Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

Don't Do It. Student

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - January 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Well I am letting all nurses with their Associates Degree to not come here, they do not recognize it. I took the first semester and was told 8 weeks into the course that I did not meet criteria with the Associates Degree for my Nursing. Even though my Official Transcript states Associates in Science for Nursing, and the prior Associates that I took transferred 5 classes into my nursing degree, so I only had 50 credits left to finish my Nursing degree, which was basically all my nursing courses. But no that is not how it works and they do not transfer in credits for that. They wanted me to take another 41 credits and told me it was a Diploma and not a Degree. I was pissed beyond belief, that first I had to deal with this and prove that it was a Degree. Wrote a letter to the Dean, Can you say USELESS? Yup, she was. She kept telling me that she would look into it and get to the bottom of this. She never looked once. 3 emails later and she was telling me Excuse Me but there are multiple people that look at transcripts and that she and my so called Advisor were working on it, but still no results. I left this college after the first course with a 99.84 Average, but I have no idea what I am doing because I took a Diploma and not a Degree, not saying Diploma is bad, but to me it boiled down to the money and I refused to pay more than I knew I had too. Their Financial Aid department was another disgrace. They have no clue about Financial Aid. They held my credit, which is fine I told them too, but then told me that I would owe $840 for the next semester. I asked how that was possible with the Financial aid scheduled for February and the credit balance would be about 4500.00, but they said it would not be. Oh well do yourself a favor and do not go here. Kaplan does not care about anyone other than their pocketbook, very poor Customer Service all the way up to the Dean. BBB is also being made aware of this facility. There are other colleges out there that do not play games, may be a little more expensive, but much easier to work with. LU is the place to be, it was quick, easy, and done in no time and they took both my Associates Degrees and 73 credits later transferred in to the program.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Definitely Worthwhile if you want it to be

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - April 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with my BSN in 2010. It is definitely not a degree mill. I worked very hard, and earned every bit of that degree. The majority of the teachers were great, especially in the nursing classes. They went the extra mile, called me at home, and really made sure I knew what I was doing. There were one or two instructors in non-nursing classes, like Statistic who were less than helpful. I struggled in that class, and my responses to my emails or messages were not answered promptly or at all, otherwise, that was very rare for the majority of classes I took. You must do you homework, and not expect any handholding. It was clear that there were some people who did not do any assignments or readings, so perhaps they were hoping for a pass despite this. Why pay all this money for tuition and not try your hardest to learn and grow? The major complaint I have however is their billing department. I went through countless hours trying to get my account sorted out over the course of two years. For someone who was paying cash, I am disturbed how many screw ups and how many people were in my account altering things. Billing/financial aid is call center based, so don't expect to speak to the same person each time, and some people barely spoke English. I actually had to request to speak to a different person one time because I could not understand the person on the phone because the accent was so thick. I would get my Masters from Kaplan in a heartbeat if it weren't for their crazy billing department. For a cash payer, you'd think it would be streamlined, but it was a nightmare. Unanswered emails, sat on hold for over 30 min at a time, and would be told something completely different every time I called. Kaplan=great teachers, support, curriculum, but awful billing dept.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan University Online BSN

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - July 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed the BSN program in June 2012. I must admit the University is very up to date on technology and making the students use technology. The instructors with exception of one gentleman emphasized APA format. The BSN program also require 60 hours of onsite clinicals that must be approved prior to completion of the BSN with evaluations. I obtained my MSM prior to starting this program, and understanding technology and research techniques are pertinent. They do not give A's you must earn them. A few colleagues complained about receiving C's or withdrew from THEIR lack of dedication or personal situations. I worked hard to be successful in this program 4.0. I have two NEGATIVE experiences:A. one financial aid representative kept giving incorrect information, that led to a lump sum monies owned at the end of the program. I was a self pay student. Secondly, one professor obviously did not use the 6th Ed. APA book, because he would mark things incorrect that were correct. Furthermore, his comment was the following: Because our writing styles are different the best grade for this paper is a B once a C. I challenged him with the C with references from the APA 6th Ed. manual. Overall, if you are a focused individual, understand research and APA, and desire a veteran or military discount with books included in the tuition. This school maybe for you. According to the handbook and other sites the school is CCNE accredited. Upon graduation they have a networking site with job posting. Also I am a member of the Golden Key Society, which was offered through the numerous Honor societies. Good luck with your ventures.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

CHOOSING KAPLAN IS A MISTAKE!!

