professor and classmates! There courses are 10 weeks long apposed to 5 weeks, you take two at a time, and they are worth 5 credits each instead of only 3. They are fully accredited in every way, and you can get the certifications through them at the end of your degree as well as job placement! I wish I had done more research about Ashford before I wasted my time and tons of money, but at least it caused me to do serious research before attending an online learning institution again! If you are an Ashford student, run away as fast as you can! Do your research about a school before you sign up and save yourself the hassle of getting sstuck in a pathetic excuse for a college!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 17 people found the following review helpful

SCAM UNIVERSITY REVIEW 2014

B.A. Psychology - October 4, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My second review for this university. This is relevant in that everyone knows if you make the finance department angry they will drop your grade for no reason and thats what happened in my case. I'm an all A and B student and in my last class I passed the final exam and had a grade point average of 85%. The final paper I did was accurate and correct as well in correct format and the instructor gave me a 0% and my grade point average dropped from a B to a C. My instructor didn't even bother grading the paper and at that same time the finance department called several times to harass me about money I owed. I have a tuition that pays for college but, the university refused to accept the tuition and instead have me apply for financial aid which I was not interested in. The financial aid department basically demanded I use financial aid instead of my tuition. I called my tuition and they confirmed they would pay the full cost and I finally after several phone calls and telling them I would file a lawsuit, the finance manager gave me a copy of my invoice. You have no idea how hard it is to get a copy of an invoice if your account is placed on hold you can't view files online. I asked if I could access my account after the tuition was paid and they still said they would determine if I could which makes no sense at all. I wasted 6 months of studying and improving my GPA for nothing if I can't even get a copy of the transcripts. I worked so hard and I put in so much effort with this university and they treated me like an outcast once I had a bill that I was able to pay but, again they refused to accept my tuition as payment and wanted hard cash instead. Just doesn't make sense. I told my advisor Benjamin Eddington that I was upset and thinking of leaving the university because of all this and instead of him advising me and being an inspiring and helpful academic advisor like he should be, he tells me he already started the dis-enrollment process and will be removing me from the university. It's like he couldn't wait to get rid of me. Never work with this advisor because if he treated me this way then hes sure to treat more people this way. At this point I had no one helping me. My military advisor refused to answer the phone calls or emials, my other advisor same issue there, and the finance department kept forwarding my calls and placing me on hold. No one was helpful at all.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Stay away from Ashford University

B.A. Psychology - August 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in Ashford University online because I was a single parent who had to work full time but desired an education in order to find a job to help ends meet. I was mislead by advisors, had a financial representative who changed my fafsa information that caused me to lose my grant and constantly double charged me among other terrible issues. I worked hard for my grades and degrees only to find out that my Master's degree would get me nowhere. In fact, I was led by advisors to take this master's degree program because it would allow me to teach college (I did not have an educational degree). Now, the degree says you must have a teaching degree to be in the program. After finding out (by applying for a job at many colleges) that my degree was bogus I automatically notified the college advisor ect. The college Reps. have ignored and not gotten back to me except for an email that said I signed up for the degree even though I was not a teacher or qualified and that makes me liable. Since when does a college allow you into a program that you are not qualified for? They don't! Which says that I was mislead and fooled. I owe alot of money for a degree that did not get anywhere. BEWARE! BTW, they never took off the extra charges either (over 10,000). I should have forgone the degree and paid more attention to my children. Precious time lost and a debt of 75000 for bogus degrees that has caused me much heartache.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Depends on the people

B.A. Psychology - July 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I originally looked for a school that offered history as an online degree. I was originally told I could take History and organizational management so this is what I started with. I can say that although I have seen some reviews and people say that after they are initially enrolled the advisors just drop them. My advisor was a student herself and not only could I contact her with any academic problems such as having trouble with research, but I could contact her with personal problems too. She is still a friend and is a good person. I had planned on becoming an archaeologist. When I became pregnant there were complications with the pregnancy resulting in a change of career choices. I switched to the BA in psychology and BS in social and criminal justice. In that there was no problem. I enjoyed all of my courses but some of the teachers were not so good. Although they may have been experienced or knowledgeable some were rude to the point where even knowing I am a good student I had to wonder. Others encouraged me to continue and even suggested career options because of how well I wrote and understood things. I never had a problem changing degrees or specializations. I changed several times, to include a minor in sociology, add a specialization in corrections and again to drop those. That was due to financial aid, which I did not realize would not cover the course. The big problems I had occurred here. My advisor must have been ignorant or something. He told me that I could not graduate because I still had more classes to take. When I questioned him and mentioned the minor and specialization he informed me that the minor was available but I would still have to pay for the one additional course needed. However, he also told me the specialization for corrections was not available because I switched my degree to psychology. I was pissed and told him that he needed to check his information because I was supposed to be receiving a dual major. So after all that, he checked and apologized and said that I was basically done with my courses. If I wanted to do the minor or specialization I could but they would be out of pocket. For the minor one more course and for the specialization 5 more. He said my options were to do the minor for sociology, the minor and specialization in corrections or I could be done and graduate. Of course the last part was contradictory to his original statements. All in all, I enjoyed the classes and they helped me to evaluate things I didn't normally do. One example is you have to take a film course or there is another option but I went with the film. I find myself analyzing things in films all of the time now, but this is not bad. Having worked 3rd shift to begin with, the online option was really good. When I became pregnant and was still working it was even better. I found the materials relevant to the classwork. Most courses, maybe all, required a paper at the end, so if you don't like researching and writing that isn't for you. Some courses also had tests at the end and most had quizzes throughout the course. The capstone for both my psychology and social and criminal justice required an extensive 20 page paper. For me I learned most through the research. I had a good experience for most of the part but there were teachers that weren't so friendly and some problems with financial aid, only towards the end. I have heard some people have problems with collections from them; I still have to pay my graduation fee; yes there is one just so you know, $150. I still haven't paid it because we don't have the money. I haven't heard anything collection wise, but transcripts and degrees cannot be given until you pay that fee.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

It's up to you.

B.A. Psychology - June 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

An education like all else in life is what you as an individual make of it. Bridgpoint, (which own's Ashford) has plenty of issues/growing pains, but the instructors are by and large very good. Dealing with Bridgepoint is infuriating, I beleive mainly because they have many unqualified people working there, students perhaps? Remember also that Bridgepoint is a business first and foremost, which obviously means that profits come before anything else; (including your education or stipened check). Being able to get a degree online as opposed to having to go to a traditional "brick and morter" school is a convienence, and for every convienence there is surely a price to be paid. Ashford, and it's instructors are fine; Bridgepoint is a nightmare, I am almost done and am eager to put Bridgepoint behind me.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

I certainly don't understand what the fuss is about

B.A. Psychology - January 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If I hadn't had an online university to earn my BA in Psychology, I would have been in trouble. I have been on disability for some time now and with chronic pain. However; nobody is perfect, and not all instructors click with all students. That is just a human fact. I have have THE best assistance and communication from my academic/financial aid advisor, as well as ADA Access and Wellness Assistance...awesome assistance. Regarding communication with your instructor; you have email, "ask your instructor", and if you need addition feedback why not just ask? If I need to know the answer to a question, I ask for it. When I read the comments from students who seemed to be "bashing" what soon will be know as my Alma Mater, it bothers me, especially when they did not complete the courses. Also to the young lady who was dropped for a while because she was out of school for a month. All you had to do was provide documentation as to why you missed that time; and if it was deemed acceptable, you would have probably been reinstated. I have had to do that due to illnesses, hospitalization, etc. I have enjoyed my education at Ashford University and I appreciate what all the members of the staff has done for me. That being said; Good luck to you all. Julie

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Do your research on this school.

