Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

AAS Paralegal Studies Graduate

Legal Studies - November 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

HI,I am a recent college graduate of Kaplan University. I have my Associates degree in Paralegal Studies. I took a break after graduating. I found Kaplan to be a great school, I read some reviews on the University before attending and like any other traditional or non traditional school etc, they had their pros and cons. I don't have a job in the field yet and I am hoping that I find something soon. I think that it is a great school I learned a lot through working hard, and asking a lot of questions. The professors are very supportive and they let you know the real deal. I respected the fact that they gave us run through on the difference of book knowledege and how it will actually be in the work place. I think that great things can be obtained from this school just the same as a traditional university or college. This is a professional field, so of course they are going to want you to have experience, and some one who knows exactly what needs to be done with little or no direction.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Rip OFF. liars!

Legal Studies - February 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended the school for about 2.5 weeks were in I had been on the phone with Fiancial Aid, Registrar, Advisors and Support. One department tells you one thing and another department tells you somerhing else. DO NOT start the school without having your fianacials in line first because they will take their sweet time processing the information while you are taking your classes and then you may agree or disagree. However in such a small term every day counts. When you get to 26% of the term you are responsible for 75% of tuition!!! Even if you are not at fault!. It is the dilemma I am in right now. I submitted everything on time and when Kaplan finally processed all I was "conviniently" ( for them) at 30% of the term and am responsible for 75%. So not fair. Guys it is a scheme!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Just graduated from UW-Madison Law School

Legal Studies - January 27, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Don't buy the reviews that tell you Kaplan degrees will not get you into a quality law school. UW is top 40, and accepted me no questions asked. Work hard and you can accomplish your dreams.

Was this review helpful?

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan Not Bad But Needs Work

Legal Studies - July 21, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a current Legal Studies Student, the upside is that I have NEVER had a professor NOT return an email asking them to explain a concept that I did not understand. While my current professor is somewhat sarcastic most are reasonable and so is the school. Case in point: Hurricane Sandy, I had no electric power and no internet for 11 days. Kaplan gave me a generous amount of time to complete my assignments and it worked out very well for me. The not so good; it seems that the professors are not impressed with the quality of the students they are teaching. One even said so in open live class. On the other side of the coin, I know for a fact that students are passing these courses but do not understand the materials in the courses they are taking. MAYBE when they go on to another class this IS WHY the do not seem very impressive to the instructors who complain about the quality of the students. In live class some professors are cut off before they can finish what they wanted to say to us because the Live Class Platform pulls the plug on them before they are finished. I also had one test question that was the same one they used 2 tests previously. Kaplan tech support is of little help with Windows Office 2013 and not yet up to speed on Windows 8. The REALLY not so good: #1 Students account is a PAIN in the butt! They call for money, yet my bank INDICATES that the check I sent them was CASHED, BUT IT DOES NOT SHOW UP on the student accounts representative's computer screen. 6 O'Clock at night I sit down for dinner, and have to pick up the phone, and be annoyed by them calling again, for something I already paid!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Masters degree: legal studies - Returning Alumni student

