Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

Do not get a degree here

MBA - June 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with my MBA at the Orange, CA campus in 2011. I had a 3.8 GPA. It has been almost 2 years now and I cannot find a job doing anything. There are no Career Services that help you look for work after graduation and I am in huge debt. Attending this school is the biggest regret of my life. I am worse off now than I was before I went to school there.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Fraud committed, looking to sue

MBA - February 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In Dec 2011, I received a signed contract from the Dean stating that I was approved for the Online Sustainable Management Master's degree program. In July 2011, I received a call apologizing that they had committed fraud. They admitted that they made a mistake when they falsely claimed that they offered this program online, however, they DID demand that I repay the $10k with interest! None of those classes transferred to any other college. Not only did I lose 7 months of my life, but $10k with interest. I collected written correspondence as advised by an attorney. I just want this off my balance due, so I don't have to pay Sallie Mae money that I should not owe. I have read many articles where this school has been sued numerous times by the government, as well as by students, dating back to 2008. Wish I'd seen those complaints sooner!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

MBA

MBA - October 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

MBA and still no job. Beginning to forget what I learned. It was a was of time and money due to the economy. My manager with a B.A. let me go after receiving the MBA. Now I am either over qualified or under qualified. Currently working on a 2 part time job making $9.00

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY

MBA - August 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Horrible staff. The teachers aren't too bad. I went to the Atlanta campus and did the online and weekend classes program. The financial aid, student services, hell the entire administrative staff are just horrible. I failed my first class (was getting used to the online dynamics and my second class I mad a B in, I registered for next semester and about 3 weeks of being registered with all my info together I saw I was dropped. They dropped me after two classes because my GPA was low, but I only took 2 classes! Bad part was I was still receiving emails, I hadn't known they dismissed me until I had to practically hound 7 people over the phone. Figured it was a ploy to get money.) I am in the process of switching Universities. Bad thing is I read these reviews before I went and said it can't be that bad. BUT I see now they were all accurate. This University is full of bs and completely not worth the time. They need all campuses shut down immediately!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Not a chance !

MBA - April 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hope they post this comment. Someone hacked my internet, I have in addition to ID theft also been recieving calls from several diploma mills, including Argosy. These people are relentless in theire enrollment marketing department. $-5 emails a day, they use a constantly changing domain or address, you cant respond to it, and if you put them in your spam folder they can simply email again because the address theyre writing from renews and changes each time. Somehow these people got my real phone number, it is my cell, they called every day, 5-12 times a day, I repeatedly told them not to call and to remove me from the list, I explained I was not interested. They refused to remove me from the list, the calls became more and more agressive, I even resorted to pretending to by my own lawyer, it almost worked til some guy asked me for my bar number, they really will not stop marketing you. I didnt evben apply. This harrassment is insane. I reported them. I also had to change my email address, and telephone number because of the relentless calls and emails. Any school, that does this, that even after being asked repratedly to stop calling, does not respect the wish of the person they are calling, and anyone who knows they do not stand a chance of enrolling someone, and is told that and to stop calling and still continues to do so totally ignoring the request, is going to be a nightmare. I have no doube these people are the used car salesmen of colleges. You people that have poor grades, and cant or never took the SAT or other college entrance exams are of most risk, kids right out of high school usually attend a reputable school, but people with jobs aqnd familys who need the on line education option, and unemployed people, anyone who can not enroll in a traditional school should keep looking. This schools reviews say it all. I am willing to bet that the people who wrote the good reviews are either staff of the school, or they were put up to it by the school, any review based on what the majority say that gives these people such high accolades and praise is inconsistent with the hundreds of real bad reviews that tell how this school operates. Run dont walk, run aweay from Argosy University as fast as you can.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Online MBA; ok so far

MBA - March 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am set to finish in December of this year (2012). All of my instructors have PhD's and are about as challenging as any other school. They make sure that you don't slack off and I have even been docked points for lazily citing my work. As in any school, you get what you put into it. The plus side is that you have the convenience of an online class and as a busy parent, I can pace myself and plan accordingly. Your classes are scheduled for you by the scheduling center. If you make below a B-, you will repeat that class the next session. I learned this the hard way but maintain A's now. I would say that the only issue I have had is the book, since it is digital, you pay more than 2 x's what it is retailed at but are able to have it in an archive which you can create a shortcut on your desktop for. It is a little irritating to have to read online instead of having an actual book but from what I have found, it is the same at other online schools such as Keller (Devry University). Also, as in any other school, the supportive staff are busy and a little hard to get ahold of. I find better luck emailing them. I still haven't figured out the purpose of the national call center who only directs me back to my original assigned contacts. I have doubled up my classes and cannot wait to write the next review about how my job hunting has been. I must say this, any school you research will have good and bad reviews. So long as they are accreditted by a Western Association of Schools and Colleges and a Tennessee Higher Learning (where I'm from)

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Argosy Atlanta is a JOKE!