B.A. Psychology - December 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began my educational experience at Ashford University February 2009. I researched the school, and read reviews from other students that left me with mixed feelings and ideas but I decided to give Ashford a try anyway. From the very beginning, I felt disappointed because I didn't feel very challenged in my classes. I raised this issue with my advisors, who assured me the curriculum would be more challenging as I progressed through the classes. The instructors rarely gave real feedback, and there was no real interaction between the instructors and the students. Even as I went through the advanced classes, the quality of the discussions in the discussion boards were not college level, with many of the responses from my classmates either filled with incoherent babble, or copy and paste jobs. The instructors are all part time employees with other careers and jobs. These are not professional college level instructors, and many of them were not even knowledgeable in the area they were teaching. I gave up trying to get instructors to expand on ideas, or answer questions concerning the concepts and ideas presented in the course work. About half way through my degree program, I just merely did the work required in order to get my degree, while pursued my real education through research over the internet, and study guides for certification test in my chosen career field, and by talking with professionals in the field. I would not recommend this school to anyone based on my experience at this school.Any college that does not invest in hiring full time instructors should be suspect. I encourage anyone considering enrolling at Ashford University to read the findings reports from accreditation agencies that refused accreditation to the school (WASC) before making a commitment to attend, as well as reports from the Department of Education, and Congressional Investigations and Hearings concerning Ashford University and Bridgepoint Education.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

My Ashford Experience

B.A. Psychology - December 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My view on Ashford is mid-range apparently. This is Ashford University and not the other Ashford that was apparently a sham. I am happy with my online format most of the time, the books are ok but like most schools overpriced. I was dropped from Ashford last year for being out a month which is a rediculous reason to drop people and I almost left for good. I am half way through my B.A. in Psych though and figured I'd go back rather than start again. This school is regionally accredited and that's good, for many online are not. They also accepted my class credits for every class I had completed. The advisors have done well keeping in touch most of the time but they do change them too often and some are better than others. It takes considerable discipline in any online class, because you must rule yourself, no one will be standing over you waiting for the next paper. I would recommend this school if you don't expect a need for a lot of breaks, and if you like the online format. I do miss on site schools though. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

If you want a diploma, this will do. If you want an education of value, go elsewhere.

B.A. Psychology - August 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I knew that online college was not going to be the exciting, challenging educational experience I crave, but I at least thought that a school would be more selective in the admission of students, making sure that they had at least minimal writing skills and the intellect to handle the courses. I was mistaken. Discussion posts, when understandable at all, are so poorly written (in the vast majority of cases) they are nearly impossible to respond to in a meaningful way. Cheating is everywhere. Everywhere! And it is incredibly easy to get A's with minimal effort if you have the intellect of a 16 year old. I am so disappointed and frustrated to have wasted almost a year, only to be looking for another school at this point. If you want a real education that you can be proud of, go into debt and go to a real school.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Ashford Educatiion: Worthwhile?

B.A. Psychology - June 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my degree in Psychology from Ashford University in 2010. The accelerated program offered me the opportunity to succeed in my goal of obtaining a BA while still working full time. During 1 1/2 years of getting up 5:00am each morning and spending all my week-ends in study, I believe I excelled in my quest. I did miss the brick and mortar aspect and the camaraderie of other students. I recommend going to community or junior colleges if available before attending a web based curriculum. You only get out of any college program what you put into it. When I needed help, I received help. The degrees are accessible to those who are self motivated and definitely worth every penny. I feel, that at my age, I owe Ashford the tuition I paid. They made the financial part accessible.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

So far so good

B.A. Psychology - April 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had no major problems with this school. I am in my 4th class without any problems. If you are looking for the easy way out, Ashford is not for you. Since the courses are accelerated to 5 week classes, there is a lot of work to be done in a short period of time. I have had no issues with financial aid. I filled out the revocation form and received my funds in my account. I have received call backs from my student advisor when I have a question.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

STAY AWAY!

B.A. Psychology - February 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had so little interaction with my instructors that in one course I had no interaction at all, other than one email I initiated to ask a question. Nothing in the discussion forums at all, and there were others like me. Their financial department is a joke, they sent me a letter of disbursement, I sent them everything they asked for, many times over, and then they said my Financial Aid was not approved? The money had been disbursed! They are unresponsive, uncaring, and uninvolved. Stay away from here. Try U of Phoenix or Grand Canyon University, both are WAAAAAY better than this shower.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Run of the mill proprietary school

B.A. Psychology - February 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My main issue with Ashford was the aggressiveness to which the degree program was sold to me and how the promised program then would change and there would be additional requirements not originally disclosed to me despite my asking over and over if I knew all I needed to know about what it would take to complete the degree program. My advisers changed routinely (not sure if there is a revolving door for employees or they changed regularly just for the sake of training) and that made me feel like things were inconsistent. The left hand did not know what the right hand was doing in my case. Different advisers gave me conflicting information and did not seem to have a handle on the proper or correct (or at least consistent) information. Another thing that students should know about an online degree program is that nobody TEACHES you anything. You learn on your own through reading and research and your instructor simply ASSESSES what you learned on your own. Some people do well with this type of education while others do not. Know what kind of learner you are before signing up. Finally, this school is a BUSINESS. They want to make money. That is their primary focus and priority. The admissions advisers get a COMMISSION on every student they get to enroll into a degree program. Just like a car salesman. This isn't exactly a state university or Ivy League school. Hopefully when I apply for a Master's Degree at my local State University they will acknowledge my Bachelor's Degree from Ashford.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Disgusting Excuse for Education

B.A. Psychology - February 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am APPALLED that AU has some how passed themselves off as an educational institution. What is the criteria for goodness sake?! The curriculum and format are truly A JOKE. It is self study. This is a CORPORATION not a UNIVERSITY. You pay for your title. I would feel like a fraud calling myself a professional after completing this sorry excuse for a Masters program. J_O_K_E.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 25 people found the following review helpful

I recently graduate and had a wonderful experience

B.A. Psychology - November 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated this May with a BA in Psychology. I really loved how the program was set up. The class are challenging and the teachers provided feed back when need. Like any other college there are always a few teachers and courses that are more difficult. I thought student loans covered a goood portion. The only time I ran into difficult was after graduation they can keep your money for up to 3 months to make sure all expense are covered, but then I did get a check. I did have to pay for books out of pocket, but that too is true with most colleges or university. I had a one of the very best English teachers, the resourse are excellent! My very first class was awful, I called my advisor right away with in the first week, changed the teacher and really worked with me to get settled in and comfortable. Its very important to read and print out a copy of your course requirements.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University Online - Absolutely

B.A. Psychology - October 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Ashford University Online since May 2011, and I have to say, it has been a great experience for me. I am n ot sure why some of these individuals are having so many issues with this university, but I have had no such problems. In fact, in the past few weeks, I was having medical issues that kept me from participating in my recent course. My academic advisor was very helpful and gave me the option to start the class over next week, or continue my absence. I opted to start the class over next week. I was only in the class for 1 week previously and was reimbursed for the course and the money was applied the the next course. The work is not easy, and it isn't going to be. If you are doing an online course you arew going to have a tremendous amount of reading and writing to do because you are not in an regualr classroom. I had problems in high scool and dropped out when I was 16. I got my ged at 21, and enrolled in a regular classroom based college. I had to quit after only one semester due to a disability. It is not 12 years later, and Ashford accepted my credits from my previous college experience. I have only had issues with one instructor out of 6, and the instructors have gotten back to me with answers to my questions very quickly. As far as plagiarism, I make sure I do what I am supposed to do and do it right. I do not pay attemtion to the other students because they are not my responsibility. I am averaging a 4.0 GPA and A's in every class. This is coming from a student who didn't think she would make it at all. I am retaining a tremendous amount of information and learning so very much. I am having a great time meating new people and getting to know interesting instructors. Yes, I am nervous about getting a reputable jobn once I graduate, but I feel that would be the case with any person who has been out of the job market for over 10 years. I am a stay at home mom of 4 kids, a daughter-in-law, and a grandchild who I love caring for, taking care of my home and going to college online full time. I am having a wonderful experience and I would recomend Ashford University Online to anyone I meet. Good luck to everyone!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Look Before You Leap

