Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

Excellent School with Full Accreditation!!

PHD education - May 9, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella University is an amazing school! It may be difficult for people who need constant interactions with professors, but for people who are self-motivated and able to teach themselves the course material, this is an excellent option that is fully accredited. Some of the professors create interactive videos and also live discussions that also help students feel more connected to the classroom and it also allows a chance to ask questions and receive feedback face to face. There are also residency training seminars that meet each year where you get to spend almost a week with your classmates and professors. Overall, Capella is a great school that offers opportunities for people who want to advance their education on their own schedule, while still keeping their current life and job. If someone doesn't like Capella, they may just need more hand holding from a local brick and mortar school, or they may just not be good at figuring out the coursework on their own. It certainly takes a lot of self-discipline and motivation to stay ahead with a school like Capella... but in the end it is definitely worth it because you will end up with a solid degree that is fully accredited. Their tuition is a bit on the expensive side, but again, this is definitely not one of the crappy online schools. It is a very challenging and legitimate school with very qualified professors. That is why CACREP gave them full accreditation for their counseling programs. This is the equivalent of the APA for psychologists or AMA for physicians.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 12 people found the following review helpful

My PhD Journey

PHD education - April 19, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began my journey in graduate school with a traditional brick and mortar environment. The challenges of work and school's conflicting schedules left no choice but to move to a distance education environment. After the initial learning curve, I can honestly say that Capella has not only changed my career but also my life. I have been able to use the knowledge that I have learned at Capella in my current position and have also used it to seek even greater opportunities. I am a proud Capella learner and I take that very seriously.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Worth Every Penny

PHD education - January 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My PhD experience at Capella was worth every penny invested. Due to the open admissions enrollment process, the first couple of classes were not great for student interaction. Many people could not write well enough to succeed. But the faculty never accepted excuses or low-quality work. If you could not do the work, you were out. My professors were national and international leaders in the field of instructional design. Even now, years later, most of them keep in touch with me via FB or LinkedIn, and they seem truly happy to see me successful in a career. When I was writing my dissertation, every member of my committee spent a lot of time trying to help me along and finish as quickly as possible. Any obstacles to a quick finish were my own creation. The degree completion let me quickly to a job with a significant raise over my past teaching experiences. There are always those who try to put down the value of an online degree, but as our numbers continually grow, I have never felt it hurt my chances at success. I was truly a working professional with two jobs and a large family when I decided to pursue a PhD. Capella welcomed me when brick and mortar institutions would have made me choose between work and school. Yes, the tuition was higher at Capella, but i was not forced to teach 100 level classes to slave my way through the process. I focused on study and kept my job. To me, the flexibility was a key to success.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 46 people found the following review helpful

Convert no more!

PHD education - January 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't even know how to rate the university. I used to think people were just crazy not to think that Capella offered a great education. Wow, was I bamboozled or what? I completed my courses with a 4.0 GPA and passed my comprehensive exams on the first round (not the first quarter, literally, I wrote them and passed with superior comments). I changed jobs and had some significant delays in my dissertation progress, which I readily admitted to Capella. I am only human!!!! Now that I am $200K in debt with student loans and can only turn to self funding, I am persona-non-grata. I was denied re-enrollment after taking time off. I asked the reasons for my denial and I am waiting for a response. I personally think, now, that Capella was fine with me when I could receive Federal Financial Aid, but I have run out, and they want nothing to do with me. I would think that somebody who has a 4.0 and a successful academic career to date would be worth investing in (even if it is simply letting me pay them full tuition to finish what I started for goodness sake!) for their graduate record. I guess not. Please go to a brick and mortar school until the Capella's of the world have matured enough. We, apparently, aren't there yet and I have the 2nd mortgage to prove it.

Was this review helpful?

30 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional Program

PHD education - July 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I happened upon these reviews looking to see if Capella still allowed 48 hours to be transferred in. I was amazed at some of the negative comments. My experience was nothing but positive. The expense is in line with other like universities - except, unless something has changed - the cost of a quarter is the same regardless of the number of courses you take. I always took three courses (even with a full time 60 hour per week job that required extensive travel). I read and studied in the cracks and airports and on lots of planes. I took the accelerated comps and had professors who worked with me all along the way so that my proposal was ready to go once I completed comps (I spent lots of time at the residencies finding out what I needed to do and how to go about it - amazing how the professors made themselves available). I have now taught at two other universities for almost 8 years. They are online, well-known universities, but they do not hold a candle to Capella. I wish I could work there, but they generally do not hire back their grads. Am loving my PhD and so proud that Capella is my alma mater!

