Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

Fair and Honest Critque from Recent MBA Graduate

MBA - May 9, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Here is an honest and fair assessment of my time at CSU in its online, MBA program. First and foremost, let's discuss ACCREDITATON. Decide what you want out of a school before selecting CSU. Yes, it is nationally accredited, and No it is not regionally accredited, nor does it possess any specialized, prestigious business accreditations such as AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). FACULTY. There are no professors that teach classes per se. They can be more accurately described as "facilitators" or "moderators". They don't grade papers stringently, and there are not any required discussion posts to grade classroom participation. When I had a question, or needed assistance, it would be "hit-or-miss" when it came to getting a response from them - depends on the facilitator. For example, I was having technical difficulty submitting an assignment and it was the final due date. So, I emailed the instructor to ask for a one-day extension to resolve the technical issue. I was able to submit the assignment the next day, and no points were deducted; but, I never received a response from the instructor. As far as the instructor's qualifications, they do possess the appropriate degrees that you would think a professor should have - MS, MBA, PhD. But, you're not going to see many that graduated from well-known institutions - at least I didn't notice any while reading all of my professors' biographies. Important to note, I didn't see any professors who were graduates of CSU. STAFF SUPPORT. I believe that the staff was friendly and helpful, and I don't have anything negative to say. I always received great customer service when I called CSU. CAMPUS LOCATION. I actually visited the "campus" at CSU one day as I was passing through during a business trip. I took a 15-minute detour to the location and drove into the parking lot of the campus. That's essentially what it was. It's a two-building campus surrounding a parking lot. Outside the campus seemed very rural. So, basically, it's a college in the middle of nowhere. The university campus looked nothing like a traditional college campus. Most community colleges I've seen have a more convincing campus - as you could imagine, I was disappointed, but nearly finished with my degree, so there was no turning back at this point. COURSE DIFFICULTY. It's not difficult at all. I believe a senior in high school or a freshman in college could easily pass the courses. It was almost too easy, but for me, it was a relief since I transferred from a top-ranked university master's program where I was writing papers until 3:00 a.m. and having to get for work at 6:00 a.m. I couldn't maintain that schedule while simultaneously performing well in my profession and being an adequate husband and father. Plus, I was paying out of my ears in tuition and books. CSU is cheap and the course load is more than manageable. That leaves you time to have a life and be a husband/wife, father, or mother. For me, that held a lot of value. JOB PROSPECTS. What I have to say about this is theoretical since I have had a zero sum gain in job prospects or income since I received my degree. I've spent a great deal of time in the past speaking with HR managers within my organization, and from other organizations, and many echo the same statement on education. For the Department of Defense, they verify if the university who granted the degree is recognized by the Department of Education; which CSU is. For the corporate sector, I have no idea. I also spoke to some talent recruiters at a career fair and one mentioned that they are favoring certifications, in addition to a degree. For example, if you have a masters in project management, you may want to pursue a PMP certification, or obtain a green or black belt in Six Sigma. That alone may still not be the "smoking gun" that lands you a job. I've witnessed, and you may have to, folks getting hired in management positions with only a bachelor's degree, or in some cases, no degree at all. Their experience and personal network were enough to get them in the management chair. When it comes to landing the target job, your experience and network is going to be more solid than your degree diplomas. In summary, jobs that pay well are competitive, and you may need a combination of experience, education, and qualifications. And even then, you may not get hired if you don't interview well. CSU RECOMMENDATION. I would recommend the CSU MBA program to working adults looking to add to their resume at the most reasonable cost possible while still maintaining a family and professional life. If you don't have children, and your job is 9-5, I would recommend looking into a more challenging, and recognized degree program where you would have the time to invest.

Was this review helpful?

