Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

Not worth the money

Psychology - September 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in UoPx like many others as a way of going back to school while working full time and raising a family. It wasn't very long before I realized that I should have researched the school better. You are not taught anything and the curriculum is third rate at best. Many of your so-called classmates can't formulate a cohesive sentence yet you are required to hold online discussion sessions with them. How? I knew if I dropped out I would owe all of this money with no return on my investment so I stuck it out and obtained my AA degree. I immediately transferred to a legitimate brick and mortar university that had an online and in-person campus in my area. I was happy that all of my UoPx credits transferred over. After attending my new school it became painfully obvious how poor of an educational experience I had at UoPx. UoPx used outdated material, (many of the electronic books were three to four editions behind current material), grossly overpriced, and the learning environment was nonexistent. I now have "real book" which are current and relevant, peers who academically deserve to be in a college classroom, and professors who have a genuine desire to see me achieve (but do not just give me a passing grade without me earning it). I will graduate in a few months with my bachelors degree and I am confident that it will be viewed as legitimate whereas my UoPx associates degree is useless. To everyone who says that you only get out of it what you put into it, you are delusional. You cannot get more out of it than UoPx has put into it and they have put the bare minimum. Spend your money somewhere else, you will end up paying far less and learning far more.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Ph.D. I/O Psychology

Psychology - August 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an I/O Psychology student. I am in my 2nd class at UoP. We have little to no guidance and professors give you the grade that they want not the one that you earn. There are not clear guidelines or expectations. Students run around like chickens with their heads cut off. Content quality is poor, there is no emphasis on learning the subject matter. The emphasis is on whatever the teacher decides. You will definitely have problems here. We should first teach and then expand. This organization does neither. If you want licensure, do not bother going here. For the time being, this just isn't the place to get a doctorate from. My masters program was fine. I know a lot of places like to weed people out, but I found the professors vindictive and making things up as they go along. Of course I reported it, the criteria is set forth in the syllabus. One does not bypass that to lower a students grade because you want them to receive a certain grade. It is sickening to see regurgitators pass a class and theorists "fail". I would not go here; the department doesn't have it together yet. There are not enough guidelines for professors.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

THE TRUTH

Psychology - July 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending UoP, and like any other online learning institution you have to put effort into it. No it is not a free ride. If you apply yourself to the work you will get your degree. If you are here for a FREE RIDE this school is NOT for you. I find it irritating to have to participate in sub-post to my peers counting as more participation than the discussion questions themselves. BUT OVERALL it is a good program and I suggest getting an internship after you receive you associates to help you in the long run so after the program is done you won't be looking silly looking for a job with NO EXPERIENCE.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Pell Grant

Psychology - June 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I enrolled at this UOP, I was told that I qualified for a Pell Grant, and then after I was in school for about 2 months, I was told that I would either have to raise my student loan plus pay weekly payments or leave it like it was and I still would have to pay weekly payments. I told them that I could not afford either one of them, then they said maybe I should talk with I think it was the financial advisor. It was the same old story. So I quit. I would not suggest this school to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

These people are crooks and liers!

Psychology - May 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

These people (the organization) are creeps! They lie, they manipulate, they commit fraud, they try to intimidate you. They use communication tactics to make sure that you don't get what you want, and to steer you to what they want. They screw you over at every turn, and will only be "nice" if they are worried that you will leave. They seem to interact with whatever creepy, psychotic agenda they have concocted in their brains, and not with you, and they act like treating you like crap is their right in life. These people are so messed up that I literally was shocked to find out that an educational institution acts like that. Materials are crap, teachers will not help you, if there is a problem, you are the one that will get screwed over. Do not count on any fair, or decent treatment from them. All the wording in the paperwork make them sound like such a nice University that cares about their student - the truth is they don't give a damn about you or your plans for your life, they only care about getting your money, and putting you in courses that are most convenient for them, not you. I would not recommend this university to my enemy! Find another school, as this one will only take advantage of you, and give you a horrible and possibly traumatic experience.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Ripped me off

Psychology - October 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They talked me into registering for a course and then informed me it would be an introductory to the University Course. After a week of classes I was unable to continue with course and dropped. They the informed me that I have to pay $448.00 for my one week of attendance for a class that wouldn't have even counted as a credit and then were very uncooperative with payment plans.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Rip off and Manipulation

Psychology - September 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school scammed me into accepting and applying myself to a major that I didn't want in the first place. They were just after my money. When I found out I wasn't in the program I requested they charged me $500 to withdraw from the curriculum. They also lied in the application process by not informing me the program wasn't clinical like I requested. They doctored their notes to show that I was informed of the major when in fact I was not until I was already 3 days into my first course. DO NOT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL!!! They're deceptive and liars and can't be trusted to have your best interests at heart...they're just after your money!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

All Schools Have It's Ups and Downs

Psychology - November 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can honestly say that the reviews I have observed are the same types of complaints that I have heard in a traditional brick and mortar university. My concern is the quality of students UOPX accept into their programs. When required to work in learning teams, this may be detrimental to one's education. However, I have learned in my professional and personal life we will observe the same complaints wherever we go. I have decided to reach out and attain an internship on my own because you cannot get into a career with 0 experience. My internship is as a recruiter for a healthcare staffing company. I speak with career services coordinators on a regular basis and even these coordinators make me doubt their intellligence. It is no myth when they say, "Common sense isn't common." Well as I have previously stated...UOPX students are not always the best, just like some professors are not always the best. However, I have found that it is our responsibility to master the material without someone holding our hand the entire ride. I don't mind helping, but I cannot teach them how to write a paper on a regular basis. Coming into a graduate program, I would assume this was already a prerequisite.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

You have to work

Psychology - November 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ok, So I happened to stumble on this site and attending UOP is like anything else, you get out what you put in. I can't even say that you get what you pay for because there are individuals that pay but don't put in the effort. Each class is different, each instructor is different and each learning team you're assigned to is different. There are those that would coast along and those that dig in and are there to learn. To those, on the outside feeling liek you just 'pay for' a degree. I beg to differ. I've never worked harder. So to the comments of indivdiuals that they have been failed and the school did not work with them and the school wanted to keep the money...my guess is that the student wasn't holding up their end of the academic work. I've had no trouble other than possibly dealing with a counselor that needed to know that I was a paying student from time to time and not accepting a free handout. I'm not a fan of leanring teams by any stretch of the imagination. I'm impatient, and prefer to pull my own weight and have my grade be strictly dependent on me alone. But this methodology has taught me patience, how to work and play well with others. So to indivudls that say you're a sucker if you dig in and work hard and those that say they just sit back and go for the ride, I'd venture to say those are the indivieuals that are always looking for the short cut or easy way out, afraid of hard work. We see this type all the time. They hang around the indivdiuals that do all the hard work at the office, get thier names attached to the project and appear that they put in all the hours, but these are the individuals that if they're name and work was removed, the project wouldn't suffer at all. It's a slick and unfair move, but available if you want to take the short cuts in life. I will say that I've grown by leaps and bounds, currently I'm in the Master's of psychology program and will be completing that course of study early next year. The work and hours are hard, especially holding down a full time job and a family at home, but it works for me. Will this degree be fully accepted in the workforce? Probably not 100%, but I'm ready for that. All I need to do is let the degree crack the door open and I'll handle the rest. That's where those that really applied themselves and worked hard can overcome obstacles and those that took the free ride, just give the school a bad name. Quite frankly, I'm proud to be a Phoenix and not ashamed to let anyone know where I'm attending school. Considering the Dr. program in psychology...just considering. But in any event, as the title says, you have to work to make it and not be seen as a slacker by your peers and instructor.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.