Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

Super School

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - March 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 7 classes left and for ease of enrollment, Military Tuition assistance, and support I recieve while working toward my degree is superior. The book grant really makes CSU stand alone in the way they help military personal achive their educational goals..I highly recommend them to anyone...

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

GREAT SCHOOL

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - November 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I currently have 6 classes left to complete my BA in Human Resource Management. I have had no bad experiences with CSU. All of the staff and teachers are extremely helpful. I would recommend this school to anyone. I am a USMC wife with 2 kids and a full time job. If you make the time it will work. It is not a walk in the park but the teachers will work with you.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Works for Me

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - September 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the MBA program after completing my BS HRM. The school is great and employer are hiring veterans with degrees and that is all that matters. Keep wasting time and you will be left behind while we continue to get our education on. US Army Soldier

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great school for a great price

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - August 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled at CSU over a year ago and decided to include my review. This is a good school for a very good price. Also, the work is difficult. I've attended brick and mortar schools and other distance learning programs. I have an AA from a private, regionally accredited university, and CSU programs are as challenging. There are several papers to be written for each course and they are intended to test your critical thinking skills. While I become frustrated with all the writing, you definitely are stretched in your thinking and that is what makes a good program. The professors are awesome and the student support is first class. You have several people who support you throughout your program, and they check on you periodically. I researched several schools before enrolling at CSU and find this to be the best school for the price. Don't be fooled by some of the negative reviews, this is a real university expecting hard work from their students. My goal is to complete a Masters and then DBA here at CSU. The school has exceeded my expectations and I would recommend this school to working adults.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

The Best Online School

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - December 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose CSU because of the free books,low tuition cost, and flexibility of classes since I am Active duty Army and usually deploy and work long hours. Choosing CSU has been the best choice I have ever made I just finish my associates with them and now going for my Bachelor's. The teachers and staff responds back immediately to any questions you may have. I would recomend this school to someone who wants to get a quality degree without having to pay a ridiculious amount of money for an education.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great Choice

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - November 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had started attending another online university whose costs were through the roof. At the urging of a coworker, I enrolled at CSU and obtained my Bachelors Degree 9/15/10. I was so pleased with the support, encouragement and general ease of enrollment, I decided to pursue my Master's degree. I never thought I would even obtain my Bachelors, and to be enrolled in my Masters program is beyond my wildest dreams. It would never have been possible without the support of ALL the staff at CSU. The professors, I have mixed reviews about. Some were great at returning answers to questions, others treated you like you were rather stupid for even asking the question, but I figure it's much the same as any ground school. I would highly recommend CSU to anyone, especially if they think that a degree is out of their reach. CSU will change your mind in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Better than you think....

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - April 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been attending CSU since fall of 08'. I have often wondered if I should be taking distance courses through a state university, but then I remember what I'm getting with CSU. I like that the courses - no matter the subject, have the same ouline. Meaning - I always know the class structure. I have to post a dicussion answer to the Professors question by Thursday; I have to post a reply to another student by Sunday; I have to complete the weekly quiz by Sunday...etc. When you look up the quiz questions from the course, you can see that other universities are using the same information. This school is accredited and no different than any other University. The teachers are great and available when you need them. I also like that my books are included with tuition so I don't have to search for my books every term/semester. I also like that every 8 weeks I'm starting a new class. I tend to get bored with a typical long semester of slow moving courses so for me, this pace is just right. For anyone who says this place is a just a Degree Mill - I seriously disagree. Think about it - you pay all this money for a degree, why would the school want you to fail? Clearly they care whether or not you succeed. If you are behind or things are looking grim for you to pass the course - a school rep. contacts you asap. They work with you to help you find a way to get your grades up so you CAN pass. I have had a really good experience with CSU and would recommend it!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

You Can't Loose with CSU

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - April 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As much as you hear about online schools not being creditable. You can put that to rest with CSU, their staff and department supervisors will help you achieve your goals with one on one assistance and help. My advisor has been wonderful and a real help when I needed her and believe me I've used her a lot for questions and guidence. The material is up-to-date most books revised with the newest copy dated in 2008. The professors are there if you have questions about the material and their course material really makes you think and study to make sure you understand what is being shown to you. This is not some degree mill where you just pay them to give you a piece of paper, no you have to work for this degree and in my opinion work HARDER then a traditional school offer. Which really shows the value of their education. Thank You CSU for your standards, I've loved being your student!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Choice

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - November 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did allot of research before choosing CSU. I was worried how I would handle the online education and the individual responsibility to complete each course in ten weeks. CSU's course format made it easy to stay motivated and finish within the allotted time. That is why immediately after completing my BSBA, I decided to stay with CSU for my MBA. Three graduate courses down, Nine more to go. I rated teachers a 9, as with all institutions, there is always that one instructor who is slow to respond, slow to grade an exam, and not much help. In my tenure at Columbia Southern, this instructor was the exception. Typically, they reply fast, answers questions to a level of satisfaction and provide a great deal of assistance should you need it.

Was this review helpful?

Poor Administration

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - October 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've spent an entire year faxing, mailing and calling CSU with regard to several issues. If someone gets back to you within two weeks, consider it a special gift. It seems like every document (and check) I send their way vanishes into thin air...and then more waiting. I wish I had never heard of this school. As a result of poor management/administration, it would take 10 years to complete a degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Columbia Southern University

Business Administration - Human Resource Management - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Excellent program for people with work/family committments. The ability to work when I had time was the reason I was able to complete my degree. The work load of the program was not easy. It helped prepared me for my current job promotion, which I was able to receive three weeks after attaining my degree from CSU. Without my CSU degree, I would not have been eligible for a promotion.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.