Legal Studies - April 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After attending another for-profit university, I decided to attend Kaplan. In my undergrad, there were only two professors I gave a bad evaluations. The one professor used racial and derogatory terms towards homosexuals. The other professor condoned blatant plagiarism in discussion boards. They were my only complaints from my B.S. degree; of which I fast tracked completing in 13-months. Taking a break from school, I decided to go back to Kaplan. They offer tuition discounts for alumni. This is great for those who are concerned about the level of loans accrued during enrollment. At week three of my first course, I was hospitalized. I was not able to doe any work for 18-days. As soon as I was able to get online, I emailed my professor and department chair. Both gave me an extension on a couple assignments I missed. I completed the coursework,; ending the class with a 96.5% I earned. The only complaint thus far in my Masters program are the level of students with poor, not at graduate level, writing skills. Using words such as "no" for "know" or "red" for "read", etc. However, these will also be the future bad reviewers on here because they didn't put the work into it and thought their Title IV check was a payroll check. Moral: Kaplan does have flaws. However, my daughter attends a traditional brick-and-mortar major university and they have their issues also. You must out the effort in to learn and not expect to learn just because you attended class. You must put in the work.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Legal Studies - July 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a recent graduate from Kaplan Universite Online Program which was a very big advantage to me as I work full time and have major health issues and would have been unable to attend a campus only school and until the ABA approve the online law school for the JD I am unable to attend law school. The issues I had with Kaplan was that 1. the advisor changed every two or three months and the computer had me listed more than once and sometimes I was schedule with more than one instructor and the same time but other than that I never had any problem with the school are the instructors and the advisor did contact me before and after each term to make sure I was prepared to continue and discuss any concerns and if anytime in between if I had a question or concern I never had a problem to call the school and have my issue resolved on the first call. The material I learned at Kaplan University greatly improve my overall performs at work as the employer does not prepare you for college and college does not prepare you for work it would be a perfect world if the employers and schools would get together on this matter. I continue to review my material from Kaplan University and I am preparing myself to enter law school and the material covered at Kaplan University is the very same information that the law school will cover in the substantive law classes. Kaplan University is highly accredited and I have and will continue to recommend Kaplan University to others who are researching what school to attend.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

About to graduate

Legal Studies - July 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a great time here at kaplan and would and have recomended it to others. I completed my associates here at kaplan without any issues and I am about to finsih my bachelors without any issues. I am in my capstone program and about to hand in my fianl paper. Everyone here at kaplan ahs bee great to me. My only issue here is a freind told me I would never be able to use my degree it was worthless. I have a 4.0 average and have had one the entire time here at kaplan and out of 9 law schools I ahve applied to so far i have had 7 rejections. Now I begining to believe my friends not sure what to do now. feel like I have wasted 4 years here. any answers would be grea laura

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

paralegal program

Legal Studies - November 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student of Kaplan an I honestly feel it was a waste of 33,000 dollars. The classes have great instructors but they are not given enough time to properly teach it, and they cannot slow down for those who do not understand. I have spent more time re-reading my textbooks from previous classes than I would have if I had gone to another college or university. I would also like to say that I was fresh out of high school when I went to Kaplan. I feel I was bullied by my classmates who treated me like I was not as educated as them because I had just come from high school. If I do finish my Associates at Kaplan I WILL NOT be back for my Bachelors!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Terrible Student Support

Legal Studies - September 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in Kaplan this year and attended two semesters with very little problems as far as the education and classes. The enrollment process was extremely complicated and slow even with it all being online. I felt the process is likley to deter and confuse many potential students. For some reason in the third semester I took a two week break and when I tried to get ahold of my advisor to sign up for classes I couldn't get ahold of anyone for days. I had to speak with the tech dept to even get connect to his voicemail. Finaly he calls but on my moms phone, even though I asked him to call on my cell phone and requested three times that my moms phone number be removed from the record. I tried to call again three times. I got a letter in the meantime that said they dropped me from the school. I was furious and no matter what I did no one would connect me to the student complaint line or a person in administration. Then I finally get ahold of my advisor and complain and he tells me I have to completely re-inroll and pay a $25.00 reinrollment fee. So I get transfered to some lady in re-enrollment and I tell her my printer is broken and have no way to print the forms she wants, so I need them to send them via regular mail. So they tell me they don't send anything by mail. (See anything wrong so far?) So I say well you need to do it nayway if you want me to re-enroll, and she says she needs to get approval. A day later she send the same email with the form. I replied with I need you to send this by regular mail. No response. So I call again, and I ask to speak to an administrator they connect me to admissions. This admissions guy say he can try but they probably won't send anything. So I say I'm not putting up with this sh*t and hang up. Now interesteg isn't it that they supposedly don't send anything via mail yet they mailed me several things when I first enrolled and they mailed the "we dropped you" letter. These people have horrible communication skills, and are starting to act shady if you ask me. Oh yeah and one more thing they applied a discount I earned after student aid paid for the full bill then tried to keep the remaining balance for two months even though I had signed several document spreviously that all remaining balances were to be sent to me. I had to threaten to sue to get it back. Great classes great teachers, horrible administration and horrible attitude.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The grass is not greener!!!!