B.A. Psychology - October 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student at Ashford University and the academics are excellent, but the financial services department is a disaster. I am seriously considering transferring based upon the ineptitude of the people in financial services alone. Trying to get a definitive answer from them is the equivalent of a modern day keystone cops skit being played out through phone tag. The instructors are great, but every class is a weekly parade of APA formatted papers, and you may have to write a paper every week in some classes. Ashford is great starting out, but I would seriously consider other online schools first.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Completed AU now in Graduate School

B.A. Psychology - October 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from AU in 2010. I was very skeptical about enrolling in online school. This University was very helpful in getting me ready for school. I lost about 50 credits with the transfer, however it was all worth it, I was a little rusty with completing assignments. AU is a great University if you are ready to get the job done. I had 3 professors that gave me the blues but I made it through with a 3.5 GPA and I worked to earn that degree. I would recommend AU to any adult that is working fulltime. I am now enrolled in graduate school and doing very well. I learned skills to assist me continue my educational goals. AU was a good choice for me. My GPA in Graduate School is higher than in undergraduate, Thank You AU for preparing to succeed.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Issue

B.A. Psychology - September 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am using the semi-new post 9/11 GI Bill in tandem with grants and student loans. I am a new student to Ashford but transferring in with a fairly substantial amount of credits from previous schools and filling in electives with my SMART transcript (military). I have read a numerous amount of complaints regarding grants and loans. If you are a new student I would suggest you begin by reading what you are signing. Ashford will absolutely try and sneak a form in on you which authorizes them to basically control your stipend. You do not have to sign this and you can change it at any time if you did sign it. They will happily give you reasons why they choose to try and control the delivery of stipends all of which make sense. Students who fail the courses, withdraw to late, drop, do not meet attendance requirements, you name it the ways to generate financial aid issues are numerous and can apply anywhere it is not exclusive to Ashford. All of that being said what they will do if you sign off on it is wait 7 full academic weeks after your award letter is approved to disburse %30 of the stipend to you. They do this to control the aid money should you default for any reason. They wait another long period of time to disburse the rest of it. If you are like me (and I am sure most people are) you do not want it done this way. You want it all, every penny of the balance, to you and into your account as soon as possible. So, to start do not sign that form and if you do pick up your phone and call them being sure to fill out the revocation form changing your status. What this will do is bring you back into a more traditional state of affairs. Specifically, once you have received your award letter Ashford is responsible to disburse stipends within 14 days. All of the balance, directly to you, in whichever way you opted for. Ashford online verifies attendance and while it is very easy to maintain your attendance simply by logging in and completing your assignments ON TIME it could be just as easy to fail to do the opposite and land yourself in scenerio where you are creating the potential to almost ensure a headache. Whether or not it affects your disbursement is not clear to me because I do not have this issue. Just know that Ashford does regulate attendance but that its certainly nothing to concern yourself with if you are even a semi-responsible human being and able to meet obligations ON TIME within a perfectly reasonable arena. I have a wife and three kids and I am not finding Ashford a difficult environment. Its like many online programs. If you do not log in, if you do not complete assignments on time, prepare to deal with academic and financial complications you would rather not be dealing with. If I do not receive my stipend within 14 days of receiving my award letter I will absolutely come back and post to that affect. However, reading through some of the posts, while some had nothing to do with it others were clearly unaware they had ever signed a form allowing Ashford to handle thier stipend however they wished. And then when months had gone by before discovering it only by being disgusted at receiving an amount %70 lower than the expectation becoming all sorts of upset over it. New students using financial aid....read what you are signing. If you already signed it just call them, fill out the form they ask you to fill out, and get a %100 of balance stipend versus a plus additional 7 week waiting period %30. A lot of the above complaints would have never of occured otherwise. Not all of them, I've read them, but enough to justify posting this to try and help people like me who are new students and wondering what all the fuss is about.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Mixed

B.A. Psychology - September 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is like any school in that you get what you put into it. If you don't put the work in then you won't excel. There are some students, especially in beginning classes, that are barely literate. These students usually drop out after a while and you don't see them in the more advanced classes. Some teachers are very interactive and grade well and others seem not to take part and are just there for the check. Unfortunately if a teacher grades you poorly and you disagree, you have no real leverage. There is no one to really turn to about a teacher that doesn't monitor the discussions properly or grades papers late, or doesn't give you the points you deserve per the rubic. Ashford has also recently taken to have course books available to the class and charging students $85 whether they already own a book for the class or not. Another way for them to get even more of your student loan money. In a household that has two Ashford students that usually share books these fees really add up. It is especially ridiculous since the books seem to be far smaller than traditional books at about 5 chapters! Over all I feel that I have gotten a lot out of my college experience from Ashford but have become disgusted with their constant increase in costs. I personally will probably transfer to an instate school. But for those who work full time and want a degree I would absolutely point them in Ashford's direction.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University-Quality

B.A. Psychology - August 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So far, Ashford's been a great college. Everyone in the office is quick to help. The advisers always answer my questions quickly as does the financial aid department. I love that I can access a lot of the student porthole from my iPhone. I wish that the education degree was/had a clearer path to teaching. I will need to get credentialed elsewhere afterwords and that's a bummer! But, the school is good. All of my credits were transferable meaning none of my valuable time or money was wasted. The classes are solid-no less involved or advanced than the last two "brick and mortar" schools I attended. (My husband is in the military... thus the school changes and decision to go online.) Anyone who thinks online school is a free ticket to a degree is wrong! And that's a good thing! I spend a lot of time on my assignments. It's a real commitment... as it should be. Ashford is a quality school.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford Is Convenient

B.A. Psychology - July 31, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled at Ashford University since December 2010. My degree plan is Organizational Management with a minor in Human Resources. I am currently in my sixth class with the University and I am really enjoying my experience thus far. I decided to pick Ashford because of their generous transfer credit policy. Organizational Management class allows you to transfer 50 electives into your degree plan. That was a huge plus for me since I have taken classes before Ashford that were OSHA subjects and not business classes. They applied all of my credits to the Electives category. The Professors are helpful, and most of them have a Teacher Assistant (T.A.) in their classes to help you and they grade your writing papers. If you complete the paper early and provide it to the T.A. they will correct it for you and give it back to you to tighten up before you receive a written grade. I consider Ashford to be an easy school if you pay attention to the instructor guidelines. With that being said, I had my sister and my friend register for the school. I thought that the classes would be a breeze for them since they both went to a technical college on campus and both received an AA degree. They could not keep up though in an online environment because they need a teacher to be there physically and hold there hands. They could not stay focus themselves to complete the assignments in a timely manner. I love them, but they were being lazy. ? Anyone can exceed at Ashford if you follow instructions and get your home work in on time. I have to admit, it is easy school. You don’t have to do group assignments at all for this school. You have 12 hours to complete your 10 question test, which is open book. Good luck.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

love it, but worried

B.A. Psychology - July 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been a student for over a year, but am not always challenged. Although this is true, I have learned a lot. In reading these reviews, I'd say that the negatives just depend on the people. My academic, financial, and even enrollment advisors have been great and they make it easy for me every step of the way. Friends that I have made have been transferring out, which leads me to my next point: the retention rate is low. REALLY low. I like the school & all, but after reading about it on Wikipedia, I am becoming skeptical. Tell you one thing: I will not be happy if I graduate from there & the degree counts for nothing!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Scam!