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - August 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was told the whole time that it will only take 18 months to 2 years to finish my BSN. So I started my 1st term right away coz I did not want to waste any more time. They made us do this PLAN OF STUDY assignment, and that's when I realized that it will take us FOUR FREAKING YEARS to finish the BSN program since 1 class is 10 weeks long! Now, if you want to finish within 2 years, you'll have to take 2-3 classes per term! I think people go to online schools because we barely have enough time to divide between work, family and personal time. ANd who wants to read two different books and write different papers every week while working fulltime and has a spouse and kids??! I guess if the admission staff had been honest to me that it will take FOUR YEARS to finish UNLESS I DOUBLE UP MY LOAD, then maybe this is not going to be a big deal. But lying to students and giving us FALSE information is just not right. This is more difficult because we do not see the people we are talking to, and all they do when you call is put you on hold and transfer you to different department! also, BEWARE OF THEIR FINANCIAL AID!! I am a military spouse and was supposed to get a military discount, but that discount never showed up on my financial statement. I followed up of course, and I was told that it shows on their records and that i just do not see it on mine! So when I was about to withdraw from the school, this stup** lady told me that I AM NOT AN ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY - DOES NOT MATTER THAT I AM A MILITARY SPOUSE - SO THEREFORE I AM NOT ENTITLED TO A MILITARY DISCOUNT. She even told me that it was never on my record that I'm supposed to get any discount! It was frustrating that one people tell you this, and the next time you call, the other person tell you that... Kaplan is too expensive and is definitely not worth your time and money. Yes they only charge $371 per credit hour compared to $450 of phoenix! but kaplan's one class is worth 6 credits, while phoenix and other universities only do 3! So do the math! Everybody was so nice and supportive when they were trying to get me into their school- and at least on the first week of class because they want to make sure you don't drop on the first week coz you can still get a FULL REFUND ON THE FIRST WEEK. but after that - it's HELL! I do not have any complain with the teacher --- every teacher from every school has different attitudes and teaching styles! But why spend 4 years and about $35,000 to get your BSN if you can get it in 2 years and $15,000 in a different school?? We work hard for our money, and time is gold. Both we do not want to just waste! So I suggest, you check with Phoenix or Walden, or any other online schools before you go to Kaplan. Kaplan's nclex review is good! They are only meant for review courses --- not a whole degree program!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Find Another Program

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - March 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

With all of the nursing programs available, why did I chose this one? It's expensive, the standards are low, the clinical settings are poor and the teachers are mediocre. I wish I had chosen a quality state college or a well-thought-of private institution. Why not go to Vanderbilt if you're paying Vanderbilt prices? This school is a diploma mill for people who do not want to be challenged.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Do not go to Kaplan

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - March 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First class was ok, but after the first class, things went down quickly. Not only no textbook for the class, when doing discussion board (blog), the instructor's common limited in "good job.", "goo post.", and "I enjoy your post." Honestly, I didn't even know what I was writing and guess what, I got the full point. This is a school for people don't want to learn anything to go to, if you just need a degree without knowledge, Kaplan is the right school for you!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Impressive instructors

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - July 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a AAS RN for 30 years and have been looking for a program to get my BSN. The online program at Kaplan has given me the opportunity to further my education while work within the physical limitations of Guillian Barre Syndrome that I am currently recovering from. I checked two other online programs and chose this one because of the level of experience the instructors have in addition to the educational level they are required to have in order to teach. I have been impressed with the amount of concern that my Academic Adviser has shown me in helping me make proper course choices knowing that I intend on continuing for my MSN after my BSN in finished. She has encouraged me every step of the way and even when I was in danger of failing statistics, helped me work with the instructor so I could immediately turn around the next semester retake the course with a different instructor so I would have a better chance of succeeding the second time. I have only a few minor glitches with the financial aid office and they were primarily related to the fact I was assigned to a new officer-my former one changed positions. But in her defense, she sent me an email in response to my question letting me know who I had to contact instead. My only gripe has been something that I have noticed that last time I attended college and that is that what one instructor requires when citing APA, another does not and that can lead to frustration. Other than that I have in the past and will continue in the future, suggest this college to anyone who is looking for an online program.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Very Satisfied

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - March 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Kaplan School of Nursing with my BSN in Dec. 08. I was very pleased with the level of instruction and the communication from the insturctors. I found Kaplan to be very informative and up to date with nursing practice. The online format is not for everyone, and it certainly is not "easier" than attending classes. You will put in hours of work each week and will get out of the program what you put into it. I was so pleased with the format and level of professionalism within the school of nursing that I am presently attending the Masters of Nursing Program. This is an adult level of education and if you are not disciplined in your learning habbits you will be left behind in a cloud of dust.

Was this review helpful?

Good Experience

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - December 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just recently graduated with a BSN. My experience was great. Most of the classes were structured well and the instructors had adequate credentials. I am planning on starting my MBA at Kaplan in 2009. The only complaint that I have is with the lack of communication from the financial aid office.

Was this review helpful?

poor

Bachelor of Science in Nursing - August 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

this was a very bad experience for me ...one that has made me decide never to do online classes again nor will i recommend this university to anyone that i know. It was all good when I was signing up for the classes but once you are in the class you cant get anyone to return your calls or assist you in anyway. VERY BAD EXPERIENCE very poor communication with the students/ teacher

Was this review helpful?


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.