Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

If you are willing to take the challenge the school is for you

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - May 3, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided to go back to college in 2014. I had an unfinished bachelor and I had always wanted to finish it, but was not sure how. Someone at my job spoke to me about the school. I researched the school, talked with a counselor, and in a few, was a new student. It has been hard to juggle two jobs, my children activities and online school. However you never know what you are made of unless you try harder. With a year more to go I feel more confident, more knowledgable and more marketable. I cannot understand the negative reviews the school is getting because I have always been treated good by the faculty, advisors, and learnng teams. Overall, I think it is a great school. There is a lot of reading, assignments, projects to work on, and essays but nothing worth fighting for is easy. Todays workforce is highly competitive. If you want to make it out there, you need to stay at the same level of competitiveness.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Good Experience at UOP

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - September 17, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended the UOP 10 - 12 years ago, and I completed about 1/3 of my credits needed for a BSBA. I ended up transferring to a local university, because I could complete my degree a quicker, based on my situation. As far as transferring credits, I only had an issue with transferring 3 of my 42 Credits. I was upset by this, but I didn't blame the UOP, I blamed my new institution. Anyhow, I took it up the chain to no avail, so I decided to Clep the class, and I received 6 credits for the test. (Biology) I showed them! Overall, I thought my instructors were great, helpful, knowledgeable, and fair. I have just enrolled in the UOP for my MBA, and I look forward to the experience. I am a little concerned with the team projects, but hopefully I'll get hooked up with the right people. I would recommend UOP to anyone...

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Overall UoP is worth it for my needs

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - April 29, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been attending UOP the last several years completing my BSB with a concentration in HR. I would stop taking classes on occasion when we'd have a baby so its taken longer to complete than I'd initially planned. I have four classes left so I'm almost there! In all honesty, you will only get out what you put into UoP. If you want to learn and are self driven, read the material and participate, you'll learn... Can you get through this by using google and reformatting your papers so its not directly plagiarized? Yes but that will only hurt you and you'll graduate not knowing much more than when you started. After getting married and having kids and a FT job, brick and mortar college wasn't in the cards for me. I am now in my early 40's and trying to advance my career within a large global company. I know the perception and stigma that UoP has...its not like getting a degree from Auburn or UGA...but I have 25+ years of work experience and wisdom and bottom line, my company requires an accredited degree for advancement in my field. They pay for the classes and I give it my best effort. You won't create a vast network of contacts, you really won't make any friends nor will your instructors remember you. Your degree is only part of what HR Managers look at...you are a culmination of work experience, life experience, outside interests and hobbies...your integrity, loyalty and attitude shape you as a person. I noticed many folks stating the degree didn't help them because it was from UoP and they didn't learn anything etc or the classes were a joke. That's a victim mentality - I don't know if the facilitators read my papers or if my participation made a difference in the class discussion but I did the best I could do. For those dealing with Financial Aid - there are going to be dolts working in any office so make sure everything is correct and do not just take someone's word on it - double/triple check. The ramifications are enormous and having your credit ruined for seven years because you aren't going to pay them for their mistake is like cutting off your nose to spite your face. You have to look out for you because no one else will and blame is the inability to accept responsibility. Even if they say it is correct, get everything in writing and copies of all the paperwork. The "advisors" seem to be call center rep's at best and that's a lot of financial trust to put into someone knowing the high turnover rate they have. UoP is the stepping stone I need to step up my career. It is what it is - a for profit university that puts all the work on the student, little on the facilitator and that gives any student the ability to either dig in and study the material (not sure how someone couldn't learn anything from a 600 page book) or squeak by using google. I'm glad I chose UoP - its worked well for my dynamics and will soon help me get the promotion I've been working on all these years!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

UOP degree was totally worth it

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - March 27, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I do not regret my time at UOP at all. For adults in the workforce, working full time, and even raising kids, UOP is a great way to go. I wouldn't reccomend this kind of program to people right out of High School, I would strongly reccomend those people go to a ground school to get going. UOP is a good fit for those of us that are ENHANCING our careers. There is a lot to be said for UOP and the team approach to getting assignments done. If you have not been in the workforce, or even at a ground school after High School, I amnot sure you would see the value in this type of learning. All in all, if you must get a masters to get promoted, or finish that BS you didn't finish 10 yers ago because you had a family- this is for you- this is NOT for those who are saying "I should go to school"...YOU should go to state university or community college FIRST.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your time and money at this farce of a school

