Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

Terrible school

Fire Science - May 30, 2019
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So this online school is not accredited for transfer of many of the degrees and credits as I learned. Also this school does nothing but scam people especially if you have to take some time off for personal reasons. I start up again in the fire administration degree and learn that once being within 24 credit of graduation now I need 30. I called them and everyone I have talked to basically said oh well that's how it is. No help at all and this is the second time they have added classes needed to graduate. Do not enroll here terrible experience all they care about is money and I have waste so much time and money to this terrible place.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience!

Fire Science - February 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended CSU (and still plan on getting a Master's degree from CSU) to prepare myself to one day become the chief of a fire department. I chose CSU due to the affordability and because I could work at my own pace. I recently completed my degree in Fire Science and made very good grades. I feel that I drastically improved my writing ability and reading comprehension; and would recommend CSU to anyone! Some of my concerns: I hate the regional vs. national accreditation and feel this detracts from adult students desiring a quality education. I did not get much out of the CSU Online Library and had a difficult time navigating through the various pages. This seems like something that needs drastic improvement! All in all though, my journey with CSU followed the tradition mindset of "you get what you put into it," and I am proud of my degree! Jason

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Very Satisfied Graduate

Fire Science - January 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BS Fire Science in September 2012 and have nothing but good to relate regarding the CSU experience. Entering with an AA from a local community college as well as other classes allowed me to complete by degree with 16 additional courses. Florida has changed their policy and now does not accept non-regional accredited programs but in my case, that really does not concern me. My reason for completing my degree was personal satisfaction along with wanting to add this to my resume for work after retirement. For me, it is perfect. I do not believe you will find an educational experience anywhere with more helpful staff than CSU. They truly care about your progress and making sure you are successful. For my money and time, CSU was the best fit for me.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Understand the school and what it is for!

Fire Science - March 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in November 2011 with a BS in Fire Science from CSU. The degree, without a doubt, aided me in getting the job at the fire department I wanted to work for. I get so tired of reading all the dreadful reviews from unsatisfied students on here who don't understand what this school is intended for. Columbia Southern University is not for recent high school graduates wanting the college experience, Ivy League graduates wanting a Masters degree to help get into Law School, or those seeking PhD's from the "Regional Accredited" world. This school is intended for people like me, a WORKING Firefighter who can't attend a traditional campus and earn a degree in my respective field. It is meant for adults with families trying to better themselves. Do you think that my Company Fire Officer cares at 2 a.m. during a fully involved structure fire whether or not I completed 6 credits of English from a Regional school, or took enough Western Civilization from a Harvard grad professor?? NO!! He cares whether or not I know fire patterns , pump pressures, strategic hose lays, and proper fireground communications...which is EXACTLY what I learned in my Fire Science classes here at CSU. I live 7 miles from the University of Alabama. Unfortunately, UA does not offer a degree in Fire Science. The program in Fire Science at CSU is widely accepted in the Fire Service. My state fire academy has even partnered with CSU, allowing for transfer credits from previously earned credits. I took a class at the Fire College to get my pumper certification, later I took a class at CSU similar to the outline of my certification class....SAME BOOK. In saying that, the quality of education at CSU and the resources used (books, outlines, etc.) are superior to my needs. Not once was I asked about the accreditation of my degree. If I wanted to be a lawyer, I would have gone to Alabama...but I am a firefighter, so I went to CSU. I'm not chasing prestige....I'm chasing knowledge!

Was this review helpful?

