Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

Great Education

Information Technology - August 11, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had an excellent experience with this university...the classes and materials exceeded my expectations. I have had either fantastic professors or awful professors...it seems it is always one or the other, but mostly they have been quite great. The IT classes were relavent and the professors seemed to want to teach and enjoy teaching. My only snag was that my employer did not recognize their accredations for employee tuition assitance...

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good school - satisfied

Information Technology - November 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A good school overall, not great. Support and value are great. Got me where I wanted to go, a legit degree, a job in IT and acceptance to FSU's graduate school.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good middle-of-the-pack school

Information Technology - August 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Good middle-of-the-pack school, not the best not the worst. Accredited/legit. Good value. Very fast-paced but quite doable if you focus. The BS-IT program is very well-rounded and comprehensive, I don't know about other programs. Be ready for timed proctored tests on most tech classes. Most professors were OK. GREAT support. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Good choice

Information Technology - June 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU has a good reputation and is a great value, especially good for working adults. The classes are very fast-paced but I was able to take 2 at a time with not much trouble. Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

CSU is not a cake walk!

Information Technology - February 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would have to say that I thought online school would be easy because everyone says that it is...well they haven't worked full-time, raised children and gone to school full-time. While you do miss out on the interaction you have with the professors they are there for you via email and phone, and they are very helpful. You have to do a discussion board with each class that requires you to interact with other students. You also have to have really good discipline to get online courses done and anyone that does that should pat themselves on the back! I would refer a friend to CSU!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Middle of the road

Information Technology - May 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It's a decent legit school. Best things: support, value, transfer policy, and their online system. Can't think of anything really bad, it's very fast-paced but that's what I wanted. Some professors are great, some average, some indifferent. Had no real problems. Just a good middle-of-the-road school.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Challenging, fast-paced

Information Technology - April 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is not the school for you if you require hand-holding, you have to be self-motivated. Lots of military and ex-military go to this school. The pace is fast and furious and you can get left behind quickly if you don't keep up. But the payoff is you can get it done relatively quickly if you load up and run with it. Support is exceptional. I was accepted into FSU grad school with this degree too so don't believe the disgruntled or uninformed naysayers. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Real degree...what the?!?

Information Technology - October 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Somebody explain to me, if this is a "degree mill", then how come I have to take 20 8-week classes (after I transferred my A.S. degree to them) to complete my B.S. degree for 120 credits. And nobody told me they were ACCREDITED (ick). Also, they have the nerve to send me ACTUAL TEXTBOOKS, which they expect me to read. And I have to take ACTUAL TESTS at the end of each week, and write ACTUAL APA ESSAYS, and some even have a FINAL EXAM! What a nerve. And to top it off, they assign me ACTUAL PROFESSORS who, get this, EXPECT ME TO READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MATERIAL AND PASS THE TESTS! Also, the Department of Education recognizes this "degree mill", and the Department of Defense will pay for its members to go there! My employer even says they are approved..ugh. That was the last straw. Here I thought I was going to breeze through a "degree mill", but I really got conned big time. This is more like a "real" degree, which I wanted to avoid, what a rip.

Was this review helpful?

37 of 41 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Staff to Help You Succeed

Information Technology - April 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started online schooling a month ago and the Staff and Administration has contacted me daily to check on my welfare. I didn't think this online school would do that. Thanks for proving me wrong CSU.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Best DETC school currently available!

Information Technology - May 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So far - So good! Does a very good job in course format, outline, and delivery. Have, and will continue to recommend school to family, friends, and co-workers. Can't beat the price per credit hour! Considering enrolling in their E-Commerce & Tech program after successful completion of BS degree.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Slow, yet efficient!

Information Technology - January 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Simply stated, CSU provides a justifiable program and degree. CSU is not regionally accredited. CSU is nationally accredited. CSU provides an "at your own pace" curriculum; however, this does not degrade the effectiveness of the course. I've taken many courses and acquired many certifications in the field of technology. CSU's program proved to be just as valuable as any of my previous certifications. This was not only because of the degree credential but also for the knowledge gained. As with any program (including those regionally accredited), there were several things learned and a few things found wrong. Little known facts: 1. A degree is a "test" of motivation, adaptablity, and the ability to learn. 2. Most employers hire based on the applicant's motivation, knowledge, and/or experience. 3. A thorough knowledge of a subject is only aquired when consistently applied. 4. Some fields required specialized or intense understanding of the subject; however, most of these aren't provided by online institutions. The only real problem I've had is the degree conferral, which took several weeks to complete. Otherwise, A+!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional School

Information Technology - September 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in the Information Technology field for my bachelors. I originally thought that online schools would be easier but I found out that there is much more work involved. I went to UCF and several of my friends went to UF and FSU and I noticed the workload was not even close. I've never experienced having to write 20 300+ word essays, a 7 page research paper, and 6 quizzes in any single course. The program was great and I am really enjoying it. I was worried about the accreditation however after talking with several IT directors, all agreed that they do not discriminate on degrees unless it is from a school that is known as a diploma mill. Mainly in the IT field, experience is the key and the diploma gets you one step ahead. With this bachelors degree, 7 certifications, and 9 years experience, I highly doubt I will have any problems finding a job.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.