Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

Great School

Psychology - August 12, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Kaplan for the last year and a half, and I love this school. You are able to take more than two classes if they feel you can handle it, I have take more than three classes twice. I would say that the FA depart does need a little of work, but I say on top of my a fairs. As far as the course work goes it is not easy and there is a lot of writing, but I work hard and have earned every grade I have gotten. I am currently getting ready to enter my last term with a 3.90 GPA. I have gone to traditional colleges and I like the online format better.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Poor Service, Withholding customer refund

Psychology - June 15, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Completely screwed up my wife's financial aid. Refused to help. Every time we called they said we just "updated it" and to call back in 5 days. Call back 5 days later, same explanation. Called back again, same explanation. I don’t write negative reviews lightly, however the complete lack of customer satisfaction is appalling.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Withdrawing from Kaplan University is very difficult

Psychology - November 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Do not waste your time with this “university.” When I tried to withdraw completely from Kaplan University, Camille S would not help me. When I called Student Services to withdraw completely from Kaplan University, I was transferred to 5 different people. I had to go to the Kaplan University web site and explain my situation to someone through Live Chat. The Kaplan University enrollment process is easy, but the Kaplan University withdrawal process is very difficult. Kaplan University customer service is horrible. Changing people’s lives daily through the power of education? This is much more accurate: Ruining people’s lives daily through the power of deceptive marketing and false advertising.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

AWFUL COMMUNICATION/EXTENSIVELY HIGH PRICES

Psychology - May 21, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose Kaplan in an effort to be loyal. I had earned a prior Technical Diploma from them and thought it would just be easier to get my Bachelor's with them as well. Financial Aid is the most horrible travesty that I have ever had to deal with when it comes to my education. They were saying that I was running out of FA, but when I had them break it down to me, they continued to give me different amounts. To make a long story short there was no break for my loyalty to them. The advisors are difficult to reach and their FA department can be down right RUDE! If you are looking for interaction and clarification when it comes to you finances, this is not the school for you. Alos their staff has an extremly large turn over rate.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Good Experience

Psychology - April 15, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello, I agree with the people who left positive reviews. You HAVE to apply yourself in any online program or you will fail. If you fail, it is not Kaplan doing it to you, but you yourself. When I joined Kaplan University, I came in with an AAS in Criminal Justice from TESST College of Technology (an affiliate on-site campus of Kaplan). I had graduated with 90 credits and a Summa Cum Laude (3.84 GPA). Because I am a Veteran and I had some credits through my military training, I was able to come into the advanced BS of Psychology Program with a total of 109 credits. I was also able to receive the military discount on all classes and material. Kaplan is really good to Veterans! The teachers and staff are all very communicative and knowledgeable. It's a great school to attend if you are motivated and want to graduate! Well worth signing up. Thank you, Kaplan!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Extremely Satisfied Kaplan Student

Psychology - February 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I want to start off by saying, enrolling into a school isva huge deal, so it would be wise to actually READ everything before you sign it! I'm so tired of reading complaints about Kaplan from people who are compltely ignorant. Like when someone complains that they had to pay for half of a term when they droped the class within the first 3 weeks, and they say Kaplan is stealing because they do that. Well if you had read what you signed it states in the paperwork that that is the exactly what happens. You signed a contract, why should they lose money cause you were in breach. It's exactly the same when you're renting an apartment, and you break the lease. As far as FA is concerned, I've never had any trouble with the people that work in that department. Now I'm sure that other people have, but why don't you Google ANY college and try to find one that doesn't have complaints about their FA department....you can't! Anyway, I'm currently enrolled at Kaplan and EARNING my bachelor's degree in psychology with a concentration in substance abuse. I have a 4.0 GPA, but it was not handed to me, I work my tail off for it. They don't hand out grades like that, you have to earn them. Just because this is an online school, doesn't mean it's easy. If anything it takes more self control and responsibility than attending a brick and mortar. Most of the professors also have jobs in their field. Alk of my psychology professors also work in clincs, hospitals, and one even has her own practice. My sister in law is a student a Penn State and when I showed her my textbooks, and work she said it's identical to her psych class. I think the people that have so much crap to say about the curriculum, just could handle it. Most commercials for online schools say you get your degree in your own time, which is both true znd false. You get your work at the beginning of the week and it's due in exactly one week. You don't just do it and turn it in whenever you feel like it, and you're penalized when your work is late. Kaplan is an amazing school, with incredible professors, and support from tutors and counselors. You get what you put into it!! Good luck to everyone!!