B.A. Psychology - July 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I changed to this school from UOP because I was looking for a more manageable class load since I work fulltime. All that I managed to accomplish with this school was waste 6 months of my life and put off my graduation date by a full year! First they try to get you to split your pell grant awards in a 70-30 ratio. Where they only give you 30% of your award and hold onto the other 70% where they are probably collecting intrest on your money. I denied this twice and still they continued to hold my money. I had to contact the Iowa Board of Higher education for them to finally get everything straightened out. However almost immediatly afterward I began failing my class.( I had a 3.7 gpa @uop) and then they began asking for 4000 dollars. They said it was to cover the cost of the failed class and the price to retake the class. I found out from the fafsa that ashford had already pulled out well over over the full semesters award (this was borht grant and loan amount) and was infact into the next semesters award. I dont have enough left in next semsters account to cover 2 classes and when I questioned ashford about this they admitted that next semester I would have to get an addition loan to cover the extra $4200. And they wont release my credits until I pay the entire 8200 dollars for the whole academic year. This is a total waste of time and money!!! Don't Do it!!!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

I really love it here

B.A. Psychology - July 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Im just now starting my 3rd class at Ashford and I have to say I really love it here. My classes are interesting, my instructors have been really patient and helpful, and my advisors totally ROCK IT OUT. They are really awesome. I got my FA stipend really fast with no issues at all. I've even switched up a few classes and changed around the order of my schedule and there's been no issue at all. My calls and emails are always answered in LESS than 24 hours. The flexibility of online classes has been awesome. I HIGHLY recommend AU to any and everyone. I really love this school. GO SAINTS!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Ashford University= SCAM!!!

B.A. Psychology - June 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Boy, did I feel like I dodged a bullet when I backed out of Ashford University's online program. I had this recruiter calling me every second of the day nagging me to sign up for this universities online school. I was interested enough so I began the application process which was ( thankfully) such a nightmare that I began to think twice about going through with it. Even though I never attended Ashford University my story starts out like so many. I have been out of work for a couple of months with a bachelors degree that I can't do much with without furthered education. I've been surviving by doing odd jobs and cleaning for my parents. I have nothing but debt and bills at the moment and this school SEEMED like the answer to my prayers... NO, wrong. This school reeks of scam. First of all, I didn't like how my recruiter (Janice) pressured me into an area of study I wasn't comfortable with and harassed me every second of the day to hurry up and enroll even though I told her that I was financially unsound and did not have a reliable computer setup. I told her that I wanted to wait for my financial aid to kick in before I started because I absolutely needed the excess funds to pay for Internet connection inorder to be successful in an online school. I was told that I had nothing to worry about and that my online education would be fully covered by student aid and then some and that I had to start classes first before I could receive the aid. This information raised red flags for me. No school can guarantee that you'll be approved the maximum amount of Federal Student Loan aid. That's how they trap people. They target the working poor and those people that are desperately seeking education to weather though this tuff economy. I backed out of the program when I was having a hard time just logging on to the site and was told to use any means to get in and finish applying. I was thinking that at the very least I should be able to login without any headaches. I told my recruiter that I wasn't interested and she pretty much hung up on me before I was done talking, where as before, I could not go a day without hearing from that lady numerous times. I see now that I was an easy target for their money siphoning scam. Do your research and never let anyone pressure you into something that you are not comfortable with. There are many other ways to receive financial aid inorder to attend college that aren't out to suck you dry and add to your financial burden.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Student be aware!

B.A. Psychology - May 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Save your money and go to a State University! I have the same problem with Ashford that I did with University of Phoenix. At the end of every funding round with UOPX, I was left with an out of pocket amount to pay between $500 - $700. I was assured by BOTH for-profit educators that my financial aid would cover ALL costs of attendance. At UOPX, I was required to withdraw until I could pay off the financial aid short-fall. Today I received a call from the Ashford Financial Aid office telling me I owe from my very first block of classes back from MAR 2010. Over a year has gone by. I have received (2) disbursement checks to cover my books. Combine this with their often non-participating "industry expert" class facilitators that seldom post anything of added-value to the participation boards that would indicate industry expertise. I will NOT be attending this institution after completing my BA in Psychology. For profit universities...take a look at the stock of Bridgeport Education and look at the salaries of the principles. Educators should be ashamed of the financial greed the top dogs rake in. Considering the fact that the majority (as is the same with other FOR PROFIT Universities) of revenue comes from financial aid dollars, this public corporation and its founders are profiting (into the BILLIONS of dollars) off of tax-payer supported grants. The ONLY universities that seem to be able to keep their word about funding costs are the State run NON-PROFIT universities; most of which now have online degree programs. The only way to force "affordable" education is to STOP attending these establishments that really don't intend to keep promises, hire non-interested staff, and keep raising their rates over and over and over. By the time I complete my BA this fall, I will have experienced (3) tuition increases and I have attended a little over a year and a half. STAY AWAY; especially if you are having to foot your education bill on your own!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Bad Attitude

B.A. Psychology - May 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was in progress in finding an online University to finally start college. My first contact was with Ashford. At first they were very nice and very helpful. Then I started getting pressure to START the class. I keep explaining I Had to know if I was going to get a Pell Grant, I Had to know what my expenses would be before I committed to anything. I was told more than once that I HAD to start classes before all of that would be finalized. Then I read reviews and say what many others were saying about this Univ. So I started researching other online Univ. I decided to go with another. I emailed the people that were involved in helping me at Ashford to let them know I was going to be attending another Univ. I have now received 3 calls by three different people. The first two were pleasant enough. The last one was the student counselor I started working with and when I told him I sent an email to him and the financial advisor, he stated WE did not get your email (how does he know the other person did not get an email?) Then he got a real attitude toward me, told me I OWED him a phone call. I should have called him and discussed the fact that the other univ was cheaper (one of the top Christian univ) He wanted to question their accrediation. I owed him, that univ. nothing! First I started getting pressure to START the classes, when I should not have. Then I get an attitude because I choose not to go with HIM, his univ. Sorry, My advise BEWARE!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Love Ashford

B.A. Psychology - November 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I truly love Ashford. I am into my third year and really do not have any complaints. I feel that I am learning a lot and my classes are all online. Ashford is regionally accredited by all the right people and this is what matters. I love this school and look forward to graduating with them.

Was this review helpful?

Awesome school!

B.A. Psychology - November 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been at Ashford for a little over a year now, transferring from University of Phoenix. Ashford accepted every one of my 33 credits from UoP with no questions asked. I have had nothing but a good experience here. For the first poster up there, Lakisha... financial aid is not meant to put you in a "better financial situation". It is to cover your school related expenses ONLY. Anything extra you should be thankful for. Ashford is very clear about their financial aid process. 30% sent to you once you complete 7 weeks into that set of courses and the other 70% once you have completed 14 weeks. Planning ahead is the key and it isn't their fault if you fail to do so. Their classes are far more challenging than UoP's ever were. APA format is not that difficult and the instructors are not there to teach it to you. This is why they have handbooks for you. It is not really that hard to make sure your margins are the right distance, your pages are double spaced and your references are cited properly. You can always send in your assignment before it is due and ask for help with APA without it being graded. College is not easy and they are not going to babysit you. I have had nothing but a positive experience at Ashford and I realized just how much getting 33 credits at UoP DIDN'T teach me. I recommend this school to anyone who has a drive to succeed.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful Experience

B.A. Psychology - November 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I spent a year researching online universities. I found Ashford to be everything they claimed to be. I have been at Ashford for 18 months; have a 4.0, and have one class left to receive my BA in Psych with a minor in Criminal Justice. The support, the teachers, and the curriculum have been top notch. The only complaint is the incomplete sentence structure, lack of following instructions, and low I.Q. I encountered from other students in the discussion forums. However, this too has been beneficial … for now I see the relevance in the GRE (graduate requirement exam) for admission into a graduate program (it will weed the men from the boys – so to speak!). I will be done at Ashford Jan. of 2011 and will actually miss everything about it. I can only hope to be as lucky as I search for a MA program in forensic psychology. If Ashford offered it I would not leave!! Stay focused on your studies, and enjoy your time at Ashford – they will treat you right!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Ashford is a joke in everyway

