Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

A okay experience so far

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - April 19, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled with a graduation date of 6/4/18. I do like the program and the teachers but when it comes to financial advising and academic advising it's a lot worse than any other school I've ever attended. Now you will always have someone to talk too but your assigned advisors are absent a lot and you talkin with a stranger getting conflicting information sometimes. And they will charge you the moment you drop out or withdrawal from any class with them. It's good to always ask them when it will be paid for in full to where if you did decide to leave you won't owe a balance. That is typically at the end of their quarter which is months. They are really horrible when it comes to giving you your refund check back. They give conflicting information and really take their sweet time giving you your refund money. You could wait up to a month for a return and don't ever count of any information they give you because it's never correct. They get your hopes up you'll receive it then they tell you another amount of business days. Sadly my financial advisor is great but she's never there or available so I'm speaking with all different people getting different information. Then they'll get really rude and irritated with you if you tell them the conflicting information you got, their customer service sucks in their financial aid department. Overall if I could leave I would but I'm not trying to owe them a balance or waste my time. My advise would be to really do your research before selecting this school.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

UOPX

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - April 15, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began at the UOPX back in September 2015. I so far don't have much complaints about the classes it's just a lot of reading involved and some papers. So far the papers haven't been anymore than 1,050 words. I have a great academic advisor who checks in with me before every class. Classes are 5 weeks long and you have to post a certain amount of post each week to make attendance and participation. My financial advisor can be a pain in my butt. This school is pretty costly but they have a hard time issuing out their refund checks to students. This is the first college I've ever attended where they take up to 14 business days from the day they tell you you'll have a refund check. My financial advisor pretty much bull craps every time I checked with her on why it took so long. Other than the institution not liking to release students excess funds it is a overall ok school. You just have to be motivated to get things done.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

I'm not learning anything

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - May 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The teacher that I have now is like a robot she copies and paste EVERYTHING! They give you assignments but you don't actually learn anything. There are a few things I like about this school..it's convenient (I have two jobs so actually going to class would be impossible) I'm failing my class now but after she grades my other assignments I should pass. I plagiarized which is completely my fault, but I'm not learning anything and I couldn't understand the question. The teacher wont help you she'll just copy [stuff]. OH and the financial lady BLOWS up my phone, I keep telling her that I'm waiting for my IRS paper to come, that means I WILL call you. The guy that's supposed to check up on me calls me only while I'm at work, and will not leave me alone!

Was this review helpful?

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful

satisfied

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - February 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student at UoP & ive been attending the local campus classes going into my fourth & final year. There has been a lot of fussing about the price & saying they are just driven by money, but you have to look at the big picture... you are paying for convenience! With UoP (just as with any other online institution), you do not have to attend every day so you can still have a life, you do not have to fork out hundreds of dollars every course for books, and honestly UoP doesn't cost any more than any other online school. Overall, I have been very satisfied with my experience with UoP!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful

UoP

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - June 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

University of Phoenix is more consumed with money then helping a student. I have asked for help from a so-called instructor and have not gotten any response. These instructors spell and write worse than I do, they run your papers through scanning devices and call you dishonest if you mistakenly omit a quotation mark, or part of a reference. Another thing I have a problem with is for the tuition you pay, you should receive a real textbook, not an on-line book that you cannot refer to later during your studies.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

good experience

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - June 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the UOP and can't complain. I read all of the negative reviews, and can't reconcile between what I experience, and what I read here. Yes, there are readings, if you went to a traditional school, youd have the same thing. The readings are the lecture, and my instructor posts videos about various subjects frequently.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful

The overall of University of Phoenix

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - March 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had an experience that was very stressing. UOP seems to thrive off of money. Yes, when the advisors call its only for their best interest. After they get you in you trapped. All I can say is to read the fine print and know that they can twist the words they say because they have done it to me.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Bad Experience...