Was this review helpful?

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan University -Not for the Weak Minded

Psychology - January 19, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't really like writing reviews; however, I feel Kaplan does not receive enough credit. I have 1 1/2 months left until my Bachelor of Psychology degree and if rigorous coursework is what you are looking for, you will find it here. The teachers are not going to let you slide by on your charms. At first this angered me, not because I wanted to slide by, I just wanted it to be easier. When I gave it some thought, I asked myself, wouldn't you want to go to a professional that was truly educated? Especially in the world of psychology where you are dealing with people's lives that's a very crucial and sensitive thing. So, now I appreciate it, all the hard work. If anyone attends Kaplan and fails, it is their own fault. I have never seen any institution offer so much help from the counselors to the teachers to the online free tutoring. They give you every bit of assistance you need to succeed without just giving you an easy pass. I love this school and they don't know I'm writing this I'm just very happy with my experience. The only thing is I didn't realize this when I started, but I live in Iowa and the graduation is in Chicago, IL I believe. I haven't really checked or verified that I'm just focusing on finishing right now.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful

It works for me

Psychology - January 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my B.degree in criminal justice (emphasis in forensic psychology)last November and am currently half way through my M. degree in addiction psychology. I have had a great experience at Kaplan and that is why I decided to return to this institution for my masters. I agree with the individual who stated that "you get in what you put in." I have worked very hard and dedicated much time and effort into my education and was able to complete my bachelor degree in three years, by taking three classes when I could. However, I did feel that grade inflation may have been taking place. In addition, I found all of the instructors extremely helpful and supportive as I also do in the masters program. I have found some differences in the graduate program, differences that I consider to be an improvement. I do not feel that grade inflation is an issue as I know of several students who have flunked out of the stats and research methods classes. I also feel that the work does appropriately become more challenging and for those of you who say it is not a "real" school , I will have you know that two of my nephews who graduated from UCONN find the work to be appropriately challenging and comparable to the work that they had while completing their degrees. In fact, one of my math classes was said to be more difficult than theirs. So maybe UCONN is not a real school either. As far as the price, it is somewhat on the costly side however, I was in no way deceived about this before I enrolled and I honestly find Kaplan to be a quality institution. For those of you who say that no company will hire with a degree from Kaplan, I know of at least one. I found my dream job a few months ago, one that directly relates to the degree that I am currently working on and have an opportunity to move up quickly when I complete my degree in nine months. Obviously this company values the degree on some level as do I, knowing that I have put much effort into learning the material and concepts. So as it was stated previously, I believe that you get what you put in. You can learn using their flexible programs and no one should feel as though their degree will not be valued. I feel that that is just nonsense. So it may not be an ivy league school but it IS an accredited institution and earning a degree will always be beneficial.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Future Student

Psychology - August 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have not yet read a story on someone finishing classes and finding a great job... why? I would love to see people come back and give reports rather good or bad. I will soon be starting classes with Kaplan online, which my husband has received his B. degree in Criminal Justice and now going for his M.degree. as far as I've seen, it is very convenient and helpful if your a parent and have to work for a living. If someone has finished or know someone who has, please let me know via email courtneycottrell21@yahoo.com. Thanks and good luck in life!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

Psychology - March 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began at Kaplan in 2007 while raising a toddler as a single parent. I was able to complete my B.S. in Management without missing a term and even graduated Summa Cum Laude in 2011. This was done through sicknesses, family deaths, (normal drama), and even a devastating hospitalization. I've said all this to say that the instructors are understanding and supportive if you show them that you're serious and trustworthy. I will admit, there was one instructor with whom I (for some reason) could not get along. I would expect no more or less from any other school. Wonderful experience! B. Mouzon South Carolina