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - August 29, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've taken or enrolled in courses both online and at my local UOP campus. The on-campus (or as the school calls them, on-site) classes consist of four hours of class time per week, for the five weeks that the class is in session. The 20 hours per course, you may notice, is nowhere near the class time required at a traditional school for an undergrad course of three semester units, and I think it would be quite foolish to imagine that this fact is not known by graduate school admissions staff. (Something to keep in mind if you're even remotely interested in continuing your studies.) If you're wondering why I'm telling you about a physical class, please bear with me. I assure you, it ties in neatly with the online experience. On the first day of a business class, the "instructor" spent the entire three hours (the cumulative classroom time, not counting the breaks) giving us her extremely tedious and boring autobiography, which had not one whit to do with the course. So, that's 20 per cent of classroom time squandered, already. Then, towards the end of the session, a few students (including me) asked questions actually pertaining to the class. I'd expressed concern, civilly and politely, about word counts for essays, but she apparently took my query as an affront, and "reported" me to the school authorities (I am not making this up; not even my own imagination is that good). When they contacted me, I dropped the course, and I wisely dropped the school. The online experience was not, I would say, categorically different. The fascinating thing online was the mountain of illiteracy that I encountered from others in my classes. Again, if you think that grad schools don't know this, you're deluding yourself. Of course, Phoenix will accept you for a Master's with open arms ("When can you start?") But then you'd have two worthless degrees, instead of just one. According to the recent U.S. News survey of online schools, UOP ranks an abysmal 79th in the overall score. Actually, I should think that that was being rather generous. There are plenty of other, better online schools; my advice to you is to keep far away from this one.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Love It!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - April 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very pleased with my experience at UofP. Nothing is perfect, no matter where you attend. I think overall the online school has come a long way. Everyone I have dealt with has been very helpful. I had one problem during my first year with one of my advisors, and I requested another one. I haven't have any more problems there. I think you get out of it what you put into it. Yes, there are other students that you can tell struggle and they make some very stupid comments in the discussion groups, but what they do or do not do, does not affect me and my learning. I am very pleased and I work hard for my grades.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Proud to be a Phoenix!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - November 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I currently attend University of Phoenix and have two classes left before I graduate with an AA in Business and am already scheduled to start my Bachelors. I have had an awesome team of advisors that have been there for me every step of the way on this journey, not to mention all the wonderful resources the university offers to help students pass their classes. Yes, I have had to work very hard for my grades; whereas contrary to all the rumors, good grades are not just given to you because you paid for the class. Just remember as with anything “you will get out of it, whatever you put in to it”. I am very proud to be a Phoenix!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

DANGER- WARNING - RIP OFF - SCAM

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm sure some have found that this school helps them, when they are able to just happen to land in good classes. My husband and I joined the University of Phoenix at the same time, got approved for fin. aid at the same time, and started classes 2 weeks apart. After going through the required GEN 195 class and passing, I was put in one class and he was put in another. Essentially the same class, but they taught at different speeds and the assignments were due at different times. My husband ended up with classmates we were lazy, rude, slow to turn in assignments, and in the end he did most of the work for his work group while one girl wanted to spend her whole time just "delegating" work. When he'd write the professor he never got a response. He contacted his contact with UoP and she stated she'd look into it and nothing happened. He ended up failing the class because his classmates in his group didn't do their part of the work. I ended up passing mine but only because I took it upon myself to do my entire group's work for them to ensure we passed. They screwed up my financial aid timing with my classes and kept postponing my second class until after my financial aid came in. When it came in, I made sure to state I wanted to control my own financial aid and faxed in the note for my husband and myself. I'm so grateful I did. They began HARASSING our house constantly! Every single department called our home at least 3-4 times a day claiming it was "check ups". I got upset when I found out I couldn't change my classes around to do what I wanted I could only go on their schedule. We ended up with some family issues and couldn't start classes again right away and told them that. They sent us to collections so quickly... ...Worst part...Our second round of financial aid came in and they sent it back which was fine...BUT THEY CHARGED US FOR IT. They charged us the amount of our loans for sending the loans back! This wasn't a return fee of any kind it's as if the school realized they weren't getting that money so they charged me for it! I also got charged for the GEN 195 class I passed! We both now have $4k balances with the school because they charged us for stuff we either already took and passed or for returning funds we didn't use! I'm currently having an investigation done on this, as I do not believe this is legal. The collection agency they use hounds you even when you state you will not pay until an investigation is complete and they are extremely rude to you. ONE MORE THING: THIS SCHOOL IS NOT ACCREDITED. They state they are but 95% of jobs I asked if they accepted UoP degrees as a qualification they said no! No one recognizes this school's degree! DONT WASTE THE TIME OR MONEY!

