Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

University of Phoenix

2.8
398 Reviews
5 84 
4 99 
3 46 
2 46 
1 123 
0 0 

 

University of Phoenix Reviews:

A Mixed Review

Associate of Arts in General Studies - May 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

University of Phoenix is similar to most colleges (in my experience). There are great professors-and not so great. The bigger question is: are you ready for college. I say this because in my experience at the University of Phoenix (online), there were students who put their heart and soul into it. However, three-quarters of them were likely unprepared. I believe the college should test the student for their ability to accept the coursework challenge, and their ability to adapt to increasing change. All colleges have rules that were not known to you previously. Some of your grades depend on your ability to do research on the professor's and school's expectations, as well as, learning things outside of your institution. You will have instructors that anger you. You will have instructors that will either give you an easy "A" or critique every key stroke. You will have to join "teams" to submit a weekly/biweekly project. There will be many team members who will not submit their portions as promised. You or another team member will have to do their work at a minute's notice to safeguard your GPA. Pay attention to the clock on at the top of your page. All work is due by Phoenix, Arizona time. I failed a class due to this. There are academic counselors who are not completely familiar with the rules and may misguide you. Ask the right questions! If the answer is in any way vague, ask again. Do be assertive about your education. You are the one paying them (though sometimes they may act otherwise). Most of your frustrations will likely be due to: a)lack of preparation (on your behalf), b) you didn't ask the right questions, c) institution rules you were not aware of, d)collaborative teamwork (lack of effort by other members, f)discussion questions, and e)this institution is pricey. If you fail a course in the associates level, you will need to pay around 1,400 dollars to retake it. It will make you want to cry. Do be prepared to get frustrated with college work (can be especially frustrating when it is online). The instructors will not always get back with you in 48 hours as is the school policy. Be prepared for this. Do not wait until a day or two before the assignment is due to ask questions. Read that golden syllabus ahead! Write down all questions you have, their will be vague spots and sometimes fancy wording. Be prepared to write and learn to be good at writing (they have a substantial amount of writing resources). You will get poor grades if you do not learn to write appropriately. They are sticklers for APA guidelines and grammatical errors. I went to UOP for three years. Most of the students were not even intermediate level in writing. You will be graded mostly on your writing abilities and less on your knowledge of the coursework. You can have substantial knowledge of a subject and still get a failing grade for writing errors. They will crack down on plagiarism. If you think you're going to "copy" and "paste" you are wrong. Disable this keyboard function-joke(it can be tempting when you're tired or do not understand the subject). The associate level courses are moderately easy. The bachelor's level courses will test your ability to go on. PROS: great resources (books, writing, citation, et cetera), great guidance counselors, mostly challenging courses, and mostly involved instructors CONS: teamwork will bring tears to your eyes, discussion questions can sometimes leave you with your face planted into your desk (falling asleep), heavy loads of coursework, you will write around a thousand words a day (give or take). They do not check to see if you are truly prepared for the college challenge.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

WORST SCHOOL FOR MILITARY/ VETERANS/ AND DEPENDENTS

Associate of Arts in General Studies - September 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

ABOLUTLEY THE WORST SCHOOL FOR VETERANS/ MILITARY/ AND DEPENDENTS!! It discrimates against military and veterans in all aspects. They take your money and GI Bill and yet don't file all correct papers with the VA, loses papers, give you the run around, overcharge the VA and then you lose your money. No reimbursement what so ever. Also their teachers are not real teachers. Since it is a private for profit, they can change and do basically what they want. The investagation department stated they "always site with the school and staff" so where is the justice. They are NOT required to have licensed teachers and also can teach what they want even if it is their own opion. Not what state and federal standards are to be. They also don't agree with the no child left behind act which also work with adults whom have learning disabilities. I have served my country for over 15 years and in less then 6 months they have targeted me especailly the english department cause I am a veterans and the teacher is from another country who had stated she don't like military. They ahve not filed my leave of absence cause I was called to duty for a short time until AFTER I got back which caused me to owe the VA money due to the schools failure to file papers corretly. I have called the school several times, talked to sdvisors and yet they say they can't do anything for me cause they are a private for profit school and are not required to have licensed teachers and they can teach however and what ever they want. They are not required to follow the Education Board rules and Regulations. Then they started to bother my wife around the clock and on weekends to go to their school. Stay Away from this school.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

failed to provide essentials

Associate of Arts in General Studies - May 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have not learn anything the first 2 years , the final course was hard and the teacher never helps they are there for décor if you asked for help or extra explanation the best they do is refers you again to the book. I will never recommend this university for a friend as it is about making more money.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Not a bad school, just hard.