B.A. Psychology - October 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford University does not have the students best interest at heart. Instead they want to keep your hard earned dollars flowing through the university.My name is Lakisha, I have been a student at Ashford for 8 months, during this time I have found the teachers to be inconsistent with course material. The books to be manufactured by the school an Lacking in a lot of important information.Ashford also expects you to write research papers in the hardest format available(APA)with little guidance.If you are experienced in this format I am sure you will do ok. But if you are not skilled. I dont advise you to attend Ashford. The Instructors are not willing to elaborate on the proper technique. They rather you teach yourself.They also require different concepts of the format. Each instructor will want something unique and complicated in the assignment.To make matters worse, I was a accused of plagirism without even knowing what I plagirized. The instuctor gave me know feedback. Submitted my paper to a review board, the review gave me no feedback but told me I would be flagged in my file for plagirism and still I have not a clue what it was I plagirized because I am teaching myself the format. since I am learning on my own through A study guide Ashford themselves wrote. I am constantly confused on what each insructor wants. the worst part is they failed me for the entire course and want me to retake the calss again.As if I have cash on hand to retake classes, when I am supporting four kids. And finacial aid and loans, what a JOKE. Every dollar you get they hold on to it, an send you pennies here and there when they feel necesarry. But dont count on it improving your finacial outcome. believe me, you will barely be able to buy books and materials at the same time. They will always hold on to 80 percent and give you the student 20.I am highly disatisfied. I cant believe that this is legal. The student has no say in the matter. The board found me guilty without even giving me a chance to defend myself. I was not allowed to even rewrite my paper or given a second oppurtunity to fix a confusing problem. Now I am flagged as a plagirist and have no clue how to keep this from occuring again.I recieved no feed back, and a decision was made on my behalf without any input from me. Now I am faced with the delima of where do I go from here. Wherever I go Ashford wont be a part of it.Please think long and hard before choosing Ashford University.

Was this review helpful?

Good acredited school

B.A. Psychology - October 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After returning home from Iraq, I wanted to further my education. Ashford as fully accredited degrees at a fair price, with a moderate workload; what more could you ask for? You have to be dedicated and stick with it, the work has to be done.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great school!!!!!!

B.A. Psychology - September 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my BAOM with Ashford January 2010. I will finish my MATLT with Ashford November 29, 2010. I am so thrilled that I completed my degrees with Ashford. Yes, there are some professors who are lazy and do not participate or want to see you succeed as a student, but there are so many who believe in their students and want to see them succeed by making them reach for their full potentials. I thought it was an overall great experience. I would give it a rating of 10 if I knew the review would be published...

Was this review helpful?

Way too stressful

B.A. Psychology - September 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Financial aide is hard to get a hold of, and very rude, if you get the wrong person on the line. There are some really good professors there though, if you can handle the financial aide stress, and very expensive "custom" edition books.

Was this review helpful?

Stay away!!

B.A. Psychology - August 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Stay clear of this college! Do your research! They are under investigation by the OIG. Look it up, or do better and call the Department of Education in Kansas City.. I am currently transferring to another college and have many people in the same boat as I am, including my husband who is a veteran and had to wait nearly nine months for Ashford to disburse his finanical aid because they kept losing his information. I have been going to college here for over two years and in the past year this school has gone down hill. There are a few good helpful people but they are very few and far between.. We had to threaten to get our money disbursed to us. This is money that is due to us. We owed the college nothing. Not sure if this will be the case when my husband and I start the withdraw process. Again, please do your homework and check with college locally. Online colleges are for profit, not for your benefit.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Diane

B.A. Psychology - July 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated from Ashford University July 26, 2010. I enrolled November 2006; since I had very little credits to transfer it took me approximately 3 1/2 years to complete my degree - BA in Psychology with a Minor in Social and Criminal Justice. I can honestly say my experience with Ashford was really good and worth the effort. I only had one instructor that I didn't care for; however, all the others were great and I never had a problem reaching any of them nor did any of them ignore my attempts to contact them. Getting an education is expensive wherever you go; however, Ashford is reasonable. I never had a problem getting my textbooks on time; I also made sure I ordered them in plenty of time to get them! Getting an online education is tough and one needs to be a self starter and disciplined to succeed - Ashford helps its students every step of the way. I have read many negative comments regarding Ashford - I DO NOT have anything negative to say because I did not have any problems with instructors, textbooks, or even financial aid. All my courses at Ashford were covered by Student Loans and before the loans are allotted you DO have a chance to decline the disbersement. I am totally satisfied with the quality of education I received and would recommend this school to anyone who is serious about getting an education and can handle the demands of an online classroom - it takes discipline, dedication, and the ability to act like an adult and thoroughly research issues and ask questions.

Was this review helpful?

the worse school ever

B.A. Psychology - June 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

the whole reason why I deceied to go to this school in the first place was because of all the great things I heard about it. Then once i got into the school it became a nightmare. The financeal aid department in is horriable they say all this stuff to get in to sign up for the school then its like nobody cares once you are there. You will never get your money that you deserved because they gonna give you a run around about it.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford U...Absolutely

B.A. Psychology - June 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with Ashford was a positive one. I feel like I was "educated" in areas that are necessary for my occupation. Though I was able to maintain an "A" average, it was in no way an easy task to accomplish. For those who have expressed concern over the cost of books, may I suggest trying half.com I was able to purchase all of my textbooks through that website at a fraction of the cost. As for the professors, I had some who were laid back and some who were "sticklers"...it is basically the same as in a traditional school environment. For those who are unhappy with their "advisors", why don't you ask to be changed to someone else? To be honest, no matter what school you attend, you are going to be faced with obstacles...it's just a part of life.

Was this review helpful?

Mixed bag

B.A. Psychology - May 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had mixed reviews about my time. Most of my Teachers have been great..but have had 2 in particular that were disinterested and above us all. The Financial Aid dept. is terrible..send back canned responses if they respond at all. This has me really thinking about continuing elsewhere. It seems they act like you are scamming if you inquire about the money that should be coming to you.

Was this review helpful?

Review from a Graduate

B.A. Psychology - May 11, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Acceptance of transfer credit = Exceptional Enrollment Advisor = Outstanding Academic Advisor = Good enough, but room for improvement Financial Advisor = Met the minimum acceptable level Books, Etc = Good enough, but room for improvement Teachers = Good Technology = Very high quality Overall it was a good experience. It has definitely provided me with a stepping stone for a master's program and prepared me for the journey to come. The main area needing improvement is the overall cost of the program. It is my opinion that the school should cut the price by about a third to equal what the review reflects about them.

Was this review helpful?

Horrible Expierence

B.A. Psychology - May 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I transfered to Ashford from University of Phoenix. I have had nothing but problems with the administration at Ashford University. The financial aid department mistakenly denied my application and no one told me for nearly a month. Now I have a bill the school is trying to collect. It has been two months and I am still trying to get this issue resolved. My financial aid advisor didn't contact me about the issue and hasn't contacted me yet. I've been dealing with the available financial aid advisors, each one recognizes the problem and takes action to fix it and when I call back it's like it never happened and I have to start all over again. This has happened no less than three times. In addition to the problems with the administration the classes are geared toward lower level students. I came in with 60 credits and was put into 100 level classes. I have only taken 2 classes and the instructors for each class had degrees outside of the field of psychology, one of them was an engineering major. The enrollment counselor completely misrepresented the program and when I started classes they were nothing like I was lead to expect. They make you buy "Ashford" versions of text books which are nearly impossible to resell. I would not recoment ANYONE attend this university. The administrative hassle itself is enough to send you packing. My roommate attempted to attend Ashford as well and met similiar problems.

