Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

Kaplan is a great experience

Heatlth Sciences - November 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm completing my Bachelor's degree from Kaplan University in February of 2016 in Health & Wellness. I'm also older, and a Veteran. I have read both good and bad reviews. What I can say is this was a great experience for me. I mean, I didn't have to drive and use gas to go to school. I didn't have to try and find parking. I didn't have to pay for parking. I didn't have to wonder what I was going to wear when I attended school, and I didn't have to be there at a certain time (except for attending seminar). I don't think I would have been able to finally complete my degree had it not been for Kaplan. They accepted most of my credits from the military, and other schools I attended. The support for me has been very good. I tell anyone, if you want something bad enough, you have to be the one who is proactive, and on top of things. Don't depend on someone else to do it for you. The negative reviews on here, in my opinion, are from people who didn't truly do their research, or weren't proactive. I highly recommend Kaplan. Sure, online is not for everyone. On campus is not for everyone. You have to know your strengths and weaknesses. You know, I know people who went to UCLA who swear it was the best experience, but ask someone who went to USC and they'll say "UCLA sucks!" Harvard students will say Stanford sucks! What I'm saying is, the quality of education a person gets at any school will be based on the effort they put in. A person could go to Compton College and get a better education than someone who went to Cal State. It just depends on your motivation to get educated. Kaplan is fine for me. I'm getting my degree and I'm proud of it. I also will graduate with honors.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

This was a great experience!

Heatlth Sciences - April 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I cannot agree with most of the reviews about KAPLAN University. I have recently obtained my Bachelors of Science in Health and Wellness at KAPLAN and I have had nothing but a good experience my entire stay. All my previous education and schooling was completed in Germany and the transfer standards to American schools are somewhat difficult to explain; one has to get translations, transcripts etc. KAPLAN however has not only been very understanding and helpful with the aforementioned, but also in accommodating to the active duty military lifestyle my family and I lead (two small children). Learning at KAPLAN was fun and challenging and I can honestly say that while perhaps an online only school may not be for everyone, especially those having issues with self drive, motivation and ambition, it is a great choice for those whom learn well on their own and have no problems following directions and instructions. While computer knowledge would certainly help a lot, Tech Support is always there to explain and lend a helping hand, I had no problems at all with that. The professors are just like they would be in real life at a brick-and-mortar school; 99% were outstanding, caring individuals with great personalities, others were a little bit more of a challenge but not a deterrent at all. I not once had any issue with the instructors that was not promptly resolved or dealt with, mainly because I am very precise student striving to fulfill all requirements as stated and because I am friendly and respectful of class mates and the faculty. Any person reasonably smart and willing to put in the work will find KAPLAN to be a great choice of school, while anyone not willing follow instructions, be on time for online seminars, discussions or the occasional team exercises should actually attend a different school that perhaps gives more detailed instructions or is less inclined to expect adults to act as such. Anyone truly interested in furthering their education, and doing it on their own schedule, can do it. I graduated Summa Cum Laude with a GPA of 3.96, and that with English as a second language. ;)

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

DONT make the same mistake I did!!

Heatlth Sciences - December 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was informed with just three terms left that my financial aid will run out before I complete my degree and therefore my diploma will be held until I pay the amount of over six thousand dollars for the last terms. I am getting my degree because I have been working low paying jobs for so long that I wanted to move up in my career and now I am finding that this degree, when I finally get it since it will likely take my a year to pay off the balance and then receive it, is likely going to do nothing for me. The majority of "real" colleges WILL NOT EXCEPT CREDITS FROM KAPLAN and therefore I am unable to use them to transfer to another school. Therefore, I am now stuck with over 50 thousand dollars of debt for a Bachelor's degree that should have only cost about 30 thousand. All of that for a degree that is ultimately meaningless.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Bachelors of Health and Wellness