Associate of Arts in General Studies - September 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my Associates with a concentration in Psychology and am currently enrolled in the Bachelor's program for Business. I has been difficult. I transferred into UoP online after a house fire made it necessary to drop all my classes at a local school and my completion rate dropped. I have spent more time on assignments through UoP than I was at my local college. It has been a struggle, but I made it. I am a mother of 4 and work full time with a varying schedule. It is hard, I have failed a couple classes and worked hard to make them up. I have read some of the reviews and I can only say I wish I would of had some instructors that would of let me slide by and pass me just because they didn't want to deal with me. It would of made life a lot easier at some very difficult points. This school is not for everyone. If possible I would prefer a physical classroom but that has not been an option since I have been promoted into management. I am not a fan of the learning teams, but I can understand the value. I prefer being responsible for myself and not relying on others. I have found it frustrating that other professionals in my team have a hard time communicating while I have been posting messages to let everyone in my team know where I am and what I am capable of doing. I was assigned team editor and I have had to work with information provided by others that I believe is substandard, but those are all things that can be worked through. You grade your team at the end of the course and if the instructor sees your point of view the individuals in the team are graded accordingly. My academic advisor through the AA program was wonderful and while I was transitioned to a new advisor as I got close to graduating for the Bachelor's program my previous advisor was the first person I called to let him know I made it. He checked in with me every other week until I transitioned, if my participation was lagging he would call me to make sure I was okay and helped keep me on track. My new advisor is not the same and if I have questions or concerns I still call my first advisor. There are some bad instructors but there are also some really good ones, just like in any school. I can say I am more proud of my accomplishment at UoP than I would be from a traditional school because I've had to work a lot harder for it.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Online University are really ok; you can get a job. I am proof!!!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - July 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am writing this to let people to know you can get a good paying career with a UOP degree and other online school degrees as well. The degree really shows you are able to complete something in a lot of employers eyes. I work for a big government contractor in VA. I started in the AP department all my skills were gained through other jobs. I made low 40K plus excellent benefits when I started in 2010. I am still working at the same company and received my degree AA in account from UOP. I applied for a Program Control position doing accounting work for a project making a little over 72K after I received an my degree plus the company reimburse me for my classes. A woman I work with she is the Program Manager which makes great money she went to Strayer & received her Undergrad & Masters. There are so many others at the company in the IT, General Ledger, Payroll, Contracts...I work for that went to UOP, Strayer, Kaplan and others online making good money for a well know government contractors. Some have even gone to other government contractors with these schools on their resumes. My point you take what you learn (read, read everything in the field you are in to learn as much as you can). If I don't know something I research, google, ask lots of questions, and listen to gain any-all the knowledge I need to complete my daily task for my position. I went to University of MD for 2 semesters and no it is not on my resume because I did not finish. I sat in classes you read/study a chapter, write papers, take quizzes, finale paper maybe finale exam. No real differance its up to the professor. I got a loan in while in MD paid the $50 per month a little more its paid off. I have more loans going to UOP you pay they don't call and it won't put a negative hit on your credit unless you are 90 days behind--Yes, this is true research the internet. This reveiew is not gramatically correct but its is from a real person that completed the AA Accounting program with UOP and will not be taking anymore classes except workshop company paid to further my career. I am a mom of two my husband is a truck driver who is always on the road. I signed up with UOP after talking to someone at my job in passing that works in HR telling me so many employees at the company attend UOP and this year they started giving us a discount. Well, I miss the discount but I signed up when I did to ensure I have a degree to go with my skills. Please don't let negative reveiws deter you from enrolling in online classes--independent learning. You will really do the same in a campus setting and most are offer online classes also.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Its what you make of it!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - March 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I currently have 3 more classes before I receive my Associates degree . I have read several reviews most bad and some were good. I can say I have not had any issues that I have seen in the bad reviews. You definitely have to be a self starter. I know I could have learned more had I read the material that was available. Some classes are very easy and can be done without reading. Some classes were extremely challenging, this can be expected for any class or school. A lot of these complaining people are mad about the cost of the school. You should have done your research and comparsions before enrolling. Online for profit schools are expensive, what did you think it was going to be cheap. We are paying for the convienence of managing our own time to attend class. In my opinion online school is designed for an average working family person with very limited time. If I was fresh out of high school I would have attended a brick and mortar school. Since I am 36 married, with children and I receive a discount because of the military I chose Uop. So far I have had good financial advisors and academic advisors. I took control of how I wanted to pay for my tution and when I wanted to take certain classes. I just don't let people tell me what to do. It's my money so I do have some say. I am almost thru with school and have not received any student loans. I thank God for that. If I had to receive student loans I would have picked a cheaper school. It is what you make out of it!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Realistic Review

