Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

Great experience

Clinical psychology - May 15, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As I worked through my BS in Psychology at Capella University, I felt supported by instructors and staff at every capacity. I am proud to be a Capella graduate. I am currently applying for the Psy.D in Clinical Psychology at Capella. To be an online student it is vital to be a self-starter and disciplined. You must work hard and never give-up!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Loved it

Clinical psychology - July 13, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You need to be a self starter and go above and beyond to get what you want out of this program. There is always staff there to help but it's up to you to utilize your peers, the discussions, your personal experience and know how to spot read to complete all reading assignments. It takes some getting used to but it's worth it. I got a lot out of the program and even more out of the networking of fellow students and colloquias. What I will say is you get what you put in. I only experienced one professor that did not see my own clinical reasons for diagnosis in one class and I got B because I went a different way then he did. I don't like over diagnosing and I use clinical terms to support the evidence. Besides that, it went well. I don't like most advisors because they aren't as helpful as Austin C in financial aid. He was my go to.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not APA approved, beware

Clinical psychology - September 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Staff is not very helpful at all, they will take your money, then you fend for yourself.

Was this review helpful?

37 of 49 people found the following review helpful

You will likely not become a Licensed Psychologist if you attend Capella

Clinical psychology - July 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you plan to devote several years and thousands of dollars toward obtaining a Doctoral Degree in Psychology, my advice is to attend an APA accredited program. I have few regrets in life but getting my PsyD from Capella was the worst decision I have ever made. It has nearly ruined my professional career. Even though I completed an APA approved internship, passed the EPPP, earned a doctoral degree, I cannot be licensed in the state in which I live because my degree from Capella is WORTHLESS in the eyes of the state board (and most all professionals in the field of psychology). When I asked for support from Capella to appear before the state board they offered NO SUPPORT!!! And this is a common theme. If you want support during and after your program look for another school. If you want to become a Licensed Psychologist - ATTEND AN APA ACCREDITED SCHOOL!!! I hope this helps someone avoid the huge mistake that I made by getting my degree at Capella.

Was this review helpful?

64 of 71 people found the following review helpful

psychology

Clinical psychology - February 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have two Master's degrees from both online and traditional brick and mortar college institutions. When I decided to return for an advanced psychology degree, I had problems from the start. That should have been my first clue. The application process was painful, and the advising process does not work. You will often get whatever advisor is available when you call, regardless of whether they work in the Master's degree or Doctoral program area. Many of the classes lack good interactions with the faculty, which is often due to the high number of students/classes that each teacher must teach. Master's degree candidates take classes with doctoral students with the same amount of work, and learning modules and final projects. Connection with your fellow students is left up to you to do online and hope for the best. I understand that this is part of the online degree process, but I have taken many classes at other online colleges where the process of connection was far easier. I felt that I was often training my advisors as to what was needed for my degree, and also having to email some teachers more than once to get any sort of feedback if I was on the right track in a class, or if I needed clarification. Usually, the faculty would give a brief answer but ask the other classmates for their support and assistance in the answer. This is clearly a for profit, market driven institution where numbers matter more than the student. Career services has 'webinars' which are not face to face skype presentations but rather a discussion/power point format with an area on the side to type your question. It did not give me the confidence in the school's ability to assist student's in their job search in the career that they have paid a large amount of money to the college to complete. My advice is to look at college that offer a more interactive model of support, and teaching. collaborative and supportive versus scholar learner centered which is at capella.

Was this review helpful?

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Capella University General Psychology PhD program

Clinical psychology - January 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Near completing a General Psychology PhD. Capella's program is superior to my brick and mortar undergrad and MA at traditional schools. This is due to the well designed and thorough syllabus driven, research oriented classes.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Grateful, yet reserved in my recommendations

Clinical psychology - May 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was able to obtain an APA accredited pre-doctoral internship as a Capella University Student. The only reservation I have is that Capella University is not APA accredited as an institution and this was a big disappointment. I will say I am a licensed psychologist in California now, but without that accreditation I will have an up hill battle in some areas. I will never be eligible for ABPP certification and may have trouble moving and becoming licensed in other states. The program itself (the years I attended) was excellent overall. What a student gets out of it, is what they put into it. I am also glad they did manage to discourage or dismiss some students that would have been problematic working for the public or would have been dismissed from an internship program. For those with life situations where another accredited university is not an option, I recommend Capella as second only to fielding (again as they are an an accredited on line program in clinical psychology). For those who are looking at other programs in psychology and who are not looking to be licensed as a clinical psychologist . Capella would be my first choice for an on-line program. Depending on the state Capella's degree program may work well for those who wish to be doctoral level licensed professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, or other types of behavioral health professionals. Sincerely, Ed

Was this review helpful?