Legal Studies - April 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Yes, I once felt like the majority of people here. The professors are cool and admin sucks... or They just want me to read... whatever you can think of ... Due to a situation I had with FA and my lack of participation in class, I was dropped. I started at another college...which turned out to be a big mistake... I couldn't find a degree plan and into a second quarter, I still can't. I can't find my grades for last quarter,my advisor doesn't know my history so I am constantly repeating myself. I have two degrees and they are asking / making me take lower level classes. no advance start program here. I don't know when I'll graduate ... I would have graduated this year with KU and it was on the website. The work is not easy...it is time consuming ... it will discipline you... The seminar is the voice of your instructor and you can ask live QUESTIONS!! This school calls a seminar a powerpoint slide show.... KU is about education. The professionalism is second to not many... It is what you consider important. I found out that the grass is certainly not greener on the other side...I'm going back across the street....

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

In at Marquette Law, waiting on UW Madison

Legal Studies - March 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Absolutely great. I could not have completed a brick and mortar school with my job and family, but wanted to go on to a quality part time law school after my BS degree. From most of the reviews, you would think the degree would be useless, well I can tell you firsthand they are flat wrong or lying. Marquette accepted my within a week of submitting my application and I am still waiting to hear back from UW Madison. Both are top 100 schools and did not think twice when I asked them about a Kaplan BS. As long as it is accredited, which Kaplan is, the schools both said I would be fine. Make sure you are self-driven and keep an eye on your student account- as that is the only department I had any trouble with- and you will do great. If you can afford it and are a self-driven personality I highly recommend Kaplan.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Worth the Effort

Legal Studies - October 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, my experience has been very good. I have, like a lot of other students at various brick and mortar as well as online campuses, had trouble with financial aid. Nothing big, but it was a little more complicated then I would have liked. The course materials really start out very simple, and I had my doubts because of it. I realized after the first couple of terms that the program starts out as more of a refresher course to get you back in learning gear. A lot of students at Kaplan have not been to school in a long time and this really is beneficial. I am now in my 3rd year and the course material is very in depth, fast pace and demanding. This is not a course that allows you to just show up and get an A. You actually have to do the work and the work load is not small. I have learned a lot and am confident that once I have completed the full 4 years, my education will be very valuable to me. My instructors all have real world experience. In all of my legal classes, the professors are all experienced lawyers or judges with multiple years of teaching experience. My main complaint, is that the majority of the books are ebooks. I really like having a paper copy of my books and printing them is just not an option for me. I have seen a lot of complaints about financial aid, poor academic adviser assistance, hard to transfer and Kaplan not being recognized as a good school. Let me just say that when I initially considered Kaplan, I did a lot of investigating. Online distance learning is new, but is really growing and becoming more acceptable. Each year, more and more colleges are offering online or distance learning. Kaplan is accredited with the exact same accreditation as the University of Iowa and they also offer campus courses as well. Transferring the credits to another "brick and mortar" college is possible. I found some colleges that accepted some, but not all of the classes. If you have ever tried to transfer credits, this is similar to a lot of other colleges in that not everything will transfer. As for getting into a good law school with a BS from Kaplan, it is possible! I have seen it done. Are you going to get into Harvard? Probably not, but lets be reasonable when making arguments and complaints.

Was this review helpful?

Still working through it

Legal Studies - September 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending Kaplan University. I have not had any issues with the classes, but I have had issues with the Financial Aid department. I received a call from my adviser right before this last term started. She informed me that I needed to turn in my "verification form" which is a random selection of students to send this in--I have been lucky enough to be selected each term. She informed me the day before my classes started, and told me if I didn't turn it in, I could be blocked from my classes. I asked why I wasn't told about this sooner, and if there was an e-mail or previous phone call sent out? She looked up my file and said she regretted to say it, but there was nothing on my file stating anyone tried to contact me prior to this. I had to race to Fed Ex to fax over my information--I included a cover page with her name on it stating "attention". I called the following day to see if she received it and left a message--then I e-mailed her-- she answered the e-mail and she said she couldn't find it. It had my social security number on it!!!! After having to go down again and pay to fax it again, she calls and said she found my first copy I sent in. However, she shredded it, and was glad I sent in another copy and she received it. I received another letter from Financial Aid a week ago asking for the same form-again. ugh!