Associate of Arts in General Studies - January 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Online degrees require knowledge of computers. If you are not comfortable with a computer, or you do not own a computer, or your computer isn't up to speed an online program probably isn't for you. If you are planning on taking an online course and you really lack basic user knowledge of computers and the internet I would suggest taking an introductory course first. Yes UoP is expensive. But there are a million other schools and courses available that are cheaper. Just do your research when shopping around for a school. That being said I am completing my bachelor's degree at UoP online. I prefer online classes more than campus classes (and I have done both). One of the worst things about the online program is the students. Half of your classmates are illiterate and/or do not know how to use a computer. They are also really immature and unprofessional. The most frustration I have felt during my program is with my classmates. It's hard to earn participation points when you have to respond to posts that are barely in complete sentences. My financial aid and academic advisor/s have been helpful (my most recent academic advisor is even more helpful than the last one). But I would have to say that I was a bit annoyed when my academic advisor was switched and I was not notified. It appeared that my new academic advisor wasn't updated on the situation that my previous academic advisor and I were working on but my new advisor jumped in and has been extremely helpful.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Save your money worst school. Will be reported

Associate of Arts in General Studies - October 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is by far the worst tuition is extremely ridiculous and the teachers act as if they don't care. They post every five minutes and expect you to keep up. They act as if you don't have a life. They make you go through an orientation course which takes away time that you could actually put towards your degree. You have to take out student loans in order to pay for classes other than that you will be paying the other half out of pocket. Students loans is for housing and meals as well as transportation. Not here at Phoenix, your poll grant doesn't help tuition is by far the highest ive ever seen.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Run as far as you can!!! Rip off!!!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - May 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school took serious advantage of me and im sure many others. In 2006 I was 18 & had a baby living far from home with my fiance. I wanted to go back to school but had to online due to child care issues. I inquired about the school after seeing flashy google ads for "free grants, be a stay at home mom& get a degree" it sounded perfect for my situation, but at freshly 18 I didnt do my homework or know much about life in general, and thats exactly the audience they try to reach. I spoke with my student advisor or whoever he was almost daily. It got to a very annoying point how often he called to "encourage and uplift" me about my education. he made it clear id get a grant but had to do the fafsa. He emphasized to not enter any other schools. And he said after that itd be taken care of. Little did I know I didnt even qualify, because my mom entered me as a dependant the year before and she had decent income. If he explained this to me, I wouldve stopped right there, because I had no intention or means to pay a student loan or work in the near future. But instead I was trapped with sallie mae. I never remember signing anything and never received mail about it. The whole process is online or over the phone and after my fafsa my "student advisor" took over. At the time I was happy though, and thought they actually were very caring and nice. When my first two classes started, I was very dissapointed. they had nothing to do withmy field, criminal justice, which I dont even see listed anymore, and the teaching was no more then common sense. The class discussions werent informative either, infact I dreaded doing that daily requirement. Not even 3 weeks in I was very upset with the quality and THEN researched the school. They had bad reviews then. Before I even continued I stopped right there. I didnt want to waste what I thought was grant money anymore on this school. I dropped out. After starting my "student advisor" fell off the face of the earth and I realized I was just a commission. 6 months later I got a $3000 loan bill from sallie mae for 2 junk classes. I called them and the school demanding I hadnt signed up for that, and they insisted I just didnt read the fine print. maybe I hadnt, but it was a very sly and misleading direction they put me in in the first place. For those "good" reviews on here, congrats on your education but people want to get theyre moneys worth. It has nothing to do wih laziness. UOP cons you from the start not being upfront with what to expect before signing your life away. Even if I was awarded the pell grant it wouldnt have covered the costs.And why pay for a school that an employer may see your degree as junk just from the things theyve heard? Bad experiences travel fast from word of mouth, and I dont want to see anyone spend so much on a place like this. A friend of mine has a masters from UOP & still works at a grocery store with no luck in job searching. One of the reasons im so upset is because I couldnt bring myself to pay back a penny on the garbage I received. My loan is on my credit report and will be for life til I pay it. Ive worked in retail management for a few years and just lost a better job opportunity due to that ding on my credit report. If anyone knows of a class action lawsuit, id like tojoin..please email me at lalapancakes89@gmail.com. And as I said in my title run as far from this school as you can! Im now trying the community college, and love it so far. Way cheaper, lots to learn. Registering and figuring out financial aid, etc,. Is a bit more of a hassle, but im atleased not being pep talked into a con and will have a 1/2 that price legit degree...for profit is a nightmare! I even saw on the news theyre after fresh naive 18 year olds and young military, they even buy out your info(name number to call and harrass you) from other outfits. Not legit. Crappy place. Id sue them for defimation of character if I could. Hope this was helpful!!

