Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Kaplan University

2.9
535 Reviews
5 117 
4 113 
3 79 
2 90 
1 136 
0 0 

 

Kaplan University Reviews:

I love Kaplan University! You have to do your part. You cannot expect everything to be handed to you on a silver platter. Stop being lazy and get to work!

Human Services - April 14, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love this school and everything about it. The financial aide department lacks, but we all see that from the reviews. The professors are fantastic and the admissions team are great. I also loved my education advisors. If you educate yourself before you sign up, you will have no problem at all. Also, If you are not willing to work hard and apply yourself then don't even sign up!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan Has Been Great.

Human Services - October 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am getting ready to start my fourth term with Kaplan. I can honestly say, I have had no problems. Grades have to be earned! I have been on the presidents, and Deans list until this last term, and it has been the hardest, but I was not as committed as I use to be. I still ended up with low 90's in both classes, but I earned every point! As far as financial aide, no problems, I always can expect a phone call at the end of a term from FA to see if I have any questions, and let me know when I will receive my stipends. I would recommend this University to anyone who wants to better their lives!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Find another School!

Human Services - October 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had some wonderful professors, however the Financial Aid dept. doesn't know the right hand from the left and I have had nothing but problems from them. They cannot tell me the exact amount I owe, what I'm paying for and they cannot even see my payments in the computer when I can see them from my end and we are both in the same FA site. If you don't want to owe them your leg and arm please do research before entering into this University. Everything sounds so sweet when you are speaking to an admission advisor just remember they are like car salesman, all they want is your money!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

So Far So Good!!

Human Services - September 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just enrolled at Kaplan University for a Bachelor's in Human Services. My admissions advisor was FANTASTIC, Wendy Robinson is probably the best in admissions I have every encountered. Financial aid was very up front when explaining my financial options, and paused frequently to see if I had any questions. They have been very patient, friendly, and overall great to me. I haven't had any issues so far. The only thing I am not very fond of is that most of the online courses use ebooks, and I would honestly rather have a real textbook in my hands. But my education adviser informed me that you can easily transfer ebooks to a kindle, so you can have on "on the go" book, which is great. I think that as long as you ask every single question you have, you won't be hit with anything hidden. Write down what they tell you, call back with questions you think of, and stay on top of your own things. That's how life works, no one is ever going to do all of that for you. But overall, I'm enjoying the personal attention I've gotten from Kaplan, and am very much looking forward to their shcool!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Needs Help

Human Services - March 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had several problems with their financial aid department. I am to receive a stipend every term, but lately (since five classes away from graduating) they have been delayed...coincidentally released on the last day before they can research why it is delayed. So clearly they have been holding onto these funds to collect interest on money that is not theirs. A shady practice in my opinion and very inconsiderate. The other problem is that due to a personal emergency, I was unable to complete my final assignment and it was one day late. I went from an A to a C in the class with probation looming had I not brought up my grade point average. The instructor refused to grade the project. I filed a dispute and the Provost sided with the instructor... what a crock!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan review

Human Services - November 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm an online student at Kaplan University and am pursuing an Associates in Human Services. I have not had any problem with financial aid or student support. I do not receive a stipend but that is by choice. I regularly check to see if all documents are up to date and call financial aid to make sure all federal aid/loans are in place. I make it my responsibility to make sure, on a regular basis, that everything is on the up and up. I print out copies of any forms that I have signed and of all financial transactions. I am entering my second year and have to say that things have been running smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