92 of 99 people found the following review helpful

The Quality of CSU is very Professional and Consistent in the Learning Process

MBA - January 17, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Columbia Southern University is about maturity as a student. When I first inquired about the program I spoke with an individual with knowledge that supported the University and had the skills to explain the process to me with great ease. Some students have to be spoon fed. Unfortunately, I look at some of the Discussion Boards set up by Professors as a basic requirement in each program and I wonder about some students work ethic. Students make careless mistakes in their work they present which reflects highly on their behavior and performance skills. If students would take the time and learn patience, CSU Administration and Student Resource section will gladly take time with you. It is how you present yourself for people who find them rude. I have never encountered a rude worker at CSU. I would be upset and have to calm down because they were being so nice. Columbia was my selection after evaluating 457 school's graduate programs online. This University is so consistent that you have to be a big dummy to not follow through. Some professors are stricter than others. Same at the brickhouse University. Nothing different. All professors expect the student's work to be complete, accurate and professional using proper format prior to submission. Some may give you some lead way, depending on the situation. I have found every professor at CSU is easy to contact than my other University where I could knock on their door. If they grade hard, it is because they want you to be successful. Learn from your mistakes and move forward. I feel CSU supports its students to the utmost. If you are a young student, you must listen and pay attention to detail. You will go far at CSU. It takes all kinds of people to make the world go around. However, students who submit tacky mispelled work in Graduate school should not move forward if they cannot follow directions. My advice to students is to study and for God's sake, PROOF READ YOUR WORK BEFORE SUBMITTING IT!!! HAVE SOMEONE ELSE PROOFREAD YOUR WORK IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND!!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Cudos to CSU

MBA - November 4, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see that there are a few students or former students that think that their degree will not get them to the utopic job that they are searching for, it's not happening. Education is when the mind expands, not when the mind memorizes. A degree is not a piece of paper that allows you to walk into a organization and throw down the degree and say "Hire me, I went to college". Name dropping schools does not get you hired any faster. At CSU if you learned anything, apply what you learned. Remember education does not override experience. If someone went to college for the sole purpose of getting a job you only fooled yourself. Education is an enabler in helping you to perhaps get your foot in the door for an interview, the degree or college does not walk in there with you. I attend CSU for both of my degrees, Bachelors and Masters. Everything that a person learns in college may not be applied in the real world, just like HS. I never end my day saying "Dang, I didn't get to use calculus or trigonometry today", or for the past 5 years. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at CSU and would, and have recommended it to other of my friends. It is one of the only colleges that accept military experience and applies it to credits. Sure you have to write papers but that is part of being in college, especially since no student has to team up with other students that determine their or the groups grade. Some people are just looking for things to complain about in life. Maybe that why some people are using the excuse of not being able to get jobs is because of attitude not education

Was this review helpful?

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful

so grateful for the education

MBA - August 22, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BBA and MBA here, and I worked REALLY hard; do not think you can skate through- it is tough! I enjoyed the experience. I was never alone: the instructors, the writing center, everybody was always available to help if I needed it. I read a lot of the negative reviews and do not agree with most of them. It may be that you got a degree and could not get a job, but do not blame the school. The school is excellent and if you are planning on attending, speak to an advisor first. they can answer any questions you have. I am grateful for the education I got. I live in Houston and could go anywhere, but the ability to get a first class education AT HOME OR ANYWHERE was the key for me.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great school for it's purpose

MBA - January 2, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a person that attended a regionally accredited, nationally known brick and mortar school for my bachelors degree, I feel qualified now after completing my MBA at CSU to voice my opinion on the comparison of online schools vs classrooms as well as national vs regional accreditation. Completing a degree online was much harder than sitting in a classroom, it took much more discipline and time management to study and complete assignments. It's very tough to read, comprehend and be tested on material without being able to ask questions of the professor or get the perspective of others in the class. With regards to the knowledge gained, I also feel I got more out of the classes online since I was forced to take my time and understand the material which lead to much greater retention of the information. As for the accreditation, rarely do employers ask about this, as a hiring manager I never have! I check to insure the school has an accreditation accepted by the Dept of Ed and that's it. If DOE accepts it, it's a degree plain and simple. Of course there are some programs and graduate schools that won't take nationally accredited degrees but I'm betting there are more that will than won't. It's imperative that you do a little research before making the commitment to any school, CSU is no different. Everyone learns differently so online classes are not for everyone. During my young and stupid years, I don't believe I could have handled online classes but most adults that are completing their degrees online are dealing with "real life" issues and have a mature perspective on education and why it's important. CSU is a great school for adults looking to finish up or advance their education. The degree is recognized by the DOE and I for one can tell you it is not easy to get. You will work hard and get out of it what you put into it...ironically that's no different than at any other school online or B&M.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Not recognized elsewhere