Was this review helpful?

28 of 42 people found the following review helpful

Shop around for tuition cost overall UOP IS HIGH$

Associate of Arts in General Studies - November 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Pro's: >Great customer service thru out. >Up to-date distance learning technology. Con's: <High as He!! I paid $750 per class and am now paying $177/class with CTC I'm in the military and enrolled with UOP on my 1st deployment silly I didn't know any better. <eBooks were an additional cost I believe about $160, but I still paid less per class with CTC buy buying the books off other soldiers for about $20

Was this review helpful?

4 of 12 people found the following review helpful

I am always receiving HELP from my academic and financial advisers

Associate of Arts in General Studies - April 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am finishing my first year with University of Phoenix and I have had a wonderful experience. When ever I call either one of my advisers they either call or email me within 24 hours. I have had no problems with my tuition being paid. I had to take a break and than started back into my classes. NO ONE hounded me for money nor did I get charged for those two classes. For me this is a wonderful learning environment. If you drop out completely, to those of you complaining, you have to pay any money owed. ALL colleges work that way. If you drop a class after attending more than twp weeks any college expects to be payed. It is not just U of P

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

UoP is great if you can hack it!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - March 28, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It seems to me that the people that are complaining about UoP are doing so because the work is harder than they thought it would be. The instructors at UoP are well educated in the subjects they teach. The counselors are great both my financial counselor and my academic counselor are available to help during business hours and when ever I have left a message for them they call me back within 24 hours. The one time I needed help from tech support which is available 24/7 they helped me quickly and I did not have to wait on hold. There are no surprises at UoP regarding assignments and due dates everything you need to know for the entire coarse is explained in the syllabus. The University Library is very useful my favorite part is Write Point and the Plagiarism checker which scans your papers for errors so you can fix them. All in all I say this is a great school that I recommended to my friends.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

The Facts

Associate of Arts in General Studies - February 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great school! I attended many years ago, and found it to be awesome. I found it to be more challenging once I got into the schol than I had percieved it would be. Yes, we had some bottom feeders, who would get with the team and continually not finish their portion of the assignments, but we also had some great, hardworking tema members too. I found this school to be a great value, but you can find cheaper schools avaliable. I have since gone on to another University and completed a Bachelor's degree and I found that is was not as challenging as UOP, but I as far as materials, instructors, on-line experience...UOP was the best I have seen. I have taken classes with 6 different Universities earning an AAGS, a BS, and an additional certificate, but will be going back to UOP to work on a Masters. As I have read in alot of posts, you can do the minimum and get by, or you can give it your all and achieve! You get what you put into it!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

