Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

Recent 2015 Grad/

Criminal Justice Administration - August 26, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having recently graduated from CSU, I have been more than happy with what I committed to in obtaining my degree. Being in the high tempo area of the Army and able to take my work with me anywhere was a huge plus and would not have stuck with it if that was not the case. Be aware, you WILL have to earn this degree and it is not given. I wrote more papers here than I would have liked, and trust me when I say I hate writing or research papers in APA. Ughhhh...never again, HOWEVER, I just may get my Masters from CSU because of the quality and service I was afforded. I did read a few other reviews here, and I hear the grumblings. First understand this is NOT Harvard, Ohio State, etc. If you are looking to land a job with no experience, get in line. Plenty of folks are still in the civilian work place...or lack of, and cannot find work. The economy is NOT what they would lead you to believe. Why do you think I have made a career out of my current service? Thanks but no thanks to the unemployment line. Use this school for current advancement, not as a "name-drop" to get you attention from a prospective employer. Next, FEE's are at every school My wife just graduated from American Law School, and I had to pay for the grad fee. ALL schools do this, and even when I went to the U or Akron, OH, we had to pay fees. It's a business based on education folks. Bills have to be paid; get a clue. All in all, I have enjoyed my experience with CSU and recommend them to anyone looking to better themselves if they are in a current career and are looking for a flexible and reasonable school to aid them.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Awesome School

Criminal Justice Administration - October 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started classes with Columbia Southern University a few weeks ago and I love the school! Through the admissions process to quality of education it is AWESOME!! I have learned so much thus far and look forward to learning much more. On the road to graduation at one of the best schools ever!!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Excellent- great value

Criminal Justice Administration - July 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Excellent school. they are truly involved in the law enforcement/ public safety world in the south.I thought they did a great job with mixing up class requirements such as article reviews, essay questions, research topic, somewhat difficult questions and final exam all in the same 10 week class. If I had to nitpick the instructor reviews are general.I had a killer psych class so the classes arent all a breeze. All in all a great value to get a accredited Bachelors in CJ-law Enforcement Administration.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Very Good Method of Instruction

Criminal Justice Administration - December 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very impressed with the quality of instruction, lesson plans, and teachers at CSU. The English Composition class taught me more in 8 weeks than I ever learned writing a paper every week for 13 classes with another popular and very expensive online university. Very good support and assistance are offered by student services. Overall, this is a great university with quality instruction, very reasonable costs, teachers, and employees.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Great University, Don't Believe the Rumors

Criminal Justice Administration - September 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began attending Columbia Southern University (CSU) in 2009 on a scholarship awarded by the National Sheriff's Association (NSA). I previously completed an Associate's of Applied Science degree at the local community college. With 10 years of Law Enforcement experience under my belt, and the fact that my undergraduate degree would be completely paid for by NSA's scholarship, I went forth and continued my education at CSU. After a couple of classes and reading reviews of CSU, the question of accreditation started to linger. I did my research have no regrets. While I wish that CSU was regionally accredited, the fact that it is not will not hinder my future education plans. I plan on working towards an MPA and have found several regionally accredited, brick and mortar, schools that will accept my nationally accredited degree. Specifically, Wayland Baptist University, where I will pursue my MPA. The layout of CSU's classes is perfect for working parents' schedules. I have enrolled in the "Per-Course" terms and find that working at my own pace has been key to my success. The courses are set up as follow: There is assigned reading with each unit (usually 8 units). At the end of each unit you will take a 10 question/2 essay quiz. Some courses require an article review. Article reviews are a summary and analysis of a professional publication related to the topic being covered. Some courses require a comprehensive final exams which can be proctored at local colleges for a small fee or by someone who qualifies as a proctor. Most of the finals have been open book and 50 multiple choice questions. I currently hold a 4.0 GPA and have only 5 classes remaining in my degree plan (2 of which are in the process of being completed). I hope to graduate by the end of this year and immediately start graduate school. The staff at CSU have been extremely helpful and are always in contact with me. I do however miss the back-and-forth debates and conversations with other students that I have experienced at traditional colleges. Emailing professors has been very easy and they will usually respond to questions/emails in about a day or two. The textbooks are great, however I have found a couple (very few) questions in the unit assessments that are either not in the text or have different answers than reflected in the text. In instances like this, I choose the best answer then email the professor. I have almost always been given credit for answers I can support or for pointing out errors in the exam. I wish that there was a more formal forum for CSU students. This would enable students to find others enrolled in the same class and support open discussion. The BlackBoard does have a list of students in the class, but I do not think that it's current. Also, most people do not communicate via the BlackBoard forums. There is a Facebook page for CSU, but discussions on the page are not academic...they are limited to regular "FaceBook type activity".

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

CSU (Outstanding)

Criminal Justice Administration - May 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My entire learning experience at CSU was outstanding. I began my college journey many years ago at a traditional college, and left for personal reasons. The educational experience that I enjoyed at CSU is second to none!!!! I would and have highly recommended Columbia Southern to others.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Ready for the future

Criminal Justice Administration - December 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my BS Criminal Justice Admin in May 2009. I immediately applied to a graduate program at a state university and my degree was accepted without question. I found the classes at CSU to be relatively easy and the instructors were for the most part accessible and helpful. I have finished my first semester of grad school at a brick and mortar college with a 4.0. It is my opinion that CSU prepared me the future.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding!!

Criminal Justice Administration - May 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the CSU BS Criminal Justice Administration Degree Program. I previously attended another online college and all my credits transferred to CSU. The per course enrollment option works out great due to my work schedule. The course information and content have given me a greater insight on just how much I can learn. Thanks CSU for helping me work toward my dream of a four year degree!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Columbia Southern University

Criminal Justice Administration - December 14, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am nearing completion of my degree with CSU. I have always had good interaction with the staff, they are very quick to assist in any way. Their email based communication system gets students the help and answers they need without delay. The professors are qualified in the subject matter and have the degrees to solidify their credibility. My experience with CSU has been a pleasant one, and I am considering them for a graduate degree once my bachelor's degree is completed.

Was this review helpful?

excellent choice

Criminal Justice Administration - October 12, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU is an outstanding school. The best value for quality education. The work is challenging and requires one to have the ability to think beyond the textbook. Professors and staff are great and provide lots of assistance. CSU provides the best online education. It is worth the investment.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional School

Criminal Justice Administration - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU has been tremdously helpful any time I have needed something. It is great because you can work at your own pace. Ic hecked numerous schools and their tuition was the best deal I could find. I received my Bachelors degree and went on to my MBA which I should have in December. Any time I have had a question I have received a prompt reply. I have asked several profesors if the degree if going through with higher degrees is worth it and I have always received honest responses. As far as accredidation, I have seen multiple comments about it. I personally worked for the State of Florida for a while and they required a degree for the positions. They accepted my degree after seeing my transcript and never said a word. I think the whole deal is over rated. Employers care about degrees, not necessarily where they are from. My degrees have had made it possible for me to work several positions. I think that for the price and the ability to not have to go to the actual school to do classes, it is well worth checking in to. I love CSU and they have helped me receive my degrees when going to a school was not possible. If you are a single parent or have a career, CSU is the way to go!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Superior Education at Columbia Southern University

Criminal Justice Administration - August 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Having tried several online studies, Columbia Southern University is proven to be the best. With the helpful staff and up to date study material, you are destin for success with your degree. I would recommend CSU to anyone looking for an outstanding school with credentials that match up to any of your major universities.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.