Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

Disappointing

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - July 31, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took a 5 year break and Phoenix has not improved. I have spoken to three supervisors in last month and still did not getting anywhere. I sent all my information in May 5th to my enrollment counselor which was to transfers to Financial Aide Advisor. It never happen from Victoria, Jonquilla, and Kamille. I'm so disappointed and frustrated about the situation. I have requested for higher up then a supervisor and Victoria did not honor my request. It's now August and Kamille still did not have a response.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great School!

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - April 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending the University of Phoenix (online). I am pursuing a Bachelors Degree in Human Services. I currently hold a 3.5 GPA. The work is challenging and the professors/facilitators make you think. The learning teams help you prepare for working with others, from various backgrounds, in the real world. The course material is up-to-date and the school has so many resources to help students succeed. I have read both positive and negative reviews on the school and the negative reviews have not caused me to change my thoughts and feelings about the school. The financial advisor and the academic representative have helped me tremendously. I would tell anyone that is considering online studies that they need to have their priorities in order and time management is key. I would recommend the University of Phoenix to anyone considering online learning.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Save Yourself While You Can

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - July 18, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First of all, the course work is not challenging not one bit I've breezed through almost two degrees with little to no brain work involved. Learning teams are a joke; they're full of procrastinators who make excuses as to why they can't turn in their portion of the assignment on time. With all things considered, the worst experience I've had is with my financial counselor. Every disbursement period since I've been enrolled, I've gotten "randomly" selected for verification. This wouldn't be a problem if it didn't require faxing and refaxing documents several times. My "counselor" would ask for more documents in bits and pieces instead of asking for everything he needed all at once. Now, I have two classes left until I'm done with my B.S. and you would think this would be cause for celebration. NO! The financial aid department has put me through heck with this last verification stint, making it impossible for me to finish. My classes keep getting pushed back while they try to figure out how to extort more money out of me. Oh, did I forget to mention, they're already asking for me to start paying my loans back. Do not go here if you value your sanity.I'm disgusted. After reading other reviews and seeing that most people have not gotten a job after finishing, I am certain I will have to start over at a real school. Why didn't I leave you might ask? I had no guidance regarding returning to school and being a working mother, online courses seemed the best solution to make a better life for us. I realized I was being duped $40.000 too late.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Simply Wonderful Learning

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - September 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience as a University of Phoenix student was no easy ride of stress-free outlook. Through all ups & downs I manage to successfully complete my B.S. in Human Services/Management degree with the help of excellent course pdf materials along w/ other contributing resources presented by supportive instructors. I always viewed college studies as a priority from the 'get-go' so it came to no surprise that I would be up many late nights perfecting my work before submission deadline. College isn't about making excuses, it is more about doing what is necessary to prevent going through. University of Phoenix has taught me that self determination is worth it in the long run. One should never expect another person to believe in them more than they believe in themselves.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

You Get Out of It What You Put IN IT !!!

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - September 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have recently graduated with my BSB/HRM. At times it was very hard, some classes were not as hard. Teams can be challenging since most likely they are people you will never meet and you have to rely on them to pull their weight. I never had problems with my advisors or financial aid. Actually my financial advisor helped me find an organization to join so I could get a discount on my tuition. College, like anything worthwhile, requires EFFORT and SACRIFICE...It is not supposed to be easy. I have told some friends that UOP will work for them. It's not for everyone. You write, and write, and write. You have to be committed and manage your time. Some of my friends go to other colleges and I have read their syllabus and laughed at the little bit of work that they are required to do compared to what I did at UOP. Their "writing assignments" often consist of 1 or 2 pages of writing, not even in APA format. So, anyone who wishes to bash this school really needs to look deeper within themselves.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

BSHS Program Grad OCT/2009 review

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - April 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Grad of BSHS Human Services 2009, my perspectives the school is run like a business so remember that you are not their priority, education is good and teachers have experience in their fields, must be a people person to succeed at this University teams are 30% of your grade.... in tough times and economy I'am still persuing a job in this field and the pay verse my education is not even close at least the postions I have applied, I would reccomend to survey companies and business profit and non profit if they are hiring Phoenix graduates there is tough competition in this field, but overall a good university I would say.

Was this review helpful?

University of Phoenix - A good choice!

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - March 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

University of Phoenix (UOP), is a great school, especially if you are wanting to get your BS in Human Services. I have been at UOP for 3 years and have never really had any problems with the teaching methods. The classes can be very challenging in fact! I have to literally work at least 15 to 20 hours a week just to complete one week in one class. A lot of people think that they are going to online school and it should be easier than a classroom environment, in fact it is quite the opposite of that. If you think that because you are going to school online that the work will be quick and easy, think again! The reading is tremendous and the work is long and hard, but in the end it is worth the learning experience. The only people that seem to have problems with this school are the money seekers; AKA people who are going to college to get the money from loans and when they do not get it fast enough, they get irritated and become irrational.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good School

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - January 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I been in school since December 2009. UOP has taught me good things for my class, my first class is about to end and I recommend this school to anyone it's very flexible for a single parent like me. I really like this school it better than the other online schools, it has a good support team too.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

In this case, you DON'T get what you've paid for..

Bachelor of Science in Human Services/Management - September 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Perhaps I should take full credit for not researching all my options for online schools before I enrolled in UOP (University of Phoenix). I completed one year at this school and have now transferred to another online degree program. When first signed up for UOP, the customer service was impeccable—truly second to none. Once I was enrolled, that all changed. I was never able to reach anyone when I had questions or problems. I had to send multiple follow-up emails to my academic and financial advisors before I would receive a response. I was trying to reach my financial advisor for a month and, as of the day I withdrew, still haven’t heard back from her. In addition to the poor service, I had many problems with the classes. For starters, the prices were positively ludicrous. I was able to find about 12 other online colleges that were at least half to a third less in cost than UOP with better course content and layout. The long and short of each class was basically to complete a few discussion questions each week and write a paper…every week! There were no real assignments, quizzes or test at all, just papers. The instructors gave little to no feedback on the papers I wrote and rarely knew what they were teaching. They simply gave me a “check mark”—all in all an automatic A for effort. There was nothing that actually gave a reason to read the textbook(s) in depth. I was not the least bit challenged here. When I withdrew, I explained to my academic advisor that for the price I was paying, I expected to learn something that could be applied to my career and in my life. A piece of paper stating that I’ve graduated means nothing to me if I haven’t learned anything.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.