Was this review helpful?

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful

This is college, which means you work for it!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - September 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my final year at UoP and I have some mixed reviews, but overall this is my degree and no one else's. And even though I faced plenty of hurdles, bad staff, and some professors that belong in a loony bin not teaching a class I work hard for what I want to get out of my classes. Yes, the majority of students who go here are not the brightest, have no motivation, or have never seen the inside of a classroom in their lives. That makes things truly difficult for team work but the best thing to do is work your hardest and keep communication open with facilitators. I'm blunt, I will tell a professor if someone sucks, or not. This is my grade and that is the only thing students should worry about is their own path toward the future. The amount of work students have to do at a State or Ivy League University is beyond what people could imagine at UoP (I am reminded daily by my husband). So, I suggest stop complaining because we have it easy.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Overall a good experience

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - July 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending UPOX for over 3 years now. I think for lower division classes yes it may be less expensive to go to community college. When it comes to actual California university UOPX is less expensive. I work afternoon and tried attending community college every day before work so that I could take 18 units a semester. I was exhausted. I dropped out. I tried taking less classes but was taking forever. I decided to enroll in UOPX and have accomplished so much more than I could have through the University. I am finding it actually hard at times to do all the work. We are cramming 18 weeks of work into 5 weeks. There is a lot of reading and yes sometimes I do not get it all read. One of my instructors who when he was in his masters program had to read 10 chapters a week he taught us some techniques to read the book. The learning teams can be hard if you can not find the right team. it took me sometime but the teachers were fair in grading if you informed them of the issue. The book are provided online which is good so easier to search for an item. I go to the school to print my books and I still have access online if I choose to look at those books further. The teachers work in the field they teach which gives you real life experience and up to date as they are living it. I enjoy the school and plan on continuing on to obtain my MBA. I have learned quite a bit but I research maybe more than others. I have to fight for my A's I have to attend every class and I have to participate in class. My biggest complaint is that though I have had some great instructors I have had some who have provided great information to use but others read from the book and get paid to do what we could do ourselves. The test are open book but you need to have some knowledge in order to complete the test. The test is timed and to look up each answer you would run out of time.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

please dont follow in my foot steps.

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - June 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hated everything a out UOP. I had problems getting my money when I took online classes, then had the brilliant idea to go to campus classes. For 3 years I plugged away, never even finishing. I was lied to, shoved under the rug. Felt bullied and forced to continue for fear of having to repay the government the money they gave for me to go to school. I was treated as an inferior student in my math class because I wasn't understanding the material. I was told to print out my books, that would cost over $100 in paper, not even being covered even though I "paid" for books that were only online. I feel my whole experience with UOP almost 3 years was a complete waste. I will never be able to do anything with the credits I earned, not only that I was talked into getting student loans, $15000, I have to repay, that I didn't need nor want. They told me to just spend it however I wanted. The money from Rasta, $5500 a year should be plenty to cover my books and classes but, it didn't, I always had to pay for at least a whole class and books out of pocket. Get this... That is with my military discount. This school is a rip off. Thanks UOP for putting me $15,000 in the whole and not a thing to show for it, except 3 years of wasted time. Oh and btw, when my advisor would call me, all he did was flirt with me, talk about how our weekends went and what movies were coming out, never much of anything about school or my classes. He was pretty funny though.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT ENROLL HERE