Was this review helpful?

Great Legal Studies Program

Legal Studies - September 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a recent Legal Studies graduate I will firmly support this school as a logical choice for hard working, dedicated prospective students. As a cash paying student I did have a bit of a hard time with Kaplan’s student accounts department as their online statements and payment plans lacked consistency. As long as you take responsibility for your account and call when you see issues arise they will take care of the issue, but it might take a few phone calls to get it done. Professors, books, seminars, and classes were great. I was able to set the pace for completing my program which was a huge advantage. I would proudly recommend Kaplan to anyone who is self driven and highly motivated. Ryan Pheifer

Was this review helpful?

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!

Legal Studies - July 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish I would have listened to my friend and NEVER attended Kaplan. As soon as I enrolled and the school recieved my money...I never was able to get in touch with my advisor or financial aid officer when I had a question or a problem. The course that I took, I felt as if I didn't learn anything. All we did was write papers and it felt like busy work. The books that were reccommended for the course, we never used. In addition to me just not liking the class or the program. My loan was rejected and the school constantly calls me saying I owe them $2,000! When I ask why my loan was rejected I get several different answers from several different people. Not to mention the average hold time is about 25 minutes. Kaplan sucks and they aren't getting any of my money.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

So far so good

Legal Studies - July 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received an AAS for Paralegal Studies and decided to go back to school a year later for a BS in Legal Studies. I have never had any problems. A few years ago I tried to enroll in the community college, and had the worst experience with 2 different community colleges. I chose an online education because of my work schedule, and I'm a mother of 2. It may not be for everyone.

Was this review helpful?

I do not trust Kaplan

Legal Studies - July 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did a lot of research before I decided where to attend. Kaplan is For-Profit, Private school. Their main goal is to make money. The ads for teaching jobs are all over Craigslist, which makes me skeptical about their educational quality. If you like your "home page" I just want to let you know that every online college has a "cool home page". As for recognition of the diploma, I must say that a lot of people had trouble finding jobs, as you can find numerous posts online. Unless your prospective employer attended Kaplan, no one else recognizes that school. Additionally, just because Kaplan is currently accredited it does not mean that it will be when you graduate, and then what??? With all these posts, complains, and issues going on I would be quite nervous to put my money into it. ADVICE: Look into a long good standing brick and mortar school and then research their online option. Also focus on Not-for-profit or Public which have lower credit rates, tuition, and fees. Once you find one, type the name of your chosen school with keyword "review", "rip-off", "complain" and read what others have to say. Then if you still think it is a good idea-I say-Go for it!!! I found my school after a lot of research and frustration but I know I made a great educational decision.

Was this review helpful?