11 of 20 people found the following review helpful

A first-rate program

Clinical psychology - January 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A dilemma I faced after receiving my BS Degree was finding a reputable academic program to pursue a Doctorate in Psychology. I had a previous up-close experience with asynchronous learning and felt it left something to be desired. Primarily, it was a lack of emphasis on student issues. The school staff had become complacent in the asynchronous model, and priorities had shifted away from student needs. I began looking elsewhere and researched Capella University as well as a handful of other programs, which offered similar models compatible with working adults attempting to meld education into their life priorities. In my research, I found Capella University not only offered several degrees in the area of mental health services, but also few schools provided Capella’s level of flexibility and rigorous academic standards I believe necessary to obtain a creditable degree. Additionally, the program Capella offered met the high standards mandated by my state’s licensing board. I enrolled in a Masters Program in Psychology in 2003. I was able to complete my degree in three years while working two jobs. Toward the completion of my Masters Degree I contacted my advisor, he was extremely helpful and not only facilitated my application process for the Doctoral Program in Psychology but also helped me to think through what credits from my masters program were acceptable for enrollment in a doctoral program at Capella. My advisor was also clear that although he was not in a position to make these types of decisions, I was in a good position since I was completing my Masters Degree at the same institution. Capella University accepted me into their Doctoral Program in April 2006. I had to make changes in my life because of the rigors of the program but in many ways Capella’s format made it possible. This journey began in June 2003 at Capella University since beginning the masters program. I am now working on my doctoral dissertation. In this time since 2003 I have only taken one quarter off school, I have worked two jobs most of this time, and Capella University’s format, focus on high curriculum standards, and attentiveness to student needs, have given me the opportunity to balance my life priorities and stay focused on my professional goals. I could not be happier with the decision to enroll at Capella. It is a fully accredited university with exceptional academic rigor and first-rate attentive staff dedicated to student needs.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Also Scammed

Clinical psychology - December 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I feel like I was scammed also. I completed one quarter in the PhD General PSych program, and found the course to be much of the same work as I completed as an undergrad, I was only able to speak to an advisor once, as they kept changing my advisor around. Once I did get an advisor, he suggested that I add another class, and could drop without penalty within 5 days. I signed up, couldn't get the books in time and was given a near-impossible alternate assignment to complete in a couple of days. When I dropped the class in 4 days, they charged me over $500.00!!!! This is a corporation whose primary responsibility is to their shareholders. this, I believe, has resulted in a cheap, canned education that is profitable, and they know how to maximize their profits from both you and the federal student aid loans that they are so very willing to assist you with. If you just want an expensive degree without any real learning, stay at Capella. I have moved to Walden, where I will be designing my own course of learning, which will focus on the areas that I want to work in. I am hoping this will result in a real and applicable education.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experience

Clinical psychology - December 24, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2003 from Capella University's Clinical Psychology program. I am now licensed in one state as a psychologist and currently trying for licensure in another state. My overall experience was excellent. I can honestly say that I worked harder in this program than in my two traditional programs, mostly due to the extensive writing requirements. The faculty I worked with both online and in residencies were excellent and gave tremendous support. I do know of other students that had professors who were less than stellar, but I personally never had one. I currently work in a private practice with psychologists, LPCs, and LCSWs. My doctorate degree has qualified me on numerous times to see patients with insurance that only pays for "PhD level" clinicians, for higher reimbursement from insurance companies, and to do work such as psychological and educational evaluations that LPCs and LCSWs cannot do. I also teach adjunctly in a local master's degree counseling program, a position that I could not have gained without a doctorate degree. (As an aside, I recently discovered another Capella PhD alum is teaching at a different local college's counseling program). I have found that my degree has been approached by others mostly in a positive fashion. Many colleagues, both clinical and academic, are curious and a few of my patients ask questions, but it seems that more and more online/distributed learning for professional programs are becoming accepted. Several recent academic colleagues have asked if the program I teach in should start offering courses online.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

I-O program was not satisfactory

Clinical psychology - August 22, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended there for several years and was not happy with the experience. The school is disorganized and while there are good instructors many of them are not available in the classroom. They do not compare well to many other schools in terms of curriculum and have failed to obtain APA status for good reason. They are all about the money and problems are met with abject frustration rather than productive solution. Their technology is good but their status is poor. They accept everyone who can pay and of those only about half graduate. One has to ask why their attrition rats is so high and why they don't offer national facilities for the cost of the programs they offer. This reduces their credibility as well as their ability to serve students well.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

As good as it should be, but ...

Clinical psychology - December 10, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finshed a teaching certificate online and which opened my eyes to the entire world of online learning, rekindling my desire to pursue a PhD. The education at Capella was as good as I would have expected at any conventional program. I had mostly good instructors -- diligent, involved, knowledgable, caring. And there were a few duds, but that is no different than one could expect at ANY institution of higher learning. My bigger concern isn't the quality of the program but its ability to interface with the profession at large. I hear this is diminishing, but I have encountered a pretty strong prejudice against online degrees -- especially in clinical psych. Even though I received high marks for competence and knowledge during my fieldwork, I am hitting a wall post-graduation. But to be fair, I have also discovered that professional psychology is not a great career potential field, with a lot of infighting and image problems. That is only compounded when you try to join the fight with an online degree. Bottom line: great program, poor profession.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.