I am having a ball in Kaplan

Human Services - August 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hi my name is Petra and I am a veteran using Chapter 31 benefits. I will not go through all the financial mess many here speak of with a 3rd party monitoring that aspect for me. I am learning allot and the classes are demanding. The professors, except one, are all personable, intelligent and very helpful. Not one, oh except that one, gave me a hard time when I had questions. I have never had a problem reaching my counselors, fin aid or tech support. I really dislike ebooks and wish we had hard copies for all classes. Thankfully the VA reinburses me when I purchase hard copies. Overall I am having a great time, I work hard and do the assignments. It takes dedication, hard work and preserverance but it can be done.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Human Services - April 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This so-called "university" is a joke. I am on my next to last semester when I received a notification stating I owed over $8,000.00 two weeks before the end of the quarter. The threat was simple I would be blocked from my classes if I didn’t sign a promissory note putting on a hook with Kaplan for over $8000.00. After 10 hours on the phone and different information from 5 different people (FA and Student Accounts) I was told that while I was attending I had a short fall in student aid each quarter. No one ever notified at Cheaplan that I was accruing a large balance which would require me to pay $1300 per month until in order to continue taking classes. I am 3 classes short of graduating so they have be my the you know what. If I don't sign their promissory note and make the large payments I will have to transfer. Since they are on quarters I am looking at being far from done at another school. This place is the biggest rip off. I have done my due diligence and didn't wait like some other reviewers are insinuating (who probably work for Kaplan), if you are giving Kaplan a bad review. This has been the most stressful situation. Currently my husband and I have discussed this matter with our attorney and notified the board of regents in the state of Ohio as well as our Attorney General’s office. My only hope is this doesn’t happen to another student. The best advice I can give you is to go somewhere else!

Was this review helpful?

Great School but financial aid is not together

Human Services - March 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently attending Kaplan, and I am in my last term for my Associate's Degree. I don't even know where to start talking about this school. I love the instructors at the school they are very knowledgeable about what they are teaching, at least the ones that I have had. The problem I have with Kaplan is that their Financial Aid Department is screwing students over with their funding. I'm now blocked out of class from them not receiving my signed promissory note. Ok, they tell me they see it in the computer but, it takes 72 hours to process it. Classes start in two days haven't been able to register, what a headache. I would tell anyone not to change to another program because they will screw your financial aid up. If a degree program cost the same amount how do you owe more for changing to that program. They cost the same. I was checking my account regularly and The amounts for the classes was changing from one amount to another and you already know it would be more money when I check again. All I know is if your degree program cost 33,590 dollars and you have 45,000 dollars that is to be paid to the school for two years. They have already received 32,000 dollars in funding and still waiting on your last term funding to come in. which is about 3,700 more dollars. do the math. that over 35,000 dollars. Now, If you take out the stipends they said that my loans didn't pay them but, they sent it to me anyway, and never informed me that the loan had to come from them until a year later. Long story short they say I owe them 3,500 dollars how in the world is that possible I never got a stipends my second, third or fourth term. I'm very aware that your loan company you choose is suppose to loan you money for stipends, and not Kaplan. I'am a Christian Woman and I believe God will handle the situation with these people taking money. It's sad that they are taking money from people who are trying to better themselves. I will not be pursuing a Bachelor's at this school because it's very clear that are keeping money from students. I will be leaving after I figure out How am I going to pay this 3,500 dollars. NO MORE KAPLAN FOR ME! THEY ARE KEEPING STUDENTS MONEY.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Kaplan has been good to me

Human Services - December 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wanted to post to say that I have not had any problems with Kaplan. I started attending in Sept 2009 in the Bachelor of Health Science program, and have never had an issue with financial aid, lost paperwork, or support. Whenever I have questions I call an academic adviser who is knowledgable and helpful. My financial aid has gone through without a hitch every semester. Most of my instructors have been well qualified, but there are always exceptions (this is the case for any school). It is very unfortunate that so many have had bad experiences, but for those who are reading these posts to try and determine whether or not to attend Kaplan, you should keep in mind that often only those with bad experiences will seek out and post negatively on these boards.

Was this review helpful?

BEWARE OF Finacial AID SCREWING U

Human Services - September 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My name is John Shabazz.I have been at Kaplan for two semesters and they have screwed me from day 1. I didnt get my 1st finiacial aid stipend check until I was halfway done with my second semester. I am still waiting on my 2nd check from my second semester. Still havent gotten it. University of phoenix is a great school and you get your money in 3-4 days direct deposit. Buyer beware Kaplan will rob you without a gun!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

My Kaplan experience

Human Services - July 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have found Kaplan to basically be like any other university, I have attended 3 universities before Kaplan and this is my first online attempt. I have found it to be basically the same, it's not easy work and you will have to study and put your best effort forward as with any school, online or otherwise. If you decide to go with a online university because you think it's easier, don't waste your time because you will be sadly mistaken. I've had no real problem with Kaplan except a slight issue with the financial department concerning documentation being asked for in a timely manner. Other than that I have no complaints.

