Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

Awful Organization! Don't go here or waste your money.

Bachelof of Science in Management - December 11, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was so unhappy with the UofP. The financial aide department was awful. 2 years in they had to stop my program because they needed new VA paperwork and didn't know what paperwork or how to complete it but would not let me continue with my program because of their issue and ignorance. I was so livid. Then after I graduated they called me and told me never mind, you didn't earn your HRM certificate because you didn't complete all of the HRM classes with us. I know we let you transfer them from another accredited school but you don't qualify to graduate from us. So essentially, they wanted me to come back and pay them for more classes so I could graduate. Not one time in the 2.5 years I was there did they tell me this at all. They were happy to charge me for transferring my credits but never said they won't count for graduation. This is a SCAM to get more money from us as students. Apparently we didn't pay them enough as it was. I loathe this school. They made my life miserable with all the BS they kept coming up with after the fact to try and get more money from us.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Never had a problem with U of Phx

Bachelof of Science in Management - September 15, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending U Of P online since 2012, I earned my AA in business management and am currently working towards my BS in Business Management. I will start off by saying that if you are not a self disciplined person and expect everything to be handed to you then the On-line experience is not going to work for you. The coursework requires lots of reading and writing over the 9 weeks or 5 weeks, depending on your program. You get what you put into it. Learning teams are not always great, there are people who try to ride through and not do anything but they CAN be dismissed from the team for not participating. Over-all I have enjoyed the curriculum and learned in every course.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

UOP - Getting to work

Bachelof of Science in Management - August 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been reading the negative comments by those that attend the online version of UOP. Let's just say it is different from attend campus classes. I've had hard teachers THAT ARE ACTUALLY TEACHERS and not facilitators. I can count on one hand how many facilitators I had. DO YOUR RESEARCH! - I've had several teachers that didn't teach worth anything and considered UOP an easy check. Let's just say they are not at the campus where I attend. I have had teachers that have made those 4 hours all about them and their therapy. I will say that those teachers are no longer there. I complain because I pay. Now if you didn't get anything out of the classes, then that is your fault! I consider myself intelligent and I would say the classes can be challenging. They were challenging to me because I went above and beyond in all of my classes. I've managed to retain much of my education and haven't lost anything. You know that saying, "If you don't use it, You loose it!" That's what happened to many of those fly-by-nighters. There is good and bad in every school and just because you go to an Ivy league school does not mean you are a Straight-A student! Reagan had a C average in Economics, Bush had a C average.O_o

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Ashamed to say I attend UoP

Bachelof of Science in Management - April 15, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my last year of a 4 yr management degree. I have maintained A's throughout my time in U of P. I have to say, 1/3 of those courses I know very little about, another 1/3 I deserved a C grade. Not once do I feel I knew the material well enough to justify an A. I am almost certain every learning team is a mandatory match between the high grade students and failing students who leach off the A students. The teaching is minimal, or in a few classes, completely non-existant. I am at the point now, I could just take the course syllabus, do all the assignments by Googling them, and ace the 30 question fill in the dot final, without ever reading the material or any instruction. THE SCHOOL IS A JOKE zero value for your money. If you really want to learn, do not go here. If you want an easy degree, jst a piece of paper that says you have a degree than this is your school. I am trapped, I am too far along to switch now. My coursework in 6th grade was tougher than the 4th year classes...