Heatlth Sciences - November 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Happy Wellness to All of You, I was enrolled in the Health and Wellness program at Kaplan University. I enjoyed every last bit of the program except one professor in the biochem department, but overall I was able to complete the program and gain my degree. In my last semester, I ran into financial aid difficulties because I maxed out of my total undergrad borrowing limit. I had never heard of that, but I know I got to pay for my education. I want to say to many of you that are thinking about enrolling or a students already enrolled keep going and don't stop. You are going to bump into rude and unsupportive professors, they are in every school. In the health and wellness major, the instructors are great and im not just saying it. Students that finish the health and wellness program can work in gyms, fitness clubs, corporate wellness centers, assisted living/nursing home wellness director (requires about 3 months more schooling at the community college). There are more jobs out there including some humans service positions as well. The nutritional program, the school tells the student from day 1, you will not be eligible to take the ADA exam at the end of the degree program. There may be provisions for a Masters degree in dietetics and nutrition at a brick and mortar classroom setting. This will allow you to get the internships that you need to get licensed. Another way to get licensed is through internships at the local teaching hospital (county). It take 900 hours of internship to satisfy the board. Do the internship and get the license. You can still work without a license, but just the degree. You can work as a diet tech, dietician's assistant, dietary supervisor, district nutritional school specialist. there are even teaching opportunities in the school districts. The list goes on and on. Kaplan is a good school. just becareful of the major that YOU choose. Take care and be in good health.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

horrible financial aid department

Heatlth Sciences - March 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan is turning out to be horrible. I have been taking my classes since 2008 and then took a break til 2009. I had one instance with financial aid where they paid too much to me and I had to pay back $1100 because of changes with loans when the president was reelected. I wasn't mad about that I simply paid it back. But they are constantly screwing up my aid and sending me my living expenses which I rely on since I haven't landed employment yet. Now i am one my last set of classes and they say I owe 3880 bucks. I am half way through a course and once finished I only have my capstone class to do and will be graduating. Kaplan waits til I am almost done to royally screw me over then offer me another stupid loan on top pf my student loans to pay for it. WTH!! I cant pull money i don't have out my butt. I cant get my degree if i have a balance and i need it in order to attend law school right after i finish. This school is setting people up for failure. The phone calls are always so lengthy and continuous to talk to someone. I get bounce around to different departments. No one ever knows what they are talking about because i get different answers each time. I am sick of this school simply because of the financially aid department. The classes are great and most of the teachers are wonderful and helpful but financial aid needs to do their jobs right. The agents are friendly but they don't know anything. i just wanna be done with this degree.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Do not waste your time or money

Heatlth Sciences - January 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I owe Kaplan 30,000 for a Bachelors in Healthcare Administration. It has been one year and I have not found employment. I talked to the Kaplan career advisor and she wasn't helping me find a job. She was actually showing me different résumé techniques and how to conduct myself during an interview. It was basically degrading and made me feel stupid because I already know job interview techniques and resume writing key words and such. She was trying to sell me another Kaplan degree by encouraging me to waste more time at Kaplan and earn a masters. When I told her a healthcare worker told me I needed a certification and that I needed to go to a community college, I never ever heard from the Kaplan Career advisor ever again. She won't return my emails or calls. Don't waste your time or money. Kaplan degrees are worthless. I don't understand why the government allows them to operate off federal loans it the degrees are useless.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan University

Heatlth Sciences - January 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Kaplan now for about a year and 3 months and I have had some troubles, especially with getting things to work on my website, which I later found to be an issue with my server and not the school. I am dissapointed in some things they offer, like online registration. I tried to use it since I tend to spend upwards of 1-2 hours on the phone every term to register. I have also been disconnected on many occasions when trying to register. They said his was up and running then it didnt work at all. I called in to be told well it is still new. I said then it should not be offered. I am dissapointed in Kaplans inability to use direct deposit for LIVE EXP checks I get every term. I have also received my excess funds on some terms in 3-6 seperate checks which one was dispersed after the start of my next term. After complaining with upper management and reassigning a new academic advisor, I have had none of these problems since October. I thnk every school has their issues and some people just get the short stick like I did. When I called to complain about the phone system disconnecting me, I was told that happens at the end and start of every term since students are claling in to register for classes. I would expect to hear, I am sorry, I will make a note of that and make sure someone is notified to have that looked into, not that happens every term.. deal with it... I have had good and bad experiences with Kaplan but compared to UOP, this school is great even if the technical stuff can get frustrating at times. I would give them a 8/10 overall since they have worked to resolve my issues even if it takes multiple phone calls to get it done.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

In the middle.