Was this review helpful?

18 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Buyer beware!

PHD education - September 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Beware beware beware. The most expensive school and so so many end up not being able to finish because during the studies tuition goes up every single year. But here is the absolute most disturbing part to me. They are the friendliest most helpful when they are SIGNING YOU UP! But if anything changes - health, money, anything, and you're not paying their salaries anymore you'll get the kiss of death. They will NEVER return a call, NEVER email you back (I have never got one back in years of trying to find out how I can finish my Phd - I was felled by illness in '08). You're nothing to them and when someone is in a Phd program and doing great (3.8) they should be working with you, not seeing you as a number, but they seriously, and I cannot state this any other way or clearly enough, KISS YOU OFF. They turn their attention to those with the bigger $ SO GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. Capella somehow got regional accreditation, but I don't know how. The "support" assessment alone must have been fabricated because there is none - except when you're hamding over your money

Was this review helpful?

35 of 48 people found the following review helpful

Student Beware!

PHD education - March 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have only three courses to go towards my Ph.D. and of course the residencies. I had to stop because of health reasons and costs. I was only working part-time and the costs were simply adding up. During my time at Capella the only outcome I really have is a huge debt! I found the instructors at Capella to be some of the worst I have come in contact with. Their lack of feedback and lack of presence in the classroom was outrageous. As I read other posts - the term - correspondence school came up - I agree but Capella has to be amongst the most expensive correspondence schools around! I am a full time faculty member for a small school in MA and work for another online university - I could never get away with what the instructors get away with at Capella. I now am at a cross-road with a choice to make - do I continue or not? Part of me says - but you are so close - the other says - how much more will it cost? At my age the cost will never be recouped. I have a friend who is finishing their dissertation now - almost 3 years of back and forth, lack of expertise from advisors, bad advising, it does seem like all they want is money. They either drag out the process so they get more of your money, or you get frustrated and drop. Either way - Capella doesn't care! They made a mistake early on in my program of about $2000.00 which I am still paying off. Until I pay that off - I can't even look at my grades. I know it does seem like a lot of money but after being out of work for over 3 years - it takes a lot of time to get back on your feet. Capella was unwilling to even help me in this regard. I guess I am rambling at this point - but I could go on forever about how displeased I am with Capella in general. I would strongly suggest picking another school!

Was this review helpful?

41 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Capella's Ph.D. for Professional Studies Program is Excellent!

PHD education - October 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my IRB Review for my Ph.D. study in Professional Studies, Education. The university has provided me with an excellent mentor who is guiding me through my research. I have to say that with the rigor that Capella enforces on its Ph.D. students, it is worth the while to use ALL of its resources to the fullest extent to complete your degree. I started in 2009 and plan to become a Ph.D. in Spring 2013. I fully believed I have earned the degree and am fully prepared to give back to the educational field with my Capella educational experience.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Capella University is wonderful!

PHD education - September 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended various types of colleges in my life including a US News and Consumer Report TOP REGIONAL UNIVERSITY, and Capella was as tough as this college. I found Capella University was exceptional in every way (teachers, instruction, online classrooms, technology, etc.). I attended for 4 years and 9 months, and I obtained my PhD in Education, and at the time I started in 2003 Capella was one of the only universities in America offering what I wanted online. At the time I didn't know much about Capella, but they were innovative and offered adult learners what they needed at the right time. Go Capella, my alma mater!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Comprehensive Exam leads to Administrative Withdrawl from the program

PHD education - June 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella School of Education - faculty lack intelligence, expertise, and civility. This experience has been degrading and humiliating as a nursing professional and educator. If you are intelligent, articulate, and have the ability to provide insight - don't enroll in the PhD in Education with a specialization in Nursing Education Program. Once the three ignorant, arrogant, and unprofessional faculty members decide "you" will be the target of their retaliation - you will not pass your comprehensive examination. I was not aware of the business practices at Capella University, and I take full responsibility for not researching their academic standing and reputation in higher education. You will read numerous comments about Capella and their unprofessional business practices - I suggest you think very cautiously before enrolling in any of their programs. You might just end up like me, no longer in the PhD program!!!!! Oh by the way did I mention my gpa is over 3.5? You do the math!!!!

Was this review helpful?