Read this before you go or while you are going NOW

Legal Studies - May 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University IS NOT the school you want to go to or keep attending. I am a straight A student at every school I have been to. I went to Kaplan because I couln't go to school physically because I got married and had a child. Everything was good until Financial Aid messed up something with my package and I started getting calls (from a private number) at anytime of the day asking me for their money or they will drop me. I told them I qualified for more, so just to get more loans on my behalf and have the banks pay them. BUT THEY WANTED IT FROM ME! After going there for 3 semesters I decided to start calling the law schools in my area. NOONE KNOWS ABOUT THE SCHOOL, NO LAW SCHOOL (A GOOD LAW SCHOOL) WILL EVER ever! ACCEPT YOU WITH A DEGREE FROM KAPLAN. Lets face it, is not the same as the State University that everyone had to get up early to make it to class. Employers and higher degree schools do not see u like you worked as hard EVEN IF YOU DID! Then I decided to go to school in person (which is where I am right now) and called Kaplan to let them know"thank you but I want to withdraw" automatically the person's mood changed and started being SOOO RUDE to the point that I sais "r u allowed to talk to me like that" and he said "I get paid to tell you thinks how it is" I hung up and called back, and magically the same guy picked up. They automatically transfer your call to the person you spoke to before EVEN AFTER I TOLD THEM NOT TO. Then he started being rude to me again, and I hung up. This time he called me back and said "since you hung up on me, I decided to call you back" IT WAS CRAZY!!!!! From the beginning I should have known, but I made the mistake, and I dont want noone else to make it, is a waste of your time, and not only that they are only out there for the money, as soon as you want to get out, they treat you like ****. Anyways If you have gone through the same and you feel like they harrassed you to a very stressful point, please join me in a class action, and lets see if they will change their ways or not. email to xbabyboopx@aol.com

Was this review helpful?

Kaplans True Colors

Legal Studies - May 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Things were fine when I first decided to enroll in Kaplan. I found another school that had a program that fit me better. After I told my advisor this he tried to talk me into staying but I had made up my mind. After they figured out that I wasnt staying they started telling me that my withdral was evidence that I would "never be successful at anything in life", and that I was just "scared to go to school". Bully tactics do not work with me and thats what they tried to do. DONT GO TO KAPLAN!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan is a geat school

Legal Studies - February 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would like to say Kaplan is indeed a very good school. I have a BA from the school and I am in the Masters legal studies program. My advisor is great, she calls me to check on me and my grades. My Financial aid is great and I can always get someone if I have an issue. I would like to say that yes, I get upset sometime because they are not perfect, but what college is. People are going to complain! I reccommend the school, but only if you can handle the work.

Was this review helpful?

The choice is, yours.......

Legal Studies - February 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you owe, they want it yesterday. If they owe, You will get it when + turns to -. By law they are supposed to mail out any balance 14 days after disbursement. Kaplan online sucks, if you can attend a campus. With people and offices you can see and go to. They are much more accountable. Kaplan Inc. recently agreed to settle a class action lawsuit that had been brought against BAR/BRI and Kaplan. Among the allegations in the suit, which charged that BAR/BRI had overcharged students, was an allegation of antitrust violation claiming that Kaplan had agreed not to compete in the bar review business while BAR/BRI agreed it would not compete in the LSAT business. Both West Publishing Company (parent of BAR/BRI), and Kaplan, Inc., denied the allegations and the matter was resolved without any findings of wrongdoing.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Highly Recommend!!

Legal Studies - November 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enrolled in the Legal Studies Department. I have loved every day of my enrollment. This is my last year with Kaplan. This program is so nice. I can see on my homepage what will be expected from me for the next 10 weeks for the class. The seminars are great. You can hear your teacher speak to you and replay it if need be. I can honestly say that every single one of my teachers have been great. They always get back to me if I need help. I have been assigned to a really good adviser. His name is Denise Munro. I would suggest asking for him. In my previous college I attended I ended up taking too many extra classes because my adviser told me to sign up for classes that were not transferable. Denise has been great! If you are a self motivated person this school will educate you!! It is set up were one takes a couple classes for ten weeks and have one week off.(actually you really go for 9 weeks and get 2 weeks off since the last week nothing is graded) My seminars are usually on Wend. and Thurs. for an hour at night. Other than that I am able to do my work when I want. However, there are weekly time lines that ones work is due.

Was this review helpful?

I Love It!!!

Legal Studies - October 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my first term at Kaplan and couldn't be happier. I loved my instructors and I learned a lot in class. For those having Financial Aid problems, those things happen at any school. I know this first-hand. You have the responsibility for staying on top of things and making sure all of your paperwork and other financial aid requirements are in order. That's exactly what I did to make sure I received my educational expense stipend. In the paperwork you sign when you enroll it tells you that it's your responsibility and that you will not receive a stipend unless you request that the unused financial aid be sent to you. Of course they're gonna get on your case if your account is past due, just like any other school or business or creditor for that matter. An education costs money nowadays so please stop looking surprised when they call you to pay what you owe. If you don't have the discipline to stay on top of your affairs, then don't go here. Slacking will not be tolerated!!!