Heatlth Sciences - October 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the Health Science program for Health and Wellness. All my professors have been wonderful with the exception of one (so far). The classes and books are great. I really like the online set up that Kaplan uses. It is organized and easy to use. I have been to another online university and I could not stand the online program they used for the school and the other university did not have seminars which was horrible. I love that Kaplan has seminars for the classes. The down side is the financial aid department. I did have someone give me wrong information which screwed up my financial aid. I filed several complaints and finally after returning they corrected the mistake. Kaplan needs to work on their financial aid department! and a little on the academic advising, as I have had some difficulty with an "advisor." Again, they apologized for what the advisor did, but it (my situation) just should not have happened. With financial aid- write everything down and document what is said and who said it! Overall the school is good and always seems to be improving.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Waste of time and effort

Heatlth Sciences - July 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan is a horrible school to attend. Both my husband and I were active duty military with a newborn, so I thought Kaplan would be a good school to fit our schedule. I was so wrong. My first semester was horrible, but because it was my first semester at on online school I decided to start my second term and my experience would be better. I was wrong again. I was having technical trouble with all of my classes, but after contacting tech support nothing changed. When I struggled with my course material the instructors didn't want to offer any help or suggestions. I was regularly told to "Google it". If I had wanted to use Google to learn everything I wouldn't have paid the high prices of going to Kaplan. If I knew what I was doing in the class my professors would give my low grades because I knew too much already before I learned it in class or because I didn't take the information off the internet. From my previous college and high school I maintained a 4.0 GPA and I was receiving high 90s on the tests at Kaplan not graded by the instructors. Because of this I knew that I was struggling at Kaplan not because of anything I was doing, but because of the poor quality of Kaplan's professors and their learning structure. I learned nothing new or of value in any of my courses at Kaplan and was punished for knowing more than a kid in grade school. When I registered for classes my first term at Kaplan I informed my counselor that I would be transferring after about a year to a four year school offering a premedical program, and I was informed that my credits I earned from Kaplan would transfer. Believing the counselor I enrolled at Kaplan and now that I am trying to transfer to a “brick and mortar” school that offers a premed program my Kaplan credits don’t transfer over, not even as elective credits. Attending Kaplan has been not only a waste of money but my time and effort as well. I would not recommend anyone attend Kaplan for any reason at any time.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Holds You Hostage in Masters Program

Heatlth Sciences - July 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Bachelors degree with no problems, later started my Masters program and had classes scheduled out for a year. I logged into one class before I knew my work schedule was changing and that I would not be able to attend the class and do well so I contacted the instructor and my academic advisor. Kaplan's policy is if you log into the class even once (dropped only 4 days after class started) you are charged 10% of the tuition. DO NOT GO HERE FOR YOUR MASTERS DEGREE!!!!! So they just lost a student and a potential $20,000 over about $200.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 16 people found the following review helpful

The Teachers Suck

Heatlth Sciences - May 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my second term here at Kaplan and the instructors are unprofessional and one of them even held class from a wifi cafe which had a ton of background noise. In addition to this, she is always leaving seminar early which is definately a no-no. I have complained to Kaplan about this and if they don't do something, this will be my last term here.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Stay Away money hungry type of school

Heatlth Sciences - November 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please stay lets just say I took six classes and owe over 10,000 a true rip off. The financial aid officer from the beginning messed up my aid plan so in the end I ended up owing 3400,00 and all the staff could say was I'm sorry. None of the staff were helpful and very often an adviser is quick to give you conflicting information than the last person you spoke to prior. This school I felt was going to be a great investment towards my educational experience but ended up turning into a true nightmare. The website always had technical glitches and the staff were not supportive at all. I definitely would recommended that you do your homework on this school or you might end up with alot of unwanted debt and a school with no values!!!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL