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Business Managemrnt

Bachelof of Science in Management - September 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been in the university of Phoenix since 2010 and have completed more classes than in a regular college. In many classes, I feel as if I am in a high school course. I have teammates who act if they are in high school. They do not act if this is a college course and it makes it very frustrating when they do not want to do their part. If you enroll in a college like the University of Phoenix, you best be informed of what the college requires for classroom involvement. The teams are unsupervised and you are basically responsible for your own education and the instructors are only there to approve your work and make sure you participate. I you are not ready to be self instructed, do not apply.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

DEGREE ISSUED IN ERROR - NO NOTIFICATION

Bachelof of Science in Management - May 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My husband received his Bachelor of Science Degree in 2005 (almost 8 years ago). He went through the ceremony we celebrated and he really thought he had his degree all these years. Today he finds out that he in fact DOES NOT have a degree. Turns out that the human resources department at his new job told him that UOP informed that he was two classes short of completing his degree. They further told him that if he didn't complete the classes by May 27, he would have to attend, yet one more year at UOP to attain the degree. I find this unethical and unprofessional of this university. They have not once contacted him to inform him that they gave him a degree in error. I went to this university and referred him to it and now I'm beginning to question if I in fact actually have a degree. I am appalled at the lack of responsibility they've demonstrated in their situation.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Research

Bachelof of Science in Management - December 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Do the research before deciding which school to attend. Looking at the negative reviews, I believe the comments are a bit glorified. Like any real education class, you have to put work into it in order to get something out of it. Some of the comments are just not true unless it differs from one degree program to another. For me, group grade is not the majority of the final grade, it is 30%. If someone is not pulling his or her own weight, the person does not get credit for the assignment. However, like the real world, if the group falls behind because of a group member, then the other members have to step it up. UOP does offer convenience for online classes and it is suited only for those that are disciplined to do the work.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Satisfied with my degree

Bachelof of Science in Management - September 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I felt that some of my friends were writing papers that were lengthier than mine at UOP. Also, I felt that they were being more educated than I was attending UOP.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

Bachelof of Science in Management - July 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Loved the bas-m curriculum... I have 2 classes to go and will have completed 20 with uop online. Taught me to be discipline and because of this I have learned a great deal. Have my foot in the door for an counting position once I graduate. I suggest this program if your serious about learning.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Personal Ownership

Bachelof of Science in Management - June 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall I had a positive experience at UOPX. I have noticed that many reviewers complain about cost when the reality is that UOPX is less expensive when you look at cost of attendance than most state universities and even some community colleges. Own your experience, if you do not want to work hard or take accountability for your actions then do not attend school anywhere are you will not complete. If you want to work hard and get a degree that many employers like B of A, Boeing, US Federal Government, Microsoft, Oracle etc, believe in (as they will pay for their employees to attend UOPX) then it could work for you. If all the negative and rip-off comments were true they simple could not exist. I challenge those who take to the internet to state their ire to contact the Dept of Education and open up a case. Most people are simply looking for someone to blame for their lack of dedication and refuse to take ownership. Do yourself a favor, if you have questions about any organization, including University of Phoenix, take the time to talk to both sides. In the case of University of Phoenix contact the alumni network, look at their corporate partnerships, and the Dept of Education before making a decision.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 21 people found the following review helpful