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - November 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My "adviser" Niokie, rushed me in to enrolling in January 2010 and told me that I was cleared to start classes, even though my financial aide information had not come back yet. One day in to my Orientation class, she calls to tell me my aide had not come through yet so I would have to PAY OUT OF POCKET ($400/credit hour). I was so furious with this news. I immediately withdrew from class because she misled me and now was going to charge me $1200 for an orientation class. Needless to say, they charges me $400. I refused and still refuse to pay this because the ADVISER misled me through the entire process. NOW, University of Phoenix put the $400 on my CREDIT report! Absolutely ridiculous. They only care about money.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Online texts unreliable, tech support helpless, financial advisors apathetic

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In the two years I've been with UofP, the accessibility of their texts has gotten to be increasingly difficult due to increased security measures. In my last class, I could not download, save, highlight, or print. I called IT department and they confirmed security was causing this and there was nothing they could do. I asked my Financial Counselor for a credit and he refused saying he couldn't do anything about it. So I thought, "shame on me, next class I'll buy my book from the book store instead". Good idea, right? Wrong! For the next class, tuition and online text fees were separate. I paid tuition, and bought my book at the book store instead. Then I get call from my Financial Advisor - The fee for the online texts is "required", even if it doesn't work. Explaining what I had done, he said that wasn't an option and purchasing from the online book store was solely at my discretion and additional (so I am being asked to pay double). Explaining the online e-text didn't work my financial advisor said he could do nothing about it, and demanded payment. Background: I've paid them over $16,000 in the past two years. The amount I refuse to pay for terrible e-texts that don't work? $102.15. I feel like such a fool! So my "Buyer Beware" warning can be summarized like this: If you like to buy cars but don't need keys; Or you like to book a hotel room, but don't need the bed; Or even hit a McDonald's drive through and pay for a value meal you KNOW won't have french fries... University of Phoenix is your school. Good luck!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Led me to bigger and better things

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - September 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Looking back on my Bachelors from UoP, I can't say that I am proud to have graduated from there; unfortunately, there is a stigma attached to attending this school. I've been told - "You went to UoP? But you're so smart..." I should have researched my options more thoroughly. However, my overall personal experience with the school (regardless of what my coworkers think) was positive. I routinely received quality feedback from my facilitators (I refuse to call them teachers as for the most part, you have to be a self-starter and engage yourself through the reading material, assignments, and discussion questions) and was pleasantly surprised by their encouragement and assistance throughout the program. I still keep in contact with a few of my facilitators as they have exceptional experience in the field I want to enter. My only true problem with this school was the way their learning teams are set up. Because they accept anyone who has access to financial aid, you might end up with someone who can't add 2+2, on your algebra team. As you near the end of the program, you tend to see that the less dedicated people were filtered out over time but it doesn't free you from dealing with people who may plagiarize or procrastinate until the last minute with a team assignment. Over time, I simply learned to make requests with the facilitator to be with people who wrote out their discussion questions early (attributing that to dedication and anti-procrastination). Most facilitators were accommodating and I rarely had problems with the quality of my teammates once I began making those requests. After I graduated, I applied to both Boston University and University of Pennsylvania to begin my education at the graduate level; I was worried that neither program would accept me because of my undergraduate through UoP. I ended up worrying over nothing as both schools accepted me as a student! So, if you are fretting about moving on to another school after you finish your degree at UoP, DON'T! Other colleges WILL accept your finished degree as a bonafide accredited program.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 22 people found the following review helpful

I learned but it wasn't helpful

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - September 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I decided to go back to school back in the fall of 2007. I was stuck in A/P which is a decent starting point for anyone who wants to work in accounting, but it wasn't for me. It was too easy, but I was unable to move up due to my lack of degree. After starting UofP, I liked it. I didn't think it was very easy at all. I mean, my key was time management. It was my duty to log in, read the chapters, write the papers, and take the exams. It's no different than having the responsibility of getting into your car, make sure you have snacks, and drive to the local campus while sitting in rush hour traffic (for us who attend or attended evening classes). Since completing my Associates in Accounting, I "thought" my company would give me something. At least an interview opportunity to see if I had the qualities to move into a better accounting position. Apparently, the Associates Degree was not enough. All I got was a lunch from my manager in A/P. After a few classes in the Bachelor program, I realized I was in debt and still making less than my co-workers who possessed the same work experience with less education. I thought right then and there that UofP was not for me. If the Associates degree couldn't get me better pay or better opportunity in comparison to people without a degree, then it wasn't worth it. Since transferring out of UoP, I have attained my Bachelors from a more well known University. I was finally able to move up and out of A/P into a more skilled tax accounting position. Do I regret attending UofP? no. I did learn a lot since I actually did read all chapters of every class. But, I should have just attended one college for one program because the Associates was a waste. I'm in a lot of student loan debt because of UofP. Without UoP, I would probably only owe half of what I currently owe in student loans. So, do your research locally first. Look at the non for profit schools first and then go from there. These for profit school will get you good in the end.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Hated it