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Happy Graduate 2010

Psychology - June 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a wonderful experience with Kaplan. School is always expensive and as a mom of two children with disabilities I was faced with difficulty going to school and having to commute to and from school. My family commitments were very heavy and Kaplan was a wonderful opportunity for me to be home and go to school. I found the classes challenging and requirements engaging. The reading was at level with my brick and morter classes at traditional Universities. Although I found the classtime much more engaging and the teachers responsive and knowledgable. They gave me personalized attention for the most part. I also felt that I got to know other students in my classes much better than I had ever in a traditional face to face classroom environment. The seminar platform and chatting capability was very helpful. I especially loved that I could go back and listen to the lecture over and over if needed to review for tests or follow up on a concept. Overall my experience was wonderful and I graduated with highest honors in Psychology with focus on Child Development. I was recently accepted into a Masters program very easily and paying back my student loans has not been that difficult. Borrowing money is always a challenge but I feel the people who are mentioning that as a sore spot for attending the college are really just complaining about the fact that they couldn't afford school in the first place. For me it was an amazing and positive experience.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good Program

Psychology - June 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am 51 credits through my B.S. Psychology program at Kaplan and I have had a very good experience so far. The material Kaplan provides is great. There are NO free grades here. I laugh when I read people who get mad and talk bad about Kaplan in regards to the course work and the degree you receive being legit. I figure they only do so because they thought they were going to get a free grade or an easy A because it is a for profit school and after starting they found out that this is not the case at all. Financial aid department is pretty bad like anywhere else and the school is costly but you will learn a lot while attending if you put in the work. And yes it is Regionally Accredited and I have found that the credits do transfer to most all other Universities as well.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

What is wrong with FA at Kaplan University?

Psychology - March 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am really happy with my Master's program at Kaplan University. I like the professors also. But, I have a serious problem with financial aid. I have taken three classes on-line and they have been great, However, financial aid has been horrible. This term I registered for a Multi cultural class and I am on financial aid and I get a book voucher to cover book cost. I had to wait three weeks into the term before I received my books. I also had to fill out another book voucher and within 72 hours I would get my book voucher number. I am happy that my professor allowed me an extension because I could not do the assignment portion without reading the text for the week. I really don't know what kind of game they a playing with me. I have an A average at Kaplan University and I do not want my GPA to suffer because of financial aid's blunder.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

So far-so good

Psychology - December 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been reading through all of the reviews for Kaplan and when it comes down to it, most everyone is complaining about the Financial Aid department. I will say in my own experience that FA is a hassle, but it's a hassle with every school. Everyone has to realize that this is federally funded money. It's not like the school is giving out cash for you to attend, they have a chain of command they have to go through as well. I've been with Kaplan a year now and in the beginning I just wanted to start out getting an associates to make sure that I could actually do the work. The work is not easy, by any means. I've had to write 7-8 page papers in some of my classes, but they are so flexible and it really works for you when you have kids/work/family or don't live close enough to a regular university. Overall I am completely satisfied with my experience at Kaplan and plan to continue on with my BS in Psychology. People who say that online college is an easy way out have obviously not experienced the work load at an actual online school. The only difference we have is we get to save some gas and childcare money, do our work in our pajamas and instead of classes at 8-9am we have the option to do our live lectures at 12 pm, 6pm and some classes even offer 11pm lectures. It's really worth it to make a difference in your life!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Find the right match...

Psychology - December 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Okay, I have read amazing reviews that sware on the standards of Kaplan and I have read reviews that make Kaplan out to be the school from hell. Honestly, Kaplan is just another University, no better or worse. It is important that people remember that you have to find the right match in a school for yourself. Maybe an online school isn't the right match for you, or maybe it is just Kaplan is not the right match. It is not a horrible school though. I have had problems with their Financial Aid department depending on who answers the phone, but then I have had some of the sweetest people who are willing to go above and beyond to help me. I have not had a single instructor I have not liked, and they all seem to be very interested in making sure their students are successful both inside the class and once the class is done as well. I have 1 term left until I have my Bachelor degree in Psychology. Honestly, Kaplan is a great match for me. I have had my ups and downs with the school, but the ups far out weigh the downs. I have been to traditional community colleges and universities. I received my AS from a traditional school. Kaplan is just as good a school as any other I have attended. Just remember if this school isn't your fit then just keep looking you will find one.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Poor Service