BS Management Degree from the University of Phoenix Review

Bachelof of Science in Management - August 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from the University of Phoenix in 2008 with a BS in Management. I attended several colleges prior and had gotten all A's my final 11 courses which were taken there; to do this I worked my tail end off; and yes there are some team mates you are stuck with in certain classes that don't contribute equally, but that is what you will certainly experience in the work force and life. This is what the UoP's model is, so suck it up and do what you need to; even if that means carrying the weight of others to get the job done. None of my classes were easy, and at least half of them at the UoP and other colleges I attended had me doing the majority of the work when I was in a group. Just life, if you want an A, regardless of your "group score" stated in prior threads to hold 30% of your grade, you can still get an A if your group sucks. As for anyone that says your degree from the University of Phoenix isn't looked at like other schools; well you are right, but also wrong. UOP is fully accredited, I have submitted my application for my MBA to schools such as Thunderbird Business School in AZ., Henley Business School in Reading, UK, and Imperial Business School in London (all top 50 Business Schools in the world) and all take the UOP degree I have as an undergraduate degree quite seriously. My GPA helps too here, but all have stated this degree with my GPA is completely justified to enter their schools (1 of many criteria). Yes, if you picked Yale, Cal, Stanford, USC, etc., then the UoP degree you just earned obviously can't compete with their status or reputation. Costs: Yes, too expensive considering they are not on any ranking systems at all (there is a reason for this; not because they suck; but because they are not set up as other schools are; they are a business, so they aren't ranked by the 3 ranking systems in the world that most people look at). Don't even ask about how much they charge for an MBA...qouted just under $40k US today..rediculous! It's all what you want though, me, i is a highly ranked business school; just my preference; as I am already a Phoenix and went to their graduation ceramony. Finally, does an employer take your bachelors degree from UoP seriously? YES! They are fully accredited, so that does mean something! I work for a cellular company and was recently promoted to a Manager. I was living in California and they relocated me to the UK for two years, I make 200k US a year from just over 119k to which I was making and I wouldn't have gotten this promotion (nor the pay prior) without my degree. A dream job which my hard work, dedication, commitment, and yes my degree helped me get. I only started at this company 3 years ago (12 years of work experience). So, anybody that says "this degree doesn't get me a job" is in my opinion a moron. You should have went to Stanford or Harvard buddy and got all A's, met the right people while there, and even then it is how you present yourself during the interview process. Just because you have a degree, doesn't mean you will automatically get a good job.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

My Bachelors of Science Degree in Business Management

Bachelof of Science in Management - August 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Bachelors Degree online in 2010. I have attended 2 other universities and the level of assigned work at UOP was equal to if not greater than the universities I have attended. Online education for the working adult requires a great level of discipline and I believe that I improved my level of discipline by attending UOP. My problem with UOP is that there is no help in obtaining a position in your major after graduation. I wonder why I majored in the degree because it seems to mean nothing to employers. I don't know if it is because of the University's reputation, or if I am not applying for the right positions. If UOP gave assistance in obtaining a position in the major it would be a very good school to attend.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Stay FAR FAR Away from UOP

Bachelof of Science in Management - July 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I made the mistake of getting my Bachelors of Science in Management through the University of Phoenix. I feel like this is one of the worst mistakes I have ever made in my life. It seems that employers and peers alike do not take this degree seriously and it has helped me in no way whatsoever in finding jobs. It wasn't until I was almost finished with my degree that I realized what a mistake it was, and by then it was too late. So I went ahead and finished, but now I am 30k in the hole with nothing to show for it. I am not the type to regret things I have done, but it makes me nauseous when I think of how much money I gave this horrible institution.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

a guarantee for financial trouble

Bachelof of Science in Management - April 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I’m unemployed now and missed / dropped one class due to medical issues. Well I guess you have to pay for the class if you drop it. These people are the worst, I think I had 5 different counselors and only took 6 classes and now owe 8,000 big ones on a student loan. I also have the 1800 from the class I dropped forwarded to the collections dept. I offered to pay 40 a month from my unemployment but the UOP dept. told me it would not be near enough and I could not return to school until paid. She then told me she would push out the bill a month so I could have some time to get the cash?????? Bottom line I owe o lot of money for 6 really bad classes, I think one teacher told me just show up for the c ? and the students all look like middle aged lost and taken advantage of. I hope more people speak out. they will also push a lot of paperwork on you its so fast your not likely to understand. c.c

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Trapped by the pay for profit.

Bachelof of Science in Management - December 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been at the University of Phoenix for two years. Since I have enrolled I have spent a ton of money attending courses. They held my funds on more than two occassions, I am guessing to collect interest. They messed up my schedule and I took a online course and a on ground course at the same time to catch up and they still took to long to release MY money. They are a pay for profit school. Most of the teachers are very nice and will help you, but as for their corporate, students are nothing but an IRN number and profit. The school is a joke, I have not read one book since I started there and i have a 3.65gpa. If I read or put forth an effort I would probley still have a 4.0gpa. I recently attempted to transfer and the good schools liek Western Michigan University and Davenport University would not take half of my credits. When I tried to leave school i found out that the University of Phoenix will send my student loan money back to the Department of education lender and then i will owe Phoenix. Does not sound right to me. I should be abel to send the money directly to the lender. Phoenix will not release my credits to the other schools until i pay them back. I did not ask or tell them to send their money to the lender. I would love to send the money back to the lender. The bad part is, when i enrolled they rushed me through paperwork and I probley missed the fine print. So with that said, avoid Phoenix at all cost. Your buying there name, not a quality education.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