MBA - October 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The best thing about this school is the admission process, but everything else is awful! Finical aid representative either lose your paperwork, confuse your loan amount and have to re-submit it, or never return your phone calls. The classes offered are totally geared for busy work and essay writing. Many of the teachers do not teach but instead let the student teach each other by having students present chapters the whole term. Almost all classes in the MBA are online or Friday through Sunday, so if you have a job that requires you to work every weekend you can forget about that. This program is only good for those in need of the MBA paper already employed with a company and wanting a pay increase. If you want the knowledge or interested in being an entrepreneur this IS NOT THE PROGRAM FOR YOU!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

MBA program

MBA - August 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the Argosy University (Nashville) MBA program. I am slated to graduate in Dec. 2011. I have found the MBA program challenging and, if I should be so bold, I haven't found many challenges academically. Don't misunderstand, like any university there are some kinks to be encountered and overcome but ... for the persistant student who is desirous to excel, Argosy Nashville will meet the expectation IMO. I double majored, so I could be challenged, in college at Ole Miss and I have found the teaching, and the majority of the teachers at Argosy, to be exceptional for those students that are willing to put out the effort. Others may surely disagree but as for me, I have found Argosy to be an educational school ... and that is what I was looking for, an education.(And I was very, very hesitant to invest in an Argosy education to begin with) Now, to see if the degree will help me get the job that I want.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Challenging but happy with the curriculum and faculty

MBA - March 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am finally in my capstone class for my MBA in Management. After nearly 2 1/2 years in the program I can honestly say I am very happy with the level of education I have received in my program through Argosy University. I had previously only attended the Cal State and UC systems, having my BS degree from CSU. I have found the program at Argosy a much more working adult friendly option. My professors have been amazing, with so much business world relativity to share with students. I am now considering my doctorate and Argosy is at the top of my list.

Was this review helpful?

Health care Administration

MBA - January 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Well let me say that my experience at Argosy University was great. It does have its problems just like any other school but overall I was pleased with it. if you do not know what for profit means, I suggest that you go to a traditional school like USC, CSF, or UCLA. You can email me at anytime and i will gladly answer your question and timewalker1st at yahoo dot com.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Flexible Environment = +

MBA - September 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in my first session of the MBA program, taking two classes. I first considered attending Argosy almost two years ago, but I didn't feel that the time was quite right. They did seem to be a little pushy, calling multiple times a day, and that was a little off-putting when I was working through the enrollment process. Perhaps they really do just to want to help though? I do wish they were a little more established, and I would like to get more information regarding how they are viewed by their peers. So far, the program seems like a good choice. The assignments are challenging, but not impossible. There is a diverse selection of students in my classes, who can contribute lots of insight based on their real world experiences. I've been able to handle two classes this session and 40+ hours of work so far with no problem. From what I've learned about the program, I would recommend it to someone who is interested in advancing their career but would prefer the flexibility of an online environment.

Was this review helpful?

Not Bad but has Problems

MBA - November 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There is no BA selection so I had to choose MBA) I am in my first semester but transferring in as a junior, taking two classes. One is Psychology and one is College Algebra. I'd rate my math teach a 10, the Psych teacher... well at leat she is not a one? I am mixed on what I think. I am taking 2 accelerated online classes because of my job I am unable to commit to on-site classes. I can say it is definatly better than my expirience with University of Phoenix (there my 2nd class we sat in a class room and went wroud the table and read out of the book... Bleh) I just hope I can get into a decent MBA program after I finish my BA.

Was this review helpful?

Great program

MBA - March 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my MBA and I thought the program was fantastic. I am going to continue by DBA through Argosy because of the great experience.

Was this review helpful?

A tough choice, but a smart one

MBA - February 28, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are a lot of options today in the "online" education space. Some good and some bad. The questions I struggled with was "Can I get a quality education that is delivered online?" I had started to my graduate studies at another ground school based university and just was not able to handle the workload. Having to attend class and attend group project meetings a long with the hours of studying,etc. made it almost impossible for me; at least not without making a decision to do it full-time vs part-time. So I choose Argosy from an online/convenience persepective. It is built on a quality repetation and has numerous campuses across the country. Online is a different approach to learning...and could be one not right for everyone if you expect the same things out of it as a traditional approach. It was an adjustment for me but I can say I am getting out of it what I am putting into it. I am taking this serious and feel I am learning a lot. Plus, I have had nothing but supportive experiences with the staff (my advisor is great) and faculty.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.