Psychology - September 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my second year at Kaplan, and when I first started the staff was very helpful in seeing that everything went smooth, but the longer your in attendance the assistance and support reduces quickly. I have had major problem with the financial aid department, they are very slow to mail out your stipens, and at this point I have been unable to get a straight answer about the schools policies regarding financial aid, and I have requested information about how to contact their corporate offices, and no one seems to know anything. I am beginning to question if they even have a corporate office, and I am under the impression that they make up their own policies as they go along. This has been a very frustrating experience and one that I would not recommend.For a fact anyone interested in returning to school should first do a lot of research; contact the department of education in his/her state, speak with government officials about government funding, do in-depth research about the policies and regulations of several universities before making a decision, and contact the better business administration, in addition remember that this is your education and your money and if you experience problems that you can not get resolved do not hesitate to contact government officials and the media because everyone has a right to know.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful University!

Psychology - July 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I first called Kaplan University, I knew they would be my final choice for furthering my education. They made the admission process so easy. They also helped me pick the right degree and classes. Everything went so smoothly. They also helped with financial aid assistance, sending my books on time as well as providing great professors(well, all except one). The seminars are live and students can hear the professors speak. They have an excellent library full of resources. I am very happy I attended Kaplan University and would highly recommend them to anyone I know.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Unsatisfactory

Psychology - May 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Kaplan online for almost three years now. I am enrolled in the Psychology program. When I first started they were rated #1 in the nation and had the cheapest prices of school. It was a good school at first until I started to review my account. I was told when I enrolled that I would recieve 93 transfer credits for having an associates degree and that my program was only 180 credits to copmplete. After the probationary period I looked up my degree plan and found out that I had to take 215 credits in order to complete. So three years goes by, I have had to take leave of absences and may grades have falied misserably. The fininancl aid department is a joke. It is worse than calling a telemarketer. I can never get a straight answer, I have requested to speak with a manager for over a year now and have been promissed several times that they would contact me and I am still waiting for a reply. The FA department promised that I was funded until my graduation date, I was supposed to be doen this month and when I finished my last class I recieved a call stating that I would have to pay them $7,000 plus in order to recieve my degree or transcripts. When I asked why they said that I ran out of Government funds. Come to find out they had sent back over $5,000 in government subsidized and unsubsidized loans without notifying me. I reviewed my account back to a year ago and they did unauthorized transactions on my account. They also failed to tell me that my program requirments changed a year after I had enrolled into school and I no longer needed to complete the 215 credit hours, so know I have 204 credits and still cannot graduate. I am very disappointed with this school. I owe over $60,000 for a bachelors degree, please explain how a bachelors degree costs that much money. I am looking into a lawyer at the present moment because theis school is seriously screwing people over. DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL, IF AT ALL MEANS, THEY ARE A RIP OFF. I have read through the other reviews and I can relate to the other people that have had the same issues as I have had. Thank you to all that have submitted the feedback for your assistance will help me in building a case against the school to sue them. Good luck to all of you out there in your degrees and professions.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

WORSE SCHOOL & UNPROFESSIONALISM

Psychology - March 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan University was the worse school I have ever attended so I transferred and they were giving me the run around because of it. U get all the attention in the world and everyone is so helpful but then after you're enrolled, you don't get a response to emails and no1 on the phone can assist u, IF u get an answer after holding for hours. They took forever processing my withdrawal and didn't want to hear about completing the necessary paperwork I needed for my new school. They gave me every excuse until I submitted a complaint through the Better Business Bureau. The professors are horrible, very aggrogant and a couple who were unapproachable even via an online course as I rarely got a response concerning the weeks work before 72 hours, unheard of for a program that goes week by week! Financial aid personnel are crooks. Tell me how u take money from my student account credit for book fees when I purchased my own books from amazon and bn. I didn't use their book voucher. Bottom line is that Kaplan University is an overall horrible school so please do not waste your time and money. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!!

Was this review helpful?

