Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

PhD Psychology Doctoral program (to the cleaners)

Psychology - June 8, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed a MS which went rather good having some unstable support. The sale of books is outrageously high in price as compared to a normal college. Once you get into the doctoral program a learners scope becomes a moving target having constant change. I think this is done purbusly to run the clock out. There is no standardization on mentors. If you're unlucky and get acritical mentor your ship will sink. If you think you can read between the lines and not heed these comments, then take your loads and waste your money on a partially accredited college. DO DO IT You will only endup with an "ABD"

Was this review helpful?

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Making the best out of a bad situation.

Psychology - March 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I needed to get into a graduate school for psychology but the university in my city only accepts 5% of their applicants, and my undergraduate degree was not in psychology. I also have a family, and couldn't move out of state to pursue grad school. I finished my Master's at Capella and am about to start the PhD Comps & Dissertation phase. Honestly, the only good thing I can say about Capella is that you can use the school to make the best out of a bad situation. I have no clue why everything is so expensive. The only thing they offer are assignments on Blackboard. Most of the instructors are probably nice, not that you will ever get to know any of them. Other than grade your papers, I have no idea what else any of them do. Don't expect a lot of personal growth at Capella. Go to the school only if you are desperate and you have no other options. I have a gut feeling that even if they are accredited, people will criticize my degree for being from such a flimsy institution.

Was this review helpful?

41 of 50 people found the following review helpful

PhD PSY I/O Program is Simply Poorly Organized

Psychology - July 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received masters at Capella. Great Experience. PhD Psy I/O program seems an unorganized mess. Advisors are ill informed and make costly errors for the student. The institutions reputation is also taking a severe beating as mistakes and missteps seem constant. The various department of independent education does not favor Capella U and the many complaints and bad reviews along with constant lawsuits could be the reason why. I would not suggest this organization for military veterans, working mothers or anyone with a normal life. Capella is being beaten down and unfortunately, they can't open their eyes and realize that their bad reputation for students services in the PhD program is the reason why.

Was this review helpful?

38 of 45 people found the following review helpful

Capella Gave me a fair shot

Psychology - July 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Capella a few years ago as a Ph.D student in the I/O Psychology program. I have graduate degrees from the University of Southern California and the University of Northern Colorado. The difficulty and quantity of work at Capella by far exceeded anything I have experienced. It was tough and time consuming. I could not work full time, raise kids, and get the grades I needed, so I set it aside. I like the fact almost anyone can get a shot at an advanced education and the process will weed them out. Thats a big plus for Capella I think. Most folks can get a shot and yes Capella collects some fees either way. Good business! Now that things have calmed down in my life, I am ready to try again and have no problem with returning to Capella. They treated me fairly and I learned alot. Yes, I feel it was and is vastly more expensive then it should be. Seems online should have less overhead and be much cheaper. Cost may well preclude me from reaching my goal. But thats my only concern.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Falsely accusing and dropping students for Plagiarism.

Psychology - May 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have went to Capella for a year and a half. I noticed in the beginning the called to see how I was doing all the time. But once I was in my second semester they did not even check up on me at all only to re enroll in there school for my next class. I have done my work the same way the whole way through. In this class I started I got a professor who accused me of plagiarism and docs me for a who bunch of points when I did not plagiarize in my discussions like she stated I did. Even the college is saying I copied another student and is dropping me from the class. I know for a fact I did not copy this student and I have never been accused of this before. If I truly did this then I would not be typing this on here. I have went and finished my degree in Human Services at a previous college before I went to Capella and not once have I had this happen and I did my work the same way the whole time. If you want to do online school do not chose Capella they may ruin your online experience for you and make you fear your choice in online college.

Was this review helpful?

40 of 61 people found the following review helpful

Capella not recognized for licensure

Psychology - February 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hold a PhD in Psychology from Capella University (2006). It is nice to be called Doc, but the reality is that you cannot get licensure as a Psychologist anywhere in the US or its territories from this degree. If you have the appropriate practicums you can get a counseling license. Be sure you have 3 practicums, however, or you will be doing the entire Masters program over again even to get 1 necesary practicum. No other school will accept Capella credits toward a degree, and even Capella will only take a couple toward a new degree. Go to a real school. When you are competing in the field with others who did not cut corners, you will be at a loss if you went to Capella, not to mention the exorbatent expense. Don't forget that you will be paying off Capella student loans FOREVER (really like 30 years). They are federal loans and you can't get out of them even through bankruptcy.

Was this review helpful?

47 of 55 people found the following review helpful

Like anything else, YOU have to do your homework!!

Psychology - November 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella is what it is. Its a for-profit university. Not quite the same as the tech school that are springing up like wells across the country but not far off. I checked them up one side and down the other as my goal is to pursue a PhD or PsyD down the line. I will not pursue it with Capella unless the boards change their rules. I am honestly disturbed that students pursuing a PhD did not check into the school any further than they did. Its not Capella's fault. They have their limitations, being primarily an on-line university; however, for many students, these limitations DO NOT IMPACT the quality of education they receive. If you are pursuing an undergraduate degree, rock on at Capella. If you are pursuing an advanced degree, this is where you need to do your homework. Anyone in a program that has a governing board or requires certification/licensure after completion of the program, I would recommend looking elsewhere. I have yet to find an on-line college that the boards will accept, except one and only in California, your on-line education. I like Capella and so does my employer. They are paying $15,000 towards the cost of my education. Thanks Capella.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