70 of 71 people found the following review helpful

A school that fit my needs

Fire Science - March 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU filled my need for education and also fit my schedule. My profession requires that we work non-standard hours, that is where CSU fit our needs exactly. I have never been associated with an organization that offers the level of help and support that the employees of CSU gives their students. I graduated in 2008 with fond memories of my association with this fine organization. I would highly recommend this institution to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

CSU: very good value with a couple of limitations

Fire Science - November 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I’ve been enrolled at CSU for over a year now. I have taken quite a few courses, both in my major (fire science) and general education classes. After much deliberation I decided to go with CSU. I am writing this review because I wish there was someone I could have spoke with when I was making that decision. There are several positives aspects to attending CSU. First the Blackboard system has been upgraded and is very easy to use. It is easy to find coursework, assignments, and information concerning the class. For the most part, you can work as quickly as you like through the courses. I attended a community college while I was taking a course at CSU. Semester long traditional classes seem to move too slow now for me now. There has not been a class that I couldn't finish in 8 weeks, that includes the final or research paper. The book grant is a great value. The course textbook arrives at least 3-4 days before your course starts. The book is yours to keep and if you need some cash you can sell it on the internet. All editions of the books so far have been the latest and brand new. Lastly the tuition is probably one of the most inexpensive I've seen. There might be cheaper schools out there but CSU is an exceptional value. CSU has a learning partnership that gives you 10% off tuition rates. It's a little leg work to get it done but if you work for a company it may qualify to become a learning partner. That can save you a little money. There is always an abundant amount of people to answer any question that you may have. Everyone I have spoken with has been helpful and informative. One note: most people who work at the CSU offices are from the south, some folks can have a pretty thick accent. For a guy from California like me, that is difficult to understand sometimes. Everything is not perfect, so there are a few things that could stand improvement. I've had great instructors and I've had some duds. Most contact is going to be student initiated. Questions have always been answered within a day but expect a delay over the weekend for some instructors. There is not much interaction between fellow students. This might be due to my major but be prepared to move through this on your own. I have friends who are students at University of Phoenix online and they have considerably more contact with their instructors and students. The accreditation issue always seems to come up with anyone who is attending school online. My advice is to do your research and find out if you need your school to be regionally accredited or not. CSU is nationally accredited and you should understand what limitation that puts on your ability to transfer units to other schools or having your degree recognized. It works with my employer and the school I eventually want to get my master's degree from. Overall I am considerably pleased with my experience at CSU. I would recommend it for anyone who needs flexibility in their schedule and is tight on the educational dollars.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

NOT a real college - just a building

Fire Science - April 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Not a real college. You should be aware that Columbia Southern is a building and not an college. If you do not believe me, ask for pictures of the campus, or go to the Orange Beach, AL lcoation. There is NO college campus. This place is very close to be a degree mill and everyone should be aware of this matter. It is also not accredited for transfer to any 4 year University. They do a great job on marketing and provide department discounts. If you want a real college education, select another real college.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Csu Amazing!

Fire Science - February 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided to choose online college so i could continue to work full time..... this school is a great value plus they paid for my books. They profesors seem to respond right after i send a question. The profs also call your by phone and answer any questions you have or walk you through assingments. Its convient and super easy to figure out! Great for the schedule crunches i take to full credit classes each quater while working 50 hours a week and always seem to have plenty of time to get it done!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Quality Program

Fire Science - August 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is really hard to believe I have finished and as a kid at Christmas I am now waiting on graduation day. The whole process was great, the CSU employees were exceptional, and the instructors/professors improved every class. They were responsvie & helpful. As a department head the CSU employees were always helpful with our employees whatever the problem. I would recommend this facility to anyone that has problems completing their education because of their work schedule.

Was this review helpful?

Good Choice

Fire Science - August 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I tried to take an online class at the community college where I recieved my Associate's Degree from and it was more trouble then it was worth, so since then I had been uncertain about online learning at first. My work schedule, however, made it very difficult to atend traditional classes so I had to explore online education as an option it I wanted to finish a BS Degree. CSU helped me attain my goal. If I hadn't found out about them, I would still be in school working on a degree. Their program was thorough yet challenging and gave me a real sense in accomplishment without the guesswork. I would recommend this school to anyone who is up to the challenge of learning online.

Was this review helpful?

CSU Fire Science

Fire Science - August 15, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The biggest asset for this organization is the people. No matter what your problem is they are willing to help. I appreciate they assistance and help. The instructors care and will offer what ever help is needed by the students. The program fits right into our, my schedule as a firefighter.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.