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - September 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school encourages stupid people to attend (I mean dollar signs). Some of my collaberative work that this school forces on you was with some seriously dumb individuals. You can teach an 'ant' how to read; the same goes for most of the students that attend UOP. These so called 'students' of UOP seem like they learned nothing in high school or are just so stupid that they could fog a mirror and qualify for financial aid. I am really unhappy with my decision. I recommend if you are thinking about UOP that you don't go, and go to a real school.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Waste of money!!!!!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - August 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the worst school to go to online. I went for about a week (they give you a week to drop your classes if it isn't for you)After that week I called them and told them it just wasn't for me. I never received books or any school materials. Yet I got charged 500 bucks for emailing an assignment to my instructor, When you email an assignment it counts as attendence. Waste of money. I would recommend doing research before attending this school.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

AVOID THIS ONLINE COLLEGE!!!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - July 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

University of Phoenix I attended University of phoenix for one year working towards my Associate’s degree in Information Technology. Initially, I was happy with the institution. My enrollment advisor was very helpful and eager to get me started. As a few months passed my enrollment advisor began to fade out of the picture and my academic advisor began to fill in the gaps, also very helpful. Most instructors were very knowledgeable and helpful except for a couple of bad eggs. The lay-out of the website and classroom was not very difficult to navigate and for the most part user friendly. All of the materials are in PDF & Doc. format which was headache at times. Towards the end of my first year at the University of Phoenix I noticed that my academic and financial advisors were frequently being replaced. At the end of my first year with University of Phoenix I decided I wanted to transfer to another online school. I was interested in a Bachelors program and the University of Phoenix did not have a program I was interested in. It was not until I wanted out of the University of Phoenix when the experience turned extremely negative. As soon as I made a request to leave University of Phoenix it became nearly impossible to contact my financial or academic advisors. Nobody would return my calls, respond to e-mails, and would frequently transfer my calls or put me on hold. When I was able to reach advisors, I was frequently lied to and treated negatively. Many advisors had become downright rude towards me. It took me almost 4 months to cut myself loose from the University of Phoenix. It was not until I had threatened to join a class-action lawsuit towards University of Phoenix that ball began to roll with my exit process. I would not recommend this Online College to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

LISTEN UP!!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - April 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I’m a current student at UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX, El Centro campus. After dealing with our lame community college, I couldn’t be more then happy I happen to stumble across UoPx. I’m currently aiming for my Bachelors in Business with a concentration in Accounting. The way I see it, they hand you the proper material in order to learn what your suppose to regarding that subject.. Anything there is to learn can be read in a book, if you like to read that is. Then you get tested on the material handed to you over the 5-8 weeks, if you read it and actually followed the syllabus, you win.. you get an A. (just like any other high school or college) Just because the FACILITATORS are not certified PROFESSORS, doesn’t mean they aren’t qualified to guide you through those the weeks, doesn’t mean they aren’t qualified in that Particular subject... Some you'll begin to find actually have the same Degrees that you are aiming for others may work in the field you wish to work in. UoPx is not for a lazy person. Also just because they set your schedule, enroll you into classes & don’t have you pay up front for ANYTHING, doesn’t mean you'll get of scotch free... LISTEN TO YOUR ENROLLMENT ADVISOR, They go over EVERYTHING!!! Your loan…. is on you! Good Luck! --A Proud Phoenix

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Not a good place to try to get a degree

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - April 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are VERY few things that I like about this school. I started in late 2008 and am within (I think) about 9 or 10 classes of getting my bachlors degree. I have had to quit school because I cannot afford to contiinue. Nobody had explained to me that I would reach the limit of finanical aid until after I reached it! DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