PhD - General Psychology

Psychology - July 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Firstly, I cannot for the life of me get the faintest idea where some of these negative reviews are coming from . Before I get into my review I feel you should know some background information on my education. I graduated with a B.S. degree in Accounting from a big ten school in the early 2000s (Penn State to be exact) and earned my master's from a locally accredited university. I wanted to go back to school for a PhD in Psychology, yet I could not devote a fixed time every week for classes due to my work schedule and the fact that I have a life. I did MUCH research on where to find an accredited Psychology PhD and my research lead me to Capella. So this was me "I can get my PhD online... is that credible?" Look at Capella's accreditation, that are accredited top to bottom (minus APA) and have the same accreditation, if not more, than brick and mortar schools. My enrollment advisor never once pressured me into signing the dotted line and was VERY patient and helpful throughout my entire enrollment process. Let's face it, if I am going to spend nearly 55k on a degree I want to know how well it will hold up and if the school will be there for me when I need them to be, Capella has never let me down yet. Capella is a for-profit university, this means they are in the education business to make money. Their employees work even harder to make sure the student (the customer) is happy because the university does not get nor rely on state funding to operate. And for those who complain of lack of feedback from your professors, how old are you people? Undergraduate students should have their hand held, graduate students should not! The majority of my teachers have always given me consistent feedback and there have been a few oddball professors who have not. All of my teachers have extremely credible backgrounds and are not some shmucks Capella hired. If people are complaining about hand holding at this level, then you should nut be pursuing an advanced degree. Also, on a side note, Capella mandates that their professors post grades every three weeks so the students can change their studying habit if need be; lets face it - the grade is the bottom line. If you want a QUALITY education that is flexible to your needs, then go with Capella. I am glad I did!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Use caution with this college

Psychology - January 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled several years ago in the Cappella PhD program in School Psychology. I am a Nationally Certified School Psychologist. I wanted to earn a doctorate but needed to find a program that I could complete without quiting my current job as a school psych. After a phone conversation with the Capella school psychology department chair I was assured completing the program while remaining employed in my present position would not be a problem. Additionally, I asked if the university would accept dissertations with a small number of subjects. I was assured that Capella was adult learner friendly and this would not be a problem. I completed the required classes and comprehensive exams. I submitted a dissertation proposal and completed a conference call with my committee. I was again assured my dissertation was on track. The next step was to have a university reviewer to approve the proposal. This is when the trouble began. I was told I did not have a sufficient number of subjects for my study. Also, the dept that controls internships would not approve a placement in my current position. I contacted the dept chair and my dissertation chair. Both just referred me back to the university reviewer and internship dept. I was very disappointed that my dissertation chair encouraged and approved of my proposal but when the university reviewer rejected it, he provided no help on how to resolve the situation. The PhD advisor was also of no help. Thus in short, I feel I was misled by several staff members. I recommend anyone considering enrolling in a Cappella program to use caution. The promises made to get you to enroll may not be remembered when you are at the end of the program.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful

PgD Educational Psychology

Psychology - January 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my BA and MA from a traditional well-ranked university and am currently in my fifth year with Capella University. In truth, I am pounding away at the third chapter of my dissertation. I have read the various remarks posted to this site, and find I am confused by some and in agreement with others. Online learning is not for the “faint at heart” and doctoral learning in an online venue requires a set of personal characteristics beyond cognitive ability: Conscientiousness, self-regulation, tenacity, a strong sense of self (e.g. weaknesses and strengths), a proactive (rather than reactive) disposition, and self-sacrifice. Of course, all of these characteristics are necessary to success in any doctoral programs. However, in my experience, online study is comparatively more demanding. Be prepared to hone your writing abilities constantly, and engage in deep critical evaluation of your existing knowledge, skills, and abilities in your selected discipline and beyond. When weighing my educational options, I was most concerned about rigor, and I was not disappointed curricula at Capella. In fact, I found it challenging and intellectually stimulating. In some respects, the secondary research and writing demands were exceptionally challenging. The real question is, would I make the same decision knowing what I know now? Yes. My grades, references, and GRE scores were excellent, and I had an opportunity to pursue my degree at three traditional colleges that offered similar degree programs. However, my campus tours uncovered a simple fact: A lack of fit between myself (demographically and otherwise), other doctoral students, and the entire tenor of “traditional college life.” I was, after all, 44 years old, had a wealth of practical experience, and planned to pursue a doctorate to improve my marketability within my field rather than become some newly minted faculty member. Further, such a commitment required I move, leave my husband of 20 years, and move in with a family member in the area. No thanks. It is worthwhile to note that one of the “selling points” of two of the three universities was the ability to complete “some” of the core prerequisite courses online.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

PhD Capella

Psychology - July 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For those of you who are going to Capella for the doctorate programs or are in the planning stage - beware! Capella is a rip-off! I completed my phd program while I lived in Florida and then relocated here in Kansas. When I attempted to apply for licensure here in Kansas, imagine my surprise when I was informed that Kansas does not recognize Capella University due to their residency requirement (no face to face with your professor)! I then contacted Florida's Board and they informed me of the same thing! As a matter of fact they went so far as to tell me that no state recognizes their program except Minnesota! I then contacted Capella and spoke with my advisor (whom I had for four years) and she told me "yes that's true." Why didn't you tell me this prior to my loss of $107,000? Of course if you want to do nothing but write books, then Capella is the place for you. But if your like me and want to counsel, then you're SOL!!! I can't believe this! Now in order for me to counsel here in Kansas where I plan to live for quite a while, I need to obtain another masters degree, but one in social work at which time I can obtain a license and practice! One last thing, when I spoke with the Kansas Board, they were shocked that no-one had told me of this problem, and suggested that I find a really good lawyer. Ya Think???!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.