Was this review helpful?

Disappointed

B.A. Psychology - April 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like any other online institution; the learning is up to you. You get out of it what you put into it. I have two problems. One; many of the teachers give complete credit to anyone who does the online discussion, even if it was two sentences long and did not meet the requirements. I found that many of the teachers hardly participated in the dicussions or provided helpful feedback. I felt like I put so much effort in my work but other students who put in 10% received the same grade. That was frustrating. The other problem was when I graduated I needed some career counseling and help with resumes and cover letters. They have no such help. For someone who has been a stay at home mom for many years I need that help. This school will be fine for you if you are already working and do not need career help and if you don't care if you get the same credit for doing 90% more work than some others. Oh and plaigarism runs rampant. People blatantly cut and paste and the instructors are oblivious.

Was this review helpful?

Extremely POSITIVE

B.A. Psychology - January 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am well into my third class at Ashford University's Online B.A. Psychology and I have to say that although I was extremely cautious at first, Ashford has proven itself time and time again. The teachers are knowledgable and sincerely want to see you succeed. I've never had problems with the admissions office returning my calls. I have never had a problem with the financial aid office either. I received a stipend in the mail when they said I would and I like the idea that you can track your financial aid awards and you see that they are holding enough money for your next few classes. So it's not for you to worry about and in my busy life, that makes a huge differece. The materials are somewhat mediocre but as long as you work with what you are given and use the many online resources they offer at Ashford, you should do well. I believe those who took one class and wrote a bad review were not willing to work hard and perhaps were expecting a diploma mill like University of Phoenix. I would recommend Ashford to anyone I know as long as they were willing to work hard and actually do the work because thats the only way you will get anywhere with this online program. *sidebar* I also didn't mind the $990.00 tech fee for the online classroom. I have not had problems with the program and the ease of use is astounding. Overall an A- in my book!

Was this review helpful?

Great Choice for Continuing Education

B.A. Psychology - January 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled with Ashford 13 months ago in their B.A. PSY program and have had a great experience! Most of my instructors have been very positive and provided excellent guidance. Response from my instructors have taken a day at the most, and they often take the time to provide very helpful feedback throughout the course. I think Ashford is a great choice for online continuing education; it has allowed me to finish my degree while working FT which I find very rewarding as a single mom!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Education in General

B.A. Psychology - December 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is like all schools in that you get what you put in. I have attended several schools, including a top ranked school on the east coast, and did just as well in those schools. The largest difference (-) here is the loss of "face to face" time with professors and other students while the (+) is time management. I have always worked full time while going to school and getting to set when I "go to class" is great. Outside of these key differences I would have to state that the quality of students (in general) is lower at Ashford because the university does not require, well; entrance requirements. I have found several students in level 400 classes that still have trouble with sentence structure, spelling, and using references. I could go to the local public library and get an education that would equal that of any state/private school if I wanted to put in the time. Of course I would lack the credibility that that piece of paper (degree) would bring and that is why we are in school correct? If in the future, I hope sooner than later, Ashford University implemented enrollment requirements I would have no reservation(s) of suggesting this as a great alternative. However, without enrollment requirements I cannot, nor do I, expect anyone to take my degree seriously although I was an honor student at several tradition schools. Lucky for me I am returning to a traditional environment for graduate school, that has enrollment requirements, to avoid anymore "glances" when I mention my education. In summary, the majority of professors I have had are high quality, several teach at name schools throughout the United States, several of the students are high quality but this is much fewer than at a traditional school, and the only real low quality thing about Ashford University is that it does not have enrollment requirements. This of course is how the label "degree factory" comes into play.

Was this review helpful?

Wow.

B.A. Psychology - November 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to say, I am a little shocked at some of the reviews. I am a current student at Ashford University and I am very satisfied with them. Granted, I have only taken 2 classes, but so far so good. As far as accreditation concerns go, Ashford is as regionally accredited school, not nationally. I think people are confused on what that means. Usually Regionally accredited schools have higher standards than Nationally Accredited school and thus not accept courses from nationally accredited schools. If you are concerned if your courses will transfer visit the graduate school you would like to go and see what accreditation they will accept. For example, Cal State San Bernardino is a regular run of the mill four-year college. If you would like to attend graduate school there they ONLY accept regionally accredited schools (like Ashford). The same goes for the private four-year College University of Redlands. As far as jobs are concerned, if you are looking to be a CEO of a major corporation, Ashford University is not going to cut it. Try Harvard or Stanford. But if you are looking to apply your Bachelor’s degree towards being a teacher or getting a higher paying job this degree will work, just like any other four-year college. My experience has been much better at Ashford than the school I transferred from. The regular four-year college I went to was very impersonal, the professors hardly showed up for class, and homework was never requested. Ashford does challenge you in that the issue homework and final papers so you can retain more information. In my opinion the people who are so passionate about how “bad” the school is want to have the college experience. They was to be able to tell people that they are driving to school or that someone in class was being stupid or that the professor was late. Ashford works for people like myself who want to get in, learn, earn a degree, and leave. Very simple. I have not lied about any of the statements I have made. I am not affiliated with the school at all besides being a student.

Was this review helpful?

Very Pleased

B.A. Psychology - November 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am finishing my BA in Psychology on the 14th of next month. This is the only online course I have taken, so I have nothing to compare it with. I had approached several colleges which offered online formats. Ashford was the only one that actually responded by phone. This told me something. My only concern was that, I had an enrollment advisor who was replaced by an academic advisor after the first course. Have had two since. I am applying at Grand Canyon U. for my graduate degree in counseling. It is my understanding that that one advisor will be with me through out my education with them. In addition, some people have advisors who check with them on a regular basis. The only one who checked in with me is the current one who called me once. Some of the students do seem subliterate in their forum posts. Besides these slight complaints, I have had a good experience. Ashford applied a lot of my previous experience as life credits. For instace, I received credits for attending Combat Engineer school for the National Guard (for building materials) and for a hazmat course I took as a volunteer fireman. The classes are demanding, requiring lots of reading and writing. APA format is strongly enforced. This is good, I am finishing my education at Ashford with a sense of accomplishment. Instructors are supportive and responsive. Financial aid has gone smoothly. It has paid for all my classes and have received stipend checks two or three times a year which helps with finances. The text books have been excellent. My last concern, as I am graduating, has been for the transferability of my credits. Ashford is regionally accreditted. The military advisor at GCU, who is assigned to me told me without hesitation, that my credits would be accepted. At 55 yrs of age, I have always wanted a college degree. My wife is a T 6 spinal cord injury, and I work full time. The online class has allowed me to meet all my responsibilities and get an education. If you are motivated enough to utilize an online format, I recommend Ashford. It is a challenging course, but a whole team is at your disposal to assist you. Thank you Ashford for an over all good experience.

Was this review helpful?

a joke

B.A. Psychology - July 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student at this present time and I'm in my third class and this will be my last class. I will admit that I didn't do my homework about this place and I know that Imust get out now once I receive my last check. in a few weeks I will definitely know whether this school isn't worth anything after I enroll in my community college next week and see what they ha ve to say about transfering their credits in Psy 202 and English Composition 1 . I have not had one problem with them until I started reading all the reviews and plus my sister work for the Justice Department in California and she had alot to say and this is why I got to go, and not only that alot of companies don't hire or tolerate these online degreeso I guess I can say that I have to pay back money for nothing.

Was this review helpful?