Classes sufficient, financial aid = nightmare

Psychology - February 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Academics: the course work is definitely time consuming. I have been at Kaplan for 3 yrs and have written an incredible amount of papers. I attended Michigan State University for a while and did not nearly do as much work. Many people have talked about the transfer credit possibility and as with any school (online or campus based) many credits do not transfer. Penn state university has a tool that you can use to see if some of ur credits will transfer and some definitely do. My best advice for the academic portion is make sure you have sufficient time to dedicate to ur studies n Financial Aid/Student Accounts: this is where the previous reviews are definitely correct. FA is a NIGHTMARE!!!!!! I had absolutely not real issues with them until my 3rd academic year. I was encouraged by my academic advisor to take an additional class in order to receive a 25% discount off my 3rd course. Knowing this would affect my FA I called the FA office to see what I needed to do to ensure my classes would b covered. They told me that I still had extra federal funding which could be utilized and that I would need to take a private loan out in a certain amount. I did this without issue and easily finished my third academic yr. Starting halfway into my 1st term of my 4th academic yr I started receiving collection calls saying I owed Kaplan 2700 dollars I was quite confused and immediately called FA. They told me that they could do a professional judgment and change my pell grant funding. They also informed me that i owed $ b/c the financial aid officer who talked to me about accessing my additional federal funding never requested it and since a new academic yr had started they could no access the $. I waited for my professional judgement to come through which was supposed to take 6 wks. By the end of sept I Called to check the status only to find out the FA officer never submitted the professional judgement & it would be an additional 6 wks. Frustrated I hung up and continued to watch my account. In November my professional judgment canme through with a higher pell grant amount they were supposed to release these funds andTi amo molto, are you still at work during this entire process student accounts has been calling several times a day demanding $. Once the professional judgment came through I called back to find out when the federa funding would be released. They told me that the US department of Ed has to physically release tge funds and it can take up to several months. After an obscene amount if phone calls from student accounts demanding $ I.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

AWESOME!

Psychology - December 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love EVERYTHING about this school. The staff is super friendly and willing to help, the professors are real people that get to know you, books are included in tuition, and you take an active role in learning in the classroom. Unlike some of the other reviews, I haven't had any issues with financial aid, but the process of enrolling is a bit of a hassle since everything must be submitted electronically/via fax, but there are setbacks with every school. This was the best decision I could have made, I plan to get my master's degree at Kaplan!

Was this review helpful?

Great Experience

Psychology - October 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The program is great. Never have had a single problem with any department. The discussion boards can be a pain, but only because the students wait til the last minute to complete their assignments and it puts real students in a pinch to get their work done. Instructor are friendly and educated. A lot of feedback is given on each graded assignment. If you are lazy, do not attend an online university. If you can motivate yourself then the online setting is a great way to learn.

Was this review helpful?

Do not attend this school if needing financial aid

Psychology - September 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school's financial aid department is a serious nightmare! I am finishing my third term at Kaplan and have decided to withdawl and attend somewhere else. The stress from dealing with the financial aid department alone is too much to bare. I am still waiting for funds to be received and posted to my account from March. I have called every week since June 2nd waiting and getting the run around. Learning shouldn't be this difficult or stressful.

Was this review helpful?

FANTASTIC!!

Psychology - September 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has been fantastic for me! I have had little to no problems. Since it is an online school, you must have patience...that is the only thing I can think of as a negative!! LOVE Kaplan U!

Was this review helpful?

financial dept.

Psychology - September 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended KU for a short period of time. Unfortunately, I had to drop due to health issues. There was a little mix up with my financial status. I received a letter claiming I owed money. I paid in-full for the courses I attemped to take. I spoke to a person from financial aid and I found her very helpful. She called me up the next day and we resolved the issue. I found her informative and helpful. Robin

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

great school but FA has some real idiots

Psychology - July 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my fourth yr at KU (Child Development-Psychology) and I have to say that the courses and material are good, the profs are good too. I have had two profs that where horible but you get that in a B&M school too. Financial Aid (FA) has some reall idiots working there, the last two times I called i actually got a person who was on top of things. I have had a hard time with the Academic Counselors (AC) too, the one I have now is great and actually knows what he is doing. KU is just as good as most B&M colleges, for both the challange is to make it through the system (FA and AC)

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan sucks!!