35 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Progam not conducive to busy professionals

PHD education - April 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The school is VERY expensive- $4,500 a quarter. Teachers are very inflexible and the coursework is not conducive to a working professional's schedule.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Capella University is phenomenal

PHD education - January 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As someone who has been on a doctoral committee at the Union Institute and University prior to my PhD at Capella University, I know that the quality of the phenomenal mentors, committee members, and professors at Capella is top notch. I have taught in the Biology Dept. at Syracuse University and I know that the PhD I received from Capella has been unbelievably worthwhile. You are treated like an adult and you are not micromanaged at all (unlike what I hear from other PhD candidates at other institutions). There are so many advantages with online education and specifically Capella, that I only have positive reviews for the education I received with Capella University.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Very disappointing

PHD education - January 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in the directed studies programs at the doctoral level and the work was easy mainly because I was able to work at my own pace, develop my own course completion goals and objectives, and presenting thesis pertaining to my passions health policy and health services research. However, I felt sabotaged two years into the program. I suffered through mentor changes each year thereafter, frequent policy changes, and longer response times from faculty, and faculty whose integrity I still question to this day. Mentor changes during the dissertation period is a death sentence for completing in a timely manner. Compared to my Masters program at Central Michigan University, Capella fails miserably. As a writer mentioned in this post, I wish I also had known just how bad they were and are.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience Thus Far...

PHD education - December 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my third semester with Capella and I must say that I am very pleased with the rigor and relevance of the assignments and classes. As a doctoral student I recognize that my assignments should be challenging and I should be able to work independently and that is exactly the opportunity I am given at Capella. Feedback is immediate and I am able to converse and learn from other professionals in my field. The quarters are pricey but you have the opportunity to take as many classes as you choose for the same rate so it is advantageous to load up with classes if possible. I look forward to completing my studies within the next 2 years and hope my experience continues to be positive.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Education

PHD education - August 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had an excellent experience at Capella University. The PhD program requires the learner to have a strong level of discipline and already enter the university with the appropriate skill set to analyze, synthesis, and write well. I have found that those who are easily frustrated with the program often do not have the skill set or the appropriate tools to be successful. This is a great program for learners who enjoy learning without constant face-to-face interaction or support. I highly recommend this program to others. I have found that other PhD holders are very respectful of my PhD degree and admire the discipline involved in obtaining such a high level degree online.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Questionable

PHD education - June 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As someone who once hailed Capella for its Masters program and personal conveniences, I absolutely kick myself for returning to the PhD program. Throughout this process I have received NO formative feedback and have been constrained by inflexible rules and people. I hope other learn from my mistakes.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

IDOL - No Regrets from Me!!

PHD education - December 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my PhD in the IDOL - Instructional Design For Online Learners - program at Capella. Online worked for me because I have a full-time position and and live hours aways from a degree granting institution. Online is not for everyone. Go into it with your eyes open. If you want to be a PhD candidate, you should be an independent learner with some level of maturity and the knowledge of how to find help locally if you need it. Capella charges a flat fee per quarter if you take one, two or three courses. During my first and last quarters, I took two courses. All other quarters I took three courses - that was a full-time load. Two of my colleagues are enrolled in PhD programs at on site Universities. We have compared assignments, textbooks, and professors course by course. Capella's professors, textbooks, and courses compare favorably to the brick and mortor universities. The courses were enjoyable, informative and useful. The comprehensive and the dissertation are the areas which seem to separate out students. Your comprehensive is based on four area which are explained to you. The actual questions are related to your proposed dissertation topic. According to my own research over 80% of Capella students pass the comprehensives. The next phase is completely self directed dissertation. Your mentor is assigned to you based on your interests. But it is up to you to finish each milestone within a certain time limit. Extensions are available for emergencies. Beginning with a pre-proposal, the learner works with a mentor and a committee to develop a study. Just like every other PhD, you must go before the IRB, produce a scholarly report and defend your research. It is a planned, focused program. It took me 3 years to complete this program. A number of students finished before me and a number of studens are languishing behind. The journey to a PhD is not usually a smooth road, but rather it is filled with job and family responsibilities, disappointments and frustrations. Its important that you reach deep into yourself to get the inner strength to finish the program. My 2 colleagues are still working on their proposals with at least a year to go once the proposal is approved. This is not an "easy" degree, but it will open doors to you in the future. Most people who don't get the degree fail because "life" gets in the way. Remember, if you don't have at least 20 hours PER WEEK to commit to this program (or any other PhD program), you are not going to be successful. I'm happy I chose an online college. Capella was a good choice for the major I wanted. Choose with your eyes open, allow enough time to study, make sure you are in a supportive environment, and before long your friends will be calling you, "Dr." also.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great Job

PHD education - February 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have finished all my courses except one and will be starting my comps. I have really enjoyed attending Capella and have had no problems at Capella. What I have really enjoyed is the Residencies that Capella have for the students. The reseidencies are very informative and give great insight for what is ahead for a student working toward their degree.