Was this review helpful?

I do not recommend this university!

Legal Studies - October 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do not attend Kaplan, and I can firmly say that I will not! Upon considering attending this school I clicked onto one of the live chat session things to ask a simple question, "how do I go about finding out if I qualify for any type of student grant?" The guy I spoke to called himself Steve Ukazim and he was really unprofessional and at times borderline offensive. He did not answer my question at first, he just kept referring to loans. He misspelled words, and his grammar was horrible. He even abbreviated 'please' as "plz!" I'm sorry, but I do not feel comfortable discussing my future with people who are not professional! He also implied ignorance on my part by telling me he didn't see how I could expect to attend college without loans and when I said I didn't know whether or not I could afford to pay off the loans he said "well Kaplan isn't full of rich kids and college isn't for everybody... I know of 60,000 students here who do it..." Are you kidding me? When I told him that he was coming off offensively and 'implied ignorance' he said he "never impaled anything" and didn't want to "waist" my time... IMPALED? WAIST? This guy seriously didn't know what he was talking about, first of all he never stabbed me with anything, so no he didn't i-m-p-a-l-e me and he meant waste not W-A-I-S-T!!! The way I see it, if I cannot trust this university to put the time and effort into educating their employees on how to serve potential students I CANNOT trust them to take my education and future seriously either.

Was this review helpful?

Frustrated

Legal Studies - September 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I also attended Kaplan and had excellent grades from them along with a school where I received my Associates degree. I was a little over a year from graduation with my Bachelors degree and had a severe health problem that lasted half a year. During this time I requested a leave after realizing I could not handle my classes and was denied. After failing my classes during the six months I was dismissed without any notice that this would happen. I was trying to appeal the dismissal with my medical doctor behind me and cannot get information even on the appeal process. I have called a few times without any satisfaction and need to get this done soon if possible. It was not my fault I did not pass and did request the leave. Now I will be stuck with student loans without a degree. I plan on notifying FAFSA and anyone who will listen involved with the accreditation process for the school if needed. I am going to give them one more week then do what I have to do.

Was this review helpful?

Great School

Legal Studies - July 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Kaplan for four years now. Graduating July 21, 2009. I found Kaplan to be an excellent school, and not that much different from any other brick and mortar college I have attended. The work is hard, and there is a lot of it (at least in the legal studies program) However, if you are a disciplined adult who does not need a lot of hand holding, you will do very well. If you require hand holding, and cannot make a few phone calls when financial aid and academic advising calls, then don't bother attending. If you lack patience with being put on hold when you make phone calls, then do not attend. If you are an adult...with patience, and have the ability to discipline yourself, you will do amazing at Kaplan. I enjoyed my time at Kaplan so much, that I'm considering completeing my Masters degree here also.

Was this review helpful?

You Gotta Work Hard!

Legal Studies - May 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was pretty skeptical at first because I had never attended an online school. I have had a positive experience with Kaplan. I am 3 terms away from graduating with my BS in Legal Studies. I can honestly say I've learned more about the law than I did attending a traditional school. I had a GREAT advisor who ALWAYS answered phone calls and emails. That's a rare find these days. My Fin Aid advisor calls me promptly as well. I think most people that complain are those who don't stay on top of their schoolwork or their financial account with the school. You gotta keep checking to make sure they are running the ledger correctly. Ive only had one issue with that, but they immediately corrected it.

Was this review helpful?

Something fishy about Kaplan

Legal Studies - February 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am finishing my last term at Kaplan for my associate’s degree in paralegal studies. My instructors, for the most part, are great. They are all lawyers and give great advice. Still, I feel like I could be learning more at a physical university. I do have concerns about Kaplan’s financial department. When I first started at Kaplan they signed me up for a loan, after I told them not too. It took about a week to get straight and that was only after I said I was going to contact the better business bureau. I should have walked away then. Since then, there has been nothing but problems with the financial department. They hound me if there is an issue my bank account or my grants, but I can't get an answer if I have question about charges. Overall I would advise any student to go somewhere else for an education. Something isn't right with Kaplan!