UOP

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - January 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated from UOP with a BSBM and now going for my MBA at UOP. I have worked hard for my degree and will continue to do so for my MBA at UOP. I dont like the teams concept but I have learned to deal with it. The tools and counselors at UOP are very helpful and engaging. I am 51, female and an Executive Support Manager. I have to say its been my experience the less professional younger students are less engaged with the team concept but I have also learned how to deal with younger co-workers. You get what you put into the program like in life.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Unimpressed

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - December 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending the university of phoenix for 3 years now. I got my associates degree in business last year and expect to recieve my bachelors of business administration next year (2011). The thing I am most unimpressed with is the way the college will let anyone in. Many times I am stuck with a teammate that cannot speak english, let alone write well. I know for a fact that my good grade carries many of my teammates to get good grades too when they should not. The problem with UoPhx is that you will be frustrated if you are there to actually learn because of the bottom feeders let in by a for-profit school. You cannot really do anything about that, and I hope that businesses start accepting UoPhx degrees because I am working hard for the degree I am earning.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

One year in

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm 39, enrolled in UOP for my first college experience. I'm coming up on one year and trying to withdraw now. I attend on campus. They sold me with descriptions of working with other professionals, collaborating, etc. I was excited at the opportunity to learn from others, and to finally meet my goal of obtaining higher learning. The curriculum and teaching is top notch. I only had one class I dropped because of a very bad teacher. He was inappropriate on several levels...not fit to teach. But he was outside the norm and they credited me for the class. As I began my program, I was extremely disappointed with the other students. I'm paying full price but it seems 80% of the others are getting a free ride and just go through the motions to get a degree. I'm trying to actually LEARN as much as I can, but that won't get you anywhere. The learning teams end up being just another exercise in doing the bare minimum. The students that have been there a little longer know exactly how to work it so they can put their work off on others. Not only put the work off, but then fault find and put pressure. It doesn't matter if you've stayed up all night working on the project because nobody else will, you'll still be scoffed at for not doing everything perfect. The teachers and counselors leave these bottom feeders in and guess what? They'll get the same grade as you, and they'll be in the next class, ready for you to deal with again, or you'll get a new group of losers. The only way to make it work is to not care as much as they do...do the bare minimum. I want to make every class count. I'm there to learn, not to go through the motions. If you are there to learn and not just get a degree, you'll be very frustrated because it's a culture of just going through the motions. I'll never hire anyone with a UOP degree. If someone actually makes it through a program, it means either they are a lazy bottom feeder too, or just an idiot. Now I'm trying to get out. Something tells me it's not going to be easy now that I've approved funding for the next year. I hate this school. I'm ashamed to say I go there. I'm going to spend top dollar to just go through the motions and support losers without learning a whole hell of a lot. Even the seniors, they don't care. All the ones I've talked to just want the degree. I can't believe I wanted to go to college my whole life and find this...very disillusioned.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

No concern for students

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended the University of Phoenix for nearly three years. I even flew out to phoenix for their first graduation in the UOP stadium. My father got sick so it delayed my last class for a year. UOP has grown so large they are thoughtless to the concerns of their students. You are only a number. After trying to return to UOP they now want me to take another 14 classes to complete my degree. It's all about the money. Trust me! That another $25,000. You can go somewhere else much cheaper. If you are prior military they will not transfer the hours as they promise. My advise is to stay away from UOP. Try another online school that is in their start up process.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Horrible! Stay Away!

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the most non-responsive, lackluster university I have ever encountered. The academic counselors will enroll you in classes that you don't need, they will take several months to transfer your credits (this allows them to enroll you in classes that you've already taken at other universities). I have been trying for 2 months to get transferred from one University of Phoenix campus to another but my attempts have been unsuccessful! No one in the military department at the University of Phoenix is ever available to service servicemembers, making transfers impossible (they are the only people who can transfer servicemembers from one university to another) but without a response from them, how is it possible to transfer and enroll in the University close to you? University of Phoenix must either be too stupid to address these issues/concerns or just not need the tuition! Stay away from the University of Phoenix if at all possible! Strayer University is more responsive and professional!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Bad Setup

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - April 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Associates Degree with Axia College with the University of Phoenix. It was an excellent program and I was extremely impressed. If I where to rate that experience I would have given it very high scores. Unfortunately, the Bachelors Program was totally unexpected. I'd spoken with others who'd started the program and where not satisfied but I did not let this deter me from starting. From day one I noted that lack of interaction, poor communication between teacher and students. The setup was poor and consequently I have decided to try other online programs to complete my degree.