MBA - June 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU is a good school. However, the school has national accreditation status. This is a problem for foreign (non-US) students and for those looking for jobs outside the US. The degree is recognized in the US but will be rejected by the concerned embassy during the attestation process since it is not regionally accredited. Degrees with US national accreditation are also not recognized in Canada. Schools/degrees that have regional accreditation are a safer and better option for foreign students and for those seeking employment outside the US.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 23 people found the following review helpful

If it isn't Wharton, Kellogg or Harvard, an MBA is an MBA

MBA - October 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from ColumbiaSouthernUniversity (CSU) in Aug 2009 with an MBA. Based on previous online classes taken through Colorado State and Embry Riddle, CSU provided the same quality of instruction and critique throughout the course of study. What CSU did provide was flexibility to study when and where I had the time or computer to do so. As an active duty military officer who deployed over 800 days over the past 6 years, traditional education did not and could not work for me. The majority of people in the military complete their Professional Military Education in the same manner that CSU uses. Or what we in the military call by correspondence. Very few actually attend advanced education in person. Uncle Sam decided he could not afford nor require all officers to attend graduate level and advanced education in residence and therefore established a manner where by military officers were exposed to the same level and concepts that their "in residence" counterparts were exposed to. CSU provided an avenue that allowed me to receive a quality education at a great value to the tax payer while still being exposed to the required lessons and concepts required to complete the curriculum. Is this type of education for everyone, definitely not. But if you are looking for flexibility and value then CSU is good for that. I can honestly say that some instructors were more challenging and thought provoking than others but you will get that no matter where you go to school. I think CSU can definitely improve on their online lectures and do more to maximize their use of technology.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Excellent School from a current student!

MBA - June 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose CSU after careful and thorough research on National vs. Regional Accreditation. I spoke to various colleges from Human resources Department, from large and prestigious companies; more than 90% said that they didn't ask or care what accreditation the degree had. So long as it was accredited and based on your resume, you had the qualification. Regional schools get evaluated and re-certified every 10 years, whereas National schools do it every 5; from the same accrediting agencies. That said the school administration is excellent. Always responsive and very courteous. The school is by no means a walk in the park, as was said. You are basically on your own. You receive hard copy books, which is covered in their extremely low tuition ($200/undergraduate, $265/graduate,and $300/Graduate,per credit. It's ridiculously low when compared to other school. As I was saying you have two weeks (out of 8) outlined, and available to you, at one time. You have your assignments on the blackboard, and from your course syllabus. You MUST read, be responsible. It's not as easy as a B&M school., which I have attended. It's up too you to be responsible. You also have to log in the discussion boards, and comment with other students. But if you do everything on time, you should have no problem. I am finishing my BSBA in Human Resource Management, and I have truly enjoyed my stay here , and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good accredited school, with excellent service, and outstanding tuition.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful

This school is in no way a cake walk.

MBA - September 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Okay so I have read many of the posts on here before and after attending CSU. I can honestly say that it is not a cake walk within regards to their course load. I have attended other NA programs in which you could complete everything in less than a day. CSU is not like this. The courses are actually similar to the model of my B&M courses. There are many research papers and they also almost require you to respond to discussion forums in APA format. I do not know of requirements at other schools but APA format for discussion forums seems a bit excessive to me. I love that I do not have to check in on a daily basis or at a certain time to complete my assignments. As long as I submit everything before the required deadlines and do everything that is required of me I am fine. On average I would say that I spend about 15 to 20 hours per week reading my text, completing assignments and preparing for the next unit. This school has everything that most B&M or R/A schools have and honestly for the life of me I can not understand why they are not RA but he I will take them as they are. You get your books sent to your home free, your instructors are responsive, they are priced extremely well and you get to complete everything on your time. What more can you ask for? This is my first review as I am just starting out. I will post another one when I graduate or am near graduation.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