Psychology - July 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The teachers and my advisor were really nice and helpful. However, the financial aid department is a complete joke and the classes aren't really that hard. I'm stuck footing a bill from financial aid that never should have existed if they had informed me properly. This school is a waste of time and money. Please DO NOT ATTEND! They will try and suck you in and tell you that you are all set to take classes and then will screw you over in the end! Don't go!

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan

Psychology - July 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my first term at Kaplan. I have almost a 4.0 average. I loved it. I was so excited to start my second term. However, they blocked me from logging in, my academic advisor will not call me back, and its the first day of the 2nd term. Kaplan lost my transcripts from my other school to transfer. They harassed me with phone calls 4 times a day before I started to enroll, but once your in there they start sending you bills, and locking you out. It was not my fault they lost my transcripts but now I have to hurry up and get my transcripts send again and hope they get there and I dont fail, and now I have to cram if they even let me in classes. If they let me start with unofficial transcripts to get you in, they should let you continue since its there fault. No one would help, all the woman reps were rude and basically told me I had a whole term to get my transcripts in. I told them I had a cancelled check from my previous school and that they had been sent 10 weeks prior but they would not help. I have never had an issue like this with any school, they need to get there system in order and quit treating students this way.

Was this review helpful?

my 2 cents

Psychology - June 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I currently attend Kaplan and I was reading along about the various comments. I will say most have to do with financial aid. SERIOUSLY? I mean EVERY financial aid office at EVERY university SUCKS. I've attended community college, state university, and private and I will say I don't know a single person who has good things to say about their financial aid experience regardless of where they attend. there's always something wrong or something thatg you didnt sign or fill out correctly. I don't think you will have a good experience no matter where you attend people. I think the key is getting a good admissions advisor, mines is the best.

Was this review helpful?

Misreprensentation/deposit/promissory note

Psychology - June 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just went through applying to Kaplan for a Masters Degree. I feel my trust was violated by their business practices. When I paid my deposit (which for two classes they requested $895.00) I had not been informed of two important issues. 1. There are simultaneous online sessions weekly for each class. When I was registered for classes they informed me of these sessions. For the first 10 week term I had 5 conflicts. When I asked the admission rep about this she was unaware of this fact. 2. I was not going to use financial aid of any type. I am a cash paying student. My plan was to pay for each term as I took classes. I was told that I would have to sign a promissory note for the price of three terms (almost $11,000) even though I was not going to be making payments of any kind. Section H of the promissory note states “(8) I die or am determined by a court to be incompetent or incapacitated. If I am in default, you will have the right to give me notice that the whole outstanding Principal Amount and all other amounts payable to you on this Note are due and payable at once”. They told me on the phone don’t go by what it says you will only pay for the classes you take. I was concerned what would happen if I needed to take a leave of absence due to a death in the family or a health issue. But section Q states “No other written documents or verbal statements form a part of the legal obligation”. Please make sure you read this document completely before you sign it. Then when I refused to sign and asked for my deposit back I was told $45 would be withheld and it would take 6-8 weeks to process. They said this was covered in the enrollment agreement but I do not see those items in that agreement. I used my credit/debit card to pay the deposit online while on the phone with the admission representative. When I went to the bank to dispute the charge I was told they did not run it as a credit card transaction but rather as an ACH transaction. This is like an electronic check withdrawal. I did not give them my checking information but they were able to run the transaction in this manner. The difference is that unlike a credit card charge that can be disputed immediately an ACH transaction is harder to dispute and cannot be disputed for a minimum of 30 days. Make sure you read all documents carefully and check everything thoroughly before paying your deposit.

Was this review helpful?

Not bad at all

Psychology - May 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I find it odd that some individuals are comparing traditional and nontraditional experiences. I transferred from a traditional university to attend Kaplan and I found out that both experiences are relatively the same. I have experienced nasty behaviors and laziness from both universities. This has nothing to do with Kaplan just the individual themselves. I realize you get what you put out. If you put time and effort into your work then you will succeed in your studies. I will admit Kaplan can be a little challenging, but it is to be expected. When attending Kaplan you have to be disciplined and do the required work ON TIME! People fail to realize only adults attend college therefore they will be treated as such. I read a student saying that it is easy to cheat on discussion board, well you can do that, but when it is time to complete a project it will definitely show in your work. I remember when I attend a traditional university and students cheated on their assignments; it showed in the end because they couldn’t pass the major assignments. I completed my degree and I am grateful for my experience with Kaplan.

