Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING

Medical Coding - December 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I ATTENDED KAPLAN COLLEGE IN 2010 IN HAMMOND INDIANA AND WAS VERY DISPLEASED WITH THE SERVICE THAT I RECEIVED. I WORK IN A HOSPITAL AND CANNOT GET A JOB IN THE CODING DEPARTMENT DUE TO NO ONE RECOGNIZE THE CODING CERTIFICATION THAT I RECEIVED FROM KAPLAN. I WAS TOLD BY THE STAFF THAT KAPLAN CODING CERTIFICATION WAS RECOGNIZED BY AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AND THERE NOT. MY CERTIFICATION IS THRU NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPETENCY TESTING WHICH IS NOT RECOGNIZED BY ANY HOSPITALS OR CERTIFICATION BOARDS. KAPLAN SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF PROVIDING FALSE INFORMATION TO STUDENTS. NOW I AM STUCK WITH A HUGE BILL THRU SALLIE MAE AND CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY IT,I CANNOT GET A JOB IN THE BILLING AND CODING FIELD. SHAME ON YOU KAPLAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IF ANYONE HAVE INFORMATION IN JOINING A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT COUNT ME IN. POST INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE SO I CAN JOIN.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

I really need a job!

Medical Coding - September 29, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently started this class in June and after reading the reviews HOW can someone especially an online college LIE to so many people. I am spending my time and effort to be able to get a good paying job because I am 50000 in debt with student loans! I feel so bad and tricked and just betrayed, this is so unfair! I will join the lawsuit if you give me the information!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

DJ

Medical Coding - September 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are fortunate enough to placed at a hiring extern site, you are probably in the minority The rest of us looking to cash in on our pricey education cannot get passed "1 to 2 years experience". Save yourself some money and look at the job requirements in billing and coding. The Kaplan education prepares you for nothing in the real world.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

poor education!!

Medical Coding - January 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from this school under the medical billing and coding. I will say this, my teacher was great! She was a little to great for this school. What I mean is she wasn't able to teach us beyond the syllabus said. The work kaplan gives is way too easy and does not prepare you for the "real world". They make it easy so it looks like everyone there is smart so their ratings could go up. They don't are about you once your enrolled. At first they are so nice and seem so helpful, but once you sign those papers they got you. Forget trying to leave the school. They will talk to you for hours on why you want to quit. Basically beg you to stay just to keep there retention rate. I regret going there. I'm in 10000 dollars in debt, where I could've gone to community college to get the same certificate for waayyyy less. Can't for to mention they make you pay for so many books and don't even use all of them. Waste of money. I didn't even bother walking at the ceremony. Point is DO NOT ENROLL at kaplan . Aka kaplan krooks!!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT THROW YOUR MONEY AWAY!!

Medical Coding - July 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The course is ok, but they have no one to teach it. All the students in this class failed the Written CPR section. The teacher gave the answers to the students as they retook the test so they could pass and move on to the next item. I f you want a USELESS completion certificate for thousands of dollars, then this is the place to be!!!! You will never pass any other test given by state or national testing sites.... PLEASE!!!!!! SAVE YOUR MONEY, DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

I don't understand

Medical Coding - April 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see there is a lot of talk about FA, but very little on the actual education experience. I am on my third semester at KU and am really enjoying my classes. I have an AA, and three years towards my MA from a traditional college. I was not able to finish, and now that I am much older, I want to do something different. My problem stems not from the education I am receiving but from the overwhelming majority of my classmates. They are illiterate! I see them from one semester to the next, some are even about to graduate. How can this be? I am very worried about the worth of my degree from KU. Do they graduate everyone as long as that person shows up and puts minimal effort into their education? I am really upset over this and would really appreciate any insight into this matter.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Landonsmommy116

Medical Coding - February 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about to start my externship and cannot find any where to do it. Am I getting help? NO!!! How do you tell students you will help them find employment and not finish through with that promise. So I am spending all this money for what? Im better off flipping burgers.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Looking to sue who is with me??

Medical Coding - August 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended the merriville campus.. Black and White mods were good got lectures hands on learning it was good... Then when i went to my medical billing and coding classes the teacher did not lecture not once gave all questions and answers as study guides to the class including for finals i taught myself out of the book only to be sat in class with a crazy pill popping lady.. It was a scam now after starting my externship which i got on my own without the help of kaplan i learn i can't even be hired into a medical office to be a medical coder because i will not take the qualified test that is required by medical offices.. Medical billing you do NOT need a degree for what did i spend 15000 on.....I will be contacting a lawyer to get my situation taken care of if anyone agrees with this and would like to give me their horror stories or be witness email me...

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

I want my money back!

Medical Coding - June 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was ripped off by the person that "SOLD" me this course. I was told I would get a $50K job after completion. I was told the course materials were $50. They were over $1,000. I was told it could be done in 4 months. I worked full time and it took 8 months because the last course has homework that has to be graded and it cannot be done quicker than 6 weeks. Now, after completion, I have contacted over 50 medical offices and have offered to work and train for free and without 2 years experience, no one will train. This course does not give you the education necessary to take the CPC exam which most offices require. I feel totally ripped off and lied too. I paid in full up front and I want my money back. P Sullivan

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Stalkers

Medical Coding - May 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Didn't even get started cause in put in a request for info on the net. Since that day they have drove me crazy. They call my home and cell # 20xs a day. They hang on on your machine and never leave a message to call anyone back. they even searched me i guess and found my sister's # and tried calling her to get me. come on now. I would never even give them a chance just for stalking.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.