Was this review helpful?

Improvements are Big Steps Backwards

PHD education - November 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I somehow managed to survive this program, but it was not what it was advertised to be. Completing the coursework was the easy part. The comps process is, as a fellow-student aptly described it, a crap-shoot due to its subjectivity. The dissertation process turned into a tightly-scripted series of steps that holds the student to a set amount of time for each, but the school and faculty can take a long time to respond, causing delays. I would not recommend this college to anyone. And echoing another review here, I had also heard that the IDOL program was the worst of the education department.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

PHD education - November 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm a bit confused by the individuals who state that Capella instructors can not find jobs anywhere else. I am currently working on my dissertation, and I just put together my committee. I spent a good deal of time exploring Capella instructors and reading their resumes. Many have full-time jobs as professors at other institutions and work part-time for Capella. Many are also full-time Capella professors. Several are deans or associate deans at universities. Such feedback is simply ridiculous. Have you explored the competition for positions in higher education? There are more than enough Ph.D.s with "brick and mortar" doctorates who are THRILLED to have the opportunity to work at Capella. There are IVY league Ph.D.s who struggle to find work.

Was this review helpful?

Capella....what?

PHD education - October 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a Capella Learner and want to be objective about the program, but I am having difficulty as I have now been placed in a position that I am wondering if this is the institution for me. I am in the military so this proved to be a perfect fit or so I thought. My misery starts with the fact that the technology will make you pull your hair out. Be prepared to have to try to post continously more than once or just have the program lock up before you can get your post in. This problem has been the nemesis for my experience at Capella. I have submitted and resubmitted and resubmitted postings only to actually get a facilitator on the phone and have them tell me they still did not get it or it was not visible. The next is the APA format. I have had different classes that seem to change how they want you to reference the information. I have even been told after mimicking the APA reference book that the citation was wrong. Lastly, as I sit here I am feeling truly upset because I received a dual master's in HRDV and HRMG and they transferred ONLY 5 credits, the equivalent of one class. They said in the I/O spec the words have to specifically be in the title of the class, it doesn't depend on the content of the class and whether the descriptive tells that the classes encompass components of what Capella describes as placing emphasis on. I have almost had my fill of Capella and think although I initially was going to another institution (online), I am going to have to go back to the drawing board. By the way, the other institution I considered does have a B&M component, but they are just more expensive. If I had to forego many of these issues I face with Capella, then the money will be spent better and more so worth it.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

IDOL

PHD education - March 21, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The biggest mistake I made was doing this online degree. I have never been so upset about the lack of professionalism with the place. I don't want to get into it now, but not only do they lie (especially in IDOL), they expect you to be dishonest too. They are there for the handout of $$, you are worthless to them otherwise. Good luck trying to get a person on the phone who knows something. You only get through to a call center, and when on hold you are reminded to be sure you renew your FAFSA. Absolutely WORTHLESS. RUN LIKE THE WIND!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Garbage In Garbage Out

PHD education - March 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After going through all of the reviews, all I can say is that you get out of something, that which you put into it. Garbage in, garbage out, as they used to say. I spent 3.5 years obtaining my PhD and used a Purdue PhD alumnus as one of my dissertation committee members, just to add an element of insurance to the credibility of my program, and I can honestly say that i think I got a quality education. A bit pricey, but quality nonetheless. The only problem I had with Capella was right at the end (December 2007), when they changed over their LMS and IGuide changed format. I understand that the staff is still learning their new system, but it has become quite a challenge to say the least. To those other naysayers who have imparted their little pearls of wisdom, via this conduit, I can only say this: either you went into the experience with your eyes shut, or the product you produced (all of you ABD'ers) just wasn't good enough. You cannot just fly through the coursework of any institution of higher learning and think you can throw some words on a piece of paper and pass your Comps. Its just not going to happen. And as far as the quality of instructors at Capella, most of them have obtained their PhD's from other institutions, like Notre Dame, USC, UCLA, Minnesota, Nebraska, Pitt, and the list goes on and on. Is that to say that those schools suck, too? Are these faculty really the dregs of those other schools? I think not. Capella is a good school that needs to get there act together from a support standpoint, only. It was great from 2004-2007, and has only recently gone sour. I am confident that they will get it together quickly, though, as it seems that a lot of students are already enrolled and having a good experience.

Was this review helpful?

Capella University Scams

PHD education - September 23, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella University is running a scam on PhD learners. After successfully completing all the required coursework and three residencies, the university will subjectively fail you in comps for no apparent reason. Be aware of this educational institution. Their reputation and credibility is severly damaged.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.