CSU is as challenging as any other school

MBA - April 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let's be clear, Columbia Southern University is just as challenging as any regionally accredited school that I've attended. I graduated with a B.A. degree from Thomas Edison State College, a (RA) school and CSU's cirriculum and workload is structured the same. I totally agree with some of the other comments that if you are looking for an ivy league school or obtained your degree from some other big name (RA) school, then CSU is NOT for you! Go spend mom and dad's money or get yourself a loan and go to Duke or Yale. Don't kid yourself, there is no big difference between Regional vs National Accreditation (Go to DETC.org) Distance education is not for everyone, especially the young kids coming out of H.S. or those who could not make the grade at the big schools. Both accrediting bodies are approved by the Dept of Education for title IV funding, GI Bill and student loans and both have rigorous approval standards. What is most important is the price. The tuition and fees are far less cheaper than attending schools like Strayer or University of Phoenix. Don't believe me check it out for yourself. By the way both of those schools are RA and will accept NA credits. Please do you homework and check out CSU thourougly before giving them a bad rap. If the school work is too easy for you then obviously you are not working full-time, holding down a family, and trying to earn a reputable degree all at the same time. Go sit yourself in a classroom. Thank you CSU!

Was this review helpful?

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful

MBA in progress!

MBA - February 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not sure why people are posting that CSU is easy? I've been working on my MBA for 4 years! I have one class to go and I've had many papers to write that were minimum 10 page reports. Let me make it clear. CSU is flexible. You need to do the work in order to complete your classes. The Professors are always there to assist you and answer questions. The text books are current and relevant. It’s up to you to make your experience the best it can be… I recommend CSU to anyone looking to complete their BS or MBA. Be positive and know that it can be done. I have a wife and children, a full time job, play music professionally and I still am going to graduate “Magna Cum Laude” with a 3.8+ GPA because I work hard! Don't hesitate, just do it. Time goes by so fast, and before you know it, you'll be feeling great about your accomplishments.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful

CSU MBA

MBA - November 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have recently started my MBA program with CSU. I have previously obtained a MA from the University of Phoenix, where I attended in a brick and mortar format. Drawing on my previous experience, CSU appears to be very challenging. I would not call it easy on any aspect. The value you receive for the cost of tuition is very high. I spent a considerable more amount of money at the University of Phoenix for my MA. I am retired from the AF and know of many individuals who have utilized CSU with no complaints. All are happily employed with no issues regarding their degree. I look forward to graduating.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Enjoying CSU

MBA - November 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My employer provides tuition reimbursement and CSU was one of the schools they covered. I decided to apply with them because they had very affordable tuition. What sealed the deal was the excellent treatment I received from the staff. I never had a single problem and they always handled questions and requests promptly. I found the text books to be very relevant and not full of "filler" material. The professor gave good feedback. I enjoyed interacting with the other students. The assignments in my first class were challenging. I think you get out of the classes what you put into them.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Shame on CSU!

MBA - September 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Unfortunately anything that comes too easy, should be heeded! Why is my MBA program easier than my BS? Perhaps because I went to a real institution when I acquired my BS. I am shocked that I do not have to write papers over 8 pages and all finals are open-book, you would have to be a complete IDIOT to fail this school! I want no part in having a degree from CSU on my resume!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 65 people found the following review helpful

MBA program

MBA - March 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For those who say it is a diploma mill is extremely incorrect. Sure you can complete your degree relatively quick if you really crank it. You are given 10 weeks to complete a course, which is fairly equivalent to going to class 2 days a week for 10 weeks. If you were not sitting in class waiting on an assignment but all assignments were given to you on the first day as with CSU, then a typical class would not take 10 weeks to finish. I highly recommend CSU for anyone. It is not an easy program but does require a lot of work,

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MBA: Finance

MBA - January 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been with this university since August 2009 and after coming from another onsite University, I am well pleased with the instructors, staff, admissions team, and financial aid office. Not one problem while enrolled and would highly recommend this university over any other online school. Can't beat the cost with free books and very knowledgeable and well diversified professors.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Environmental Management at CSU

MBA - July 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My husband has been attending CSU, for Occupational Health and Safety, since the spring of 2009 and will be a Junior in the fall of 2010. He is flying through his courses although some are a bit difficult. I myself have enrolled in EM and am very excited to obtain my degree. They accepted all but one of my credits from my past college. Great news for me! We personally know of at least 10 others who are happy attending CSU and we would highly recommend it. Pip

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

2003 MBA Graduate

MBA - July 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Only CSU made it possible for me to get an MBA while working full time as an engineer with Ford Motor Company. CSU has certainly enhanced my resume and made it possible for me to survive our current employment situation. Thank you CSU.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Highly recommend CSU