read this

Associate of Arts in General Studies - November 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started my degree in August of 2008. I am 9 weeks away from graduating with my associates. I have read all the comments and reviews in here and would like to add. I was a single mother and had to work full time, so online school was my best route. I am all in all happy with the time I spent at UOP. Let me tell you the bad, then the good. I love the counselors, at times I would get frustrated because I couldn’t get a hold of them or they could not help me, but in the end what do you expect? Any other school will have the same problems too. Financial aid is a little out a whack, disbursements that are due to students get off track and getting your money is a headache at times. Classes are over bearing with reading and writing but it is an accelerated pace course this is the same as any other place that offers adult learning. OK so now the good cause that really is the bad. The counselors were willing to work with me at troubled times in my life where I needed to drop classes or were failing. They saved me thousands of dollars at one point in time I had to drop two classes because of personal problems and then taking them same classes again I was failing so they dropped me out of them so I did not receive a failing grade then retook them again. All of which a traditional school would never have done, and if so would have coasted major dollars to do. There is so much support outside the classroom that it doesn’t matter if you don’t understand damn Google it and you will find some sort of help. The flexible schedule allows you to work at your own pace most of the time if you have problems then all you do is talk to your instructor and they will work with you on a specific due date. It is expensive however if you need flexibility you will have to pay for it. I am not willing to sit in numerous amounts of classes a week for 4 hours a class followed by another, so this was my answer. I have looked into other schools and found one that offers one night a week for 7 weeks programs in my area. They are more money that UOP and also just as hard. So I am unsure what to do from here, all I know is that daily classroom appearances are not something I am willing to do. If you are in the same boat as me then UOP is not the greatest, but neither is any other school, I will say it was good enough to survive the 2 years and get my associates degree that I never would have had the time and strength to get from a traditional school. It is accredited nationally and the credits do transfer just depends on where you are transferring them to. I found two places that take all them which is good but there are schools even some local community colleges that do not transfer to your universities. It is a crazy world in college and if you are worried about money and transferring credits go to your local 4 year university and sit in those classes day after day and be done with it if you can do that then NO UOP is not for you.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Wow! I love it at UoP!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - November 11, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wow! I love UoP! It's hard work. You have to post twice a week in order to be counted for "attendance". Then you have to make 2 posts, 4 days a week for "participation". the participation is difficult. You cannot just say "I agree", you really have to contribute to your discussion. My instructors chime in often and give their opinions, facts, and keep the discussions going. I have learned a great deal from UoP and if I continue on to my Bachelor's, I will go with UoP!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Disappointed...Totally!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - October 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

ISSUE #1: Was earning a 3.5 average with Axia and then I submitted a final paper in MS Word as I've always done and it mysteriously did not go through. Wow.... but I submitted homework all week WITH attachments from MS word that transmitted just fine.....hmmmmmm would it have anything to do with the fact that I discussed this non-challenging course to my academic counselor two days before? I can't help but to think that him and my instructor were dating or something! The instructor gave me an F on the assignment which made my final grade a D even after all of my hard work in the course..of which I received straight A's and a few B's. I wrote a letter to the "Board" to appeal my grade and they did not approve my appeal because "technical difficulties" are not appealable. Oh and by the way, did I mention that the final assignment was to create a portfolio of previously graded work! All of which I received A's. Needless to say, this brought my grade point average down~!! ISSUE #2 I received my student loan refund and not too long after decided I could not continue taking a math course online...SINCE I haven't taken math in over 15 years! I talked to my AC and he kept trying to pursuade me to take this course which would further impair my grade point average which I refused to do. I started looking for another place to take the math so that I could just transfer the credit to Axia. In the meantime, I spent my refund......not knowing the hell I would have to face for doing so. Long story short, I couldn't take the math anywhere else because of the pre-requisites needed at these other colleges. I called Axia to see if I could get back in and they told me to pay in full (over 2,000) or pay in 3 installments. No can do any of these options!! That's why I'm on financial Aide in the first place! I asked if I can make a payment arrangement...they said "I could voluntarily do so but they will still report it to credit bureaus!" They also said they will hold my transcript...this leaves me with no options of finishing school any time soon. These folks are bullies!! They're only out for the money and don't care about your education because they have theirs.

Was this review helpful?

Just Say No

Associate of Arts in General Studies - September 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was an instructor for Phoenix and have taught many years in traditional colleges. Although many of the instructors seem fine, I know with certainty that any instructor who could get a job somewhere else would NEVER teach for UoP. Why? Because they pay between 1/3 and 1/4 of what an instructor could make teaching the same class elsewhere. Each $1 in pay at UoP is equal to $3.50 to $4 at other schools. They get people no one else will hire, or the desperate. I was in between jobs when I worked there, and teachers don't get unemployment in the summer (in case you're wondering why I even taught there in the first place). Although, they do require a Master's or Ph.D. to teach (and they do verify the degree), a huge majority of instructors received their advanced degrees at UoP!! What does that tell you? I can assure you that legitimate schools avoid hiring many instructors who have attended their institution because they want to avoid the appearance of bias and want a diversity of ideas. I felt guilty the entire brief time I taught at UoP because I knew right away the students were being cheated and that students were shoved into classes they were not able to pass because the school wanted to collect money. There were many errors in the course material students were given, and no one cared when I pointed out the errors. Students were being taught incorrect, outdated information. Additionally, their online platform for teaching is the worst! It isn't even a platform, but more like an Outlook inbox. If you've never used one of the great online teaching platforms like Angel or Blackboard, you would have no idea how much better online learning can be. I get it that as a private business they don't want to pay for those expensive platforms, but there are free ones that are a million times better that other for profit schools use (Educator, Sakkai, for example). It's all about the profit for UoP. You might be lucky enough to get a good instructor, but you definitely will not get your money's worth. Don't walk, run, and don't look back.