Was this review helpful?

Too Expensive, but adequate

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - April 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently finished a bachelors degree in global business mnagement. I had completed my first 2 years of traditional college at community and state schools. I found that the UoP prorgam was as demanding as far as workload as the traditional schools I had attended. I had received A's in the courses at traditional colleges and A's at UoP as well. Generally the work at UoP was very demanding. The courses required a huge amount of reading and writing. Each class averaged two full text books and 5 to 8 (some team oriented) research papers. I will say that because of the condensed class schedules that in some cases materials were not adequately covered, but if a student completed the large number of reading assignments, the relevant topics were represented. Working in an environment where there are no standards for enrollment can be very frustrting indeed, but I noticed by senior year (last 7 or 8 classes) these individuals either improved enough to continue or left the program. Instuctors or facilitators were hit or miss. Most I had were knowledgable and tried their best to create a learning environment. Like any school, some don't care and give out A's like water. The expense of UoP given the return was prohibitive. If you can afford the cost and have the time you might want to cosider a state school of more traditional environment especially if you are younger and just starting out. I returned to school at age 47 and was already working in the business environment for over 25 years, so the UoP coursework was just to augment my existing skills. I had no problem with couselors or payments. They were all very helpful and responsive.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

A Terrible Experience

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - March 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've had such a horrible experience in this school I would never reccommend it to anyone. My first class started out great with teammates that kept in touch and an excellent instructor who was organized and open to preparing us for what was expected to pass the course. After receiving an A I was in my second class. The instructor put everyone to sleep and was totally unorganized. My third class, the instructor did not even lecture on the chapters, he spoke of his personal life and wouldn't even prepare us for the final 3-hour exam. All he said was that he never saw the exam questions. Wow, what feedback!!!!! My teammates didn't even contact me for team assignments. Nobody in class seamed to care. No wonder there were less than eight students with so many dropping every 5 weeks.

Was this review helpful?

Better Than Traditional College/Uni

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - February 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed 160 units at Chapman College/University back in 1987. In 1997, I picked up from where I left off at UOP. I found courses to be much more relevant to what I was experiencing in the real world which in turn motivated me to complete my degree. Unlike the "career" professors at traditional schools, UOP employed experts in the field with ACTUAL experience working in senior management capacities (i.e. CEO, CFO ect.) While course options were somewhat limited at the time, they all served a specific purpose and left little question as to what was needed to graduate. I have since advance in my career and, trust me here folks, I am able to hold my own with the "big boys" who proudly display degrees from top schools.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Better than I expected

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - January 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was referred to University of Phoenix (UoP) by a family member who is a Director of Human Resources for an international firm. He told me that I should look into UoP for my bachelors degree. I expected it to be a diploma mill but I looked into it anyway and I was pleasantly surprised. The faculty and staff at UoP has been outstanding. The advisors generally work 11 hour days to accommodate students from multiple time zones and are nothing but courteous and knowledgeable. Whenever I have had a problem or a question, they have answered it swiftly and gotten me back on track. As for faculty, most of them have PhDs with a few who have only a Masters. All of them are very experienced and eager to help you succeed. However, if you are doing poorly or not completing the work you can and will fail or receive a poor grade. The faculty will try to reach out to you and prevent this from happening but if you do not grasp the material (or do the work) you will not pass. I do wish they offered lectures in podcasts or word documents but most Professors don't. Generally they rely on the free PDF textbooks that are downloadable (or you may purchase the physical books) and discussion questions to get the material across to students. The website and library are phenomenal. Every time I think they have succeeded in perfecting the site the University rolls out a new update that adds more power to an already impressive interface. I have absolutely no regrets about earning my Associate's and Bachelors degrees at University of Phoenix. My employer (the largest bank in the world) has stood behind me and paid for much of the degree, and there is even talk about a promotion for me now that I have graduated!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Two Weeks of Hell

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - September 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to school for a whole two weeks!!! Not a quitter at all but I was being made to take classes on how to take classes. Instructors were a disaster. No help at all! No definite instructions on syllabus (the instructors now provide there own). IT WAS THE WORSE COLLEGE EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD. I would never refer University of Phoenix to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