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - December 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at University of Phoenix, involves a very long story, but I will try to make it as short as possible. I enrolled in University of Phoenix for all the normal reasons; work, kids, and a tremendously hectic schedule, that wouldn't allow me to attend a traditional campus college. At the time I did not know much about online degree programs, but one of my sisters friends were attending University of Phoenix, and she highly recommended University of Phoenix. So I took her word for it, and enrolled. I wish now, that I would have done research on the college. *My enrollment counselor was somewhat helpful, but she sounded a lot like a car salesman, rather than a college adviser. I can understand this to a degree, since advisers get paid commission, but she went a bit overboard. She called me everyday, until I was enrolled, than nothing. I don't know how many times I tried to call. I left messages, and emails, and never received a response. *Decent instructors are a dime a dozen. Some of the instructors are a complete and udder nightmare. One of my instructors gave me a really bad grade on every paper I turned in, but wouldn't explain why I was receiving a bad grade, or how I could do better. I don't think I was the only one having problems with this particular instructor, because halfway through the course, we were given a new instructor. The new instructor regraded and submitted all of our previous work. In the 8 months that I attended University of Phoenix, I had one decent instructor. * I really liked the curriculum and materials provided by UoP. I think they should change the topics around a bit. Especially the material topics in the writing courses. Thousands of students have attended UoP, and each one has written an essay on the same topic, and because of this, any paper written by a new student will come back somewhat plagiarized, or similar to another paper. This is my only complaint about the materials. * I never had too much trouble with my financial aid. One time I received my FA a little late, but the financial adviser was very helpful. I did get get charged for materials that weren't needed, and I was never able to get a hold of anyone to straighten out the issue. * I had many reasons for leaving University of Phoenix, but the tuition increase, pushed me over the edge. In my 1st block of courses, I received an email stating that tuition would be increasing, and it did by $50, for each course. In my 2nd block of courses I received an email stating that the price of materials was increasing, and it did by $20, for each course. In my 3rd block of classes I received another email about the increase in tuition, and once again it did increase. The tuition and course material cost increased with each new block of classes. When I enrolled I signed an agreement, and the agreement states that they can increase tuition if needed in order to adjust to the students course needs. I guess I should have read the fine print. So here are just a few problems that I had with University of Phoenix. Just because I had a bad experience does not mean that it will be the same for someone else. I did learn a lot from University of Phoenix, while I was there. University of Phoenix just wasn't the school for me.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Not a good learning experience

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - October 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are 3 things a class should have, a tutorial, questions from the teacher, and answers with discussion. These online classes only have questions. The teacher just posts questions without any review. You are expected to learn by your readings. You would think that technology would be used, like video lectures, webinars, teleconferencing, the things that are used in business every day. But no, all you do is answer written questions from the teacher and when it's time to do the paper they won't help you because they think you should have learned the material from your reading. I have taken 6 classes so far, 2 online and 4 on campus. None of the teachers have been good. It seems they are there only for the extra money because they have full time jobs outside of the school. They just follow the curriculum that is written for them. The team projects are terrible also because the students just do their part and don't even try to work as a team. And it is true, if you want a good grade on them you have to do most of the work yourself. I would not recommend this college. By the way, I have earned all A's so far but I came to college to learn and I don't feel like I have learned much.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

BSHA

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - August 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm disappointed with this institution. It is profit driven and seems only to care that it enroll anyone with the means to finance their education whether they can test ot of high school or are even coming directly from high school. I find many of the instructors to be substandard. The curriculum is made too easy. The learning-team concept is ridiculous because smarter students have to spend too much time teaching less-educated. Too many have trouble understanding assignents and concepts, and because the learning-team effort counts for 30% of a student's grade, not only do we get stuck teaching and explaining things to other students, but we often have to carry the team projects to get adequate grades. This school, misleads, even lies about financial oportunities and the way the program works, to increase enrollment. Complaints are never dealt with properly, and overall the experience is substandard, lacking any excellence--except for the ocaissional instructor; however, the good ones are few.

Was this review helpful?

UOP BSHA

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - July 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my BSHA at UOP and found the experience to be excellent. I met many students online who shared various experiences in their work, this helped me to think differently and with an open mind. The program at first seemed intimidating because I worried I would not be disciplined enough to always be on line. I found I studied harder, worked harder, and learned a lot more than in the traditional classroom setting.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

BSHA

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - May 16, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm nearly finished with my HCA degree. I've done most of my course work in a flex-net setting so there may be some differences. I think the class sizes are small which is good as it allows you to develop cohort groups. The material is up to date and the instructors do a good job. We had the same instructor for several classes and while she was talented, I feel that I would have learned more by hearing from a variety of instructors. On the downside is the cost, and the amount of time. I had more time tied up in team projects and answering discussion question so it was difficult for me to accomplish all the readings. I don't feel that I didn't learn the material, simply that I only had an overview of some of the subjects due to the other requirements. It isn't a bad course or college, but it does take quite a bit of work.

Was this review helpful?

UOP BSHA

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - January 23, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have done classes both online and on-ground and it is a good program with excellent materials. The technology is a little outdated with Outlook newsgroups. Hopefully, UOP will be upgrading to newer systems. Overall the experience has been really good. I have three classes left and am looking to do my MBA with UOP.

Was this review helpful?

UOP Health care

Bachelor of Science in Health Administration - July 23, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great program, up-to-date material! You get out of it what you put into it. If you are organized and read all the material, you will be able to use what you learn. Don't believe the negative hype from those who could not hack it. I am a recruiter and think online degress are becoming more accepted in the business world.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.