Was this review helpful?

bittersweet

Associate of Arts in General Studies - September 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I first started with this school I went in with high aspirations and was highly motivated. During my two years I went through so many financial aid counselors without my knowledge and when I called to ask why I was not reassigned a academic counselor there were no answers for it. I started out overseas because of my military affiliation but when I returned stateside nothing was updated on their end. The instructors I had were great and I did learn alot from them. At the same time I was highly disappointed and aggravated with the lack of communication between myself and the staff such as finance advisor and trying to find out who my academic counselor was. I was ill prepared for graduation and was very upset that I was not brought up to speed with what I would need to do to participate in graduation. Needless to say I completed my course with a GPA of 3.14 and had to get my degree mailed to me. I was also disappointed with the fact that in the associates program a high GPA is not honored. I believe any program should be honored when a student works as hard as I did and makes the grades. I personally would not recommend this school to anyone and hope that no one will have to endure what I did with this school.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not true!!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - August 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The teachers do hold Masters, we do have test, they are Regionally Acreditted (Highest credt you can get), work school around your schedule instead of working school around you job. No set class times or days but HAVE to be in you classes 4 days out of the week. Instructors go both ways tough (Had 1) and good/fair. I have my own financial counselor who I can call directly and an academic counselor who I also can call directly and my enrollment counselor who I can call directly. A lot of what these negative people said about UoP are untrue!! We do have test, teachers hold Masters and higher, and if they do not feel you would be good they will encourage the student by taking workshops to prepare them. This is the #1 privatly owned University in country and the BIGGEST with almost 500k std!!!!Dont just listen to the bad because on this the bad is untrue. They probably failed or didnt get Pell grant money so they want to bash this school. Shaq finished his degree here, Randy Jacksons (american idol) wife graduated hear a couple months ago, etc....

Was this review helpful?

Research Research Research

Associate of Arts in General Studies - July 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While I worked my fanny off to maintain a high GPA while working full-time, the cost of my AA in Accounting is out of whack with what I can do with the degree. I found the on-line environemnt has its perks as well as its drawbacks. In the end, I feel as if my educational journey was self-taught. I also found much of the course content out of touch with current reality. Some of my classes had had the same syllabus for two years. The text books were outdated in my opinion also. The 60 credit program ended up costing me $21.5 thousand dollars (as of today's date). Ouch for credits that do not appear to be transferring to other universities. Additionally, if you are considering continuing on with the UOPx bachelor program and you are transferring from Axia, take a look at any of the course that being with a (2). I had already taken (5) of these at Axia. The numbers are different on the UOPx side, but the couse descriptions are almost verbatim. Even though I will have to take additional classes at a different university because none of my (1) classes transferred (except Algebra), the cost is so much lower I will end up spending half as much money on my bachelor (even with the additional classes and prereque's) as I did my AA. My suggestion is to research reasearch research and ask lots of questions. Remember YOU are the consumer. Demand is currently high for on-line degree programs so supply has greatly increased since I began my Axia program in July 2006.

Was this review helpful?

Shocked!!

Associate of Arts in General Studies - February 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My degree is in progress (Bachelors in Psychology), and I have to say that I was skeptical at first about UOP. But once classes began, ALL my skepticism was erased! This is HARD WORK!! There is NO WAY that this is a "diploma mill".. if it were, how would there be a failure rate??? Like the one before about high raters being liars.. how did he bottom out if this place is fake? I believe that person feels like a victim and they are upset because they didn't apply themselves and dropped out. With everything in life, you get out of it whatever you put into it.. this goes for EVERYTHING in life. So for these people that cannot handle the rigorous studies, the papers, working with others and end up dropping out because its not as easy as they think, they will quit everything else as well.. Once a quitter always a quitter. Good luck.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Add to "High raters are liars"