No Way

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - July 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to UOP from Sep 2006 to March 2008 and it was interesting. I noticed that I got an A in every class and I did not read any of the textbooks I just got my information from the internet. In high school I was never a straight A student so I was amazed. I went to a community college for a semester and I was struggling. So what does that tell you? I think the instructors passed you just for making the effort to complete the coursework. My comments for my assignments were always, excellent, good job, great work etc, but never detailed feedback. I would not recommend this school because it does not look good. I work in Human Resources and when we review applications someone from UOP will be overlooked before someone with a degree from any tradional school or even an online school that many people have not heard of. Sometimes it is better to go with a school that no one has heard of rather than one that has a bad reputation.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

thieves

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - July 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took two classes at this school because my work would pay for half of all classes. the school told me I had to pay first and then when my work paid they would refund me half of what I paid for each class. I have been trying for over 6 months to get my money back. Everytime the school plays stupid. My second class they dropped during the second week. I said not to enroll me in any future classes and they did. So I said take me out of the next class I will not give the school another dime. Instead they dropped me from the class I had just paid 1620.00 for. 4 days ago they finally admit they owe me 1420.00. I check my bank account online today and they have taken out 972.00. my last class was in july I'm not even enrolled in anything. If you attend this school as a cash paying student they want access to your bank account but do not do it. I filed fraud charges and a small claims suit today. check the BBB. I am not the only one this has happened to.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

I don't recommend it

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Not a bad school and the teachers seem to be qualified and well-spoken. However after a few courses I didn't feel like I was truly benefitting from the program, and it seems like everyone passes for just showing up and contributing basic input. In addition, the cost of the UoP courses are double and sometimes triple what other state universities with more recognizable programs charge. Unfortunately after almost three years and more than 20K in student loans I am now finding that many of my course credits are not going to transfer to another school. I just enrolled in the University Of North Carolina and was told that instead of needing 30 credits (with Univ of Phoenix) I would need 74. The sad thing is, I could repeat the entire program for less than what I have paid UoP. I would advise anyone considering the UoP to really research all the alternatives unless you have tuition assistance and are looking for a diploma from just anywhere.

Was this review helpful?

I transferred out.

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - June 11, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The instructors were good, I had no problem with them or the method of learning. I did learn. The problem was that nobody takes a degree from UoP serious. I want to get into a good graduate program, so I decided to transfer to a more respected university. It's unfortunate.

Was this review helpful?

You get what you put into it

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - December 9, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed the program and have, for the most part, positive reviews of the program. I am a mid-level executive who has progressed in life without the degree and decided to finish it up after 25 years. I can say that the material is up to date and spot on, and you will get what you put into it. The teachers are hit and miss. I did not rely on them to teach rather just to use their comments on the material. I detested the learning teams as many members where there to just do what it took to get by and no more. I could tell who was just a kid slacking through without the effort. Many members would not participate and it galled me to see them pass the class with sub-standard work. The admin and teachers could care less about those students. As long as we kept taking classes. I did find that teachers were okay if you told them in advance of travel. I don't expect teachers to grant extentions after the fact and those who expect that, do not understand what they are in for when they graduate. Overall, it was worth it and I'm glad I did it. For those who complain, I imagine they were looking for an easier ride.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Expensive Program without the Name Recognition

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - October 12, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I looked to continue my education and earn a Bachelor degree in Management, I did not know how many schools out there offer degrees but I did know of the University of Phoenix. I ended up getting my degree at UoP as a result of not investigating other alternatives. The program in itself is good; the professors are for the most part knowledgeable; the course materials are good except that I did not like getting the books on pdf as I prefer to read a physical book and not the electronic version. Yet the concern I have with the school is what I would call its willingness to pretty much graduate anyone. There were some participants that clearly were not learning yet were advancing in the program. I believe that by graduating these individuals, the UoP degree is cheapened in the workplace.

Was this review helpful?

Too much $$ for a bad delivery system

Bachelor of Science in Business/Administration - August 10, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I equated "biggest" online university with best. The cost is just absolutely outrageous. The professors are usually very competent and give great effort to provide quality courses. The books and materials are good, but using Outlook Express Newsgroup is very tough for all persons involved. Bad value, Bad Technology. There are worse places to go, but I had expected a state-of-the art Blackboard suite or something similiar to use.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.