Was this review helpful?

Watch out for Kaplan.

Legal Studies - February 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan was a great university when I first came to them. The course work was challenging and extremely informative. After only a few semesters of attending I started to notice that I didn’t care for them as much as I had in the beginning. I was having login issues, financial aid problems and difficulties with being contacted / contacting my advisor. I was told to apply for loans I didn’t need and registered for classes I never intended to take. My review on this school would simply be this; some of the instructors are great and you will definitely benefit from the over-all curriculum. Yet, I would not recommend this institution to anyone who wasn’t willing to deal with a battle on a regular basis over petty issues. In the middle of an grievance / appeal, I was referred to someone else, my records couldn’t be located and the way I was treated was extremely unprofessional. No one returned phone calls, emails or written correspondents. On the other hand, I received a phone call EVERYDAY for the $141.00 that I owed them at least twice a day. Advice: Really check into your school… I just happened upon this site and wish that I would have seen it earlier…

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan is a fraud

Legal Studies - February 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The only thing Kaplan is good at is taking your money! They are a very sophisticated sales organization centered around numbers not your education. Currently my complaints are being reviewed by the Dept. of Ed (I've spoken with personally); State Dept. of Ed; Attorney General's office and my State Senator. I've been advised to forward my information at this point on to the accreditating agency as well. There is an ongoing investigation into Kaplan's deceitful sales pitches and money scams. Please, if you've been a victim of their shady practices, send complaints to the above mentioned agencies ASAP!

Was this review helpful?

Online school is difficult!

Legal Studies - November 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my final term at Kaplan. I have taken my LSAT and I have big hopes of attending Pace Law School. At first I was concerned with Kaplan's accreditation, but I think I have been able to put those fears to rest as they are fully accredited by one of the five largest accerediting agencies in the country. My concern is that I have just received my LSDAS report and there are no comparison numbers for my LSAT score compared to others from Kaplan who have taken the LSAT. Maybe the school is too new. Well my application to Pace has been submitted and I am awaiting a response. I will keep you all apprised! BTW, online schooling is so much more difficult then traditional schooling. You have to be very disciplined in order to be successful as you do not have anyone reminding you of what you need to do!

Was this review helpful?

Positive

Legal Studies - October 25, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wanted to let whoever comes here know that Kaplan is the real deal. It is regionally accredited, there is federal financial aid. I did my courses from November 8, 2006 through February 19, 2008 and got my BS in Paralegal Studies. I had an associates, so I had 90 credit standing immeadiatly. I submitted my transcripts quickly and I got credit for some of my other school work. I will admit that the financial aid office needs major improvement. I had to track down people just to get my voucher credit applied to my account before i graduated. The books are FREE with your tuition and if you can you can get a Citibank Tuition Assistance Loan if you really need to make it through even if you have 550-600 credit. However the professors I had, all but 2 were great to talk to and taught me a lot. From writing a first paper to doing an appellate brief ive been to a regular on campus school and let me tell you this was WAY harder. So if you think online school isnt hard, try taking a few 400 classes at Kaplan and see how well you do. They are FAR from easy and will challenge your mind. The 100 level classes are easy because they are introductory. I finished with a 3.1, but I also took heavy workloads of 24 quarter credit hrs. I am currently 3 classes into the new MSLS they introduced in March and I have a 4.0. My 2nd class required a 20 page thesis paper on a business legal based ethical question just to give you an example. The Masters is regionally accredited as well. Trust me Kaplan is NOT AN EASY SCHOOL. If you are a good independent student enroll. Might be costly but what in life isnt? As for Concord they are right its not ABA approved. However since it merged with Kaplan it is Regionally accredited and Federal Aid can be given. Therefore it is the only JD I know of that is regionally accredited and done online exclusively. I am very tempted to do it, as ABA schools often treat you like your not worth it. Do I want an ABA school? Who doesn't. Can we afford it, not likely. Thank you Kaplan. Your degrees do mean something. As far as your masters work, it is very challenging. I hope Concord is truly as demanding as my masters thesis work is. Thanks... Richie

Was this review helpful?