Love the classes - frustrated with admin

B.A. Psychology - July 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled with Ashford since January 2007 and my experiences were great up until last October. The school changed it's stipend disbursement process requiring 7 weeks of coursework completed before receiving 30% of a students stipend and the remaining 70% would be disbursed upon completion of 14 weeks. I have had to request economic hardship 2 times because I cannot afford their $100 books every 5 weeks without the funds that I am accruing interest on. Ashford enrollment and academic advisors are great, but their financial aid dept cancelled my loans 2 days before disbursement claiming I failed a course. This course was re-taken the previous year and passed, so it was a mistake on my FSA's part. The worst part of this refers to the fact that I found out about the cancellation by mail through Iowa Student Loan, NOT Ashford. They didn't even call to inform me of the cancellation. The financial aid manager stated she would try to recover the funds, but it is now July and I lost $1300 of pell grant money due to their mistake. My funds finally arrived on July 7th and I'm still awaiting the hardship approval - but I had to drop the current class because I couldn't afford the book. I have been paying out-of-pocket since May for expenses that my $3500 stipend should have absorbed. I am now looking into transferring as I have trying to contact all of my advisors all week stating my disappointment, and I still have not recieved the time of day. Having a 3.6 gpa obviously doesn't mean that you'll get treated as a person here - not a good school if you don't have the $ to fork out $100 every 5 weeks for books.

Was this review helpful?

Love it!

B.A. Psychology - July 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love Ashford. The teachers have been wonderful, the flexible timing is perfect for me, and purple is growing on me!

Was this review helpful?

Never In my life have I been so shocked

B.A. Psychology - July 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have never in my life been so disgusted with a so called university. getting enrolled was no problem whatsoever, just like everyone before me has attested to. Once in my class (ADULT DEVELOPMENT) I was first shocked at a few of the students that couldnt even put a sentance together or spell the simplist of words. I have no problem with that, however How can they be enrolled in a course like that. the next thing that shocked me was the fact that they wanted us to do a paper in APA format. Well that is fine but ashford's APA guidelines are not the same as the NATIONAL APA guidelines. I kept bringing this to everyone's attention, I.e. teacher, teachers assistant and my enrollment advisor. I know I am abviously anal about it, however it sends up red flags when a University can not even get the APA guidelines right. Ashford specifies left margin at 1 1/2 inches. where APA clearly states every margin is 1 inch. APA used to be 1 1/2 but changed to 1 inch. anyway after this it just went down hill. I thought to google ashford reviews and I was mortified, in my class everytime a student asked a question, the instructor would say I really don't know. I mean gosh shouldnt you know? your teaching the course. well anyway so I spoke to my so called academic advisor and the person over my student loan. oh my gosh I have had better customer service at a fast food drive through. they are downright rude etc. anyway I told my advisor that I was quitting to attend a real university like ASU and he said "im excited to not to have to deal with you anymore". Please do your homework and dont go with this school.. a complete and utter rip off, and they treat you like crap to boot as an added bonus.

Was this review helpful?

Two Happy Students Here

B.A. Psychology - July 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Both me and my husband have been students at Ashford for over a year now and are loving every minute of it. I know that it takes a lot of work but we both have straight A's and with the help of my advisors, all 3, we are doing great. We get calls checking in with us every few weeks as well as emails regularly. I love this school and so does my husband. Those people on here complaining need to realize that school is a second job and you have to want it and be willing to earn it.

Was this review helpful?

HORRIBLE

B.A. Psychology - July 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm writing this because there is so much pressure to attend this school. They contact you at all hours, even after I asked them to please remove my phone number from the calling list every single time. They try to be your friend and then get you in front of a computer to apply to the school. When I said that I wasn't ready because I had to make this decision with my husband's support. The advisor didn't seem to care and all I had to do was apply to the school. Because of these pressure tactics, I enrolled at another school on MY terms.

Was this review helpful?

Just Graduated Two Weeks Ago- An Honest Review

B.A. Psychology - May 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a recent graduate of this university, there are some great things to report and there are only one or two items, which are less than positive. Let's get the bad stuff out of the way first. If for any reason you are scheduled for a class titled Man dependance on the environment, demand another class. This so called class is the biggest joke, and waste of money I have ever seen. You are required to purchase a book, which you can get for free online. The class is nothing more than the same topic expressed every week. Oh and let's not forgot the mindless online lab (50.00 you will never get back) It's rare I would ever say a class is worthless, since I believe all education is valuable, but this class is a waste. Additionally it takes seven weeks to get any money back from your student loans. There is no reason any school should take this long to refund YOUR money. After all some students are living off their loans, and can not wait seven weeks. Now we have this out of the way, my overall experience has been pretty great! The professors generally care about their students, and want them to succeed. I have made many friends, both in the student body and staff. I would highly recommend this school. However, I will offer this suggestion. Be sure to give yourself enough time on the written assignments.

Was this review helpful?

Very happy graduate

B.A. Psychology - April 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, I am extremely satisfied with the quality of my education at Ashford, and feel a high level of school spirit. I will graduate on May 9, 2009, and am a new member of Alpha Sigma Lambda. I worked hard and took nothing for granted. I was well-pleased with the materials and the Blackboard learning platform. Discussion board postings were interesting and engaging. My classmates were always respectful to me, a much older person. I believe I have achieved a treasured goal in life, as I did not have the opportunity to go to college sooner. Thanks to Ashford and its staff and faculty for everything.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford is a great school!

B.A. Psychology - April 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a single mom. When initially signing up I almost backed out. I thought no way I can complete my degree on-line this cannot be legit? I am so glad with a little help from my advisor- and yes I am sure they get commission so what! I am on my sixth class it is really fantastic. You have to work hard to get a good education, nobody will hold your hand. I hate attending classes and don't have to deal with annoying people that keep you late because they never stop talking etc...Seriously I love Ashford and feel the decision will be life changing. This is a great school and I am not an employee just a nervous single mom with the same worries as anyone else. So if your considering Ashford go for it don't listen to negative comments. Nothing will always run perfectly smooth no matter what you do. Thank you Ashley for being a wonderful advisor and always promt! I think most prof. at Ashford are great Ionly had one that was so so. But in a class setting you get one in the bunch . So enough said JUST-DO-IT. Thanks Ashford.. I Love technology!!! Andrea C.. CT

Was this review helpful?

Ashford graduate

B.A. Psychology - April 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose Ashford because it was the simplest online psychology program that I could find through my research. I'd had a spotty academic past and they were able to sift through my years of random classes and use it all for general education requirements. I only had to take three general ed class, and the rest of my classes were in my major. Also, I was able to take two classes every five weeks (it was not easy) and complete my all of my major classes in one year, start to finish. I was able to finish my degree (finally!) while staying home with my young son. It was not easy, I had to work very hard to get mostly A's. Just like every other school there were some really crappy teachers, and some really great ones. It was a great program for what I needed. I was also highly motivated and I zipped through the program with no problems.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Environmental Engineering SCAM

B.A. Psychology - March 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have worked in Environmental Engineering for more than 22 years. When I started there was no degree in this field. Now I would like to have a piece of paper saying what I know. It only took one course to find out this is nothing more than a milking house. My initial adviser was excellent. He hunted me down for weeks and said everything I needed to hear in regards to finishing college. He was able to squeeze me into a class that had already started. This is when the problems started. I couldn't order books because the deadline was passed. So I had no books. They redid their website and it gave me several problems. Here is a quick list: I could not easily long into classes. I could not find a password from my professor to log into a writing lab center. Emails and phone calls were ignored. Bad professor. There are several logins through out the school. I would have to say that I needed help on every set up of login, because it was hard and changed for each login area. They say it is that way for safety reasons. You can email fellow students and find out that several of them have the same problems. We helped each other out because our professor was only a screen name and not a touchable responsive person. They said I would have to pay ZERO for school and grants or fee waivers would be given to cover costs. Sounds to good to be true. It was. They sell you this program of free and send a big dog collection agency after you are locked out college for not continuing courses. Mind you that they lock you out. I was told by my financial adviser on several occasions that FASFA would pick up the bill. This adviser is very slow in returning calls, but will respond to emails same day. This is good if you are online 24/7. To get my information for financial papers he would call like clock work. Once enrolled that all stopped. DON"T BE FOOLED BY some of these posts. There is a good chance that some of these positive posts are employees. They require employees to take courses of study from their University. My degree is not available from the college. Once again, they will say anything to sell you on college. I need to stop there because I have on touched the tip of an iceberg. My suggestions would be to seek local State Colleges and Universities before using Ashford. Even with out books and an absent professor I got a "B" or better on Quizes. It is easy, but requires time. To bad they are dishonest and put some of that blame back on you as a student.