Was this review helpful?

I love Kaplan, but FA does suck

Psychology - April 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently about a year away from finishing my BS in Psychology - Applied Behavioral Analysis - with a minor in criminal justice. I love Kaplan. The classes are challenging, but easy to keep up with as long as you put in the work. All of my professors have been knowledgable about the field, and my psychology professors all have their Masters at a minimum, most either were working on their PhD or already had it. I have learned a lot about the field of psychology and I think that I will be ready to take my GRE so that I can go to grad school soon. I will admit, financial aid leaves something to be desired. My financial aid advisor is useless at best, and idiot at worst. Regardless, she now refuses to return my calls after sending $4,700 back to my lender, Wells Fargo, which was supposed to cover my tuition for the year. I have been trying to iron the problem out for months, but so far it hasnt been resolved. On the bright side, they have not locked me out of my classes yet. They have been good about understanding the issues I'm having with FA and allowing me to continue in my education. I have to laugh at the negative comments I've read about Kaplan. I think the main problem people have with it is you have to be really self motivated. The professors aren't going to hold your hand and remind you that you have work due, or coddle you, or make you feel good. If you want that, enroll in kindergarden. I even read one person who was mad that Kaplan makes it too easy to cheat, so they didnt learn anything because the tests were openbook and they just copied the discussion posts of their classmates. If you are so lazy that you cant resist the urge to cheat, that isnt Kaplan's fault. A person should be in school because they WANT to learn, and doing the work yourself is part of that. If you want a teacher to hold your hand and make sure you arent cheating, well, kindergarden again. For anyone else, if you want to learn, and have the motivation to do the work, Kaplan is great.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan

Psychology - October 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan starts out good. I enjoyed my first term. Thats where the good stops. As you continue on you will find that the faculty and staff are unwilling to help with problems. Plus the teachers become more and more picky about everything. You can follow everything exactly as the syllabus says, but the teachers will find something to take points off of. The teachers are also very snobbish and rude. If you even think about questioning a grade, they will make the rest of the term a living hell. Basically heres how it works at Kaplan, do your work, accept your grades, and don't say anything. Otherwise you will have nothing but problems from everyone at Kaplan. Also the financial department is just as bad as slimy collection agencies.

Was this review helpful?

Problems keep escaltaing with Kaplan Online

Psychology - August 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ive been a student since Dec 08 with the Kaplan online. things have been 'ok' until just recently. I received a called starting last week that escatlated to this week about my account, to verify it. Few days ago i get a statement stating i owe money, first its 323, then up to 508. Supposedly someone in the 'financial aide' dept gave me to much money , now i owe it. I find this to be no my probelm and have tried talking to several people at Kaplan regarding this, as other getting no response. I was on hold the other day for 4 HOURS!!!! before i finally spoke to someone. Well i though my FA was fixed on Monday, Wednesday i get a call from someone saying if i dont pay , im not getting my living expense chack and they will block my classes. I researched the reviews online and found several of hundreds of very bad reviews, and a complaint number, which i called and was connected to the Dept of Ed, Federal Student Aide(on accident). The are recieving complaints and are looking into it now. today im told i dont owe anything, but my LE check will be 325, down from 878. Im maked on all my grants and loans for the year, and am to the point of transfering schools. this sounds like a huge scam , a high end dipolma mill. i ahve all my paperwork now and have so many numbers im going crazy with this. Im am suppose to be getting a call fromt eh VP of kaplan, but am still waiting. Im sick of being on the phone and hearing 'im sorry' Im not the one who messed up , but I have to pay for their mistakes. does any one know what to do now?? i need help with this.

Was this review helpful?

Former Faculty

Psychology - July 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I used to teach at Kaplan University. Their methods are poor and they inflate grading to students so they will stay. I was instructed by a Kaplan staff member that even if a student earns a legitimate F to give him the "benefit of the doubt", and give him a B. As a hiring manager, I will not hire anyone with a Kaplan degree--be aware! The word is out that Kaplan degrees are not "hiring" degrees.

Was this review helpful?