MBA - May 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed an MBA that I started at Jacksonville State University in Alabama prior to transferring to Georgia with my employer, a Fortune 500 company. My employer recognized CSU's accreditation. I found the course material to be very thorough. I think CS's MBA program is better suited to students show can be very self disciplined and complete the course work on time.I highly recommend CSU's MBA program.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Disappointed CSU student

MBA - April 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently pursuing my MBA at Columbia Southern University. If I was not so far into my degree I would change schools but have deterred friends and family from attending the school. There are some decent support staff but the facilitator for Research Methods is not professional, does not know how to teach the class, and can not explain where she receives her information. The Dean of Students does not take his job seriously and thinks that his opinion is more important than that of a physician. I would highly recommend looking elsewhere for your educational needs.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Mark Twain

MBA - April 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

"I have never let my schooling interfere with my education." CSU is a great online school. There are employers and universities that WILL transfer credits from this school and WILL recognize degrees from nationally accredited schools. Do your homework. Moreover, education is what you make of it. If you believe a prestigious college or university is the key to your success then you've got another thing coming to you. Don't enroll in CSU if you're after college/university name recognition or regional accreditation.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great school

MBA - April 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wonderful School. Exceptional student services. Terrific Staff. I strongly recommend this school to anyone who wants an affordable quality education.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great School!

MBA - September 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a grad student currently enrolled at Columbia Southern University. My experience with CSU and the professors who teach the courses has been very positive! The work is challenging and grades are definitely earned! My employer (who happens to be the Federal Gov't) only pays tuition for reputable institutions of higher learning and Columbia Southern University is on their list of approved schools. Several of my coworkers have either completed their degrees or are currently enrolled at CSU and every one of us has been very happy with the school - so much so that we recommend it to others (which is how I found out about the school!) If you are considering CSU I would encourage you to apply!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

CSU is Great!

MBA - July 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm almost through the MBA and starting the Public Administration portion. I earned my Bachelor's degree from CSU before they were completely on line. I love the on line and have learned a great deal that I could apply to my work. It is geared to work with your work and that is like getting a double value. So far the courses have helped me with an employee retreat, visioning and strategic management, and I am now writing a Code of Ethics Policy and Program for my corporation. Without CSU I'd be making a third of what I am now making. My job would not have supported going to a classroom on a designated day/night and time. CSU allows you to get the most out of education. I have talked four people into finishing up their Bachelor's degree. I should then have someone to graduate with next year. Thanks CSU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Very Comprehensive Programs

MBA - April 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended classroom settings in major universities and the online setting with CSU. I can honestly say if you think CSU is a lesser ride than the majors...think again. You are challenged with independent thinking and decision making that is very comparable. The only difference in the settings? In the CSU environment, you can't hide behind the rest of the class and not be involved. You are involved actively every day. The critical thinking skills and time management techniques are all yours. THIS is the experince you need in the real world.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

CSU MBA in Project Management

MBA - March 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently finished my MBA with a concentration in Project Management. I found CSU to be a good value with a solid program. Out of the whole program, the only complaint I had concerned the instructors. The professors were not very proactive. By this, I mean that during my 12 courses not one instructor contacted me about my progress or checked to see how I was doing. The only interaction with the instructors happened at my request. The texts were current and the use of technology was good. The support staff helped me whenever I needed something done or had a problem. I have found that the CSU degree has helped me in my job search. I am retiring from the Air Force in about a month and have found that employers are impressed that I took the time to accomplished my MBA. In fact, a large government contractor has recently offered me a senior consulting position. The offer was made due to my experience and graduate degree (the degree was one of the job requirements). While I would not say that CSU is the best school, it is a decent value for your money. I hope that the instructors will be more proactive in communicating with students.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Bang for the Buck

MBA - February 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MBA with a concentration in Sport Management at Columbia Southern. The course work was relevant and challenging, and my professors were knowledgeable and extremely helpful. I would recommend CSU to anyone looking to obtain an advanced degree while working full-time. There will be a lot of reading and research, but I feel that I learned more at CSU than at the brick and mortar university where I earned my undergraduate degree. With their growing enrollment (nearly 20,000) it is easy to see that CSU is providing the educational opportunities that working individuals need. Kudos CSU!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great school