Great School, but worried about degree recognition

Legal Studies - October 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So far Kaplan has fit my needs for school. It is flexible and lets me work independently which is my preference. I have not had any issues with financial aid, billing, etc, everything in that area was just as expected and outlined prior to enrolling. As for support my Academic Advisor calls all the time, too often for my liking to follow up and make sure everything is going well. There is a lot of support from the administration. My only concern is whether or not my BS in Legal Studies will be recognized and accepted for my entrance to law school. I am in my 3rd term and that fact has yet to be determined. I hope I am not wasting my time as law school is my ultimate goal. I also learned that Concord Law School an affiliate of Kapplan is NOT accredited or recognized by the American Bar Association and is therefor a waste of time and money. I don't know how they can even be allowed to operate due to that fact. When I initially enrolled at Kaplan my plan was to do go here then transfer to Concord, and was told that Concord was an accredited law school by the dean, so I was flat out lied to which makes me nervous about Kaplan as well. Other than that, the classes are great, the professors are the same as any other school, some are awesome, some are terrible, and most are somewhere in between. The material/curriculum is really easy to follow and understand though it is very much a self taught environment, so if you are not disciplined enough to stay on track then Kaplan may not be the best choice for you. I will post a follow up once I get my answer about the degree recognized to enter law school. "Cross your fingers" :) Hope this helps, have a great day!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

So Far...So Good...

Legal Studies - April 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in Kaplan and coming to the end of my first term. I decided to look online to see what others have to say. I notice that a lot of the complaints are regarding the customer service reps who handle admissions. While I too found them to be annoying, uninformed, and sometimes unaccessible, I have also had the same experience with brick and mortar schools as well. Bottom line, I did what I needed to do to complete my enrollment, and now I'm enjoying the process of learning. My instructors are wonderful, and while some people do tend to yap during seminar about personal things, for the most part, we get the information needed. I agree with the person who stated that some folks just like to complain. As for those who feel "ashamed" to have attended Kaplan, I don't know what to say. I would never feel ashamed for trying to better myself. The classes that I've taken so far have been challenging, and as with any learning experience, you get out of it what you put in. I have no qualms about being able to further my career once I graduate, because my degree from Kaplan will just be a piece of the puzzle. Also, FYI, I've inquired with admission reps at some of the universities in my city (DePaul, Northwestern, U of C) and all have assured me that as long as my grades and classes meet their criteria, attending Kaplan will not prevent me from attending grad school at their institutions.

Was this review helpful?

kaplan is challenging

Legal Studies - February 28, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student at Kaplan and it is my 3rd term and I'm perfectly fine, the teachers are fine, the classes are challenging but when I felt that I would fail something the teachers are there to help you and I ended up having a B-, which is great. I currently have a GPA of 3.18. I"m getting my degree in BS in legal studies. The only problems I encountered has been the tutorial section sometimes they don't help all that much but its alright. Also, the teachers do respond back, and I do get real books up to date and everything. I even had a computer class and the software was provided with the book so i don't see the problem with that. My advisors has changed so many times but its ok, i just need them really to schedule my classes. The course is challenging but if you work hard you can get an A or B at Kaplan. You just have to communicate with your teacher and yes there are times you have to do your homework in the weekends but at a university you do the same thing, I'm just concentrating on getting my degree. Will good luck and I do recommend this school and be really serious about it.

Was this review helpful?

Great

Legal Studies - December 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Love the school!! I am in my 3rd qurator and the school has been great. In my expereince, the teachers have been awsome, whenever i need help...it's there. The site is easy to learn and everything is right there. The format is great! They also offer an online libary where everything is!! I love the school and I def. recomend it.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.