Heatlth Sciences - November 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

YOU WOULD NOT BELEIVE WHAT THIS SCHOOL HAS PUT ME THROUGH WHERE DO I BEGIN FIRST OF ALL I STARTED OUT IN THE NUTRITION SCIENCE PROGRAM IF GOT A C IN ONE OF MY MAJOR COURSES WHICH WE ALL KNOW YOU CANNOT DO ANYWAY THE SCHOOL CALLS ME TO LET ME KNOW THAT I WILL HAVE TO RE-TAKE THE CLASS BUT THAT THEY HAD TO CHANGE MY GRADE IN THE SYSTEM FROM A C TO AN F WHICH IN TURN DROP MY GPA BELOW A 2.5 THEY THEN TOLD ME THAT THEY WOULD PUT ME IN AN AAS PROGRAM SO THAT I COULD BRING MY GRADE UP AND THEN I GO BACK TO MY ORGINAL PROGRAM SO WHEN THE TIME CAME TO TRANSFER BACK TO THE ORIGINAL PROGRAM THEY TOLD WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT WHEN YOU ONLY NEED ONE CLASS TO GET THIS AAS DEGREE THEN YOU WILL BE 90 CREDITS INTO YOUR DEGREE AND YOU CAN GET AN ADVANCE DEGREE IN NUTRTION SCIENCE FINE NO PROBLEM SO I TAKE MY CLASSES AND NO DEGREE EVER COMES SO I CALL THE SCHOOL LIKE WHERE IS MY DEGREE AND THEY ARE THEY TOLD ME THAT THE SYSTEM SAID THAT I DROP...WTF...DROP ARE YOU FRIGGIN KIDDING THERE IS NO WAY I DROP OUT OF SCHOOL MY LAST SEMESTER THEN THEY HAD THE NERVE TO TELL ME OOOPS YOU HAVE 85 CREDITS INSTEAD OF 90 AND YOU NEED ONE MORE CLASS SO I SAID..WHAT! ARE YOU KIDDING ANYWAY OK I WILL TAKE THE CLASS ONLY FOR THEM TO SAY OOOPS YOU OWE US 4000 W T H HOW DO I OWE YOU FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS SO NOW HERE IT IS TWO YEARS LATER THAT I HAVE BEEN FIGHTING THEM MY DEGREE AND I STILL DON'T HAVE WHAT I HAVE IS A COLLEGE TRANSCRIPT WITH OVER 85 FRIGGIN CREDITS ON IT AND NOT PIECE OF PAPER TO SHOW FOR IT THIS SCHOOL SUCKS WITH A CAPITAL S AND I WILL NOT REST UNTIL THEY GIVE ME WHAT IS RIGHTFULLY MINE IF THEY THINK THEY ARE GOING TO GET AWAY WITH THIS THEY ARE FRIGGIN CRAZY THIS IS WAR NOW I HAVE A LAWYER AND EVERYTHING DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL FOR NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 12 people found the following review helpful

It's Alright....

Heatlth Sciences - June 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am within a few months of finishing up my AAS for HIT. I'm excited to be out.. this is my second year. I am not planning to continue on to get my bachelors through Kaplan. I was unaware of their lack of CAHIIM accreditation for my program. They are in the process of getting it, but should they be denied i will be out of luck with a useless degree. The teachers have been great with the exception of maybe 2.. but it is like that no matter where you go. The fin Aid had always been messed up and involved lengthy phone calls to get it straight... too bad really. I think that is their biggest downfall. As for the courses you take away what you put in. Im choosing to work hard and be able to do something when i am finished. I do like the clinical part of my degree. Going and working for a site can be a bit of a hassle but at the same time i am getting real world experience which is fantastic.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.