Stop Complaining

Psychology - May 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would recommend this school to anyone. Yes it has it's share of issues but let me tell you so do most online universities and so do lots of ground schools, I have been to them and I know. Kaplan has one great thing that you all seem to be missing. Your admissions advisor. If you have one that you developed a relationship with that is the person to go to. I have had some issues and called or e-mailed my advisor and she was there in a flash to help me in everyway she could. She was the person who handled financial aid and even my academic advisor. She sent out information to me when she though it pertained to my degree. She was there to help me on so many levels and I have been there three years now and always know that my advisor is there to help. I might not get her on the phone but I can get her by e-mail. Maybe the people that are complaining didn't get the right advisor or expect too much. Kaplan is a great school, I did my research and found the schools that will accept my credits when I graduate into a Masters program without issue. The complaints I have read here are really ugly from people who probably should not have been in online school to start. This is not a free lunch and it is not easy, you have to work for your degree. I have always found my professors to be forthcoming and when I have had a problem an e-mail to my admissions advisor is always helpful. My academic advisor is wonderful but that is all he is there for - academics. SO, my advise is to send an e-mail to the person who enrolled you and get the help from them. Give the school a chance, it is the best education I have gotten yet and I have done college already.

Was this review helpful?

I think Kaplan Is GREAT!

Psychology - April 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started with an associates in Criminal Justice and have continued toward my bachelors in Legal studies. The courses are great, you seem to get out of it, what you put into it. The instructors are fabulous, lots of interaction with the instructors and the other students. I had no problem when I flipped from an Associates to a Bachelors degree. In fact my Academic advisor was very informative. I have had no problems updating my financial information or getting help when I needed it. I guess you have to realize that Finacial aid is a combo of loans and grants and that you are borrowing the money from a institution that loans the money, not from the school. All they do is set up the paper work and approve the transaction. Maybe the previous students were not taught about business in high school. I love the convenience of taking my classes on my lap top. I also love the fact that I don't have to be in traffic or sit next to some sleeping creep in a lecture. Kaplan fits just right for me, and is better than the other University I transfered from. Also, I believe you get what you pay for. Kaplan gives me a good value for my money.. Dont know why the rest of you have had problems like you state! I never have.

Was this review helpful?

absolutely horrible

Psychology - April 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school i am lead to believe now after attending is all about money and dont care about the success of the students. I have had the same issues as all the others with the financial aid issue. I wrote to Citi school loan dept informing them of what Kaplan is doing to the students as far as not sending the left over funds to the students after tuition is paid for. I tried several times to take a couple of terms off (as you are able to do at a real university) and instead the academic advisors ignore your request to sit it out and enroll you anyway and tell you, you can not do that unless you completely drop from the school and then have to re-apply to return. The courses are VERY easy and simple, but this school is expensive and not worth it in my opinion. I have alot of friends who went to this school and are now having problems continuing on to get their master's degrees with another university. I would not recommend this school even to the rich kid. This is truly a money hungry school!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

I am so irrated

Psychology - March 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am getting ready to enter my third term at Kaplan. I would recommend really researching what you need. They are rude & consenting! They have no idea what they are doing in the academic advising . Their communication is not there at all.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan Rocks

Psychology - February 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Here is the thing with any online college, we are all supposed to be adults now and as most adults already know, you don't sign or commit to anything that you don't fully understand. All of the people griping about them taking your money, DUH! That's what colleges do. They take your money and you don't have to try to support a family of 4 on McDonalds wages. Your financial problems are with the bank, not Kaplan. I am not into my 7th term and couldn't be happier. I have learned more at Kaplan than I did in 2 years at a normal college. Of course, with online college, you have to be very self disciplined so you don't fall behind, but isn't that everywhere. My academic and financial aid advisors have been wonderful. I haven't had to do anything as far as that goes. My financial aid advisor prepares my statements, I read them and go from there. He even got it down so I only pay roughly $100 a month out of pocket. My projected loan payments after graduation are about $100 a month for both loans combined. I can't complain about anything and I have never received a call from them at an inappropriate time on a weekend unless I called them first. If you are a big boy or girl and can handle taking responsibility for your course in life, then Kaplan is definitely the route for you. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.