Associate of Arts in General Studies - January 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I rushed into school to beat an enrollment deadline, I was whisked through the financial aid and later received a bank loan for edu with some magical powers of UOP. Just look for the listing with the title high raters...liars.. I did not receive anything that was helpful, explanatory as a returning to college adult, I worked my butt off, and ended up with 2 D's and an F. My self esteem bottomed out, penalties for not posting in correct forum, heck I had to figure out what a forum was and how to use it. I do believe its an enrollment push. I did recommend the school to a stay at home mom and she is doing well. Not for the BUSY working person who has family to tend to. I feel really bad about even signing up, and the school sent the bal of loan back to lender and stuck me with over a thousand I really tried and did my assignments. OMG, don't dare have a slow, old or get a virus on the computer, I asked for time and got a F. All courses are preceded by 6 courses from hell that really don't make sense, Why all the same for each degree...hmm why SIGH, disgusted and searching for online or correspondence education that is for working folks.

Was this review helpful?

WOW

Associate of Arts in General Studies - October 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wow, I cannot believe all of the great reviews that University of Phoenix has. It is WAY over priced for the level of education you are actually receiving. The instructors are awful but for those rare few. The learning teams are rediculous and one of the major reasons that I obtained my degree and then searched elsewhere for my Bachelors and masters program. The instructors did nothing to those who did not participate regardless of what our evaluations said. The projects large and meant for a team, more often than not, were done by meself or the rare chance that another person cared as much as I did about my grade. It says it is military friendly, however, it really only brings the prices down to where they can lure you in. Awful instruction, awful price, awful environment; I really have nothing good to say. Everything I did learn was a result of putting forth the effort as in anything you do. In one class I waiting 4 weeks, yes 4, before getting feedback from week 1 assignments. Absolutely take your business elsewhere if you can. There are many other schools to choose from.

Was this review helpful?

Unbelievable

Associate of Arts in General Studies - May 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had experience enrolling in an online college only to barely get out with my finances still intact. I have a friend who lives in phoenix who decided her and her husband should do UOP classes online. They went 2/3 the way through and found out their grants were suddenly revoked. They are now thousands in debt and due to the grant being revoked their classes were locked. They were unable to come up with the $6k backpayment and were unable to finish. They went through so many classes they weren't eligible for tuition re-embursment or withdrawl so they must pay the complete tution. But they are also unable to make up the missed classes so, they have paid for their degrees but will never see them.

Was this review helpful?

Accreditation

Associate of Arts in General Studies - April 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience has been outstanding. It is possible to start an AA program (pick one of 17) and finish in only a year and a half working full time! For working adults, to me, this is the best Associate degree program going - hands down!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

On the wall

Associate of Arts in General Studies - February 5, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At the end of the year 2005, I received by mail my Associates Degree from UoP. It was with a very heavy heart that I opened that very expensive degree. I entered the University with the goal of obtaining my Bachelors Degree in Marketing to then attend Certification Courses for Teaching. However, after two years I realized that I wanted my Bachelors degree to be IN Education. I decided to contact a Brick and Mortor (B&M) University to find out what I needed to do to "transfer" my credits. After speaking to the Dean of Students in Education I was told that the majority of classes from UoP were not transferable. Obviously "shocking" considering my ENROLLMENT advisor told me differently. Before considering UoP, I thought I researched substantially. Everything I read mentioned that it was an accredited school. However, it's very important to know through WHO it's accredited. When I contacted UoP after my conversation with the B&M school, they couldn't tell me much. It frustrated me. I counted my credits and told them... I want to change from a 4 year degree program to a 2 year degree. I want my AA and I want OUT. To which I receive varying responses. At one point I needed to take "other" courses. Which meant spend more money. Though, I was well over the necessary Credit hours for an AA. In the end, I paid my "graduation fee" and ran out with my AA. It was my hope to transfer into a B&M university holding a degree rather than just "credits". This year I will test that. It was not until a few weeks ago that my husband purchased a frame for it - in hopes that perhaps if I respected the degree enough something will come from it. My experience within the classroom was well enough. I stayed with the same "Team" for the two years I was there and am still friends with two of my teammates. Several good things that came from my experience: I can give an AMAZING PowerPoint presentation. I can confidently articulate my thoughts. I have two good friends.

Was this review helpful?


Comments:

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with University of Phoenix in any way.