Was this review helpful?

Don't Believe the Bad Reviews

B.A. Psychology - January 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The University isn't perfect but you will get an education if you put in the time and effort. Don't take on-line courses if you aren't a self-starter. Financial Aid can be a nightmare; don't blame the university for the red tape. The 5 week classes are no different than the summer classes you take at a traditional university. Most of the professors are good to excellent, but you will find a poor one every once in a while. That happens everywhere. If you google them you will find they have the credentials they claim to have. On the positive side, there are about 20 students in most of the classes. You have access to the professors that you would not have in a large university. You can text them, email them, or call them. They respond quickly. Text books are expensive everywhere. You know ahead of time what you need and you can buy them online-anywhere Most are standard textbooks so there is no problem finding used books. I don't know why people are complaining about this school, but my guess is that they don't realize that education is expensive. Some may not understand that online learning is the responsibility of the student - not the instructor or the school. No one is going to spoon feed you the information; you have to want to learn. I have a previous degree from a "real" school so I know what I am talking about.

Was this review helpful?

Satisfied Ashford U. Alumnus

B.A. Psychology - January 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to Ashford University (Online) from January 2007 until my graduation in September of 2008. I have a Bachelors of Arts in Psychology from Ashford. I felt that my two years at the school were very challenging. Overall, I got a lot out of my education. I am currently enrolled in grad school at a local state college and doing very well. After taking five week classes for two years the state college's semester system (15 weeks) seems much easier. I feel Ashford prepared me for grad school. My bachelors has also paid off in the job market. Overall, Ashford is a good school for working adults who want to better their lives. To be successful you need to take full responsibility for your education. Most of the complaints I've read are from people who were looking to be spoon-fed by school administrators. When they were not babied they dropped out.

Was this review helpful?

So Far, So Good

B.A. Psychology - January 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just wanted to say that I am in my third class at Ashford. The stipend payments were disbursed exactly when they said they would be in my notification via email, and the date of the payment under "financial information" link online coincided with when I received my check several days later. I already knew there would be a wait for the first disbursement, thanks to my enrollment advisor letting me know, but my first set of books was free, again, just like my enrollment advisor indicated. Speaking of books, I tend to buy mine on Ebay. They are a lot less than at the online store. As for Ashford being a diploma mill, I would disagree. So far I have a 4.0 grade point average, but the average grades for each class (which are posted) are much less than mine. The quality of some of the posting on Blackboard is poor, but I believe that people there are graded fairly. My three teachers so far have been very responsive to any questions I have had. There are brick and mortar institutions where you actually have to wait all the way until the end of the quarter to receive any stipends for left-over funding. So that would be at three, six, nine and 12 months, if you attend even in summer. I don't feel the seven and 15 week policy is unreasonable.

Was this review helpful?

Not Perfect, but who is?

B.A. Psychology - December 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are times when we have a bad experience. Not everyone is perfect. I was at University of Phoenix and had a problem with a professor there. I had questioned the questions I had gotten wrong on a test and she said I can not give you the correct answer you have to look it up. Nice. People complain about the school, have you looked on the BBB for U of P? hundreds of students have complained. There is not a perfect program on-line,please post when you find them. Ashford has been pretty good when you put in the time. I have seen some lame postings in class and see the lack of quality in their work. My last class the average score was a 60% and I got 96.4 for my work.

Was this review helpful?

Don't be Lazy

B.A. Psychology - December 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After a few kinks and being a new college student, I find the Ashford experience to be great. After reading some of the negative reviews on this site, it appears the problem is with the person, not Ashford. Having to pay for books and Microsoft Word are common college expenses. Not everything could be covered under Financial Aid. The books can be pricey, yes, but you can also rent textbooks from sites like bookrenter.com for a fraction of the cost. They will not hold your hand (as you are a college ADULT now), but will walk you through the beginning steps. By the way, I have been going to Ashford for over 2 years now non stop and never have had the issues that some of these people have.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University

B.A. Psychology - November 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not at all surprised by the handfull of people that have posted with complaints. They state that advisers, professors, etc are sometimes uncaring. I wish to ask them if they ever stepped foot in an actual college or university? I have seen the same form of uncaring, unknown individuals as you have seen from an online college. As for those that commented about any "poor folk" could pass. I would have to beg to differ on that. Just like anything else in life, you get out what you put in. If you don't do the work, you fail. Plain and simple. As for the comments on the professors being "housewives", I would like to see your proof on your assumptions. I did research on some of my professors and found what they stated in their introductions to be valid and truthful. I have attended Ashford for over a year now, and yes, I've had my share of issues. I've spoken to a friend who has done both "regular" and "online" schooling and understands when certain things happen. If you can't reach them by phone, e-mail them. I have kept 99.9% of my communications with Ashford by e-mail. So financial aid has a new policy, did you RESEARCH it? Its not their doing, but a FEDERAL order. Don't always blame someone else for your own failures. I am studying for a BA in Psychology and Criminal Justice. I have a friend who attends online with me. She would be the first to come forward if anything seemed "easy" or "fishy". Also, I had dropped out of high school ( but did obtain a GED ) and these classes are NOT a cakewalk. If you don't like a college, then move on. Just because Ashford is owned by a private company, doesn't mean its bad. Look at other public colleges, look who runs them. A "Board of Regents" - sounds business to me.

Was this review helpful?

never again

B.A. Psychology - November 25, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

the classes are very easy and my enrollment advisor is great as for everything else this school is the worst i have ever seen. my finance guy lost my paper work 6 times. they screwed up my loan twice. i was told i was getting 7000 back and i got 3900. that money is missing and im the one stuck paying it back not them. In the year i have been with them i spoke to my advisor twice. they sure are not on the ball with anything. I should have left the first time they messed up all my aid papers but i got a new advisor and thought everything would be great from here on out. Now i realize it was just a waste of time. not much time however concidering i have a 3.5 and have not read any of my books for any of my classes.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford? Absolutely!

B.A. Psychology - November 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled at Ashford in June '06 and graduated in Dec '07 with a BA in Psychology. I had a wonderful experience. The 5 week intensive classes were just long enough to keep my attention. The only reason I did not continue at Ashford for my graduate degree is that my major wasn't offered. Now I have 10-week courses and find myself bored around week 6. Ashford kept me on my toes. I loved that I knew what to expect with each class because each class follows the same frame work (weekly quiz, discussion posts and responses, papers due in week 3 and week 5). It worked for me. Sure, there were classes in which the instructors were not as visible or available, but as an online adult learner, knowing how to work without supervision should be part of one's make-up anyway. This happens in B&M schools, too. I excelled at Ashford and was ecstatic to finally finish my B.A. with a 3.93 GPA at the age of 36. I earned every A. Ashford is no diploma mill. You study, do the work and put effort into it, you get good results. If not, well...then, not so much. I drove with 10 members of my family and close friends in a bad snow storm from Chicago to Iowa to the B&M Ashford for graduation and it was worth it. I truly accomplished something and am a role model for my kids and anyone who never thought they would have the chance to go back to school after making some bad decisions in their youth or just because life threw them a curve. I recommend Ashford to anyone who is computer literate, is a self-starter, and works well without supervision.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.