Was this review helpful?

WOW

Human Services - April 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending Kaplan. I have been having a great experience at Kaplan. I went to a traditional college before but had to withdrawl due to the birth of my second son. Now I did extensive research about online degrees. If you feel that an admissions rep lied to you, prove it! If you don't know what questions to ask, do research. Kaplan is great and I recommended it to all my military buddies. Get your fact straight and know what you are doing and what you want to do before you sign the dotted line for enrollment.

Was this review helpful?

Kaplan is a great school

Human Services - April 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am at the end of my second term at Kaplan and it an okay school. I started out in Health Information Technology progran but I didn't like it. So I switched to the Human Services program. My academic advisor was great in helping me change program. All of my teachers have been great so far. They were knowledgable in the subjects that they taught. David Hays is my teacher for English Comp 1 and he has taught me a lot this term. I attended a brick and mortar school before Kaplan and I prefer Kaplan. The school is very expensive but to me it is worth it. My financial advisor is great. I received my expense check on time. I will recommend this school to anyone as long as they can afford it. The work is challenging and you have to put in a lot of time and effort in it. But I like that you don't have to do group work. You receive credit for the work that you do. My grades are great except for one and that was because I didn't like the subject and I didn't put any effort into it. Once again,Kaplan is a great school.

Was this review helpful?

Pick Another School

Human Services - December 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Kaplan is all about the money... I was mislead by the addmission's advisor or lied too not sure which but I withdrew after 6 days. It was just busy work anyway not sure I would have learned much. Hopefully there are better schools out there don't choose Kaplan in else you want to get stuck with fees you didn't know you would have to pay and a whole lot of debt in the end without alot of Knowledge

Was this review helpful?

Excited about Kaplan

Human Services - November 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Did you know that advisors at Kaplan have to go thru a 33 page script to get you enrolled? They make you talk about your goals, and dreams and their job is to sell you a dream. They make you think of the outcome, but they leave out the debt that you will have. Did you know that as long as you approve your funding, which is very deceiving, you are "recommended"? There is no criteria to get into Kaplan, except to have a HS or GED diploma. They say its not an open enrollment school, but they enroll anyone that has the "tuition deposit", which is just $70 right now. If you have prior college, you are in! If you don't, then you take a "common sense" quiz. If you fail it, you can take it again. So much for having quality students. Admissions reps have to enroll anywhere from 3-8 students per month. It doesn't sound like a lot, but when you have 2500 reps fighting for the same business, you are talking a lot of students. And they have 14 different enrollment dates per year. This is definitely a GREAT for profit university- Great for the people that run it. At $63,000 for a Bachelor's degree: If we just use the lower goal of 3 enrollments per term, for each enrolled student that graduates Kaplan makes per term $472,500,000. Multiply that by 14 terms in a year... You should go to the parking lot at their Fort Lauderdale location...BMW's, Mercedes, Porches..you name it. And the advisors walk around with Gucci purses, belts etc. And all this money comes from the government! and you get to pay it back. How do you like that now?

Was this review helpful?

Excited about Kaplan

Human Services - September 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will say I have been reading all of these negaive comments. I am actually an Ashford Student transferring to Kaplan. I will start off and say I am only transferring because of what I want my degree to read. I loved Ashford. Anyway.. My enrollment advisor was great,and I told him what I wanted. He didnt try to sell me an education or anything else for that matter. There was no preasure. He even made it clear that he was not allowed to enroll anyone who was not suitable for Kaplan and that there had to be a good match. I have been talking to him over the last 3 days to get things together and I am very impressed. My sister goes to Kaplan on campus and is very happy. My credits are transferring AND my financial aid is in progress all I needed to do was transfer everything. Some of you are speaking negative about their financial aide HOWEVER loans, grants etc. come from the Dept. of Education not the school itself. That and of course your FA lender. Im excited about starting at Kaplan and I know I made a good choice. I am getting my BS in Human Services and my degree will readjust that.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:



Closed. Now Purdue University Global.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Kaplan University in any way.