MBA - January 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school, supported my education needs and schedule. Would recommend this school to others and do so on a daily basis. Books, materials, etc were always on time and the classes were fluid and never had any problems and the professors were always supportive.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great school for the military

MBA - December 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU is a good school for me. I am a single dad with 3 kids, stationed in Germany and working 50+ hours a week so CSU's schedule fit my hectic schedule. The support staff is wionderful. The only drawback is a few istructors who are not very good with the online structure. I have recommended 8 friends to CSU so far

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Final Review

MBA - July 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am done with my degree;I regret my decision attending this school, the college may be okay for most of law enforcement officers which work for small agencies or police department outside big metropolitan areas etc.. since they are the biggest clientele they got, this can explain why this place is still in business. For the price and reputation is not worth it, and I should get my money back, there are better options for about the same price and with better reputation, this university is extremely overrated by some alumnus and shills that follow this blog. I got suck in due to the variety of specialization and the concept of studying at your pace to sort say. Yeah, I should have known better, I would see this experience like buying a lemon car then discard it to buy a new one, a better one. The university is a very low tier school but is accredited, which for most underachievers this is enough to qualify them for most government jobs, don't get me wrong there are people that do not belong there, but for other reasons like time, and economics this may be the only viable options. The University is getting to make it easier now for people to come in since they soon will be participating in tittle IV aid. But still the degree from this place has too many limitations. They don't have many faculty that can facilitate the courses or have the expertise in some areas, anyone can facilitate the course because the format they use are multiple choices, coloring areas and pop up pictures tests and the assigned professor just read from the teachers manual with the answers and grade accordingly. These facilitators have no idea what they are teaching and what they trying to test. Some course materials are out of date, I have pointed out this to the administration but nothing was done. Base on my own experience I cannot say I would recommend CSU, nor I would go in a crusade to discredit the bloody place, I will cut my losses and move on. I plan to use my diploma to decorate my wall and not to find a job. My Bachelor's has more weight and merit on his own that using this degree from CSU as an addendum. Any way, this school is preposterous.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 16 people found the following review helpful

MBA in Finance

MBA - January 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am almost done with my degree; the college is okay, what I found is that the faculty (at least in finance specialization) they have no idea what they are teaching and what they try to test. Faculties do not post their bio or have any background to teach the classes assigned. They really need to work in the curriculum in Finance because it really sucks. I have pointed out this to the administration but nothing was done, I guess I have the only one that has complain. I don't think CSU is a bad University but certainly needs works in some areas that have neglected specially in the finance specialization. Base on my own experience I cannot say I would recommend CSU they are better options out there. They do have strong curriculum for law enforcement though.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Good Processes

MBA - November 7, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BSM degree from the University of Phoenix taking both classroom and online courses. It was grueling, expensive, and fraught with bad processes and lack of response. Several of my co-workers told me how much they enjoyed CSU, so I started my MBA right away once I finished the undergraduate. The format which allows you to work as quickly as you like or take the whole time while submitting assignments on YOUR schedule makes the large amount of work required for a course manageable. I have been able to balance work, home, and school without difficulty. Simply put, this program is perfect for working adults and is a good value as well.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Education and Value

MBA - November 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MBA while on active duty in the United States Air Force (I have since retired from active service). I would highly recommend this school to military service members. The process of using military tuition assistance was very easy. The only out of pocket expense I had in my entire two years of studying was the graduation fee. I paid nothing else, thanks to tuition assistance and the text book grant from CSU. My new employer readily recognized the degree, and I feel I was given a very good job offer. I would recommend CSU to anyone looking to further their education!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Columbia Southern University - Simply the Best

MBA - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just completed my MBA. Ranks with the best online (distance) universities, including brick and mortar. Excellent support from both CSU's staff and professors. I highly recommend Columbia Southern University.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding School

MBA - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Received my undergraduate and my MBA through CSU. Wish the doctoral program had been in place at that time. My grades and courses were easily transferrable and accepted when I applied for a Ph.D. program through two other universities. I completed my Ph.D., and owe a great deal of thanks to CSU for getting me started in the right direction

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.