UoP is a bad call

Bachelof of Science in Management - December 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The team structure at UoP is flawed. Team projects are 30% of your grade and invariably you will have a few students that will not contribute, will claim a host of issues why they couldn't get online, or will turn in junk for work. If you are after a piece of paper and not an education then UoP is for you. I am taking my MBA elsewhere after I complete my BS degree in just a few classes. The University does nothing to track or counsel students that are repeat offenders and most instructors won't get involved in team issues. It is not worth the stress and aggravation if you want a good grade because you will do most or all of the team assignment and often the day its due because the other students won't tell you they plan on sticking you with the work.

Was this review helpful?

Stay away from UoP

Bachelof of Science in Management - December 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The person that wrote the review titled Unbelievable is 100% correct. I am about to graduate UoP and am not going to UoP for my MBA. Half of the team members will contribute little or nothing and the University does nothing to them because they are chasing the money. The program is good and convenient but the team structure is 30% of your grade and dependent upon others that simply want their diploma without any effort. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

University of Phoenix saved me!

Bachelof of Science in Management - June 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a military veteran, father, and a loving husband. I was able to maintain my full-time job and complete my Bachelors and my MBA here within 4 years. One class at a time is definitely worth it and at least I didn't have to pay for swimming pool, gym, parking, and landscaping fees, etc.!!!! The books were always less than $100 per class too so it was almost the same overall price to go to a public school!!! I NEVER had a problem finding a job yet, probably a result of never having a gap in my employment :)

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Unbelievable!

Bachelof of Science in Management - November 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am so glad I am only going to University of Phoenix for a certificate program. I am on my 3rd out of 6 classes. I have spent way to much money to stop now so I am forced to finish or consider the money I spent as a donation to UoP. My complaint is the caliber of students UoP admits to the class. I resent my hard work benefiting team members that have absolutely no participation or contribution to a team paper, and yet get that A that I spent hours on the week before. Why do I do it? Because if I left it up to some of these team members they simply would not do the assignment or be fine with a D. Right now I am so mad because I just got an email from an instructor who wanted me to know he was going to give a team member full credit for a team paper that she did not contribute to. I am not saying she contributed a little, she did NOTHING. How does a college continue to be accreddited for that? This student is also a UoP employee. I am sure if she did all of the work and paid the high price of the course she would be upset as well. If I had this experience, I am sure many others have too. As an executive I will no longer recognize a candidate with a BS degree from UoP the same as the local state college. Accredited does not mean same quality of learning environment. If a student can do nothing and get credit, what does that tell you? I will not pursue any other education with UoP once my existing program is completed, and am so thankful this is only 10k and 6 classes of my time and money. I dislike the feeling of being chained to a d or f student on team assignments. It is like dragging a dead body around. And if I don't, I personally go down. Based on other postings, it is clear UoP wants to entice those low level students to bring their money over and succeed with a "pay UoP, get your degree" plan. The only positive thing I can say is the online courses provide flexibility for a professional. I do feel like I have learned from the courseware and instructors. I know I put in twice as much time in these UoP classes just because of all the dead weight that I have to carry on team assignments!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Amazing!

Bachelof of Science in Management - November 29, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had an amazing experience with UoP. I am very excited and proud to have my BSM. I think that many of the people who complain received exactly what they put in to it! I am now a student at Harvard! Best of luck to all!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.